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                             Rhode Island Department of Revenue 

                                          Division of Taxation 
  

 
June 25, 2018 

 

NOTICE TO ALL PROVIDERS OF  
INVESTIGATION, GUARD, AND ARMORED CAR 

SERVICES 
 
 

This Notice is to inform you that as a result of legislation enacted in the 2018 session of the Rhode 
Island General Assembly, Rhode Island sales and use tax must be applied to all investigation, 
guard, and armored car services on and after July 1, 2018.1 
 
If you are a provider of investigation, guard, and/or armored car services, you must: 
 

 Register with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 Pay the annual $10 sales tax permit fee. 
 Collect and remit Rhode Island’s 7 percent sales and use tax on transactions. 
 Remit the tax to the Division of Taxation on a monthly or quarterly basis (see form for details). 
 File an annual reconciliation each January. 

 
Sales and use tax forms are available on the following page of the Division of Taxation’s website: 
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/sales_excise/sales_use.php. 
 
To register with the Division of Taxation, complete the Business Application and Registration 
(BAR) Form: http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2017/Misc/TX_BAR_092017.pdf.  
 
When you register, the Division will mail you forms to remit (send in) the tax. The forms will let 
you know how often you must file. (In general, if your average monthly tax liability is $200 or less, 
you will remit the tax quarterly. Otherwise, you will remit monthly.) The calendar showing due 
dates for sales and use tax for 2018 is available through the following link: 
http://www.tax.ri.gov/documents/information/2018/2018%20TXCLDR%20SALES.pdf. 
 

Which services are subject to tax? 
 
In general, you must register, collect the tax, and remit the tax if you are engaged in providing 
one or more of the following: (1) investigation and detective services; (2) guard and patrol 
services; and/or (3) picking up and delivering money, receipts, or other valuable items with 
personnel and equipment to protect such properties while in transit.  
 

                                                           
1 House Bill 7200, Substitute A as amended, article 4, section 10, signed into law June 22, 2018. 
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All investigation, guard, and armored car services listed under North American Industry 
Classification System (NAICS) code 56161 are included for purposes of the tax. The list includes, 
but is not limited to, the services listed in the table below. 
 
 

Services subject to tax starting July 1, 2018, include the following  

Armored car services Background check services 

Bodyguard services Bounty hunting services 

Guard dog services Detective agencies 

Guard services Fingerprint services 

Parking security services Investigation services 

Patrol services, security Private investigators 

Personal protection services Lie detection services 

Property protection services Missing person tracing services 

Protection services Private detective services 

Protective guard services Private investigation services 

Security guard services Skip tracing services 

Security patrol services  

 
 
Example: ABC Security Inc. sends a security guard to patrol XYZ Warehouse Corp.’s property in 
Smithfield, Rhode Island, for a number of hours each night. For that service, ABC Security 
charges XYZ Warehouse $5,000 a month. ABC Security must register with the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation, obtain a Rhode Island sales permit, and – beginning July 1, 2018 – collect 
and remit Rhode Island’s 7 percent sales and use tax. 
 

Example  

Fee that ABC Security charges to XYZ Warehouse $ 5,000 

Rhode Island 7% sales/use tax $    350 

Total collected by ABC Security from XYZ Warehouse $ 5,350 

Tax remitted by ABC Security to Division of Taxation $    350 

 
 
For general information on sales/use tax, see: http://www.tax.ri.gov/help/faq.php. To perform a 
NAICS code search, see: https://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/. 
 
Contact Information 
For questions about this Notice or about the sales/use tax or related subjects, contact the Rhode 
Island Division of Taxation’s Excise Tax section by telephone at (401) 574-8955, by email: 
Tax.Excise@tax.ri.gov, or by mail: Rhode Island Division of Taxation, One Capitol Hill, 
Providence, R.I. 02908. 
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