### $2023\,$ RI-1040ES Rhode Island Resident and Nonresident Estimated Payment Coupons

#### WHO MUST MAKE ESTIMATED PAYMENTS

Every resident and nonresident individual shall make estimated Rhode Island personal income tax payments if his or her estimated Rhode Island personal income tax can be reasonably expected to be \$250 or more in excess of any credits allowable against his or her tax, whether or not he or she is ment if you file your 2023 return by February 15, 2024, required to file a federal estimated tax for such year. and pay the entire balance due with your return.

#### JOINT RETURNS

Married individuals may make joint payments as if they were one taxpayer, in which case the liability with respect to the estimated tax shall be joint and several. No joint payments may be made if the married individuals are separated under a decree of divorce or of separate maintenance. If joint payments are made, but the married individuals determine their Rhode Island income taxes separately, the estimated tax, for such period, may be treated as the estimated tax of either individual, or may be divided between them, as they may elect.

#### **CHANGES IN INCOME**

Even though on April 15, 2023 you do not expect your tax to be large enough to require making estimated payments, a change in income may require you to make estimated payments later.

#### **HOW TO ESTIMATE YOUR TAX FOR 2023**

Your 2023 estimated income tax may be based upon your 2022 income tax liability. If you wish to compute your 2023 estimated income tax, use the enclosed estimated tax worksheet.

#### CREDIT FOR INCOME TAX OVERPAYMENT

Your credit for income tax overpayment from your 2022 Rhode Island income tax return may be deducted from the first installment of your 2023 estimated tax, and any excess credit from succeeding installments.

#### WHEN AND WHERE TO MAKE ESTIMATES

1st Estimate Due	April 15, 2023
2nd Estimate Due	June 15, 2023
3rd Estimate Due	September 15, 2023
4th Estimate Due	January 15, 2024
You do not have to make	your January 15, 2024 pay-
mant if you file your 2022	roturn by Fohruany 15, 2024

Mail to: RI Division of Taxation

One Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908

You may also file electronically using Taxation's Portal Visit: https://taxportal.ri.gov

#### **ALLOWABLE CREDITS**

Only the following credits are allowed against Rhode Island personal income tax:

- 1) RI Earned Income Credit RIGL §44-30-2.6(c)(2)(N)
- 2) Property Tax Relief Credit RIGL §44-33
- 3) RI Residential Lead Abatement Credit RIGL §44-30.3
- 4) Credit for Taxes Paid to Other States RIGL §44-30-18
- 5) Historic Structures Tax Credit RIGL §44-33.2
- 6) Historic Preservation Tax Credits 2013 RIGL §44-33.6
- 7) Motion Picture Production Tax Credit RIGL §44-31.2
- 8) Musical and Theatrical Production Tax Credits -RIGL §44-31.3
- 9) Child and Dependent Care Credit
- 10) Credits for Contributions to Scholarship Organizations - RIGL §44-62
- 11) RI New Qualified Jobs Incentive RIGL §44-48.3

12) Rebuild Rhode Island Tax Credit - RIGL §42-64.20

13) Stay Invested in RI Wavemaker Credit - RIGL §42-64.26

14) Historic Homeowner Assistance Act - RIGL §44-33.1

#### CHARGE FOR UNDERPAYMENT OF INSTALL-**MENTS OF ESTIMATED TAX**

An interest charge is imposed for underpayment of an installment of estimated tax. The Rhode Island income tax law follows similar provisions of the Internal Revenue Code with respect to exceptions. Such charge on any unpaid installment shall be computed on the amount by which the actual payments and credits applied to the tax are less than 80% of such installment at the time it is due. If it appears there was an underpayment of any installment of estimated tax, you may attach Form RI-2210 (if any of the exceptions apply) to your Rhode Island income tax return explaining why an additional charge should not be made.

#### **PENALTIES**

The law imposes penalties and interest charges for failing to pay estimated tax due or for making false or fraudulent statements.

#### OTHER QUESTIONS

Further assistance may be obtained by calling the Personal Income Tax Section at (401) 574-8829 and selecting option #3, or by visiting the Rhode Island Division of Taxation's website at www.tax.ri.gov.

2023 Tax Rate Schedule - FOR ALL FILING STATUS TYPES

	Taxable Inc	ome	(line 4)				%	of the	
	Over	В	ut not over	Pay	+		on excess	an	nount over
\$	0	\$	73,450	\$ 	-		3.75%	\$	0
	73,450		166,950	2,754.3	3	+	4.75%		73,450
	166,950			7,195.63	3	+	5.99%		166,950

RECORD OF EST	IMATED PAYME	NTS A	В	С	D	
Payment Number	Check Number	Date	Amount	2021 Overpayment credit applied	Total amount paid and credited (add column B and Column C)	
1.						
2.						
3.						
4.						
	Total DETACH HERE AND MAIL WITH YOUR PAYMENT					

## 2023 RI-1040ES STATE OF RHODE ISLAND ESTIMATED PAYMENT COUPON DIVISION OF TAXATION - ONE CAPITOL HILL - PROVIDENCE, RI 02908

YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER SPOUSE'S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, IF JOINT PAYMENT NAME ADDRESS CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE

Return this coupon with check or money order payable to: Rhode Island Division of Taxation

> One Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908

Please do not send cash with this coupon.

DUE DATE **JANUARY 15, 2024** 



1. ENTER AMOUNT

1.   2.   2.   2.   2.   2.   2.   2.	
3.   4.     4.     1.   1.       1.       1.       1.     1.     1.     1.     1.     1.     1.     1.     1.	
4.	
S   S   S   S   S   S   S   S   S   S	
6. 7. 9. 10. 9. 11. s your 1st quarter 2023 estimated tax. 12.	
7. 8. 9. 10. 9. 11. s your 1st quarter 2023 estimated tax. 12.	
9	
9. 10. 9. 11. s your 1st quarter 2023 estimated tax. 12.	
9	
9	
s your 1st quarter 2023 estimated tax	
m line 11	
ter here14.	
EXEMPTION WORKSHEET	
. Multiply \$4,700 by the total number of exemptions 23.	
. Is the amount on line 1 more than \$233,750?	
Yes. Continue to line 25.	
No. <b>STOP HERE!</b> Enter the amount from line 23 o	on line 3.
. Enter your Modified Federal AGI from line 1 25	
Exemption Phaseout Amount 26.	\$233,750
If the result is more than \$26,800, STOP HERE.  Your exemption amount is zero (\$0). Enter \$0 on line \$20.00.	3.
Divide line 27 by \$6,700. If the result is not a whole number, increase it to the next higher whole number (for example, increase 0.0004 to 1).	
P.Enter the applicable percentage from the chart below	
If the number on line 28 is: then enter on line 29	
<b>&gt;</b> 29. <b>(</b>	) .
D.Exemption amount - Multiply line 23 by line 29.	
	Yes. Continue to line 25.  No. STOP HERE! Enter the amount from line 23 of the state of the stat

=

### 2023 RI-1040ES STATE OF RHODE ISLAND ESTIMATED PAYMENT COUPON DIVISION OF TAXATION - ONE CAPITOL HILL - PROVIDENCE, RI 02908

<b>.</b>	DETACH HERE AND MAIL WITH YOUR PAYMENT	
FILE ONLY IF YOU ARE MAKING A PAYMENT O		
CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE	1. ENTER AMOUNT DUE AND PAID	.00
ADDRESS		
NAME	ITF	
SPOUSE'S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, IF JOINT PAYMEN	One Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908 Please do not send cash with this coupon.	SEPTEMBER 15, 2023
YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER	Return this coupon with check or money order payable to: Rhode Island Division of Taxation	DUE DATE

YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER  SPOUSE'S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, IF JOINT PAYMENT	Return this coupon with check or money order payable to: Rhode Island Division of Taxation One Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908 Please do not send cash with this coupon.	DUE DATE JUNE 15, 2023	
NAME	ITE		_
ADDRESS	111		
CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE  FILE ONLY IF YOU ARE MAKING A PAYMENT OF EST	1. ENTER AMOUNT DUE AND PAID	•	00

DETACH HERE AND MAIL WITH YOUR PAYMENT

# 2023 RI-1040ES STATE OF RHODE ISLAND ESTIMATED PAYMENT COUPON DIVISION OF TAXATION - ONE CAPITOL HILL - PROVIDENCE, RI 02908

YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER	Return this coupon with check or money order payable to: Rhode Island Division of Taxation One Capitol Hill	DUE DATE	
SPOUSE'S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, IF JOINT PAYMENT	Providence, RI 02908 Please do not send cash with this coupon.	APRIL 15, 2023	
NAME	ITF		
ADDRESS			
CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE	1. ENTER AMOUNT DUE AND		$\cap$