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Entity filing requirements 
 
Every entity registered with the Rhode Island Secretary of State may have filing requirements with the 
Rhode Island Division of Taxation, even if no business is conducted within Rhode Island for a 
particular year. 
 

  An entity treated as a C corporation for federal tax purposes shall be required to file Form RI-
1120C and pay the Rhode Island business corporation tax each year, generally 7 percent of net 
income, as set forth in Rhode Island General Laws (RIGL) § 44-11-2. The minimum tax is $450 per 
year for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2016. 
 

  An entity treated as an S corporation for federal tax purposes shall be required to file Form RI-1120S 
and pay the annual minimum tax as set forth in RIGL § 44-11-2, which is $450 for tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2016. 
 

  Any limited liability company (LLC) not treated as a corporation for federal tax purposes shall pay an 
annual charge equal to the minimum business corporation tax, which is $450 for tax years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2016. This includes a single-member LLC (SMLLC) and any LLC treated as a 
disregarded entity for federal tax purposes. Form RI-1065 shall be filed for any tax year beginning on 
or after January 1, 2012. For tax years prior to 2012, Form RI-1120S shall be filed to pay the annual 
charge. 
 

  Entities treated as partnerships for federal tax purposes shall file Form RI-1065. Any limited liability 
partnership (LLP) and any limited partnership (LP) for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2012 
shall be subject to an annual charge equal to the minimum business corporation tax, which is $450 
for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2016. 
 

  Pass-through entities with members, partners, etc., who are nonresidents of Rhode Island, shall also 
file Form RI-1096PT reporting the income flowing through and the amount of tax to be withheld for the 
nonresidents. Nonresident individuals and entities shall be required to file the appropriate Rhode 
Island tax returns reporting the pass-through income and any pass-through withheld tax. In some 
instances, Form RI-1040C, “Composite Income Tax Return,” may be filed. 

 
For corporation tax returns, partnership returns, and individual income tax returns, there is no 
registration requirement with the Division of Taxation; the filing of the first return is sufficient notice to 
establish an account. 
 
While extensive, this list is not all-inclusive. For more information, please contact the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation at (401) 574-8829, from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days, or see its website, 
www.tax.ri.gov. 
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