RI"1 1 20 RHODE ISLAND BUSINESS CORPORATION TAX RETURN 2000

CALENDAR YEAR 2000 OR

Fiscal Year Beginning......... 2000 and Ending ......... 2001
CHECK BOX: File with the TAX ADMINISTRATOR One Capitol Hill, Providence, R.l. 02908-5811
Subchapter S O Due on or before the Fifteenth Day of the Third Month
DISC/FSC O After the Close of the Taxable Year
Limited Liability Co. L] Federal Empl. Ident. No.
Initial Corporate Name and Address
Return O
Consolidated
Return O A [Gross Receipts
Final Return O
Short Year O B |Depreciable Assets
Address
Change O C [Total Assets

SCHEDULE A - Computation of Tax - Attach Legible Copy of all Pages and Schedules of Federal Return

NET INCOME BASIS:
1. Federal Taxable Income- SEE INSTRUCTIONS 1
2. Deductions:

a. Net Operating Loss Deduction - See instructions, attach schedule 2a

b. Special Deductions 2b

c. Exempt Dividends and Interest - From Schedule B of this return 2¢

d. Foreign Dividend Grossup (s78) U.S. 1120, Sched. C, Line 15 2d
3. Total Deductions 3
4. Additions:

a. Interest - SEE INSTRUCTIONS 4a

b. Rhode Island Corporation Taxes - SEE INSTRUCTIONS 4b
5. Total Additions - Line 4a plus Line 4b 5
6. Adjusted Taxable Income - Line 1 minus Line 3 plus Line 5 6
7. Rhode Island Apportionment Ratio - Schedule F, Line 5 7
8. Rhode Island Taxable Income - Line 6 times Line 7 8
9. Research and Development Adjustments - See Instructions, attach schedule 9
10a. Pollution Control and Hazardous Waste Adjustments - See Instructions 102
10b. Capital Investment Deduction 106
11. Total of Line 9, Line 10a and Line 10b 1
12. Rhode Island Adjusted Taxable Income - Line 8 plus or minus Line 11 12
13. INCOME TAX 9% of Line 12 13
14. Credits: 14

Form RI 3468 (ITC) ——__ Form RI 7695P (R&D Property)—______ Form Rl 7695E (R&D Expense)

Form RI 2642 (SBA) —___ Form Rl 2441 (Child & Elderly Daycare)

Form RI Enterprise Zone —_______ Other ( )
15. TAX - Line 13 Less Line 14 but not less than $250.00 (See instructions for Franchise Tax Calculation) 15
16. Recapture of Credits 16
17. TAX DUE - Line 15 Plus Line 16 17
18. Payments on 2000 Declaration of Estimated Tax 18
19. Other Payments Made 19
20. Total Payments - Line 18 Plus Line 19 20
21. NET TAX DUE - Line 17 less Line 20 21
22. (a) Interest (b) Penalty. (c) Form 2220 Interest (If applicable) 22
23. TOTAL DUE WITH RETURN - Line 21 Plus Line 22 23
24. OVERPAYMENT - Line 20 less Line 17 24
25. Credited to 2001 Estimated Tax 25
26. Refund 26

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this retum, including the accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my
knowledge it is true, correct and complete. Declaration of preparer (other than taxpayer) is based on all information of which he has any knowledge.

Date Signature of Authorized Officer Title

Date Signature of Preparer Address of Preparer
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RI-1120 SCHEDULE B EXEMPT DIVIDENDS AND INTEREST

1. Dividends received from shares of stock of any payor liable for R.l. taxes as outlined in
Chapters 11, 13 & 14 (Attach Schedule)
. Less: a) Amount of such dividends included in Special Deductions, Schedule A, Line 2(b)
. Balance of Exempt Dividends (Line 1 minus Line 2)
Foreign Dividends included on Lines 13, 14 & 17 Schedule C, US 1120
.Lessthan20%owned X 70%
. Morethan20% owned_____________ X 80%
. 100% owned - X100%
. Interest on obligations of public service corporations liable for R.l. Gross Earnings Tax
. Interest on certain obligations of the U.S. (Attach Schedule)
. Interest on obligations of U.S. possessions and other interest exempt under R.I. Law (Attach Schedule)
. Total of Lines 3 through 9 inclusive (Carry to Schedule A, Line 2C)
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SCHEDULE C FINAL DETERMINATION OF NET INCOME BY FEDERAL GOVERNMENT

Has the Federal Government changed your taxable income for any prior year which has not yet been

reported to the Tax Administrator? Yes No

If yes, complete Form T-70C immediately and submit to the Tax Administrator with any remittance that
may be due. NOTE: Changes made by the Federal Government in the income of any prior year which
have been finally determined must be reported to the Tax Administrator within 60 days after such change.

SCHEDULE D GENERAL INFORMATION

Location of principal place of business in Rhode Island

Location of corporation’s books and records

List states to which you are liable for income or excise taxes for the taxable year

U.S. Business Code No.: President
State and Date of Incorporation Treasurer
No. of Shares of Authorized Stock Par Value Per Share No Par Value ( )
FEDERAL TAXABLE INCOME US 1120, Page 1, Line 28 or 1120A Page 1, Line 24
SCHEDULE E 2000 1999 1998 1997 1996
For Year Ended l ‘
Amount
SCHEDULE F APPORTIONMENT Col A Col B
R.L Everywhere

1. Average net book value of:

(a) Inventory 1a

(b) Depreciable assets 1b

(c) Land 1c

(d) Rent (8 times annual net rental rate) 1d

(e) Total le
(f) Ratio in R.I., Line 1(e) Col. A divided by Line 1 (e) Col B 1f _

2. Receipts from:

(a) Gross Receipts 2a
(b) Dividends 2b
(c) Interest 2c
(d) Rents 2d
(e) Royalties : 2e
(f) Net capital gain 2t
(g) Ordinary gain 29
(h) Other income 2h
(i) Income exempt from federal taxation (Taxable for R.1.) 2i

(i) Total 2
(k) Ratio in R.L., Line 2(j) Col. A DIVIDED BY Line 2(j) Col. B 2k

3. (a) Salaries and wages paid or incurred (See instructions) 3a

(b) Ratio in R.I., Line 3(a) Col. A divided by Line 3(a) Col. B E___——__

4. Total of R.l. Ratios shown at Lines 1 (f), 2(k), and 3(b) 4

5. Apportionment Ratio- Line 4 divided by 3 or by the number of ratios
Enter as Line 7, Schedule A, Page 1 5

THIS RETURN WILL NOT BE COMPLETE UNLESS ALL REQUIRED SCHEDULES FROM FEDERAL 1120 OR APPLICABLE U.S. FORM ARE ATTACHED



GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS FORM RI-1120

1. WHO MUST FILE:

Domestic and Foreign Corporations: Every business corporation, joint
stock company or association exercising corporation functions or other-
wise doing business in this state is required to file an annual tax return
and is subject to the income tax (minimum $250.00). Domestic corpora-
tions and foreign corporations qualified to do business in this state are
liable to the franchise tax as provided in 44-12 of the General Laws of
1956, as amended, if it exceeds the tax on income.

Under the provisions of chapter 44-12 of the General Laws of 1956, as
amended, corporations which are chartered in Rhode Island and foreign
corporations qualified to do business in this state which were not
engaged in any business activities in Rhode Island during the last taxable
year will be subject to lower franchise tax rates (minimum of $250.00) if
tax returns are accompanied by a supplement affidavit certifying the fact
of such inactivity.

BCHAPT ‘8" RPORATI A small business corporation
having an election in effect under subchapter S of the internal Revenue
Code is required to file an annual tax return on Form RI-1120 and attach-
ing thereto a complete copy including all schedules of the federal form,
unless eligible to file Rl 1120A(S) (see instructions on Rl 1120A(S). Such
corporation shall not be subject to the Rhode Island income tax on cor-
porations but is subject to and liable for a franchise tax pursuant to §44-
12-1 of the General Laws as last amended (minimum $250.00), except
that such corporation shall be subject to the Rhode Island income tax, to
the extent of such income as is subjected to federal tax under said sub-
chapter S.

If a subchapter S corporation is taxable for federal purposes it must
attach Form RI-1120-Schedule S and compute and pay the tax due.

If any shareholder of such corporation is a nonresident during any part
of the corporation’s taxable year, he shall execute and forward to the cor-
poration, before the original due date of the Rhode Island corporate
return, an agreement (Form RI-1120-Schedule SN) which states that he
will file a Rhode Island personal income tax return and pay income tax on
all income derived from or connected with sources in this state, and such
agreement shall be attached to the corporation’s Rhode Island return for
such taxable year.

In the event (a) that the nonresident shareholder’s executed agree-
ment is not attached to the Rhode Island corporate return; or (b) that the
agreement set forth above is attached to the corporate return, and there-
after such nonresident shareholder fails to file a timely personal income
tax return, then within thirty (30) days of the date of notice by the Tax
Administrator to the corporation, the corporation shall remit to the Tax
Administrator a portion of the share of the corporation’s taxable income
which was derived from or attributable to this state, which portion shall be
computed at the rate set forth in paragraph 44-11-2(1), of the nonresident
shareholder’s share of the corporation’s income which was derived from
or attributable to sources within this state.

“DISC’s” (DOMESTIC INTERNATIONAL SALES CORPORATION):
DISC’s are afforded similar treatment under the Rhode Island Business
Corporation Tax Law as is allowed under the federal income tax law.
They are required to file an annual tax return on Form RI-1120 and
attaching thereto a complete copy including all schedules of the federal
form. DISC’s are subject to and liable for a franchise tax pursuant to §44-
12-1 of the General Laws as last amended (minimum $250.00). Any
income to shareholders of DISC’s is to be treated as it is treated under
federal income tax law, as it existed on December 31, 1984.

“FSC's” (FOREIGN SALE RPORATION

Qualifying FSC’s having a valid election for the entire year are required
to file an annual return on Form RI-1120 with a complete copy of all fed-
eral schedules. FSC's are subject to and liable for the franchise tax (min-
imum tax $250.00) under 44-12. Income to FSC shareholders will be
treated as it is treated under federal income tax law of January 1, 1985.

2. WHEN AND WHERE TO FILE:
The Form RI-1120 or Rl 1120A(S) is due on or before the fifteenth day

of the third month following the close of the taxable year. Returns must be
filed with the State of Rhode Island, Division of Taxation, One Capitol Hill,

Suite 9, Providence, Rl 02908-5811. A return will be considered as timely
filed if it is mailed so as to bear a U.S. postmark on or before the applic-
able due date. When the last day for filing the Form RI-1120 or Rl 1120A(S)
falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a Rhode Island legal holiday, the filing
shall be considered timely if it is performed on the next succeeding day
which is not a Saturday, Sunday or Rhode Island legal holiday.

3. EXTENSION OF TIME FOR FILING:

An automatic six month extension of time for the filing of the required
return may be granted provided a Form RI-7004 is filed together with a
payment equa} to the full amount of tax reasonably estimated to be due
for the taxablel year based on income, or franchise whichever shall yield
the greater tax. Payment of a minimum amount if a larger amount is
due will void the extension.

4. PAYMENT OF TAX:

The balance of tax shown on the return to be due must be paid in full
with the return. Failure to pay the tax on time will subject the taxpayer to
an assessment of interest and penalties.

Inter: nerall

Any tax not paid when due is subject to interest at the rates of 12% per
annum from the time the tax was originally due.

Penalties-Failure to file returns on time

In case of failure to file a return within the time prescribed by law, or
within the extension period, there shall be added to the tax 5% of such
tax if delinquency is for not more than one month plus an additional 5%
for each additional month or fractional part thereof during which such fail-
ure continues not exceeding 25% in the aggregate.

The law provides for the imposition of fines up to $5,000 for failure to
file the required returns of filing of false or fraudulent returns.

Penalties-Failure to pay tax on time

In case of failure to pay the tax with the return on or before the date
prescribed (determined with regard to any extension of time for payment)
there shall be added to the amount shown as tax on such return five-
tenths percent (0.5%) of the amount of such tax if the failure is for not
more than one month, plus an additional five-tenths percent (0.5%) for
each additional month or fractional part thereof during which such failure
continues, not exceeding 25% in the aggregate.

5. RATE OF TAX:

Nine percent (9%) of net income apportioned to Rhode Island; or an
annual franchise tax on its authorized capital stock at the rate of $2.50 for
each $10,000.00 or fractional part thereof minimum of $250.00, whichev-
er amount shall yield the greatest tax.

In the case of corporations having capital stock of no-par value, $100
per share shall be deemed to be the par value for the purposes of the
franchise tax.

6. DECLARATION OF ESTIMATED TAX BY CORPORATIONS:

Every corporation shall file a declaration of its estimated tax for the tax-
able year if its estimated tax on any basis (income or franchise) for such
taxable year can reasonably be expected to exceed $500. The entire
amount of such estimated tax shall constitute the amount of the advance
required to be paid. The due dates and amounts of the installments are
as follows: The 15th day of the 3rd month of the taxable year (40%) and
the 15th day of the 6th month of the taxable year (60%).

Underpayment-Interest on declaration of estimated tax

In case of any underpayment of the estimate by a corporation there
shall be added to the tax as the case may be for the taxable year, an
amount determined at the rate of 12% per annum upon the amount of the
underpayment for the period of the underpayment. “The amount of the
underpayment” shall be the excess of the installment or installments
which would be required to be paid if the advance payments were equal

(continued on back)



to eighty percent (80%) of the tax shown on the return for the taxable
year or, if no return was filed eighty percent (80%) of the tax for such
year, over the amount, if any, of the installment paid on or before the last
date prescribed for payment.

The law provides for the assessment of a penalty of 5% of the tax
imposed on such corporations for such taxable year for failure to file
required estimated tax payments.

7. CHANGE IN NET INCOME BY FEDERAL GOVERNMENT:

Any change in net income for any prior year directly affects the tax lia-
bility to the State of Rhode Island and such changes must be reported to
the Tax Administrator within 60 days of final adjustment or determination
on Form T-70C.

8. SUPPORTING SCHEDULES:

All schedules are to be firmly attached to back of page 3 of the return.
Each schedule must be clearly identified with the item which it supports.
Write upon one side of the sheet only, so that schedule may be read with-
out detaching from the return. If space permits, more than one schedule
may be placed on a single sheet.

9. CONSOLIDATED RETURNS:

An affiliated group, as defined in regulations promulgated by the Tax
Administrator, may file a consolidated return for the taxable year provid-
ed that all the corporations which constitute such affiliated group at any
time during the period for which the return is made and which are sub-
ject to taxation under Chapter 44-11 shall consent to the making of such
consolidated return. If the affiliated group includes corporations which
are not subject to the Rhode Island Business Corporation Tax, these cor-
porations must be excluded from the Rhode Island affiliated group. In fil-
ing a consolidated return separate income statements, balance sheets,
and if applicable, apportionment schedules for each corporation joining
in the filing, must be filed with the consolidated return.

10. INVESTMENT CREDIT

R.l. Law allows an investment tax credit of 2% of the cost or other
basis as used for federal income tax purposes of certain property used
by the taxpayer in the production of goods by manufacturing, processing
or assembling. The credit allowed is 4% for qualified property placed in
service January 1, 1994 through December 31, 1997 and 10% for qual-
ified taxpayers from January 1, 1998 and thereafter. Detailed instructions
are available on Form RI 3468 which must accompany any return claim-
ing an investment credit. Forms Rl 3468 may be obtained at the R.l.
Division of Taxation.

11. RENEWABLE ENERGY SYSTEM CREDIT

An eligible person may claim a credit for a photovoltaic system, solar
domestic hot water system, active solar space heating system or wind
generation system installed in a dwelling in Rhode Island. The credit for
systems claimed in 2000 is 25% of the cost of the system. For addition-
al requirements and information, please contact the Rhode Island
Division of Taxation, Taxpayer's Assistance Section.

12. EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE AND DEVELOPMENT CREDIT.

A credit is available for 8% of the contribution in excess of $10,000
made to a R.l. institution of higher education and the contribution is to be
for the establishment or maintenance of programs of scientific research
or education. “Contributions” include the cost or other basis (for federal
income tax purposes) in excess of $10,000 of tangible personalty exclud-
ing sale discounts and sale-gift arrangements concerning the purchase
of equipment. Amounts of unused credit may be carried over for 5 years
and documentation of the credit requires a written statement from the
institution.

13. ADULT EDUCATION TAX CREDIT.
A R.l. employer may claim a credit of 10% of the costs incurred solely

and directly for enumerated, worksite-based adult education programs.
The credit is limited to a maximum of $200 per year. Amounts of credit

not deductible in one tax year may not be carried over to the following
year and may not reduce the tax to less than $250.00.

14. EMPLOYMENT TAX CREDIT

An employer who participates in the bonus program in conjunction
with Chapter 40-6.3 of the general laws shall be eligible for a tax credit
as set forth in R.I.G.L. section 40-6.3-4. An employer claiming credit
must obtain a written certificate from the Director of Human Services that
the employer has complied with the provisions of Chapter 40-6.3 and the
rules and regulations promulgated thereunder. This credit may not
reduce the tax to less than $250.00. Amounts of unused credit may not
be carried over to subsequent years.

15. CHILD D/}Y—CARE ASSISTANCE AND DEVELOPMENT CREDIT

Effective July 1, 1987, a credit is allowed against the business corpo-
ration tax of a taxpayer who pays for or provides child day-care services
or that provides real property or dedicates rental space for child day-care
services to its employees or to the employees of its commercial tenants.

The child day-care facility must be located in the State of Rhode Island
and licensed by the Department of Children and Their Families pursuant
to Chapter 42-72.1 of the general laws.

(a) If a taxpayer establishes and/or operates a child day-care facility
either alone or in conjunction with one (1) or more other taxpayers, the
credit is thirty percent (30%) of the total amount expended during the
taxable year if the facility is used primarily by the dependent children of
the taxpayers' employees or employees of commercial tenants of the
taxpayer during such employee’ hours of employment. As used above,
the term “amount expended” means the actual sums of money spent, or
the cost or other basis for federal tax purposes of real or tangible per-
sonal property donated or dedicated to the establishment of a child day-
care center. The credit may not reduce the corporation tax to less than
$250.00 and the unused balance of the credit may be carried forward for
the next five consecutive taxable years.

(b) If a taxpayer provides rental or lease space for child day-care ser-
vices, the credit is thirty percent (30%) of the total amount foregone in
rent or lease payments. The amount foregone shall be the difference
between fair market rental and actual rentals. The credit may not reduce
the corporation tax to less than $250.00 and the unused balance of the
credit may be carried forward for the next five consecutive taxable years.
A maximum total credit of thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) shall be
allowed a taxpayer who qualifies under (a) or (b) above.

(c) If a taxpayer purchases day-care services, the credit is thirty per-
cent (30%) of the amount expended and is limited to sixty percent (60%)
of the actual cost of the day-care services purchased for each child. The
total credit is limited to thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) annually, may
not reduce the corporation tax to less than $250.00 and the unused bal-
ance of the credit may not be carried forward.

Taxpayers claiming a child day-care assistance and development
credit must complete and attach Form Rl 2441, Forms and assistance
are available at the Rhode Island Division of Taxation, One Capitol Hill,
Providence, RI 02908-5811.

16. CAPITAL INVESTMENT IN SMALL BUSINESSES

Title 44, Chapter 44-43 of the General Laws provides a deduction for
purposes of computing net income under the Rhode Island Business
Corporation Tax (Chapter 44-11) for a qualifying investment in a certified
venture capital partnership and for credits to entrepreneurs of a qualify-
ing business entity for certain wages paid to employees of such entity.

Corporations claiming deductions for investments in certified venture
capital partnerships or entrepreneurial wage credits should contact the
Rhode Island Division of Taxation, One Capitol Hill, Providence, RI
02908-5811 for forms and instructions.

17. ENTERPRISE ZONE TAX BENEFITS

The Enterprise Zone Council enacted by 42-64.3-3.1 has created RI
enterprise zones. Various tax benefits may be available to taxpayers in
the forms of business credits, special modifications, donation credits and
interest credits. Taxpayers wishing to use these benefits, should contact
the Division of Taxation for details.



SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS FORM RI-1120

LINE INSTRUCTIONS

A. Enter the gross receipts from U.S. Forms 1120 or 1120-A, Page 1, Line 1(c).

B. Enter the depreciable assets from Line 10A Column C, Schedule L, U.S. Form 1120 Page
4, or the depreciable assets from Line 9A Column B, Part |1l U.S. Form 1120-A Page 2.

C. Enter the total assets from Line 15, Column D, Schedule L, U.S. Form 1120, Page 4 or Line
12 Column B Part 11l U.S. Form 1120-A, Page 2.

SCHEDULE A-COMPUTATION OF TAX

Line 1. Enter the taxable income as it appears on Line 28 of the U.S. corporation income tax
return (Form 1120) or Line 24 of the U.S. short form corporation income tax return Form
1120-A(S).

(SUB S INSTRUCTIONS) Lines 1 through 12 of Rl 1120 should be completed. Federal
Schedule K will be used to determine RI taxable income to be reported by shareholders. Line
13 should be notated “SUB S” and the franchise tax/minimum tax inserted. Lines 14 and 16
will be zero since the shareholders will prorate the credits and/or recapture.

(LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY INSTRUCTIONS) (i) If the LLC is to be treated as a cor-
poration per § 7-16-67 it shall pay a tax the same as a “C” corporation. (ii) If the LLC is to be
treated as a partnership per § 7-16-67 it shall pay a minimum tax as defined under § 44-11-
2(e). (iii) If a nonentity it shall pay a minimum tax as defined under § 44-11-2(e).

Line 2a. For years ending 4/15/92 and thereafter a net operating loss deduction shall be
allowed which shall be the same as the net operating loss deduction allowed under § 172 of
the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, except that (1) any net operating loss included in deter-
mining such deduction shall be adjusted to reflect the inclusions and exclusions from entire
net income required by paragraph (a) of §44-11-11 and §44-11-11.1, (2) such deduction
shall not include any net operating loss sustained during any taxable year in which the tax-
payer was not subject to the tax imposed by this chapter, (3) such deduction shall not exceed
the deduction for the taxable year allowable under § 172 of the Internal Revenue Code of
1954, provided however, such deductions for a taxable year may not be carried back to any
other taxable year for Rhode Island purposes but shall only be allowable on a carry forward
basis for the five (5) succeeding taxable years.

Line 2b. Enter the amount from Line 29b U.S. Form 1120 Page 1, or Line 25b, U.S. Form
1120-A, Page 1.

Line 4a. Enter the gross amount of interest income received or accrued with respect to all
obligations of any state, territory or possession of the United States or any political subdivi-
sion of the foregoing, or the District of Columbia other than Rhode Island or its political sub-
divisions not included on Lines 5 and 10 of U.S. Form 1120 or 1120-A.

Line 4b. Enter the Rhode Island income, and franchise taxes paid or accrued which are
deducted on the federal return on Lines 2 or 17 for the taxable year. (Attach Schedule)

Line 7. Schedule F--Allocation Factor

Line 1--Average Property Factor--The property factor is a fraction, the numerator of which is
the average net book value of real and tangible personal property owned or rented and used
during the taxable year in Rhode Island, and the denominator of which is the property owned
or rented and used everywhere during the taxable year.

Real and tangible personal property owned is valued at book value. Real and tangible per-
sonal property rented is valued at eight (8) times the annual net rental rate. The annual net
rental rate shall be reduced (but not to less than zero) by the annual rental rate received from
subrentals.

“Tangible personal property” means such property as machinery, tools, implements,
goods, wares, and merchandise. It does not include cash, shares of stock, bonds, notes,
credits, or evidences of an interest in property and evidences of debt.

Line 2-Receipts Factor--(Line 2a) 100% allocation to Rhode Island of the gross receipts from
sales of tangible personal property sold in the regular course of business where Rhode Island
(or any other state or place) is the place of origin and Rhode Island is the destination. Sales of
tangible personal property are in Rhode Island if the property is delivered or shipped to a pur-
chaser within this state regardless of the free on board (F.0.B.) point or other conditions of the
sale.

(Line 2a) Gross income from services is attributed to Rhode Island if the services are per-
formed in Rhode Island.

(Line 2d) Gross rental income from the leasing or renting of real and tangible personal prop-
erty.
(Line 2f) Net income from the sale of real property, tangible personal property, or other cap-
ital assets not held by the taxpayer for sale to customers in the regular course of business.

(Line 2g) Net income from the sale or disposition of securities or financial obligations. Do
g_o_t include related dividends or interest. Dividends and interest are reported on Line 2(b) and

(c).
(Line 2h) Gross income from all other receipts includes income from all other sources (not
listed above) and includes (but is not limited to) receipts from patents, royalties, copyrights,
commissions, dividends and interest. Gross income from royalties is attributable to Rhode
Island to the extent that the patent or copyright is used in this state by the person paying

royalties to the taxpayer. A patent is used in Rhode Island to the extent that it is employed in
fabrication, manufacturing, production or other processing in Rhode Island or to the extent
that a patented product is produced in Rhode Island. A copyright is used in Rhode Island to
the extent that printing or other publication originates in Rhode Island. Accordingly, all such
gross income should be included in Schedule F,'Line 2(h), Column A. For corporations orga-
nized under Rhode Island laws, all gross income from interest and dividends must be shown
on Schedule F, Lines 2(b&c), Column A.

Line 3--Salaries and Wage Factor--The payroll factor is a fraction, the numerator of which
is the total amount paid or incurred in Rhode Island during the taxable year for compensation
and the denominator of which is the total compensation paid or incurred everywhere during
the taxable year.

Schedule F, Line 3, Column A represents that part of the total wages, salaries and other
compensation to dfficers and employees paid or incurred by the taxpayer during the taxable
year which is assiZnable to offices, agencies, or places of business within the State of Rhode
Island, or which is attributable to services performed in connection with the taxpayer’s activ-
ities or transactions within this state during the taxable year.

Line 5--Allocation Factor--If dollar amounts for property, receipts and salaries exist in
Column B, the total of the three ratios on Line 4 should be divided by 3. If one factor is nonex-
istent in Column B, then the total of the two ratios, on Line 4 must be divided by 2. If only
one factor exists in Column B, then the ratio on Line 4 should be carried to Line 5.

Line 9. See instructions on reverse side of Elective Deduction for Research and Development
Facilities form (Form RI-1120RD).

Line 10a. Every taxpayer, at his election, shall be entitled to a deduction with respect to the
amortization of the adjusted basis of any treatment facility, as defined in section 44-11-
11.1(A) or any hazardous waste recycling, refuse, or treatment facilities as defined in section
44-11-11.2 based on a period of sixty (60) months.

Line 10b. The General Laws provide for a deduction for purposes of computing net income
in accordance with Chapter 44-11, for investments in certified venture capital partnerships.
Taxpayers claiming this deduction for investments in certified venture capital partnerships
must provide copies of certification from the Department of Economic Development of the
Venture Capital Partnership.

Line 14. See instructions on applicable credit forms.

Line 15. In the case of a domestic corporation or a foreign corporation qualified to do busi-
ness in this state, if the actual franchise tax on its authorized capital (Chapter 44-12) exceeds
the amount paid with the filing of the return, the Tax Administrator shall mail a notice to the
taxpayer of any additional tax due. Franchise tax is calculated at $2.50 per $10,000.00 of
authorized capital.

Line 16. Where the property on which an investment tax credit has been allowed is disposed
of or ceases to be in qualified use before the end of its useful life or twelve years, a recapture
is required). The formula to be used to compute the recapture is: The tax credit taken on prop-
erty ceasing to qualify times a fraction the numerator of which is the useful life property in
months minus the qualified use in months and the denominator of which is the useful life of
property in months. If property is disposed of in the initial taxable year, see the specific
instructions on Form RI-3468.

Line 18. Enter the total estimated tax payments made with respect to the taxable year, if any,
including any credit allowed from the preceding taxable year.

Line 19. Enter the amount of all other tentative tax payments made with respect to the tax-
able year.

Line 22. Enter on this line the total of (a), (b) and (c):

(a) Interest on the balance due (Line 17 less Line 20) at the rate of 12% per annum. Interest
shall accrue from the prescribed date for filing the return (the fifteenth day of the third month
following the close of the taxable year); and if applicable,

(b) Penalty for failure to file return on time at the rate of five percent (5%) per month not to
exceed twenty-five percent (25%) as enumerated in the general instruction; and if applicable,

Penalty for failure to pay the tax on time at the rate of five tenths of one percent (0.5%)
per month not to exceed twenty-five percent (25%) as enumerated in the general instructions;
and if applicable,

(c) Interest for underpayment of estimated taxes at the rate of 12% per annum, as enumer-
ated in the general instructions. See chart on reverse side of Form RI-2220.

Line 23. This amount is due and payable with the filing of the return.

Line 25. In the case of an overpayment on Line 24, indicate on this line the amount of the
overpayment that is to be credited against the following year’s estimated tax. All or any por-
tion of such overpayment may be credited against the estimated tax. The amount on this line
may be adjusted by the Tax Administrator.

Line 26. Enter amount of overpayment to be refunded.



