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                             Rhode Island Department of Revenue 
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Latest Revision: August 28, 2018 

Notice 2015-11 

 

 

Sales and hotel taxes on 
 short-term residential rentals: 

FAQs 
 

 

 
Legislation approved by the Rhode Island General Assembly and signed into law by Rhode Island Governor 
Gina M. Raimondo on June 30, 2015, expanded the sales and hotel taxes to include short-term rentals of 
residential property, including the rental of vacation homes and beach cottages. As an aid to homeowners, 
practitioners, and others, the Rhode Island Division of Taxation has drafted the following answers to 
frequently asked questions (FAQs). This document is for general information purposes only and is not a 
substitute for Rhode Island General Laws or for Division of Taxation regulations or declaratory rulings. 

   
 
 

Q: I own a vacation home in Narragansett that I rent out a week at a time every summer. 
Am I subject to this tax? 
 

A: Yes. The tax provisions of the law apply if you are renting out a location in Rhode Island 
where living quarters or sleeping or housekeeping accommodations are provided to transient 
guests in exchange for payment. Such accommodations include, but are not limited to, the 
following: 

• An apartment. 

• A beach house or cottage. 

• A condominium. 

• A house. 

• A mobile home. 
 

The provisions apply regardless of whether you, the owner of the dwelling, are a Rhode Island 
resident or nonresident, and regardless of whether the tenant is a Rhode Island resident or 
nonresident. Following are examples of those to whom the tax provisions of the law apply: 
 

• Someone who owns a beach cottage in Sand Hill Cove that is rented out for a week or 
two at a time every summer. 

• Someone whose principal residence is in the Barrington area and who rents it out to 
golfers or golfing fans for one or two weeks each June. 
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• Someone who owns a two-family house in Providence and who, during college 
graduation season each year, rents out the upstairs apartment to visiting relatives of 
graduates for a few days or for a week or two. 

 
Q: What does “short-term rental” mean? 
 

A: A rental period of 30 days or less. 
 
Q: What about a long-term rental? 
 

A: Any occupancy which is done through a documented arrangement, such as a written lease, 
for a rental period of more than 30 consecutive days, or for one calendar month, is excluded 
from the requirement to register with the Division of Taxation and collect taxes. 
 
Following are examples of those who would not be required to register and collect the taxes: 
 

• Someone who owns a beach cottage in Sand Hill Cove that is rented out to a single 
customer under a written lease for the entire summer. 

• Someone whose principal residence is in the Barrington area and who rents it out to 
golfers or golfing fans, under a written lease, for the entire calendar month of June. 

• Someone who owns a two-family house in Providence and who, during college 
graduation season each year, rents out the upstairs apartment to visiting relatives of 
graduates, under a written lease, for 31 consecutive days. 

 
Q: If the law does apply to me, what must I do? 
 

A: You must: 
 

• Register with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation; 

• Pay the annual $10 sales tax permit fee; and 

• Collect and remit the sales tax and the hotel tax. 
 
Q: How do I register? 
 

A: Fill out the registration form, available on the Division of Taxation’s website. It is called the 
“Business Application and Registration” form and is sometimes referred to as the “BAR.” To 
view the latest version of the form, please use the following link: 
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/sales_excise/sales_use.php 
 
It is a multi-page form, but you typically need to fill out only certain parts of it. When filling out 
the first page of the BAR form, please keep the following points in mind: 
 

• On the “Do you make sales at retail?” line, check “yes”. 

• Under the “Will you be selling” section, check the “yes” box next to “Rental of 
room(s)/home(s).” 

• If you are renting out only seasonally, be sure to fill in the “Seasonal Operation” line, 
including the months during which rentals will be made.  

• On the “Business Code #” line, enter 5538. 
 
Send the Division of Taxation the completed BAR form with a check for $10 for your sales 
permit. Completing and submitting the BAR will set you up to collect and remit Rhode Island 
sales tax and hotel tax. Please note that for purposes of short-term vacation rentals, the BAR 
can only be filed on paper at this time. 
 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/sales_excise/sales_use.php
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The law took effect July 1, 2015. The sales permit is good for a year (July 1 through June 30) 
before it must be renewed.  

 
Q: How much must I collect and remit in sales tax and hotel tax? And how is the tax 
calculated? 
 

A: For short-term rentals of an entire house, an entire condominium, an entire apartment, or 
other such residential dwelling, collect and remit the 7 percent sales tax and the 1 percent local 
hotel tax, for a total of 8 percent. (The 5 percent statewide hotel tax does not apply.) The sales 
tax and hotel tax must be stated separately on the invoice.  

 
EXAMPLE: If you rent out a cottage in its entirety in Bonnet Shores for $900 for one week 
in August 2015, the 7 percent sales tax would be $63 and the 1 percent local hotel tax 
would be $9, for a total tax of $72. 
 
 
 
 
 

 
If a damage deposit is required, separately stated, and refundable, the taxes do not apply to the 
refunded portion of the damage deposit. 
 
Once you remit the tax to the Division of Taxation, the agency will deposit and disburse the 
revenue according to terms of State law. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Q: What if my tenants had a documented arrangement as of March 2015 to rent my beach 
house for two weeks in August 2015? 
 

A: The effective date of the law was July 1, 2015. If the documented arrangement was signed 
prior to July 1, 2015, no sales or hotel tax is due on that transaction – no matter when the 
tenants paid or will pay you for the rental. This special provision is in effect only for occupancy in 
calendar year 2015.  
 
 
 
 
 

Example of invoice 

Rental fee $   900.00 

Sales tax of 7% $     63.00 

Local hotel tax of 1% $       9.00 

Total  $   972.00 

 

Tax on short-term rentals: Entire house 
 

Starting July 1, 2015, if you rent out an entire house, an entire cottage, an entire condo, an entire 
apartment, or other such accommodation, you must collect and remit certain taxes to the Rhode 
Island Division of Taxation – depending on the rental period. 

Rental period: Tax obligation: 

30 days or less…………….. Collect and remit 7% sales tax and 1% hotel tax 

More than 30 days………. Collect no sales tax, no hotel tax (assuming signed lease) 
 

Note: This table is solely for the rental of a house, cottage, or other such accommodation in its entirety. To 
see how the tax rules apply to the short-term rental of a room, please see page 4. 
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Q: What constitutes a documented arrangement for purposes of this special provision? 
 

A: A written lease or other formal written contract would suffice. So, too, would other types of 
records, such as e-mails and sales invoices. Even checks with rental dates written on them will 
be acceptable for this purpose.  
 

EXAMPLE: Maria rents out her cottage near Scarborough Beach for $1,500 a week each 
August. In October 2014, Tabatha signed a lease to rent the house for two weeks in 
August 2015 and paid Maria a 50% deposit, agreeing to pay the remaining 50% at 
move-in. For that transaction, no tax applies because the documented arrangement was 
entered into prior to the effective date of the law, and occupancy was in 2015. 
 

Q: What if I rent out my summer cottage by the week during the summer, then rent it out 
to University of Rhode Island students from September through May of the school year? 
 

A: Register with the Division of Taxation and collect and remit the 7 percent sales and 1 percent 
local hotel tax for the weekly rental periods in the summer. But there is no tax due for the rental 
during the school year (assuming that the school year rental is done through a written 
arrangement). 

 
Q: I have a cottage in South Kingstown that I do not rent out in the summer; I stay there 
all summer with my family. But I do rent it out each year to URI students under a lease 
that covers each September through May. Must I register and collect and remit the taxes? 
 

A: No. 
 
Q: Are the rules that govern the short-term rental of an entire home, an entire cottage, an 
entire condo, or an entire apartment different than the rules for renting out a room? 
 

A: Yes. If you rent out a room for 30 days or less, you would have to collect and remit the 7 
percent Rhode Island sales tax and the 1 percent local hotel tax, but also the 5 percent 
statewide hotel tax, for a total of 13 percent. 
 

EXAMPLE: If you rent out a room in your house for $350 a week for two weeks, you would 
have to collect and remit a total of $91 in taxes, or ($350 times 0.13) times two. The 
breakdown per week is as follows: 
 
 
 

 
 

However, if you rent out the room for more than 30 consecutive days, or for a calendar month, 
there will be no sales tax and no hotel tax due (assuming the rental is done through a written 
arrangement). 
 
 

 

Tax on short-term rentals: Rooms 
 

Starting July 1, 2015, if you rent out a room in an apartment, condo, house, or other such residential 
accommodation, you must collect and remit certain taxes to the Rhode Island Division of Taxation, 
depending on the rental period. 

Rental period: Tax obligation: 

30 days or less…….... Collect and remit 7% sales tax, 5%  statewide hotel tax,  1% local hotel tax 

More than 30 days… Collect no sales tax, no hotel tax (assuming signed lease) 

Sales tax of 7% on $350 = $24.50 

Local hotel tax of 1% on $350 = $  3.50 

Statewide hotel tax of 5% on $350 = $17.50 

Total tax = $45.50 
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Q: What if my tenants signed a lease in March 2015 to rent a room for two weeks in 
August 2015? 
 

A: The effective date of the provisions was July 1, 2015. If the lease was signed prior to July 1, 
2015, no sales tax and no hotel tax was due on that transaction for occupancy in 2015 – no 
matter when the tenants paid or will pay you for the rental. This special provision was in effect 
only for occupancy in calendar year 2015.  
 
 

Q: How do I remit the tax to the Division of Taxation, and how often must I do it? 
 

A: Sales taxes and hotel taxes are “trust fund taxes.” That means, in effect, that you are serving 
as the conduit for the tax; the tax is being paid by the tenant and collected by you on behalf of 
the State of Rhode Island. The taxes are not yours to keep and are not for personal use; they 
must be remitted – in other words, turned over to – the State of Rhode Island. 
 
If you provide short-term residential rentals throughout the year, you must file a monthly sales 
tax return and a monthly hotel tax return. If you rent out only seasonally, you must file a monthly 
sales tax return and a monthly hotel tax return only for the months during which you rent. 
 

EXAMPLE: Tammy rents out her beach cottage in Charlestown for a few weeks each July 
and a few weeks each August. For the remainder of the year, the cottage is not rented 
out. In this example, Tammy would file a monthly sales tax return and a monthly hotel 
tax return for the months of July and August. She would not file a sales tax return or a 
hotel tax return for any other month. She would still have to file the annual reconciliation 
return in January, covering the previous calendar year. 
 
EXAMPLE: Tony rents out a room in his house in East Providence for a few weeks every 
June. For the remainder of the year, the room is not rented out. In this example, Tony 
would file a monthly sales tax return and a monthly hotel tax return only for June. He 
would not file a sales tax return or a hotel tax return for any other month. He would still 
have to file the annual reconciliation return in January, covering the previous calendar 
year. 

 
Sales tax payments and hotel tax payments are made in arrears: Monthly sales and use tax 
returns and payments, and monthly hotel tax returns and payments, are due on or before the 
20th day of the following month.  
 

EXAMPLE: Sal registers with the Division of Taxation in July 2015. He rents out his beach 
cottage on Aquidneck Island for a few weeks in July. In that case, Sal must file a sales and 
use tax return, and a separate hotel tax return, for the month of July. Each return, along with 
a separate check for each return, would be due on or before August 20, 2015. 

 
 For those who make short-term residential rentals – such as a vacation house, beach cottage, 
or a room in an apartment or a room in a house – the Division of Taxation has a form for 
remitting the hotel tax. It is Form RI-8478, "Residential Dwelling/Room Rental Tax Return" and it 
should be completed and mailed in along with a check for payment of the tax. The form is 
available at the following link: http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/sales_excise/hotel.php. 
 
 
 
 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/sales_excise/hotel.php
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 For purposes of short-term residential rentals, the BAR form and the Form RI-8478 for 
remitting hotel tax cannot be filed electronically at this time. They must be made on paper. Also, 
payments related to such filings must be by check. However, sales tax returns and payments 
involving short-term residential rentals may be made electronically. See 
https://www.ri.gov/taxation/business/index.php and http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/creditcard.php. 
 
Q: When it comes to short-term residential rentals, is there a rule of thumb for 
determining who is responsible for registering with the Division of Taxation, charging 
and collecting the tax, and remitting the tax? 
 

A: Yes. The person or entity collecting the money for a rental is responsible for registering, filing, 
and remitting the applicable taxes. 
 
Q: How would a real estate professional be affected by the provisions of this law? 
 

If a real estate professional lists a rental on behalf of the property’s owners, and collects the 
rental amount, the real estate professional must register with the Division of Taxation, collect 
sales tax and hotel tax from the occupants of the rental, and remit those taxes to the Division of 
Taxation.  
 
The taxes apply to the gross receipts of the transaction – including any commissions or fees, 
such as cleaning fees and booking fees. However, if a damage deposit is required, separately 
stated, and refundable, the taxes do not apply to the refunded portion of the damage deposit. 
(The portion of the damage deposit that is not refunded is taxed.)  
 
Q: On behalf of a beach cottage owner, a real estate professional lists the cottage as a 
short-term residential rental. The cottage is listed for $2,000 for one week in August, 
under a written agreement executed in August. The price includes $1,600 for the rental 
fee and $400 for the real estate professional’s commission. The real estate professional 
asks the tenant to make a check for $1,600 payable to the cottage owner and to make a 
separate check for $400 payable to the real estate professional. Neither the cottage 
owner nor the real estate professional is involved in any other rental in the calendar year. 
Who must register with the Division of Taxation and collect and remit the tax?  
 

A: Because the real estate professional is initiating the lease agreement and communicating 
with the tenant, the real estate professional must register with the Division of Taxation, charge 
and collect the sales tax and hotel tax, and remit the taxes to the Division of Taxation. In this 
example, the 7 percent sales tax would total $140, and the 1 percent local hotel tax would total 
$20, for a total of $160. Each of the taxes would have to be separately stated on the invoice. 
 
Q: What if a real estate agent initiates the lease agreement and communicates with the 
tenant for purposes of a short-term residential rental, but the agent works at a real estate 
agency? 
 

A: In that case, the agency must register with the Division of Taxation, charge the sales and 
hotel tax on the short-term residential rental transaction, collect the taxes and remit them to the 
Division of Taxation – regardless of whether the agent is employed by the agency or treated as 
an independent contractor for the agency. 
 
Q: Suppose the owner of a vacation home advertises it as a short-term rental through a 
real estate agency. The owner is charged an up-front fee for the advertising. Once the 
prospective tenant finds the advertisement, he or she deals directly with the vacation 
home owner. 
 

https://www.ri.gov/taxation/business/index.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/creditcard.php
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A: In that case, the vacation home owner must register with the Division of Taxation, charge the 
sales and hotel tax on the short-term residential rental transaction, collect the taxes and remit 
them to the Division of Taxation. 
 
Q: If I am subject to the requirements of Rhode Island’s tax on short-term residential 
rentals, what filings must I make? 
 

A: As noted earlier, your very first step is to register for a sales tax permit with the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation. Use the “Business Application and Registration” form, or BAR. (It is 
sometimes called the “Sales and Withholding Tax Registration Form.”) It is available on the 
sales tax section of the Division of Taxation website through the following link: 
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/sales_excise/sales_use.php 
 
Or call the Division of Taxation’s Forms desk, (401) 574-8970, to have a copy mailed to you. 
Send the completed form with a check for $10 to the Division of Taxation (using the address 
listed on the form). Once you complete and submit the BAR form along with a check for $10 
made out to the Rhode Island Division of Taxation, and the agency processes your application 
and payment, you will receive a sales permit in the mail along with some forms for remitting the 
sales tax and the hotel tax.  
 
 

 

Tax on short-term rentals: Filing requirements 
 

 

 

A law which took effect July 1, 2015, expanded Rhode Island sales and hotel taxes to include short-term rentals of residential 
property. If you rent out such property, you must register with the Division of Taxation and collect and remit the taxes. 
Following is a brief look at which forms you must file and how often they must be filed. 
 

Purpose: Form:  Filing frequency: 

Register for sales permit Form BAR, “Business Application and Registration”  File once 

File and pay hotel tax Form RI-8478, "Residential Dwelling/Room Rental Tax Return" Each month (for months rented) 

File and pay sales tax Form T-204M, “Sales and Use Tax Return Monthly” Each month (for months rented) 

Annual sales tax return Form T-204R, "Sales and Use Tax Return -- Annual Reconciliation" Once a year (each January) 

Sales permit renewal “Retail Sales Permit Renewal Application” Once a year (by February 1) 

 

Form RI-8478 will be filed by those who rent out a vacation home or other such residential dwelling in its entirety directly to an occupant; 
those who rent out a residential room directly to an occupant; real estate professionals and others who rent out residential dwellings or 
residential rooms on another’s behalf; hosting platforms; and room resellers. All forms are online: www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/  Hotels and 
B&Bs should continue to use the monthly hotel tax return on Form HOM to report and remit hotel taxes.    
 

 
 
Fill out the forms and submit them along with payment according to the prescribed schedule. 
(For example, if you rent out your beach cottage only seasonally for July and August, you must 
charge, collect, and remit sales tax and hotel tax only for July and August. Payment for the July 
period is due on or before August 20; payment for the August period is due on or before 
September 20.)  
 
Keep in mind that you must submit, according to the schedule, one form for the sales tax and a 
check for the sales tax you are remitting, as well as a separate form and a separate check for 
the hotel tax you are remitting.  
 
For purposes of short-term residential rentals, the BAR form and the Form RI-8478 for remitting 
hotel tax cannot be filed electronically at this time. They must be made on paper. Also, 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/sales_excise/sales_use.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/
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payments related to such filings must be by check. However, sales tax returns and payments 
involving short-term residential rentals may be made electronically. 
 
Looking ahead: 
 

• You will receive in the mail each January a renewal notice for your sales permit. You 
must send back the completed renewal, along with a check for $10 to cover processing 
of the annual permit, by early February. Sometime in June, you will receive by mail your 
annual sales permit along with coupons for remitting sales tax and hotel tax.  

 

• On or before January 31 of each year, submit the annual sales and use tax reconciliation 
form. (It is, in essence, an annual tax return focusing solely on the sales and use tax; 
there is no annual reconciliation return for the hotel tax.) The form is in the process of 
being revised. To see what annual reconciliation forms look like, see the Division’s sales 
and use tax forms section: http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/sales_excise/sales_use.php 

 

 

• If you decide someday to stop renting out your vacation house or other such property, 
notify the Division of Taxation by submitting an account cancellation form (an earlier 
version is called the final return form). Use the following link: 
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/sales_excise/sales_use.php 

 
 

Q: What other points are there to keep in mind about the law on short-term residential 
rentals? 
 
 

• Once you have a sales tax permit, remember that it must be renewed each year. The 
renewal application and $10 renewal fee are due on or before February 1 of each year.  
 

• If you are a seasonal filer, you need only file a sales tax return and a hotel tax return for 
the months in operation; you are not required to file returns for other months. (Use Form 
RI-8478 for remitting hotel tax for short-term residential rentals.) 
 

• All filers must file an annual return, known as an annual reconciliation. It is due on or 
before January 31 of each year, covering the prior calendar year. For someone who 
registered in 2015, the first annual reconciliation return was due on or before February 1, 
2016 (January 31, 2016, fell on a Sunday). 
 

• The Division of Taxation will not seek criminal penalties or prosecution for anyone who 
fails to comply with the provisions of this law during the first fiscal year the tax is in 
effect. But those who fail to comply will still be subject to normal interest and penalty 
charges. 
 

 

Q: Do any other states charge such taxes on short-term residential rentals? 
 

Yes, approximately 40 states. They include Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Florida, 
Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina, to name a few.  
 
Depending on the state, short-term residential rentals, including vacation homes, are subject to 
state, county, and/or local taxes. Depending on the jurisdiction, such taxes may be called 
lodging taxes, hotel/room taxes, sales taxes, transient accommodation tax, or general excise 
taxes. 
 
 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/sales_excise/sales_use.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/sales_excise/sales_use.php
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Q: I sometimes go online to rent out my house, or just a room in my house, for a week at 
a time. Everything is handled through the website – and the website takes care of 
collecting the money. Must I register with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation and 
collect and remit sales and hotel tax, or is that the responsibility of the website? 
 

A: The website you’re talking about is actually a business. Such a business is sometimes 
referred to as a “hosting platform.” The Rhode Island law says that the hosting platform is 
required to register with the Division of Taxation, charge and collect the tax, and remit the tax to 
the Division of Taxation. In particular, the Rhode Island law makes the following points about 
hosting platforms: 
 

• No city or town in Rhode Island can prohibit you from offering your room, house, or other 
such residential unit through a hosting platform. 
 

• No city or town in Rhode Island can prohibit a hosting platform from providing a person 
or entity the means to rent, pay for or otherwise reserve a residential unit. 
 

• All hosting platforms are required to collect and remit the tax. 
 
 

Q: I sometimes go online to rent out my house, or just a room in my house, for a week at 
a time. I use the website to advertise the rentals. I pay the website a fee – it may be a 
subscription, a fee per booking, or some variation. The tenant who eventually ends up 
renting the house or room from me deals directly with me and pays me directly for the 
rental. Must I register with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation and collect and remit 
sales and hotel tax, or is that the responsibility of the website? 
 

A: You must register with the Division of Taxation, collect the tax, and remit the tax to the 
Division of Taxation. 
 
Q: I sometimes go online to rent out my house, or just a room in my house, for a week at 
a time.  The website gives me a choice: 1.) Let the website handle everything, including 
collecting the rental fee from the tenant, or 2.) Use the website only for advertising 
purposes and I collect the rental fee directly from the tenant. What are the registration 
and tax responsibilities? 
 

A: If the website collects the rental fee directly from the tenant, the website is responsible for 
registering with the Division of Taxation, charging and collecting the tax, and remitting the tax to 
the Division of Taxation. 
 
If you use the website only for advertising purposes and you collect the rental fee directly from 
the tenant, you are responsible for registering with the Division of Taxation, charging and 
collecting the tax, and remitting the tax to the Division of Taxation. 
 
Q: Whom shall I call for additional information about the tax? 
 

A: For questions about sales and use taxes or hotel taxes, or about how to complete the BAR 
form for purposes of short-term residential rentals, please call the Division of Taxation’s Excise 
Tax section at (401) 574-8955 from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. 
 
Q: The term “room reseller” is used in the law. What is a “room reseller”, and how does it 
differ from a “hosting platform”? 
 

A: A hosting platform is described above. It typically is a means by which you can rent out a 
room in your home – or your entire home. 
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By contrast, a room reseller buys rooms from hotels at a discount and resells them to customers 
at a markup. Under the law, a room reseller must register with the Division of Taxation and 
charge the occupant of the room Rhode Island’s 7 percent sales tax, 5 percent statewide hotel 
tax, and 1 percent local hotel tax, for a total of 13 percent, on the entire sale. The room reseller 
must remit the tax to the Division of Taxation. However, the room reseller may, in effect, claim a 
credit for the amount it was originally charged by the hotel in Rhode Island for the 7 percent 
sales tax, 5 percent statewide hotel tax, and 1 percent local hotel tax. (Room resellers are 
sometimes called room remarketers or travel websites.) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This document contains an informal, plain-language summary of certain provisions of Rhode Island legislation enacted in 2015. These 
FAQs are not a substitute for Rhode Island General Laws or for Rhode Island Division of Taxation regulations or rulings. Nothing 
contained in these FAQs in any way alters or otherwise changes any provisions of Rhode Island statutes, regulations, or formal rulings.   

 


