

Rhode Island Division of Taxation

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations Department of Revenue

> November 2, 2012 ADV 2012-30

<u>Advisory</u>:

Hours extended for tax amnesty; two weeks left until deadline

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation has begun offering extended hours for Rhode Island's tax amnesty program.

The program's call center and walk-in service are now open an extra 90 minutes at the end of each business day. The program's new hours are 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. business days.

"As the deadline nears, we've seen interest in our tax amnesty program really pick up – and we know that calls and visits will increase over the next two weeks. Therefore, we are extending our hours in order to handle the higher volume," said Tax Administrator David M. Sullivan.

The call center can be reached at (401) 574-8650. The walk-in service is available at Tax Division offices on Smith Street in Providence, diagonally across from the State House. (The specific address is One Capitol Hill. If you plan to use the walk-in service, please arrive by 5 p.m.)

The extended hours took effect yesterday and will remain in effect each business day until the program ends on November 15. Sullivan urged those who have not applied for amnesty to file their applications soon; the program, which began September 2, ends in less than two weeks. Also bear in mind that the Tax Division will be closed November 6 (Election Day) and November 12 (Veterans Day observance).

Amnesty generates \$7.83 million so far

Rhode Island's tax amnesty program has generated \$7.83 million so far from 3,230 amnesty applications. Following are the top four sources of tax amnesty revenue to date:

Rhode Island's tax amnesty 2012	
Public service corporation tax	\$ 3,249,910
Personal income tax	\$ 2,182,977
Corporate tax	\$ 1,327,518
Sales and use tax	\$ 819,650
Figures through October 31, 2012, and include tax and interest paid.	

(Continued on next page)

If you file the amnesty application, file your past-due returns, and pay your back taxes, the Tax Division will take a number of steps to reduce your overall burden. If your application is approved, the Tax Division will:

- waive penalties;
- reduce interest by 25 percent;
- agree not to pursue civil or criminal penalties; and
- agree not to block your license renewal.

The Tax Division has a special website – <u>www.TaxAmnesty.ri.gov</u> – which includes the tax amnesty application form, FAQs, and other information.

For more information about the amnesty, call (401) 574-8650, from 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. business days. Or e-mail the program: <u>TaxAmnesty@tax.ri.gov</u>. The 75-day amnesty period ends at midnight on Thursday, November 15, 2012.

Reminder: Tax deadline relief due to Hurricane Sandy

The Tax Division reminds taxpayers and practitioners about tax deadline relief, due to Hurricane Sandy, that <u>the agency announced on October 31</u>.

Taxpayers and tax practitioners affected by Hurricane Sandy will have until midnight on Wednesday, November 7, to file returns and accompanying payments that normally would have been due on October 31.

The relief applies to businesses, other taxpayers, and preparers who were impacted by the storm and who had a Rhode Island filing/payment due October 31 – whether they are located in Rhode Island, Connecticut, or another state directly affected by the hurricane.

Any state tax return or state tax payment that had a deadline of October 31 qualifies.

Thus, for example, payments/filings of state unemployment insurance tax, job development fund tax, temporary disability insurance (TDI) tax, income tax withholding by employers, quarterly sales and use tax, and/or estimated tax payments for the surplus line broker tax on gross premiums, that were due October 31, 2012, will instead be due by midnight on November 7, 2012. To obtain the relief, no action is required by the taxpayer or preparer; the relief is automatic, said Peter McVay, associate director of revenue services.

Abatements involving Rhode Island's TDI tax

The Tax Division's blog has posted information about progress made by the Massachusetts Department of Revenue in processing requests for refunds related to Rhode Island's temporary disability insurance (TDI) tax. Click here for more information: <u>RhodelslandTax.blogspot.com</u>

Contact:

Neil Downing Chief Revenue Agent Rhode Island Division of Taxation <u>Neil.Downing@tax.ri.gov</u> (401) 574-8115