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SEMINAR FOR TAX 

PREPARERS 

 

The Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation held a seminar for tax 
preparers in November and again 
in December.  

The goal was to provide paid 
preparers with an update for the 
filing season. Other subjects were 
also covered. For more infor-
mation, please see page 13. 
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T he personal and de-
pendency exemptions 

will be preserved for Rhode 
Island personal income tax 
purposes. 

  A number of changes have 

D IVISION CONTINUES RESTRUCTURING 

been made to the motion 
picture production tax 
credit, also known the film 
tax credit. Also, software as 
a service (SaaS) is now sub-
ject to the Rhode Island 
sales and use tax.  

  These were among the 
tax-related changes ap-
proved by the Rhode Island 
General Assembly in its 
2018 session and signed 
into law by Rhode Island 
Governor Gina M. Rai-
mondo.  

  Following is a summary of 
some of the key tax provi-
sions enacted in 2018. 
(Each provision is followed 
by the applicable bill num-
ber.) 

Exemptions 

  Federal legislation enact-
ed in December 2017 sus-
pended the deduction for 
personal exemptions – for 
taxpayers as well as their 
dependents. 

(Please turn to page 2) 

STATE TAX LEGISLATION IS ENACTED 

The Rhode Island State House, Providence, R.I.   

T he Rhode Island Divi-
sion of Taxation is 

continuing its restructuring 
by realigning some of its 
sections and recently ap-
pointing some staff members 
to new positions. 

  The restructuring was 
prompted mainly by the 
Division’s acquisition, instal-

lation, and implementation 
of an agency-wide comput-
er system.  

  The new system has al-
lowed for the consolidation 
of information that former-
ly was stored separately in 
the agency’s old mainframe 
computer, on PCs, and in 
some cases on paper. 

  “We did a once-in-a-
generation system change. 
We are changing our busi-
ness processes to enhance 
the efficiencies of the new 
system,” said Tax Adminis-
trator Neena Savage.  

(Please turn to page 6) 
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  Under Rhode Island law at 
the time, the number of ex-
emptions allowed for pur-
poses of Rhode Island’s per-
sonal income tax was tied to 
the number of federal ex-
emptions. 

  Therefore, if Rhode Island 
law had stayed as it was, tax-
payers would have lost the 
ability to claim personal and 
dependency exemptions on 
their Rhode Island personal 
income tax returns. 

  However, a provision in the 
budget bill enacted in June 
2018, amended Rhode Island 
law in a way that preserves 
the exemptions. 

  Thus, personal and depend-
ency exemptions will contin-
ue to be reflected on Rhode 
Island personal income 
forms. The Division of Taxa-
tion has updated its tax forms 
to reflect the change. 

-- H 7200Aaa 

 

Film tax credit 

  The new law made a num-
ber of changes to the film tax 
credit. For example, the new 
law: 

▪ Sets the credit amount per 
production at 30 percent of 
State-certified production 
costs, up from 25 percent 
under the former law; 

▪ Caps the maximum credit 
per production at $7 million, 
up from $5 million under 
former law; 

▪ Allows the Tax Adminis-
trator to waive the $7 mil-

lion per-production cap for 
any feature-length film or TV 
series (up from a cap of $5 
million under former law), 
up to the remaining funds 
available under the program 
for a given year; 

▪ Continues to cap the over-
all program – including films 
and musical and theatrical 
productions – at $15 million 
in the aggregate each year; 
and 

▪ Bans “reality TV” shows 
from qualifying for credits. 

-- H. 7200Aaa 

 

Software (SaaS) 

  Vendor-hosted prewritten 
computer software, some-
times referred to as 
“software as a service”, or 
SaaS, is now subject to 
Rhode Island’s 7 percent 
sales and use tax. 

  Vendors must register with 
the Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation, obtain a sales tax 
permit, and collect and remit 
the 7 percent tax. 

  If sales/use tax is not col-
lected on the transaction, the 
buyer -- whether a business 
or consumer -- must pay the 
tax due. 

  The tax applies to transac-
tions on and after October 1, 
2018. 

  The tax applies to the sale, 
storage, use, or other con-
sumption of vendor-hosted 
prewritten computer soft-
ware, or SaaS. 

  The tax applies to software 

for accounting, invoicing, 
human resources, payroll, 
sales tracking, and a number 
of other functions. 

  “If you access or use soft-
ware available via the Inter-
net, whether you download it 
or not, it is now taxable,” 
said Assistant Tax Adminis-
trator Michael F. Canole.  

  “Under the new law, the tax 
will apply regardless of 
whether the access to, or use 
of, the software is permanent 
or temporary, and regardless 

of whether any downloading 
occurs,” Canole said. 

  For more information, see 
the Division’s Advisory: 

www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/
ADV_2018_38.pdf 

  Anyone with questions 
may contact the Division’s 
Excise Tax  section by 
phone at (401) 574-8955, 
or Tax.Excise@tax.ri.gov. 

-- H. 7200Aaa 

(Please turn to next page) 

Software as a Service (SaaS) 

Examples of taxable purchases include, but are 

not limited to, the following: 

⧫ A paid subscription to software programs 

that provide digital tools for office work – such 

as a spreadsheet program, a program to create 

overhead presentations, or a program to create 

written documents. 

⧫ Programs that you pay for and that you ac-

cess or use online to handle such functions as 

payroll, accounting, or human resources. 

⧫ Programs that you pay for and access or use 

online to manage the books of your business. 

⧫ Programs that you pay for and access or use 

online to handle customer relationship manage-

ment (CRM). 

⧫ Online dating services that you pay for and 

use or access online, including through dating 

applications (“apps”) that you access or use on a 

computer, phone, or other device. 

⧫ Job-search programs that you pay to use, or 

a social media program that you pay for that links 

you to other professionals. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV_2018_38.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV_2018_38.pdf
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Voluntary contributions 

  Rhode Island’s personal 
income form includes a list of 
organizations to which tax-
payers may voluntarily con-
tribute money. The list is 
included in the  “Checkoff 
Contributions Schedule” on 
the form. (See table on this 
page) 

  Starting with the 2019 filing 
season, there is now a 
checkoff involving the Sub-
stance Use and Mental 
Health Leadership Council of 
Rhode Island. (It occupies 
the same line as the Child-
hood Disease Victim’s 
Fund.)  

    According to a State of 
Rhode Island website, the 
Council is made up of a num-
ber of not-for-profit sub-
stance use treatment and/or 
behavioral health organiza-
tions, prevention coalitions, 
and student assistance pro-
grams located throughout 
Rhode Island.  

  For the new checkoff, 
you’ll be able to elect to con-
tribute either $1.00, $5.00, 
$10.00, or an amount of 
your choosing. Contributions 
will reduce the amount of 
your refund or increase your 
tax due, as with all other 
checkoffs on the list. 

-- S 2013, H 7062 

 

TINs 

  Under the new law, no 
personal or dependency ex-
emption is allowed under the 
Rhode Island personal in-

come tax for any individual 
unless the taxpayer identifi-
cation number (TIN) for that 
individual is included on the 
federal return claiming the 
exemption for the same tax-
filing period.  

  If the TIN for each individu-
al is not required to be in-
cluded on the federal return 
for purposes of claiming a 
personal or dependency ex-
emption, the TIN must be 
provided on the Rhode Island 
return for the purpose of 
claiming the exemption.  

  For the 2017 tax year, the 
Rhode Island Form RI-1040 
(individual income tax re-
turn) did not require a sepa-
rate listing of each dependent 
and each dependent’s TIN. 
Instead, the form instructed 
taxpayers to enter, in a box 
on the Rhode Island form, 
the number of federal ex-

emptions. However, personal 
and dependency exemptions 
for federal income tax pur-
poses have been suspended 
under the federal Tax Cuts 
and Jobs Act. It is not clear 
whether, or to what extent, 
the name and TIN of each 
dependent will be required to 
be listed on the finalized U.S. 
Form 1040 for 2018 and fu-
ture tax years.  

  The new Rhode Island law is 
intended to ensure that if 
such information is not in-
cluded on the federal form, it 
must be included on the 
Rhode Island form, and the 
Rhode Island form will be 
revised accordingly. (Note: 
For most people, the TIN is 
the same as the Social Securi-
ty number.) 

-- H 7200Aaa  

 

Sports wagering 

  The new law makes it 
clear that prizes, including 
payoffs, received under 
Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 42-61.2, “Video-
Lottery Games, Table 
Games and Sports Wager-
ing”, are exempt from 
Rhode Island sales and use 
tax, but are subject to 
Rhode Island personal in-
come tax.  

-- H 7200Aaa 

 

Investigation services 

  Investigation, guard, and 
armored car services are 
now on the list of services 
subject to Rhode Island’s 7 
percent sales and use tax.  

  Thus, as of July 1, 2018, 
providers of the services 
must register with the Di-
vision of Taxation. 

(Please turn to next page) 

Rhode Island checkoff contributions -- $ amount and count 

1 Rhode Island military family relief $24,078 2,413 

2  Child disease victims fund $10,564 1,733 

3 Rhode Island organ transplant $8,122 1,473 

4 Nongame wildlife $9,268 1,411 

5 Rhode Island council on the arts $9,619 1,368 

6 Drug program $4,843 981 

7 Olympic contribution $1,132 805 

Listed above are the seven voluntary checkoffs on the Rhode Island personal income tax form (under 
“Checkoff Contributions Schedule”) for the 2015 tax year. They are ranked based on the number of Rhode 

Island resident returns on which each was checked. For example, on 2,413 returns, a box was checked for 
Rhode Island Military Family Relief, more than for any other option. (A total of 504,307 Rhode Island resi-

dent returns were filed for that year.) Data for this table is from the Division of Taxation’s Statistics of 

Income report for resident personal income tax returns for tax year 2015. 
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  They also must pay the an-
nual $10 sales tax permit fee; 
collect and remit Rhode Is-
land sales/use tax on transac-
tions; remit the sales/use tax 
to the Division of Taxation 
on a monthly or quarterly 
basis (depending on volume; 
the Division will advise); and 
file an annual reconciliation 
each January.  

  All investigation, guard, and 
armored car services listed 
under North American In-
dustry Classification System 
(NAICS) umbrella code 
56161 are included for pur-
poses of the tax. For more 
information: 

www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/
ADV_2018_25.pdf 

-- H 7200Aaa 

 

Alcoholic beverages 

  Under Rhode Island Gen-
eral Laws § 3-6-1, a 
“manufacturer’s license” au-
thorizes the holder to estab-
lish and operate a brewery, 
distillery, or winery.   

  Under the old law, pro-
ceeds from the annual fee for 
the license were forwarded 
by the Department of Busi-
ness Regulation to the Divi-
sion of Taxation, which de-
posited the proceeds with the 
General Treasurer for use by 
the State of Rhode Island.  

  Under the new law, the 
proceeds will no longer be 
forwarded by the Depart-
ment of Business Regulation 

(DBR) to the Division of 
Taxation. Instead, the DBR 
will deposit the proceeds 
directly with the General 
Treasurer for use by the 
State. (The change in proce-
dure shall also apply to a 
number of other licenses 
involving alcoholic beverag-
es.) 

-- S 3006, H 8122 

 

Employer Tax 

  Rhode Island’s Job Devel-
opment Fund (JDF), which is 
administered by the Rhode 
Island Department of Labor 
and Training, is used to pro-
vide job-training services, 
boost the competitiveness of 
Rhode Island businesses, and 
stimulate economic develop-
ment.  

  The JDF is paid for through 
a tax on employers, known 
as the Job Development As-
sessment (JDA), which is 
collected by the Division of 
Taxation. 

  The JDA is levied on em-
ployers at the rate of 0.21 
percent of a certain amount 
of each employee’s taxable 
wages ($23,000 for the 2018 
calendar year). The JDA is 
deducted from an employer’s 
total state unemployment 
insurance (UI) tax liability.  

  Thus, the 0.21 percent JDA 
tax rate is part of an employ-
er’s overall UI tax rate. 

  The new law authorizes, 
under certain conditions, an 
increase in the JDA. (The 
JDA tax rate will change 

depending on how healthy 
the state unemployment in-
surance trust fund is, and 
how much interest that fund 
generates.) However, any 
such increase in the JDA 
would not increase the aver-
age employer tax per em-
ployee. For example, if the 
JDA were increased, approxi-
mately $4.50 more of the 
average employer tax per 
employee would go to the 
JDF, while approximately 
$4.50 less would go to the 
trust fund. 

  Even if the Job Develop-
ment Assessment increases, 
employers would be held 
harmless. That’s because any 
increase in the Job Develop-
ment Assessment that an em-

ployer pays will be offset 
by a corresponding reduc-
tion in the employer’s 
Rhode Island unemploy-
ment insurance rate. 

-- H 7200Aaa 

 

Kegs 

  Under certain circum-
stances, kegs are now ex-
empt from Rhode Island 
sales and use tax. The new 
law exempts “keg and bar-
rel containers, whether 
returnable or not, when 
sold to alcoholic beverage 
producers who place the 
alcoholic beverages in the 
containers.” 

-- H 7200Aaa 

(Please turn to next page) 

 

 

EMPLOYER TAX -- ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

 

 To learn more about the Rhode Island unemployment insur-

ance tax and associated tax rates and assessments, see the 

Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training website. Click 

here to learn more. 

 

 The Rhode Island Division of Taxation’s Employer Tax 

webpage also includes information about UI tax and other lev-

ies. Click here to learn more.  

 
 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV_2018_25.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV_2018_25.pdf
http://www.dlt.ri.gov/News_Releases/NR121018.htm
http://www.uitax.ri.gov/
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Jobs training credit 

  Under the Jobs Training 
Tax Credit Act, enacted in 
1996, a qualifying employer 
is generally allowed a credit 
against the corporate income 
tax (and certain other tax 
types) for the qualifying ex-
penses of offering training 
and/or retraining to qualify-
ing employees. 

  The new law establishes a 
sunset retroactively: No 
credits shall be awarded for 
tax years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2018. 
(However, credit unused from the 
prior year can still be used on the 
2018 tax return, in accordance 
with the terms and conditions 
described in statute.)  

-- H 7200Aaa 

 

E-911 

  The new law changes a 
number of references to the 
E-911 emergency telephone 
system. For example, the 
title of Rhode Island General 
Laws § 39-1-62, formerly “E
-911 Geographic Information 
System (GIS) and Technolo-
gy Fund,” has been changed 
to “Geographic Information 
System (GIS) and Technolo-
gy Fund.” 

-- H 7200Aaa 

 

Hotel tax 

  The new law changes the 
distribution formula involv-
ing revenue from the 5 per-
cent State hotel tax. Overall, 
and in general, the new law 

increases the distribution to 
local tourism organizations 
while reducing the distribu-
tion of hotel tax revenue to 
the Rhode Island Commerce 
Corporation. 

-- H 7200Aaa 

 

Tax administrator 

  To preserve the Rhode Is-
land tax base under Rhode 
Island law prior to last year’s 
enactment of the federal Tax 
Cuts and Jobs Act, the new 
law authorizes the Tax Ad-
ministrator, upon prior writ-
ten notice to the House 
speaker, Senate president, 
and chairs of the House and 
Senate Finance Committees, 
to amend tax forms and re-
lated instructions in response 
to any changes the Internal 
Revenue Service makes to its 
forms, regulations, and/or 
processing which will materi-
ally impact state revenues, to 
the extent that impact is 
measurable. 

  Furthermore, the new law 
says that any Internal Reve-
nue Service changes to 
forms, regulations and/or 
processing which go into 
effect during the current tax 
year or within six months of 
the beginning of the next tax 
year and which will material-
ly impact state revenue will 
be deemed grounds for the 
promulgation of emergency 
rules and regulations under 
Rhode Island General Laws § 
42-35-2.10. 

-- H 7200Aaa 

 

Seeds and plants 

  Under legislation enacted 
last year, the sale, storage, 
use, or other consumption in 
Rhode Island of seeds and 
plants used to grow food and 
food ingredients became ex-
empt from Rhode Island sales 
and use tax, effective July 1, 
2017. That legislation amend-
ed Rhode Island General 
Laws § 44-18-30, which in-
volves gross receipts that are 
exempt from sales and use 
taxes. 

However, the 2017 legisla-
tion as enacted also inadvert-
ently added substantially the 
same language as an amend-
ment to the definition of 
“food and food ingredients” 
under Rhode Island General 
Laws § 44-18-7.1, which 
involves definitions under the 
Streamlined Sales and Use 

Tax Agreement. 

  The new law essentially 
repeals last year’s amend-
ment to the definition of 
“food and food ingredients” 
under Rhode Island Gen-
eral Laws § 44-18-7.1. 

  The sale, storage, use, or 
other consumption in 
Rhode Island of seeds and 
plants used to grow food 
and food ingredients re-
mains exempt from Rhode 
Island sales and use tax. In 
addition, the new law 
makes it clear that marijua-
na seeds and plants contin-
ue to be subject to the sales 
and use tax. 

-- H 7200Aaa 
 

Editor’s Note:  

For more about Rhode Island 
tax legislation enacted in 

2018, use the following link: 

https://go.usa.gov/xUKGX 

Meeting: Mark Furcolo, Director of the Rhode Island Department 

of Revenue (above, left) and Neena Savage, Rhode Island Tax Ad-

ministrator, were among those who testified earlier this year at a 

State House hearing regarding tourism.  

(SCREENSHOT OF CAPITOL TV BROADCAST)  

https://go.usa.gov/xUKGX
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  The new system “provides 
opportunities for cross-
training and collaboration” 
among the Division’s various 
operating units as well as 
“streamlining our processes”, 
she said. 

New system 

  The new computer system, 
known in the industry as an 
integrated tax system, is the 
result of legislation approved 
by the Rhode Island General 
Assembly and signed into law 
by then-Gov. Lincoln Chafee 
in 2012.  

  The legislation appropriated 
$25 million for the project, 
to be paid out over a number 
of years.  

  The successful bidder for 
the project was Revenue 
Solutions Inc. (RSI), of Pem-
broke, Mass. The Division of 
Taxation is using RSI’s Reve-
nue Premier system. (Within 
the Division of Taxation, the 
system is known as the State 
Tax Administration and Rev-
enue System, or “STAARS” 
for short -- see logo above.) 

  The project included con-
verting millions of tax rec-
ords from a 1970s-era main-
frame computer (and from 
other locations) into the Di-
vision’s new agency-wide 
integrated tax system. 

  There were three main 
phases of the project. The 
first major phase, which oc-
curred in summer 2014, 
mainly involved converting 
account records and other 

information involving bank, 
insurance, and certain other 
tax types and fees from the 
old system into the new sys-
tem. 

  In the second major phase, 
which occurred late in 2015, 
the personal income tax, 
estate and trust income tax, 
composite income tax, and 
passthrough withholding 
were migrated onto the new 
system. 

  In the third major phase, 
completed in November 
2016, the Division converted 
over to the new system its 
corporate income tax, with-
holding, and sales and use 
taxes. 

Customer service 

  During the 75-day tax am-
nesty, which ended on Feb-
ruary 15, 2018, the Division 
introduced a reservation sys-
tem, implemented a call-
center model, and extended 
evening and weekend hours. 

  All of this was part of an 
effort to provide taxpayers 

with enhanced, convenient 
options to increase participa-
tion in the amnesty program. 

  “During amnesty, we tried 
out several different custom-
er-service models, including a 
call center and reservation 
system, and we are now seek-
ing to apply what we 
learned,” Savage said.  

  One or more of those cus-
tomer-service models may be 
more broadly applied in the 
future, she said. Plans are still 
being reviewed. 

Generational shift 

  Although the new computer 
system was the main factor 
behind the reorganization, 
another element involved the 
retirements of a number of 
key Division personnel.  

  “Like many other govern-
ment agencies across the 
country, the Division has had 
to cope with the departure of 
some key personnel, chiefly 
through retirement,” Savage 
said. Some valuable institu-
tional knowledge has been 

lost, due to retirement, 
similar to what tax agencies 
in some other states have 
experienced.   

  At the Rhode Island Divi-
sion of Taxation, “There’s 
been a generational shift in 
the agency due to retire-
ment, which has coincided” 
with the implementation of 
the new computer system, 
she said. 

  One result has been the 
opportunity to consolidate 
certain units. “This process 
has also created promotion-
al opportunities for a num-
ber of dedicated and quali-
fied leaders within the or-
ganization,” she said. 

  (Editor’s Note: Coverage of 
the restructuring and some 

related promotions continues 
on the following pages.) 
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T he Rhode Island Divi-
sion of Taxation has 

promoted four supervisors to 
key leadership positions 
mainly to oversee newly con-
solidated sections within the 
agency. 

  “I am pleased to formally 
announce the promotion of 
these four highly qualified 
people into their new posi-
tions as the Division contin-
ues its restructuring,” said 
Rhode Island Tax Adminis-
trator Neena Savage. 

  “They were chosen from a 
field of top-shelf candidates 
through a competitive pro-
cess. I can say with confi-
dence that their proven su-
pervisory skills and their 
years of outstanding service 
at the Division, coupled with 
their extensive knowledge of 
business operations and tech-
nology, will serve us well as 
we evolve to recalibrate the 
organization and further im-
prove the organization to 
serve taxpayers better,” she 
said. 

  A brief biography of each of 
the four people is provided 
below (in alphabetical or-
der). 

 

Marlen Bautista 

  Marlen Bautista has been 
promoted at the Rhode Is-
land Division of Taxation to 
the rank of chief, Tax Assess-
ment & Review. 

  She formerly served as chief 
revenue agent in the Divi-
sion’s Corporate Tax sec-
tion. 

  Born in Providence, she is a 
first-generation American; 
her parents are natives of the 
Dominican Republic. She 
was also the first in her fami-

ly to go to college: After 
graduating from Classical 
High School in Providence, 
she attended the University of 
Rhode Island, from which she 

graduated in 2006 with a 
bachelor’s degree in busi-
ness administration. 

(Please turn to next page) 

Promoted: Rhode Island Tax Administrator Neena Savage recently promoted four supervi-
sors at the Rhode Island of Taxation to key leadership positions at the agency. They are Pat-
rick Gengarella (seated, left), chief, Audit & Investigation; Marlen Bautista (seated, right), 
chief, Tax Assessment & Review; Daniel Clemence (standing, left), chief, Operations; and 

Philip D’Ambra (standing, right), chief, Employer Tax. 



  

accounting. 

  While at URI, he serve as an 
intern in the university’s budg-
et office, performing account-
ing tasks, while also taking part 
in flag football and club soft-
ball. 

  While in school, D’Ambra 
worked summers for the Town 
of West Warwick, providing 
maintenance and landscaping 
services. To help pay for his 
education, he also worked as a 
salesperson in the home office 
section at the Lechmere de-
partment store. 

  Several months after graduat-
ing from URI, he joined the 
Division as revenue agent, and 
held a number of positions in 
the agency until he was pro-
moted to oversee the Employ-
er Tax section, which adminis-
ters state unemployment insur-
ance tax and temporary disabil-
ity insurance tax. He has also 
served as the Division’s day-to-
day operational liaison with the 
Rhode Island Department of 
Labor and Training. 

  For the past 15 years, he has 
been a volunteer coach/
manager for youth sport in the 
Coventry area, including sev-
eral years of coaching recrea-
tional and competitive girls and 
boys soccer, football, and rec-
reational and all-star baseball.    

  He resides in Coventry with 
his two children. 

 

Patrick Gengarella 

  Patrick Gengarella has been 
promoted at the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation to the 
rank of chief, Audit & Investi-
gation. 

 

LLC reminder 
 

The Rhode Island Division 

of Taxation reminds tax-

payers that single-member 

LLCs must file Form RI-

1065 each year and pay 

the required filing charge.. 

The charge is $400 for 

2017 and later years. 
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  While at URI, she worked at 
Brooks Pharmacy and Citizens 
Bank to help pay for tuition 
and other expenses. 

  Shortly before graduating, 
but after acquiring the neces-
sary number of accounting 
credits, she joined the Division 
of Taxation, starting as a reve-
nue officer in the Compliance 
& Collections section in 2005.  

  She held a number of posi-
tions at the Division until her 
promotion in Corporate Tax, 
where she led a team that im-
plemented the sweeping cor-
porate tax changes enacted in 
2014. 

  In her new role, she oversees 
units that administer the per-
sonal income tax, corporate 
income tax, sales tax, use tax, 
estate tax, and numerous oth-
er taxes and fees. 

  She lives in North Provi-
dence. 

 

Daniel Clemence 

  Daniel Clemence has been 
promoted at the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation to the 
rank of chief, Operations. 

  He formerly served as chief 
of tax processing services in 
the Division of Taxation’s 
Project Oversight & Develop-
ment section. 

  Born and raised in North 
Scituate, he graduated from 
the University of Rhode Island 
in 1998 with a bachelor of 
science degree in accounting.  

  He joined the Division of 
Taxation in 1998 as a revenue 
officer in the Compliance & 
Collections section. 

  In 2001, he left the Division 
to work for American Power 
Conversion Corp. as a desktop 
computer support analyst. He 
returned to the Division later 
that year as a tech support 
specialist in the Processing 
section.  

  In 2013, he was appointed 
chief of the E-Government 
section, overseeing electronic 
filing and electronic payments 
while working with software 
vendors. 

  His responsibilities and 
workload increased as the 
Division implemented its new 
agency-wide computer sys-
tem, known as STAARS. He 
also served as a member of the 
Federal-State Tactical Adviso-
ry Group, which focuses on 
electronic tax initiatives, in-
cluding e-filing. In his recently 
expanded role at the Division, 
he oversees units involving 
project oversight and develop-
ment, processing, customer 
service, business analytics, and 
data analytics. 

  He resides in North Scituate 
with his wife, Ellie, and their 
three children. 

 

Philip D’Ambra 

  Philip D'Ambra has been 
promoted at the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation to the 
rank of chief, Employer Tax.  

  He formerly served as chief 
revenue agent in the Division’s 
Employer Tax section. 

  Born in Providence, and 
raised in West Warwick, he 
graduated from the University 
of Rhode Island in 1992 with a 
bachelor of science degree in 

  He formerly served as chief 
revenue agent in the Divi-
sion’s Field Audit section. 

  Born and raised in Wester-
ly, Gengarella graduated 
from the University of 
Rhode Island with a bachelor 
of science degree in business 
administration, with a con-
centration in accounting, in 
1992.  

  Later that year, he joined 
the Division of Taxation, 
starting as a revenue agent in 
Field Audit. 

  In his lengthy career in 
Field Audit, he moved pro-
gressively up the ranks. He 
specialized in a number of 
areas, including the auditing 
of major oil companies re-
garding Rhode Island motor 
fuel tax. 

  Gengarella took over as 
chief revenue agent in Field 
Audit in 2014. In his newly 
expanded role, he oversees 
Field Audit, Office Audit, 
and the Special Investigation 
Unit. 

  He and his wife, Jackie, 
who are the parents of four 
children, reside in Westerly.  

  A longtime volunteer, he is 
president of the Hopkinton 
Recreation Commission. 
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A s part of the restructur-
ing at the Rhode Island 

Division of Taxation, four 
people have been promoted 
to supervisory positions.  

  “I am pleased to formally 
announce the promotion of 
these four highly qualified 
people into their new posi-
tions,” said Rhode Island Tax 
Administrator Neena Savage. 

  “They were chosen as part 
of a competitive process 
from a field of top-flight can-
didates. Their overall 
knowledge and experience 
will serve us well as we tack-
le current and future chal-
lenges,” she said. 

  A brief biography of each of 
the four people is provided 
below (in alphabetical or-
der). 

 

Neil Caouette 

  Neil Caouette has been pro-
moted at the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation to the 
rank of co-chief, Compliance 
& Collections. 

  Born and raised in North 
Providence, he studied busi-
ness at the University of 
Rhode Island. While there, 
he worked at school events 
for URI Dining Services.  

  He completed his studies 
early, in December 2009, 
then worked as a financial 
associate for Prudential Fi-
nancial.  

  After receiving a bachelor 
of science degree in business 
from URI during its May 

2010 graduation ceremony, 
he continued to work at Pru-
dential until joining the Divi-
sion of Taxation in January 
2011 as a revenue officer in 
the agency’s Compliance & 
Collections section. 

  In 2016, he became a super-
vising revenue officer in 
Compliance & Collections.  
In 2017, he was appointed as 
a chief business management 
officer in Compliance & Col-
lections. 

  He is a resident of Cumber-
land. 
 

Matthew Cate 

  Matthew Cate has been pro-
moted to serve as a chief legal 
officer at the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation. 

  He formerly served as sen-
ior legal counsel. In his new 
role, he serves as a co-
director of the Division’s 
Legal section. 

  He was born and raised in 
Warwick, and studied at 
Brown University.  

  While at Brown, he wrote 
for the “Critical Review” -- 
an online publication pro-
duced by an extracurricular 
group that compiled stu-
dent reviews of courses. 
He also worked at one of 
the campus libraries. 

(Please turn to next page) 

Promoted: Rhode Island Tax Administrator Neena Savage recently promoted four members of the 
Division of Taxation’s staff to prominent supervisory roles in the agency. They are (left to right) 
Neil Caouette, co-chief, Compliance & Collections; Matthew Cate, Chief Legal Officer; Crystal 

Cote, co-chief, Compliance & Collections; and Donna Dube, chief revenue agent, Forms, Credits & 
Incentives. 



 

  
 
 

Consolidated units 

  As part of the ongoing restructuring at the Rhode Island 

Division of Taxation, a number of units have been consol-

idated.  

  For example, the Estate Tax section and the Excise Tax 

section (whose responsibilities include sales and use tax) 

formerly operated independently, and each had its own 

chief. The Division recently merged the two sections into 

one, known as the Excise & Estate Tax unit, with a single 

chief.  

  The Division has consolidated the Personal Income Tax 

section and Corporate Tax section under a single um-

brella: Income Tax. The Division’s newly created Tax 

Assessment & Review section oversees Income Tax as 

well as Excise & Estate. 

  The Audit & Investigation section oversees Field Audit, 

Office Audit, and the Special Investigation Unit. 

  The Operations section oversees Project Oversight and 

Development, Processing, Customer Service Center, and 

Analytics (including business analytics and data analytics). 

  CONTACT INFORMATION FOR ALL OF THE DIVISION OF TAXATION’S SECTIONS AND 

UNITS IS AVAILABLE ONLINE: HTTP://WWW.TAX.RI.GOV/CONTACT// 

PAGE 10 A NEWSLETTER FOR TAX PROFESSIONALS 

FOUR PROMOTED (CONTINUED FROM PREVIOUS PAGE) 

~ October/November/December 2018 ~ 

  He graduated from Brown 
in 2008 with a bachelor of 
science degree in neurosci-
ence and a bachelor of arts 
degree in art-semiotics.  

  He worked for the U.S. 
Census Bureau before em-
barking on a study of the law 
as a student at the Roger 
Williams University School 
of Law, focusing on business 
and financial law. 

  While at Roger Williams, 
he worked at the Law Li-
brary. After his first year of 
law school, he interned at the 
Division of Taxation.   

  While still in law school, he 
began working in July 2012 
as a system administrator and 
manager of customer-facing 
operations at Merrow Sew-
ing Machine Company in Fall 
River, Massachusetts. 

  He graduated from law 
school in December 2013 
with a juris doctor degree, 
and continued to work for 
the Fall River firm until join-
ing the Division of Taxation 
in November 2015 as a legal 
officer.  In May 2016, he was 
promoted to senior legal 
counsel.  

  He and his wife, Caroline, 
live in Warwick. 

 

Crystal Cote 

  Crystal Cote has been pro-
moted at the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation to the 
rank of co-chief, Compliance 

& Collections. 

  She was born in Riverside, 
California, raised in West 
Warwick, Rhode Island, and 
currently resides in Coven-
try, Rhode Island.  

  She earned an associate’s 
degree in finance from the 
Community College of 
Rhode Island and a bache-
lor’s degree in accounting 
from Johnson & Wales Uni-
versity in 2008. 

  While studying toward her 
degrees, she worked full-
time and raised two children. 

  In February 2005, she 
joined the Division of Taxa-
tion as a seasonal taxpayer 
service specialist in the Per-
sonal Income Tax section. 
She was hired full-time in the 
Personal Income Tax section 
in September 2005. 

  While at the Division, she 
has held a number of posi-
tions, including revenue 
agent in the Division’s Field 
Audit unit. She also held a 
leadership role in her union. 
She most recently served as a 
chief business management 
officer in Compliance & Col-
lections. 

  Prior to joining the Divi-
sion, she was a manager at 
Coventry Seafood for nine 
years. She remained in that 
post for four years after join-
ing the Division. 

  She lives in Coventry with 
her two children. 

Donna Dube 

  Donna Dube has been pro-
moted at the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation to the 
rank of chief revenue agent. 
In that role, she oversees the 
Division’s Forms, Credits & 
Incentives section.  

  Born in Providence and 
raised in Coventry, she grad-
uated from the University of 
Rhode Island in 1991 with a 
bachelor of science degree in 
accounting.  

  Following graduation, she 
held multiple jobs, including 
working for PriMedia, a me-
dia buying and marketing 
firm in Warwick. 

  She joined the Division of 
Taxation in July 1998 as a 
revenue officer in the 
Compliance & Collections.  

  She later worked in the 
Division’s Personal Income 
Tax section, and was even-
tually promoted to princi-
pal revenue agent. In that 
role, she oversaw the de-
sign and production of nu-
merous forms and instruc-
tions; managed the Divi-
sion’s website and email 
communications with tax 
professionals; and ran vari-
ous tax credit programs.  

  She and her husband, 
Chris, live in Coventry. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/contact/
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T he Rhode Island 
Division of Tax-

ation has created a 
more streamlined 
schedule for purposes 
of mandatory unitary 
combined 
reporting.  
 

  The schedule 
will save time 
for taxpayers 
and preparers. 
It should also 
help in the 
processing of 
returns by the 
Division. 
  The Division 
developed the 
old Schedule 
CRS 
(“Combined 
Reporting Schedule”) for 
purposes of mandatory uni-
tary combined reporting. 
(See screenshot on the top 
right of this page.) The 
schedule was filed with the 
combined group’s Form RI-
1120C (“Business Corpora-
tion Tax Return”).  

  The Division used infor-
mation from Schedule CRS 
and from other sources to 
compile a report that was 
due to the General Assembly 
in March 2018.  

  Now that the Division has 
completed the report and 
filed it by the statutory dead-
line, there is no need to re-
quire corporations to file 
Schedule CRS. 

  Effective for returns cover-
ing the 2018 tax year, the 
Division has eliminated 

Schedule CRS and replaced it 
with a much shorter schedule 
on which only basic infor-
mation will be included 
about members of each com-
bined group.  

CGM Schedule 

  The new schedule is called 
the “CGM Schedule” because 
it provides for a listing of 
combined group members 
(see screenshot on this page). 

  The new schedule essential-
ly asks only for a combined 
group member’s name, fed-
eral employer identification 
number (EIN), address, and 
whether the member has 
nexus with Rhode Island. 
The schedule does not re-
quire detailed financials. 

  The change will apply for 
2018 and later tax years, so 

the new schedule will first 
show up in the 2019 filing 
season. 

  The existing Schedule CRS 
allows for only one member 
of the combined group per 
page -- and each page con-
tains 40 lines for that one 
member.  

  The new schedule will allow 
for multiple members per 
page, and will require only 
basic information about each 
member. 

Reduced burden 

  The Division believes this 
will reduce the burden on 
corporations, tax preparers, 
and the Division.  

  “When combined reporting 
first took effect, many corpo-
rations and their tax advisers 
had to make an extra effort 

for filing purposes, including 
filling out the Schedule CRS. 
We truly appreciate the effort 
they made,” said Tax Admin-
istrator Neena Savage.  

  “The information that they 
provided to us on Schedule 
CRS helped to inform us and 
the General Assembly about 
the impact of corporate tax 
changes that were enacted in 
2014,” she said. 

  “But now that the report on 
those changes has been filed, 
there is no longer a need for 
Schedule CRS, so we are dis-
continuing it. That, in turn, 
will reduce the burden on 
taxpayers, preparers, soft-
ware providers, and other 
stakeholders -- and will also 
help streamline processing at 
the Division,” she said. 



  

T he Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation has held a  

free seminar for tax preparers. 
The main focus was on what’s 
new for the 2019 filing season 
and on what’s new for the 
2019 tax year. 

  The seminar included a dis-
cussion on the effect of the 
federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act 
on Rhode Island from a tax 
standpoint.  

  For example, beginning with 
the filing season that started in 
January 2019, there is a new 
schedule for the Rhode Island 
resident and nonresident Form 
RI-1040 -- a schedule involv-
ing exemptions claimed on the 
personal income return. 

  Other topics include the 
modification for income from 
401(k) plans, government 
pensions, private-sector pen-
sions, 403(b) plans, annuities, 
and other such sources. The 
seminar also reviewed changes 
involving sales and use taxes, 
withholding, and other items. 

  The Division held the semi-
nar at the Community College 
of Rhode Island (CCRI) New-
port County Campus in New-
port on Friday, November 2, 
2018. The seminar was re-
peated on Friday, December 
7, 2018, at CCRI’s Knight 
Campus in Warwick. 

  The seminar was free, but 
preregistration was required. 
Those planning to attend were 
allowed to sign up for only 
one session – whichever was 
most convenient for their 
schedules. Registration infor-
mation was available at the 
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Division of Taxation website, 
under “Online Services”:  

http://www.tax.ri.gov/
onlineservices/ 

(Editor’s Note: This page was 
originally prepared in September 
2018. Given that the seminars 

have now been held, this page has 
been updated.) 

  “As we did in the 2017 semi-
nar, we wanted to give pre-
parers a chance to meet with 
us, get their questions an-
swered, and be briefed on 
changes – all well in advance 
of the coming filing season,” 
said Rhode Island Tax Admin-
istrator Neena Savage. “We 
have some significant changes 
that we are working to imple-
ment for the coming season, 
and we wanted to give pre-
parers a heads up.” 

  The Division of Taxation, 
prior to each filing season, 
typically sends representatives 
to meetings sponsored by 
trade associations whose 
members are preparers. Such 
presentations are typically 
only for members of a partic-
ular trade association and are 
sponsored by that group. 

  The seminar at CCRI is 
sponsored by the Division of 
Taxation and is open to any 
paid preparer. “With this free 
seminar, we hoped to reach 
tax return preparers who are 
employed by national, region-
al, or local tax preparation 
firms, as well as those who 
prepare returns seasonally and 
may be self-employed and not 
part of a professional associa-
tion,” Savage said. CPAs, 

EAs, PAs, and other paid 
preparers were welcome to 
attend, too. “The seminar at 
CCRI was intended to sup-
plement – not to replace – 
our regularly scheduled 
presentations to practitioner 
groups,” she said. “We value 
those professional groups 
and the important work 
they do, and the members 
of those groups were wel-
come to register for the 
CCRI seminar, too,” she 

said. The CCRI seminars 
are for paid preparers. The 
Division of Taxation typi-
cally meets separately with 
organizations of volunteer 
preparers.  

  “CCRI is an invaluable 
resource for Rhode Island, 
and we are delighted and 
appreciative that CCRI 
once again made available 
its resources to us for this 
important seminar,” Sav-
age added. 

Newport County Campus: The seminar for tax prepar-
ers was held at the CCRI Newport County Campus (see photo 
above) in Newport on Friday, November 2, 2018, from 9:00 

a.m. to 12:00 noon, in the main auditorium.  

Knight Campus: The seminar for tax preparers was re-
peated at CCRI’s Knight Campus (see photo above), in War-

wick, on Friday, December 7, 2018, from 9:00 a.m. to 
12:00 noon, in Presentation Room No. 4080. 

Photos courtesy of CCRI 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/onlineservices/
http://www.tax.ri.gov/onlineservices/


Following is a summary of tax-
related cases in which final deci-
sions were made after administra-

tive hearings. By law, decisions are 
public information, but taxpayer 
information cannot be disclosed. 

Administrative Decisions are online 
at www.tax.ri.gov 

   

NOLs 

The issue: Whether the tax-

payers are entitled to a net 

operating loss (NOL) for the 

2016 tax year. 

On their Rhode Island per-

sonal income tax return for 

2016, the taxpayers (a mar-

ried couple) claimed a modifi-

cation to reduce federal ad-

justed gross income (AGI) for 

Rhode Island purposes. The 

taxpayers believed that the 

modification schedule was the 

place to claim a deduction for 

an NOL related to Rhode 

Island source income from 

two businesses. 

The Division disallowed the 

modification because Rhode 

Island law does not allow a 

modification for NOLs. 

Rhode Island law recognizes 

NOLs only if they are includ-

ed on line 21 (“Other in-

come”) of the federal return.  

(NOLs are subtracted from 

any line 21 income and the 

result is entered on line 21 of 

the federal form. Data from 

line 21, and from certain oth-

er lines, is used to determine 

federal AGI.) 

After a number of procedural 

issues, the taxpayers request-

ed a hearing, at which the 

taxpayers and the Division 

were represented by counsel. 

The Division said, in part, 

that a net operating loss gen-

erated through a pass-through 

entity can flow to an individu-

al, who reports it on his or 

her U.S. Form 1040. The 

NOL is applied against other 

income on the U.S. Form 

1040 and flows into federal 

AGI. Federal AGI is the start-

ing point for computing 

Rhode Island personal income 

tax. 

In this case, there was no 

NOL on the taxpayers’ feder-

al return, so there could be 

no NOL on their Rhode Is-

land return, the Division said. 

The taxpayers said that it is 

unfair that taxpayers cannot 

claim an NOL in Rhode Is-

land for Rhode Island-source 

losses. 

On July 9, 2018, Hearing 

Officer Catherine R. Warren 

determined that the taxpayers 

did not claim an NOL on 

their federal return for 2016. 

The taxpayers tried to claim 

an NOL on their Rhode Is-

land return as a modification 

decreasing federal AGI for 

Rhode Island tax purposes, 

but Rhode Island statute does 

not provide for such a modifi-

cation. She determined that 

the Division properly disal-

lowed the taxpayers’ NOL 

claim, and that the taxpayers 

owe the tax, penalty, and 

interest set forth in Notices 

that the Division sent them. 

On July 12, 2018, Tax Ad-

ministrator Neena S. Savage 

adopted the hearing officer’s 

decision and recommenda-

tion. 

-- Final Decision and Order 

No. 2018-07 

 

Refund for military 

Should the Division have de-

nied the taxpayer’s personal 

income tax refund for 2014? 

(Please turn to next page) 
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Tax hearings 

 

Any taxpayer aggrieved by 

the action of the Tax Divi-

sion in determining the 

amount of tax, surcharge, 

or penalty, may make writ-

ten request for a formal 

hearing. 

The taxpayer is first afford-

ed an opportunity to have a 

preliminary review. Should 

the matter not be resolved, 

it may then proceed to 

formal hearing under the 

terms of the state Adminis-

trative Procedures Act 

(Rhode Island General Laws 

§ 42-35-1 et seq.) and Divi-

sion of Taxation regulation 

280-RICR-20-00-2. 

If not satisfied with the 

outcome, the taxpayer may 

appeal to Sixth Division 

District Court (Rhode Is-

land General Laws § 8-8-24 

et seq.). 

Rhode Island Tax News pro-

vides only summaries of 

some recent tax-case deci-

sions, which are based on 

specific facts and circum-

stances. 

The summaries are merely 

informative and provide 

general information. To 

determine how state tax 

laws and regulations apply 
to your particular circum-

stances, please consult your 

tax professional. 

~ October/November/December 2018 ~ 

http://www.tax.ri.gov


The military withheld tax 

from the taxpayer’s pay and 

sent the money to Rhode 

Island. The taxpayer request-

ed a refund of the entire 

amount, asserting that he was 

a Connecticut resident and 

that the military had mistak-

enly withheld Rhode Island 

tax, not Connecticut tax. 

However, the Division reject-

ed his request, asserting that 

his claim for refund was not 

filed on time, citing Rhode 

Island General Laws § 44-30-

87, “Limitations on credit or 

refund”.  

The taxpayer appealed and a 

hearing was held. The Divi-

sion was represented by 

counsel, the taxpayer by him-

self. 

Under the law, a claim for 

credit or refund of an over-

payment of tax must be filed 

within three years from the 

time the return was filed, or 

two years from the time the 

tax was paid, whichever of 

the periods expires the later. 

⧫ Two-year rule: 

Under the two-

year rule, the 

amount of the 

credit or refund 

cannot exceed the 

amount of the tax 

paid during the 

two years immediately pre-

ceding the filing of the claim. 

Any such claim filed in the 

two-year period is limited to 

amounts paid in the preceding 

two years. Under 

the law, the tax-

payer’s 2014 tax 

was deemed paid 

April 15, 2015, so 

he was able to 

request a refund 

two years from 

that date. Howev-

er, the taxpayer filed his 2014 

Rhode Island nonresident 

return in September 2017, 

which is beyond the two-year 

limit. 

⧫ Three-year rule: If a claim 

for refund is filed within the 

three-year period, the 

amount of the credit or re-

fund cannot exceed the 

amount of the tax paid within 

the three-year period. In this 

case, the taxpayer was within 

the three-year limit. Howev-

er, from September 2017 to 

the present, the taxpayer had 
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Statute of limitations for Rhode Island personal income tax refunds  [Rhode Island General Laws § 44-30-87] 

A claim for credit or refund of an overpayment of tax must be filed within three years from the time the 

return was filed or two years from the time the tax was paid, whichever of the periods expires the later. 

 

             Three-year rule   
If the claim is filed within the three-year period, the amount of 

the credit or refund cannot exceed the amount of the tax paid 

within the three-year period. 

 

             Two-year rule      
If the claim is not filed within the three-year period, but is filed 

within the two-year period, the amount of the credit or refund 

cannot exceed the amount of the tax paid during the two years 

immediately preceding the filing of the claim. 

Note: Any income tax withheld from the taxpayer during any calendar year, and any amount paid as 

estimated income tax for a taxable year, is deemed to have been paid on the fifteenth day of the fourth 

month following the close of the taxable year for which the payments were being made. 
 

Example of how the rules apply 
 

Maria’s 2012 return was due on April 15, 2013. She actually filed the return on July 1, 2015. As a result, 
July 1, 2015, becomes the starting date for the three-year rule. The three-year period thus runs from 

July 1, 2015, to July 1, 2018. Were there any Rhode Island income tax payments attributable to 2012 

during this three-year period?  No. 
 

When Maria worked in 2012, Rhode Island personal income tax was withheld from her wages each 

week for 52 weeks. By statute, the wage withholding was deemed paid on April 15, 2013. Maria then 

had two years from the April 15, 2013, payment date to file a 2012 return. Was the return filed within 

the two-year period? No. Maria does not pass either the three-year rule or the two-year rule. Her re-

fund claim is therefore denied. 
 

not paid any tax attributa-

ble to the 2014 tax year. 

The taxpayer testified that 

he had zero income from 

Rhode Island in 2014. He 

said that the U.S. Depart-

ment of Defense errone-

ously paid his withholding 

to Rhode Island, even 

though he is a legal resident 

of Connecticut.  

(Please turn to next page) 



 

Tax tip line 

If you have information 

about wrongdoing involv-

ing state taxes, call the tax 

fraud tip line at (401) 574-

TIPS or (401) 574- 8477 

and leave a message.  

   The line is staffed by the 

Rhode Island Division of 

Taxation’s Special Investi-

gation Unit, which follows 

up on all tips. Callers can 

leave their names and 

contact information or 

remain anonymous. 

He requested a refund of the 

entire withholding tax on the 

basis that he does not owe 

Rhode Island any tax. 

The Division asserted that 

under Rhode Island statute, 

his request for a refund was 

not timely.  

The taxpayer also said that 

Rhode Island’s denial of his 

refund was unfair because the 

U.S. Department of Defense 

paid the wrong withholding 

tax. (Issues of fairness -- equi-

ty -- are beyond the scope of 

administrative proceedings 

and are the province of the 

courts.) 

On August 1, 2018, the hear-

ing officer determined that 

the taxpayer is not entitled to 

the refund claimed for 2014 

and that the Division properly 

denied the taxpayer’s claim 

for the refund. On August 1, 

2018, the tax administrator 

adopted the hearing officer’s 

decision and recommenda-

tion. 

-- Final Decision and Order 

No. 2018-08 

 

Purchase of car 

At issue is whether a sales/

use tax refund should be is-

sued when a newly purchased 

car is returned. 

A taxpayer bought a car in 

Massachusetts on January 5, 

2017. He then registered the 

car and paid Rhode Island 

sales/use tax on the purchase. 

He returned the car to the 

dealer in June 2017 and re-

ceived a refund from the deal-

er.  

However, his application for a 

refund of the sales/use tax 

was denied by 

the Rhode Is-

land Division of 

Taxation.  

At his request, 

a hearing was 

held, at which 

the Division 

was represent-

ed by counsel, 

the taxpayer by himself. 

Rhode Island General Laws § 

44-18-30(58) essentially al-

lows for a refund of sales/use 

tax if three criteria are met: 

⧫ The contract must be re-

scinded; 

⧫ The entire contract 

amount, not including han-

dling charges, must be re-

funded; and 

⧫ The property must be re-

turned within 120 days of 

purchase. 

The Division asserted that the 

taxpayer did not receive the 

full amount of the contract 

minus handling charges, and 

that the car was not returned 

within 120 days of purchase, 

so the taxpayer did not meet 

the statutory requirements 

for a refund. 

The taxpayer said he initiated 

the return of the car by filing 

a consumer complaint on 

March 29, 2017.  

Thus, although the actual 

return of the car occurred 

more than 120 

days after the 

car’s purchase, 

he testified that 

he initiated the 

return of the 

car within 120 

days of pur-

chase.  

The hearing 

officer found that there was a 

rescission of contract as re-

quired by statute, but that the 

taxpayer did not receive the 

full amount of the contract 

minus handling charges, and 

that the return of the car was 

not completed within 120 

days.  

Thus, she determined on Au-

gust 6, 2018, the taxpayer is 

not entitled to the claimed 

sales tax payment refund, and 

the Division properly denied 

the taxpayer’s claim for re-

fund. On August 10, 2018, 

the tax administrator adopted 

the hearing officer’s decision 

and recommendation. 

-- Final Decision and Order 

No. 2018-09 
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QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ABOUT STATE TAXES 

Practitioners’ Corner 

Q: If I’m filing a com-

bined return, and more 

than one entity in the 

combined group has de-

ferred foreign income 

(“Section 

965 in-

come”) 

for Rhode 

Island tax 

purposes 

for the 

2017 tax 

year, 

should a 

Rhode 

Island 

Schedule 965 (“965 Tran-

sition Tax Statement”) be 

included in the filing for 

each entity, or should the 

filing include a single 

Rhode Island Schedule 

965 that includes the 

combined Section 965-

related amounts for all 

the entities? 

A: The filing must include a 

single Rhode Island Schedule 

965, showing the combined 

Section 965-related amounts 

for all the entities.  

Although the Rhode Island 

Schedule 965 will include 

only the combined amounts 

for all the entities, you must 

nevertheless create a spread-

sheet or other such document 

listing the underlying detail 

for each of the entities. That 

spreadsheet or other such 

document must be kept on 

file and made readily available 

should the Division require 

the information at a later 

date. 

Q: Regarding Rhode 

Island’s sales and use 

tax, I have a certificate 

of ex-

emption 

for artis-

tic 

works. I 

recently 

moved. 

Must I 

obtain a 

new cer-

tificate to 

reflect 

the new address? If so, 

how do I go about it? 

A: If you moved within 

Rhode Island, send a letter 

of explanation to: Rhode 

Island Division of Taxation, 

One Capitol Hill, Provi-

dence, R.I. 02908 -- Atten-

tion: Artist Exemption. 

In the letter, explain your 

circumstances -- and provide 

details from your exemption 

certificate as well as proof of 

your new residency/ new 

address, such as the portion 

of a utility bill that shows 

your new address. 

We will send you a new 

certificate reflecting the new 

address. Please allow time 

for processing. Please also 

complete and file Form RI-

COI, “Change of Name or 

Address Form”, to update 

the information on your 

permit. See our list of sales 

and use tax forms: http://

www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/

sales_excise/sales_use.php 

Note: If you move out-of-

state, the certificate is no 

longer valid. That’s because 

the exemption applies only to 

residents. In other words, by 

moving out-of-state, you 

would lose your individual 

artist exemption. (As noted in 

statute, the exemption “only 

applies to sales by writers, 

composers, and artists resid-

ing in and conducting a busi-

ness within the state of Rhode 

Island.”) 

Background: In general, 

Rhode Island law allows for a 

sales/use tax exemption for 

artistic works. Artists, writ-

ers, and composers must ap-

ply for a certificate of exemp-

tion; the application is on the 

Division’s website. To learn 

more, see Rhode Island Gen-

eral Laws § 44-18-30B 

(“Exemption from sales tax 

for sales by writers, compos-

ers, artists – Findings”).  

The Rhode Island State Coun-

cil on the Arts has infor-

mation: https://risca.online/

buy-art-tax-free/ 

See also Regulation 80-RICR-

20-70-11, “Exemption of 

Sales by Writers, Composers 

and Artists”:  

https://rules.sos.ri.gov/

regulations/part/280-20-70-

11 

(Please turn to next page) 

  

  

About     

‘Practitioners’ Corner’ 
 

The “Practitioners’ Corner” 

feature provides general an-

swers to some of the ques-

tions that the Tax Division 

encounters through the nor-

mal course of business. 

The answers are intended 

solely to provide general infor-

mation. They do not represent 

formal guidance, and are not 

substitutes for Rhode Island 

General Laws, Tax Division 

regulations, or Tax Division 

rulings. 
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QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ABOUT STATE TAXES  (CONTINUED FROM PREVIOUS PAGE) 

Practitioners’ Corner 

Q: My client’s Rhode Is-

land company, a C corpo-

ration, is being bought 

out by an out-of-state 

company. (The out-of-

state company has never 

done business in Rhode 

Island and has had no 

Rhode Island filing or 

registration history.) The 

two parties prefer to call 

the transaction a merger. 

We must file an applica-

tion for a letter of good 

standing from the Divi-

sion of Taxation. The in-

structions for 

the application 

say we should 

file a Form RI-

1120C (“Business 

Corporation Tax 

Return”) 

through the date of the 

request. What does that 

mean? 

A: It means that when you file 

with us your application for a 

letter of good standing, you 

must attach a pro forma Rhode 

Island corporate tax return on 

Form RI-1120C – reflecting 

the period ending on the date 

of the filing of the application.  

Later on, when the transac-

tion is completed, you’ll file a 

short-year return with the 

Internal Revenue Service and 

a short-year return with us – 

in other words, the actual 

return, not the pro forma 

return.   

If the pro forma return shows 

a balance due for the Rhode 

Island corporation, you must 

pay the balance along with 

the return. 

Q: I’m an artist. Some of 

my sales are exempt 

from Rhode Island sales 

tax, but some are not. 

For the sales that are not 

exempt, I must collect 

Rhode Island sales tax 

and remit the tax (in 

other words, 

turn it over) to 

the Rhode Is-

land Division of 

Taxation. I can-

not figure out 

when sales tax-

es are due. 

A: As a general rule, those 

who hold a Rhode Island 

sales tax permit must remit 

on or before the 20th of the 

month following the month 

in which the sales tax was 

collected. 

For example, if XYZ Retail-

er collects sales tax in Au-

gust 2019, XYZ Retailer 

would have to forward the 

money to us on or before 

September 20th, 2019. 

However, some retailers 

(with low volume) remit 

quarterly. 

If you received coupons in 

the mail from us, they should 

show whether you must re-

mit monthly or quarterly. 

You can find out more about 

your account – including 

whether you must file 

monthly or quarterly – by 

contacting our Excise Tax 

section at (401) 574-8955. 

Meanwhile, here’s a link to 

the remittance schedule(s): 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/

documents/

information/2018/2018%

20TXCLDR%20SALES.pdf 

The Rhode Island State 
Council on the Arts is 

spreading the word (see 
above) about Rhode Is-

land’s statewide sales tax 
exemption on the sale of 

original and limited 
edition works of art. 

 

 

 

 

More information 

The Rhode Island Division of 

Taxation website includes 

forms and instructions, the 

agency’s newsletter, as well 

as Administrative Decisions, 

Advisories, and much more. 

See www.tax.ri.gov   
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E-file reminder 
 

For the coming filing 

season, the Rhode Island 

Division of Taxation will 

accept the following 

returns under its elec-

tronic filing program (e-

file): 

· Form RI-1040 

· Form RI-1040NR 

· Form RI-1120C 

· Form RI-1120S 

· Form RI-1065 
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RHODE ISLAND TAXES - RECENT DEVELOPMENTS 
 

  Security Summit 

  The Rhode Island Division of  
Taxation, the Internal Reve-
nue Service, and other part-
ners in the Security Summit 
recently issued a series of 
joint announcements under 
the title: “Protect Your Cli-
ents; Protect Yourself: Tax 
Security 101.” 

  The Security Summit aware-
ness campaign provides tax 
preparers and tax profession-
als with the basic information 
they need to better protect 
taxpayer data and to help pre-
vent the filing of fraudulent 
tax returns. 

  The Security Summit con-
sists of the IRS, state tax 
agencies, and the tax commu-
nity -- including tax prepara-
tion firms, software develop-
ers, and tax professional or-
ganizations, among others. 
Partners in the Security Sum-
mit work together to combat 
identity theft to protect the 
nation’s taxpayers. 

 

Section 965 

  The Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation recently filed, as 
final, a regulation that pro-
vides guidance to C corpora-
tions and their advisors on 
how to report deferred for-
eign income (“Section 965 
income”) for Rhode Island tax 
purposes.  

  To view the regulation, 
“Treatment of Repatriated 
Income 2017” (280-RICR-20-
25-15) See the following link: 

https://go.usa.gov/xUfnZ 

  “The federal government in 
December 2017 enacted 
changes to federal tax law, 
which in turn required 
Rhode Island to review its 
tax laws,” said Rhode Island 
Tax Administrator Neena 
Savage.  

  “This final regulation clari-
fies Rhode Island law with 
respect to C corporations 
that have income pursuant to 
Internal Revenue Code § 
965,” she said. 

  Under legislation (known 
as the Tax Cuts and Jobs 
Act) that was approved by 
Congress and signed into 
law by President Donald 
Trump on December 22, 
2017, taxpayers with un-
taxed foreign earnings must 
include, in income for feder-
al tax purposes, their accu-
mulated post-1986 deferred 
foreign income (Section 965 
income).  

  Such income must be in-
cluded in income for federal 
tax purposes and is subject 
to tax at special effective 
federal tax rates. This is re-
ferred to as the “repatriation 
transition tax.”  

  The regulation shows how 
Rhode Island treats this in-
come. For more infor-
mation, contact the Divi-
sion’s Income Tax unit at 
(401) 574-8935 between 
8:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. 
business days, or email: 
Tax.Corporate@tax.ri.gov. 

 

Tax credit report 

  The Division of Taxation 

has posted on its website its 
latest annual tax credit and 
incentive report, as required 
by Rhode Island statute. 

  The latest report identifies 
14 businesses that received a 
combined total of approxi-
mately $14 million in certain 
state tax credits and incen-
tives for the fiscal year ended 
June 30, 2018.  

  Three of those recipients 
also received a combined 
total of approximately $4 
million in other Rhode Island 
tax credits and incentives, 
the report shows. 

  

 Short-term rentals 

  The Division of Taxation 
has updated its publication 
involving short-term resi-
dential rentals. “Sales and 
hotel taxes on short-term 
residential rentals: FAQs” 
was revised mainly to pro-
vide updated links to certain 
documents. 

 

Joint regulations 

Rather than publish two sep-
arate sets of the same regula-
tions, the Rhode Island Divi-
sion of Taxation and the 
Rhode Island Commerce 
Corporation have agreed to 
post just one set when it 
comes to certain tax credits 
and related incentives. 

  All of the most recent regu-
lations involving the Division 
of Taxation can be viewed on 
the Rhode Island Secretary of 
State’s website: 

http://www.sos.ri.gov/ 
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