Rhode Island Department of Revenue
Division of Taxation

ADV 2020-19 ADVISORY FOR TAX PROFESSIONALS
EMPLOYER WITHHOLDING APRIL 30, 2020

Reminder about deadline for employer withholding tax
Funds must be remitted and returns filed according to schedule

PROVIDENCE, R.I. — The Rhode Island Division of Taxation reminds businesses and other entities
that, despite the coronavirus pandemic (COVID-19), the deadlines remain the same for employers to
remit Rhode Island personal income tax withheld from employee paychecks.

Rhode Island — like the federal government and many states — has a pay-as-you-earn income tax
system. Under that system, employers are required to withhold a portion of their employees’ wages
and to periodically turn over those withheld funds, on a regular schedule, to the Division of Taxation.!
These are amounts that employers have held in trust, by law, for remitting to the State of Rhode Island.
While the Division recognizes the strain that taxpayers are experiencing amid the coronavirus
pandemic, Rhode Island law prohibits taxpayers from using these trust fund taxes for their own purpose.

Effective January 2020, there are some changes as to how Rhode Island employers, payroll
companies, and accounting firms must file and pay withholding taxes to the Rhode Island Division of
Taxation. Legislation passed as part of the 2019 budget process created electronic payment and filing
requirements for certain employers. In conjunction with the electronic mandates, the Division of

Taxation also took the opportunity to simplify the filing and payment frequencies and more align itself
with the Internal Revenue Service and a number of other states.

The Division moved to a quarterly return filing (see Form RI-941 and instructions) and consolidated the
daily and quarter-monthly filing frequencies into a weekly frequency. Since the quarterly Form RI-941
filing is now the actual filing of the tax return, the weekly, monthly and quarterly frequencies are now

referred to as payment frequencies. For more information, see the Division’s Advisory, FAQs, and 2020
withholding tax payment calendar.

For purposes of the filing of a withholding return, Form RI-941 is due on a quarterly basis. All taxpayers
must submit their returns once a quarter. The returns are due on the last day of the month following
each quarter, with the first due date of April 30, 2020. Regardless of how often an employer must remit
withholding tax, the return on Form RI-941 is due quarterly. After completing the required filing, if an
employer is unable to make a scheduled payment, payment plans are available. For more information
about employer withholding tax, call the Division at (401) 574-8941 from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
business days or email: Tax.Collections@tax.ri.gov.

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation, part of the Rhode Island Department of Revenue, has normal operating
hours from 8:30 a.m. fo 3:30 p.m. business days. For more information, contact the Division at (401) 574-8829 or see:
http://www.tax.ri.gov/contact/.

' See Rhode Island General Laws § 44-30-71 ("Requirement of withholding tax from wages"), Rhode Island General Laws § 44-30-76
("Employer’s liability for withheld taxes — Violations — Penalties”), and Regulation 280-RICR-20-55-10 (“"Employers’ Withholding").



http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/Withholding/941%20Quarterly%20Return_m.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/Withholding/RI-941%20Instructions.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV_2019_28.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/notice/PUB_2020_02_withholding_tax_FAQs_03_03_2020.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/Withholding/Payment%20Calendar%202020%20v4.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/Withholding/Payment%20Calendar%202020%20v4.pdf
mailto:Tax.Collections@tax.ri.gov
http://www.tax.ri.gov/contact/

