2010 RI-1040ES Rhode Island Resident and Nonresident Estimated Payment Coupons

WHO MUST MAKE ESTIMATED PAYMENTS

Every resident and nonresident individual shall make estimated Rhode Island personal income tax payments if his or her estimated Rhode Island personal income tax can be reasonably expected to be \$250 or more in excess of any credits allowable against his or her tax, whether or not he or she is required to file a federal estimated tax for such year.

JOINT RETURNS: A husband and wife may make joint payments as if they were one taxpayer, in which case the liability with respect to the estimated tax shall be joint and several. No joint payments may be made if husband and wife are separated under a decree of divorce or of separate maintenance. If joint payments are made, but husband and wife determine their Rhode Island income taxes separately, the estimated tax, for such period, may be treated as the estimated tax of either husband or wife, or may be divided between them, as they may elect.

CHANGES IN INCOME: Even though on April 15, 2010 you do not expect your tax to be large enough to require making estimated payments, a change in income may require you to make estimated payments later.

HOW TO ESTIMATE YOUR TAX FOR 2010

Your 2010 estimated income tax may be based upon your 2009 income tax liability. If you wish to compute your 2010 estimated income tax, use the enclosed estimated tax worksheet.

WHEN AND WHERE TO MAKE ESTIMATES

1st Estimate Due......April 15, 2010 2nd Estimate Due.....June 15, 2010 3rd Estimate Due.....September 15, 2010 4th Estimate Due.....January 15, 2011 **Note:** You do not have to make your January 15, 2011 payment if you file your 2010 return by February 15, 2011, and pay the entire balance due with your return.

Mail to: STATE OF RHODE ISLAND Division of Taxation DEPT#83 PO Box 9703 Providence, RI 02940-9703

CREDIT FOR INCOME TAX OVERPAYMENT

Your credit for income tax overpayment from your 2009 Rhode Island income tax return may be deducted from the first installment of your 2010 estimated tax, and any excess credit from succeeding installments.

CHARGE FOR UNDERPAYMENT OF INSTALL-MENTS OF ESTIMATED TAX

An interest charge is imposed for underpayment of an installment of estimated tax. The Rhode Island income tax law follows similar provisions of the Internal Revenue Code with respect to exceptions. Such charge on any unpaid installment shall be computed on the amount by which the actual payments and credits applied to the tax are less than 80% of such installment at the time it is due. If it appears that there was an underpayment of any installment of estimated tax, you may attach RI-2210 (if any of the exceptions apply) to your RI income tax return explaining why an additional charge should not be made.

PENALTIES

The law imposes penalties and interest charges for failing to pay estimated tax due or for making false or fraudulent statements.

STANDARD DEDUCTION FOR PEOPLE AGE 65 OR OLDER OR BLIND

Your standard deduction is increased by the follow- ing amount if, at the end of 2010, you are:								
Unmarried (single or head of ho								
65 or older or blind	\$1,400.00							
65 or older and blind	\$2,800.00							
Married (jointly, separately	or qualifying							
widow(er) and:								
65 or older <u>or</u> blind	\$1,100.00							
65 or older <u>or</u> blind \$1,100.00 65 or older and blind \$2.200.00								

Both spouses 65 or older\$2,200.00One spouse 65 or older and blind and
the other spouse 65 or older or blind\$3,300.005 of older and blind and
the other spouse 65 or older or blind\$3,300.00

Both spouses 65 or older and blind \$4,400.00

STANDARD DEDUCTION IF YOU CAN BE CLAIMED AS A DEPENDENT

Your standard deduction if you can be claimed as a dependent on another person's 2010 return is the greater of:

\$950.00, <u>or</u>

Your earned income plus \$300 (up to the standard deduction amount),

OTHER QUESTIONS

Further assistance may be obtained by calling Taxpayer Assistance at (401) 574-8829 and selecting option #3, or at www.tax.ri.gov.

RECORD OF EST		NTS A	В	С	D
Payment Number	Check Number	Date	Amount	2009 Overpayment credit applied	Total amount paid and credited (add column B and Column C)
1.					
2.					
3.					
4.					

DETACH HERE AND MAIL WITH YOUR PAYMENT

2010 RI-1040ES STATE OF RHODE ISLAND ESTIMATED PAYMENT COUPON DIVISION OF TAXATION - DEPT#83 - PO BOX 9703 - PROVIDENCE, RI 02940-9703

	Return this coupon with check or money order payable to: Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Dept#83, PO Box 9703,	DUE DATE
SPOUSE'S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, IF JOINT PAYMENT	Providence, RI 02940-9703. Please do not send cash with this coupon.	JANUARY 15, 2011
NAME	ITE	
ADDRESS		
CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE	1. ENTER AMOUNT	
FILE ONLY IF YOU ARE MAKING A PAYMENT OF		<u> </u>

PART 1 ES	TIMATED RHODE ISLAND INCOME TAX WORKSHEET	
Single	1. Modified Federal AGI	1.
\$5,700	2. Deductions - RI standard deduction (left margin) or amount from Federal Schedule A, whichever is greater	2.
Married filing	3. Number of exemptions in box then multiply by \$3,650 and enter result on line 3 X \$3,650 =	3.
jointly or Qualifying	4. Taxable income - subtract lines 2 and 3 from line 1	4.
widow(er)	5. Figure your 2010 tax on the amount on line 4 (2010 Tax Rate Schedule)	
\$9,550 Married filing	6. Alternative Minimum Tax and Other Rhode Island Taxes	
separately	7. Total 2010 RI Tax - add lines 5 and 6	7.
\$4,750 Head of	8. Enter your 2009 RI income tax	8.
household	9. Enter the SMALLER of lines 7 or 8	9.
\$8,400	10. Estimated Rhode Island credits	10.
However, people who	11. Line 9 less line 10	11.
are over 65, blind or can be	12. RI Flat Tax - multiply line 1 by 6.0% (.0600)	
claimed as a	13. Credit for income taxes paid to another state	
dependent, see the	14. Line 12 less line 13	14.
Standard	15. Enter the SMALLER of line 11 or 14	15.
Deduction section in the	16. Rhode Island income tax withheld	16.
instructions.	17. Estimated Rhode Island income tax - subtract line 16 from line 15	17.
	18. Enter amount of 2009 RI overpayment elected for credit towards your 1st quarter 2010 estimated tax	18.
	19. Amount of estimated payments to be paid - subtract line 18 from line 17	19.
	20. Divide line 19 by the number of installments to be made and enter here	20.

SCHEDULE X - Use if your filing status is SINGLE

2010 Tax Rate Schedule

Use if your filing status is **MARRIED FILING SEPARATELY**

Taxable Inc	ome (line 5)			%	of the
Over	But not over	Pay +	O	n excess	amount over
\$ 0	\$ 34,000	\$		3.75%	\$ 0
34,000	82,400	1,275.00	+	7.00%	34,000
82,400	171,850	4,663.00	+	7.75%	82,400
171,850	373,650	11,595.38	+	9.00%	171,850
373,650		29,757.38	+	9.90%	373,650

SC	HEDULE	Y2	-		RIED FIL			PARATEL	Y.	
	Taxable Inc	ome	(line 5)					%		of the
_	Over	Вι	ut not over	-	Pay	+	c	on excess	am	ount over
\$	0	\$	28,400) \$	-	-		3.75%	\$	0
	28,400		68,650)	1,065.0	0	+	7.00%		28,400
	68,650		104,625	5	3,882.5	0	+	7.75%		68,650
	104,625		186,825	,	6,670.5	6	+	9.00%		104,625
	186,825				14,068.5	6	+	9.90%		186,825

SCHEDULE Y1 - Use if your filing status is MARRIED FILING JOINTLY or QUALIFYING WIDOW(ER)

Pay

2,130.00

7,765.00

13,341.13

28,137.13

\$

+

+

+

+

+

%

on excess

3.75%

7.00%

7.75%

9.00%

9.90%

of the amount over

\$

0

56,800

137,300

209,250

373,650

Taxable Income (line 5)

But not over

137,300

209,250

373,650

.....

0 \$ 56,800

Over

56,800

137,300

209,250

373,650

\$

SCHEDULE Z - Use if your filing status is HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD

Taxable	Inco	ome	(line 5)					%		of the
Over		Bu	ut not over		Pay	+	c	n excess	an	nount over
\$	0	\$	45,550	\$	-			3.75%	\$	0
45,5	50		117,650		1,708.	13	+	7.00%		45,550
117,6	50		190,550		6,755. ⁻	13	+	7.75%		117,650
190,5	50		373,650		12,404.8	38	+	9.00%		190,550
373,6	50			2	28,883.	38	+	9.90%		373,650

2010 RI-1040ES STATE OF RHODE ISLAND ESTIMATED PAYMENT COUPON DIVISION OF TAXATION - DEPT#83 - PO BOX 9703 - PROVIDENCE, RI 02940-9703

YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER SPOUSE'S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, IF JOINT PAYMENT	Return this coupon with check or money order payable to: Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Dept#83, PO Box 9703, Providence, RI 02940-9703.DUE DATE
ADDRESS	ITE
CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE	1. ENTER AMOUNT DUE AND SOOO
FILE ONLY IF YOU ARE MAKING A PAYMENT OF E	ESTIMATED TAX TACH HERE AND MAIL WITH YOUR PAYMENT

2010 RI-1040ES STATE OF RHODE ISLAND ESTIMATED PAYMENT COUPON DIVISION OF TAXATION - DEPT#83 - PO BOX 9703 - PROVIDENCE, RI 02940-9703

YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER SPOUSE'S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, IF JOINT PAYMENT	Return this coupon with check or money order payable to: Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Dept#83, PO Box 9703, Providence, RI 02940-9703. Please do not send cash with this coupon.	DUE DATE JUNE 15, 2010
NAME	ITE	
ADDRESS	•••	
CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE	1. ENTER AMOUNT DUE AND	0.0
FILE ONLY IF YOU ARE MAKING A PAYMENT OF	ESTIMATED TAX	, <u> </u>
D	ETACH HERE AND MAIL WITH YOUR PAYMENT	

2010 RI-1040ES STATE OF RHODE ISLAND ESTIMATED PAYMENT COUPON DIVISION OF TAXATION - DEPT#83 - PO BOX 9703 - PROVIDENCE, RI 02940-9703

YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER SPOUSE'S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, IF JOINT PAYMENT	Return this coupon with check or money order payable to: Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Dept#83, PO Box 9703, Providence, RI 02940-9703. Please do not send cash with this coupon.	DUE DATE APRIL 15, 2010
NAME	ITE	
ADDRESS		
CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE	1. ENTER AMOUNT DUE AND	0.0
FILE ONLY IF YOU ARE MAKING A PAYMENT OF EST		00