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• About Us:  Division of Taxation
• Personal and Corporate Income Tax
• Compliance and Collections, Registration, and Taxpayer 
Experience

• Break
• Taxpayer Portal Demonstration
• Excise and Estate Taxes
• Tax Forms
• Taxpayer Experience Office
• More Tax Resources
• Questions
• Closing remarks



About Us
Total State Tax Revenue Collected by 

the Division of Taxation
for Fiscal Year 2024 ($, In Millions)

The Division of Taxation:
One of six agencies in the Department of Revenue

• The Rhode Island Division of Taxation employs 228 tax professionals, 
administering more than 59 different taxes and fees.

• Taxes represent the most significant source of General Fund revenue for Rhode 
Island – funds used to help pay for vital services including public safety, 
education, transportation, and recreation for all Rhode Islanders.

• Each year, the Division collects and distributes more than $5.14 billion in funds 
to the State, municipalities, and other agencies (as of FY 24).

Our Mission

• To foster voluntary compliance with the Rhode Island tax laws and 
instill public confidence through professional, impartial and ethical 
conduct.

• To administer and collect all taxes as required by Rhode Island law in 
the most efficient and cost-effective manner.

• To assist taxpayers by helping them understand and meet their tax 
responsibilities.
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28.50%
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FY24 Receipts: $5.14B

Withholding Sales Corp PIT Estate, M&B, Hotel & Other



• Tax issues in 
Budgeting

• Tax policy 
• Constituent 

Assistance

IRS

Governor’s 
Office

Taxpayers

Cities/Towns, 
Tourism Bureaus

Other State 
Agencies/General Officers
(Within DOR, HSRI, OMB, 
Accounts/ Controls, Dept 

Transportation, DLT)

General 
Assembly

Tax Professionals
RI Society of CPAs

Accountants
Others

Courts

Other states

• File/Pay returns/taxes/fees
• Refunds 
• Services (Education, 

Outreach, LOGS)

• Legislative Review/Testimony
• Revenue Estimating Conference
• Tax Policy/Administration 

Perspective
• Reporting 
• Constituent Assistance
• Annual Audit-Auditor General

• Starting point for Personal 
Income, Business Corp Tax is 
federal conformity

• Data exchange, compliance 
programs yield millions of 
dollars

• Confidentiality/Audits

• Appeals, Litigation, 
Enforcement

• Offset refunds for 
court fees

• Coordination/Communication
• Information Sharing
• Collaboration
• Offsets

• Distributions 
(Hotel Tax, 
Meals/Beverage 
Tax, Real Estate 
Conveyance Tax)

• Education
• Outreach to Enhance 

Compliance
• Constituent Assistance

• Enforcement 
• Collection 
• Reporting
• Data Exchange
• Technical 

Support
• Constituent 

Assistance

About Us: Key Stakeholders/Interactions 
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Taxpayer Experience Office/Team

Taxpayer Experience Office  
Team
• Tax Administrator

• Asst Tax Administrator

• External Facing: 
Taxpayer Experience 
Liaison

• Internal Taxpayer 
Experience Team    
(With Initial Focus on 
Collections/Compliance)

• Continue Improvements 
Across Agency at all 
Taxpayer Contact Points
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Division of Taxation: Mission

How are we 
improving 
taxpayer 
services, 
voluntary 
compliance?

Creating a 
dedicated taxpayer 
experience team, 

expanding outreach 
to aid taxpayers, 
providing more 

direct access for 
taxpayers, creating 

educational 
material for 

common taxpayer 
issues

Expanding 
the taxpayer 

service 
portal, 

creating 
digital 

signature 
options, 

upgrading 
technology, 

appointment 
system pilot

Improving 
staff 

training, 
data 

analysis, 
improving 
forms and 

data 
retrieval

Expanding 
the remote 

audit 
program, 

implementing 
best 

practices

The Tax Administration Efficiency Continuum

Less expensive, more efficient revenue generation More expensive, less efficient, but necessary

Taxpayer Experience Office/Team

FORCED COMPLIANCEVOLUNTARY COMPLIANCE 

Developing 
industry 

guidelines

Stay informed of tax 

obligations

Review 

information

Ask questions 

as needed

File taxes and 

forms

Respond to 

questions

Participate in 

audit

Defend 

position

Defend 

position

Defend 

position

Draft clear and 
timely Tax law

Educate & 
publish 

instructions

Be 
accessible 
by email/ 

phone

Optimize 
filing 

processes

Correct 
errors

Audit & 
investigate

Take 
collections 

actions

Litigate 
against bad 

actors

Enforce 
criminal 
penalties

The Division of 
Taxation’s Actions 

The Taxpayer’s 
Responsibilities
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• IRS/States/Tax Software 
Industry collaborating on fraud 
detection and prevention and 
monitoring data/trends through 
the IDTTRF-ISAC and the 
Security Summit. 

• How Do You Report Suspected 
Tax Fraud Activity? | Internal 
Revenue Service (irs.gov)

• Dirty Dozen | Internal Revenue 
Service (irs.gov)

• Criminals are becoming more 
creative, with better 
technology, and means to 
perpetrate fraud. 

Fraud Trends
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https://www.irs.gov/individuals/how-do-you-report-suspected-tax-fraud-activity
https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/dirty-dozen


How to Mitigate Fraud

• Consistently update software and operating systems with latest 
patches—outdated applications and operating systems are the 
most targeted vulnerabilities for ransomware.

• Train your staff about phishing, cyber security and to look 
carefully at emails before responding.  Check and double 
check.

• Multifactor Authentication/Strong Passwords. 
• Back up data on a regular basis; maintain it on a separate 

device and store it offline. 
• Implement a disaster recovery plan.
• Check the Taxpayer Portal:  RI Taxpayer Portal.
• How Do You Report Suspected Tax Fraud Activity? | Internal 

Revenue Service (irs.gov).
• Reach out to the RI Division of Taxation:  Contact Us | RI 

Division of Taxation.
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https://taxportal.ri.gov/rptp/portal/home/!ut/p/z1/04_Sj9CPykssy0xPLMnMz0vMAfIjo8zijS0MnN09DIy83EODjQwc_R1DTcIcvYAsE_1wQgqigNIGOICjAVB_FCElBbkRBumOiooA7YFcLQ!!/dz/d5/L2dBISEvZ0FBIS9nQSEh/
https://www.irs.gov/individuals/how-do-you-report-suspected-tax-fraud-activity
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us
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Nicole Coleman

Assistant Chief Revenue Agent

Personal and Corporate Income Tax 
Section



2024 Tax Year

Inflationary changes

• Personal Exemptions $4,950

• Standard Deduction
• Single $10,550
• Joint/Qualifying Widow(er) $21,150
• HOH $15,850
• Married filing Separately $10,575

• Exemption and Deduction Phaseout Amounts
• $246,450 – $274,650

• Social Security Amounts
• Single $104,200
• Joint $130,250

• Pension and Annuity
• Single $104,200
• Joint $130,250

• Property Tax Relief Credit $675
• Income Limitation $39,275

Personal and Corporate Income Tax
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Slide 12

Our "Where's My 
Refund?" tool has 
been updated so 
taxpayers can view 
their refund status 
in real time.

“Where’s My Refund?” 
Update



Personal and Corporate Income Tax
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Our "Where's My 
Refund?" tool has 
been updated so 
taxpayers can view 
their refund status 
in real time.

“Where’s My Refund?” 
Update
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax

• The updated version of our "Where's My Refund?" tool now provides 
detailed real-time information.
• The approval status of the refund.
• Additional information that needs to be provided for the refund to be 

processed.
• Information on when the taxpayer can expect to receive their refund.

• To access the updated "Where's My Refund?" tool, visit the Division 
of Taxation's website at https://tax.ri.gov.
• You can also access the tool directly from 

https://www.ri.gov/taxation/refund/.

“Where’s My Refund?” Update

https://tax.ri.gov/
https://www.ri.gov/taxation/refund/


Legislative Changes – Impacting Tax Year 2025

• Pass-through Entity Tax Credit Percent 
• Decreases the credit percentage that the individual receives for the tax paid by the 

entity from 100% to 90%.

• Cannabis - Allowance of 280E Deduction 
• Allows for a deduction for the business expenses disallowed federally by IRC 280E. 

• Net Operating Loss (NOL) Carryforward 
• Increases the number of years that a business may use a NOL carryforward from 5 

to 20 years. 

• Pension Income Modification Increase 
• This change increases the Pension and Annuity Income Modification from $20,000 to 

$50,000 (or $100,000 for filers married filing jointly). It does not change the 
qualifying income thresholds.

Personal and Corporate Income Tax
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Withholding

• All employers will receive a “Withholding Account Summary” 
notice from the RI Division of Taxation.
• Sent in December of each year informing them of required due dates for 

payment of their taxes withheld and their return filings for the upcoming 
calendar year.

• Effective with Tax Year 2024, the process for filing W-2s, W-3s, 
and 1099s is changing.
• Employers and/or their authorized representative will be able to submit 

properly formatted W-2 and 1099 files electronically using the R.I. 
Division of Taxation’s Taxpayer Portal.
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax



Withholding

Updates

• Withholding booklet.

• Letter of Intent (LOI) specific 
to Withholding for this season 
for software vendors.
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax

https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-12/2025%20Withholding%20Tax%20Booklet.pdf


Withholding

How do I file W-2s?
• If you are an employer submitting W-2s for your business, you can:

• Upload your W-2 file in Taxation’s Portal, or
• Send your W-2 file on a CD or DVD to the Division of Taxation.

• If you are an accounting firm submitting W-2s for your client(s) AND you are 
authorized to access your client(s) Taxpayer Portal account, you can upload one 
file containing your client(s) W-2 information via the Portal.

• If you are a payroll company or third-party vendor registered as a bulk filer, you 
can upload bulk files containing your clients W-2 information via the Portal.
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Withholding

How do I file W-2s? (continued)

• NOTE: Regardless of the filer type, the W-2 file 
must be in the proper EFW2 format.

• See the Withholding Filing Requirements 
Guide for information on the EFW2 file 
requirements and specifications. 

• This file format is the same as last year’s.

Or click/tap the guide, right.
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax

https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-09/Withholding%20Filing%20Requirements_092024.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-09/Withholding%20Filing%20Requirements_092024.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-09/Withholding%20Filing%20Requirements_092024.pdf


Withholding

How do I file W-3s?
• If you are an employer submitting W-3s for your business, you can:

• Upload your W-3 file in the Taxpayer Portal, or
• Send your W-3 file on a CD or DVD to the Division of Taxation.

• If you are an accounting firm submitting W-3s for your client(s) AND you are 
authorized to access your client(s) Taxpayer Portal account, you can upload one 
file containing your client(s) W-3 information via the Taxpayer Portal.

• If you are a payroll company or third-party vendor registered as a bulk filer, you 
can upload bulk files containing your clients W-3 information via the Taxpayer 
Portal. 
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Withholding

How do I file W-3s? (continued)

• NOTE: This process will replace the prior 
process of uploading to the secure 
EFT link sent to you by 
Tax.ProdControl@tax.ri.gov.

More information in the guide, right.
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https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-09/Withholding%20Filing%20Requirements_092024.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-09/Withholding%20Filing%20Requirements_092024.pdf


Withholding

How do I file 1099s?

• If you are an individual submitting 1099s for your business:
• You can upload your 1099 file in your Withholding account in the Taxpayer Portal.

• If you are an accounting firm submitting 1099s for your client(s):
• You can upload your 1099 file in the Taxpayer Portal.

• If you are a payroll company or third-party vendor registered as a bulk filer:
• You can upload bulk files containing your clients 1099 information via the Taxpayer Portal.
• To register as a bulk filer, complete and submit the Payroll Letter of Intent found on the 

Software Developers page.

• NOTES:
• Regardless of the filer type, the 1099 file must be in the proper FIRE format. See the 

Withholding Filing Requirements Guide for information.
• 1099s should only be filed with the Division of Taxation if there is Rhode Island withholding 

listed on the 1099.
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https://tax.ri.gov/resources/software-developers
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p1220.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-09/Withholding%20Filing%20Requirements_092024.pdf


Fiduciary

• Filed on Form RI-1041

• Fiduciary income follows 
federal tax treatment on 
most items of income

Slide 23

• Flow through income to beneficiary(s) is on Line 19 of Federal 1041
• Nonresident beneficiaries subject to pass-through withholding on Schedule PTW
• Schedule PTE available for Tax Year 2024
• K-1 reporting on the flow through income

• Follows same increasing/decreasing modifications as personal income tax

Personal and Corporate 
Income Tax



Pass-Through Entity Changes
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04/15/23 03/15/24 09/15/24 04/15/25 09/15/2504/15/24

Tax Year 2024: 
Use of BUS-

EST with Entity 
checkbox 

instead of PTE 
checkbox

Tax Year 2024: 
Filing of entity 
return with PTE 

Schedule on 
extension

Tax Year 2024: 
Use of BUS-

EXT with Entity 
checkbox 

instead of PTE 
checkbox or 

filing of entity 
return with 

PTE Schedule

Pass-Through Withholding

Pass-Through Entity Tax

Tax Year 2023: 
Use BUS-EXT 
instead of RI-

4868PT or filing of 
Entity Return with 

PTW Schedule

Tax Year 2023:  
Filing of Entity 

Return on 
extension with 
PTW Schedule

Tax Year 2023:  
Use BUS-EST 
instead of RI-

1096PT-ES

Personal and Corporate Income Tax



TY 2024 Updated Filing Options

Personal and Corporate Income Tax

MeF

• RI-1040
• RI-1120C, RI-1120S, 

RI-1065 (with PTE & 
PTW Schedules)

• RI-1041 (with PTE & 
PTW Schedules)
• (PTE for corp. only)
• May issue a K1 to its 

beneficiaries, but it 
cannot receive a K1 that 
notes PTE credit. 

• Return Payments
• Extensions

Portal

• Extensions
• Estimates

Estimates Available 
on Paper*

• RI-1040ES
• BUS-EST
• RI-1041ES

*Please note, if the taxpayer 
is an entity subject to RI’s 
Electronic Filing Mandate, 
filing on paper may subject 
the taxpayer to penalties.
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Pension and Annuity Modification – Tax Year 2024

• Modification cap = $20,000 (increasing to $50,000 in Tax Year 2025)

• Inflation increase to current AGI limit

• For 2024: Single – For 2024: Single – $104,200/ Joint – $130,250

• Modification is based on full retirement age of 66 years and 8 months

• Born on or before May 1, 1958

• All filing statuses (single, separate, head of household, married joint, or widow(er))

• Once AGI limitations are passed, no modification 

• Does not include IRAs

• $20,000 limitation applies per individual for pension/annuity - unlimited for SSI

• “Rhode Island Retirement Income Tax Guide - Modifications For Retirement Income”

• Produced annually (TY 2024 version to be forthcoming) - TY 2023 version is online

Personal and Corporate Income Tax
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https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-03/PUB_2024-01_retirement_income_guide.pdf


Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Earned Income Tax Credit Reminders

•The Rhode Island EITC is in addition to the Federal EITC.
•Rhode Island EITC rate is a percentage of the Federal EITC 
amount: 2018-2023=15.0%, 2024-2025=16.0%.

•RI EITC is a refundable credit, which means the credit will be 
refunded to the taxpayer to the extent it exceeds the taxpayer’s tax 
liability.

•RI tax preparer’s regulation includes guidance on due diligence 
requirements and records retention for EITC and RI-1040H Property 
Tax Credit. Tax Preparer's Regulation 280-RICR-20-55-4.
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https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/280-20-55-4


Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Earned Income Tax Credit Reminders

• RI conforms to federal eligibility and income thresholds.
• We do also review and approve or deny, if denial is warranted.
• If credit ineligibility is suspected, we may need to take extra 

steps to validate the EITC claim.

• Other points to consider:
• Returns without expenses
• Documentation for income reporting (e.g. requests for licenses, 

records, statements, etc.)
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Earned Income Tax Credit Reminders

• NAICS Codes:
•Schedule C must be submitted with a valid NAICS code
•NAICS code should be 6 digits & match closely to a valid 
business activity code (per IRS)

•Check that invalid NAICS codes are not carried over from prior 
years

Slide 29

Visit census.gov for more 
information on NAICS Codes.

https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/economic-census/year/2022/guidance/understanding-naics.html


• Referred to as  “71.3 Withholding”
• Any seller that is not an individual is required to obtain an EIN per the IRS. 

• Link - Do you need an EIN? | Internal Revenue Service (irs.gov)

• If property is owned by a LLC or Trust, required to provide the selling entity’s 
info, not the individual’s information. 

• Discharges should match the election forms if the election method was used. 
• Please make every attempt to adhere to the 20-day rule, regarding submissions

• We must receive the election form 20 or more days before the date of the closing.
• Please remember - most mail is received 3 to 5 days after it is mailed.

• Do not submit forms with a past date.
• Avoid mail delays by using our email process: 

1. Email: Tax.NonRes713@tax.ri.gov.
2. Always include the name of the seller and the property address in the email 

subject line.
3. Remittances that require payment cannot be emailed.
4. Complete forms entirely.
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Non-resident Real Estate Withholding

https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/do-you-need-an-ein
mailto:Tax.Nonres713@tax.ri.gov


• Helpful Links
• Latest Advisory regarding electronic signature submission: 

https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2022-
11/ADV_2022_32_electronic_signature.pdf

• Non-resident Real Estate Withholding forms: 
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/nrrewh.php

Slide 31

Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Non-resident Real Estate Withholding

https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2022-11/ADV_2022_32_electronic_signature.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/nrrewh.php


Income Requests

Penalty Waivers
• Requests should be in writing and all balances should be paid in full less the 

penalty.
• Allow at least 30 days to process.
• Notification will be sent to the taxpayer once processed.

Requests for Information
• Responses should be received within 20 days of request.
• Documentation can be mailed, emailed, faxed, or submitted through drop box.
• Email or fax encouraged, as it allows for proof of receipt.
• Once response is submitted, please allow 5 business days before checking the 

status.
• Only send copies, we are not responsible for originals sent via mail.

Personal and Corporate Income Tax
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Income Tax Forms Best Practices

Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Common Errors:
• Incorrect Federal identification numbers. ID numbers are used to verify 

withholding amounts.
• Use the correct code for the document on Sch W (“P” or “G”).
• Late employer filings could delay withholding verification.
• “Other payments” on RI-1040, line 14f and RI-1040NR, line 17e, generally 

will be used for extension payments only - do not include RI-TDI.
• Do NOT include Non-resident Real Estate Withholding on Schedule W 

(should be included on RI-1040NR, Line 17c). 
• Make sure the taxpayer’s name is consistent year to year
• Non-resident allocation indicators and schedules
• Include all schedules with Amended RI-1040, even if nothing has 

changed.
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Section Contact Information 

Personal and Corporate Income Tax

• Phone: 401-574-8829 Option #3
• Email: Tax.Assist@tax.ri.gov

Personal Income 
Tax

• Phone: 401-574-8829 Option#4
• Email: Tax.NonRes713@tax.ri.gov

Non-resident Real 
Estate Withholding

• Phone: 401-574-8829 Option #6
• Email: Tax.Corporate@tax.ri.gov

Corporate Income 
Tax
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mailto:Tax.Corporate@tax.ri.gov
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Cheri O’Connor

Assistant Chief Revenue Agent

Compliance and Collections, 
Registration, and Taxpayer Experience 

Section



Expansion of Rhode Island’s Tax Delinquent Public Disclosure List

• Previously: 
• Two lists posted on the Division of Taxation’s website.
• One includes up to 100 taxpayers with the largest amount of 

delinquent personal income tax.
• Second list includes up to 100 taxpayers with the largest 

amount of delinquent business taxes.

• Now: 
• Two lists posted on the Division of Taxation’s website.
• Criteria for inclusion on each of these lists expanded to 

taxpayers that owe at least $50,000.

Compliance and Collections
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Expansion of Rhode Island’s Tax Delinquent Public Disclosure List

• Our process:
• Formal notice sent by regular and certified mail.

• Notice sent to taxpayer 30 days in advance of intent to publish the 
taxpayer's name and account information.

• Taxpayer process:
• Taxpayer can choose to pay the delinquency or to enter into a 

reasonable installment agreement to pay the outstanding debt.

Slide 37
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Expansion of Rhode Island’s Tax Delinquent Public Disclosure List

• Conditions for inclusion:
• State tax balance has been unpaid for a period in excess of 90 days 

following the date their tax was due.
• Cases are not on appeal.

• Removal: 
• A taxpayer's account information is removed from the list as 

promptly as possible after that taxpayer pays the outstanding debt 
or enters into a reasonable installment agreement.

• Processes set by law: R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-1-34.

Slide 38

Compliance and Collections

https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-1/44-1-34.htm


Levy Program

• Liability must be in Collections

• Notifications
• Numerous bills have already been sent to the taxpayer
• Taxpayer is mailed a 10 Day Demand for Taxes Due
• If there is no resolution, the taxpayer is mailed a Notice of Intention 

To Levy (30-day reply)

• Resolutions
• Taxpayer must be in compliance with all filings
• Prior to a levy, the taxpayer may satisfy their debt, enter into an 

installment agreement or voluntary wage garnishment
• If a levy has already occurred, Taxation may consider a levy reduction 

based on various circumstances

Slide 39
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Compliance and Collections

• Complete Installment Agreement Request: Form RI-
9465

• Full compliance with all filing requirements

• You have a total balance greater than $1,000

• Remit 50% Down

• Remaining balance must be paid in 12 installments or less

• Complete Income/Expense Statement section of form 
RI-9465, Installment Agreement Request for review

• Provide any backup documentation requested

Installment Agreements: 
What You Need to Know

High likelihood for approval:

You may still be approved if you 
complete these steps:

Option 1

• Must continue to stay in compliance with filings and 
payments

• Interest and penalties continue to accrue until tax 
portion of liability is paid in full (if applicable)

Moving forward:

Requirements:

Option
2

Result

Result
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https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/2021/Misc/Installment-Agreement_b.pdf


Offers in Compromise: 

What You Need to Know

Compliance and Collections

• If debt is excessive, Illegal, or uncollectible Regulation 
280-RICR-20-00-6Qualifications:

• Complete Form RI-656
• Complete Form 433A or Form 433B
• Full compliance with all filing requirements

Requirements:

• Financial Statements and verification of reason 
request may be required

Documentation 
Needed:
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https://risos-apa-production-public.s3.amazonaws.com/DOR/REG_11594_20211206153516.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/2018/Collections/RI-656_03122018.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/1999/misc/433a.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/1999/misc/433b.pdf


Compliance and Collections

Letters of Good Standing (LOGS)

• Calendar Year 2023 Benchmarks:
• Assigned to a Revenue Officer for review within 24 hours of receipt.
• If Taxpayer is compliant, Letter of Good Standing issued within 2-3 business 

days.
• If Taxpayer is non-compliant, Letter of Good Standing issued within 21 

calendar days based on Division’s work with Taxpayer to become compliant.

• Calendar Year 2023 Stats
• Received 7,848 applications for the calendar year 2023
• 25.18% able to be issued without additional information
• Mailed nearly 5,872 Additional Information letters to contacts 
• 31% did not respond to these Additional Information letters
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Letters of Good Standing (LOGS)

Compliance and Collections

2020 2021 2022 2023 2024*
Letters of Good Standing Received 5428 6659 7796 7848 3995

Additional Information Letters Sent 4146 5192 6019 5872 2994
Letters of Good Standing Issued 4029 4188 4678 4803 2653

LOGS Closed w/ No Response From Taxpayer 1924 1793 2580 2453 1711
Average # of Calendar Days to Issuance-Non-Compliant 36 34 37 35 29

Average # of Calendar Days to Issuance-Compliant 3 3.93 3.64 3.44 2.9

Growth in LOGS Applications Received -22% 23% 17% 1%
Percentage of Cases Closed With No Response 35% 27% 33% 31% 43%

*2024 figures are Calendar Year ‘24, as of 8/26/2024
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Compliance and Collections

Letters of Good Standing (LOGS) Best Practices

• Requests can be made via drop box, mail or Portal

• Complete Compliance Check through Portal
• Will show missing filings/payments
• Include any delinquent filings and payments with LOGS application

• Verify the document requirements from LOGS application

• Be sure to include the $50 fee
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Compliance and Collections

Letters of Good Standing (LOGS) Best Practices

Requests can be made via drop box, mail or Portal
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Compliance and Collections

Letters of Good Standing (LOGS) Best Practices

Complete Compliance Check through Portal
• Will show missing filings/payments
• Include any delinquent filings and payments with LOGS 

application
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Compliance and Collections

Letters of Good Standing (LOGS) Best Practices

Verify the document requirements from LOGS application

Slide 47



Letters of Good Standing (LOGS) Best Practices

Be sure to include the $50 fee

Please NO cash in the drop box. Cash payments can be made at 
the cashier’s window in our office. You can pay securely online 
via bank account or credit card (credit card payments are subject 
to payment processing fees). You can also pay by check.

Compliance and Collections
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Letters of Good Standing (LOGS)

Compliance and Collections

• Entity must be compliant for all required tax returns, 
payments, and fees for all requests of Letters of Good 
Standing.
• Major Sale LOGS Requirements:

• An application for LOGS (§ 44-11-29).
• Proforma RI Tax Return with payment through date of sale. Must 

reflect the sale.
• Copy of Proforma Federal tax return (Form 4797/Sch. D).
• Schedule PTW or PTE needed if there is a gain with Non-resident 

members.
• Purchase and Sales Agreement.
• All other taxes must be filed and all balances paid.
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Section Contact Information 

• Phone: 401-574-8941
• Email: Tax.Collections@tax.ri.gov

Compliance and 
Collections Section

• Phone: 401-574-8484
• Email: Taxportal@tax.ri.gov

Taxpayer Portal 
Section
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Compliance and Collections

mailto:Tax.Collections@tax.ri.gov
mailto:Taxportal@tax.ri.gov


Break
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Justin Haas
Taxpayer Assistance Representative 

Supervisor
Compliance and Collections, Registration, 

and Taxpayer Experience Section

Taxpayer Portal
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Taxpayer Portal

Visit our website: 
https://tax.ri.gov/.

The Taxpayer Portal 
information page can be 
accessed from the “Online 
Services” menu.

https://tax.ri.gov/
https://tax.ri.gov/
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Taxpayer Portal

Our Portal information 
page is located at: 
https://tax.ri.gov/online-
services/tax-portal.

This page provides tips, 
answers to commonly 
asked questions, and 
contact information for the 
Portal Team.

The Taxpayer Portal can be 
accessed directly from this 
page.

https://tax.ri.gov/online-services/tax-portal
https://tax.ri.gov/online-services/tax-portal
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Taxpayer Portal

The Taxpayer Portal web 
address is: 
https://taxportal.ri.gov/.

https://taxportal.ri.gov/
https://taxportal.ri.gov/
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Taxpayer Portal

The latest Portal updates 
are posted to the sign-in 
page.

https://taxportal.ri.gov/
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Taxpayer Portal

Sign up:

https://taxportal.ri.gov/
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Taxpayer Portal

Sign in:

https://taxportal.ri.gov/


Slide 59

Taxpayer Portal

Frequently asked 
questions, helpful videos, 
and more information are 
all easy to access.

https://taxportal.ri.gov/
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Taxpayer Portal

Same Day Services aka 
Guest Services are 
available to those that do 
not yet have a Portal 
account.

https://taxportal.ri.gov/


Contact Information 

• Phone: 401-574-8484
• Email: Taxportal@tax.ri.gov

Taxpayer Portal 
Section

Slide 61

Taxpayer Portal

mailto:Taxportal@tax.ri.gov
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Amanda Cirillo

Principal Tax Auditor

Excise and Estate Tax Section



Legislative Changes

Excise and Estate Tax

Slide 63

Elimination of Fee for Obtaining or Renewing Exemption Certificate
• Beginning on or after January 1, 2025, no fee to apply for or renew Sales Tax 

Exemption Certificate for qualifying charitable organizations.
• Exemption Certificate for qualifying charitable, educational, and religious 

organizations to make qualifying purchases at retail without paying sales tax.
• In 2017, legislation established that Sales Tax Exemption Certificates are to be 

valid for four (4) years from the date of issuance.
• The process for applications and renewals will remain unchanged, except there 

will no longer be a fee ($25.00) for applications or renewals due on or after 
January 1, 2025.

Elimination of Estate Tax Filing Fee
• For decedents with date of death on or after January 1, 2025, no fee to file 

a Rhode Island Estate Tax return.
• For decedents with dates of death before January 1, 2025, the Estate Tax filing 

fee ($50.00) is still required, including for Estate Tax returns that are filed on or 
after January 1, 2025.



Legislative Changes

Increase of the Cigarette Tax
• Tax through August 31, 2024

• $4.25 per pack of 20 cigarettes

• As of 12:01 am on September 1, 2024
• Cigarette tax increased by $.25 per pack of 20 to $4.50 per pack 

• “Floor tax” on existing inventory
• Was measured as of 9/3/2024
• Return was due 9/16/2024

• Floor tax returns and payments not available on the Portal
• The prepaid sales tax on cigarettes also increased by $.30

• As of 9/3/2024 increased to $0.88 per pack of 20

• Notice to Cigarette Dealers

Other Tobacco Products (OTP) Change:
• OTP now required to be purchased from a licensed distributor

Excise and Estate Tax
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https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-08/Notice_2024_05_Cigarette_Tax_Dealers.pdf


Legislative Changes

Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems (aka Vape): Tax, Unified Licensing, & 
Required Purchase from a Licensed Distributor
• Regulation of Electronic Nicotine-Delivery System (ENDS) products, commonly known as vape 

now under Division of Taxation.

• ENDS products for sale at retail may only be purchased from distributors with Rhode Island 
licenses.

• Licenses for manufacturers, importers, and distributors consolidated into a single license application.

• Licenses for ENDS products retailers will be combined with licenses for cigarette retailers 
(known as a Cigarette Dealer License), and OTP.

• As of January 1, 2025, an ENDS tax is imposed on all ENDS products.
• $0.50/mL of the e-liquid and/or e-liquid products (prefilled closed systems).
• All other ENDS products (open system products) the taxed at 10% of the wholesale cost of the 

product.

• The sale, or offer for sale of, or the possession with intent to sell or to offer for sale, flavored 
ENDS products to individuals in Rhode Island is prohibited (Notice 2024-03).

• ENDS Webpage

Excise and Estate Tax
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https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-08/Notice_2024_04_ENDS_flavor_ban.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/sales-excise-taxes/ends-tax


Excise and Estate Tax
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Best Practices for Filing an Estate Tax Return

• Removal of $50 fee starting DOD after 01/01/2025
• Form-RI-706 Estate Tax return

• Form used for taxable and non-taxable estates
• Estates greater than $1.3M need to complete entire return
• Estates below $1.3M need to complete pages 1 – 4 including Part 

6, recapitulation schedule
• Taxable estate with DOD prior to 01/01/2015 should email 

Tax.Estate@tax.ri.gov for Form 100A
• 2024 Inflation adjusted amounts:

• Threshold $1,774,583 - Credit $83,370
• 2025 Inflation adjusted amounts:

• Threshold $1,802,431 - Credit $85,375 

mailto:Tax.Estate@tax.ri.gov


Excise and Estate Tax
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Best Practices for Filing an Estate Tax Return

• All applicable items on Part 6, Recapitulation Schedule must be 
completed for taxable and non-taxable estates.

• Backup must be provided for all items listed on part 6 for estates 
greater than $1.3M.

• Early lien releases only provided when the decedent / estate owns 
multiple properties in Rhode Island.
• Full payment of the estimated liability must be included.

• Book value at date of death hierarchy:
• Purchase and sale within 6 months of DOD;
• Appraisal; and
• Assessed values (may request appraisal based on return review).



Excise and Estate Tax
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Best Practices for Filing an Estate Tax Return

• Other items required of all returns:
• Certificate of Appointment;
• Power of attorney, if applicable;
• Wills;
• Trust agreements; and
• Other items listed on part 5.

• Copies of federal schedules are not acceptable in place of the RI 
schedules.  All RI schedules must be completed.



Excise and Estate Tax
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Estate Tax Update



Excise and Estate Tax
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Electronic Filing & Payment Mandate

Electronic filing and payment mandate for larger business registrant 
taxpayers effective 01/01/2023.

• Larger Business Registrant defined:
• is operating a business whose combined annual liability for all taxes administered 

by the Division of Taxation for the entity is or exceeds $5,000; or
• is operating a business whose annual gross income is over $100,000 for the entity.

• Penalties:
• $50 per occurrence for failure to file electronically.
• 5% of tax amount or $500, whichever is less for failure to pay electronically.

• Taxpayers with reasonable causes may be exempt on a case-by-case basis.

• Individuals and trusts filing personal or fiduciary income tax returns are not 
larger business registrants for the purposes of R.I. Gen Laws §44-1-31.2.



Excise and Estate Tax

Portal Update

• Meals and Beverage Tax
• Schedule A must be completed
• Itemized listing of city and 

towns required
• Will be unable to submit return 

without this information being 
fully completed
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Sales Tax Responsibilities

Excise and Estate Tax

When is a sales permit required?
• Every business making sales at retail or renting living quarters.
• Retail sale

• Sale, lease or rental of tangible personal property
• “Tangible personal property” means personal property which may be seen, 

weighed, measured, felt, or touched, or which is in any other manner 
perceptible to the senses. 

• Prewritten computer software
• Specified digital products
• Taxable services

• Sales permit is required even though all products sold are exempt 
from sales tax.

• Annual renewal by 02/01 for no fee.
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Sales Tax Responsibilities

Excise and Estate Tax

• What is Taxable?
• All Tangible Personal Property and certain enumerated services.

• § 44-18-7.3. Services defined
• Taxicab and limousine services
• Other road transportation services
• Pet care services
• Room resellers
• Investigation, Guard, and Armored Car Services

• A better question: “What is not taxable?”
• § 44-18-30. Gross receipts exempt from sales and use taxes
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http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-18/44-18-7.3.htm
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-18/44-18-30.htm


Slide 74

• Exemption examples
• Food and Food Ingredients-substances, whether in liquid, 

concentrated, solid, frozen, dried, or dehydrated form, that are 
sold for ingestion or chewing by humans and are consumed for 
their taste or nutritional value. 
• Does not include “alcoholic beverages,” “tobacco,” “candy,” “dietary 

supplements,” and “soft drinks.”
• Prepared foods are taxable

• Manufacturing purposes (exemption certificate required)
• Electricity and Gas
• Clothing less than $250
• Exempt Organizations (exemption certificate required)
• Sales for resale (exemption certificate required)

Excise and Estate Tax

Sales Tax Responsibilities



Section Contact Information

Excise and Estate Tax

• Phone: 401-574-8829 Option #8
• Email: Tax.Estate@tax.ri.gov

Estate Tax

• Phone: 401-574-8955
• Email: Tax.Excise@tax.ri.gov

Sales & Excise Tax
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mailto:Tax.Estate@tax.ri.gov
mailto:Tax.Excise@tax.ri.gov
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Leo Lebeuf

Taxpayer Experience Liaison



Forms Approval and Submission Process

Draft Form 
Posting

Software Vendor 
Submissions

Final Form 
Postings

Submission 
Review Vendor Approval

Tax Forms

MeF, 2D Barcode, and Paper filings follow this process

• To allow software 
vendors to update 
software products 
for new forms and 
changes to existing 
forms

• Begin programming 
updates of 
Taxation system(s)

• Taxation creates 
test cases for 
software 
vendors

• Software 
vendors submit 
test case returns 
for Taxation 
review 

• Software vendors 
are allowed to 
submit test cases 
prior to final forms

• If forms are 
updated after 
submission, vendor 
is informed by 
Taxation to 
resubmit

• Taxation will 
review 
submissions and 
require vendors 
to make 
necessary 
corrections prior 
to approval

• Taxation posts 
approved 
software 
vendors to 
website 
periodically

• Approved 
Software 
Vendors | RI 
Division of 
Taxation
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https://tax.ri.gov/resources/software-developers/approved-software-vendors


Forms Approval and Submission Process

Tax Forms

Slide 78

Approved Software Vendors

Listing of approved vendors, and which forms are approved for each 
is available at: 
https://tax.ri.gov/resources/software-developers/approved-software-vendors.

This list is updated periodically, it is not updated in real-time. The 
listing will be updated at the end of December or early January. 

Please check back at that time for an updated listing of approved 
vendors for Tax Year 2024/filing season 2025. That is generally when 
approvals are finalized and when they will start being added.

https://tax.ri.gov/resources/software-developers/approved-software-vendors


Forms Approval and Submission Process
FAQs

Tax Forms
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1. Do approved vendors need to support SMLLC filings?

Yes. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2024, all vendors supporting 
SMLLC filings on Form RI-1065 will be required to properly support the filing 
to be an approved vendor. 

The RI Division of Taxation expects that a SMLLC entity will be able to:

• File Form RI-1065 as an unlinked state return.

• File as a SMLLC without having to create an additional member for their 
entity.

• Be able to verify that the return does not have errors without having to 
disable error checking on the return in order to submit the return.



Forms Approval and Submission Process
FAQs

Tax Forms
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2. Do approved vendors need to support electronic filing and payments of 
Extensions and Vouchers?

Yes. All software vendors supporting the following tax types will be required to 
support electronic filing of Extensions and Vouchers to be an approved vendor.

• Electronic filing of extensions for:
• Form RI-1065
• Form RI-1120S with or without a payment, using Form BUS-EXT
• Form RI-1120C

• Electronic filing & paying of return payments as part of submission included 
with:
• Form RI-1065
• Form RI-1120S using the existing elements within the MeF schema
• Form RI-1120C

}

}



Forms Approval and Submission Process
FAQs

Tax Forms
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3. The software vendor I use is not listed as approved on the Division of 
Taxation’s website. What should I do?

If your software vendor is not listed as approved under the tax type you are 
trying to file, please contact your vendor directly. 



Website Components and Features

• Taxpayer Experience Office

• Trainings and Presentations

• Industry Guides

• Compliant Taxpayer Profiles
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Taxpayer Experience Office

https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/taxpayer-experience-office


State Tax Notices Timeline

Slide 83

Notice of 
Proposed 

Assessment

• Issued if an 
adjustment is 
made to a filed 
return prior to 
due date; or

• Issued if an 
adjustment is 
made to a filed 
return after the 
due date.

30 Days Notice of 
Assessment

• Issued after 
due date of 
return filed 
with a balance 
due matching 
the balance due 
on a filed 
return; or

• Issued 30 days 
after a Notice 
of Proposed 
Assessment.

30 Days Statement of 
Account

• Issued 30 days 
after a Notice 
of Assessment.

• Includes all 
outstanding 
liabilities across 
tax types.

•Continues 
issuance up to 
3 times or until 
paid.

Annually Annual Statement 
of Account

•Periodic 
reminder notice 
of outstanding 
across all taxes.

Taxpayer Experience Office



State Tax Notices Timeline

• Other assessment notices
• Compliance Notices – similar to the NOPA

• CP 2000 – match to federal audit change notice
• Federal State Match – matching state filing to federal filing for 

discrepancies
• IRMF – matching federal income sources to RI non-filers
• IRTF – Filed federal return with no RI return

• Audit Notices
• Audit Notice of Assessment
• Responsible Officer Notice of Assessment

• Overpayment Adjustment Notice

Slide 84

Taxpayer Experience Office



Changes to the RI
Notice of Assessment

• QR code to make 
payments easier
• Use the invoice number
and account ID number

• Language updates for 
clarity

• Hearing language 
separated to own 
section

Slide 85

Page 1

Taxpayer Experience 
Office



Changes to the RI
Notice of Assessment

• New updated table 
• Breakdown of liabilities
• Breakdown of  credits 

and payments

• QR code to website for 
explanations of billing 
content (removing need 
for 3rd page)

Slide 86

Page 2

Taxpayer Experience 
Office



Homework
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YouTube Video at the QR code above or at: 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efl7bHaYnsc&t=3284s

Taxpayer Experience Office

Want more tax info?
Watch our joint presentation with the RI Department of State, 

Business Services Division “LLC Fundamentals for the Solopreneur”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efl7bHaYnsc&t=3284s


Expanded guidance for farmers: ADV 2024-24

• Farm exemption
• Sales and Use Tax Exemption for farm equipment for qualified farmers.
• Exemption relieves the farm of its obligation to pay sales and use tax on its 

purchases of certain equipment and supplies used in farming operations.
• A farm must apply with the Division of Taxation to obtain a Certificate of 

Exemption for Farm Equipment/Structure Construction Material if it qualifies for 
the exemption. 

• To qualify for the exemption:
• Applicants: 

• Provide proof the farm meets or exceeds annual gross sales thresholds from commercial farming 
for 1 year prior to the application. 

• Renewals: 
• Provide proof the farm meets or exceeds annual gross sales thresholds from commercial for 2 

years prior to the renewal.
• The level for which the farmer qualifies impacts the value of a motor vehicle 

that can be purchased. 

Taxpayer Experience Office
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Information for farmers

https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-09/ADV_2024_24_Farm.pdf


Expanded guidance for farmers: ADV 2024-24

• Sales tax requirements
• All taxpayers that make retail sales, including farmers, must register 

with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation and obtain a sales permit.
• Even if a farm or farmer sells only products that are exempt from sales 

tax, a sales permit is required.
• Obligation to collect and remit Rhode Island sales tax on taxable retail 

sales is separate and distinct from a farm exemption, if the farm holds 
one. 
• A farm exemption certificate relieves the farm of its obligation to pay tax on its 

purchases of certain equipment and supplies used in farming operations. 
• A farm’s exemption certificate does not exempt the farm from collecting and 

remitting sales tax on all taxable retail sales. The exemption applies only to 
purchases made by the farm.

Taxpayer Experience Office
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Information for farmers

https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-09/ADV_2024_24_Farm.pdf


Single Member LLC
• Entity separate from its 

owner
• Registered as an entity 

with RI Department of 
State

• Has liability protection—
limited to investment

• Registration date—
dissolution date

• Subject to annual charge 
(currently $400) on 
separate tax form for 
state purposes

Sole Proprietor

• Owner is the entity
• Can register a trade 

name with local 
municipality

• Personal liability
• No dissolution to 

close business
• No separate filing 

requirement or 
annual charge

Similarities
• Files Form 1040 

reporting on 
Schedule C, E or F to 
pay federal income 
taxes

• Files RI-1040/RI-
1040NR to pay state 
income tax on 
Federal AGI including 
Schedule C income
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Single Member LLC vs Sole Proprietor



More Tax Resources

• Sign up for our emails

• Tax news delivered to your inbox

• Quarterly newsletters

• Important updates

Slide 91

Taxpayer Experience Office

https://tax.ri.gov/


Section Contact Information 

• Phone: 401-574-8983
• Email: 

Taxpayer.Experience@tax.ri.gov

Taxpayer 
Experience Office
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Taxpayer Experience Office

mailto:Taxpayer.Experience@tax.ri.gov


Advisories

• www.tax.ri.gov > “Guidance” > “Advisories” > select the appropriate 
year 

• https://tax.ri.gov/guidance/advisories
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Even More Tax Resources

http://www.tax.ri.gov/
https://tax.ri.gov/guidance/advisories


Tax Compliance Days

• www.tax.ri.gov > “About Us” > “Tax Compliance Day”

• https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/tax-compliance-day
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Even More Tax Resources

http://www.tax.ri.gov/
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/tax-compliance-day


Compliant Taxpayer Profiles

• www.tax.ri.gov > “About Us” > “Taxpayer Experience Office” > scroll to 
“Outreach and Useful Materials”

• https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-
01/2024%20Taxpayer%20Profiles%20132024.pdf
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Even More Tax Resources

http://www.tax.ri.gov/
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-01/2024%20Taxpayer%20Profiles%20132024.pdf


Upcoming Events

• www.tax.ri.gov > “About Us” > “Taxpayer Experience Office” scroll to 
“Calendar Events/Upcoming Events” > “This Month’s Calendar” 
Events or “Upcoming Calendar Events”

• Taxpayer Experience Office | RI Division of Taxation
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Even More Tax Resources

http://www.tax.ri.gov/
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/taxpayer-experience-office


Past presentations

• www.tax.ri.gov > “About Us” > “Taxpayer Experience Office” scroll to 
“Calendar Events/Upcoming Events” > select the appropriate year

• Taxpayer Experience Office | RI Division of Taxation
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Even More Tax Resources

http://www.tax.ri.gov/
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/taxpayer-experience-office


• Advisories
• www.tax.ri.gov > “Guidance” > “Advisories” > select the appropriate year 

https://tax.ri.gov/guidance/advisories

• Tax Compliance Days: 
• www.tax.ri.gov > “About Us” > “Tax Compliance Day”
• https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/tax-compliance-day

• Compliant Taxpayer Profiles
• www.tax.ri.gov > “About Us” > “Taxpayer Experience Office” > scroll to “Outreach and Useful 

Materials”
• https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-01/2024%20Taxpayer%20Profiles%20132024.pdf

• Upcoming Events
• www.tax.ri.gov > “About Us” > “Taxpayer Experience Office” scroll to “Calendar Events/Upcoming 

Events” > “This Month’s Calendar” Events or “Upcoming Calendar Events”
• Taxpayer Experience Office | RI Division of Taxation

• Past presentations
• www.tax.ri.gov > “About Us” > “Taxpayer Experience Office” scroll to “Calendar Events/Upcoming 

Events” > select the appropriate year
• Taxpayer Experience Office | RI Division of Taxation
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Even More Tax Resources

http://www.tax.ri.gov/
https://tax.ri.gov/guidance/advisories
http://www.tax.ri.gov/
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/tax-compliance-day
http://www.tax.ri.gov/
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-01/2024%20Taxpayer%20Profiles%20132024.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/taxpayer-experience-office
http://www.tax.ri.gov/
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/taxpayer-experience-office


Questions
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Thank you Contact Us
401-574-8829
Taxpayer.Experience@tax.ri.gov
One Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908

www.tax.ri.gov

STRICT & CONFIDENTIAL Slide 100

mailto:Taxpayer.Experience@tax.ri.gov
http://www.tax.ri.gov/
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