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HIGHLIGHTS: 

 Rhode Island’s 75-day 
tax amnesty netted more 
than $22 million. 
(Details on page 4.) 

 Rhode Island’s estate tax 
threshold has now ex-
ceeded the $900,000 
level for the first time. 
(Details on page 5.) 

 The Rhode Island Divi-
sion of Taxation’s effort 
to crack down on sales of 
contraband cigarettes was 
the focus of a feature 
article in the Providence 
Journal. 
(Reprint on page 10.) 
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T he Rhode Island Divi-
sion of Taxation is in 

the process of making 
sweeping changes to its 
computer system – which 
will also change the way it 
does business. 

  As a result of the budget 
bill recently approved by 
the General Assembly and 

signed into law by Gover-
nor Lincoln D. Chafee, the 
Tax Division will acquire a 
computer system known as 
an “integrated tax sys-
tem” (ITS) – along with 
software, hardware, and 
related implementation, 
maintenance, and support 
services. The Tax Division, 

part of the Department of 
Revenue, is the State’s pri-
mary revenue collecting 
agency. It administers more 
than 50 different types of 
state taxes and fees, and 
collects nearly $3 billion a 
year - money that helps pay 
for vital public services.  

(Please turn to page 3) 

S tandard deduction and 
exemption amounts 

have increased for tax year 
2013. 

  So, too, has the deduc-
tion/exemption phase-out 
range, and tax bracket 
amounts. 

  It’s all the result of the 
Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation’s annual inflation 
adjustment procedure.  

  When the General As-
sembly in 2010 approved 
sweeping changes to 
Rhode Island’s personal 
income tax law, legislators  
required that key figures 
be adjusted each year to 
help taxpayers keep up 
with inflation. 

  So when the U.S. Depart-

ment of Labor issued its 
cost-of-living figures in the 
fall of 2012, the Tax Divi-
sion  adjusted key figures 
for tax year 2013 – includ-
ing standard deduction 
amounts, personal exemp-
tion amounts, dependency 
exemption amounts, the 
phase-out range for stan-
dard deductions and ex-

emptions, and tax brackets.  

   The numbers are helpful 
to taxpayers and practitio-
ners who like to plan ahead. 
They are important for a 
number of reasons – includ-
ing the calculation of quar-
terly estimated tax pay-
ments. 

(Please turn to page 2) 
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What’s new for tax year 2013 (continued from page 1) 

  Standard deduction amounts 
have increased about 2.6 per-
cent for 2013. For example: 

 If you’re single, your stan-
dard deduction amount is 
$8,000 for 2013, up from 
$7,800 for 2012. 

 If you’re married and filing 
a joint return, your standard 
deduction is $16,000 for 2013, 
up from $15,600 for 2012. 

 If your filing status is “head 
of household,” your standard 
deduction is $12,000 for 2013, 
up from $11,700 for 2012. 

  Exemption amounts 

  In addition, the value of each 
personal and dependency ex-
emption has climbed by about 
2.7 percent, to $3,750 for 
2013, up from $3,650 for 
2012. 

  The Division of Taxation has 

  But for 2013, the phase-
out range has been adjusted 
upward to reflect inflation. 
As a result, fewer taxpayers 
will be subject to the phase-
out. The new phase-out 
range is $186,550 to 
$207,950.  

  The Tax Division has also 
issued a new uniform Rhode 
Island personal income tax 
rate schedule for 2013. 

Tax brackets 

  The new schedule shows 
higher income ranges within 
each of the state’s three tax 
brackets (3.75 percent, 
4.75 percent, and 5.99 per-
cent). 

  For 2012, for example, 
only your first $57,150 in 
Rhode Island taxable in-
come was taxed at the 
state’s lowest personal in-
come tax rate of 3.75 per-

cent.  

  For 2013, your first 
$58,600 in Rhode Island 
taxable income qualifies 
for the lowest tax rate. In 
other words, for 2013, 
more of your income will 
be taxed at the lowest 
rate, of 3.75 percent, in-
stead of at the next highest 
rate, of 4.75 percent.  

  Also, the highest rate – of 
5.99 percent – kicked in 
last year at above 
$129,900 of Rhode Island 
taxable income.  

  For 2013, the top rate  
won’t kick in until your 
Rhode Island taxable in-
come exceeds $133,250. 

Please note: This article 
applies to tax year 2013. For 
information about tax year 
2012 and the current filing 

season, please click here. 

also increased the phase-out 
range that involves limits on the 
standard deduction and exemp-
tions based on income. 

  Income limits 

  Before tax year 2011, the 
amount of your exemptions and 
itemized deductions was lim-
ited based on your income.  

  Under the new system, for 
2011 and later tax years, the 
amount of your exemptions and 
standard deduction is also lim-
ited based on your income. 
(Itemized deductions are no 
longer allowed.) 

  For 2012, the phase-out 
started at $181,900 of modified 
federal adjusted gross income 
(AGI). If modified federal AGI 
exceeded $202,700, you were 
ineligible for a standard deduc-
tion as well as personal and 
dependency exemptions. 

Reaching out 
Donald Englert, chief of the Rhode Island Division of Taxation’s Excise Tax section, was among a number of speakers who provided a Tax Division update 
at the Rhode Island Society of Certified Public Accountants’ meeting at the Providence Marriott Downtown hotel in December. 
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  The agency’s new computer 
system will provide a full 
suite of processing and ad-
ministrative functionality for 
the taxes and fees that the 
agency oversees. In addition, 
taxpayers and tax practitio-
ners will gain secure online 
access to an array of services 
on the agency’s website. 

Improvements 

  “This new system will result 
in system-wide changes 
within the Division of Taxa-
tion,” said Tax Administrator 
David M. Sullivan, who over-
sees the agency. “When the 
changes are fully imple-
mented, taxpayers and tax 
practitioners will notice sig-
nificant improvements. We 
appreciate the support for 
this project that we have re-
ceived from the General As-
sembly and from Governor 
Chafee,” he said. 

  The Tax Division needs the 
new system so it can consoli-
date tax information, which 
is now dispersed across a 
number of different plat-
forms -- some antiquated and 
ill-suited for the agency’s 
requirements. 

  For example, the Tax Divi-
sion has a mainframe com-
puter system that holds infor-
mation related to five major 
tax types: corporate income, 
personal income, withhold-
ing, sales, and health care 
provider taxes. The system is 
decades old and is written in 
the COBOL language, which 
is ancient by current com-
puter standards and is also 
costly to maintain and mod-
ify. 

  Other 
taxes and 
fees are 
processed 
using 
either 
Microsoft 
Access 
databases 
or Micro-
soft Excel 
spread-
sheets. 
Alto-
gether, 
the Divi-
sion of 
Taxation 
maintains 
about 80 of such “offline” 
tax information storage 
sites in-house. 

  The new system will 
also help make process-
ing more effective and 
efficient -- thereby aiding 
taxpayers and tax practitio-
ners alike. For example, 
although the Tax Division 
receives many tax returns 
electronically, and actively 
encourages e-filing, thou-
sands of business and per-
sonal returns continue to be 
filed on paper.    

Manual data entry 

  Data from the paper re-
turns must be entered into 
the Division of Taxation’s 
computer systems by hand, 
through data-entry opera-
tors, a process that can take 
time and occasionally result 
in errors. 

  With the ITS project, the 
Tax Division plans to pro-
cure and implement a front-
end imaging and data-entry 

system. When complete, the 
new system will allow staff to 
scan returns and related 
documents into the agency’s 
computer system. 

  In the end, the Tax Division 
expects to replace all of its 
current processing systems -- 
including all of its mainframe 
and offline systems -- while 
upgrading its data-entry sys-
tems and adding a fully inte-
grated imaging system. The 
project will be implemented 
in phases, over a four- to 
five-year period. 

Bidding materials 

  As part of the process, the 
Tax Division in November 
2012 issued materials for 
potential project vendors; the 
materials were posted in the 
form of a request for propos-

als (RFP) on the Rhode 
Island Division of Purchas-
ing website (see excerpts 
above). At the bid opening 
January 15, 2013, four 
bidders emerged: Fast En-
terprises, Intrasoft Interna-
tional USA, Revenue Solu-
tions Inc., and TATA Con-
sultancy Services. The Tax 
Division expects a contract 
will be awarded in March 
2013, and a project start 
date set in May 2013. 

  Under the legislation en-
acted in June 2012, the Tax 
Division received an appro-
priation for the project of 
$25 million for fiscal years 
2013 through 2017 to pro-
cure and implement the 
ITS, including the front-
end imaging and data entry 
system. 

Taxation’s new computer system (continued from page 1) 
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  The Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation has created a new section 
of its website where taxpayers may 
find analytical reports related to 
recipients of certain state tax 
credit and incentive programs. 

  On the section, launched in the 
fall of 2012, the Tax Division posts 
information about applicants for, 
and recipients of, certain tax cred-

its and other incentives for busi-
ness. (A screenshot of part of the new 
website section appears below.) 

  For example, before a company 
may be deemed eligible for a tax 
rate reduction under the Jobs 
Development Act, the Rhode 
Island Economic Development 
Corporation (EDC) must make a 
determination regarding the 

company’s job creation plans and 
efforts. The EDC cannot make 
such a determination until it has 
first prepared and publicly re-
leased an analysis of the impact 
that the proposed investment may 
have on the state. That is the sort 
of detailed analysis that will be 
appearing on the new website 
section. 

NEW WEB PAGE FOR TAX CREDITS, INCENTIVES 

STRONG FINISH FOR TAX AMNESTY: $22M 

A  strong finish helped Rhode 
Island’s tax amnesty pro-

gram collect a grand total of 
$22.38 million. 

  That is more than twice what the 
agency collected in the last state 
tax amnesty program, in 2006 
($9.88 million). It is more than 
double the amnesty’s original 
budgeted estimate for the current 
fiscal year ($10.94 million). 

  Details were contained in the tax 
amnesty program’s final report, 
which Tax Administrator David 
M. Sullivan supplied on December 
31, 2012, to the chairpersons of 
the House Finance Committee and 
Senate Finance Committee, as 
well as members of the state’s 
Revenue Estimating Conference. 

  The amnesty was the result of 
legislation approved by the Gen-
eral Assembly and signed into law 

Amnesty outreach 
Officials from the Rhode Island Division of Taxation trav-
eled to various locations in the state in the summer and fall 
to spread the word about amnesty. Among them was Jacques 
Moreau (above, right), chief of the agency’s Compliance & 
Collections section, at the Rhode Island Society of Certified 

Public Accountants’ office in Providence. 

Photo by Susan Breen/Rhode Island Society of Certified Public Accountants 

in June 2012 by Governor Lin-
coln D. Chafee. 

  The law gave the Tax Division 
special instructions with respect 
to interest and penalties owed by 
taxpayers who applied for am-
nesty and whose applications 
were approved. 

  In such cases, the law directed 
the Tax Division to waive penal-
ties, and to reduce interest by 25 
percent. To obtain the penalty 
waiver and interest reduction, a 
taxpayer had to pay all out-
standing state tax debts, plus 75 
percent of interest owed. 

  Based on those terms, the Divi-
sion of Taxation reduced interest 
by a total of about $2.4 million 
and waived $4.8 million in penal-
ties. Thus, the agency forgave a 
total of about $7.2 million but 
generated $22.38 million. Click 
here to read the final report. 
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ESTATE TAX THRESHOLD NOW EXCEEDS $900K 

R hode Island’s estate 
tax threshold has risen 

above $900,000 for the first 
time. 

  Using an inflation-indexing 
formula set forth in state 
law, the Tax Division set 
the threshold at $910,725 
for decedents dying in 
2013. The figure is 2 per-
cent higher than the thresh-
old that applied for 2012. 

  The threshold generally 
indicates the point at which 
someone’s net taxable estate 
may trigger the Rhode Is-
land estate tax (also known 
as the death tax). 

  In general, for 2013, if 
your net taxable estate -- in 
other words, your assets 
minus final expenses and 
certain debts -- is $910,725 
or less, your estate won’t be 
subject to the tax.  

  If your estate exceeds 
$910,725, it may trigger the 
tax - depending on your 
estate plans and other is-
sues. (In certain circum-
stances, the Rhode Island 
estate tax will not apply no 
matter the estate’s size: 
Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 44-22 provides full 
details on the computation 
of the tax, including such 

  
For decedent whose 

death occurs in: 

  
Rhode Island estate tax 

threshold amount: 
  

2009 $  675,000 
2010 $  850,000 
2011 $  859,350 
2012 $  892,865 
2013 $  910,725 

factors as the marital and 
charitable deductions.) 

  A state law enacted in 2009 
raised the threshold to 
$850,000, from $675,000, 
effective for decedents dying 
in 2010. 

(Recently enacted changes in 
federal tax law have affected 
the federal estate tax for 
those dying in 2013 and later 
years.) 

The Tax Division’s Estate Tax 
section can be reached at (401) 

574-8900. 

M any limited liability 
companies (LLCs) 

must file a different form 
starting this filing season. 

  For tax years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2012, 
many LLCs must file Form 
RI-1065, (instead of Form 
RI-1120S.) 

  The change applies to 
LLCs that are treated either 
as partnerships or as part of 
the owner’s tax return (a 
“disregarded entity”). In 
other words, it applies to 
LLCs that are not taxed as 
corporations. Thus, a sin-
gle-member LLC which 
does not elect to be treated 
as a corporation -- and 
which is therefore deemed 
to be a “disregarded entity” 
-- will file the Form RI-
1065.  

  The new Form RI-1065 

will also be filed by limited 
liability partnerships (LLPs), as 
well as by limited partnerships 
(LPs) and general partnerships. 

  A state law enacted in June 
2011 required that LLPs and 
LPs pay an annual charge -- a 
filing fee -- equal to the corpo-
rate minimum tax, currently 
$500, for tax years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2012. 
The charge is due upon filing 
of the LLP’s or LP’s return.  

  The law also reemphasized a 
longstanding Tax Division po-
sition: any LLC that is not 
taxed as a corporation for fed-
eral and Rhode Island purposes 
continues to be subject to the 
annual charge -- the filing fee -
- which is currently $500. The 
principle applies to single-
member LLCs, too. The 
charge (now $500) is due upon 
filing of the LLC’s return. 

Revised form 

The revised Form 
RI-1065 

(excerpted at right) 
is for most LLCs, as 

well as for LLPs, 
LPs, general part-
nerships, and sin-
gle-member LLCs 
(listed in the ex-

cerpt as “SMLLC”). 
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX CHANGES: 2013 

C hanges to Rhode Is-
land’s unemployment 

insurance tax system have 
been set for 2013. The 
changes took effect in January 
2013, and will be reflected in 
first-quarter returns due on 
or before April 30, 2013.  
 
  For most employers, the 
taxable wage base will in-
crease by about 3 percent, to 
$20,200 for 2013 from 
$19,600 in 2012. 
 
  The taxable wage base is the 
amount of an employee’s 
wages to which the unem-
ployment insurance tax rate 
applies. By law, the base 
must equal 46.5 percent of 
the average annual wage in 
Rhode Island. 
 
  A separate, higher taxable 
wage base applies to employ-
ers who have experienced 
considerable unemployment 
– and who therefore have 
used the system’s resources 
the most. For those employ-
ers, the taxable wage base 
will increase by about 2.8 

percent, to $21,700 for 2013, 
from $21,100 for 2012. 
 
  In general, the separate, 
higher taxable wage base ap-
plies to about 18.2 percent of 
employers, according to fig-
ures from the Rhode Island 
Department of Labor and 
Training. (Last year, 43.4 
percent of all unemployment 
insurance benefit payments 
were attributed to the top 
18.2 percent of Rhode Island 
experience-rated employers, 
according to the DLT.) 
 
  Overall, the range of state 
unemployment insurance tax 
rates will stay the same for 
2013 – from a minimum of 
1.69 percent to a maximum 
of 9.79 percent. 
 
  A separate tax rate applies to 
new employers: For 2013, it 
is 2.83 percent, up from 2.64 
percent for 2012, an increase 
of about 7.2 percent. 
 
  Changes approved by the 
General Assembly and signed 
into law by Governor Lincoln 
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Figures are from Rhode Island Division of Taxation’s Employer Tax section and do not reflect separate taxable wage bases for 2012 and 2013 for high-experience employers. 

  

Rhode Island employer tax: key figures 
  

Number of employers: 

  

32,915 
  

Number of employees: 

  

554,657 
  
Source: Tax Division data for calendar year 2012, second quarter. 

D. Chafee altered some of 
the key elements in the 
state’s unemployment insur-
ance tax formula for 2012 
and later years. The changes 
were part of a broader effort 
to restore the state’s unem-
ployment insurance trust 
fund, which pays unemploy-
ment benefits and became 
insolvent during the reces-
sion. 
 
  For example, as a result of a 
1998 state law, the taxable 
wage base was tied to the 
balance of the state’s unem-
ployment insurance trust 
fund. Under the new law, 
the wage base is tied to the 
statewide average annual 
wage, as it was before the 

1998 law took effect. 
 
  In addition, the 2011 law 
ushered in a higher taxable 
wage base for those employ-
ers who have had the greatest 
negative effect on the state’s 
unemployment insurance 
trust fund. For them, the 
taxable wage base is $1,500 
higher than it is for other 
employers. 
 

 
 
  The tax is administered by the 
Division of Taxation. Rhode 
Island’s unemployment insurance 
system is overseen by DLT. 
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Note to  
Practitioners 

 
How to contact  
the Tax Division 

 

If you’re a tax practitio-
ner and need to contact 
the Tax Division, simply 
go to the home page of 

the agency’s website and 
click on “Contact Us” 
toward the top of the 

page, next to the Twit-
ter logo.  

There you’ll find a help-
ful list of e-mail ad-

dresses and phone num-
bers for various sections 
within the agency, in-
cluding Sales and Use 

Tax, Employer Tax, and 
Corporate Tax. 

 
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MAXIMUM TDI TAX RISES 2.3% FOR 2013 

T he maximum tax under 
Rhode Island’s tempo-

rary disability insurance (TDI) 
program will increase 2.3 
percent, to $736.80 for 2013. 

  Thus, the maximum tax will 
increase by $16.80 over last 
year’s maximum of $720. 

  The TDI tax has two main 
components: The first is the 
tax rate itself; the second is 
the amount of your wages to 
which that tax rate applies. 

For 2013, the amount of 
wages to which the TDI tax 
rate applies will increase 
$1,400, or 2.3 percent, to 
$61,400. 

The TDI tax rate will stay 
the same, at 1.2 percent. 

  As a result, the maximum 

TDI tax for 2013 will increase 
to $736.80 (the tax rate of 1.2 
percent applied to $61,400 of 
wages). For 2012, the maxi-
mum TDI tax was $720 (the 
tax rate of 1.2 percent applied 
to $60,000 of wages). 

  Whether the amount of your 
TDI tax goes up or down will 
generally depend on how much 
you earn.  

  In general, the tax is paid  by 
private-sector workers -- about 
393,300 of them.  

  The TDI program is adminis-
tered by the Rhode Island De-
partment of Labor and Train-
ing; the tax is collected by the 
Rhode Island Division of Taxa-
tion. 

  The TDI program generally 
pays benefits for unemploy-

Year Tax rate Wage base Max. tax 

2008 1.3% $54,400 $707.20 

2009 1.5% $56,000 $840.00 

2010 1.2% $57,900 $694.80 

2011 1.3% $58,400 $759.20 

2012 1.2% $60,000 $720.00 

2013 1.2% $61,400 $736.80 

TDI: By the numbers 

ment caused by injury or 
illness unrelated to work.  

  You can learn more about 
the TDI program at the DLT 
website. 

  Employers may learn more 
about TDI tax at the Tax 
Division’s website. 

  The Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation has updated its income 
tax rate schedules for estates and 
trusts for 2013. 

  The schedules -- updated to 
reflect inflation -- will be help-
ful to fiduciaries who are plan-
ning ahead. 

Income tax on trusts, estates for 2013 

  

Trusts and estates: 

Income tax rate schedule for 2013 

  

  

Over 

  

But not over 

  

pay dollar amount shown, 
plus percent on excess 

  

Of the amount 
over... 

  

$         0 

  

$          2,350 

  

$ 0 + 3.75% 

  

$                0 
 

  2,350 

 

            7,450 

  

$ 88.13 + 4.75% 

 

           2,350 
 

  7,450 

  

        ‐‐‐‐ 

  

$ 330.38 + 5.99% 

 

           7,450 

  The income tax rate 
schedule (excerpted be-
low) applies to non-
grantor trusts and non-
bankruptcy estates. In 
other words, it applies to 
most trusts and estates. It 
shows how the tax rates 
apply to various levels of 
income. 

  (The income tax rate 
schedule for grantor trusts 
and bankruptcy estates is 
the same as that for the 
individual income tax.) 

The Tax Division’s Personal 
Income Tax section, which 
handles income tax returns 

from trusts and estates, can be 
reached at (401) 574-8829, 

option 3. 
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Following is a summary of tax-
related cases in which final deci-
sions were made after administra-

tive hearings. By law, decisions are 
public information, but taxpayer 
information cannot be disclosed. 

Personal income tax 

  At issue is whether the tax-
payers -- a married couple -- 
filed requests on time in order 
to obtain refunds of personal 
income tax. 

  Under Rhode Island General 
Laws (RIGL) § 44-30-87, 
there are two basic rules gov-
erning refunds: 

 A refund may be claimed 
within three years of filing a 
return. If it is, the amount of 
credit cannot exceed the 
amount of tax paid within that 
three-year period. 

 A refund may be claimed 
within two years from the 
time the tax was paid. If the 
claim is made within the two-
year period, the amount of 
the refund may not exceed the 
portion of tax paid during the 
two years preceding the filing 
of the claim. 

  In this case, the taxpayers 
filed their 2006 return on 
November 7, 2007. Their tax 
for 2006 was deemed paid on 
the date it was due, April 15, 
2007.  

  Because they did not file 
their claim for refund until 
April 2011, they were ineligi-
ble under the three-year rule 
(because April 2011 is more 
than three years after the re-
turn was filed, in November 
2007).  

  They were also ineligible 
under the two-year rule 
(because April 2011 is past 
the two-year period from the 
date the taxes were deemed 
paid). 

  Hearing Officer Catherine 
R. Warren on September 26 
determined that the taxpayers 
were not entitled to the re-
fund claimed for tax year 
2006 (and for another year 
that was also in question).  

  Tax Administrator David M. 
Sullivan on September 28 
adopted the hearing officer’s 
decision and recommenda-
tion. 

- Final Decision and Order 

No. 2012-12 
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Tax Hearings 
Any taxpayer aggrieved by 

the action of the Tax Division 
in determining the amount of 

tax, surcharge, or penalty, 
may make written request for 

a formal hearing. 

The taxpayer is first afforded 
an opportunity to have a pre-
liminary review. Should the 
matter not be resolved, it 

may then proceed to formal 
hearing under the terms of 

the state Administrative Pro-
cedures Act (RIGL § 42-35-1 
et seq) and Tax Division regu-

lation AHP 97-01. 

If not satisfied with the out-
come, the taxpayer may ap-

peal to Sixth Division District 
Court (RIGL § 8-8-24 et seq). 

Rhode Island Tax News 
provides only summaries of some 
recent tax-case decisions, which 
are based on specific facts and 

circumstances. 
The summaries are merely infor-

mative and provide general 
information. To determine how 
state tax laws and regulations 

apply to your particular circum-
stances, please consult your tax 

professional. 

 Corporate income tax 

  At issue is whether the tax-
payer – a Rhode Island corpo-
ration – filed its request for 
refund of Rhode Island corpo-
rate income tax on time under 
RIGL § 44-11-20. 

   The taxpayer, a Rhode Island 
corporation, files as a fiscal 
year taxpayer, with a fiscal year 
ending June 30. 

  In this case, the taxpayer’s 
return was due September 15, 
2005, for the year ended June 
30, 2005. But the taxpayer 
instead filed for an automatic 
six-month extension – and at 
the same time made an exten-
sion payment. 

  In March 2006, the taxpayer 
filed its return for the year 
ended June 30, 2005, and 
made a payment with the re-
turn.  

  Fast forward to February 
2009, when the taxpayer filed 
an amended return for the year 
ended June 30, 2005, request-
ing a refund. 

  RIGL § 44-11-20 essentially 
says that a corporate taxpayer 
has three years – from the time 
the tax was paid – to claim a 
refund. Both sides disagreed on 
the interpretation. 

  The taxpayer asserted that the 
payment made with the exten-
sion in June 2005 was essen-
tially an estimate, and was not 
technically “paid” until the re-
turn was filed in March 2006 – 
which is when the three-year 
clock should start ticking in this 
case. 

(Please turn to page 9) 
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LEGAL CORNER: 
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LEGAL CORNER: 

  The Tax Division allowed a 
refund of the amount that 
the business had paid with its 
return in March 
2006.  

  But the agency 
did not allow a 
refund of the 
September 2005 
extension pay-
ment because 
the refund claim 
for that amount was not filed 
on time. 

  Warren on September 28 
sided with the Tax Division, 
saying that the taxpayer 
missed the three-year limit 
on the first payment but not 
on the second. Sullivan on 
October 4 adopted the hear-
ing officer’s decision and 
recommendation. 

- Final Decision and Order 

No. 2012-13 

Sales tax on tips 

  Suppose that a hotel or 

other big facility provides a 
banquet for a large group. On 
the bill, the facility applies a 

mandatory tip, a 
forced gratuity.    

  In that case, 
should the state’s 7 
percent sales tax 
apply to the entire 
amount (including 
the forced tip), or 
only to the food 

and drink itself (not counting 
the forced tip)? 

  Under Rhode Island General 
Laws (RIGL) § 44-18-18, 
sales tax applies to the re-
tailer’s gross receipts.  

  RIGL § 44-18-12 says “sales 
price” means the total amount 
of consideration, including 
services. 

  And Rhode Island sales tax 
Regulation 09-59 says the 
following: 

When a retailer bills a cus-
tomer for the rental of a 
public room or for gratui-

ties, service charges, 
cover charges, or enter-
tainment charges 
(including charges for 
bands or orchestras) in 
connection with the serv-
ing of meals or soft/
alcoholic drinks, the 
amount billed or received 
by the retailer will be 
considered as part of the 
gross receipts from the 
sale of the meal or soft/
alcoholic drinks and must 
be included in the meas-
ure of tax. Amounts des-
ignated as service charges, 
added to the price of 
meals, are a part of the 
selling price of the meals 
and, accordingly must be 
included in the retailer’s 
gross sales subject to tax. 

  The taxpayer in this case 
was a hotel which had restau-
rant and function services.  

  The taxpayer apparently 
took the position that Rhode 
Island tax Regulation 09-59 
is invalid because it treats 

voluntary tips differently from 
mandated tips. 

  But the hearing officer, 
Catherine R. Warren, deter-
mined that mandated tips are 
taxed because they are part of 
the sales price -- they are in-
cluded in the price. 

 What about voluntary tips? 
They are not included in the 
sales price and are not taxed. 
“The taxpayer’s arguments are 
without merit,” Warren 
wrote. 

  Warren on December 20 
concluded that the Tax Divi-
sion properly assessed tax on 
the forced gratuities (and cer-
tain other items involved in 
the case), and must pay the 
tax plus interest. 

  Sullivan on December 21 
adopted the hearing officer’s 
decision and recommenda-
tion. 

- Final Decision and Order 
2012-14 

Series of Tax Division mailings is complete 

  The Tax Division in late 
December completed the 
mailing of nearly 40,000 
Forms RI-1040ES. Taxpayers 
use the form to make quar-
terly estimated payments of 
personal income tax.  

  Each coupon packet has a 
table on which you can keep a 
record of your payments. 
That can be a helpful tool 
when it comes time to filing 
your annual income tax re-

turn. 

  Keep in mind that you have 
the option to download a 
copy from the Tax Division 
website.  

  Forms 1099 

  Also in late December, the 
Tax Division completed the 
mailing of about 7,000 
Forms 1099-INT. The form 
shows how much interest a 
taxpayer received in 2012 on 

a Rhode Island income tax 
refund. (It’s an 
information 
statement, not a 
bill.) 

  In January, the 
Tax Division 
completed the 
mailing of about 
216,500 Forms 
1099-G.  

   Form 1099-G shows the 

amount of a taxpayer’s 
overpayment -- 
which a tax-
payer received 
in the form of a 
refund in 2012, 
or applied 
against future 
taxes. (It, too, 
is an informa-

tion statement, not a bill.) 
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http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2012/2012-14.pdf�
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2012/2012-14.pdf�
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Tobacco tax enforcement: 

Snuffing out tax cheaters 
A t  one store, they 
were behind the base-
board, tucked into a com-
partment that opened with 
a remote control. 

  At others, they were in 
unmarked drawers under 
the front counter, hidden 
in walls or dropped into 
bags, disguised to look like 
trash. 

  The product in question: 
cigarettes, all of them for 
sale, all of them stored 
with great care, and all of 
them smuggled in to avoid 
the state tax. 

  Until recently, hiding 
places such as these might 
have remained a secret. 
But since October, when 
the Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation hired four 
investigators to crack 
down on sales of illegal 
cigarettes, the list of stores 
caught selling them has 
been growing at a rate of 
about two per day. 

  According to the divi-
sion’s tally, the newly 
hired investigators visited 
477 stores during October 
and November. At 69 - 
nearly 15 percent - they 
found cigarettes and re-
lated products that were 
seized and classified as 
contraband. 

  State Tax Administrator 
David M. Sullivan says 
he’s not surprised that in a 
state with the second-
highest cigarette tax in the 
country, behind only to 

Chief enforcer 
James M. Galvin, special investigation unit supervisor in the Rhode Island Division of Taxation’s Excise 
Tax section, stands in the vault where confiscated cigarettes and tobacco products are kept. In the field 
just 14 days in October, investigators seized more than 5,400 packs of cigarettes or cigarette tubes and 
about 1,000 packs of rolling papers. 

Photo by Sandor Bodo/Providence Journal 

New York, some mer-
chants might buy from 
suppliers who haven’t paid 
the $3.50-per-pack tax and 
had the packs properly 
stamped. 

  But he said he’s been 
taken aback by the elabo-
rate hiding places, and the 
lengths to which merchants 
will go to avoid getting 
caught. 

  “We went into a couple 
of establishments, we 
could tell that there was a 
drawer there, and we 
couldn’t open it. We 
would ask them to turn the 
electricity off and it still 
wouldn’t open,” he said.         

“We said ‘Look, we’re either 
going to rip this off the wall, 
or you can open it,’ and the 
guy would just reach up and 
grab a remote control.” 

  The state has good reason to 
be concerned. In October 
alone, the newly trained in-
spectors - in the field just 14 
days - seized more than 
5,400 packs of cigarettes or 
cigarette tubes into which a 
smoker can insert tobacco, 
and about 1,000 packs of 
rolling papers, which are also 
subject to the tax. 

  With the taxes and penalties 
calculated, those stores were 
billed $313,627. 

  The November inspections 

added to that tally, resulting 
in another $127,800 in taxes 
and penalties owed. 

  The payments are due 
within 30 days. The division, 
however, would not say how 
much had been paid to date. 

  The illegal sales cut the 
state out of a lucrative 
stream of tax dollars, one 
that brings about $130 mil-
lion a year into state coffers. 

  When the system works, 
cigarette manufacturers sell 
to licensed distributors who 
pay the state tax and obtain 
rolls of tax stamps. 
 

(Please turn to page 11) 
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Tobacco tax enforcement: 

  The distributors run the 
cigarettes through machines 
that open each carton, affix 
stamps onto each pack, and 
reseal the cartons. 

  Then they sell to stores, 
marking up the price to cover 
the tax. 

  Unlicensed suppliers typi-
cally buy cigarettes in lower-
cost states such as Virginia, 
where the tax is less than one-
tenth of Rhode Island’s - just 
30 cents per pack. Then, they 
sell the cigarettes to Rhode 
Island stores at a fraction of 
the typical cost. 

  Sometimes the illicit supplier 
will try to remove the stamps 
affixed in another state, or 
even attach false Rhode Island 
stamps, which investigators 
can detect with a small hand-
held device that reads the 
stamps colors and substances. 

  The consumer typically has 
no idea the cigarettes are ille-
gal, because the store still 
charges the going rate of about 
$8 per pack and then pockets 
the difference. 

  “They’re making a profit of 
like six or seven bucks a pack,” 
Sullivan said. 

  This is not the first time 
Rhode Island has gone after 
cigarette tax cheats. But until 
October the tax division had 
only one investigator, and 
with other responsibilities, 
such as checking on stores that 
have changed hands and re-
viewing tobacco dealer license 
applications, there wasn’t 
much time for inspections. 

  Sullivan said the goal with 
the new investigators is to 
visit, within the next few 
months, all 1,400 stores that 

sell cigarettes and then keep 
inspecting on a regular basis. 

  The new hires are former 
police officers, all of them ex-
perienced in looking for those 
sophisticated stashes. 

  “You know that they’re hiding 
them,” said James M. Galvin, 
the veteran investigator, who 
supervises the new hires. “So 
you poke around.” 

  They do not need a search 
warrant to rummage through a 
store. State law allows them to 
“enter and inspect, without a 
warrant during normal business 
hours … the facilities and re-
cords of any manufacturer, 
importer, distributor or dealer” 
and seize “contraband goods.” 

  They carry away any illegal 
items and the state follows up 
with an assessment of taxes and 
penalties owed. Subsequent 
offenses can lead to a suspen-
sion of the store’s license to sell 
cigarettes, or a revocation. 

  So far, none of the recent in-
spections have led to arrests, but 
state police Supt. Steven G. 
O’Donnell said his department 
communicates regularly with the 
Division of Taxation and pursues 
charges against suppliers and 
sellers in the more serious cases. 

  “We’ll continue to prosecute 
them as needed,” he said. 

  Sullivan declined to identify or 
characterize the stores that have 
been caught and stressed that 
most are following the law. 

  Likewise, Stephen Ryan, ex-
ecutive director of the New 
England Convenience Store As-
sociation, said his organization 
expects its members “to comply 
with the law and compete fairly.” 
But he said illegal sales are 
probably more common in a 
state such as Rhode Island, 
where the tax is high. Raised 
from $2.46 per pack to $3.46 
per pack in 2009 to help close a 
state budget hole, Rhode Island’s 
cigarette tax was at one point the 

highest in the nation. The tax 
rose again [in 2012], by 4 cents 
per pack, but New York’s is 
now the highest, at $4.35 per 
pack. 

  The items seized by the investi-
gators are eventually destroyed, 
but as cases are pending they are 
stored in a walk-in closet at the 
tax division office in Provi-
dence.  

  Inside what is known as “the 
vault” are shelves lined with 
hundreds of cartons of ciga-
rettes, as well as cigarette tubes 
and rolling papers. Some of the 
cigarette packs have the blue 
Virginia stamp - the most com-
mon out-of-state stamp found in 
Rhode Island - but in some in-
stances, the portion saying 
“Virginia” is missing, so that all a 
buyer would see are the words 
“TAX PAID.” 

  Sullivan said he hopes the level 
of compliance will rise, allowing 
his new employees to move on 
to other areas. Meanwhile, he 
said he’s pleased that the taxes 
and penalties billed for October 
alone more than cover the 
added cost for salaries and bene-
fits, which totals about 
$220,000. 

  He also said his office is look-
ing for a bigger vault. 

Photo by Sandor Bodo/Providence Journal 

Lock box 

James M. Galvin, special investigation unit supervisor in the Rhode 
Island Division of Taxation’s Excise Tax section, at a Tax Division 
vault used to store contraband cigarettes and other items. 

Editor’s Note 

This article by Randal Edgar, and 
photos by Sandor Bodo, were pub-
lished on page one of the Providence 
Journal on December 22, 2012.  

 

Randal Edgar, “Snuffing out tax 
cheaters,” The Providence Jour-
nal, December 22, 2012. Copy-
right © 2012 The Providence 
Journal. Reproduced by permis-
sion. 
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About ‘Practitioners’ 
Corner’ 

The “Practitioners’ Corner” 
feature provides general 
answers to some of the 

questions that the Tax Di-
vision encounters through 
the normal course of busi-

ness. 

The answers are intended 
solely to provide general 
information. They do not 

represent formal guidance, 
and are not substitutes for 

Rhode Island General 
Laws, Tax Division regula-
tions, or Tax Division rul-

ings. 
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A: Based on its current de-
sign, our system cannot ac-
cept both an e-filed extension 
form and an e-filed return for 
the same taxpayer for the 
same year. We hope that 
situation will change when 
our new integrated tax sys-
tem is up and running in a 
few years. What to do in the 

meantime? 
Mail in a 
paper ex-
tension, 
then e-file 
the actual 
return. By 
the way: If 
your ex-
tension 
payment is 
done elec-
tronically, 
using the 

credit card payment option 
described on the Division of 
Taxation’s website, you 
won’t also have to file the 
extension form itself. (A 
third-party fee applies for 
using the credit card payment 
option.) 

Q: What is the cut-off for e-
filing calendar-year and 
prior-year returns? 

A: Approximately mid-
November for calendar-year 
returns. Our current system 
does not allow for e-filed 
prior-year returns (or e-filed 
amended returns). 

Q: I have a restaurant as a 
client. The restaurant sells 
food and beverages – in-
cluding beer and wine. 
Does the restaurant fill out 
the regular annual sales tax 

reconciliation, or the an-
nual reconciliation for re-
tailers of alcoholic bever-
ages, or both? 

A: If you’re a retailer who 
sells alcoholic beverages -- no 
matter if that’s your main 
business or just a piece of 
your business – file only the 
annual sales tax reconciliation 
for retailers of alcoholic bev-
erages. 

If you’re a retailer who does 
not sell alcoholic beverages, 
fill out only the regular an-
nual sales tax reconciliation. 

The annual reconciliation is 
due by January 31, 2013. 
That deadline applies to both 
the regular and the one for 
alcoholic beverages – both of 
which are eligible for e-file 
(click here for details). 

Q: I was hoping you could 
answer a question regard-
ing the applicability of the 
one-month extension for 
filers of Form CRS to fiscal-
year taxpayers. Could you 
confirm whether the one-
month extension is only 
applicable to calendar-year 
taxpayers, or whether it 
may also be claimed by fis-
cal-year corporations?  
 
A: It’s for calendar-year and 
fiscal-year taxpayers. But 
please note: the additional 
one-month extension is only 
if you must complete more 
than the minimum part of the 
Schedule CRS. For instance, 
the first question on Schedule 
CRS says, “Is this company a 
member of a combined group 
of companies?” If your an-

swer is “No,” you don’t 
complete the rest of Sched-
ule CRS. In that case, you 
don’t qualify for the one-
month extension. 

Q: My client, a widow, 
just passed away. She left a 
small estate. Do we have 
to file a Rhode Island es-
tate tax form? 

A: In general, someone who 
dies in 2013 and is a widow 
or widower is not subject to 
the tax if the decedent’s net 
taxable estate is less than or 
equal to $910,725. 

Although you may not be 
subject to the tax, you still 
may have to file a form. 
That’s mainly because, by 
law, a lien is automatically 
placed on a decedent’s real 
estate.  

(Please turn to page 13) 

Questions & answers on state taxes 
Q: Can the property-tax 
relief claim, Form RI-1040H, 
be e-filed, or must it be pa-
per-filed? It is my under-
standing that it is paper-
filed only, with supporting 
documentation attached, 
and is essentially treated as 
separate from the regular 
RI-1040 income tax return.  

A: If you can e-file a Form RI-
1040H, we 
can accept 
it. In other 
words, if 
your soft-
ware pro-
vider al-
lows for it 
– and most 
do – we 
will accept 
it. How-
ever, it 
must be as 
part of a regular Form RI-
1040 – even if it’s just a mini-
mally completed 1040 (with 
name, address, SSN, AGI, 
etc.). 

Q: Can I attach copies of 
rent receipts to an e-filed 
Form RI-1040H? 
 

A: Yes. Regarding Form RI-
1040H documentation, the 
preparer should scan the 
documentation and attach it 
to the RI-1040. The taxpayer 
should keep the documenta-
tion on file along with the 
return itself and other associ-
ated paperwork, should he or 
she be asked for it. 

Q: Can we e-file a Rhode 
Island personal income tax 
extension, and later on e-
file the return itself? 
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TAX DIVISION SETS INTEREST RATES FOR 2013 

Interest Rates 

Personal Income Tax Assess-
ments 

From To Rate 
01/01/71 05/15/74 6.00% 
05/16/74 05/31/81 8.00% 
06/01/81 03/15/82 12.00% 
03/16/82 12/31/84 20.00% 
01/01/85 12/31/85 14.75% 
01/01/86 12/31/86 11.50% 
01/01/87 12/31/87 9.50% 
01/01/88 12/31/88 10.75% 
01/01/89 12/31/89 12.00% 
01/01/90 12/31/90 12.50% 
01/01/91 12/31/91 12.00% 
01/01/92 12/31/92 10.00% 
01/01/93 12/31/93 8.00% 
01/01/94 09/30/06 12.00% 
10/01/06 Present 18.00% 

Interest Rates 
Personal Income Tax Refunds 

From To Rate 
01/01/71 05/12/82 6.00% 
05/16/82 12/31/84 14.00% 
01/01/85 12/31/85 14.75% 
01/01/86 12/31/86 11.50% 
01/01/87 12/31/87 9.50% 
01/01/88 12/31/88 10.75% 
01/01/89 12/31/89 12.00% 
01/01/90 12/31/90 12.50% 
01/01/91 12/31/91 12.00% 
01/01/92 12/31/92 10.00% 
01/01/93 12/31/93 8.00% 
01/01/94 09/30/06 12.00% 
10/01/06 12/31/06 6.75% 
01/01/07 12/31/07 8.25% 
01/01/08 12/31/08 7.75% 
01/01/09 12/31/09 5.00% 
01/01/10 12/31/10 3.25% 
01/01/11 12/31/11 3.25% 
01/01/12 12/31/12 3.25% 
01/01/13 12/31/13 3.25% 

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation has posted 
the interest rates that will apply in 2013 on over-
payments and delinquencies. 

The rates are the same as those that applied for 
2012. 

The interest rate on delinquent tax payments has 
been set at 18 percent per annum for calendar 
year 2013.  

Interest on overpayments for the calendar year 
2013 shall be at the rate of 3.25 percent per an-
num. 

For taxpayers and practitioners who are dealing 
with prior years (and for history buffs), this issue 
of Rhode Island Tax News presents two tables: 

The first table (on the left side of the page) shows 
interest paid on overpayments since 1971, when 
the personal income tax was enacted. 

The second table (on the right side of the page) 
shows interest rates charged on underpayments 
since 1971. 

So here’s the general rule 
for the estates of those dy-
ing in 2013: 

If the net taxable estate is 
less than or 
equal to 
$910,725, pre-
pare and file 
Form RI-100 in 
order to get the 
lien released.  

If the net taxable estate 
exceeds $910,725 – or if 
the gross estate exceeds 
that figure, but the net es-
tate is less – file Form RI-
100A.  

(Note that a lien may apply 

if the decedent owned Rhode 
Island investment securities. 
To get the lien released, pre-
pare and file Form RI T-79.) 

Q: My client is a gen-
eral partnership. Are 
they subject to that 
$500 annual charge, or 
filing fee? 

A: No. Limited part-
nerships (LPs) and lim-

ited liability partnerships 
(LLPs) must now pay an an-
nual charge, or filing fee, 
equal to the minimum corpo-
rate tax, currently $500. 
General partnerships are not 
subject to that annual charge. 
However, general partner-
ships still must file Form RI-

1065. 

Q: Can I e-file the Form RI-
1065? 

A: Yes. This season, we’ve 
begun enforcing the corporate 
e-file mandate.  

As a result, some practitio-
ners who did not e-file busi-
ness tax returns before will be 
pleased to learn that most 
software providers are on 
board this season for e-filing 
of a number of different types 
of forms – including Form RI-
1065, RI-1120C, and RI-
1120S. 

Q: What annual return 
should my LLC file? 

A: If it has elected to be 
taxed as a subchapter C cor-
poration and files as a “U.S. 
Corporation Income Tax 
Return” on U.S. Form 1120 
for federal purposes, file 
Form RI-1120C. 

If it has elected to be taxed 
as a subchapter S corporation 
and files a U.S. Form 1120S 
for federal purposes, file 
Form RI-1120S. 

If it files a U.S. Form 1065 
for federal purposes, file 
Form RI-1065. 

A return for a single-
member LLC goes on Form 
RI-1065. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2013/Estate/Form%20RI-100%201pg%20F.pdf�
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2013/Estate/2013%20RI-100A.pdf�
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2013/Estate/2013%20RI-100A.pdf�
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http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2007/Estate/t79.pdf�


Rhode Island Division of Taxation 
One Capitol Hill 

Providence, R.I. 02908 

Phone: 401-574-8829 
Fax: 401-574-8917 

www.tax.ri.gov 

Pay tax online 

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) 
lets business taxpayers make pay-
ments of sales, withholding, and 
other taxes electronically, via the 

ACH network.  Click here for 
more information. 

NEWSLETTER POLICY 
Rhode Island Tax News is a newsletter from the Rhode Island Department of Revenue’s Divi-
sion of Taxation. It is typically published each quarter. Its purpose is to provide taxpayers 

and tax professionals with general information regarding Rhode Island tax laws, regulations 
and procedures. It is neither designed nor intended to address complex issues in detail. 

Nothing contained in this newsletter in any way alters or otherwise changes any provisions 
of the Rhode Island General Laws, regulations of the Tax Division, or formal rulings. The 
Tax Division is at One Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908. Its website is www.tax.ri.gov. 

HOW TO SUBSCRIBE 
Rhode Island Tax News is distributed free, by e-mail, to those who have joined our listserv. If you 
are not on our listserv but would like to join, send an email to Susan.Galvin@tax.ri.gov with 
the word SUBSCRIBE in uppercase in the subject block.  

COMMENTS AND SUGGESTIONS 
 

If you have comments or suggestions for Rhode Island Tax News, please e-mail its editor, Neil 
Downing: Neil.Downing@tax.ri.gov 

BACK ISSUES 
 

Back issues of Rhode Island Tax News are archived on the Tax Division website: 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/newsletter/index.php 
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Seized loot 
Donald Englert (left), chief of the Tax Division’s Excise Tax section, and Marc Levasseur, principal revenue agent in the Excise 
Tax section, display some of the items that were sold illegally at a store on Aquidneck Island -- and that were later seized by the 

Tax Division’s newly expanded investigative team. (Please see page 10 for details on the crackdown.) 
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