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                                               Division of Taxation   
 

NOTICE:  
 

TO ALL REFERRERS 
 
Please be advised that there is a new Rhode Island law1 that may affect you.  Below is a 
concise summary showing what you need to know about it: 
 

1.) Under the law, you are considered a referrer if you do the following: 
 Contract with a retailer to list/advertise for sale in Rhode Island taxable 

goods/services; 
 Receive a fee, commission, or other compensation from a retailer for 

listing/advertising; 
 Transfer via Internet or otherwise an in-state customer; and 
 Do not collect payments from in-state customers for the transaction. 

 
Please note: Review your contracts and agreements to determine your 
relationship with your vendors and customers.  

 
2.) You must comply with the requirements of #3 below if in the preceding calendar year 

you had: 
 $100,000 in gross revenue from the sale of taxable goods/services delivered in 

Rhode Island; or 
 200 or more transactions of taxable goods/services delivered in Rhode Island. 

 
3.) If you do any of the activities in #1 above that qualifies you as a referrer, here is what 

the law requires you to do starting on July 15, 2017 or two weeks after the law 
passes, whichever is later: 
 At such time during the calendar year when you cumulatively receive more than 

$10,000 from fees, commissions, or other compensation, notify retailers within 30 
days that their sales may be subject to Rhode Island sales and use tax. 

 

Please note that this concise summary is not a substitute for the law itself.  Refer to the law 
for specific details on any of the above provisions.  
 

You may contact the Rhode Island Division of Taxation with any questions or concerns at 
(401) 574-8955 or tax.excise@tax.ri.gov.  
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1 Rhode Island House Bill 5175, Substitute A as amended, Article 8, to be codified at Rhode Island General Laws § 44‐18.2‐1 et seq. 
 


