Sales & Excise Taxes Our Excise Tax Section addresses questions related to sales and use tax, local meals and beverage tax and hotel tax, as well as other miscellaneous excise taxes such as litter fee, motor fuel tax, International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) tax, cigarette and tobacco taxes, real estate conveyance tax, and others. Please visit the tax specific web pages for more information on each type of tax. For information on various returns and documents, please visit our Sales & Excise Forms webpage. Please note that Rhode Island is a Streamlined Sales Tax member state and has a Remote Seller law enacted. Taxes Administered Alcohol Import Tax Beverage Container & Litter Tax Cigarette Tax Hard to Dispose Tax Hotel Tax IFTA Tax Meals & Beverage Tax Motor Fuel Tax Prepaid Wireless Tax Real Estate Conveyance Tax Sales & Use Tax Telecom / E-911 Fee Tobacco Products Tax Licenses & Permits Any manufacturer, wholesaler, jobber or other business establishment which sells any tangible personal property to be used, and not resold, by the purchaser is a retailer. Every person, firm or organization engaged in the business of making retail sales in this state is required to obtain a permit. These permits can be obtained from the Division of Taxation for $10. Every permit holder shall annually, on or before February 1, of each year renew its permit by filing an application for renewal along with a $10 renewal fee. (Note: For new applications for periods that begin on or after July 1, 2022, and those renewals due by February 1, 2022 or later (covering periods after July 1, 2022), the $10 application and renewal fees have been eliminated.) Out-of-state vendors conducting activities in Rhode Island must register and obtain a permit to collect the tax. Any vendor who has an actual business location in Rhode Island or leases tangible personal property here must collect and pay Rhode Island sales/use tax. There are, as well, other business activities any one of which may require an out-of-state vendor to collect the Rhode Island sales/use tax. Some of these are: Solicitation here - Example: If a Connecticut furniture vendor sends salespeople to Rhode Island to solicit prospective customers, then all sales delivered to Rhode Island purchasers are subject to the Rhode Island sales/use tax. Delivery here - Example: If a Massachusetts lumberyard sells sheetrock to a contractor in Rhode Island and delivers it to the customer in its own vehicle, then the sale is subject to the Rhode Island sales/use tax. Installation and/or Repair of Products here - Example: If a Massachusetts TV and appliance store sends its service people into Rhode Island to repair a television set previously sold to a Rhode Island customer, then the sale of replacement or repair parts is subject to the Rhode Island sales/use tax. Remote sellers with gross receipts of one hundred dollars ($100,000) or greater, or two hundred (200) transaction or greater. Types of Licenses Retail Sales Permit-Annual renewal with no fee as of 07/01/2022 IFTA License-Annual renewal with no fee Cigarette Distributors License-Annual renewal with fee of $100 Cigarette Dealer’s license-annual renewal with fee of $25 Litter Control Permit fee-rate schedule included on the Form LIT-REN stating at $25 annually Airport Parking Permit-annual renewal with no fee Temporary Permit The Tax Administrator may issue a temporary permit for a fee of $10 to any person engaging in retailing in this state for a limited time, or to an itinerant merchant, seasonal retailer, peddler or person selling tangible personal property at retail without a permanent or fixed place of business in Rhode Island. Flea Market Vendors Flea market vendors are not issued a permit to make sales at retail but must instead apply for a special flea market vendor's permit. A flea market vendor's annual registration fee is $120 but a flea market vendor may, at its option, register on a quarterly basis for a fee of $40 or on a 30-day basis for a fee of $10.