

October 14, 2014 ADVISORY: ADV 2014-13

## Filing deadline tomorrow

Tomorrow is the deadline for filing Rhode Island personal income tax returns for the 2013 tax year. The usual deadline is April 15, but some taxpayers elect to use a six-month extension, moving the deadline to tomorrow. Such returns must be e-filed or postmarked on or before 11:59 p.m. on Wednesday, October 15, 2014. Final payments for tax year 2013 are due tomorrow, too.

The Division of Taxation's website has links to a number of <u>tax-preparation programs</u> that allow eligible taxpayers to prepare and file their federal and Rhode Island personal income tax returns online at no charge. The programs are still available for those filing on extension.

• For calendar-year filers, tomorrow is the extended due date for composite returns on Form RI-1040C, pass-through withholding returns on Form RI-1096PT, fiduciary returns on Form RI-1041, and information returns on Form RI-1065 of partnerships and limited liability companies (LLCs) that are treated as pass-through entities or disregarded entities.

E-filing corporate tax returns

The number of Rhode Island corporate income tax returns filed electronically so far this year is up about 18 percent compared with a year ago. The number of paper returns has plunged by nearly 25 percent.

Overall, more than 75 percent of all Rhode Island corporate income tax returns are now filed electronically.

Filing statistics: Corporate income tax returns			
	<b>2013</b> (for tax year 2012)	<b>2014</b> (for tax year 2013)	Difference
E-filed returns	32,128	37,820	+ 17.72%
Paper returns	16,613	12,550	- 24.46%
Total	48,741	50,370	+ 3.34%
Shown above are aggregate Rhode Island filings – Form RI-1120C, RI-1120S, and RI-1065 – for TY 2012 returns filed through October 5, 2013, and TY 2013 returns filed through October 7, 2014. Approximately 75.08% of TY 2013 returns have been e-filed, compared with 65.92% of TY 2012 returns. Paper returns include those filed by corporations themselves; Rhode Island's corporate e-file mandate applies to preparers, not corporations themselves.			

## Tax preparers' seminar

The Division of Taxation is holding a seminar for tax preparers. The chief focus of the seminar will be what's new for the coming filing season and what's new in state tax law -- including the property-tax relief program (Form RI-1040H), the estate tax, and corporate taxes. There'll also be an update on Notices that the Division of Taxation sends to taxpayers.

The seminar is aimed at paid preparers of Rhode Island income tax returns and is free of charge, but preregistration is required. The first session will be at CCRI's Newport campus, in Newport, on November 6 from 9:00 a.m. to Noon. For those unable to make the Newport session, the seminar will be repeated in a session at CCRI's Knight Campus in Warwick on December 3 from 9:00 a.m. to Noon. Click <u>here</u> for the seminar flier and for more information about registration.

Tax news in brief

- The latest issue of the Division of Taxation's newsletter is now online. Click here to view.
- The Division of Taxation recently posted Administrative Decisions that involve the cigarette tax, the sales and use tax, and the personal income tax. Click <u>here</u> to view Administrative Decisions by number or by tax type.
- Later this week, the Division of Taxation plans to post, as final, its regulation on paid preparer penalties. (Click <u>here</u> to view the proposed regulation as it appeared before final revisions.)

Contact: Neil Downing Chief Revenue Agent Rhode Island Division of Taxation <u>Neil.Downing@tax.ri.gov</u> (401) 574-8115

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS