

## **Rhode Island Division of Taxation**

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
Department of Revenue

August 29, 2012

ADV 2012-19

## Advisory:

## **Governor Chafee launches tax amnesty**

PROVIDENCE – Rhode Island Governor Lincoln D. Chafee held a news conference at the State House today to officially launch the state's tax amnesty program.

"We've just been through one of the most punishing recessions since the Great Depression. The recession was felt across our country and across the world; Rhode Island was not immune. Some businesses and individuals fell behind on their taxes – including their Rhode Island state taxes," Governor Chafee said. "For them, and for others who are delinquent on their state taxes, this is a perfect time to pay what they owe and get a fresh start," he said.

"Opportunities like this don't come around very often," Rhode Island Revenue Director Rosemary Booth Gallogly said. "This amnesty is open not just to those who owe personal income tax, but also to those who owe other state taxes – such as corporate income tax, sales and use tax, and employer taxes," she said.

Tax Administrator David M. Sullivan said that the Rhode Island Division of Taxation has created a special website – <a href="www.TaxAmnesty.ri.gov">www.TaxAmnesty.ri.gov</a> – that includes forms, FAQs, and other information about the amnesty. "The website is a one-stop shop for taxpayers and tax advisers who want to know more about our amnesty program," Sullivan said. More information about the amnesty program is available from the program's call center, at (401) 574-8650, from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. business days, or by e-mailing the program: <a href="mailto:TaxAmnesty@tax.ri.gov">TaxAmnesty@tax.ri.gov</a>.

As a result of legislation approved by the General Assembly and signed into law by Governor Chafee on June 15, Rhode Island is offering a 75-day tax amnesty period, from September 2 through November 15, 2012. The amnesty includes incentives to encourage those who have fallen behind on their taxes to pay what they owe.

If someone files the amnesty application, files past-due returns, and pays their delinquent tax, the Rhode Island Division of Taxation will:

- waive penalties;
- reduce interest by 25 percent;
- · agree not to pursue civil or criminal penalties; and
- allow the person to renew licenses.

Contact:

Neil Downing Chief Revenue Agent Rhode Island Division of Taxation Neil.Downing@tax.ri.gov (401) 574-8115