2022 Child Tax Rebates

The State’s FY23 budget provides for a Child Tax Rebate to eligible Rhode Island families.

The Division of Taxation has created this webpage specifically for the Child Tax Rebate. Here, you will find up-to-date information regarding this program. To ensure that resources are available to process the rebates, please use this page to receive the most recent updates rather than contacting the Division of Taxation directly.

The Division of Taxation is in the process of building a rebate payment tracker tool that will allow you to check on the status of your rebate. Check back at a later date to access the tracker.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

The Child Tax Rebate is a rebate payment of $250 per qualifying child, up to a maximum of three children (maximum $750), that will be issued to eligible taxpayers.

To receive a rebate, the eligible taxpayer must meet all of the following:

  • File their Rhode Island 2021 Personal Income Tax return as either:
    • Single, married filing separately, head of household, or qualifying widow/widower with a federal adjusted gross income of $100,000 or less; or
    • Married filing jointly with a federal adjusted gross income of $200,000 or less.
  • Have a qualifying child dependent (eighteen years of age or under as of December 31, 2021).
  • Be domiciled in the State of Rhode Island per the 2021 RI-1040 or RI-1040NR filing. See the 2022 Child Tax Rebate FAQ document for an explanation of domiciled.

There is no need to apply; timely filing your Tax Year 2021 Rhode Island Personal Income Tax Return is all that is needed.

For those filing an original or amended filing by August 31, 2022, your rebate will be issued starting in October 2022.

For those filing on extension by the October 17, 2022 extended filing deadline, your rebate will be issued starting in December 2022.

Unless you have filed a change of address form, your rebate will be mailed to the mailing address on your Rhode Island 2021 Personal Income Tax return.

All rebates will be sent by check. There will be no direct deposit of rebates.

You should complete the change of address form available on our website and submit that form to Tax.Assist@tax.ri.gov or by mail to:

RI Division of Taxation
Attn: Personal Income Tax Section
One Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908

Please note, failure to provide an accurate change of address form will delay your rebate. Please complete and submit the form as soon as possible to avoid delay

For those with more questions, the Division has developed an FAQ document that provides additional information.

Resources

Statute: R.I. Gen. Law § 44-30-103

Form: Child Tax Rebate Change of Information form

Frequently Asked Questions Document

 

Contact Us

Personal Income Tax Section

Email:     Tax.Assist@tax.ri.gov

Phone:   (401) 574-8242