
RHODE ISLAND DIVISION OF TAXATION - PAGE 1 OF 1 

                             Rhode Island Department of Revenue 

                                          Division of Taxation 
  
 

 
 

Guide to tax break involving 401(k) plans, pensions, and annuities 
Division offers tax tips at start of one of busiest weekends of tax season 

 
PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Rhode Island Division of Taxation today reminded tax preparers and 
taxpayers about its guide to a new tax break that applies to income from 401(k) plans, 403(b) plans, 
private-sector pensions, government pensions, military retirement pay, annuities, and other such 
sources. (To view the guide, use the following link: https://go.usa.gov/xn3v4.) 
 
“Tomorrow begins a three-day weekend for a number of taxpayers, and it is always one of the busiest 
weekends of the filing season. If you’re working on your Rhode Island return and have questions about 
how the new tax break works, find the answer by reading our guide, which is available on our website 
at any time, day or night,” said Tax Administrator Neena Savage.  
 
“This tax break first applied for the 2017 tax year, so preparers and taxpayers will first encounter it on 
returns they file this season, covering the 2017 tax year,” she said. Assuming a taxpayer meets the 
rules, up to $15,000 of the person’s federally taxable income from 401(k) plans, 403(b) plans, military 
retirement pay, private-sector pensions, government pensions, annuities, and other such sources will 
escape Rhode Island personal income tax.  
 
The tax break applies on a per-person basis, so for a married couple filing a joint return, up to $15,000 
per spouse could escape Rhode Island tax, for a combined total of up to $30,000. “Our 22-page guide 
explains, in plain language, how the new tax break works, and how the rules apply to you,” Savage 
said. The tax break is in the form of a new modification, which reduces federal adjusted gross income 
for Rhode Island tax purposes. It is authorized under legislation approved by the Rhode Island General 
Assembly and signed into law by Governor Gina M. Raimondo in June 2016. It applies for tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2017. 
 

OTHER TAX SEASON INFORMATION 
 

 For forms, instructions, and other information: http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/ 
 For the Division’s guide to the filing season: https://go.usa.gov/xnAbt. 
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Did you make any purchases online last year? Did the website mail you a tax-related 

notice this season about those purchases? Read the Division of Taxation’s answers 

to FAQs about notices from non-collecting retailers: https://go.usa.gov/xnA2p 
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