
vices for implementation, 
maintenance, and support. 
The Division of Taxation, 

part of the Rhode 
Island Department of 
Revenue, adminis-
ters more than 50 
different types of 
state taxes and fees, 
and collects about 
$2.6 billion a year - 
money that helps pay 
for vital public ser-
vices. 
 

  The agency’s new 
computer system 
will provide a full 
suite of processing 
and administrative 

functionality for the taxes 
and fees that the agency 
oversees.  
 

(Please turn to page 8) 

T he Rhode Island 
Division of Taxa-
tion has begun the 

multi-year imple-
mentation of its new 
computer system, 
known as an inte-
grated tax system.  
 

  The Division of 
Taxation formally 
launched the project 
on May 1, 2013, as 
scheduled, and has 
since named the 
new system and 
developed a logo 
(shown at right). 
 

  The name was cho-
sen through an online sur-
vey of Division of Taxation 
employees. It is STAARS – 
State Tax Administration 
and Revenue System. A 

budget bill approved in 
2012 by the General As-
sembly and signed into law 

by Governor Lincoln D. 
Chafee authorized the 
agency to acquire the sys-
tem, along with software, 
hardware, and related ser-

TAX DIVISION LAUNCHES COMPUTER SYSTEM 

STATE TAX CHANGES SIGNED INTO LAW 

RHODE ISLAND DIVISION OF TAXATION 

JULY/AUGUST/SEPTEMBER 2013 A NEWSLETTER FOR TAXPAYERS AND PREPARERS 

RHODE ISLAND TAX NEWS 

HIGHLIGHTS OF 
TAX LAW CHANGES 
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Inside: 

T he creation of a 
statewide arts dis-
trict.  

  A temporary sales tax ex-
emption for wine and spirits 
sold at liquor stores. 

  A Rhode Island estate tax 
break for many farmers. 

  A reopening of the state’s 

historic tax credit program. 

  These are among the tax 
changes that were approved 
by the General Assembly 
and became law this year. 

  The changes have far-
reaching effects on individu-
als and businesses - and take 
effect at different times. 

  This issue of Rhode Island 
Tax News provides a sum-
mary of many of the tax-
related measures that were 
enacted this year. Each sec-
tion in the summary is fol-
lowed by a House or Senate 
bill number. 

  (Please turn to page 2) 

 



 

Statewide arts district 

  The entire state of Rhode 
Island will soon be treated as 
an arts district for purposes of 

the sales and 
use tax. 

  As a result, 
the sale of 
original and 
creative works 
created by – 
and sold by – 
writers, com-

posers, and artists residing in 
and conducting a business 
within the state of Rhode Is-
land will be exempt from the 
state’s 7 percent sales and use 
tax.  

  The exemption will also ap-
ply to sales by any other gal-
lery located in the state of 
Rhode Island. 

  Under former law, the ex-
emption generally applied only 
to sales by writers, composers, 
and artists residing in and con-
ducting a business in desig-
nated areas in certain munici-
palities in the state, including 
Providence, Pawtucket, New-
port, Warwick, Woonsocket, 
and Westerly.  

  The statewide arts district 
provisions take effect Decem-
ber 1, 2013. 

- H 5127Aaa 

 

Liquor store exemption 

  For a 16-month period – 
from December 1, 2013, 
through March 31, 2015 -- 
Rhode Island’s sales and use 
tax will not apply to wine and 
spirits sold at package stores 

and liquor stores -- “Class A” 
licensees under Rhode Island 
General Laws (RIGL) Title 3. 
Also during that period, no 
alcoholic beverages sold at 
retail will be subject to the 
state’s minimum markup. But 
beer and other malt beverages 
will continue to be subject to 
the sales and use tax. 

- H 5127Aaa 

 

Estate tax on farmland 

  For purposes of calculating 
Rhode Island’s estate tax, 
farmland shall now be ap-
praised at its use value, not at 
its full and fair cash value (fair 
market value). In many cases, 
use value is less than fair mar-
ket value.  

  Other provisions involving 
the Rhode Island estate tax 
remain in place. 

- H 5127Aaa 

 

Same-sex marriage 

  The new law, which takes 
effect August 1, 2013, allows 
any person to marry any other 

eligible 
person, 
regardless of 
gender. 
Thus, same-
sex couples 
who marry 
under 

Rhode Island law will be able 
to file joint Rhode Island per-
sonal income tax returns, be-
ginning in early 2014 for tax 
year 2013. 

  The new law allows couples 
that have entered into civil 

unions in Rhode Island since 
civil unions were established in 
2011 to convert those unions 
into marriages. The new law 
also generally recognizes legal 
unions entered into in another 
state or jurisdiction. 

- H 5015B; S 38A 

 

Historic tax credits 

  The new law essentially re-
opens the state’s historic tax 
credit program, with certain 

limits, to en-
courage redevel-
opment and re-
use of historic 
buildings.  

  The “old” pro-
gram has gener-
ally been closed 

since 2008. Certain projects 
were essentially grandfathered 
and continue. However, some 
other projects were 
“abandoned” – leaving about 
$34.5 million in credits avail-
able but unclaimed as of May 
15, 2013. It is those unused 
credits that will be available to 
qualified applicants. 

  The enabling legislation es-
tablishes a new program – 
under a separate chapter of 
state law which uses the title 
“historic preservation tax cred-
its” and which contains some 
provisions and limitations that 
were not present under the 
old program.  

  In summary, the new pro-
gram generally provides a 
Rhode Island tax credit of 20 
percent of qualified rehabilita-
tion expenditures (25 percent 
in certain circumstances). The 
maximum project credit is $5 
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million. No building to be 
completed in phases or in 
multiple projects may exceed 
the maximum project credit 
of $5 million for all phases or 
projects involved in the reha-
bilitation of the building. 

  - H 5127Aaa 

 

Section 179 expensing 

  Rhode Island law will con-
form to federal law with re-
spect to the Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC) § 179 deduction 
– better known as the Section 
179 deduction. 

  Thus, a taxpayer will gener-
ally be able to follow federal 
law when electing to treat the 
cost of any Section 179 prop-
erty as a current-year ex-
pense. Under the new law, 
any cost so treated shall be 
allowed as a deduction for the 
taxable year in which the Sec-
tion 179 property is placed in 

service.  

  The 
ex-
pense 
deduc-
tion 
may be 
applied 

for purposes of the corporate 
income tax, tax on banks, and 
personal income tax. The new 
Rhode Island law takes effect 
on January 1, 2014, and ap-
plies to all qualified assets 
placed in service on or after 
January 1, 2014. 

- H 5127Aaa 

 

(Please turn to page 3) 

 



 

‘Production deduction’ 

  Starting January 1, 2014, 
corporations will no longer be 
able to obtain a Rhode Island 
tax benefit for the federal do-
mestic production activities 
deduction (also known as the 
“production deduction” or 
“DPAD” under IRC § 199). 

  Thus, corporations will have 
to add the amount of the fed-
eral production deduction 
back into their taxable income 
for Rhode Island purposes. 

- H 5127Aaa 

 

Paid preparer penalties 

  The new law establishes spe-
cific penalties – criminal and 
civil – for paid preparers who 
prepare Rhode Island returns 

with the 
intent to 
wrongfully 
evade or 
reduce a 
tax obliga-

tion. 

  For example: 

 Paid preparers who fail to be 
diligent in determining eligi-
bility for, or the amount of, 
Rhode Island’s earned income 
credit shall be fined $500 for 
each such return or claim. 

 Paid preparers who fail to be 
diligent in determining eligi-
bility for, or the amount of, 
Rhode Island’s statewide prop-
erty tax relief credit (Form RI-
1040H) shall be fined $500 for 
each such return. 

 Paid preparers who willfully 
prepare a return with the in-
tent to wrongfully obtain a 

statewide property tax relief 
credit (RI-1040H), or with the 
intent to evade or reduce a tax 
obligation, shall be liable for a 
penalty of $1,000, or of $500 
per return so filed, whichever 
amount is greater. 

  The new law generally says 
that any paid preparer who has 
previously been assessed a tax 
return preparer civil penalty 
by the Tax Administrator and 
who is found by a court to 
have thereafter willfully pre-
pared a false tax return or 
claim for refund with the in-
tent to wrongfully obtain a 
statewide property tax relief 
credit (RI-1040H) or with the 
intent to wrongfully evade or 
reduce a tax obligation shall be 
guilty of a felony and, on con-
viction, subject to imprison-
ment for up to five years, a 
fine of up to $50,000, or both. 

- H 5127Aaa 

 

Limited partnerships 

  Under the new law, the 
Rhode Island Secretary of State 
cannot issue a certificate of 
cancellation involving a limited 

partnership 
(LP) until 
all out-
standing 
taxes and 
fees are paid 

to the Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation. 

  The new law also says that a 
foreign LP – in other words, 
an LP formed under an agree-
ment governed by the laws of 
another jurisdiction (such as 
another state) – may file a 
certificate of cancellation of 

registration with the Rhode 
Island Secretary of State only 
after paying all fees and taxes 
due to the Rhode Island Divi-
sion of Taxation. Persons or 
entities typically can obtain 
evidence of their tax standing 
by applying for a letter of good 
standing with the Division of 
Taxation and paying the re-
quired $50 fee. 

-- S 668; H 5729 

 

Alcoholic beverages excise  

  Excise taxes on a number of 
categories of alcoholic bever-
ages temporarily increase – 
effective July 1, 2013, through 
March 31, 2015. Among the 
categories affected by the in-

crease are 
malt bev-
erages 
(including 
beer), a 
number of 
still wines, 
and spirits 
such as 
whiskey, 

gin, rum, and brandy contain-
ing alcohol measuring more 
than 30 proof. The excise tax 
applies to manufacturers; 
wholesalers/distributors pay a 
fee equal to the tax. 

- H 5127Aaa 

 

Liquor licensee filing 

  Under the old law, each li-
censee authorized to sell in-
toxicating beverages at whole-
sale or retail in Rhode Island 
was required to file an annual 
report, on or before February 
1, with the Division of Taxa-
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tion listing total sales of alco-
holic beverages, as well as 
sales tax and excise tax collec-
tions on those sales for the 
immediately preceding calen-
dar year.  

  Under the new law, only 
Class A licensees – essentially 
liquor stores and package 
stores – must provide such 
annual reports.  

  The Division of Taxation 
will compile the information 
for an annual report due the 
House and Senate Finance 
Committee chairs on or be-
fore May 1.  

  Also, other licensees will 
continue to be subject to the 
usual sales and use tax report-
ing requirements. 

- H 5127Aaa 

 

Scholarship credit 

  The aggregate amount of tax 
credits that the Division of 
Taxation may approve under 
the Credit for Contributions 
to Scholarship Organizations 
program, formerly $1 mil-

lion, increases to 
$1.5 million for 
fiscal year 2014 
and later fiscal 
years. 

  The program 
generally is in-
tended to pro-

vide tax credits to business 
entities that make contribu-
tions to certain scholarship 
organizations. 

(Please turn to page 4) 

   

 



  Although the contribution 
must be made by a business 
entity, the credit can be used 
against a variety of taxes, in-
cluding the business corpora-
tion tax, the public service 
corporation tax, the tax on 
banks, the bank deposits tax, 
the tax on insurance compa-
nies, and the personal income 
tax. (Owners, shareholders, 
and partners of pass-through 
entities generally can claim 
their share of the credit on 
their Rhode Island personal 
income tax returns.)  

  The scholarships are generally 
for students at nonpublic ele-
mentary or secondary schools 
in Rhode Island. 

- H 5127Aaa 

 

Information sharing 

  The new law allows the 
Rhode Island Division of Taxa-
tion to disclose to the Rhode 
Island Secretary of State the 

name, state 
of incorpo-
ration, 
address,  
and other 
contact 
information 

for any corporation that files a 
tax return with Rhode Island -
- provided that the disclosure 
does not include any other 
information, including any 
financial information of the 
corporation.  

    -- S 596; H 5730 

 

Outside collection 

  To help in the collection of 
delinquent taxes, the Tax Ad-
ministrator now has the au-

thority to hire collection agen-
cies – whether licensed under 
Rhode Island law or the laws 
of another state or the District 
of Columbia.  

  The Tax Administrator 
would use such outside collec-
tion agencies to collect – from 

sources out-
side the state 
– taxes, in-
terest, and 
penalties 
owed to 
Rhode Island. 
The agencies 

would pursue nonresident 
individuals and businesses. 
About 11,554 nonresidents 
owe Rhode Island about $28.9 
million. 

- H 5127Aaa 

 

Enforcement  

  The Division of Taxation 
plans to beef up enforcement 
of state tax laws by expanding 
and centralizing enforcement 
activities under a new Special 
Investigations Unit (SIU). 

  The SIU will serve as the 
Division of Taxation’s primary 
criminal tax enforcement unit. 
It will report directly to the 
Tax Administrator, and will 
have nine positions overall, 
including seven existing posi-
tions and two new positions: a 
chief revenue agent and a reve-
nue agent. 

  The unit’s function will in-
clude reviewing alleged viola-
tions of tax law, investigating 
violations, and recommending 
criminal prosecutions.  

  The SIU will also focus on 
trust fund violations and po-
tential refund fraud – such as 

earned income credit fraud, 
property tax relief credit 
fraud, and identity fraud.   

- H 5127Aaa 

 

Remote seller language 

  The new law makes clear that 
if the federal government en-
acts a law allowing states to 
require remote sellers to col-
lect and remit the state’s sales 
and use tax (such as the Mar-
ketplace Fairness Act), Rhode 
Island will take advantage of 
the opportunity by requiring 
remote sellers to pay, collect, 
and remit Rhode Island sales 
and use tax.  

  The new law also makes it 
clear that if the federal govern-
ment enacts a law such as the 
Marketplace Fairness Act, the 
following changes would take 
place on the date that the state 
requires remote sellers to col-
lect and remit sales and use 
taxes: 

 Rhode Island’s 7 percent 
sales and use tax rate would 
drop to 6.5 percent; 

 Rhode Island’s 1 percent 
local meals and beverage tax 
would increase to 1.5 percent; 
and 

 retail sales of clothing and 
footwear would be fully ex-

empt from 
sales and use 
tax. (Under 
current law, 
the 7 per-
cent sales 
and use tax 
applies to 

articles of clothing, including 
footwear, with a sales price of 
more than $250 per item – 
with only the incremental 
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amount above the $250 
threshold subject to the tax.) 

- H 5127Aaa 

 

Job assessment 

  In 2011, the state’s job de-
velopment assessment, which 
is paid by employers, in-
creased to fifty-one hun-
dredths of one percent 
(0.51%) of an employer’s 
taxable payroll, from 0.21 
percent. The difference – of 
0.3 percentage point – went 
to pay the interest on federal 
loans and to help repay bor-

rowings 
from the 
federal 
govern-
ment. 
(Proceeds 
of the 
loans had 

been used to cover benefit 
payments to the unem-
ployed.)  

  The new law sunsets that 0.3 
percentage point difference in 
tax year 2015, lowering the 
job development assessment 
to its pre-2011 level of 0.21 
percent, if the loans from the 
federal government are paid 
off in full.  

- H 5127Aaa 

 

Hazardous substances fee 

  Employers no longer must 
pay a $42 annual assessment 
to the state Department of 
Labor and Training for aiding 
in the implementation of the 
state’s Hazardous Substances 
Right-to-Know Act.  

(Please turn to page 5)   



  Employers are still subject to 
the reporting and other provi-
sions of the law. 

- H 5127Aaa 

 

Hospital licensing fee 

  For all hospitals except those 
located in Washington 
County, Rhode Island, the 
hospital licensing fee rate will 
be 5.246 percent of the net 
patient services revenue based 
on the hospital’s first fiscal 

year ending on 
or after January 
1, 2012. (The 
rate was for-
merly 5.35 
percent.)  

  For hospitals located in 
Washington County, Rhode 
Island, the rate is discounted 
by 37 percent, to 3.305 per-
cent – subject to approval by 
the Secretary of the U.S. De-
partment of Health and Hu-
man Services. 

- H 5127Aaa 

 

Newport Grand 

  The rate of net terminal in-
come payable to slot parlor 
Newport Grand LLC will in-
crease by 2.25 percentage 
points effective July 1, 2013, 
through June 30, 2015. At the 
same time, the state’s share 
will drop by 2.25 percentage 
points during that period. 
(Under RIGL § 42-61.2-1, 
“net terminal income” means 
currency placed into a video 
lottery terminal, less credits 
redeemed for cash by players.)  

  As of June 30, 2013, the 
share for Newport Grand 
equals 27.80 percent. Effective 

July 1, 2013, through June 30, 
2015, it will be 30.05 percent. 
As of July 1, 2015, it is sched-
uled to drop back to 27.80 per-
cent. 

  As of June 
30, 2013, the 
state’s share 
equals 61.80 
percent. 
Effective July 
1, 2013, 

through June 30, 2015, it will 
be 59.55 percent. As of July 1, 
2015, it is to return to 61.80 
percent. 

- H 5127Aaa 

 

Advisory board 

  A Council of Economic Advi-
sors will collect data and infor-
mation on the state’s economy, 
and advise on economic policy 
for the governor, Executive 
Office of Commerce, and the 
state.  

  It also will prepare economic 
policy analysis on specific issues 
such as tax credits, tax expendi-
tures, and other related mat-
ters. 

-- S 730B; H 6070B 

 

TDI program 

  Rhode Island’s temporary 
disability insurance (TDI) pro-

gram, which 
typically pays 
benefits to 
workers who 
are unem-
ployed due to 
illness or 
injury unre-

lated to work, will be broad-
ened to provide wage replace-
ment benefits of up to four 

weeks in a benefit year to 
workers who take time off to 
care for a seriously ill child, 
spouse, domestic partner, 
parent, parent-in-law, or 
grandparent, or to bond with a 
new child – whether through 
birth, adoption or foster care. 
The “temporary caregiver 
benefits” are to be available on 
or after January 1, 2014.  

  TDI is paid for by a tax which 
applies to most workers. The 
program’s expansion could 
raise the TDI tax rate by 0.1 
percentage point for calendar 
year 2015. (The TDI tax rate 
for 2013 is 1.2 percent of the 
first $61,400 of a worker’s 
wages, for a maximum tax of 
$736.80.) 

 -- S 231B; H 5889Aaa 

 

Accountability 

  The new law sets a roadmap 
for evaluating a number of tax 
incentives that are aimed at 

encouraging 
economic 
develop-
ment. For 
example, 
the new law 
calls for a 
cost-benefit 

analysis of certain tax credit/
incentive programs -- and the 
analysis must be included in 
the state’s unified economic 
development report starting 
January 1, 2014.  

  -- S 734B; H 6066B 

 

Sales tax study 

A joint legislative resolution 
calls for the creation of a spe-
cial commission to make a 
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comprehensive study of all 
aspects of the state’s sales and 
use tax -- including possible 
repeal of the tax. A report to 
the General Assembly is due 
on or before February 6, 
2014. 

-- S 246A; H 5365B 

 

Commerce 

  The Rhode Island Commerce 
Corporation (RICC) will be 

established to 
replace the 
Rhode Island 
Economic 
Development 
Corporation. 
Its board will 
be responsible 

for establishing accountability 
standards, reporting standards, 
and outcome measures for 
each of its programs -- includ-
ing the use of tax credits. 

-- S 718B; H 6071A 

 
  

     Editor’s Note: S 831A 
calls for a commission to study 
whether taxpayers in certain 
circumstances should be al-
lowed to reduce their income, 
for Rhode Island tax purposes, 
by the amount of their Rhode 
Island personal income tax 
refund. (At issue are taxpayers 
who itemize their deductions 
for federal income tax pur-
poses.) The commission would 
report findings and results to 
the General Assembly on or 
before February 5, 2014. S 
831A was approved by the 
House and Senate, but at press 
time had not been transmitted 
to Governor Chafee. Click 
here to check a bill’s status. 

http://status.rilin.state.ri.us/�
http://status.rilin.state.ri.us/�
http://status.rilin.state.ri.us/�
http://status.rilin.state.ri.us/�
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I t had the basic formula 
typically used by those 
involved in the illegal 

smuggling and sale 
of contraband 
cigarettes: 

1.) Buy cigarettes 
from a mid-
Atlantic state such 
as Virginia, where 
the state cigarette 
tax is low. 

2.) Transport the 
cigarettes to Rhode Island, 
where the state tax is higher. 

3.) Sell the cigarettes in 
Rhode Island at full price – 
without paying the Rhode 
Island cigarette tax – and 
make a tidy profit. 

  But this time around there 
was a twist. 

  In some previous cases, 
smugglers simply drove 
down to Virginia, loaded up 
on cigarettes, and drove 
back to Rhode Island to 
make illegal sales. But that 
approach raised eyebrows – 
consumers buying cigarettes 
in huge quantities. 

  So this time, the smugglers 
opened their own businesses 
in Virginia in an attempt to 
make it appear that they were 
running convenience stores, 
investigators allege.  

  The smugglers opened two 
such sites in King George, 
Va., about a block from the 
Potomac River, and a third 
location in Stafford, Va., just 
down Route 95 from U.S. 
Marine Corps Base, Quantico, 
according to a federal grand 
jury indictment. 

  The businesses applied for 
various state permits. They 
also applied to big-box retail 
stores for corporate member-

ships. That way, 
they reckoned, a 
convenience store 
purchasing large 
quantities of ciga-
rettes would not 
spark suspicion. 

  The smugglers 
never really opened 
the stores; instead, 

they smuggled the contraband 
cigarettes to Rhode Island, 
using various vehicles – includ-
ing a Ford Triton truck with 
false walls, investigators say. 

  Game over 

  The smugglers’ game ended 
on May 8, 2013. That’s when 
more than a dozen teams of 
federal and state law enforce-
ment agents and officers – 
executing federal arrest and 
search warrants – conducted a 
sweep, arresting seven people 
and searching 10 locations 
where a significant quantity of 
contraband cigarettes, cash, 
vehicles, and other items were 
seized. 

  Among those charged were 
several people that the Rhode 
Island Division of Taxation had 
previously focused on for sell-

ing cigarettes without the 
proper tax stamps. The Divi-
sion of Taxation assisted in the 
case that led to the May 8, 
2013, sweep, inves-
tigators said. 

  Details of the case 
were disclosed in a 
federal grand jury 
indictment that was 
unsealed May 8, 
2013, and in a U.S. 
Department of Jus-
tice news release 
issued the same day. 

‘Criminal enterprise’ 

  The sweep shut down “a wide-
ranging, complex interstate 
criminal enterprise,” U.S. At-
torney Peter F. Neronha said in 
a statement. “Members of this 
enterprise, often under the 
cloak of purportedly legitimate 
businesses, used any means 
possible to steal more than a 
million dollars from Rhode 
Island taxpayers.” 

  Neronha added, “I want to 
thank the many outstanding 
Rhode Island State Police de-
tectives and the federal agents 
who tirelessly investigated this 
matter for many, many months. 
Our work to defeat this type of 
fraud continues on many fronts. 
There is certainly more to 
come.”  

  Colonel Steven G. O’Don-
nell, Superintendent of the 
Rhode Island State Police, 
said, “The Rhode Island State 

Police will continue 
to target any organ-
ized criminal group 
that profits by taking 
advantage of a system 
set up to help those 
who truly need it. I 
commend all law 
enforcement officers, 
prosecutors and lin-
guists who partici-

pated in this long-
term investigation.” 

  In Virginia, the cigarette tax 
is 35 cents a pack. In Rhode 
Island, it’s $3.50 a pack. The 
smugglers pocketed the differ-
ence when they illegally sold 
the Virginia cigarettes in 
Rhode Island -- at or near the 
full Rhode Island retail price. 
Investigators allege that Rhode 
Island lost about $1.05 million 
in state tax revenue as a result. 

   30,000 cartons 

  Law enforcement officials 
allege that between July 2011 
and May 2013, more than 
30,000 cartons of cigarettes 
were purchased in Virginia and 
shipped to Rhode Island in a 
truck bearing Rhode Island 
War Veteran plates – and, on 
numerous occasions, that vehi-
cle was driven by one of the 
alleged smugglers who was in 
the U.S. Army Reserves and 
wore his U.S. Army uniform 
while smuggling in an effort to 
gain favor and avoid law en-
forcement detection. 

(Please see bottom of page 7 for 
more about the investigation and 

indictment.) 

U.S. Atty. Neronha Colonel O’Donnell 
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NEW CHIEF LEGAL OFFICER APPOINTED 

  The cigarette smuggling 
case detailed in a federal 
indictment unsealed May 8, 
2013, was investigated by 
the Rhode Island State Po-
lice, Federal Bureau of In-
vestigation, Internal Reve-
nue Service Criminal Inves-
tigations, Social Security 
Administration Office of 
Inspector General – Office 
of Investigations, Home-
land Security Investiga-
tions, and the U. S. Depart-

ment of Agriculture Office 
of Inspector General. 

  The federal grand jury in-
dictment in the cigarette 
smuggling case was an-
nounced on May 8, 2013, 
by Peter F. Neronha, United 
States Attorney for the Dis-
trict of Rhode Island, and 
Colonel Steven G. O’Don-
nell, Superintendent of the 
Rhode Island State Police, 
and others. Neronha said in 

a statement, “I want to 
thank the many outstanding 
Rhode Island State Police 
Detectives and the federal 
agents who tirelessly inves-
tigated this matter for 
many, many months. Our 
work to defeat this type of 
fraud continues on many 
fronts. There is certainly 
more to come.” Neronha 
also acknowledged and 
thanked the Virginia State 
Police, the Virginia Depart-

ment of Attorney General, 
the Virginia Division of Taxa-
tion, the Rhode Island De-
partment of Attorney Gen-
eral, the Rhode Island Divi-
sion of Taxation – Excise Tax 
Compliance Unit, and the 
Cranston and Providence 
Police Departments for their 
assistance in the investigation. 
The case is being prosecuted 
by Assistant U.S. Attorney 
William J. Ferland. 

B ernard J. Lemos has 
been promoted to 
the rank of chief 

legal officer in the Rhode 
Island Division of Taxation. 
He had formerly served as 
deputy chief of legal ser-
vices. 

  “This is a well-deserved 
recognition of Bernard’s 
career as a passionate and 
hard-working barrister 
serving the taxpayers of 
Rhode Island,” said Rhode 
Island Tax Administrator 
David M. Sullivan.  

  “Bernard has represented 
us in some of our most 
complex and challenging 
cases, and he has always 
applied himself with perse-
verance and grace,” Sullivan 
said. “We are fortunate to 
have his razor-sharp mind 
and his wit on our side.” 

  Born in Providence and 
raised in Cumberland, 
Lemos graduated in 1972 
from Northeastern Univer-
sity, Boston, with a bache-

lor of arts degree in biology. 
For the next seven years, he 
worked at various medical 
institutions in the Boston 
area as a clinical chemist. 

  Changing tack, he enrolled 
in Suffolk University Law 
School, Boston, from which 
he graduated cum laude in 
1982 with a Juris Doctor 
(J.D.) degree. For the fol-

lowing 20 months he 
worked in various legal and 
non-legal jobs, including as 
a court-appointed defense 
counsel.  

  Lemos joined the Division 
of Taxation in April 1984 as 
legal counsel, gradually 
working his way up the 
ranks to become senior legal 
counsel in the agency. In 

2004, as part of a govern-
ment reorganization, he was 
transferred to the Depart-
ment of Administration’s 
Division of Legal Services. 
While there, Lemos for a 
time represented both the 
Division of Motor Vehicles 
and the Tax Division. 

  In 2008, he was named 
deputy chief of legal services 
for the Department of Reve-
nue and was assigned to the 
Division of Taxation. Thus, 
Lemos returned to repre-
senting the Division of Taxa-
tion exclusively. He has been 
closely involved in a variety 
of state tax cases. His cur-
rent title is Chief Legal Offi-
cer, Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation, a position that had 
been vacant for several years. 

  Lemos is a member of the 
Rhode Island Bar and Massa-
chusetts Bar and is also ad-
mitted to practice before the 
U.S. Court of Appeals and 
U.S. Supreme Court. He and 
his wife have two children 
and reside in Cumberland. 

Chief Legal Officer 
Bernard J. Lemos, at work at his desk (above), has been promoted to 

the rank of chief legal officer. 
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TAX DIVISION LAUNCHES COMPUTER SYSTEM (CONTINUED FROM PAGE 1) 

THIRD-QUARTER ESTIMATED PAYMENTS DUE SEPTEMBER 16 

  The next quarterly esti-
mated payment of Rhode 
Island personal income tax 
must be made on or before 
September 16, 2013. 

  Third-quarter payments of 
estimated tax are normally 

due on September 15.  

A Sunday 

  But that falls on a Sunday 
this year.  

  As a result, the due date for 
third-quarter payments this 
year will fall on the following 

day -- which is Monday, Sep-
tember 16. 

  If you have questions, call 
the Personal Income Tax 
section at (401) 574-8829 
(choose option 3) from 8:30 
a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business 
days. 

RHODE ISLAND PREPARES FOR E-FILING FORM RI-1041 
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  The Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation expects to begin 
accepting electronically filed 
fiduciary income tax returns 
on Form RI-1041 starting in 
January 2014. 

  (Fiduciary income tax re-
turns generally involve es-
tates and trusts.) 

  The Internal Revenue Ser-
vice recently identified 18 
jurisdictions – including 
Rhode Island – that have 
been cleared to participate in 
the joint fed/state e-filing 

program for fiduciary income 
tax returns for processing 
year 2014. 

  Rhode Island hopes to offer 
e-filing of fiduciary income 
tax returns on Form RI-1041 
in January, for tax year 2013. 

  As a result, practitioners 
would be able to e-file their 
federal and Rhode Island 
fiduciary income tax returns. 

  Due to system limitations, 
the Division of Taxation 
would be able to accept 2013 

e-filings only until late No-
vember 2014. Returns filed 
after that, for tax year 2013, 
would have to be paper 
filed.  

  But if a fiscal year filer e-
files before late November 

  In addition, taxpayers and 
tax practitioners will gain 
secure online access to an 
array of services on the 
agency’s website, said Rhode 
Island Tax Administrator 
David M. Sullivan. 
 

  Consolidation 
 

  The Tax Division needs the 
new system so it can consoli-
date tax information which is 
now dispersed across a num-
ber of different platforms -- 
some antiquated and ill-suited 

for the agency’s requirements.  
 
  The new system is from 
Revenue Solutions 
Inc. (RSI), of 
Pembroke, Mass., 
which was the 
successful bidder. 
The new system 
will help make 
processing more 
effective and effi-
cient -- thereby 
aiding taxpayers and tax prac-
titioners alike. 

  The first phase of the pro-
ject, which began in May 
2013 and will extend through 

half of calendar 
year 2014, in-
volves the migra-
tion of 36 tax 
types to a single 
new platform, 
including the 
hospital license 
fee, insurance 
tax, and bank-

related taxes. The tax types 
are currently spread across a 

variety of systems.  
  The second phase, planned 
for mid-2014 through late 
2015, involves the migra-
tion of the personal income 
tax system. 
 
  The third phase, from late 
2015 through late 2016, is 
to include the migration of 
the corporate income tax, 
sales and use tax, withhold-
ing tax, and remaining taxes 
administered by the Division 
of Taxation. 

of 2014, for tax year 2013, 
it would be accepted. Such 
limitations would be re-
solved by a new integrated 
tax system that is to be 
phased in over several years 
at the Division of Taxation. 
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Following is a summary of tax-
related cases in which final deci-
sions were made after adminis-
trative hearings. By law, deci-

sions are public information, but 
taxpayer information cannot be 

disclosed. 

Sales tax audit 

  The Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation conducted a 
sales and use tax audit of a 
taxpayer who owns a group 
of six businesses and had not 
filed sales and use tax re-
turns. 

  The Division of Taxation 
assessed sales and use tax, 
relying mainly on estimates, 
saying in part that the tax-
payer had made purchases 
but kept few if any records. 

  The taxpayer testified, in 
part, that she relied on other 
people for her recordkeep-
ing, did not intentionally fail 
to pay sales tax, and tried to 
gather as many invoices as 
she could after the audit. 

  Hearing Officer Catherine 
R. Warren determined that 
the taxpayer “did not have 
the requisite records,” and 
had “belatedly tried to gather 
the records for the purchases 
and assets.”  

  Warren on March 14 ruled 
that the Division of Taxation 
had properly made an assess-
ment covering six years, and 
had properly imposed tax, 
penalties, and interest. Tax 
Administrator David M. 

Sullivan on March 27 
adopted the hearing officer’s 
decision and recommenda-
tion. 

- Final Decision and Order 
No. 2013-01 

Cigarettes online 

  A taxpayer bought ciga-
rettes online between 2007 
and 2009 from an out-of-
state company, which 
shipped the cigarettes to her. 

  When someone buys ciga-
rettes online, the person 
must file a special form – 
Form T-205C – with the 
Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation within 24 hours of 
the purchase and pay any 
required cigarette excise tax, 
sales tax, and interest. 

  The taxpayer argued that 
she did not possess the ciga-
rettes and therefore is not 
liable for any taxes. When 
called on by the Division of 
Taxation to testify at a hear-
ing, she refused to answer 
questions; she invoked her 
constitutional rights against 
compelled self-
incrimination, citing the 
U.S. Constitution’s Fifth 
Amendment, according to 
her lawyer. 

  Citing RIGL § 44-18-1 et 
seq., § 44-19-1 et seq., § 44-
20-1 et seq., and others, 
Warren on March 22, 2013, 
determined that the Division 
properly assessed sales tax 
and cigarette tax.  

  “Cigarette purchases made 
over the internet and mailed 
to Rhode Island residents are 
still subject to the same 
Rhode Island cigarette and 
sales taxes” that would oth-
erwise apply had the pur-
chase been made at a retail 
establishment in Rhode Is-
land, Warren wrote.  

  She also determined that 
the taxpayer in this case 
owed interest on both the 
cigarette tax and sales tax 
deficiencies, plus a 10 per-
cent penalty on the sales tax 
deficiency. Sullivan on April 
22 adopted the hearing offi-
cer’s decision and recom-
mendation. 

- Final Decision and Order 
No. 2013-02 

RECENT STATE TAX CASES IN SUMMARY  
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Legal Corner: 

 

Rhode Island Tax News 
provides only summaries of some 
recent tax-case decisions, which 
are based on specific facts and 

circumstances. 
The summaries are merely infor-

mative and provide general 
information. To determine how 
state tax laws and regulations 

apply to your particular circum-
stances, please consult your tax 

professional. 

Tax Hearings 
Any taxpayer aggrieved 
by the action of the Tax 
Division in determining 
the amount of tax, sur-
charge, or penalty, may 

make written request for 
a formal hearing. 

The taxpayer is first 
afforded an opportunity 

to have a preliminary 
review. Should the mat-
ter not be resolved, it 
may then proceed to 

formal hearing under the 
terms of the state Ad-

ministrative Procedures 
Act (RIGL § 42-35-1 et 
seq) and Tax Division 

regulation AHP 97-01. 

If not satisfied with the 
outcome, the taxpayer 
may appeal to Sixth Di-

vision District Court 
(RIGL § 8-8-24 et seq). 

 ∞ JULY/AUGUST/SEPTEMBER 2013 ∞ 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2013/2013-01.pdf�
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2013/2013-01.pdf�
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2013/2013-01.pdf�
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2013/2013-01.pdf�
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2012/Excise/Cigarette/T-205C%20072012.pdf�
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2013/2013-02.pdf�
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2013/2013-02.pdf�
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2013/2013-02.pdf�
http://www.tax.ri.gov/AdministrativeDecisions/2013/2013-02.pdf�
http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE42/42-35/42-35-1.HTM�
http://www.tax.ri.gov/regulations/other/ahp97-01.php�
http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE8/8-8/8-8-24.HTM�


PAGE 10 A NEWSLETTER FOR TAXPAYERS AND PREPARERS 

JUDGE SENTENCES PROVIDENCE TAX PREPARER 
A federal judge in May sen-
tenced a local tax preparer 
to more than two years in 
prison. 

Michael Brier, 50, owner of 
Refunds Now Inc., a tax 
preparation firm based in 
Providence, was sentenced 
to 27 months in federal 
prison for violating a federal 
judge’s order permanently 
barring him from preparing 
tax returns for others, un-
derreporting more than $1.1 
million in income between 
2004 and 2009, and failing 
to pay nearly $400,000 in 
federal taxes. Details of the 
case were announced by 
U.S. Attorney Peter F. 

Neronha and William P. 
Offord, Special Agent in 
Charge of the Boston office 
of the Internal Revenue Ser-
vice -- Criminal Investiga-
tion. 

At sentencing, U.S. District 
Court Chief Judge Mary M. 
Lisi also ordered Brier to 
serve three years of super-
vised release upon comple-
tion of his prison term and to 
pay back taxes to the IRS in 
the amount of $399,424. 

In November 2010, the 
court entered a preliminary 
injunction against Brier and 
his employees after finding 
that at least 300 tax returns 
prepared by Brier and Re-

funds Now understated cus-
tomers’ tax liabilities, and 
that Brier and his employees 
fabricated tax deductions and 
credits on the returns.  

Brier and his employees pre-
pared approximately 24,000 
federal income tax returns 
between 2003 and 2007. An 
IRS examination of 350 of 
those returns determined that 
92 percent of them required 
adjustments, resulting in a 
government-estimated loss of 
more than $1.1 million in tax 
revenue. 

On March 7, 2011, Judge Lisi 
permanently barred Brier and 
his employees from preparing 
federal income tax returns for 

others. On April 26, 2011, 
IRS agents executed a 
court-authorized search at 
Refunds Now and seized 
copies of tax returns pre-
pared by Brier and several 
of his employees that were 
filed after the date of the 
permanent injunction.   

Brier pleaded guilty on Feb. 
11, 2013, to one count of 
criminal contempt and one 
count of tax evasion. At the 
time of his guilty plea, 
Brier admitted to the court 
that he underreported his 
taxable income to the IRS 
between 2004 and 2009 
totaling $1,152,679, and 
that he underpaid $399,424 
in taxes to the IRS. 

RHODE ISLAND TAX NEWS IN BRIEF 
ETAAC 

  The Internal Revenue Ser-
vice’s Electronic Tax Ad-
ministration Advisory Com-
mittee (ETAAC) in June 
issued its annual report to 
Congress. Rhode Island Tax 
Administrator David M. 
Sullivan is a member of the 
15-member committee.  

  ETAAC provides an organ-
ized public forum for discus-
sion of electronic tax ad-
ministration issues and the 
overriding goal that paper-
less filing should be the pre-
ferred and most-convenient 
method of filing tax and in-
formation returns. 

Employer tax 

  July 31 is the deadline for 
employers to file their sec-
ond wage and tax report for 

2013 and pay the tax due.  

  About 32,000 employers 
have until midnight on July 
31, 2013, to file and pay 
their state unemployment 
insurance tax (also known as 
the employment security, or 
ES, tax) and job develop-
ment fund tax, and to file 
and remit the amount of 
Rhode Island temporary dis-
ability insurance (TDI) tax 
withheld from employees’ 
wages.  

 Beverages report 

  The Division of Taxation 
on May 1, 2013, posted on 
its website a report about the 
sale and taxation of alcoholic 
beverages in Rhode Island.  

  A state law enacted in June 
2012 requires the Tax Ad-
ministrator to provide such a 

report by May 1 of each year 
to the chairs of the House and 
Senate Finance Committees. 

Refund offsets 

  The State of Rhode Island 
last year recovered $6.5 mil-
lion for taxpayers by taking 
part in the U.S. Treasury’s 
Treasury Offset Program 
(TOP). One element of the 
program involves delinquent 
income taxes. Another in-
volves delinquent child sup-
port obligations. A U.S. 
Treasury report includes 
more details. 

Filing deadline 

  Business entities that have 
received certain tax credits or 
incentives must complete and 
file a disclosure form with the 
Rhode Island Division of 

Taxation on or before Au-
gust 15, 2013. They also 
must complete and file an 
annual report on or before 
September 1, 2013.  

  Details are contained in a 
notice that the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation posted 
on its website. 

Massachusetts taxes 

  A total of 67,203 Rhode 
Island residents pay Massa-
chusetts income tax, ac-
cording to a recent posting 
by the Massachusetts De-
partment of Revenue. 

  The posting shows the 
Massachusetts personal in-
come tax paid by nonresi-
dents, by state, for tax year 
2010. 
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Q: I’m a Rhode Island resident. 
What is the difference, from a 
sales tax perspective, whether I 
buy a car in Rhode Island or in 
Massachusetts? 

A: The overall sales and use 
tax cost to you will be 7.0 
percent 
either 
way. The 
question 
is, do you 
want all 
of it to go 
to Rhode 
Island – 
to help 
pay for 
vital pub-
lic ser-
vices in 
Rhode 
Island – or do you want most 
of it to go to Massachusetts?  

Here’s a summary: 

If you buy a car in Rhode Is-
land, you’ll be charged Rhode 
Island’s 7.0 percent sales tax. 

If buy a car in Massachusetts, 
you’ll owe the Massachusetts 
tax of 6.25 percent -- and 
Rhode Island will give you 
credit for that toward the 
Rhode Island 7.0 percent tax, 
so all you will owe Rhode 
Island is 0.75 percent. 

(You may not even notice the 
tax matter because the dealer 
may handle it for you: The 
dealer in Massachusetts may 
charge you 7.0 percent tax, 
and the dealer’s “runner” -- in 
registering the car for you as a 
courtesy -- will send the 6.25 
percent to Massachusetts and 
pay the 0.75 percent to 
Rhode Island. Everything will 

take place behind the scenes. 
But if the dealer doesn’t han-
dle registration for you, 
you’ll pay the 6.25 percent to 
Massachusetts and  pay, at the 
Rhode Island Division of Mo-
tor Vehicles, the 0.75 percent 
to Rhode Island.) 

 What if 
you buy 
the vehi-
cle from a 
Massa-
chusetts 
dealer, 
but it’s 
delivered 
to you in 
Rhode 
Island – 
in other 
words, if 

you take title and possession 
of it in Rhode Island? You’ll 
owe Rhode Island the 7.0 
percent; Massachusetts gets 
nothing. You’ll pay the 7.0 
percent at the DMV. 

Q: I have a client who received 
a tax refund in his name and 
his deceased wife’s name. The 
bank will not honor the check 
because she is dead.  Should we 
send the check back with a 
cover letter and ask that it be 
reissued? 

 A: Yes. Mail the check back 
to us with a cover letter ex-
plaining the situation. That 
way, we’ll be able to reissue 
the check in the name of the 
surviving spouse. Turnaround 
time is usually two to three 
weeks. 

Send the letter to: Chief 
Revenue Agent, Personal 
Income Tax Section, Rhode 
Island Division of Taxation, 

One Capitol Hill, Providence 
RI 02908. 

Other practitioners, please 
note:  If a spouse dies before 
the return is filed, clearly 
indicate on the return which 
spouse has died. (Your soft-
ware should have a procedure 
for this.) When we receive a 
return so marked, we can 
issue the check solely in the 
name of the surviving spouse. 

At the top of page one of the 
return, next to the name of 
the deceased taxpayer, enter 
the word “deceased” and the 
date of death. For example, 
suppose that John Doe died 
on June 4, 2013, survived by 
his wife, Mary. On their 
Rhode Island personal income 
tax return for 2013, the 
names would appear this way: 

John Doe (Deceased June 4, 
2013) SSN:123-45-6789 

Mary Doe SSN: 012-34-5678 

The spouse of a decedent can 
claim the refund on a joint 
return without having to at-
tach or complete Form RI-
1310. However, Form RI-
1310 is required when a 
claimant other than a spouse 
is requesting the income tax 
refund. (Form RI-1310 is not 
needed for an assessment or a 
return with no tax due.) 

Q: It has been my understand-
ing that any LLC or S corpora-
tion is required to pay $500 tax 
even if it has a tax loss. But I 
thought I read that a 
“disregarded entity” is exempt. 
Can you clarify? 

A: A limited liability company 
(LLC) can elect to be treated 
as a corporation, partnership, 

QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ABOUT STATE TAXES 
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Practitioners’ Corner: 

 

About ‘Practitioners’ 
Corner’ 

The “Practitioners’ Cor-
ner” feature provides 

general answers to some 
of the questions that the 
Tax Division encounters 

through the normal 
course of business. 

The answers are in-
tended solely to provide 

general information. 
They do not represent 

formal guidance, and are 
not substitutes for Rhode 

Island General Laws, 
Tax Division regulations, 
or Tax Division rulings. 

or as part of the single 
member’s own tax return 
(if it has only a single owner 
or member and is therefore 
deemed to be a “disregarded 
entity,” which means the 
entity is not regarded as 
separate from the owner). 

 If the LLC is treated as a 
corporation, it is subject to 
Rhode Island’s corporate 
income tax. The tax cannot 
be less than $500 a year. 

 If the LLC is treated as a 
subchapter S corporation, it 
must pay the corporate 
minimum tax of $500 – and 
could be subject to addi-
tional tax. 

(Please turn to page 12) 
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trying to use is not listed, the 
credit is no longer allowed as a 
credit against personal income 
tax. Is this tax credit no longer 
allowed? Is the credit simply 
lost? 

 A: The personal income tax 
law was changed in 2010, 
effective for tax years begin-
ning on or after January 1, 
2011. 

It brought the top personal 
income tax rate down signifi-
cantly. It also limited the 
number of credits allowed 
against the tax. One result is 
that the Inno-
vation credit is 
no longer al-
lowed against 
the personal 
income tax. 
This is made 
clear in Rhode 
Island General 
Laws § 44-30-
2.6.  

Thus, even carry forwards of 
that credit are no longer al-
lowed against the personal 
income tax. 

Q: I’m an out-of-state tax re-
turn preparer. Will LLCs and 
single-member LLCs (both 
foreign and domestic with 
respect to Rhode Island) that 
have already filed for 2012 us-
ing the Form RI-1120S be re-
quired to file amended 2012 
forms using the Form RI-1065?   

A: No. Our Corporate Tax 
section anticipated this issue 
in advance and prepared a 
way to resolve it internally. 
Thus, provided the returns 
are complete and accurate – 
and the taxpayer paid what 
was owed on time – there 
should not be a problem. 

Some background:  

In response to a change in 
state law, we redesigned our 
Form RI-1065 for tax year 
2012. And so, new for the 
filing season that began earlier 
this year, Form RI-1065 is to 
be filed by LPs, LLPs, general 
partnerships, and many LLCs 
-- including many single-
member LLCs. 

Form RI-1120S is now re-
served chiefly for subchapter 
S corporations. 

Because the change took ef-
fect so recently, 
we anticipated 
that some pre-
parers would 
end up using the 
wrong form -- 
despite our out-
reach efforts 
and many writ-
ten communica-
tions on the 

subject.  

But we strongly urge those 
preparers who used the 
wrong form this past filing 
season to switch to the cor-
rect form next season. Your 
software should help guide 
you in this process, and  
please contact us if you have 
any questions. Our Corporate 
Tax section is at (401) 574-
8935 from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 
p.m. business days. 

Q: I have a client who is a non-
profit.  They sell items that are 
donated to them at silent auc-
tions and raffles. Should they 
be charging sales tax on those 
items? 

A: Sales made by nonprofit 
organizations at fundraisers 
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Practitioners’ Corner: 

 

Archives online 

Previous issues of the 
Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation’s newsletter, 
Rhode Island Tax News, 

are available for viewing 
or for download at the 

agency’s website: 

www.tax.ri.gov/
newsletter/index.php 

such as bazaars, fairs, auc-
tions, or similar events are 
not subject to tax provided 
the event is organized for 
charitable, educational or 
other similar purposes (the 
proceeds from the event go 
back to the nonprofit or-
ganization).  

The exemption for “casual 
sales” includes sales at ba-
zaars, fairs, picnics or simi-
lar events by nonprofit or-
ganizations which are organ-
ized for charitable, educa-
tional, civic, religious, so-
cial, recreational, fraternal 
or literary purposes during 
two events not to exceed a 
total of six (6) days during 
each calendar year. (You 
may seek the tax administra-
tor’s approval to have more 
than two events in a calen-
dar year so long as those 
events do not exceed, in 
total, six days during the 
calendar year.) 

 See Regulation SU 07-17 
for details. 

If the LLC is treated as a 
partnership or as a disre-
garded entity, it must pay an 
annual charge – a filing fee – 
of $500 a year, and file its 
own Rhode Island return. 
(Remember: A single-
member LLC that is treated 
as part of the owner’s return, 
and does not file an entity 
return at the federal level, 
nevertheless must file its own 
Rhode Island return on Form 
RI-1065 and pay the annual 
minimum charge of $500.) 

A subchapter S corporation 
must pay the corporate mini-
mum tax of $500 -- and could 
be subject to additional tax. 

Q: My client found a Rhode 
Island personal income tax 
refund check dated 2003. How 
does she go about getting this 
check voided and having a new 
one sent out? 

A: Have her mail the check to 
the Rhode Island General 
Treasurer’s Office, 50 Service 
Ave., Warwick R.I. 
02886. The Treasury will 
issue a new check. The tax-
payer should include a cover 
letter of explanation along 
with her contact information, 
including current address and 
phone number. 

 Q: I am preparing a return for 
a client who has a carryover 
from 2009 of the Innovation 
Tax Credit. Rhode Island Gen-
eral Laws § 44-63-2 states that 
any unused balance from 2009 
is eligible to be carried for-
ward for a period not to ex-
ceed three years. Accordingly, 
2012 would be the third and 
final year to carry forward the 
credit. However, for 2012, the 
Rhode Island Schedule CR 
states that if the credit you are 
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REGULATORY UPDATE: TAXATION 
  Following is a Rhode Is-
land Division of Taxation 
regulatory update: 

  LLCs: Single-member 
limited liability companies 
(LLCs) that are treated as 
disregarded entities for 
federal tax purposes must 
obtain a federal Employer 
Identification Number 
(EIN) in order to file their 
Rhode Island return. The 
new regulation, CT 13-14, 
took effect July 1, 2013; it 
amended and superseded 
regulation CT 12-14. 

  Lead abatement: State 
law involving the residen-
tial lead abatement income 
tax credit has changed in 
recent years, but the Divi-
sion of Taxation’s regula-

tion has not kept up. So the 
agency’s new regulation is 
updated to reflect current 
state law. The new regula-
tion, CR 13-08, took effect 
July 1, 2013; it amended 
and superseded regulation 
CR 95-08. 

Other regs 

  The Division of Taxation is 
also in the process of: 

 revising a regulation to 
provide guidance on the 
sales and use tax exemption 
for farmers; 

 repealing an outdated 
regulation involving feeds, 
fertilizer, and other items; 

 revising a regulation to 
provide guidance on the 

filing of a personal income 
tax extension – and making 
a proper estimate when 
filing; 

 repealing a regulation 
involving the ISO certifica-
tion credit; 

 proposing a regulation 
related to the new musical 
and theatrical production 
tax credits;  

 updating a regulation 
involving motion picture 
production company tax 
credits; and 

 revising a regulation to 
require that qualified sub-
chapter S subsidiary corpo-
rations obtain a federal 
EIN. 
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NEWSLETTER POLICY 
Rhode Island Tax News is a newsletter from the Rhode Island Department of Revenue’s Divi-
sion of Taxation. It is typically published each quarter. Its purpose is to provide taxpayers 

and tax professionals with general information regarding Rhode Island tax laws, regulations 
and procedures. It is neither designed nor intended to address complex issues in detail. 

Nothing contained in this newsletter in any way alters or otherwise changes any provisions 
of the Rhode Island General Laws, regulations of the Tax Division, or formal rulings. The 
Tax Division is at One Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908. Its website is www.tax.ri.gov. 

HOW TO SUBSCRIBE 
Rhode Island Tax News is distributed free, by e-mail, to those who have joined our listserv. If you 
are not on our listserv but would like to join, send an email to Susan.Galvin@tax.ri.gov with 
the word SUBSCRIBE in uppercase in the subject block.  

COMMENTS AND SUGGESTIONS 
If you have comments or suggestions for Rhode Island Tax News, please e-mail its editor, Neil 

Downing: Neil.Downing@tax.ri.gov 

BACK ISSUES 
Rhode Island Tax News back issues are on the Tax Division website: www.tax.ri.gov 

Pay tax online 

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) lets 
business taxpayers make payments of 
sales, withholding, and other taxes 

electronically, via the ACH network.  
Click here for more information. 

Rhode Island Division of Taxation 
One Capitol Hill 

Providence, R.I. 02908 

Phone: 401-574-8829 
Fax: 401-574-8917 

www.tax.ri.gov 
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