

## Rhode Island Department of Revenue Division of Taxation

ADV 2018-09 TAX AMNESTY ADVISORY FOR TAX PROFESSIONALS FEBRUARY 14, 2018

## Amnesty deadline is tomorrow

All amnesty-related filings and payments are due on or before February 15, 2018

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – Tomorrow is the deadline for Rhode Island's state tax amnesty program: All amnesty-related filings and payments are due on or before Thursday, February 15, 2018.

"This is the last chance for taxpayers to take advantage of the amnesty program's benefits," said Rhode Island Tax Administrator Neena S. Savage. "If you pay what you owe in back taxes, we will eliminate all penalties and erase 25 percent of the interest you owe. Now is the time to step forward, clean your slate, and get a fresh start," she said.

Amnesty-related filings and payments must be postmarked on or before Thursday, February 15, 2018. Taxpayers may drop off filings and payments at the Division office, which is open to the public from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. and is located at One Capitol Hill, near the State House. To make payment, use a bank check or money order (personal checks aren't allowed under amnesty), or pay online by credit card or debit card. Many (not all) taxes and fees can be paid online. For more information, including details on fees: <a href="http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/creditcard.php">http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/creditcard.php</a>. For the first two full months of amnesty, through January 31, 2018, the amnesty grand total – in other words, the total amount of tax and reduced interest submitted with amnesty returns – is more than \$9.1 million.

## FOR MORE INFORMATION

■ Details of amnesty – including forms and other information – are on the agency's tax amnesty website: <u>www.TaxAmnesty.ri.gov</u>. For answers to amnesty FAQs: <u>https://go.usa.gov/xn6Be</u>.

■ Call the Division's amnesty phone bank at (401) 574-8650 to get general amnesty questions answered. (For taxpayer-specific questions involving amnesty – if, for example, a taxpayer wants to know about his or her specific account balance, or which returns have not been filed -- call the Collections section at (401) 574-8941.) For hours and location: <u>http://www.tax.ri.gov/contact/</u>. Or send an email to the Division's amnesty team: <u>Tax.Amnesty@tax.ri.gov</u>.

THE RI STATE TAX AMNESTY PROGRAM FOR INDIVIDUALS AND BUSINESSES DEC. 1, 2017 - FEB. 15, 2018

