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RHODE ISLAND TAX NEWS 

SALES TAX EXEMP-

TION FOR URNS 

Recently enacted legislation 
provides a Rhode Island sales and 
use tax exemption for urns. It 
took effect October 1, 2019. For 
more information, see page 2. 
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N ew Rhode Island tax 
laws, enacted earlier 

this year, took effect on 
October 1, 2019.  

  The new laws affect a 
range of taxpayers, includ-

D IVISION HOLDS SEMINAR FOR PREPARERS 

ing providers of streaming 
video services, streaming 
audio services, and funeral 
services. 

  At issue are tax-related 
provisions which were in-

cluded in the budget bill 
approved by the Rhode 
Island General Assembly 
and signed into law by 
Rhode Island Governor 
Gina M. Raimondo on July 
5, 2019. 

Now the law 

The legislation specified 
that the following provi-
sions take effect October 
1, 2019. Thus, the follow-
ing are now the law: 

⧫ Rhode Island’s 7% sales 
and use tax now applies to 
streaming video, streaming 
music, e-books, and other 
“specified digital products”. 

(Please turn to page 2) 

NEW TAX LAWS NOW IN EFFECT 

T he Rhode Island Divi-
sion of Taxation will 

hold a  free seminar for tax 
preparers.  

  The main focus is on 
what’s new for the 2020 
filing season and on what’s 
new based on recently en-
acted legislation. 

  The seminar will include a 
discussion of what’s new at 
the Division from a tech-
nology standpoint. 

  The seminar also will in-
clude discussions of Rhode 
Island’s new requirement 
for taxpayers to maintain 
health insurance 
(sometimes called the indi-

vidual mandate.) The sem-
inar will also include a look 
at the impact of the sales 
and use tax on remote 
sellers as well as on speci-
fied digital products; and 
the new entity-level tax for 
those pass-through entities 
that elect to pay it. 

(Please turn to page 3) 
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NEW TAX LAWS NOW IN EFFECT (CONTINUED FROM PAGE 1) 

~ October/November/December 2019 ~ 

⧫ Urns that are ordinarily 
sold by a funeral director as 
part of the business of funeral 
directing are now exempt 
from Rhode Island sales and 
use tax. 

⧫ Feminine hygiene prod-
ucts, including tampons, 
panty liners, and sanitary 
napkins, are now exempt 
from Rhode Island sales and 
use tax. 

⧫ The monthly E-911 sur-
charge under Rhode Island 
General Laws § 39-21.1-14 
on residence and business 
phone lines, as well as on 
wireless and cellular lines, is 
now split into two separate 
charges – one as the emer-
gency services surcharge, the 
other as the first response 
surcharge. (Please see table 
on this page.) 

  The provisions were part of 
the legislation known as the 
“budget bill” -- which estab-
lished the State of Rhode 
Island’s budget for the year 
that will end June 30, 2020. 

  Ever since the legislation 
was signed into law, the Di-
vision has been working to 
spread the word about the 
tax changes that the bill con-
tained. “We are trying to be 
as proactive as possible as we 
try to get the word out to 
taxpayers -- including busi-
nesses and individuals -- as 
well as tax software provid-
ers, tax advisors, and other 
stakeholders,” said Tax Ad-
ministrator Neena Savage, 
who oversees the Rhode Is-
land Division of Taxation. 
(To learn more, click here.) 

E-911 Category   /   Charge Old law New law 
  
Wireline 

E-911 surcharge: $1.00 $0.50 
First response surcharge: - $0.50 

Education fund: $0.26 $0.26 
Total: $1.26 $1.26 

  
Wireless 

E-911 surcharge: $1.00 $0.50 
First response surcharge: - $0.75 

GIS surcharge: $0.26 - 
Total: $1.26 $1.25 

“First response surcharge” did not apply under old law, but applies under new law. “GIS surcharge” applied under old law 

but not under new law. (“GIS surcharge” refers to Rhode Island General Laws § 39-1-62, “Geographic information system 

(GIS) and technology fund”, which has been repealed.) “Education fund” refers to Rhode Island General Laws § 39-1-61, 

“Rhode Island telecommunications education access fund”, which remains in effect. 

Meeting: Rhode Island Governor Gina M. Raimondo joined senior members of the Rhode Island Department of Revenue at a 
DOR conference at Bryant University in Smithfield, Rhode Island, in August. Among those attending were (left to right) Steve 
Coleman, chief of the Division of Municipal Finance; Walter R. “Bud” Craddock, administrator of the Division of Motor Vehi-

cles; Mark A. Furcolo, director of the DOR; Jane Cole, DOR chief financial officer; Neena Savage, tax administrator; Paul 
Dion, chief of the Office of Revenue Analysis; Governor Raimondo; Kate C. Brody, chief of the Central Collections Unit; Jade 

Borgeson, DOR chief of staff; and Marilyn Shannon McConaghy, general counsel - DOR. 
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http://www.tax.ri.gov/reports/Summary_of_Legislative_Changes_08_05_19.pdf


  

  The Division will hold the 
seminar at the Community 
College of Rhode Island 
(CCRI) Newport County 
Campus in Newport on Fri-
day, November 8, 2019. The 
seminar will be repeated on 
Friday, December 13, 2019, 
at CCRI’s Knight Campus in 
Warwick. 

  The seminar is free, but pre-
registration is required. Those 
planning to attend are allowed 
to sign up for only one session 
– whichever is most conven-
ient for their schedules.  

  Registration information is 
available at the Division of 
Taxation website, under 
“Online Services”:  

http://www.tax.ri.gov/
onlineservices/  

(Note: Once you use the link 
above to click through to the 
webpage, scroll down on that page 
to the “Practitioners’ Corner” sec-
tion.)  

“As we did in the 2018 semi-
nar, we wanted to give pre-
parers a chance to meet with 
us, get their questions an-
swered, and be briefed on 
changes – all well in advance 
of the coming filing season,” 
said Rhode Island Tax Admin-
istrator Neena Savage.  

  “We have some significant 
changes that we are working 
to implement for the coming 
season, and we want to give 
preparers a heads up.” 

  The Division of Taxation, 
prior to each filing season, 
typically sends representatives 
to meetings sponsored by 
trade associations whose 

E-file reminder 
 

 

For those filing on extension, the Rhode Island 

Division of Taxation will accept the following 

returns under its electronic filing program (e-file): 

· Form RI-1040 

· Form RI-1040NR 

· Form RI-1120C 

· Form RI-1120S 

· Form RI-1065 
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SEMINAR FOR TAX PREPARERS IS SCHEDULED  

~ October/November/December 2019 ~ 

members are preparers.  

  Such presentations are typi-
cally only for members of a 
particular trade association 
and are sponsored by that 
group. 

  The seminar at CCRI is 
sponsored by the Division of 
Taxation and is open to any 
paid preparer.  

  “With this free seminar, we 
hope to reach tax return pre-
parers who are employed by 
national, regional, or local tax 
preparation firms, as well as 
those who prepare returns 
seasonally and may be self-
employed and not part of a 
professional association,” Sav-
age said.  

  CPAs, EAs, PAs, and other 
paid preparers are welcome 
to attend, too. “The seminar 
at CCRI is intended to sup-
plement – not to replace – 
our regularly scheduled 
presentations to practitioner 
groups,” she said.  

  “We value those professional 
groups and the important 
work they do, and the mem-
bers of those groups are wel-
come to register for the CCRI 
seminar, too,” she said. The 
CCRI seminar is for paid pre-
parers. (The Division of Taxa-
tion typically meets separately 
with organizations of volun-
teer preparers.)  

  “CCRI is an invaluable re-
source for Rhode Island, and 
we are delighted and appre-
ciative that CCRI once again 
made available its resources 
to us for this important semi-
nar,” Savage added. 

Newport County Campus: The seminar for tax prepar-
ers will be held at the CCRI Newport County Campus (see 

photo above) in Newport on Friday, November 8, 2019, from 
9:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon, in the main auditorium.  

Knight Campus: The seminar for tax preparers will be 
repeated at CCRI’s Knight Campus (see photo above), in War-

wick, on Friday, December 13, 2019, from 9:00 a.m. to 
12:00 noon, in Presentation Room No. 4080. 

Photos courtesy of CCRI 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/onlineservices/
http://www.tax.ri.gov/onlineservices/
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NEW CHIEF NAMED FOR TAX ASSESSMENT & REVIEW 

~ October/November/December 2019 ~ 

L eo R. Lebeuf has been 
promoted at the Rhode 

Island Division of Taxation to 
the rank of chief, Tax Assess-
ment & Review. 

  He formerly served as chief 
of the Personal & Corporate 
Income Tax unit. 

  In his new role, he will 
oversee a section that admin-
isters excise taxes (including 
the sales and use tax), the 
estate tax, the corporate in-
come tax, and the personal 
income tax. 

  He replaces Marlen Bau-
tista, who has moved to a job 
outside of State government.  
“We are fortunate to have 

had Marlen’s 
expertise, and 
we thank her 
for her years 
of service,” 
said Rhode 
Island Tax 
Administrator   

Neena Savage. 

  “I am pleased to welcome 
Leo as her successor. He was 
chosen from among a very 
strong field of candidates. He 
brings with him experience 
in both the private and public 
sectors. He is also well-
versed in the Division’s new 
agency-wide computer sys-
tem known as STAARS,” 
Savage said. 

  Born and raised in Pawtuck-
et, Rhode Island, and a grad-
uate of Tolman High School, 
he studied accounting at Bry-
ant University in Smithfield, 
Rhode Island.  

.Worked through college 

  Lebeuf worked his way 
through college, managing a 
local McDonald’s restaurant. 

  After graduating in 1996 
from Bryant with a degree in 
accounting, he continued 
managing for McDonald’s 
before joining the Division in 
October 1996 as a revenue 
officer in the Compliance & 
Collections section. 

  Lebeuf took a job in Field 
Audit in 1998 as a revenue 

agent, then moved to Corpo-
rate Tax in May 2008 as a 
principal revenue agent. 

  While there, he helped to 
craft the Division’s regulation 
on mandatory unitary com-
bined reporting. 

  In a ceremony at the State 
House in August 2017, the 
Division was officially named 
by Rhode Island Governor 
Gina M. Raimondo as a recip-
ient of the 2017 Executive 
Branch Employee Recogni-

tion Award for Outstand-
ing Government Service. 

  Savage formally accepted 
the award on behalf of a 
Division team, including 
Lebeuf, which led the in-
stallation and implementa-
tion of the new computer 
system. 

Guest speaker 

  He has represented the 
Division at numerous semi-
nars and workshops, in-
cluding those sponsored by 
the Internal Revenue Ser-
vice’s Volunteer Income 
Tax Assistance (VITA) pro-
gram and the AARP Foun-
dation’s Tax-Aide pro-
gram. 

  He has also been a guest 
speaker at events sponsored 
by the Rhode Island Society 
of Certified Public Ac-
countants, the Rhode Is-
land Association of Public 
Accountants, the Rhode 
Island Society of Enrolled 
Agents, the National Asso-
ciation of Tax Profession-
als, and others. In addition, 
he has represented the Di-
vision in tax programs on 
Rhode Island’s public tele-
vision station (WSBE 
Rhode Island PBS). 

  He and his wife reside in 
Pawtucket with their three 
children. Active in his com-
munity, Lebeuf is president 
of Pawtucket Youth Soccer 
and scoutmaster of Boy 
Scout Troop 18 in Paw-
tucket. 

MARLEN BAUTISTA 

Promoted: Leo Lebeuf has been promoted at the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation to the rank of chief, Tax Assessment & Re-
view. He will oversee administration of the personal income tax, 

corporate income tax, sales tax, and other levies. 



Following is a summary of tax-
related cases in which final deci-
sions were made after administra-

tive hearings. By law, decisions are 
public information, but taxpayer 
information cannot be disclosed. 

Administrative Decisions are online 
at www.tax.ri.gov 

   

OTP tax 

At issue is whether the tax-

payer -- a business -- owes tax 

on “other tobacco products” 

and, if so, whether any sanc-

tions should be imposed. 

In general, the term “other 

tobacco products” -- also 

known as “OTP” -- refers to 

tobacco products other than 

cigarettes.  

OTP generally includes ci-

gars, cheroots, stogies, pipe 

tobacco,  chewing tobacco, 

snuff, hookah, shisha, and 

“mu’assel” tobacco. 

In February 2019, on an in-

spection of the taxpayer’s 

business, Division inspectors 

seized OTP for which the 

taxpayer could not verify that 

tax had been paid.  

The Division then issued a 

notice of cigarette dealer’s 

suspension and notice of defi-

ciency for the unpaid tax on 

the OTP.  

The taxpayer appealed and a 

hearing was held, but the 

taxpayer did not appear at the 

hearing. 

It turns out that the taxpayer 

had two previous tobacco tax 

violations, which were settled 

by stipulation with the Divi-

sion. 

Because of the taxpayer’s 

prior violations, the Division  

imposed penalties which, as 

allowed under the law, were 

greater than would otherwise 

apply. 

On July 10, 2019, Hearing 

Officer Catherine R. Warren 

concluded that the taxpayer 

owes the tax and penalties as 

assessed by the Division.  

She also determined that the 

taxpayer’s license be consid-

ered suspended for 12 days. 

On July 10, 2019, Tax Ad-

ministrator Neena Savage 

adopted the hearing officer’s 

decision and recommenda-

tion. 

-- Final Decision and Order 

No. 2019-04 

 

Personal income tax 

The Division determined that 

a taxpayer had Rhode Island-

source income for the 2010 

tax year, based on Forms 

1099 and W-2. The taxpayer 

had  not filed a personal in-

come tax return with the Di-

vision for that year. 

The Division then prepared a 

return for the taxpayer as a 

single filer with a standard 

deduction. The Division de-

termined the amount of tax 

due, as well as related interest 

and late-filing and late-

payment penalties. 

The taxpayer was sent a no-

tice and requested a hearing 

but did not appear at the 

hearing on the scheduled date 

and time. 

On September 17, 2019, the 

hearing officer concluded that 

the taxpayer had Rhode Island

-source income for the 2010 

tax year but did not file a 

Rhode Island return for that 

year.  

(Please turn to next page) 

RECENT STATE TAX CASES IN SUMMARY 
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Tax hearings 

 

Any taxpayer aggrieved by 

the action of the Tax Divi-

sion in determining the 

amount of tax, surcharge, 

or penalty, may make writ-

ten request for a formal 

hearing. 

The taxpayer is first afford-

ed an opportunity to have a 

preliminary review. Should 

the matter not be resolved, 

it may then proceed to 

formal hearing under the 

terms of the state Adminis-

trative Procedures Act 

(Rhode Island General Laws 

§ 42-35-1 et seq.) and Divi-

sion of Taxation regulation 

280-RICR-20-00-2. 

If not satisfied with the 

outcome, the taxpayer may 

appeal to Sixth Division 

District Court (Rhode Is-

land General Laws § 8-8-24 

et seq.). 

Rhode Island Tax News pro-

vides only summaries of 

some recent tax-case deci-

sions, which are based on 

specific facts and circum-

stances. 

The summaries are merely 

informative and provide 

general information. To 

determine how state tax 

laws and regulations apply 
to your particular circum-

stances, please consult your 

tax professional. 

~ October/November/December 2019 ~ 

http://www.tax.ri.gov
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2019/2019_04.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2019/2019_04.pdf


 

Tax tip line 

If you have information 

about wrongdoing involving 

state taxes, call the tax 

fraud tip line at (401) 574-

TIPS or (401) 574- 8477 

and leave a message.  

   The line is staffed by the 

Rhode Island Division of 

Taxation’s Special Investi-

gation Unit, which follows 

up on all tips. Callers can 

leave their names and con-

tact information or remain 

anonymous. You may also 
leave your tip online. 

She also concluded that the 

Division 

properly 

prepared a 

2010 Rhode 

Island per-

sonal income tax return on 

RECENT STATE TAX CASES IN SUMMARY (FROM PREVIOUS PAGE) 
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Legal Corner 

~ October/November/December 2019 ~ 

the taxpayer’s behalf and that 

the taxpayer owes the tax as 

well as the interest and pen-

alties as assessed. 

On the same date, the tax 

administrator adopted the 

hearing officer’s decision and 

recommendation. 

-- Final Decision and Order 

No. 2019-05 

Court case involving car lease and Car tax 

  Several years ago, a taxpayer 
leased a new 2009 Nissan Alti-
ma. 

  The Town of North Provi-
dence assessed local property 
tax (also known as car tax) on 
the vehicle and sent the bill to 
the owner of vehicle: the leas-
ing company. 

  The leasing company then 
sent the taxpayer the monthly 
car lease bill.  

  On that bill, the leasing com-
pany decided to separately list 
the amount of the car tax. (It 
is not clear whether the leasing 
company decided to separately 
list, on the bill, any other tax-
es or fees for which the leasing 
company was legally responsi-
ble.) The leasing company also 
separately listed on the bill the 
amount of sales tax charged on 
the car tax. 

  In November 2011, the tax-
payer filed a refund claim for 
the amount of sales tax that 
was charged on the car tax. 
(The refund sought was for 
$97.30.) 

  The Division denied the 
claim. The taxpayer appealed, 
and in September 2012, fol-
lowing a hearing, the Tax Ad-

ministrator denied the claim 
for a refund. (See Adminis-
trative Decision 2012-11.) 

  The taxpayer then appealed 
to the Sixth Division District 
Court in Providence.  

  The central issue in the case 
is whether the property tax 
assessed on the taxpayer’s 
leased vehicle should be in-
cluded in the sales price for 
purposes of a sales tax as-
sessed on the leased pay-
ments made by the taxpayer 
to the leasing company, 
wrote Administrative Judge 
Elaine T. Bucci. 

  The taxpayer claimed that 
the property tax on the vehi-
cle in question should not be 
subject to a sales tax.  

  He asserted that the term 
“sales price” for Rhode Island 
sales tax purposes does not 
include any taxes legally im-
posed directly on the con-
sumer that is separately stat-
ed on the bill. 

  Judge Bucci determined 
that the law would only ex-
empt a sales tax on the prop-
erty tax if the tax was legally 
imposed on the taxpayer, not 
on the leasing company.  

  In this case, although the 
property tax is separately stat-
ed on the taxpayer’s bill, the 
tax was not legally imposed 
on him.  

  In essence, the leasing com-
pany passed its obligation for 
the property tax onto the 
taxpayer, via the lease agree-
ment. Thus, the taxpayer is 
responsible for the property 
tax based on the contract with 
the leasing company, but the 
taxpayer is not legally respon-
sible to the Town of North 
Providence for the property 
tax, Judge Bucci wrote. 

  Furthermore, the law clearly 
states that the tax applies to 
the “sales price” in a given 
transaction without deduction 
for all taxes (except those that 
are legally imposed on the 
consumer and that are sepa-
rately stated on the invoice). 
Thus, the sales price does 
include the amount of the 
property tax. 

  Here, the imposition of the 
sales tax on the property tax 
is legally imposed on the 
[leasing company], and ulti-
mately paid by the [taxpayer], 
pursuant to the lease agree-
ment, Judge Bucci wrote. 

  “Although this Court rec-
ognizes and appreciates the 
Taxpayer’s frustration with 
the taxing structure in this 
matter, it is not the role of 
this Court to usurp the pow-
er of the Legislature. Alt-
hough the Court sympathiz-
es with the Taxpayer, it 
must uphold the law” for the 
reasons detailed in the deci-
sion, Judge Bucci wrote. 

  The court ruled that the 
taxpayer is not entitled to a 
refund for the sales tax he 
paid on the property tax in 
this case. The court affirmed 
the final decision and order 
issued by the tax administra-
tor in 2012. The court also 
denied and dismissed the 
taxpayer’s appeal. 

 

(Note: The decision in this 
case, A.A. No. 12-193, was 

issued August 27, 2019.)  

https://rigov.wufoo.com/forms/report-rhode-island-tax-fraud/
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2019/2019_05.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2019/2019_05.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2012/2012-11.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2012/2012-11.pdf
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QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ABOUT STATE TAXES 

Practitioners’ Corner 

Q: I represent a multi-
member LLC which is 
located in another state 
and which owns Rhode 
Island real estate. I un-
derstand 
that if the 
LLC sells 
the real 
estate, 
there’s a 
withhold-
ing tax 
involved. 
How can I 
get more 
infor-
mation 
about that 
tax?  

We have a regulation which 
focuses entirely on the with-
holding tax on the sale of real 
estate by nonresidents. To 
view a copy, click here. 

Our website has a page which 
includes the various forms 
and instructions. Click here. 

If you still have questions, call 
us at (401) 574-8829 and 
select option #4. The line is 
typically staffed from 8:30 
a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business 
days. 

 

Q: If I’m eligible for the 
Section 179 deduction at 
the federal level, but I 
don’t claim it at the fed-
eral level, can I claim it at 
the Rhode Island level? 

No. Rhode Island follows 
federal law for Section 179 
purposes. That's because of 
legislation enacted in 2013, 

which generally took effect  
on January 1, 2014. Thus, 
because the provisions of 
Section 179 were expanded 
by federal law enacted in 

December 
2017 (the 
Tax Cuts 
and Jobs 
Act, or 
TCJA), 
Rhode 
Island fol-
lows suit. 
That’s a 
potentially 
significant 
benefit for 
Rhode 

Island taxpayers. 

However, for purposes of 
corporations, pass-through 
entities, and individuals, 
Rhode Island allows the Sec-
tion 179 deduction only if it 
is claimed at the federal lev-
el. 

For more about the Section 
179 deduction for Rhode 
Island tax purposes, see page 
13 of the Division’s second-
quarter 2019 newsletter. To 
view the newsletter, click 
here. 

Q: For taxpayers that 

need to request penalty 

relief on underpayment 

due to Section 965 inclu-

sion, the final regulation 

states that the taxpayer 

should send in a written 

request for relief. Is 

there a specific depart-

ment/address to send 

this to, or is this some-

thing that should be in-

cluded in the filed return 

as a statement, or both? 

After the return is filed, mail 

a letter to us explaining the 

circumstances and requesting 

the penalty relief, citing the 

regulation specifically. The 

address for your letter is: 

Rhode Island Division of Tax-

ation, Personal & Corporate 

Income Tax Unit, Penalty 

Relief Request, One Capitol 

Hill, Providence R.I. 02908 

There’s no need to include 

the penalty-request letter 

with the filing. But if you 

choose to do so, make sure 

that you still send a copy of 

the letter to us separately af-

ter the return has been filed, 

using the address above. 

Some brief background: Un-

der legislation approved by 

Congress and signed into law 

by President Donald Trump 

on December 22, 2017, tax-

payers with untaxed foreign 

earnings must include, in in-

come for federal tax purpos-

es, their accumulated post-

1986 deferred foreign income 

(“Section 965 income”).  

The Division of Taxation is-

sued a number of Advisories, 

as well as a Regulation, to 

provide guidance on how to 

treat that income for federal 

tax purposes. The Regulation 

-- 280-RICR-20-25-15 -- also 

includes information about 

seeking penalty relief. 

(please turn to next page) 

  

  

About     

‘Practitioners’ Corner’ 
 

The “Practitioners’ Corner” 

feature provides general an-

swers to some of the ques-

tions that the Tax Division 

encounters through the nor-

mal course of business. 

The answers are intended 

solely to provide general infor-

mation. They do not represent 

formal guidance, and are not 

substitutes for Rhode Island 

General Laws, Tax Division 

regulations, or Tax Division 

rulings. 

~ October/November/December 2019 ~ 

https://risos-apa-production-public.s3.amazonaws.com/DOR/REG_9219_20180806200412.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/nrrewh.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/newsletter/Rhode_Island_Division_of_Taxation_Newsletter_Second_Quarter_2019.pdf
https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/280-20-25-15
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QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ABOUT STATE TAXES  (CONTINUED FROM PREVIOUS PAGE) 

Practitioners’ Corner 

Q: I’m a marketplace fa-

cilitator. In accordance 

with a Rhode Island law 

enacted earlier this year, 

I began collecting and 

remitting Rhode Island 

sales and use tax on July 

1, 2019, on taxable prod-

ucts and services. Must I 

also collect and remit on 

specified digital prod-

ucts? 

Yes. Legislation enacted July 

5, 2019, requires the  collec-

tion of sales and use tax on 

specified digital products 

starting October 1, 2019 – 

including collection by mar-

ketplace 

facilitators 

starting Oc-

tober 1, 

2019. 

“Specified 

digital products” include digi-

tal movies, TV shows, books, 

music, and related items. The 

term also refers to subscrip-

tions to streaming audio and 

subscriptions to visual prod-

ucts (such as films, shows, 

and music), streamed or 

downloaded to computers, 

phones, and other devices. 

Q: Is Rhode Island’s new 

entity-level tax manda-

tory or elective? In some 

states, it’s mandatory. 

In Rhode Island, it’s elective, 

not required. 

~ October/November/December 2019 ~ 

Conference: Rhode Island Division of Taxation personnel, and others from the Rhode Island 
Department of Revenue, took part in a conference in August hosted in collaboration with the Has-
senfeld Institute for Public Leadership at Bryant University, in Smithfield, Rhode Island. Work-

shops focused on leadership, customer service, computer software, and other topics.  

P
h
o

to
 b

y 
P
au

l 
G

ri
m

al
d
i 
/ 

R
h
o
d
e
 I
sl

an
d
 D

e
p
ar

tm
e
n
t 

o
f 
R

e
ve

n
u
e
 

Meeting: Rhode Island Tax Administrator Neena Savage (top left), who is president of the North 
Eastern States Tax Officials Association (also known as NESTOA), took part in numerous workshops 
during the group’s annual meeting, which was held in September at the Omni Providence Hotel in 

Providence, Rhode Island. 
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  A MESSAGE FOR TAX PROFESSIONALS    

HEALTH INSURANCE 

MANDATE 

Rhode Island Division of Taxation 

A message for tax professionals from the 

 

 

B eginning January 1, 2020, Rhode Island will require its resi-
dents to maintain health-care coverage. 

The new Rhode Island law requires you and your family to have min-
imum essential health-care coverage throughout 2020 and beyond, 
unless you qualify for an exemption. 

Failure to have health coverage or qualify for an exemption will result 
in a “shared responsibility payment” (in other words, a penalty) when 
you file your 2020 Rhode Island personal income tax return. 

HealthSource RI, the Rhode Island Division of Taxation, and the 
Office of the Health Insurance Commissioner will be providing fur-
ther details about the mandate in the months ahead. 

 

Note: If you are not required to file a 2020 Rhode Island personal income tax return, you will be 

exempt from the mandate for that year. The new Rhode Island law is similar to the federal health insur-

ance mandate in effect on December 15, 2017, prior to enactment of the federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act. 

Special 
Notice 

R hode Island’s new mandate 
involving health-care cov-

erage was part of the fiscal year 
2020 budget bill proposed by 
Rhode Island Governor Gina M. 
Raimondo, approved by the 
Rhode Island General Assembly, 
and enacted on July 5, 2019.  

 The mandate to have suffi-
cient health-care coverage 
(known as “minimum essen-
tial coverage”) takes effect 
January 1, 2020. 

 If you fail to have sufficient 
health-care coverage or 
qualify for an exemption, 
you will have to pay a pen-
alty on your Rhode Island 
personal income tax return, 
starting in early 2021 (for 
the 2020 tax year). 

 Most people have minimum 
essential coverage (through 
employer-sponsored health 
insurance, Medicaid, Medi-
care, TRICARE, or some 
other means) and will not 
have to pay the penalty. 

       Image of blackboard on this page is used under Creative Commons license. 

https://healthsourceri.com/
http://www.tax.ri.gov
http://www.ohic.ri.gov/
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText19/HouseText19/H5151Aaa.pdf
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText19/HouseText19/H5151Aaa.pdf
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NEWSLETTER POLICY 

Rhode Island Tax News is a newsletter from the Rhode Island Department of Revenue’s Division of Taxation. It is typically published each 

quarter. Its purpose is to provide taxpayers and tax professionals with general information regarding Rhode Island tax laws, regulations, and 

rulings, and procedures. It is neither designed nor intended to address complex issues in detail. Nothing contained in this newsletter in any 

way alters or otherwise changes any provisions of the Rhode Island General Laws, regulations of the Tax Division, or formal rulings. The 

Tax Division is at One Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908. Its website is www.tax.ri.gov. 

HOW TO SUBSCRIBE 

Rhode Island Tax News is distributed free, by e-mail, to those who have joined our listserv. If you are not on our listserv but would like to 
join, send an email to Neil.Downing@tax.ri.gov with the word SUBSCRIBE in uppercase in the subject block.  

COMMENTS AND SUGGESTIONS 

Unless otherwise indicated, all articles and photos in this issue are by the newsletter’s editor, Neil Downing. If you have comments or sug-
gestions for Rhode Island Tax News, please email: Neil.Downing@tax.ri.gov 

BACK ISSUES 

Rhode Island Tax News back issues are on the Tax Division website: www.tax.ri.gov 

How to contact us 
Taxpayers may contact the Division of Taxation  

online, by phone, by letter, or in person.            
(Hours of operation are typically 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 

p.m. business days.) 

Website                                                 
www.tax.ri.gov                                                      

(For numbers and e-mail addresses for specific sec-
tions, click the “Contact us” link.)  

Mailing address 

Rhode Island Division of Taxation 
One Capitol Hill 

Providence, R.I. 02908 

Telephone 

Phone: (401) 574-8829 
Fax: (401) 574-8917 
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Newsletter Contributors 

The following Division of Taxation personnel provided information or other 
assistance for this issue of Rhode Island Tax News: 

Matthew Cate 

Donna Dube 

Patrick Gengarella 

Theriza Salib-Iafrate 

~ October/November/December 2019 ~ 

The Division of Taxation also thanks Hearing Officer Catherine 
Warren, as well as Paul Grimaldi, chief of information and public 
relations at the Department of Revenue, for their assistance. 

Note: The cover illustration and certain other illustrations in this 
issue of the newsletter are used under Creative Commons license. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov
http://www.tax.ri.gov
http://www.tax.ri.gov
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/

