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About Us

The Division of Taxation: Total State Tax Revenue Collected by

. . . the Division of Taxation
One of six agencies in the Department of Revenue for Fiscal Year 2024 ($, In Millions)

 The Rhode Island Division of Taxation employs 228 tax professionals,
administering more than 59 different taxes and fees. FY24 ReceiptS' $5 14B

+ Taxes represent the most significant source of General Fund revenue for Rhode
Island — funds used to help pay for vital services including public safety,
education, transportation, and recreation for all Rhode Islanders.

10.60%

» Each year, the Division collects and distributes more than $5.14 billion in funds
to the State, municipalities, and other agencies (as of FY 24).

 To foster voluntary compliance with the Rhode Island tax laws and

instill public confidence through professional, impartial and ethical
conduct.

« To administer and collect all taxes as required by Rhode Island law in
the most efficient and cost-effective manner.

* To assist taxpayers by helping them understand and meet their tax
responsibilities. OWithholding OSales OCorp OPIT MEstate, M&B, Hotel & Other
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About Us: Key Stakeholders/Interactions

» File/Pay returns/taxes/fees

» Legislative Review/Testimony

» Tax issues in .« Refunds eviev
Budgeting © Gerviees (Eves e * Revenue Estimating Conference
* Tax policy Taxpayers Outreach, LOGS) ’ * Tax Policy/Administration
* Constituent . Perspe.ctive
Assistance * Reporting
Governor’s . Consti[cuergc Assiztance :
F * Annual Audit-Auditor Genera
Office General Hat ARdiEAd
Assembly

« Distributions

f\;-':;[esl/;::;rage o wmw STATE OF RHODE ISLAND » Starting poiqt for Personal ‘
Tax, Real Estate Cities/Towns, @ Division of Taxation IRS mcoms Susiness Corp Taxis
UV EYERISS T2 Tourism Bureaus wf Department of Revenue + Data exchange, cc))/mpliance
programs yield millions of
dollars
Other State + Confidentiality/Audits
Agencies/General Officers
(Within DOR, HSRI, OMB, Courts I
Accounts/ Controls, Dept + Appeals, Litigation,
. Enforcement
. Enforcement Transportation, DLT) : * Offset refunds for
*  Collection Tax Pr.Ofessmnals Other states court fees
+  Reporting +  Education RI Society of CPAs
. Data Exchange . Outreach to Enhance Accountants
. Technical Compliance Others e Coordination/Communication
Support . Constituent Assistance * Information Sharing
. Constituent ¢ Collaboration
Assistance e Offsets

!ﬂ&! STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
(e s o o
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Taxpayer Experience Office/Team

_5 Taxpayer Experience Office

Team
Sl * Tax Administrator
Associate Ta
* Asst Tax Administrator
Assistant Tax Administrator |«
| * External Facing:
| | | ! | Taxpayer Experience
Liaison
campliancF = Cpllcctions Tax Assessment & Review Audit & Investigation Operations Analytics
Registration
* Internal Taxpayer
g ™ Experience Team
o (With Initial Focus on
[ Tummpwrparioncs | ||| DA Eate T Collections/Compliance)
—p| Project Oversight
P Revenue Accounting
| * Continue Improvements
> Cczmlfliaruce & > Personal & Cc;rporate »| Forms, Credits & Incentives AC rOSS AgenCy at al.l.
ollections Income Tax .
SRy Taxpayer Contact Points

w__‘“‘m STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
St

n
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Division of Taxation: Mission

The Tax Administration Efficiency Continuum

— FORCED COMPLIANCE

More expensive, less efficient, but necessary

VOLUNTARY COMPLIANCE

Less expensive, more efficient revenue generation

The Taxpayer’s Stay informed of tax EVEY Ask questions File taxes and Respond to Participate in Defend Defend Defend
Responsibilities obligations information as needed forms questions audit position position position
Be e .
The Division of Educate & q Optimize A Take Litigate Enforce
Draft clear and E accessible T Correct Audit & - - -
Taxation’s Actions timely Tax law i) by email/ ulllid errors investigate o Stalnstas SEnas
instructions phone processes actions actors penalties
- A A A A
Creating a Expanding Improving Expanding
How are we dedica?ed taxpayer the tax!oayer s?a_ff the remote
. . experience team, service training, audit
im pr0V| n g expanding outreach portal, data program,
to aid taxpayers, creating analysis, implementing
- taxpayer providing more digital improving best
services, direct access f(_)r signature forms and practices
taxpayers, creating options, data
volu ntary educational upgrading retrieval '
. : Developing
s material for technology, .
compllance e common taxpayer appointment industry
issues system pilot guidelines
—]

I Taxpayer Experience Office/Team
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Fraud Trends

« |IRS/States/Tax Software
Industry collaborating on fraud
detection and prevention and
monitoring data/trends through
the IDTTRF-ISAC and the
Security Summit.

« How Do You Report Suspected
Tax Fraud Activity? | Internal
Revenue Service (irs.gov)

 Dirty Dozen | Internal Revenue
Service (irs.gov)

* Criminals are becoming more
creative, with better
technology, and means to
perpetrate fraud.
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https://www.irs.gov/individuals/how-do-you-report-suspected-tax-fraud-activity
https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/dirty-dozen

How to Mitigate Fraud

* Consistently update software and operating systems with latest
patches—outdated applications and operating systems are the
most targeted vulnerabilities for ransomware.

« Train your staff about phishing, cyber security and to look
carefully at emails before responding. Check and double
check.

* Multifactor Authentication/Strong Passwords.

« Back up data on a regular basis; maintain it on a separate
device and store it offline.

 Implement a disaster recovery plan.

 Check the Taxpayer Portal: RI Taxpayer Portal.

« How Do You Report Suspected Tax Fraud Activity? | Internal
Revenue Service (irs.gov).

 Reach out to the RI Division of Taxation: Contact Us | RI
Division of Taxation.

f Taxation Slide 9



https://taxportal.ri.gov/rptp/portal/home/!ut/p/z1/04_Sj9CPykssy0xPLMnMz0vMAfIjo8zijS0MnN09DIy83EODjQwc_R1DTcIcvYAsE_1wQgqigNIGOICjAVB_FCElBbkRBumOiooA7YFcLQ!!/dz/d5/L2dBISEvZ0FBIS9nQSEh/
https://www.irs.gov/individuals/how-do-you-report-suspected-tax-fraud-activity
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us

Compliance and Collections

Installment Agreements:
What You Need to Know

Requirements: High likelihood for approval:

You have a total balance greater than $1,000
Remit 50% Down

Complete Installment Agreement Request: Form RI-
9465

. . - : Option 1
Full compliance with all filing requirements Remaining balance must be paid in 12 installments or less
Option Result
2
You may still be approved if you q )
complete these steps: Moving forward:
Complete Income/Expense Statement section of form M:Srfwgr?&tmue to stay in compliance with filings and
RI-9465, Installment Agreement Request for review Result ey

Interest and penalties continue to accrue until tax
portion of liability is paid in full (if applicable)

Provide any backup documentation requested
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https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/2021/Misc/Installment-Agreement_b.pdf

Compliance and Collections

Offers in Compromise:
What You Need to Know

If debt is excessive, Illegal, or uncollectible Regulation

Qualifications: D80 RICR 50 OO

. Complete Form RI-656
Req ul rements: Complete Form 433A or Form 433B

Full compliance with all filing requirements

DOCU mentat|0n Financial Statements and verification of reason
N eed ed . request may be required

Taxation Slide 11


https://risos-apa-production-public.s3.amazonaws.com/DOR/REG_11594_20211206153516.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/2018/Collections/RI-656_03122018.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/1999/misc/433a.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/1999/misc/433b.pdf

Carlita Annicelll

Chief of Personal and Corporate Income
Tax




Personal and Corporate Income Tax

/ * Personal Exemptions $4,950

« Standard Deduction
. Single $10,550
« Joint/Qualifying Widow(er) $21,150
« HOH $15,850
* Married filing Separately $10,575

* Social Security Amounts
« Single $104,200
- Joint $130,250

* Pension and Annuity
« Single $104,200
K - Joint $130,250

2024 Tax Year
Inflationary changes

~

Exemption and Deduction Phaseout Amounts
« $246,450 - $274,650

* Property Tax Relief Credit $675
e Income Limitation $39,275
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax
Legislative Changes — Impacting Tax Year 2025

Pass-through Entity Tax Credit Percent

* Decreases the credit percentage that the individual receives for the tax paid by the
entity from 100% to 90%.

Cannabis - Allowance of 280E Deduction
» Allows for a deduction for the business expenses disallowed federally by IRC 280E.

NOL Carryforward

* Increases the number of years that a business may use a NOL carryforward from 5
to 20 years.

Pension Income Modification Increase

* This change increases the Pension and Annuity Income Modification from $20,000 to
$50,000 (or $100,000 for filers married filing jointly). It does not change the
qualifying income thresholds.
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax
Withholding

* All employers will receive a “Withholding Account Summary”
notice from the RI Division of Taxation.

 Sent in December of each year informing them of required due dates for
payment of their taxes withheld and their return filings for the upcoming
calendar year.

« Effective with tax year 2024, the process for filing W-2s, W-3s,
and 1099s is changing.
« Employers and/or their authorized representative will be able to submit

properly formatted W-2 and 1099 files electronically using the R.I.
Division of Taxation’s Taxpayer Portal.

visio ”f;I‘axation Slide 15



Personal and Corporate Income Tax
Withholding

Updates e

RHODE ISLAND EMPLOYER’S

* Withholding booklet. — INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING
TABLES

* LOI specific to Withholding for

this season for software
vendors.

oo www.tax.r.gov ooy

”W’[‘axation Slide 16



Personal and Corporate Income Tax
Withholding

How do | file W-2s?

* |If you are an employer submitting W-2s for your business, you can:
* Upload your W-2 file in your Withholding account in the Taxpayer Portal, or
 Send your W-2 file on a CD or DVD to the R.l. Division of Taxation.

* If you are an accounting firm submitting W-2s for your client(s) AND you are
authorized to access your client(s) Taxpayer Portal account, you can upload one
file containing your client(s) W-2 information via the Taxpayer Portal.

* If you are a payroll company or third-party vendor registered as a bulk filer, you
can upload bulk files containing your clients W-2 information via the Taxpayer
Portal.
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Withholding
How do | file W-2s? (continued) STATE OF
RHODE ISLAND
* NOTE: Regardless of the filer type, the W-2 file DIVISION OF
must be in the proper EFW2 format. TAXATION
» See the Withholding Filing Requirements WITHHOLDING
Guidg for information on thg EFW2 file TAX FILING &
requirements and specifications.
TRANSMITTAL
* This file format is the same as last year’s. REQUIREMENTS

Or click/tap the guide, right. '

Taxation
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https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-09/Withholding%20Filing%20Requirements_092024.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-09/Withholding%20Filing%20Requirements_092024.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-09/Withholding%20Filing%20Requirements_092024.pdf

Personal and Corporate Income Tax
Withholding

How do | file W-3s?

* |If you are an employer submitting W-3s for your business, you can:
 Upload your W-3 file in your Withholding account in the Taxpayer Portal, or
 Send your W-3 file on a CD or DVD to the Division of Taxation.

* If you are an accounting firm submitting W-3s for your client(s) AND you are
authorized to access your client(s) Taxpayer Portal account, you can upload one
file containing your client(s) W-3 information via the Division’s Portal.

* If you are a payroll company or third-party vendor registered as a bulk filer, you
can upload bulk files containing your clients W-3 information via Taxpayer
Portal.
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax
Withholding

How do | file W-3s? (continued)

STATE OF
* NOTE: This process will replace the prior RHODE ISLAND
process of uploading to the secure
EFT link sent to you by DIVISION OF
Tax.ProdControl@tax.ri.gov. TAXATION
WITHHOLDING
TAX FILING &
TRANSMITTAL

More information in the guide, right. = REQUIREMENTS

of Taxation Slide 20



https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-09/Withholding%20Filing%20Requirements_092024.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-09/Withholding%20Filing%20Requirements_092024.pdf

Personal and Corporate Income Tax
Withholding

How do | file 1099s?

* If you are an individual submitting 1099s for your business:
* You can upload your 1099 file in your Withholding account in the Taxpayer Portal.

* If you are an accounting firm submitting 1099s for your client(s):
* You can upload one file containing all of your client(s) 1099 information via the Taxpayer Portal.

* If you are a payroll company or third-party vendor registered as a bulk filer:
* You can upload bulk files containing your clients 1099 information via Taxpayer Portal.

« To register as a bulk filer, complete and submit the Payroll Letter of Intent found on the
Software Developers page.

* NOTES:
» Regardless of the filer type, the 1099 file must be in the proper FIRE format. See the
Withholding Filing Requirements Guide for information.
* 1099s should only be filed with the Division of Taxation if there is Rhode Island withholding
listed on the 1099.
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https://tax.ri.gov/resources/software-developers
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p1220.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-09/Withholding%20Filing%20Requirements_092024.pdf

State of Rhode Island Division of Taxation Hll‘l “ll Hm I” Il‘l”l

Personal and Corporate W 37 qii
Income Tax Fiduciary Income Tax Return

23101799990101

¥ou must check a MName of estate or trust Federal employer identification number [
ban:
Fid UcC i ary E:_E:::E and  Name and ftitle of fiduciary
Banhkrupicy Addrazs 1
Estate
° Amended Addrass 2
* Filed on Form RI-1041
City, town or post office State ZIP code E-mail address
) Fi d u C i a ry i n C O m e fO llOWS Year End Calendar Year: 01/01/2023 through 12/31/2023 Fizcal Year: beginning /2023 through F2024
federal tax treatment on ncome

1 Federal total income of fiductary from Faderal Form 1047, e Q. e e e 1

most items of income

* Follows same increasing/decreasing modifications as personal income tax

* Flow through income to beneficiary(s) is on Line 19 of Federal 1041
* Nonresident beneficiaries subject to pass-through withholding on Schedule PTW
 Schedule PTE available for tax year 2024
* K-1reporting on the flow through income
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Tax Year 2023:

Use BUS-EST

instead of RI-
1096PT-ES

04/15/23

Taxation

Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Pass-Through Entity Changes

Tax Year 2023:
Use BUS-EXT
instead of RI-
4868PT or filing of
Entity Return with
PTW Schedule

03/15/24 04/15/24

!

Tax Year 2024:
Use of BUS-
EST with Entity
checkbox
instead of PTE
checkbox

Pass-Through Withholding

Tax Year 2023:
Filing of Entity

Return on
extension with
PTW Schedule

09/15/24

Pass-Through Entity Tax

A

04/15/25

!

Tax Year 2024:
Use of BUS-
EXT with Entity
checkbox
instead of PTE
checkbox or
filing of entity
return with
PTE Schedule

09/15/25

!

Tax Year 2024:
Filing of entity
return with PTE
Schedule on
extension
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax
TY 2024 Updated Filing Options

Estimates Available

MeF

R1-1040

RI-1120C, RI-1120S,
RI1-1065 (with PTE &
PTW Schedules)

* RI-1041 (with PTE &
PTW Schedules)

* (PTE for corp. only)

 May issue a K1 to its
beneficiaries, but it
cannot receive a K1 that
notes PTE credit.

* Return Payments
* Extensions

Portal

e Extensions
e Estimates

on Paper¥*

 RI-1040ES
« BUS-EST
 RI-1041ES

*Please note, if the taxpayer
is an entity subject to RI’s
Electronic Filing Mandate,
filing on paper may subject
the taxpayer to penalties.

S5 Sy STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
v . - - -
M,S ivision of Taxation

Department of Revenue

Slide 24



Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Pension and annuity modification — Tax Year 2024

« Modification cap = $20,000 (increasing to $50,000 in Tax Year 2025)
« Inflation increase to current AGI limit
* For 2024: Single — $104,200/ Joint — $130,250
 Modification is based on full retirement age of 66 years and 8 months
« Born on or before May 1, 1958
« All filing statuses (single, separate, head of household, married joint or widow(er))
 Once AGI limitations are passed, no modification
 Does not include IRAs
« $20,000 limitation applies per individual for pension/annuity - unlimited for SSI
 “Rhode Island Retirement Income Tax Guide - Modifications For Retirement Income”

* Produced annually (TY 2024 version to be forthcoming) - TY 2023 version is online
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https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-03/PUB_2024-01_retirement_income_guide.pdf

Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Earned Income Tax Credit Reminders

« The Rhode Island EITC is in addition to the Federal EITC. Rhode Island EITC rate is a
percentage of the Federal EITC amount: 2018-2023=15.0%, 2024-2025=16.0%.

* RI EITC is a refundable credit, which means the credit will be refunded to the taxpayer to
the extent it exceeds the taxpayer’s tax liability.

* Rl conforms to federal eligibility and income thresholds.

* Rl tax preparer’s regulation includes guidance on due diligence requirements and records
retention for EITC and RI-1040H property tax credit. Tax Preparer's Regulation 280-RICR-
20-55-4.

 If credit ineligibility is suspected, we may need to take extra steps to validate the EITC
claim.

» Other points to consider:

* Returns without expenses.
« Documentation for income reporting (e.g. requests for licenses, records, statements,
etc.).
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https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/280-20-55-4

Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Extension Discussion

 Extension of Time to File (280-RICR-20-55-2)

« Extension of time to file; not time to pay.

Definition of a Proper Estimate:

* “Proper estimate” means a Rhode Island extension form filed by the regular due date which declares at least
eighty percent (80%) of the tax due for the taxable year.

Extension must be filed on time and have “proper estimate” to be considered valid.

Federal extension is acceptable if no payment is due on 04/15.

Regulation covers “Reasonable Cause” for waiver of late filing addition to the tax.

f Taxation Slide 27



https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/280-20-55-2

Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Non-resident Real Estate Withholding

 Referred to as “71.3 Withholding”

* Any seller that is not an individual is required to obtain an EIN per the IRS.
* Link - Do you need an EIN? | Internal Revenue Service (irs.gov)

* If property is owned by a LLC or Trust, required to provide the selling entity’s
info, not the individual’s information.

« Discharges should match the election forms if the election method was used.

* Please make every attempt to adhere to the 20-day rule, regarding submissions
 We must receive the election form 20 or more days before the date of the closing.
* Please remember - most mail is received 3 to 5 days after it is mailed.
* Do not submit forms with a past date.
* Avoid mail delays by using our email process:
1.  Email: Tax.NonRes713@tax.ri.gov.

2. Always include the name of the seller and the property address in the email subject line.
3. Remittances that require payment cannot be emailed.
4. Complete forms entirely.
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https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/do-you-need-an-ein
mailto:Tax.Nonres713@tax.ri.gov

Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Non-resident Real Estate Withholding

* Helpful Links

« Latest Advisory regarding electronic signature submission:
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2022-
11/ADV_2022 32 electronic_signature.pdf

 Non-resident Real Estate Withholding forms:
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/nrrewh.php

of Taxation Slide 29



https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2022-11/ADV_2022_32_electronic_signature.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/nrrewh.php

Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Income Requests

Penalty Waivers
 Requests should be in writing and all balances should be paid in full less the
penalty.
 Allow at least 30 days to process.
* Notification will be sent to the taxpayer once processed.

Requests for Information
Responses should be received within 20 days of request.
« Documentation can be mailed, emailed, faxed, or submitted through drop box.
 Email or fax encouraged, as it allows for proof of receipt.
 Once response is submitted, please allow 5 business days before checking the

status.
« Only send copies, we are not responsible for originals sent via mail.

of Taxation Slide 30




Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Income Tax Forms Best Practices

Common Errors:

* Incorrect Federal identification numbers. ID numbers are used to verify
withholding amounts.

 Use the correct code for the document on Sch W (“P” or “G”).
« Late employer filings could delay withholding verification.

* “Other payments” on RI-1040, line 14f and RI-1040NR, line 17e, %enerally
will be used for extension payments only - do not include RI-TDI.

* Do NOT include Non-resident Real Estate Withholding on Schedule W
(should be included on RI-1040NR, Line 17c).

 Make sure the taxpayer’s name is consistent year to year
 Non-resident allocation indicators and schedules

* Include all schedules with Amended RI-1040, even if nothing has
changed.

f Taxation Slide 31



Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Section Contact Information

Personal Income  Phone: 401-574-8829 Option #3
Tax « Email: Tax.Assist@tax.ri.gov

N BRI CE Bl © Phone: 401-574-8829 Option#4
Se-LR W idelalellellg}-3 - Email: Tax.NonRes713@tax.ri.gov

Corporate Income  Phone: 401-574-8829 Option #6
 Email: Tax.Corporate@tax.ri.gov
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Leo Lebeuf
Taxpayer Experience Liaison
Excise and Estate Tax Section




Excise and Estate Tax

Legislative Changes

Elimination of Fee for Obtaining or Renewing Exemption Certificate

* Beginning on or after January 1, 2025, no fee to apply for or renew
exemption certificate for charities

« Exemption Certificate for qualifying charitable, educational, and religious
organizations to make qualifying purchases at retail without paying sales tax.

* In 2017, legislation established that Sales Tax Exemption Certificates are to be
valid for four (4) years from the date of issuance.

* The process for applications and renewals will remain unchanged, except there
will no longer be a fee ($25.00) for applications or renewals due on or after

January 1, 2025.

Elimination of Estate Tax Filing Fee
 For decedents with date of death on or after January 1, 2025, no fee to file
a Rhode Island Estate Tax return

* For decedents with dates of death before January 1, 2025, the Estate Tax filing
feeé$50.00) is still req5uwed, including for Estate Tax returns that have not been

filed by January 1, 202
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Excise and Estate Tax

Legislative Changes

Increase of the Cigarette Tax

* Tax through August 31, 2024
« $4.25 per pack of 20 cigarettes

* As of 12:01 am on September 1, 2024
« Cigarette tax increased by $.25 per pack of 20 to $4.50 per pack

* “Floor tax” on existing inventory
« Was measured as of 9/3/2024
Return was due 9/16/2024

* Floor tax returns and payments not available on the Portal

* The prepaid sales tax on cigarettes also increased by $.30
* As of 9/3/2024 increased to $0.88 per pack of 20

* Notice to Cigarette Dealers

OTP Change:
« OTP now required to be purchased from a licensed distributor

Slide 35


https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-08/Notice_2024_05_Cigarette_Tax_Dealers.pdf

Excise and Estate Tax

Legislative Changes

Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems (aka Vape): Tax, Unified Licensing, &
Required Purchase from a Licensed Distributor

* Regulation of Electronic Nicotine-Delivery System (ENDS) products, commonly known as vape
now under Division of Taxation

« ENDS products for sale at retail may only be purchased from distributors with Rhode Island
licenses
Licenses for manufacturers, importers, and distributors consolidated into a single license application

» Licenses for ENDS products retailers will be combined with licenses for cigarette retailers
(known as a Cigarette Dealer License), and OTP

» As of January 1, 2025, an ENDS tax is imposed on all ENDS products
* $0.50/mL of the e-liquid and/or e-liquid products (prefilled closed systems)

« All 8ther ENDS products (open system products) the taxed at 10% of the wholesale cost of the
product

* The sale, or offer for sale of, or the possession with intent to sell or to offer for sale, flavored
ENDS products to individuals in Rhode Island is prohibited (Notice 2024-03)

« ENDS Webpage
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https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-08/Notice_2024_04_ENDS_flavor_ban.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/sales-excise-taxes/ends-tax
https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/sales-excise-taxes/ends-tax

Excise and Estate Tax

Best Practices for Filing an Estate Tax Return

 Removal of $50 fee starting DOD after 01/01/2025
* Form-RI|-706 Estate Tax return
« Form used for taxable and non-taxable estates
« Estates greater than $1.3M need to complete entire return
« Estates below $1.3M need to complete pages 1 — 4 including Part
6, recapitulation schedule
 Taxable estate with DOD prior to 01/01/2015 should email
Tax.Estate@tax.ri.gov for Form 100A
2024 Inflation adjusted amounts
« Threshold $1,774,583—Credit $83,370
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Excise and Estate Tax

Best Practices for Filing an Estate Tax Return

« All applicable items on Part 6, Recapitulation Schedule must be
completed for taxable and non-taxable estates.
 Backup must be provided for all items listed on part 6 for estates
greater than $1.3M.
 Early lien releases only provided when the decedent / estate owns
multiple properties.
« Full payment of the estimated liability must be included.
 Book value at date of death hierarchy:
e Purchase and sale within 6 months of DOD;
* Appraisal; and
« Assessed values (may request appraisal based on return review).

f Taxation
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Excise and Estate Tax

Best Practices for Filing an Estate Tax Return

 Other items required of all returns:
« Certificate of Appointment;
« Power of attorney, if applicable;
e Wills;
 Trust agreements; and
 Other items listed on part 5.

 Copies of federal schedules are not acceptable in place of the RI
schedules. All RI schedules must be completed.
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Excise and Estate Tax

Estate Tax Update

Notes on non-taxable estates

Non-taxable estates may file an Estate Tax return for various reasons, including:

To obtain a discharge of the automatic statutory lien that attaches to all real
estate that a decedent owns at death.

To obtain a Notice of No Tax Due for probate court purposes.

To obtain a Waiver to allow the sale of Rhode Island securities, including Rhode
Island incorporated stock, Rhode Island state and municipal bonds, and mutual
funds organized as business trusts that do business in Rhode Island.
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Excise and Estate Tax

Electronic Filing & Payment Mandate

Electronic filing and payment mandate for larger business registrant
taxpayers effective 01/01/2023

« Larger Business Registrant defined:

* is operating a business whose combined annual liability for all taxes administered
by the Division of Taxation for the entity is or exceeds $5,000; or

* is operating a business whose annual gross income is over $100,000 for the entity

* Penalties
* $50 per occurrence for failure to file electronically
* 5% of tax amount or $500, whichever is less for failure to pay electronically

 Taxpayers with reasonable causes may be exempt on a case-by-case basis

 Individuals and trusts filing personal or fiduciary income tax returns are not
larger business registrants for the purposes of R.l. Gen Laws §44-1-31.2
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Portal Update

Excise and Estate Tax

f Taxation

Member Sign In

Maxamum of 3 sign-in Attempts are
allowed. After 3 failed sign-in
atiempts, the sccount will be
locked. Plesse use the Forgot

UserlD and/or Forgot Password

Customer support is available weekdays between 8:30am - 3:30pm at 401-574-8484
or you can e-mail support at taxportal@tax ri.gov at any time.

Don't have your PIN? Unable to log in to your account? Many forms can be filed

and paid without 2 PIN using our Same Day Services.

The File 2 Form link is locatad on the bottom |=ft of this page.

links or wait 15 minutes to retry.

 Meal dB I
e a S a n e V e r age aX There are changes to fiing meals an 3ge t3x returns on the Portal. For more
User ID nformation and mstructions, please v 3is and Beverage Tax

 Schedule A must be completed

* Itemized listing of city and
towns required [ soun |

* Will be unable to submit return i
without this information being .

fully completed i hi‘: : : 1 :

Don't Have a Portal User Account? j" =

Usze our Samz-Day Services More >

Make 3 Payment (same day withdrawa’)

File 3 Form (alone or with payment)
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Excise and Estate Tax

Sales Tax Responsibilities

When is a sales permit required?
* Every business making sales at retail or renting living quarters.

 Retail sale

« Sale, lease or rental of tangible personal property

« “Tangible personal property” means personal property which may be seen,
weighed, measured, felt, or touched, or which is in any other manner
perceptible to the senses.

* Prewritten computer software
« Specified digital products
 Taxable services

« Sales permit is required even though all products sold are exempt
from sales tax.

 Annual renewal by 02/01 for no fee.
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Excise and Estate Tax

Sales Tax Responsibilities

e What is Taxable?

* All Tangible Personal Property and certain enumerated services.
« § 44-18-7.3. Services defined
 Taxicab and limousine services
* Other road transportation services
* Pet care services
* Room resellers
* Investigation, Guard, and Armored Car Services

* A better question: “What is not taxable?”
e § 44-18-30. Gross receipts exempt from sales and use taxes
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Excise and Estate Tax

Sales Tax Responsibilities

 Exemptions

 Food and Food Ingredients-substances, whether in liquid,
concentrated, solid, frozen, dried, or dehydrated form, that are
sold for ingestion or chewing by humans and are consumed for
their taste or nutritional value.

« Does not include “alcoholic beverages,” “tobacco,” “candy,” “dietary
supplements,” and “soft drinks.”

* Prepared foods are taxable
Manufacturing purposes (exemption certificate required)
Electricity and Gas
Clothing less than $250
Exempt Organizations (exemption certificate required)
Sales for resale (exemption certificate required)
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Excise and Estate Tax

Section Contact Information

 Phone: 401-574-8829 Option #8
 Email: Tax.Estate@tax.ri.gov

Estate Tax

e Phone: 401-574-8955

Sales & Excise Tax Email: Tax.Excise@tax.ri.gov
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Taxpayer Experience Office

Website Components and Features

{1 Settings & Language

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

| Division of Taxation seachtheste  [O)

» Taxpayer Experience Office Eiatasta

ﬁ Online Services -~  Resources for.. ~  Tax Sections + Forms +  Guidance ~| aAhoutUs @&

-\~ Agency Announcements Cerview Show Alerts

Contact Us

e Trainings and Presentations o o wcmeon

Taxpayer Experience
Office

rbout Le Tax];)a\jrer EXIJ erle] Tax Compliance Day

L]
¢ I n d u St ry G u I d es In 2022, the Division of Taxation established its Taxpayer Experience Office and

Contact Us . . L. - — — .
appointed a Taxpayer Experience Liaison. The goal of the Taxpayer Experience
: Office is to continue the Division’s efforts to educate the taxpayer community and
Join Our Team + . ) c ) N
to address taxpayers’ needs in order to enhance voluntary compliance with the

. 5 a's tax igati
Taxpayer Experience Office state’s tax obligations.

¢ C O m p l-i a n t TaX p aye r P rOfi l.e S The Taxpayer Experience Office houses a dedicated taxpayer experience team that

Tax Compliance Day . This team has engaged

in numerous outreach efforts to taxpayers, tax professionals, and industry groups
to enhance the accessibility of the helpful information available to these groups,
L as working diligently behind-the-scenes to continually update processes to
t

focus on the taxpayer experience.



https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/taxpayer-experience-office

Notice of
Proposed

Assessment

* Issued if an
adjustment is
made to a filed
return prior to
due date or

 Issued if an
adjustment is
made to a filed
return after the
due date

Taxpayer Experience Office

Notice of

State Tax Notices Timeline

Assessment

\_

* [ssued after
due date of
return filed
with a balance
due matching
the balance due
on a filed
return or

* Issued 30 days
after a Notice
of Proposed
Assessment

30 Days

J

Statement of

-

Account

* Issued 30 days
after a Notice
of Assessment

* Includes all
outstanding
liabilities across
tax types

e Continues
issuance up to
3 times or until
paid

Annually

Annual Statement

of Account

 Periodic
reminder notice
of outstanding
across all taxes
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Taxpayer Experience Office
State Tax Notices Timeline

 Other assessment notices

« Compliance Notices — similar to the NOPA
« CP 2000 — match to federal audit change notice

 Federal State Match — matching state filing to federal filing for
discrepancies

 IRMF — matching federal income sources to Rl non-filers
* IRTF - Filed federal return with no Rl return

* Audit Notices
* Audit Notice of Assessment
* Responsible Officer Notice of Assessment

« Overpayment Adjustment Notice
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State of Rhode Island Phone: (401) 574-8935
DIVISION OF TAXATION TTY Via 711
One Capitol Hill . Fax: (401 ) 574-8932

Taxp a.yle r E Xp e ri e n C e Ny cw Providence. RI 029085800 Email: tax.corporate@tax.ri.gov
O ffi C e 09/03/2024 NOTICE OF ASSESSMENT

TCAPITOLHL %ﬁ%? ]
PROVIDENCE, RI 02908-5816 NoticolD: W I
Changes to the RI
Dear Taxpayer,
°
N otl ce Of Assess m e n t This is a bill for an overdue balance of $39,928.66. The filing and/or payment for your CORPORATE account was due

on 07/15/2024. A breakdown of how the balance was determined for the tax period ending 12/31/2023 is on the back of
this notice. Please make full payment of the balance due on or before 10/03/2024. If the balance is not paid on or before

this date, additional interest and penalties will continue to accrue.

* QR code to make
oR Page 1
.
Detach and return the bill voucher below with your check made payable Division of Taxation — include your Account ID
payments easier on your eck.

Request For Hearing

[ ] L] - . . . " L
You may request a hearing under R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-1-32. All requests for hearing must be submitted in writing within
o U s e t h e I n V O I C e n u I I l b e r thirty (30) days of the date of this notice. Please attach a copy of this notice and your request for hearing including the
best phone number and/or email address to contact you. Mail all documents to: The Division of Taxation—ATTN: Tax
Administrator, One Capitol Hill Providence, RI, 02908-5800.

a n d a C C O u n t I D n u m b e r Interest and penalties will continue to accrue on any unpaid tax balance during the hearing period. If you fail to submit

your written request for a hearing within thirty (30) days of the date of this notice, the assessment, including interest and
penalties, will become final and collection activities will commence.
* Language updates for
. DIVISION OF TAXATION
clarit
State of Rhode Island

DIVISION OF TAXATION I
NOA Voucher ]

* Hearing language - =

Make check(s) payable to: Rhode Island Division of Taxation

S e p a r at e d t O O W n include Account I [ on the check Date: 09/03/2024

Rhode Island Division of Taxation
One Capitol Hill Tax Type: CORPORATE

[ ]
S e C t I O n Providence, Rl 02908-5800
TEST BUSINESS Invoice Number: M
Due Date:

Balance Due: $39,928.66

=

or https:/taxportal.ri.gov to pay online.

’n&! STATE OF RHODE ISLAND Amount Enclosed: $
=

Division of Taxation
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State of Rhode Island Phone: (401) 574-8935

T hd DIVISION OF TAXATION TTY Via 711
axpayer Experience
Providence, RI 02908-5800 Email: tax.corporate@tax.ri.gov
Offi
lce Notice ID: _ Account ID: _
I
CORPORATE
Changes to the RI Period: 01/01/2023 - 12/31/2023 Return/Payment Due Date: 10/03/2024
Notice of Assessment e e —
Underestimating Interest $2.241.79
Late Payment Interest $548 .49
Late Payment Penalty $334 59
Late Filing Penalty $3,345.80 Page 2
° N p d t d -t b l Total Liabilities F41,428 66
ew u ate apLe —
. o] o . Credits ($750.00
 Breakdown of liabilities
N Total Payments/Credits $1,500.00
Bal D $39,928 .66
« Breakdown of credits s o

Interest is calculated through the date of this notice. A bill less than thirty (30) days old may not be included in

a. n d p ay m e n ts the above total.

Need Help Understanding Your Bill?

For more information about your bill, please visit our website at: https:/tax.ri.gov/about-us/taxpayer-experience-office or
by using the QR code below:

* QR code to website for
explanations of billing
C O n te n t ( re m OVi n g n e e d If you are presently in bankruptcy, you may have rece:::l::s :| in error. Please call the Collections section at

d 401-574-8941 Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:30am and 3:30pm.

.”&! STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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Taxpayer Experience Office

Information for farmers
Expanded guidance for farmers: ADV 2024-24

« Farm exemption
» Sales and Use Tax Exemption for farm equipment for qualified farmers.

« Exemption relieves the farm of its obligation to pay sales and use tax on its
purchases of certain equipment and supplies used in farming operations.

« A farm must apply with the Division of Taxation to obtain a Certificate of _
Exemption for Farm Equipment/Structure Construction Material if it qualifies for
the exemption.

* To qualify for the exemption:
* Applicants:

* Provide proof the farm meets or exceeds annual gross sales thresholds from commercial farming
for 1 year prior to the application.

e Renewals:

* Provide proof the farm meets or exceeds annual gross sales thresholds from commercial for 2
years prior to the renewal.

 The level for which the farmer qualifies impacts the value of a motor vehicle
that can be purchased.
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Taxpayer Experience Office
Information for farmers

Expanded guidance for farmers: ADV 2024-24

« Sales tax requirements

« All taxpayers that make retail sales, including farmers, must register
with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation and obtain a sales permit.

 Even if a farm or farmer sells only products that are exempt from sales
tax, a sales permit is required.

* Obligation to collect and remit Rhode Island sales tax on taxable retail

sales is separate and distinct from a farm exemption, if the farm holds
one.

« A farm exemption certificate relieves the farm of its obligation to pay tax on its
purchases of certain equipment and supplies used in farming operations.

« A farm’s exemption certificate does not exempt the farm from collecting and
remitting sales tax on all taxable retail sales. The exemption applies only to
purchases made by the farm.
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Taxation

Taxpayer Experience Office

Single Member LLC vs Sole Proprietor

Single Member LLC

» Entity separate from its
owner

» Registered as an entity
with Rl Department of
State

* Has liability protection—
limited to investment

» Registration date—
dissolution date

» Subject to annual charge
(currently $400) on
separate tax form for
state purposes

Sole Proprietor

 Owner is the entity

» Can register a trade
name with local
municipality

» Personal liability

« No dissolution to
close business

* No separate filing
requirement or
annual charge

Similarities
Files Form 1040
reporting on
Schedule C, E or F to
pay federal income
taxes

Files RI-1040/RI-
1040NR to pay state
income tax on
Federal AGI including
Schedule C income
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Taxpayer Experience Office

Homework

Want more tax info?
Watch our joint presentation with the Rl Department of State,
Business Services Division “LLC Fundamentals for the Solopreneur”

YouTube Video at the QR code above or at:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efl7bHaYnsc&t=3284s
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Taxpayer Experience Office

Tax Forms Approval and Submission Process

MeF, 2D Barcode, and Paper filings follow this process

Draft Form Software Vendor Final Form Submission Vendor Apbroval
Posting Submissions Postings Review PP
«  To allow software - Taxation creates * Software vendors + Taxation will « Taxation posts
vendors to update test cases for are allowed to review approved
software products software su_bmlt test cases submissions and T
for new forms and vendors prior to final forms require vendors .
changes to existing . Software CE s e to make bsit
forms . necessary we . S| .e
vendors submit updated after corrections prior periodically
¢ Begin programming test case returns submission, vendor t L P . Approved
updates of for Taxation is informed by © approva SeimoEe
Taxation system(s) review Taxation to N
el A Vendors | RI
Division of
Taxation
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Taxpayer Experience Office

Tax Forms Approval and Submission Process

Approved Software Vendors

Listing of approved vendors, and which forms are approved for each

is available at:
https://tax.ri.eov/resources/software-developers/approved-software-vendors.

Updated periodically — check back at the end of December and early
January for an updated listing of approved vendors for Tax Year
2024 /filing season 2025. That is generally when approvals are
finalized and when they will start being added.

Draft Form Software vendor Final Form Submission vendor Approval
Posting Submissions Postings Review PP

. T t on will T

n
3
.—+

m%! STATE IL:-.IF FJ:I"][ E ISLAND .
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Taxpayer Experience Office

Tax Forms Approval and Submission Process
FAQs
1. Do approved vendors need to support SMLLC filings?

Yes. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2024, all vendors supporting
Form RI-1065 will be required to properly support SMLLC filers to be an
approved vendor.

The RI Division of Taxation expects that a SMLLC entity will be able to:

* File Form RI-1065 as an unlinked state return.

* File as a SMLLC without having to create an additional member for their
entity.

 Be able to verify that the return does not have errors without having to
disable error checking on the return in order to submit the return.

Slide 59

STATE OF R ISLAND
ivision of Taxation
it of Rev



Taxpayer Experience Office

Tax Forms Approval and Submission Process
FAQs

Do approved vendors need to support electronic filing and payments of
Extensions and Vouchers?

Yes. All software vendors supporting the following tax ‘qépes will be required to
support electronic filing of Extensions and Vouchers to be an approved vendor.

» Electronic filing of extensions for:

* Form RI-1065
* Form RI-1120S with or without a payment, using Form BUS-EXT

 Form RI-1120C

. Elgcﬁtronic filing & paying of return payments as part of submission included
with:
* Form RI-1065
* Form RI-1120S using the existing elements within the MeF schema

 Form RI-1120C
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Taxpayer Experience Office

Tax Forms Approval and Submission Process
FAQs

3. The software vendor | use is not listed as approved on the Division of
Taxation’s website. What should | do?

If your software vendor is not listed as approved under the tax type you are
trying to file, please contact your vendor directly.

[
dah
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Taxpayer Experience Office
More Tax Resources

W .W STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

» Sign up for our emails T Division of Taxation

Subscribe for tax news

Sign up to receive free RI tax news updates in

 Tax news delivered to your inbox reurie
e Quarterly newsletters

submitting this form, you are consenting to receive ng
ails from: Rhode Island Divisi ation, 1 Capitol Hill,
* Important updates
n revoke yol nsent to receive emails at ai ytmeby
using the SafeUnsi bscrbe(R)ka nd at the bottom of ew
email.
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Taxpayer Experience Office
Section Contact Information

e Phone: 401-574-8983

e Email:
Taxpayer.Experience@tax.ri.gov

Taxpayer

Experience Office
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Compliance and Collections

Expansion of Rhode Island’s Tax Delinquent Public Disclosure List

* Previously:
* Two lists posted on the Division of Taxation’s website

* One includes up to 100 taxpayers with the largest amount of
delinquent personal income tax

« Second list includes up to 100 taxpayers with the largest
amount of delinquent business taxes

* Now:

* Two lists posted on the Division of Taxation’s website

 Criteria for inclusion on each of these lists expanded to
taxpayers that owe at least $50,000.
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Compliance and Collections

Expansion of Rhode Island’s Tax Delinquent Public Disclosure List

* Qur process:

 Formal notice sent by regular and certified mail.

* Notice sent to taxpayer 30 days in advance of intent to publish the
taxpayer's name and account information.

* Taxpayer process:

« Taxpayer can choose to pay the delinquency or to enter into a
reasonable installment agreement to pay the outstanding debt.
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Compliance and Collections

Expansion of Rhode Island’s Tax Delinquent Public Disclosure List

e Conditions for inclusion:

« State tax balance has been unpaid for a period in excess of 90 days
following the date their tax was due.

« Cases are not on appeal.

e Removal:

* A taxpayer's account information is removed from the list as
promptly as possible after that taxpayer pays the outstanding debt
or enters into a reasonable installment agreement.

* Processes set by law: R.l. Gen. Laws § 44-1-34.
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Compliance and Collections

Levy Program

e Liability must be in Collections

* Notifications

« Numerous bills have already been sent to the taxpayer
e Taxpayer is mailed a 10 Day Demand for Taxes Due

 If there is no resolution, the taxpayer is mailed a Notice of Intention
To Levy (30 Day Reply)

* Resolutions

 Taxpayer must be in compliance with all filings

* Prior to a levy, the taxpayer may satisfy their debt, enter into an
installment agreement or voluntary wage garnishment

 If a levy has already occurred, Taxation may consider a levy reduction
based on various circumstances

f Taxation
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Compliance and Collections

Letters of Good Standing (LOGS)

« Calendar Year 2023 Benchmarks:
» Assigned to a Revenue Officer for review within 24 hours of receipt.

» If Taxpayer is compliant, Letter of Good Standing issued within 2-3 business
days.

* If Taxpayer is non-compliant, Letter of Good Standing issued within 21
calendar days based on Division’s work with Taxpayer to become compliant.

« Calendar Year 2023 Stats
* Received 7,848 applications for the calendar year 2023
« 25.18% able to be issued without additional information
* Mailed nearly 5,872 Additional Information letters to contacts
* 31% did not respond to these Additional Information letters
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Compliance and Collections

Letters of Good Standing (LOGS)

Letters of Good Standing Received

Additional Information Letters Sent

Letters of Good Standing Issued

LOGS Closed w/ No Response From Taxpayer

Average # of Calendar Days to Issuance-Non-Compliant
Average # of Calendar Days to Issuance-Compliant

Growth in LOGS Applications Received
Percentage of Cases Closed With No Response

2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 *
5428 6659 7796 7848 3995
4146 5192 6019 5872 2994
4029 4188 4678 4803 2653
1924 1793 2580 2453 1711

36 34 37 35 29

3 3.93 3.64 3.44 2.9
-22% 23% 17% 1%

35% 27% 33% 31% 43%

*2024 figures are Calendar Year ‘24, as of 8/26/2024
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Compliance and Collections

Letters of Good Standing (LOGS) Best Practices

Requests can be made via drop box, mail or Portal

LA
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Compliance and Collections

Letters of Good Standing (LOGS) Best Practices

Complete Compliance Check through Portal
* Will show missing filings/payments

* Include any delinquent filings and payments with LOGS
application
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Compliance and Collections

Letters of Good Standing (LOGS) Best Practices

Verify the document requirements from LOGS application

% 4
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Compliance and Collections

Letters of Good Standing (LOGS) Best Practices

Be sure to include the $50 fee

Please NO cash in the drop box. Cash payments can be made at
the cashier’s window in our office. You can pay securely online
via bank account or credit card (credit card payments are subject

to payment processing fees). You can also pay by check.
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Compliance and Collections

Section Contact Information

Compliance and * Phone: 401-574-8941
OfelllTou[elpRST-TAM o] a M - Email: Tax.Collections@tax.ri.gov

Taxpayer Portal  Phone: 401-574-8484
Section Email: Taxportal@tax.ri.gov
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Additional Resources
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Even More Tax Resources

Official State of Rhode Island website @ Language KX Settings

o STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Ad VISOories ”Tﬁw Division of Taxation X &

V Department of Revenue

ﬁ‘ Online Services v~  Resources for.. v~  Tax Sections v Forms “~  guidance ~ AboutUs +

Overview Show Alerts

"Q" Agency Announcements
Administrative Decisions

Home » Guidance » Advisories Advisories

Declaratory Rulings

Information and FAQs

Advisories

Guidance Newsletters
Notices
Administrative Decisions + 2024
Publications
Advisories
+ 2023 Regulations
Declaratory Rulings + Reports
+ 2022
Infarmatinn and EANc L COVID-19

« www.tax.ri.gov > “Guidance” > “Advisories” > select the appropriate
year

» https://tax.ri.gov/guidance/advisories

.ﬂﬂm STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

iy
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Even More Tax Resources

Official State of Rhode Island website @ Language a Settings

Tax Compliance Days B

'} Division of Taxation X &

V Department of Revenue

m‘ Online Services v  Resources for.. ¥  Tax Sections v Forms v  Guidance ~  ApoutUs &

:ﬁ" Agency Announcements Overview Show Alerts
Contact Us
Home » About Us » Tax Compliance Day Join Our Team

Taxpayer Experience
Office

Tax Compliance [ Taxcomptiance oay

About Us
Tax Compliance Day is an event hosted periodically by the Division of Taxation
Contact Us to give taxpayers an opportunity to seek resolution for your complex Rhode
) Island and/or federal tax issues in easily accessible locations and at convenient
Join Our Team +

times.

« www.tax.ri.gov > “About Us” > “Tax Compliance Day”

e https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/tax-compliance-day
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Even More Tax Resources

Official State of Rhode Island website

= STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
P g

(3} Division of Taxation
— W

Compliant Taxpayer Profiles |Rekectes

m Online Services v Resources for... v Tax Sections v Forms v Guidance v About Us &
"Q" Agency Announcements Overview Show Alerts

Contact U

Home » About Us » Taxpayer Experience Office Join Our Team
Taxpayer Exp
Office

. Tax a el' EX elfle] Tax Compliance Day
Outreach and Useful Materials About Us pay p

« Industry guides: In 2022, the Division of Taxation established its Taxpayer Experience Office and

Contractors & Rhode Island Tax - A Guide for Businesses

The Restaurant Industry & Rhode Island Tax - A Guide for Businesses

« Compliant Taxpayer Profiles:

Profiles

« www.tax.ri.gov > “About Us” > “Taxpayer Experience Office” > scroll to
“Outreach and Useful Materials”

» https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2024-
01/2024%20Taxpayer%20Profiles%20132024.pdt
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Even More Tax Resources

Official State of Rhode Island website

STATE OF RHODE I

W’ﬁ% SLAND
. (&) Division of Taxation
U p C O m I n g Eve n ts W Department of Revenue
m Online Services v  Resources for.. v  Tax Sections v  Forms v  Guidance

"Q" Agency Announcements Overvie w

Home » About Us » Taxpayer Experience Office

Calendar Events/Upcoming Events

= This Month's Calendar Events

About Us Taxpayel’ Experle] Tax Compliance Day

. In 2022, the Division of Taxation established its Taxpayer Experience Office and
There are no events scheduled for thismonth ~aene pay p

= Upcoming Calendar Events

October 3, 2024
CPE Associates
RI College

« www.tax.ri.gov > “About Us” > “Taxpayer Experience Office” scroll to
“Calendar Events/Upcoming Events” > “This Month’s Calendar”
Events or “Upcoming Calendar Events”

« Taxpayer Experience Office | Rl Division of Taxation
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Even More Tax Resources

Official State of Rhode Island website

m STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

g
\Q DlVlSlOH of Taxatlon

Past presentations

"Q" Agency Announcements overview Show Alerts
Contact U
Calendar Events/Upcoming Events Home » About Us » Taxpayer Experience Office Join Our Team
# This Month's Calendar Events Taxpayer Experience
Office
# Upcoming Calendar Events ! Tax Compliance Day
About Us Taxpayer Experiel
@ Past Calendar Events - 2024 In 2022, the Division of Taxation established its Taxpayer Experience Office and
anuary 4, 2024
RI/MA Chapter of NATP
Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center

« www.tax.ri.gov > “About Us” > “Taxpayer Experience Office” scroll to
“Calendar Events/Upcoming Events” > select the appropriate year

« Taxpayer Experience Office | Rl Division of Taxation
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Questions
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W STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
Division of Taxation

Department of Revenue

Thank you ...

401-574-8829
Taxpayer.Experience@tax.ri.gov
One Capitol Hill

Providence, Rl 02908

www.tax.ri.gov
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