STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS

'DIVISION OF TAXATION

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING

FINAL DECISION AND ORDER

#2019-02



STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
DIVISION OF TAXATION
ONE CAPITOL HILL
PROVIDENCE, RHODE ISLAND 02908

IN THE MATTER OF:

R i Case No.: 19-T-022
§ corporate franchise tax -
Taxpayer.

DECISION

L INTRODUCTION

The above-entitled matter came before the undersigned as the result of a Notice of Hearing
and Appointment of Hearing Officer (“Notice”) dated April 2, 2019 and issued to the above-captioned
taxpayer (“Taxpayer”) by the Division of Taxation (“Division”) in response to a request for hearing.
A hearing was held on May 3, 2019 at which time the Taxpayer did not appear. Tﬁe Taxpayer
received notice of the hearing.! As the Taxpayer received the Notice, the undersigned held the
hearing. The Division was represented by counsel Who rested on the record.

II. JURISDICTION

The Division has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-30-1 ef seq.,
R.I Gen. Laws § 44-1-1 et seq., 280-RICR-20-00-2, Division of Taxation’s Administrative Hearing
Procedures, and 220-RICR-50-10-2, Department of Administration’s Rules of Procedure for

Administrative Hearings.

1 The Notice was sent by first class and certified mail to the Taxpayer. See Division’s Exhibit Two (2). The Division’s
attorney represented that he spoke to an officer of the Taxpayer prior to hearing and she indicated that no one would
appear at the hearing as she lived out-of-state and the Taxpayer entity no longer existed. The Taxpayer’s certificate
of organization was revoked by the Rhode Island Secretary of State’s office in 2016. See Division’s Exhibit One (1).



III. ISSUE
Whether the Taxpayer owes the minimum corporate tax for calendar years 2000 through
2013 pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-11-2(e).

IV. MATERIAL FACTS AND TESTIMONY

Principal Revenue Agent, testified on behalf of the Division. He testified
that the minimum corporate tax was $250 annually in 2000 and then it changed to $500 annually
in 2004. He testified that a Notice of Deficiency was issued for the minimum corporate tax to the
Taxpayer for the years 2000 through 2013. He testified that the Taxpayer requested a hearing in
response to the Notice of Deficiency. Division’s Exhibits Three (3) (Notice of Deficiency) and
Four (4) (request for hearing).

V. DISCUSSION

A. Legislative Intent

The Rhode Island Supreme Court has consistently held that it effectuates legislative intent
by examining a statute in its entirety and giving words their plain and ordinary meaning. In re
Fualstaff Brewing Corp., 637 A.2d 1047 (R.I. 1994). If a statute is clear and unambiguous, “the
Court must interpret the statute literally and must give the words of the statute their plain and
ordinary meanings.” Oliveira v. Lombardi, 794 A.2d 453 (R.I. 2002) (citation omitted). The
Supreme Court has also established that it will not interpret legislative enactments in a manner that
renders them nugatory or that would produce an unreasonable result. See Defenders of Animals v.
Dept. of Environmental Management, 553 A.2d 541 (R.I. 1989) (citing Cocchini v. City of
Providence, 479 A.2d 108 (R.1. 1984)). In cases where a statute may contain ambiguous language,
the Rhode Island Supreme Court has consistently held that the legislative intent must be considered.

Providence Journal Co. v. Rodgers, 711 A.2d 1131 (R.I. 1998). The statutory provisions must be



examined in their entirety and the meaning most consistent with the policies and purposes of the
legislature must be effectuated. Id.
B. Relevant Statutes
R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-11-2 provides in part as follows:
Imposition of tax. (a) Each corporation shall annually pay to the state a tax
equal to nine percent (9%) of net income, as defined in § 44-11-11, qualified in § 44-
11-12, and apportioned to this state as provided in §§ 44-11-13 — 44-11-15, for the
taxable year. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, each corporation shall

annually pay to the state a tax equal to seven percent (7.0%) of net income, as defined
in § 44-11-13 — 44-11-15, for the taxable year.
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(e) Minimum tax. The tax imposed upon any corporation under this section,

including a small business corporation having an election in effect under subchapter S,

26 U.S.C. § 1361 et seq., shall not be less than four hundred fifty dollars ($450). For

tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, the tax imposed shall not be less than

four hundred dollars ($400).

In 2000, the minimum corporate tax provided for in R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-11-2(e) was $250
annually. See P.L. 1992 ch. 15, Art. 4 § 1. In 2004, the minimum corporate tax provided for in
R.I Gen. Laws § 44-11-2(e) was changed to $500 annually. See P.L. 2004 ch. 595, Art. 17 § 6;
and P.L. 2004 ch. 595, Art. 29 § 1. The current statute was amended in 2016 to be $400 annually
effective in 2017. P.L. 2016 ch. 142, Art 13 § 9. The penalty for late filing of the annual corporate
tax is $100 as provided for in R.I. Gen. Laws § 7-16-67.2

C. ' Whether the Taxpayer owes the Minimum Corporate Tax

The Taxpayer was organized in 2000. See Division’s Exhibit One (1) (Rhode Island

Secretary of State’s records). It was undisputed that the Taxpayer had not filed any returns and

had not paid the minimum corporate tax provided for in R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-11-2(e) for the

ZR.1. Gen. Laws § 7-16-67(e) provides that the “annual charge is delinquent if not paid by the due date for the filing
of the return and an addition of one hundred dollars ($100) to the charge is then due.”



calendar years 2000 through 2013. The Division issued a Notice of Deficiency? for the minimum
tax owed for calendar years 2000 through 2013 including the $100 penalty for each year.*

Based on the foregoing, pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-11-2(e) and R.I. Gen. Laws § 7-
16-67(¢), the Taxpayer owes the tax and penalty as assessed by the Division.

VI. FINDINGS OF FACT

il On or about April 2, 2019, the Division issued the Notice to the Taxpayer.

2, A hearing in this matter was held on May 3, 2019. The Taxpayer received notice of
hearing but did not appear at hearing.

3. The Taxpayer is in default for not appearing at the hearing.

4. The Taxpayer did not file and did not pay any minimum corporate tax for the calendar
years 2000 through 2013 as provided for in the relevant statutory provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-
11-2(e).

VII. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Based on the testimony and facts presented:

1, The Division has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-11-1 et
seq. and R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-1-1 ef seq.

2. Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-11-2(e) and R.I. Gen. Laws § 7-16-67(e), the
Te;xpayer owes the tax and penalty as assessed by the Division.

VIII. RECOMMENDATION

Based on the above analysis, the Hearing Officer recommends as follows:

3 Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-11-7.1(b)(i), the business corporation tax can be assessed at any time if no return

was filed by a taxpayer.
4 The tax owed is $6,000 which represents $250 a year for the years 2000 through 2003 and $500 a year for the years

2004 through 2013 as well as a penalty of $1,400 ($100 for each year of the assessment).



Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-11-2(e) and R.I. Gen. Laws § 7-16-67(e), the Taxpayer

owes the tax and penalty as assessed by the Division. See Division’s Exhibit Three (3).

Date: M/‘(-t/ 317{ Z&/ 7 P ey AT
/ Catherine R. Warren
Hearing Officer

ORDER

I have read the Hearing Officer's Decision and Recommendation in this matter, and I hereby
take the following action with regard to the Decision and Recommendation:

1/ ADOPT

REJECT
MODIFY

Dated: /6/3/ / /7 P ey
Jyor Neena S. Savagé
Tax Administrator

NOTICE OF APPELLATE RIGHTS

THIS DECISION CONSTITUTES A FINAL ORDER OF THE DIVISION. THIS
ORDER MAY BE APPEALED TO THE SIXTH DIVISION DISTRICT COURT
PURSUANT TO R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-11-35 WHICH STATES AS FOLLOWS:

§ 44-11-35. Appeals. Appeals from administrative orders or decisions made pursuant to any
provisions of this chapter shall be to the sixth (6th) division district court pursuant to chapter 8 of
title 8. The taxpayer's right to appeal shall be expressly made conditional upon prepayment of all
taxes, interest, and penalties unless the taxpayer moves for and is granted an exemption from the
prepayment requirement pursuant to § 8-8-26. If the court, after appeal, holds that the taxpayer is
entitled to a refund, the taxpayer shall also be paid interest on the amount at the rate provided in §
44-1-7.1.

CERTIFICATION

g JLe.
I hereby certify that on the 3 & day ofgﬁy, 2019 a copy of the above Decision and Notice
of Appellate Rights were sent by first class mail, postage prepaid and certified mail, return receipt
requested to the Taxpayer’s address on file with the Division and by hand delivery to Bernard Lemos,

Esquire, Department of Revenue, One Capitol Hill, Providence, % 029?:% f:
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