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No inflation-adjusted increase for Rhode Island gasoline tax on July 1 
Statutory formula, which takes inflation into account, shows no increase required 

 
PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Rhode Island Division of Taxation today announced that no new 
inflation-adjusted increase will apply to the Rhode Island gasoline tax on July 1, 2017. As a result, 
the tax will remain unchanged as of that date.1 
 
The excise tax, commonly known as the “gas tax,” is currently 33 cents a gallon. Based on Division 
of Taxation calculations that take inflation into account as required by statute, the tax will not 
increase on July 1, 2017. 
 
The tax is set forth in Rhode Island General Laws § 31-36-7. Legislation 
enacted on June 19, 2014, amended that statute by requiring that the 
tax be adjusted every two years based on inflation. Specifically, the 
statute as amended requires that, beginning July 1, 2015, and every 
other year thereafter, the gasoline tax must be adjusted by the 
percentage of increase, if any, in the consumer price index for all urban 
consumers (CPI-U), as published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 
determined as of September 30 of the prior calendar year. The 
adjustment must be rounded to the nearest one-cent increment. 
 
The Division of Taxation has determined that, based on inflation as measured by the CPI-U for 
the applicable period, the tax before rounding is applied is 33 cents a gallon, and the tax after 
rounding is applied is 33 cents a gallon, effective July 1, 2017. 
 
 The biennial inflation adjustment (if any) for gasoline applies only to the 33-cent Rhode 

Island excise tax; it does not apply to the 1-cent Rhode Island environmental protection 
regulatory fee, or to the 18.4-cent federal excise tax. (The overall tax on a gallon of 
gasoline in Rhode Island is 52.40 cents, according to American Petroleum Institute data 
as of April 2017.) 
 

 The one-cent increase in the gas tax which took effect July 1, 2015, also applied to diesel 
and other taxable motor fuels that meet the definition of “fuels” under Rhode Island 
General Laws § 31-36-1(4).    
 

 The biennial inflation adjustment was enacted through Rhode Island Public Law 2014, ch. 
145, art. 21, § 4, and is codified at Rhode Island General Laws § 31-36-7(b). The next 
inflation adjustment is for the period beginning July 1, 2019. 

 

                                                            
1 Assumes no federal or Rhode Island legislative change in the interim. 
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Gas tax in Rhode Island 
(in cents) 

State excise tax  33.0 

State 
environmental fee 

1.0 

Federal excise tax  18.4 

Total federal and 
state gas tax 

52.4 


