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                               Rhode Island Department of Revenue 
                                               Division of Taxation   

 
    
            

                               Summary of Legislative Changes  
  

 August 8, 2017 
 

 
Following is a summary of tax law changes in the FY 2018 budget bill enacted August 3, 2017.1 

 
 

 
Tax amnesty 

 
Rhode Island will offer a state tax amnesty. The amnesty will be open to all taxpayers who are 
delinquent on any Rhode Island state taxes – including, but 
not limited to, personal income tax, sales tax, use tax, 
corporate income tax, and unemployment insurance tax. 
The amnesty is for 75 days, ending on February 15, 2018.  
 

 Thus, the amnesty will begin in December 2017. 
(The Division of Taxation plans to begin accepting 
applications on December 1, 2017.) 

 
The amnesty applies to any taxable period ending on or 
before December 31, 2016. For taxpayers whose amnesty 
applications are accepted, the Tax Administrator generally 
will not seek civil or criminal prosecution of the taxpayer, 
will waive penalties, and will reduce the applicable interest 
rate by 25 percent.  
 

 Thus, for example, the interest rate of 18 percent 
in effect for calendar year 2016 would be reduced 
by 4.5 percentage points, to 13.5 percent.  

 
The amnesty will be open to any taxpayer who pays the tax and interest due upon filing the 
amnesty tax return, or who enters into a bona fide installment payment agreement for reasons 
of financial hardship (provided that the installment payment agreement is for a short term). The 
Division of Taxation will develop and post the form to be used by amnesty applicants.  
 
 

                                                            
1 This publication is an informal summary of recently enacted legislation (House Bill 5175, Substitute A as amended) and is for 

general information purposes only. It is not a substitute for Rhode Island General Laws, or for Rhode Island Division of Taxation 
regulations, rulings, or notices. 

 Applies to all Rhode Island 
state taxes. 
 
 Applicants eligible for waiver 
of penalties, reduction of 
interest. 
 
 Amnesty ends February 15, 
2018. 

TAX	AMNESTY



Page 2 of 12 

 

The Tax Administrator must provide a written analysis of the amnesty program by April 30, 
2018, to the chairs of the House and Senate Finance Committees, with copies to the members 
of the Revenue Estimating Conference.  
 
Effective: 75-day amnesty ending February 15, 2018 
Citation: Rhode Island General Laws (RIGL) Chapter 44-6.5 
 
 

 
Non-collecting retailers 

 

The new law establishes certain registration and/or notice and reporting requirements involving 
Rhode Island sales and use tax. Which requirements apply to you depends on whether you 
qualify as a non-collecting retailer, a retail sale facilitator, or a referrer. 
 
 NON-COLLECTING RETAILER 
  
If you qualify as a “non-collecting retailer” (as defined in statute), you must – beginning August 
17, 2017 – register with the Division of Taxation for a permit to make sales at retail and collect 
and remit sales and use tax on all taxable sales into Rhode Island or: 
 

 post a certain website notice on your website;2 
 provide a certain checkout notice to your customer at the time of purchase; 
 provide a certain notice to your customer within 48 hours of purchase; 
 send the customer, who has $100 or more in cumulative annual purchases for the 

previous calendar year, a certain notice by January 31; and 
 provide the Division of Taxation by February 15th each year a certain annual attestation 

that the notice requirements (listed above) have been fulfilled.   
 

 RETAIL SALE FACILITATOR 
 

If you qualify as a “retail sale facilitator” (as defined in statute), you must -- beginning January 
15, 2018 -- do the following: 
 annually provide to the Division of Taxation a list of names/addresses of retailers for 

whom you collected Rhode Island sales tax; and 
 annually provide to the Division of Taxation a list of names/addresses of retailers for 

whom you did not collect Rhode Island sales tax but who still used your services. 
 

 REFERRER 
 

If you qualify as a “referrer” (as defined in statute), you must – beginning August 17, 2017 – 
notify retailers that their sales may be subject to Rhode Island sales and use tax. This notice 
requirement applies at such time during the calendar year when you cumulatively receive more 

                                                            
2 Notices mentioned on this page have been posted at: www.tax.ri.gov/notice. 

Sales taxes 
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than $10,000 from fees, commissions, or other compensation. The notification must be provided 
to retailers within 30 days from that time. 
 

BACKGROUND 
 

A state may require a retailer to collect the state’s sales tax only if the retailer has a physical 
presence in that state – in other words, nexus. That is because of a 1992 U.S. Supreme Court 
decision known as Quill.3 The Quill decision pre-dated widespread commercial use of the 
Internet. 
 

Under the new Rhode Island law, the existence and/or presence of a non-collecting retailer’s, 
referrer’s, or retail sale facilitator’s in-state software on the devices of in-state customers 
constitutes physical presence of the non-collecting retailer, referrer, or retail sale facilitator in 
Rhode Island under Quill, according to the legislative findings accompanying the new Rhode 
Island law. 
 

While such a physical presence of the non-collecting retailer, referrer, or retail sale facilitator 
may not constitute “presence” in the traditional sense, a non-collecting retailer, referrer, or retail 
sale facilitator who uses in-state software and engages in a significant number of transactions 
with in-state customers in a calendar year or receives significant revenue from internet sales to 
in-state customers in a given calendar year “evidences an intent to establish and maintain a 
market in this state for its sales,” according to the legislative findings. 
 
Effective: Various dates 
Citation: RIGL Chapter 44-18.2 
 
 

Certificate of exemption 
 

Under the old law, certificates of exemption from the Rhode Island sales and use tax did not 
expire. Under the new law: 
 

 If an organization receives a new sales tax exemption certificate, it will be valid for four 
years from date of issue. 

 All exemption certificates issued before July 1, 2017 will expire in June 2021. 
 The application fee for an exemption certificate is unchanged, at $25.  

 
The new provisions outlined above apply to exemption certificates for the charitable, 
educational, and religious organizations outlined under Rhode Island General Laws § 44-18-
30(5)(i). 
 
Effective: July 1, 2017 
Citation: RIGL § 44-18-30.1 
 

 

Seeds and plants 
 

Seeds and plants that are used to grow food and food ingredients are now exempt from Rhode 
Island sales tax and Rhode Island use tax. However, the new law makes it clear that the 
exemption does not apply to marijuana seeds or plants. 
 

Effective: July 1, 2017 
Citation: RIGL § 44-18-7.1, § 44-18-30 

                                                            
3 Quill Corp. v. North Dakota, 504 U.S. 298 (1992). 



Page 4 of 12 

 

 
Sales tax penalty 

 
The applicable penalty for violations under Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-19 (“Sales 
and Use Taxes – Enforcement and Collection”) is now capped at $25,000 (up from $10,000 
under the old law), or imprisonment for five years (up from one year under the old law), or both. 
 
 The new law also broadens the list of violations to include “willfully failing to remit any tax to the 
state which was collected from a customer.” 
 
Effective: July 1, 2017 
Citation: RIGL § 44-19-31 
 

 

 
Corporate estimated tax payments 

 
Corporations will soon have new due dates for their federal and Rhode Island estimated taxes. 
Under the new law, corporations will make their Rhode Island estimated tax payments in 
accordance with federal statute and regulations – making the system more convenient for 
businesses and their tax advisers. 
 
 

Corporate estimated tax – due dates and amounts 
 

OLD SYSTEM 
(Front‐loaded payment in two installments) 

 

NEW SYSTEM 
(Payment in four equal installments, spread out) 

  DUE DATE  AMOUNT    DUE DATE  AMOUNT 

1st payment  March 15  40% 1st payment April 15  25%

2nd payment  June 15  60% 2nd payment June 15  25%

    3rd payment Sept. 15  25%

    4th payment Dec. 15  25%
 

For illustration purposes, table assumes filer is calendar‐year C corporation. New system applies for tax years beginning after December 31, 2017. Thus, 
first installment for calendar‐year filer would be due in April 2018. Dates in table do not take into account weekends, holidays. 
 

 
Under former law, a corporation was required to make two Rhode Island payments of estimated 
tax: 40 percent of the total, due on the 15th day of the third month of the tax year, and 60 
percent of the total, due on the 15th day of the sixth month of the tax year. 

 
 Thus, for a calendar-year C corporation, the first payment, of 40 percent, was due 
March 15; the second payment, of 60 percent, was due June 15. 

 
Under the new law, a corporation will be required to make four payments of Rhode Island 
estimated tax, in equal instalments of 25 percent apiece.  

Business taxes 
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The first payment will be due on the 15th day of the fourth month of the tax year, the second 
payment on the 15th day of the sixth month of the tax year, the third payment on the 15th day of 
the ninth month of the tax year, and the fourth payment on 15th day of the twelfth month of the 
tax year. 
 

 Thus, for a calendar-year C corporation, the first payment will be due on April 15, the 
second on June 15, the third on September 15, and the fourth on December 15. 

 
 The new Rhode Island system applies for tax years beginning after December 31, 
2017. Thus, for example, a calendar-year corporation will first encounter the new system 
in calendar year 2018; its first quarterly estimated payment, 25 percent of the total, will 
be due in April 2018.  
 
 The new law specifically notes that if a due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or Rhode 
Island legal holiday, the installment will be due on the next regular business day. 
 

 ENTITIES AFFECTED 
 
The following table shows which filers are affected. 
 

New corporate estimated tax system – who is affected 

For every corporation having a taxable year after December 31, 2017, payment of estimated tax shall be made 
in four installments of 25 percent each. This requirement shall apply to the following: 

TAX/ENTITY 
NORMALLY FILES  

ANNUAL RETURN ON: 
SUBJECT TO TAX UNDER  

RHODE ISLAND GENERAL LAWS: 

Business corporation tax 
(also known as corporate income tax) 

Form RI‐1120C  Chapter 44‐11 

Political organization tax  Form RI‐1120POL  Chapter 44‐11.1 

Public service corporation tax 
(also known as public service gross earnings tax) 

Form T‐72  Chapter 44‐13 

Taxation of banks 
(also known as bank excise tax) 

Form T‐74  Chapter 44‐14 

Bank deposits tax  Form T‐86  Chapter 44‐15 

Taxation of insurance companies 
(also known as insurance gross premiums tax) 

Form T‐71  Chapter 44‐17 

Surplus lines  Form T‐71A  Chapter 27‐3 
 

First payment due on 15th day of fourth month of tax year, second payment on 15th day of sixth month of tax year, third payment on 15th day of 
ninth month of tax year, fourth payment on 15th day of twelfth month of tax year. New estimated payment system also applies to entities 
subject to mandatory unitary combined reporting. Forms in table are listed solely for convenience; filers of estimated tax will use estimated tax 
form (unless filing electronically).  
 

 
 For estimated tax purposes, surplus lines filers will follow the same schedule that 
applies to other tax types: The first payment will be due on April 15, the second on June 
15, the third on September 15, and the fourth on December 15. 

 
 CALENDAR VS. FISCAL YEAR 
 

The payment due dates depend on whether the entity has a calendar year or a fiscal year, as 
the following table shows.  
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Corporate estimated tax – calendar vs. fiscal year 
 

Payments must be made in equal installments of 25 percent each. Due dates depend on whether entity has a calendar or 
fiscal year, as shown below. 

FILER  FIRST PAYMENT  SECOND PAYMENT  THIRD PAYMENT  FOURTH PAYMENT 

Calendar year  April 15  June 15  September 15  December 15 

Fiscal year  15th day of 4th month 
(of the tax year) 

15th day of 6th month 
(of the tax year) 

15th day of 9th month 
(of the tax year) 

15th day of 12th month 
(of the tax year) 

 

New system applies for tax years beginning after December 31, 2017. Thus, first installment for calendar‐year filer would be due in April 2018. Dates in table 
do not take into account weekends, holidays. 
 

 
Effective: Tax years beginning after December 31, 2017 
Citation: RIGL § 44-26-2.1 
 

 
 

Sale or transfer of assets 
 

The new law makes clear that domestic or foreign limited liability companies, limited 
partnerships, or any other domestic or foreign business entities are subject to the same notice 
requirements as are domestic and foreign corporations when it comes to the sale or transfer of 
a major part in value of the entity’s assets: 
 
Under the new law, any entity listed above must notify the Tax Administrator at least five 
business days before the sale or transfer, providing details of the sale or transfer. The 
notification must be made by requesting a letter of good standing from the Division of Taxation. 
 
All required tax returns must be filed and all Rhode Island state taxes paid when the Tax 
Administrator is notified of the sale or transfer. 
 

 The new law makes clear that the provisions described above, with respect to sales as 
well as transfers, also apply for purposes of sales and use taxes.  
 

  The new law makes clear that the provisions described above don’t apply to sales by 
debtors in possession in bankruptcy.   

 
Effective: July 1, 2017 
Citation: RIGL §§ 44-11-29, 44-19-22 
 
 
 

Pass-through withholding 
 
The new law officially reduces the tax rate on pass-through withholding to a corporate member 
so that the rate equals the current Rhode Island corporate income tax rate. 
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 BACKGROUND 
 
If a pass-through entity4 distributes income to a nonresident member,5 the entity must withhold 
tax. If the member (or shareholder, partner, beneficiary) is an individual, withholding is at the 
highest Rhode Island personal income tax rate. If the member (or shareholder, partner, 
beneficiary) is a C corporation, withholding is at the highest Rhode Island corporate income tax 
rate.  
 
The corporate income tax rate under Rhode Island General Laws § 44-11-2 had been 9 percent, 
but in June 2014, as part of sweeping changes to Rhode Island’s corporate income tax regime, 
legislation was enacted reducing the rate by two percentage points, to 7 percent, effective for 
tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2015.  
 

 Thus, the new law updates pass-through withholding to reflect the current highest 
Rhode Island withholding rate of 7 percent for a corporate owner. The new law codifies a 
practice that the Division of Taxation has been following, as shown on Form RI-1096PT, 
“Pass-through Withholding Return and Transmittal.” 

 
Effective: July 1, 2017 
Citation: RIGL § 44-11-2.2 
 

 
 

Sales suppression 
 
In general, a zapper is a software program that is often carried on a memory stick or CD, or 
accessed through an Internet link that is then installed onto an electronic cash register or point-
of-sale system. 
 
Zappers may also be installed through phantom-ware software, a hidden programming option 
embedded into the operating system of an electronic cash register. The program manipulates 
transaction records, allowing businesses to underreport the amount of sales collected for the 
purposes of avoiding sales or individual taxes. 
 
A law enacted in 2014 forbade anyone to sell, buy, install, transfer, or possess an automated 
sales suppression device or phantom-ware, and set forth penalties. 
 
The new law changes and broadens the 2014 statute. For example, the new law adds the term 
“remote data manipulation” – which generally means electronically sending, transmitting, or 
receiving transaction data to a remote location for the purpose of manipulating or altering data. 
 
The new law also says that a person shall not knowingly suppress sales by engaging in remote 
data manipulation, either as the sender of the receiver of the information. 
 
Effective: July 1, 2017 
Citation: RIGL § 44-19-42 

 

                                                            
4 Subchapter S corporation, general partnership, limited partnership, limited liability partnership, trust, or limited liability 
company (that is not taxed as a corporation for federal tax purposes). 
5 Income which is derived from or attributable to sources within Rhode Island. 
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Historic preservation tax credits of 2013 
 
Under the old law, no credits could be authorized to be reserved on or after June 30, 2017, or 
upon the exhaustion of the maximum aggregate credits, whichever came first. Under the new 
law, the sunset date is now June 30, 2019, instead of June 30, 2017. 
 

 As of July 13, 2017, there were 30 projects awaiting credits under Rhode Island’s 
historic preservation tax credit program of 2013. Those 30 projects in the program’s 
queue sought up to $53.96 million in potential tax credits. However, there was only 
$400,000 available in the program at that time. The projects in the queue are free to 
proceed without tax credits. However, they remain in queue under the historic 
preservation tax credit program of 2013 in hopes that additional funds will become 
available under the program. For example, a project which has already been assigned 
credits may drop out of the program, freeing up credits. Also, a project which has already 
been assigned credits may be completed under budget, freeing up some credits. 

 
Effective: Upon passage 
Citation: RIGL § 44-33.6-11 
 

 
Credit for qualified research expenses 

 
Small businesses that qualify for vouchers or matching fund awards from the Rhode Island 
Commerce Corporation under Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 42-64.28 (“Innovation 
Initiative”) cannot also receive a tax credit in the same tax year under Rhode Island General 
Laws § 44-32-3 (“Credit for qualified research expenses”). 
 
Effective: July 1, 2017 
Citation: RIGL § 42-64.28-5 
 
 

Cigarette tax 
 
Rhode Island’s cigarette excise tax rises to $4.25 per pack of 20 cigarettes, from $3.75. The 
increase of 50 cents, or 13.3 percent, per pack, applies on and after August 16, 2017.6 (The 
same tax is imposed on unstamped cigarettes.) 
 
 
                                                            
6 The effective date of this provision is shown in the legislation’s text as August 1, 2017. However, that date was prior to the 
legislation’s actual enactment. In response to questions and concerns raised by stakeholders, the Tax Administrator has set 
August 16, 2017, as the effective date of the cigarette tax increase; August 16, 2017, at 12:01 a.m. as the inventory measuring 
point associated with the floor tax; and August 30, 2017, as the date floor tax returns and payments are due.    

Tobacco taxes 
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Cigarette tax calculation 
 

Effective August 16, 2017, the Rhode Island cigarette tax will be $4.25 per pack of 20, up from $3.75.  
In statute, the tax is computed by mills. One mill is equal to 1/1000th of one dollar.  

 By statute, the tax in July 2017 is 187.5 mills per cigarette.  
 Effective on or after August 16, 2017, the tax by statute is 212.5 mills per cigarette.  
 Typically, the tax is expressed based on a 20‐cigarette pack. Following is the computation. 

Tax per pack in July 2017:  0.001 x 187.5 (mills per cigarette) x 20 (cigarettes per pack) = $3.75 

Tax per pack August 2017:  0.001 x 212.5 (mills per cigarette) x 20 (cigarettes per pack) = $4.25 
 

New tax rate applies on and after August 16, 2017.  
 

 
Effective: August 16, 2017 
Citation: RIGL §§ 44-20-12, 44-20-13 
 
 
 

Floor tax on cigarette tax and stamps 
 
A tax will apply to the cigarette inventory of each cigarette retailer in the state (and to the stamp 
inventory of each distributor). The tax – known as a “floor tax” – will be measured by the number 
of cigarettes held by the retailer (and the stamps held by the distributor) as of 12:01 a.m. on 
August 16, 2017.7 The tax rate will be 50 cents a pack. 
 
Those subject to the floor tax on cigarettes or the floor tax on cigarette tax stamps must file a 
return with the Tax Administrator and make the associated tax payment on or before August 30, 
2017.8 
 
 
Floor tax calculation 

 

Effective August 16, 2017, the Rhode Island cigarette tax is $4.25 per pack of 20, up from $3.75. A floor tax – in essence, a 
tax on the inventory of cigarettes – will be computed at 12:01 a.m. on August 16, 2017. 
In statute, the floor tax is computed by mills. One mill is equal to 1/1000th of one dollar.  

 By statute, the tax in July 2017 is 187.5 mills per cigarette.  
 Effective August 16, 2017, the tax by statute will be 212.5 mills per cigarette.  
 Typically, the tax is expressed based on a 20‐cigarette pack. Following is the computation. 

Floor tax per cigarette:  0.001 x 25 (mills per cigarette) = $0.025 

Floor tax per pack of 20:  0.001 x 25 (mills per cigarette) x 20 (cigarettes per pack) = $0.50 
 

New tax rate applies August 16, 2017.  
 

 
Effective: August 16, 2017 
Citation: RIGL § 44-20-12.6 
 

 

                                                            
7 The official inventory measuring point associated with the floor tax is 12:01 a.m. on August 16, 2017. However, retailers that 

do not operate at that time are urged to complete their cigarette inventory at close of business on August 15, 2017. 
8 The effective date of this provision is shown in the legislation’s text as August 15, 2017. However, in response to questions 
and concerns raised by stakeholders, the Tax Administrator has set August 30, 2017, as the date floor tax returns and payments 
are due.  



Page 10 of 12 

 

 
 

Tobacco tax changes 
 
The new law makes numerous changes to Rhode Island statutes involving the taxation and 
regulation of cigarettes and other tobacco products.  
 
For example: 
 
 The definition of the term “cigarettes” under Rhode Island General Laws § 44-20-1 has 

been broadened to include “paper made into a hollow cylinder or cone, made with paper 
or any other material, with or without a filter suitable for use in making cigarettes.” 

 The definition of the term “dealer” has been broadened to include any person who sells 
or distributes other tobacco products. 

 Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-20, formerly titled “Cigarette Tax,” is now titled 
“Cigarette and Other Tobacco Products Tax” – and a number of definitions and other 
provisions that formerly focused only on cigarettes have been extended to include other 
tobacco products, too. 

 Any person distributing or dealing cigarettes or other tobacco products without a license 
may not only be fined for up to $10,000 for each offense, but also imprisoned for up to 
one year, (or be fined and imprisoned). 

 Penalties also have been increased or altered for any person violating state statutes 
involving unstamped contraband cigarettes or contraband other tobacco products, and 
for those violating statutory requirements involving reports and records. 

 
 
Effective: July 1, 2017 
Citation: Various statutes 
 
 
 

 
Historic homeownership tax credits  

 
Legislation enacted in 1989 established a personal income tax credit “for the maintenance or 
rehabilitation of historic residences.”9 However, as part of the sweeping changes to Rhode 
Island’s personal income tax regime in 2010, the historic homeownership tax credit was no 
longer allowed against the personal income tax, effective for tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2011. 
 
The new law allows unused carryforward for credits previously issued. The new law applies to 
tax year 2017 and thereafter. The new law also makes it clear that the allowance is solely for 

                                                            
9 Rhode Island Public Law 1989, ch. 376, § 1, establishing Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44‐33.1. 

Miscellaneous tax matters 
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credits already issued “and shall not be construed to authorize the issuance of new credits” 
under the program. 
 
Effective: Tax year 2017 and thereafter 
Citation: RIGL § 44-30-2.6  
 
 

 
Disclosure for audits 

 
The Tax Administrator is now authorized to disclose certain confidential tax and taxpayer 
information to the Rhode Island State Office of Internal Audit for the purposes of fraud detection 
and fraud prevention in any State of Rhode Island or federal program. 
 
Effective: July 1, 2017 
Citation: RIGL § 44-1-14 
 
 
 

Administrative penalties, legal fees 
 
The new law broadens the Tax Administrator’s authority regarding violations of Rhode Island 
state tax law. 
 
 PENALTIES 
 

Under the new law, whenever a licensee and/or a taxpayer violates any provision of state tax 
law (under Rhode Island General Laws Title 44), or the associated regulations, the Tax 
Administrator may: 
 revoke or suspend a license or permit issued by the Division of Taxation; 
 levy an administrative penalty of between $100 and $50,000;  
 order the violator to cease such actions; and/or 
 implement any combination of the penalties listed above. 

 
(In levying the penalties listed above, the Tax Administrator must follow the requirements of the 
Administrative Procedures Act, which, among other things, provides for appeals and other rights 
for the taxpayer or licensee.) 
 
 RECOVER LEGAL COSTS 
 

The new law authorizes the Tax Administrator to recover reasonable cost of legal services 
provided by in-house Department of Revenue or Division of Taxation lawyers – services that are 
incurred in matters pertaining to administrative hearings, court hearings, and appeals.  
 
 JEOPARDY DETERMINATIONS 
 

The new law makes clear that the Tax Administrator may collect a tax which is assessed, but 
which is not yet due, if the Tax Administrator believes that payment may be jeopardized by a 
delay (a “jeopardy tax assessment”). 
 
Specifically, the new law says that if the Tax Administrator believes “that the collection of any 
amount of tax, interest, and/or penalty assessed in a notice of deficiency determination will be 
jeopardized by a delay which could render a person or entity judgment proof and/or frustrate the 
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collectability of said determination, the Tax Administrator shall . . . make a jeopardy 
determination of the amount of tax required to be collected, including interest and penalties, if 
any.” In that case, the amount of tax/interest/penalty will be due and payable immediately upon 
the Tax Administrator’s mailing of the notice of jeopardy determination. (The taxpayer will be 
afforded certain appeal rights.) 
 
 STATE PROPERTY 
 

The new law states that, for the purpose of determining taxpayer compliance, “any and all 
information or data required to be generated or maintained” under Rhode Island General Laws 
Title 44 (“Taxation”), or tax regulations, “shall be deemed to be the property of the State of 
Rhode Island.” 
 
Effective: July 1, 2017 
Citation: New RIGL §§ 44-1-37, 44-1-38, 44-1-39 
 

 
Hospital licensing fee 

 
For all hospitals except those located in Washington County, Rhode Island, the hospital 
licensing fee rate is 5.652 percent of the net patient services revenue based on the hospital’s 
first fiscal year ending on or after January 1, 2015. (There’s a 37 percent discount for hospitals 
located in Washington County.) Every hospital must pay the licensing fee to the Division of 
Taxation on or before July 10, 2017. 
 

Under the new law, for all hospitals except those located in Washington County, Rhode Island, 
the hospital licensing fee rate is increased to 5.856 percent of the net patient services revenue 
based on the hospital’s first fiscal year ending on or after January 1, 2016. (There’s a 37 percent 
discount for hospitals located in Washington County.) Every hospital must pay the licensing fee 
to the Division of Taxation on or before July 10, 2018. 
 
Effective: July 1, 2017 
Citation: RIGL § 23-17-38.1 

 

                                                                                           
                                                 
This publication  is an  informal summary of recently enacted  legislation (H 
5175 Aaa) and is for general information purposes only.  It is not a substitute 
for  Rhode  Island General  Laws,  or  for  Rhode  Island Division  of  Taxation 
regulations, rulings, or notices. Citations listed in this document are from the 
original legislative text and are subject to revision. 
 

‐‐ Neena S. Savage, Esq. 
Rhode Island Tax Administrator 


