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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
DIVISION OF TAXATION

May 1, 2018

The Honorable William J. Conley, Jr.
Chair, Committee on Finance
Rhode Island Senate

The Honorable Marvin L. Abney
Chair, Committee on Finance
Rhode Island House of Representatives

| am submitting this report to you in fulfillment of the requirements set forth in
legislation approved by the General Assembly in June 2012.1

The terms of that legislation, codified at Rhode Island General Laws § 3-10-5(b), require
that the Tax Administrator, on or before May 1, prepare and submit to you a report
showing total sales of alcoholic beverages, sales tax collections, and excise tax
collections, by county, involving Class A licensees in Rhode Island for the preceding
calendar year.

This report draws its data chiefly from annual reports recently filed with the Division of
Taxation by Class A licensees authorized to sell alcoholic beverages in Rhode Island.
Class A licensees must file their annual reports with the Division by February 1.

Please let me know if you have any questions or require additional information.

Sincerely yours,

Neena S. Savage
Rhode Island Tax Administrator

1 Rhode Island Public Law 2012, ch. 241, art. 21, § 15 (amended by P.L. 2013, ch. 144, art. 9, § 9, and P.L. 2014,
ch. 528, § 1).
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“Each Class A licensee authorized to sell intoxicating beverages at
wholesale or retail in this state shall file an annual report on or before
February 1 with the division of taxation in the form required by the tax
administrator. Such report shall include, but not be limited to, total sales
of alcoholic beverages, sales tax, and excise tax collections on such sales
for the immediately preceding calendar year. Annually, on or before May
1, the tax administrator shall prepare and submit to the chairs of the house
and senate finance committees a report reflecting data from the annual
reports submitted by said licensee to the division of taxation. The tax
administrator’s report shall compile total sales of alcoholic beverages,
sales tax, and excise tax collections by county.”

-- Rhode Island General Laws § 3-10-5(b)
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Executive summary

This report, as required by statute, shows total sales of alcoholic beverages, sales tax
collections, and excise tax collections, by county, involving Class A licensees in Rhode
Island for the 2017 calendar year.?

Disclaimer

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation has made every effort to ensure that the data in
this report is reliable. However, the Division urges that care be taken when drawing
conclusions based on the data.

For example, the Division was required to compile the data based solely on the annual
returns (“annual reconciliations™) as filed by liquor stores and wholesalers; there was
insufficient time to audit all of those returns to ensure that they were complete and
accurate.

Furthermore, the Division faced challenges in compiling this report. Although the liquor
stores and wholesalers are required to file annual reconciliations by statute, some liquor
stores and wholesalers failed to file their returns in time for the results to be included in

this report.

Approximately 15 percent of liquor stores failed to file their returns this year, compared
with a 7 percent delinquency rate last year. The increase in delinquent filers could have a
material effect on the results presented in this report. For example, the Division believes
that the decline in gross sales of alcoholic beverages by liquor stores, as shown below,
could be attributable, at least in part, to the increase in the number of delinquent filers.
(Further information on this point appears in a note prior to Appendix A in this report.)

Summary of findings

Following is a summary of the findings of this report.

Summary of findings (dollars in millions) ‘

2016 2017 Difference
Gross sales of alcoholic beverages by liquor stores S 385.76 $ 371.58 (3.68 %)
Net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages by liquor stores 140.50 131.63 (6.31%)
Sales tax collected and remitted by liquor stores 9.83 9.21 (6.31%)
Excise tax on sales by wholesalers to liquor stores* 18.59 18.16 (2.31 %)

Dollar amounts are rounded and are for calendar year.
* Wholesalers/distributors pay excise tax on alcoholic beverages they sell, net of inventory, to liquor stores.

2 For the "Executive summary” portion of this report, all dollar amounts are rounded.

3 For purposes of this report, the filing cut-off date was April 19, 2018, and the Division stopped tallying and
vetting data on April 26, 2018.
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= Gross sales of alcoholic beverages by liquor stores in Rhode Island totaled $371.58
million in calendar year 2017, compared with $385.76 million in calendar year 2016, a
decrease of 3.68 percent.

= Net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages by liquor stores in Rhode Island — in other
words, sales after considering deductions and exemptions, including the exemption for
wine and spirits — totaled approximately $131.63 million in calendar year 2017,
compared with $140.5 million in calendar year 2016, a decrease of 6.31 percent.

= Liquor stores collected and remitted $9.21 million in Rhode Island sales and use tax in
calendar year 2017, compared with $9.83 million in calendar year 2016, a decrease of
6.31 percent. (The tax rate for each year was 7 percent.)

= The Division of Taxation estimates that wholesalers/distributors paid a combined total
of approximately $18.16 million in Rhode Island excise tax on alcoholic beverages they
sold, net of inventory, to liquor stores in Rhode Island in calendar year 2017, compared
with $18.59 million in calendar year 2016, a decrease of 2.31 percent.

Estimates

Liquor stores claimed, in the aggregate, a sales tax deduction — related to the sales tax
exemption for wine and spirits — of $239.41 million in 2017, compared with $243.38
million in 2016.

Based on those deductions, and on the Rhode Island sales and use tax rate of 7 percent,
the Division of Taxation estimates that Rhode Island forfeited approximately $16.76
million in sales tax revenue in 2017 related to the sales tax exemption for wine and spirits
sold at liquor stores, compared with $17.04 million in sales tax revenue in 2016 related to
the same exemption.

Scope of report

There are 248 active Class A licensees — liquor stores* — in Rhode Island.® Each is
required by statute to file an annual sales and use tax return, known as an annual
reconciliation.® The returns are due on or before February 1 of each year.

Based on the information contained in such returns, the Tax Administrator is required by
statute to prepare and submit a report to the chairs of the House and Senate Finance
Committees.

4 Liquor stores are also known as “package stores.”

51n general, a retailer with a Class A license is authorized to store and sell alcoholic beverages on premises,
under cerfain condifions. For more information, see Rhode Island General Laws § 3-7-1 and § 3-7-3.

¢ Rhode Island General Laws § 3-10-5(b).

RHODE ISLAND DIVISION OF TAXATION £} REPORT ON ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 5




The report is due on or before May 1 of each year. It must include the following
information:

= Total sales of alcoholic beverages by county.

= Sales tax collections by county.

= Excise tax collections by county.

This report is therefore broken into three sections:

1.) Gross sales of alcoholic beverages.

2.) Sales tax collections (based on net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages).
3.) Excise tax (paid by wholesalers/distributors).

The appendices contain additional information.
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1.) Sales of alcoholic beverages by liquor stores

The Division of Taxation estimates that gross sales of alcoholic beverages at liquor stores
in Rhode Island in calendar year 2017 totaled approximately $371.58 million, which
represents a 3.68% decrease over calendar year 2016.’

Gross sales of alcoholic beverages, statewide, 2017 vs. 2016 (dollars in millions)

2016 2017 Difference
Gross sales of alcoholic beverages by liquor stores S 385.76 S 371.58 (3.68 %)

Calendar-year dollar amounts are rounded, are for sales at liquor stores only (before deductions and exemptions), and are based on annual
reconciliation reports filed by stores with Division of Taxation.

= Wine and spirit sales accounted for approximately $239.46 million, or 64.4
percent, of gross sales of alcoholic beverages by liquor stores in calendar year
2017.

= Beer and malt sales accounted for approximately $132.13 million, or 35.6 percent,
of gross sales of alcoholic beverages by liquor stores in calendar year 2017.
(Rhode Island’s sales tax exemption applies to wine and spirit sales, not to beer
and malt sales.)

Gross sales of alcoholic
beverages at liquor stores

($ in millions)

$132.13 M
35.6% B Wine and spirits

$239.46 M ® Beer and malt
64.4%

Of the $371.58 million in gross sales of alcoholic beverages by liquor stores in calendar
year 2017, Providence County accounted for the largest portion — approximately $177.91
million. Bristol County accounted for the smallest portion — approximately $14.42 million.

7 Approximately 15 percent of liquor stores failed to file their returns this year, compared with a 7 percent
delinquency rate last year. The increase in delinquent filers could have a material effect on the results
presented in this report.
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Gross sales of alcoholic beverages by county, 2017

County Total Alcoholic Beverage Sales
Bristol S 14,421,078.26
Kent 74,963,182.45
Newport 35,514,937.47
Providence 177,905,324.02
Washington 68,776,534.83
Total 371,581,057.03

Amounts above are for calendar year 2017. For amounts from calendar year 2016, see Appendix B.

Net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages

The Division of Taxation estimates that net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages at liquor
stores in Rhode Island in calendar year 2017 totaled approximately $131.63 million. That
represents a 6.31 percent decrease from calendar year 2016. The sales tax exemption for
wine and spirits was in force for all of calendar years 2016 and 2017.

Net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages at liquor stores, 2017 vs. 2016 (dollars in millions)

2016 2017 Difference
$ 140.50 $ 131.63 (6.31%)

Calendar-year dollar amounts are for sales in Rhode Island at liquor stores only, after deductions and exemptions, and are based on annual
reconciliation reports filed by stores with Division of Taxation.

Net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages by liquor stores

Of the $131.63 million in net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages at liquor stores in Rhode
Island in calendar year 2017, Providence County accounted for the largest portion —
approximately $64.9 million. Bristol County accounted for the smallest portion,
approximately $4.6 million.

Net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages, by county, 2017

County Net taxable sales
Bristol S 4,558,847.60
Kent 26,134,298.16
Newport 12,037,589.36
Providence 64,902,308.80
Washington 23,994,702.69
Total 131,627,746.61

Amounts above are for calendar year 2017. For amounts from calendar year 2016, see Appendix B.

8 “Net taxable sales” generally means gross sales after deductions for certain nontaxable items, including re-
sales mainly to caterers (who charge sales tax to end users); sales to tax-exempt federal and state government
agencies; sales to tax-exempt nonprofit organizations; and the sale of wine and spirits. (The sale of wine and
spirits was exempt from the sales tax for all of calendar years 2016 and 2017.)
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2.) Sales tax collections

Rhode Island liquor stores collected and remitted a total of approximately $9.21 million
in sales tax on their net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages in 2017, compared with
$9.83 million in 2016, a decrease of 6.31 percent.®

Sales tax collected and remitted by liquor stores, 2017 vs. 2016 (dollars in millions) \
2016 2017 Difference
Sales tax collected and remitted by liquor stores S 9.83 S 9.21 (6.31%)

Dollar amounts are for calendar years and are rounded.

By county in 2017, liquor stores in Providence County collected and remitted the most in
sales tax, in the aggregate — approximately $4.5 million. Liquor stores in Bristol County
collected the least, in the aggregate — approximately $319,100.

Sales tax collected and remitted by liquor stores, by county, 2017

County Sales Tax
Bristol S 319,119.33
Kent 1,829,400.87
Newport 842,631.26
Providence 4,543,161.62
Washington 1,679,629.19
Total 9,213,942.26

Amounts above are for calendar year 2017. For amounts from calendar year 2016, see Appendix B.

For both 2016 and 2017, the sales tax exemption for wine and spirits was in effect for the

full year.

Exemption for wine, spirits

Legislation enacted on July 3, 2013,° temporarily exempted wine and spirits sold at
liquor stores from Rhode Island sales and use tax. The exemption was for a 16-month
period — from December 1, 2013, through March 31, 2015.

? Approximately 15 percent of liquor stores failed to file their returns this year, compared with a 7 percent
delinquency rate last year. The increase in delinquent filers could have a material effect on the results

presented in this report.

10 Rhode Island Public Law 2013, ch. 144, art. 9, § 3, added an exemption to Rhode Island General Laws § 44-18-
30, “Gross receipts exempt from sales and use taxes.” The exemption applied to the sale and storage, use, or
other consumption in Rhode Island of alcoholic beverages from December 1, 2013, through March 31, 2015 -
although beer and malt beverages continued to be subject to sales and use tax during that period. The
legislation enacted in 2013 also stated that alcoholic beverages “shall not be subject to minimum markup”

from December 1, 2013, through March 31, 2015.

RHODE ISLAND DIVISION OF TAXATION

) REPORT ON ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 9




Under legislation enacted June 19, 2014,** that exemption was extended for three months,
through June 30, 2015. Under legislation enacted on June 30, 2015,'? the exemption was
made permanent.

With respect to wine and spirit sales as listed on annual reconciliation returns, liquor
stores in the aggregate claimed a sales and use tax deduction of approximately $239.41
million for 2017, compared with $243.38 million for 2016, a decrease of 1.63 percent.

Sales of wine and spirts, deducted on liquor store sales tax reconciliations, 2017 (dollars in millions)
2016 2017 Difference
Sales of wine and spirits, deducted via exemption S 243.38 S 23941 (1.63%)

Dollar amounts are for calendar years and are rounded.

By county in 2017, liquor stores in Providence County sold the greatest amount of wine
and spirits, approximately $112.66 million, and deducted that amount under the sales tax
exemption.

Liquor stores in Bristol County sold the least amount of wine and spirits, approximately
$9.77 million, and deducted that amount under the sales tax exemption.

Sale of wine and spirits, deducted on liquor store sales tax reconciliations, by county, 2017

County Wine and spirit sales deducted on store returns
Bristol S 9,767,461.62
Kent 48,774,124.97
Newport 23,468,014.68
Providence 112,662,668.48
Washington 44,739,821.67
Total 239,412,091.42

Amounts above are for calendar year 2017. For amounts from calendar year 2016, see Appendix B.

Forgone sales tax revenue

The Division of Taxation estimates that Rhode Island forfeited approximately $16.76
million in sales tax revenue because of the sales tax exemption on wine and spirit sales
for 2017, compared with $17.04 million in sales tax revenue in 2016 related to the same
exemption. Additional information related to this matter is in Part 3 of this report.

" Rhode Island Public Law 2014, ch. 145, art. 12, § 9.
2 Rhode Island Public Law 2015, ch. 141, art. 11, § 7.
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Estimate of forgone sales tax revenue, by county, calendar year 2017

County Wine and spirit sales deducted on store returns = An estimate of forgone sales tax revenue
Bristol S 9,767,461.62 S 683,722.31
Kent 48,774,124.97 3,414,188.75
Newport 23,468,014.68 1,642,761.03
Providence 112,662,668.48 7,886,386.79
Washington 44,739,821.67 3,131,787.52
Total 239,412,091.42 16,758,846.40

Amounts above are for calendar year 2017 and are subject to rounding. For amounts from calendar year 2016, see Appendix B.
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3.) Excise tax

Wholesalers/distributors of alcoholic beverages are subject to Rhode Island’s alcoholic
beverage excise tax and must also file annual reconciliation returns.™

Excise taxes on a number of categories of alcoholic beverages increased — effective July
1, 2013, through June 30, 2015. Among the categories affected by the increase were malt
beverages (including beer), and spirits — such as whiskey, gin, rum, and brandy —
containing alcohol measuring more than 30 proof. The increases were initially intended
to be temporary, but were made permanent under legislation enacted June 30, 2015,
effective July 1, 2015.

Excise tax per gallon on wholesalers/distributors and manufacturers

Previous tax rates Current tax rates
Still wines S 0.60 S 1.40
Still wines (Rhode Island fruit) 0.30 0.30
Sparkling wines 0.75 0.75
Whiskey, other distilled spirits 3.75 5.40
Low proof distilled spirits 1.10 1.10
Ethyl alcohol (for beverage purposes) 7.50 7.50
Ethyl alcohol (for non-beverage use) 0.08 0.08
Malt beverages, including beer 3.00 3.30

« All taxes are per gallon, except tax on malt beverages, which is per barrel (a barrel equals 31 gallons).

« “Previous tax rates” were in effect through June 30, 2013.

« “Current tax rates” took effect July 1, 2013.

« Still wines made entirely from fruit grown in Rhode Island continue to be taxed at 30 cents a gallon.

* “Low proof” spirits contain alcohol measuring 30 proof or less.

« Tax applies to manufacturers; wholesalers/distributors pay fee equal to applicable tax rate.

* In-state breweries and distilleries meeting certain other conditions may qualify for limited tax exemption.

Excise tax by county

Rhode Island General Laws 8§ 3-10-5(b) requires the Division of Taxation to report excise
tax collections by county. For calendar year 2017, wholesalers/distributors paid a
combined total of approximately $18.16 million in Rhode Island excise tax on alcoholic
beverages they sold, net of inventory, to liquor stores in Rhode Island.® That compares
with approximately $18.59 million in calendar year 2016, a decrease of 2.31 percent.

13 The excise tax applies to manufacturers; wholesalers/distributors pay a fee equal to the tax. The levy is
sometimes referred to as a "manufacturing tax” or “import service fee.”

14 Rhode Island Public Law 2015, ch. 141, art. 11, § 8.

15 To meet the requirements of Rhode Island General Laws § 3-10-5(b), the Division of Taxation had to make
certain assumptions for versions of this report published in prior years - including, for example, what percentage
of total sales by wholesalers/distributors were made to liquor stores. However, due to a revision of the Division of
Taxation's annual reconciliation form, that issue has been resolved; the assumptions are no longer needed.
Also, the Division continues to include in this annual report only excise tax related to the distribution of alcoholic
beverages by wholesalers/distributors to liquor stores (“Class A" licensees), not to other customers, such as
tfaverns.
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Alcoholic beverage excise taxes, 2017 vs. 2016 (dollars in millions)

2016 2017 Difference
Excise tax on sales by wholesalers to liquor stores* S 18.59 S 18.16 (2.31%)

Dollar amounts are rounded, for calendar year, and are based on reports filed by wholesalers/distributors with Division of Taxation.
* Wholesalers/distributors pay excise tax on alcoholic beverages they sell, net of inventory, to liquor stores.

The Rhode Island sales tax exemption on wine and spirits applies at the retail level — on

sales by liquor stores to consumers. There is no exemption on wine and spirits sold at the

wholesale level — sales by wholesalers/distributors to liquor stores.

Of the approximately $18.16 million in excise tax paid by wholesalers/distributors on
alcoholic beverages sold to liquor stores in calendar year 2017, Providence County
accounted for the largest portion — approximately $8.79 million. Bristol County
accounted for the smallest portion — approximately $745,765.

Alcoholic beverage excise taxes, by county, 2017 \

County 2017
Bristol S 745,765.44
Kent 3,378,331.29
Newport 2,119,498.57
Providence 8,791,907.26
Washington 3,120,776.01
Total: 18,156,278.57

Amounts above are for calendar year 2017. For amounts from calendar year 2016, see
Appendix B.

Other information

Following is some additional information for this report.

Forgone tax revenue in summary

As previously noted, Rhode Island forfeited approximately $16.76 million in sales tax
revenue in 2017 related to the sales tax exemption for wine and spirits sold at liquor
stores, compared with $17.04 million in sales tax revenue in 2016 related to the same
exemption. The estimated forfeited amount for calendar year 2017 was not offset by an
increase in excise tax revenue; excise tax revenue declined for calendar year 2017
compared with 2016.

Legislative change

Rhode Island General Laws § 3-10-1 sets forth tax rates on alcoholic beverages. The
taxes apply to manufacturers; wholesalers/distributors pay a fee equal to the applicable
tax rate.
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Under the statute, a brewer that brews beer in Rhode Island and that is actively and
directly owned, managed, and operated by an authorized legal entity that has owned,
managed, and operated a brewery in Rhode Island for at least 12 consecutive months
receives a tax exemption on the first 100,000 barrels of beer that it produces and
distributes in Rhode Island in any calendar year.

Legislation enacted in June 2016 provides a similar tax break for distillers. Under the
new provision, a distiller that distills spirits in Rhode Island and that is actively and
directly owned, managed, and operated by an authorized legal entity that has owned,
managed, and operated a distillery in Rhode Island for at least 12 consecutive months
will receive a tax exemption on the first 50,000 gallons of distilled spirits that it produces
and distributes in Rhode Island in any calendar year.
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Timeline

JUNE 2012

x |egislation is enacted requiring all sellers of alcoholic beverages (wholesalers and
retailers, including taverns, bars, liquor stores, and others) to file an annual report to
the Division of Taxation by February 1 each year and include their total sales of
alcoholic beverages, as well as the sales tax and excise tax collections on such sales.

x The legislation also requires the Tax Administrator to prepare and submit a report
on or before May 1 each year, including a compilation of total sales of alcoholic
beverages, and the related sales tax and excise tax collections by county.

JuLy 2013

x |egislation is enacted to temporarily increase excise taxes on a number of
categories of alcoholic beverages for a 21-month period, from July 1, 2013, through
March 31, 2015. Among the categories affected by the increase will be malt
beverages (including beer), a number of still wines, and spirits such as whiskey, gin,
rum, and brandy containing alcohol measuring more than 30 proof. (The excise tax
applies to manufacturers; wholesalers/distributors pay a fee equal to the tax.)

x The legislation also will temporarily exempt, from Rhode Island sales and use tax,
all wine and spirits sold at liquor stores (“Class A” licensees under Rhode Island
General Laws Title 3). The exemption is to be in force for 16 months, from December
1, 2013, through March 31, 2015. Also during that period, no alcoholic beverages
sold at retail will be subject to state’s minimum markup. Beer and other malt
beverages will continue to be subject to the sales and use tax.

x Thus, the temporary increase in excise taxes will begin earlier than the temporary
sales tax exemption on wine and spirts sold at liquor stores, but will end at the same
time.

x The legislation also limits the scope of the annual reporting requirement. Under the
June 2012 legislation as enacted, all sellers of alcoholic beverages (wholesalers and
retailers, including taverns, bars, liquor stores, etc.) had to make the annual filing.
Under the July 2013 legislation as enacted, the annual reporting requirement will
apply only to Class A licensees authorized to sell intoxicating beverages at wholesale
or retail.
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JUNE 2014

x| egislation is enacted to extend, by three months, the temporary increase in excise
taxes. Thus, the increase, which was to have ended March 31, 2015, will be extended
through June 30, 2015.

x The legislation also extends, by three months, the temporary sales tax exemption
on wine and spirits sold at liquor stores. Thus, the exemption, which was to have
ended March 31, 2015, will be extended through June 30, 2015. (Beer and other malt
beverages will continue to be subject to the sales and use tax.)

JUNE 2015

x |_egislation is enacted to permanently extend the increases in excise taxes. (The
increases were to have ended June 30, 2015.)

x The legislation also permanently exempts from sales and use tax the sale of wine
and spirits sold at liquor stores — “Class A” licensees under Rhode Island General
Laws Title 3. (The exemption was to have ended June 30, 2015.) Beer and other malt
beverages will continue to be subject to the sales and use tax.

Notes on this report

Of the 248 active Class A licensees (liquor stores) required to report sales of alcoholic
beverages and related tax information, a total of 210 filed annual reconciliation returns with
the Division of Taxation as of April 19, 2018. Thus, approximately 85 percent of licensees filed
annual returns with the agency, while approximately |5 percent did not. The Class A licensees
that were delinquent in the filing of annual reconciliation returns as of April 19, 2018, make up
12 percent of total sales activity. Thus, the Division of Taxation is confident that the data
contained in this report covers approximately 88 percent of total sales activity.

There are 39 active wholesalers/distributors of alcoholic beverages in Rhode Island. Of those,
five were delinquent in filing their annual reconciliation returns as of April 20, 2018. The
Division of Taxation has determined that, of the five who were delinquent in filing their returns,
three would have filed returns showing zero excise tax, while two would have filed returns
showing minimal excise tax. The delinquent filers represented approximately 12 percent of all
filers. Furthermore, the delinquent filers make up | percent of total sales activity. Thus, the
Division of Taxation is confident that the excise tax data contained in this report covers more
than 99 percent of total sales activity.
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Appendix A: Statute on alcoholic beverage study

Alcoholic Beverages

CHAPTER 3-10
Taxation of Beverages

SECTION 3-10-5

8 3-10-5 Information supplemental to returns — Audit of books. — (a) The
tax administrator may at any time request further information from any person
or from the officers and employees of any corporation that he or she may deem
necessary to verify, explain, or correct any return made in pursuance of the
provisions of this chapter, and for the like purpose, the administrator or his or
her authorized agent may examine the books of account of that person or
corporation during business hours.

(b) Each Class A licensee authorized to sell intoxicating beverages at
wholesale or retail in this state shall file an annual report on or before February
1 with the division of taxation in the form required by the tax administrator.
Such report shall include, but not be limited to, total sales of alcoholic
beverages, sales tax, and excise tax collections on such sales for the
immediately preceding calendar year. Annually, on or before May 1, the tax
administrator shall prepare and submit to the chairs of the house and senate
finance committees a report reflecting data from the annual reports submitted
by said licensee to the division of taxation. The tax administrator's report shall
compile total sales of alcoholic beverages, sales tax, and excise tax collections
by county.

History of Section.

(P.L. 1933, ch. 2013, § 44; G.L. 1938, ch. 167, § 4; impl. am. P.L. 1939, ch.
660, § 70; G.L. 1956, § 3-10-5; P.L. 2012, ch. 241, art. 21, § 15; P.L. 2013, ch.
144, art. 9, 8 9; P.L. 2014, ch. 528, § 1)
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Appendix B: Expanded tables

2017 Alcoholic Beverages Sales Tax Report

By County
Wine & Spirit Beer & Malt Total Alcoholic Total Alcohol Net taxable
County Sales Sales Beverage Sales Resale Interstate Fed & State Other Exempt Wine & Spirits  Related Deduction Alcoholic Sales Sales Tax
Bristol 9,767,461.67 4,653,616.59 14,421,078.26 5482.15 - - 89,286.89 9,767,461.62 9,862,230.66 4,558,847.60 319,119.33
Kent 48,774,124.97 26,189,057.48 74,963,182.45 11,357.00  7,450.00 - 35952.32  48,774,124.97 48,828,884.29 26,134,298.16  1,829,400.87
Newport 23,468,014.68 12,046,922.79 35,514,937.47 49.63 - - 9,283.80 23,468,014.68 23,477,348.11 12,037,589.36 842,631.26
Providence 112,694,761.70 65,210,562.32 177,905,324.02 163,515.65 2,271.40  104,700.00 69,859.69  112,662,668.48 113,003,015.22 64,902,308.80  4,543,161.62
Washington 44,751,021.20 24,025,513.63 68,776,534.83 40,888.27 - - 1122.20  44,739,821.67 44,781,832.14 23,994,702.69  1,679,629.19
TOTAL RI 239,455,384.22 132,125,672.81  371,581,057.03 221,292.70  9,721.40 104,700.00 205,504.90  239,412,091.42 239,953,310.42 131,627,746.61  9,213,942.26

2016 Alcoholic Beverage Sales Tax Report

By County

2016 Alcoholic Beverage Sales Tax Report

Gross Sales - Alcoholic Beverages Sales Tax Deductions Related to Alcoholic Beverages
Total Alcohol
Wine & Spirit Beer & Malt Total Alcoholic Fed & Other Related Net taxable
County Sales Sales Beverage Sales Resale Interstate State Exempt Wine & Spirits Deduction Alcoholic Sales Sales Tax
Bristol 10,173,548 36 5,093,850.57 15,267,398.93 0.00 0.00 0.00 8266342 10,17354836 10,256,211.78 5,011,187.15 350,783.10
Kent 47,608,942 17 26,755,729 60 74,364,671.77 10,634.66 7,252 48 0.00 3520940 4760894230 47,662,038.84 26,702,632.93 1,869,184 31
Newport 25,669,32352 14,495,077 .57 40,164,401.09 530,614.85 0.00 000 610,900.15 25,106,94352 26,248 458 52 13,915,942 57 974,115.98
Providence 118,225,114.26 71,842,024 00 190,067,138.26 180,292 40 43,657.76 237,41358 95,978.06 117,62161662 118,178,958 42 71,888,179.84 5,032,172.59
Washington 42,873,386.49  23,020,590.19 65,893,976 .68 40,558 49 0.00 0.00 2,06862 4287338649 42916,013.60 22,977,963.08 1,608,457 42
TOTAL RI 244,550,314.80 141,207,271.93 385,757,586.73 762,100.40 50,910.24 23741358  826,819.65 243,384,437.29 2450261,681.16 140,495,905 57 9,834,713.40
Source: 2016 Alcoholic Beverage Return - Annual Reconciliations by holders of Class A Liquor Licenses (Package Stores)
2015 Alcoholic Beverage Sales Tax Report
Gross Sales - Alcoholic Beverages Sales Tax Deductions Related to Alcoholic Beverages
Total Alcohol
Wine & Spirit Beer & Malt Total Alcoholic Fed & Other Related Net taxable
County Sales Sales Beverage Sales Resale Interstate State Exempt Wine & Spirits Deduction Alcoholic Sales Sales Tax

Bristol 9,668,511.25 5,080,444 .45 14,748,955.70 0.00 0.00 0.00 121,48128 9,668,511.25 9,789,992.53 4,958,963.17 347,127.42
Kent 49,582,52825 27,075,895.56 76,658,423.81 10,438 87 3,445.00 0.00 52,966.40 49,582,528.25 49,649,378.52 27,009,045.29 1,890,633.17
Newport 25,986,707.85 13,867,529.73 39,854,237.58 325,921.92 0.00 29572215 37573814 25582,410.05 26,579,792.26 13,274,44532 929,211.17
Providence 114,242,374 42 73,108,359.37 187,350,733.79 85,755.55 58,416.38 94,375.47 91,646.22 114,177,487.27 114,507,680.89 72,843,052.90 5,099,013.70
38,568,384 52 22 426,984 62 60,995,369.14 33,659.78 3,405.27 0.00 992826 38,558,619.55 38,605,612 86 22,389,756.28 1,567,282.94
TOTAL Rl 238,048,506.29 141,559,213.73 379,607,720.02 455,776.12 65,266.65 390,097.62 651,760.30 237,569,556.37 239,132,457.06 140,475,262.96 9,833,268.40

Note: The data on this page is based on the annual returns (*annual reconciliations”) as
filed with the Division of Taxation by liquor stores. Approximately 15 percent of liquor stores
failed to file their returns this year (covering calendar year 2017), compared with 7 percent
last year (covering calendar year 2016). The increase in delinquent filers could have a
material effect on the results presented in this report.
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Excise tax/import service fee paid by wholesalers/distributors/manufacturers on alcoholic beverages, by
county, for calendar year 2017:

Providence Washington

Bristol County Kent County Newport County County County TOTAL FEE
DISTILLED SPIRTS $ 341,24558 | $ 1,871,324.65 | $ 892,165.79 | $ 5114,376.86 | $ 1,510,271.82 | $  9,729,384.70
LOW PROOF DISTILLED SPIRTS| $ 2,668.69 | $ 20,598.21 | $ 9,22252 | $ 45,920.46 | $ 17,598.65 | $ 96,008.53
ETHYL ALCOHOL $ 393.75 [ $ 1,650.51 | $ 1,368.75 | $ 5,886.15 | $ 1,157.88 | $ 10,457.04
STILL WINE $ 16264652 | $  830,700.99 [$  478878.96 | $ 1,579,500.28 | $  761,003.88 | $  3,812,730.63
SPARKLING WINE $ 597184 | $ 21,905.22 | $ 28,207.61 | $ 53,412.62 | $ 28,778.53 | $ 138,275.82

PACKAGED BEER $ $ - $ $ - $ - $ -
MALT BEVERAGE BARRELS $ 232,839.06 | $ 632,151.71 | $ 709,654.94 [ $ 1,992,810.89 | $ 801,965.25 | $  4,369,421.85
TOTAL IMPORT FEE $ 745,765.44 | $ 3,378,331.29 | $ 2,119,498.57 | $ 8,791,907.26 | $ 3,120,776.01 | $ 18,156,278.57

Excise tax/import service fee paid by wholesalers/distributors/manufacturers on alcoholic beverages, by
county, for calendar year 2016:

Providence Washington

Bristol County Kent County | Newport County County County TOTAL FEE
DISTILLED SPIRTS $ 333,172.30 | $ 2,012,429.34 | $ 889,641.91 | $ 5,127,490.29 [$ 1,529,84551 | $ 9,892,579.35
LOW PROOF DISTILLED SPIRTS| $ 3,032.07 [ $ 19,759.43 | $ 9,326.95 | $ 45,009.41 | $ 17,454.20 | $ 94,582.06
ETHYL ALCOHOL $ 143.73 [ $ 1,43343 | $ 1,403.96 | $ 520459 | $ 82797 | $ 9,013.68
STILL WINE $ 196,454.46 | $ 1,058,282.18 | $ 513,885.84 | $ 1,891,992.37 | $ 830,914.94 | $  4,491,529.79
SPARKLING WINE $ 3,990.63 | $ 20,245.56 | $ 15,963.64 | $ 41,952.65 | $ 18,594.46 | $ 100,746.94

PACKAGED BEER $ $ - $ - $ $ - $ -
MALT BEVERAGE BARRELS $ 208,089.80 | $ 588,204.27 | $ 598,410.02 | $ 1,858,203.41 | $ 749,290.64 | $ 4,002,198.14
TOTAL IMPORT FEE $ 744,882.99 | $ 3,700,354.21 | $ 2,028,632.32 | $ 8,969,852.72 | $ 3,146,927.72 | $ 18,590,649.96

Additional Notes:

Prior years’ reports are available at the Division of Taxation website: http://www.tax.ri.gov/reports/index.php.
Also online is the annual reconciliation form: http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/sales_excise/sales_use.php.
(The photograph of the Rhode Island State House, on the first page of this report, was taken in April 2018 by the Division of

Taxation.)
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