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About Us

The Division of Taxation: Total State Tax Revenue Collected by

. . . the Division of Taxation
One of six agencies in the Department of Revenue for Fiscal Year 2023 ($, In Millions)

 The Rhode Island Division of Taxation employs 223 tax professionals,
administering more than 59 different taxes and fees. FY23 ReceiptS' $5 7B

+ Taxes represent the most significant source of General Fund revenue for Rhode
Island — funds used to help pay for vital services including public safety,
education, transportation, and recreation for all Rhode Islanders.

* Each year, the Division collects and distributes more than $5.2 billion in funds
to the State, municipalities, and other agencies (as of FY 23).

 To foster voluntary compliance with the Rhode Island tax laws and

instill public confidence through professional, impartial and ethical
conduct.

11.30%

26.60%

« To administer and collect all taxes as required by Rhode Island law in
the most efficient and cost-effective manner.

* To assist taxpayers by helping them understand and meet their tax
responsibilities. OWithholding OSales OCorp OPIT MEstate, M&B, Hotel & Other
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Tax issues in
Budgeting
Tax policy
Constituent
Assistance

Distributions
(Hotel Tax,
Meals/Beverage
Tax, Real Estate
Conveyance Tax)

Enforcement
Collection
Reporting

Data Exchange
Technical
Support
Constituent
Assistance
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About Us: Key Stakeholders/Interactions

Governor’s
Office

Cities/Towns,
Tourism Bureaus

Other State
Agencies/General Officers
(Within DOR, HSRI, OMB,
Accounts/ Controls, Dept
Transportation, DLT)

. Education

. Outreach to Enhance
Compliance

. Constituent Assistance

Taxpayers

Do I s STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Division of Taxation
v Department of Revenue

Tax Professionals
Rl Society of CPAs
Accountants
Others

File/Pay returns/taxes/fees

Refunds

Services (Education,

Outreach, LOGS)

General
Assembly

Courts

IRS

Other states

Legislative Review/Testimony
Revenue Estimating Conference
Tax Policy/Administration
Perspective

Reporting

Constituent Assistance

Annual Audit-Auditor General

» Starting point for Personal
Income, Business Corp Tax is
federal conformity

+ Data exchange, compliance
programs yield millions of
dollars

+ Confidentiality/Audits

* Appeals, Litigation,
Enforcement

* Offset refunds for
court fees

Coordination/Communication
Information Sharing
Collaboration

Offsets
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Taxpayer Experience Office/Team

_5 Taxpayer Experience Office

Team
S * Tax Administrator
AsSsOCia Ta
* Asst Tax Administrator
Assistant Tax Administrator <
| * External Facing:
! ! | [ l Taxpayer Experience
Liaison
Compli:ggciesj‘afioollcctions Tax Assessment & Review Audit & Investigation Operations Analytics
* Internal Taxpayer
g ™ Experience Team
Spo——" (With Initial Focus on
| [ Reasition & >{  Excise & Estate Tax Collections/Compliance)
Taxpayer Experience —p Project Oversight
P Revenue Accounting
— « Continue Improvements
- udit
> Corn||laliance & > Personal & Cc;rporate »| Forms, Credits & Incentives AC ross Age N Cy at al.l.
Collections Income Tax .
SRy Taxpayer Contact Points
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Division of Taxation: Mission

The Tax Administration Efficiency Continuum

— FORCED COMPLIANCE

More expensive, less efficient, but necessary

VOLUNTARY COMPLIANCE

Less expensive, more efficient revenue generation

The Taxpayer’s Stay informed of tax EVEY Ask questions File taxes and Respond to Participate in Defend Defend Defend
Responsibilities obligations information as needed forms questions audit position position position
Be e .
The Division of Educate & q Optimize A Take Litigate Enforce
Draft clear and E accessible T Correct Audit & - - -
Taxation’s Actions timely Tax law i) by email/ ulllid errors investigate o Stalnstas SEnas
instructions phone processes actions actors penalties
- A A A A
Creating a Expanding Improving Expanding
How are we dedicated taxpayer the taxpayer staff the remote
. . experience team, service training, audit
im pr0V| n g expanding outreach portal, data program,
to aid taxpayers, creating analysis, implementing
- taxpayer providing more digital improving best
services, direct access ft_:r signature forms and practices
taxpayers, creating options, data
volu ntary educational upgrading retrieval '
. : Developing
2 material for technology, .
compllance e common taxpayer appointment industry
issues system pilot guidelines
—]

I Taxpayer Experience Office/Team
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Slide 7

@ Division of Taxation

D



Taxpayer Experience Office




Taxpayer Experience Office

Create
transparency
through
resource
materials

Develop
new
resource
material

Create
community
partnerships

Improve

Voluntary
Compliance

Provide
education
through
outreach

Incorporate
community
feedback
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Taxpayer Experience Office: Year 1 Results

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation - Taxpayer Experience Office

Working to:

* Educate the taxpayer community
* Address taxpayers’ needs
* Enhance voluntary compliance with the state’s tax obligations

By:

» Creating innovative resources * Tax Professional Information « Taxpayer Portal usability

« Compliant Taxpayer Profiles Sessions updates

* Incorporating Community * Pilot program for virtual * Engaging with community
Feedback appointments partners & community members

* Industry Guides » Taxpayer Education Sessions « Taxpayer Portal Training

Through:

* 9 Taxpayer Education Sessions « 8 New Community Partnerships

* 9 Tax Preparer Information Sessions * 8 Innovative Taxpayer Education Campaigns

* 6 Taxpayer Portal Trainings » 27 Resolutions of complex taxpayer issues




Taxpayer Experience Office

Taxpayer Experience Initiatives

W"&ux STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
e g Division of Taxation
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* Portal Training Sessions e
» Portal Usability Study T

or you can e-mail support at taxportal@tax.ri.gov at any time.

Userio Tax Forms
) °
[ I W O F ; i C t O r A l I t h e n t I C ; i t I O n Please Enter User ID Don’t have your PIN? Unable to log in to your account? Many forms can be filed Administrative Decisions
and paid without a PIN using our Same Day Services. Advisories
Password : S <
o . The File a Form link is located on the bottom left of this page. Where's My Refund
* eXtende aSSWor ese Imin
Business Registration
Now Live: Multi-Factor Authentication. This will provide a higher level of account
m security, and a second layer of verification to the login process. Reports
* Removal ot Buttons Resleors
Forgot User ID? Forgot password? Newsletters
[ ]

| l I li \ :meme\w
New User? % Y § ] 4

of Good Standing
Create a New User

 Virtual Appointments

Use our Same-Day Services

* Improve Voluntary Compliance =
« Restaurant Industry Guide
* Taxpayer Profiles

Individual Mandate Reporting - NEW

Frequently Asked Questions

Guest Bill Payments (Video)

Guest Filing_(Video)

Portal Registration (Video)

Portal User Guide

Who should use the online taxpayer
portal and what taxes can be filed?

How do | link my tax entity to my_portal
account?

More >

! STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2022-09/The%20Restaurant%20Industry%20%26%20Rhode%20Island%20Tax%20Guide%20for%20Businesses.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2023-06/Taxpayer%20Profiles%206-1-23.pdf

i STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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Compliant Taxpayer Guide:

Retailer

Example:
Generic Retailer with retail sales out of a Rl location of $250,000 per year of mostly taxable

goods. Taxpayer is an LLC taxed as a partnership for federal tax purposes with two partners.
They have 5 employees with average total taxes withheld of $700 per month.

This example is for educational and informational purposes only. It is not a substitute for compliance with the R.l. General Laws and any relevant rules or regulations. Depending on your specific business model,

you may have additional or different requirements.

e Withholding taxes

« Registered for Taxpayer Portal * Withholding payments made each Monday

« Annual Sales Permit renewal filed by 2/1 * RI-941 filed quarterly before 4/30, 7/31, 10/31, and 1/31
* RI-STR (Sales tax return) filed by the 20th day of the month following the month in which the

tax was collected

Basics

e Personal Income Tax
* Shareholders filed RI-1040ES making estimated payments on 4/15,
6/15, 9/15, and 1/15
 Shareholders filed RI-1040 by 4/15

e Annual filings
* RI-W3 filed by 1/31
* W2s filed by secure FTP using tax.prodcontrol@tax.ri.gov by 1/31

« RI-1065 filed by 4/15 with $400 annual charge and Rl K1s to partners

NEED HELP? Q@ 401-574-8983

& STATE OF RHODE ISLAND > - -
. (] Tax.Experience@tax.ri.gov https:/tax.ri.gov/ .
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https://tax.ri.gov/forms/business-tax-forms/withholding-tax-forms
https://tax.ri.gov/forms/business-tax-forms/withholding-tax-forms
https://tax.ri.gov/forms/business-tax-forms/withholding-tax-forms
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/2017/Withholding/State-of-RI-W2-Filing-Information---Updated-02012018.pdf
mailto:tax.prodcontrol@tax.ri.gov
https://tax.ri.gov/forms/business-tax-forms/corporate-tax-forms
https://tax.ri.gov/forms/individual-tax-forms/personal-income-tax-forms
https://tax.ri.gov/forms/individual-tax-forms/personal-income-tax-forms
https://taxportal.ri.gov/
https://tax.ri.gov/forms/business-tax-forms/sales-excise-forms
https://tax.ri.gov/forms/business-tax-forms/sales-excise-forms
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2022-12/Sales%20Tax%202023_w.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2022-12/Sales%20Tax%202023_w.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/
mailto:Tax.Experience@tax.ri.gov

Payment
Reminder Notice

 If return filed
prior to due
date with a
balance due

Due Date

T STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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Taxpayer Experience Office

State Tax Notices Timeline

Notice of
Proposed

Assessment

* Issued if an
adjustment is
made to a filed
return prior to
due date or

* Issued if an
adjustment is
made to a filed
return after the
due date

Notice of
Assessment

 Issued after
due date of
return filed
with a balance
due matching
the balance
due on a filed
return or

* Issued 30 days
after a Notice
of Proposed
Assessment

Statement of

.

Account

* Issued 30 days
after a Notice
of Assessment

* Includes all
outstanding
liabilities
across tax
types

* Continues to
issue up to 3
times or until
paid

Annually

Annual Statement

of Account

e Periodic
reminder
notice of
outstanding
across all taxes

Slide 13




Taxpayer Experience Office

State Tax Notices Timeline

 Other assessment notices

« Compliance Notices — similar to a Notice of Proposed Assessment (NOPA)
« CP 2000 — match to federal audit change notice
 Federal State Match — matching state filing to federal filing for discrepancies
 IRMF — matching federal income sources to Rl non-filers
* IRTF - filed federal return with no RI return
* Audit Notices
* Audit Notice of Assessment
» Responsible Officer Notice of Assessment

« Overpayment Adjustment Notice




Taxpayer Experience Office

Single Member LLC vs Sole Proprietor

Single Member LLC Sole Proprietor

« Entity separate from its  Owner is the entity
owner Similarities .

: « Can register a trade

- Registered as an entity * Files Form 1040 name \;gvith local
with Rl Department of TEPOrIE e inali
State Schedul.e C to pay municipality

« Has liability protection— federal income taxes ) Persc.)nal l'a.b'l'ty
llmljced tg investment  Eiles EEA R . N[O dlssolgtlon to

* Registration date— 1040NR to pay state close usmes.s.
d'SSPlUt'On date income tax on * No separate filing

» Subject to annual charge Federal AGI including requirement or
(Currentl-y $4OO) on Schedule C income annual Charge

separate tax form for
state purposes

of Taxation Slide 15



Taxpayer Experience Office

Things to Come

Additional Guides

e Manufacturers Guide
e Contractors Guide

On-line Taxpayer Profile Tool

In-House New Business Workshops

Meals and Beverage Clarity

Division of Taxation Slide 16
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More Tax Resources

e Sign up for our emails

 Tax news delivered to your inbox
* Quarterly newsletters

* Important updates

or

JE ISLAND

f Taxation

Subscribe for tax news

Sign up to receive free RI tax news updates in
your inbox.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing
emails from: Rhode Island Division of Taxation, 1 Capitol Hill,
Providence, RT 02908, US,
You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by

using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every
email.

Slide 17


https://tax.ri.gov/

Compliance and Collections Section




Compliance and Collections Section

Installment Agreements:
What You Need to Know

Requirements: High likelihood for approval:

Complete Installment Agreement Request: Form RI-
9465

Full compliance with all filing requirements

You have a total balance greater than $1,000
Remit 50% down payment

Remaining balance will be paid in 12 installments or less

You may still be approved if
ou complete these steps:

Complete Income/Expense Statement section of form
RI-9465, Installment Agreement Request for review

Moving forward:

Must continue to stay in compliance with filings and
payments

Provide any backup documentation requested
Your request will be reviewed for a determination

Interest and penalties continue to accrue until tax
portion of liability is paid in full (if applicable)

WUW STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

4 n of Taxation
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https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/2021/Misc/Installment-Agreement_b.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/2021/Misc/Installment-Agreement_b.pdf

Compliance and Collections Section

Offers in Compromise:
What You Need to Know

11 1 . * If debt is excessive, illegal, or uncollectible Regulation
Qualifications: I CIoo0 1o Ooesshe, et o ible Regulati

. « Complete Form RI-656
Req ul rements: » Complete Form 433A or Form 433B

* Full compliance with all filing requirements

DOCU mentat|0n  Financial Statements and verification of reason
N eeded . request may be required

Slide 20


https://risos-apa-production-public.s3.amazonaws.com/DOR/REG_11594_20211206153516.pdf
https://risos-apa-production-public.s3.amazonaws.com/DOR/REG_11594_20211206153516.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/2018/Collections/RI-656_03122018.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/1999/misc/433a.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/1999/misc/433b.pdf

Compliance and Collections Section

Frequently Asked Questions and Best Practices-Portal

Q: Why do | have to change my password so often?

A: For a few reasons:
 The State takes information security seriously.
 To protect sensitive tax information from identity theft.
« Former employees may have shared the password.

Q: Why does the system show “forecasted penalty” and “forecasted interest” if | have already remitted payment
and are now filing the tax return?

A: If you are filing a return after your payment has been processed, the system will need to pair the return to
the payment once the return is filed and processed.

Therefore, the system will present the “forecast” based on the amounts contained in the return you are
submitting today.

S: | filed the return. The portal indicated the amount due on the date | filed the return. | made the payment 10
ays later. Why was the amount different?

Az :dThe forecasted penalty and interest is based on the date the return was filed not when the payment was
made.

Interest and penalty will continue to accrue if there is an outstanding tax balance.

Taxation Slide 21



Compliance and Collections Section

Frequently Asked Questions and Best Practices-Collections

Q: Why is my license and registration blocked and what are my repayment options?
A: Under R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-3-6.1, a license/registration can be blocked due to delinquent filings and/or
outstanding balances.

To release the block, the tax'&)
balances must be satisfied.

ayer must be filed up to date for the last seven (7) years and outstanding
remitted to release blocks.

taxpayer may enter an installment agreement; certi¥|ed funds must be

Q

Does the State of Rhode Island have a hardship/deferment program?

A: The RI Division of Taxation does not have a non-collectible status but does have options for taxpayers
facing financial hardship such as installment agreements and offers in compromise.

Q

Is 50% down required to enter into an installment agreement?

A: A highly likely acceptance for balances greater than $1,000 is 50% down and full payment in 12 monthly
installments.

However, if that is not possible, then we will work with a taxpayer upon completion of the income and
expense portion of the agreement request form.

Slide 22



Personal and Corporate Income Tax
Section




Personal and Corporate Income Tax Section

2023

Filing
Season

As of 10/06/23

Slide 24



Personal and Corporate Income Tax Section

/ * Personal Exemptions $4,700

« Standard Deduction
« Single $10,000
« Joint/Qualifying Widow(er) $20,050
« HOH $15,050
* Married filing Separately $10,025

« Social Security Amounts
* Single $101,000 Joint $126,250

* Pension and Annuity

« Single $101,000 Joint $126,250

o

2023 Tax Year
Inflationary changes

~

Exemption and Deduction Phaseout Amounts
« $233,750 - $260,550

* Property Tax Relief Credit $650
e Income Limitation $37,870

Division of Taxation
D ent of e
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax Section

TY2023 Updated Filing Options

Tax Year 2023:
Filing of Entity

Tax Year 2023:

Use BUS-EXT

Tax Year 2023: instead of RI-
Use BUS-EST 4868PT or filing of
instead of RI- Entity Return with

Return on
extension with
PTW Schedule

i

1096PT-ES PTW Schedule

04/15/23 03/15/24 04/15/24 09/15/24 04/15/25 09/15/25
Tax Year 2024: Tax Year 2024:
Tax Year 2024: Use of BUS- Filing of entity
Use of BUS- EXT or filing of return with PTE
EST with line entity return Schedule on
for PTW/PTE with PTE extension
Schedule

Pass-Through Entity Tax

WAW STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax Section
TY 2022 Current Filing Options

MeF Portal Estimates

RI1-1040 RI-1096PT RI-1040ES
RI-1120C, RI-1120S, RI-PTE BUS-EST

RI-1065 Return/Voucher RI-1096PT-ES
RI1-1041 Payments RI-1041ES

Return/Voucher RI-4868PT

Payments Extension
PTE Extensions

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

e SLaN
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax Section
TY2023 Updated Filing Options

Portal Estimates

* RI-1040 * RI-PTE * RI-1040ES

 RI-1120C, RI-1120S, e Return/Voucher e BUS-EST
RI-1065 (with PTW Payments e RI-1041ES

Schedule) « PTE Extensions
* RI-1041 (with PTW
Schedule)

e Return/Voucher
Payments

e Extensions

SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Division of Taxation Slide 28
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax Section

Earned Income Tax Credit Reminders

* The Rhode Island EITC is in addition to the Federal EITC. Rhode Island EITC rate is a percentage of the Federal EITC
amount. 2018-2023=15.0% 2024=16.0%

* RI EITC is a refundable credit, which means the credit will be refunded to the taxpayer to the extent it exceeds the
taxpayer’s tax liability.

* Rl conforms to federal eligibility and income thresholds.

* Rl tax preparer’s regulation includes guidance on due diligence requirements and records retention for EITC and RI-

1040H property tax credit. Tax Preparer's Regulation 280-RICR-20-55-4.

* If credit ineligibility is suspected, we may need to take extra steps to validate the EITC claim.
* Other points to consider:

* Returns without expenses

« Documentation for income reporting (e.g. requests for licenses, records, statements, etc.).



https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/280-20-55-4

Personal and Corporate Income Tax Section

Pension Changes — Tax Year 2023

Military pensions Pension and annuity
modification modification
e Cannot use same income for * Increase credit cap from $15,000 to
pension and annuity modification $20,000
* No cap or limitation * Inflation increase to current AGI
limit
 No age restriction  For 2023:

Single - $101,000
Joint - $126,250

Slide 30



Personal and Corporate Income Tax Section

Pension/Annuity and Social Security Modifications

* Modification is based on full retirement age of 66 years and 6 months (born on or
before 07/01/1957)

« All filing statuses (single, separate, head of household, married joint or widow(er))
* Federal adjusted gross income thresholds (less than $101,000 and $126,250)

* Once AGI limitations are passed, no modification

« Does not include IRAs

« $20,000 limitation applies per individual for pension/annuity. Unlimited for SSI.

e Pension and Annuity Guidance document

S F S ND
Division of Taxation
) ent of R


https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2023-04/PUB_2023-01_pension_income_guide.pdf

Personal and Corporate Income Tax Section

Extension Discussion

e Extension of Time to File (280-RICR-20-55-2)

* Extension of time to file; Not time to pay
* Definition of a Proper Estimate

* “Proper estimate” means a Rhode Island extension form filed by the regular due date which declares at
least eighty percent (80%) of the tax due for the taxable year.

» Extension must be filed on time and have “proper estimate” to be considered valid
* Federal extension is acceptable if no payment is due on 04/15

* Regulation covers “Reasonable Cause” for Waiver of Late Filing Addition to the Tax

Taxation Slide 32



https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/280-20-55-2

Personal and Corporate Income Tax Section

Additional Updates

* Gross Earnings Tax Temporary Relief for Gas and Electric

* Will show as credit on consumer utility bill
 Months of December 2023 — March 2024
 Utility company will apply for the rebate

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax Section

Income Requests

* Penalty Waivers
 Requests should be in writing and all balances should be paid in full less the
penalty
* Allow at least 30 days to process
* Notification will be sent to the taxpayer once processed

« Requests for Information
 Responses should be received within 20 days of request
« Documentation can be mailed, emailed, faxed, or submitted through drop box
« Email or fax encouraged, as it allows for proof of receipt
 Once response is submitted, please allow 5 business days before checking the
status
 Only send copies, we are not responsible for originals sent via mail

Slide 34



Personal and Corporate Income Tax Section

Contact Information

Personal Income  Phone: 401-574-8829 Option #3
Tax

Email: Tax.Assist@tax.ri.gov

Corporate Income  Phone: 401-574-8935
Tax Email: Tax.Corporate@tax.ri.gov

W
D s on ofTa ation Slide 35
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mailto:Tax.Estate@tax.ri.gov
mailto:Tax.Excise@tax.ri.gov

Excise & Estate Tax Section
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Excise and Estate Tax Section

 Litter Tax Repealed

» Effective 01/01/2024

e 2023 Summary of Legislative Changes

 No renewals to be mailed

 New business registrations still subject to $25 for 2023

E’bc

Slide 37


https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2023-08/2023_summary_of_legislative_changes%20-%20Revised%208-7-2023.pdf

Excise and Estate Tax Section

Excise Tax Reminders

Effective as of 07/01/22

Sales Tax Permit
Fee Eliminated

Forms still required to apply for renewal annually

Discontinued beginning with Tax Year 2023

Annual
Reconciliations

Still required for Artistic Works and Alcohol

Slide 38



Excise and Estate Tax Section:

Real Estate Convezance Tax — Acguired Real Estate

/

KCompany with changing \
ownership is subject to Real
Estate Conveyance tax as

Achired real . “property Sale.”
estate transaction < 2

occurs when: S .
* Transaction involving a change
in ownership interest of an

\acquired real estate Company./

Slide 39



Excise and Estate Tax Section:

Acguired Real Estate Convezance Tax

Who is an Acquired Real Estate Company?
|

“Real estate company” with change in
ownership of 50% or more

“Real estate company” is an entity
primarily engaged in the business of
holding, selling, or leasing of real estate.

60% or more of annual receipts
is from ownership/disposition of | or
real estate; or

Real estate is 90% or more of
the entity’s tangible assets

Slide 40



Excise and Estate Tax Section:

Acguired Real Estate Convezance Tax

Calculation of Tax

* The tax rate is $2.30 per $500.00 (or fractional part) of sales price

 Formula: (Total Sales Price + $500) x $2.30 = Tax Due

* An additional tax of $2.30 per $500 on sale of residential property
for amounts over $800,000 is due.”

» Residential property formula: (Total Sales Price + $500) X $2.30 plus
(Amount over $800K + $500) x $2.30 = Tax Due

*Enacted in FY 22 Appropriation Bill (House Bill 6122Aaa, Article 14 Section 6, page 285)

Division of Taxation Slide 41
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http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/BillText21/HouseText21/H6122Aaa.pdf

Excise and Estate Tax Section:
Acqguired Real Estate Conveyance Tax

What is residential real property?

* Residential real property is determined based on
classifications by each city or town.

Slide 42


https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/sales-excise/real-estate-conveyance-tax

Excise and Estate Tax Section:
Acqguired Real Estate Conveyance Tax

Useful links:

Acquired Real Estate Company Advisory
R.I. Gen. Law § 44-25-1 amended was effective July 1, 2015.
CVYT-2 Acquired Real Estate Conveyance Tax

Question should be directed to tax.excise@tax.ri.gov m

Slide 43


http://www.tax.ri.gov/Tax%20Website/TAX/notice/Notice%202015-13%20--%20Real%20Estate%20Company%20Acquisition%20--%2009-02-15.pdf
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-25/44-25-1.htm
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2022-10/CVYT-2_v6_w.pdf
mailto:tax.excise@tax.ri.gov

Excise and Estate Tax Section

Estate Tax Update

e Form-RI-706 Estate Tax return

« Form used for taxable and non-taxable estates

« Estates greater than $1.3M need to complete entire return

« Estates below $1.3M need to complete pages 1 — 4 including Part
6, recapitulation schedule

« $50 filing fee still applies

 Taxable estate with DOD prior to 01/01/2015 should email
tax.estate@tax.ri.gov for Form 100A

« 2023 Inflation adjusted amounts
e Threshold $1,733,264—Credit $80,395
« 2024 amounts published by end of year



mailto:tax.estate@tax.ri.gov

Excise and Estate Tax Section

Estate Tax Update

 Best Practices for Filing an Estate Tax Return

Taxation

All applicable items on Part 6, Recapitulation Schedule must be
completed for taxable and non-taxable estates.

Backup must be provided for all items listed on part 6 for estates
greater than $1.3M.

Early lien releases only provided when the decedent / estate owns
multiple properties.

« Full payment of the estimated liability must be included.

Book value at date of death hierarchy:

 Purchase and sale within 6 months of DOD;

« Appraisals; and

« Assessed values (may request appraisal based on return review).
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Excise and Estate Tax Section

Estate Tax Update

« Best Practices for Filing an Estate Tax Return — continued

 Other items required of all returns:
» Certificate of Appointment;
« Power of attorney, if applicable;
 Wills;
 Trust agreements; and
 Other items listed on part 5.

 Copies of federal schedules are not acceptable in place of the RI
schedules. All Rl schedules must be completed. Federal
schedules can act as backup if indicated on Rl schedules.

 Federal estate closing letters are no longer required for estates
required to file Federal Form 706
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Excise and Estate Tax Section

Estate Tax Update

Notes on non-taxable estates
Non-taxable estates may file an Estate Tax return for various reasons, including:

To obtain a discharge of the automatic statutory lien that attaches to all real
estate that a decedent owns at death.

To obtain a Notice of No Tax Due for probate court purposes.

To obtain a Waiver to allow the sale of Rhode Island securities, including Rhode
Island incorporated stock, Rhode Island state and municipal bonds, and mutual
funds organized as business trusts that do business in Rhode Island.
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Excise and Estate Tax Section
Electronic Filing & Payment Mandate

* Electronic filing and payment mandate for large business
registrant taxpayers effective 01/01/2023

« Large Business Registrant defined:

* is operating a business whose combined annual liability for all taxes
administered by the Division of Taxation for the entity is or exceeds $5,000; or

* is %).p%erating a business whose annual gross income is over $100,000 for the
entity.

* Penalties
* $50 per occurrence for failure to file electronically
* 5% of tax amount or $500, whichever is less for failure to pay electronically

. 'bl'axpayers with reasonable causes may be exempt on a case-by-case
asis

 Individuals and trusts filing personal or fiduciary income tax returns are

8?5 larger business registrants for the purposes of R.l. Gen. Laws §44-1-
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Excise and Estate Tax Section

Contact Information

 Phone: 401-574-8829 Option #8
Email: Tax.Estate@tax.ri.gov

Estate Tax

e Phone: 401-574-8955

Sales & Excise Tax Email: Tax.Excise@tax.ri.gov

w@"
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Website Walk-through

 Website upgrade went live in 2021

« Screenshots included for display

* Increased search capabilities

* Designed to support multiple screen sizes and types of
devices



http://www.tax.ri.gov/

Website Walk-through

Website Components and Features Y% Sattings A Languags

Display site in:

&2 Select Language | W

* Ability to Customize Sler R
the language and

translate pages roni

Switch to dark Use system preference

Original Larger

« Change Font size

Line spacing:

Original

Word spacing:

original
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Website Walk-through

Resources for Businesses

Sales & Excise | Rl Division of
Taxation

Q Online Services +

"g" Agency Announcements

Home » Resources For.. » Businesses

Corporate | Rl Division of
Taxation

Resources for...

Contact Us | Rl Division of

Ta.X ati on Individuals =5
Businesses —_

Credits | RI Division of pud

TaX atl O n Corporate

Electronic Filing Mandate

Rl Tax Credits & Financing |
Rhode Island Commerce
(commerceri.com)

Registration

Sales & Excise

ODE ISLAND

f Taxation

Resources for... v

Tax Sections v Forms ~  Guidance +~ AboutUs «

Resources for Businesses

* NEW * The Restaurant Industry & Rhode Island Tax Guide

In accordance with changes signed into law in June of 2022, a larger business
registrant will be required to use electronic means to file returns and remit taxes
to the State of Rhode Island for tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2023.
Visit our Electronic Filing Mandate page for more information on this requirement.

Business Taxes

Here is some information on the more common taxes that impact businesses

#+ Corporate Tax
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Website Walk-through

Website Components and Features
https://tax.ri.gov/

Official State of Rhode Island website Q Settings & Language

o P rOVi d es £ STltTE f)F I.RHODE ISLAND .
resources Do 10—
b ro ke N ou t {3} Online Services v

by sections

Resources for... v  Tax Sections @& | Forms v Guidance v AboutUs v

Overview

N, ’
'Q' Agency Announcements Show Alerts

Audit

-

Compliance & Collections

* Forms are _ . ' —— e e ——

Corporate Tax

broken out @ Welcome f—-— | |

in a similar - et

Administering RI state taxes and assistl

Way ' fostering voluntary compliance through

ensuring public confidence. Personal Income Tax ‘

Estate Tax

| Sales & Excise Taxes

S i B
'y =
f

P —A'_" I S i

el N P ——— .‘WithholdingTax
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 Links to
Advisories,
FAQs and
Newsletters

« Alerts and
Messages

e Search
functionality

Website Walk-through

Website Components and Features

Official State of Rhode Island website

g% STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

@ Division of Taxation
e

Department of Revenue

ﬁ Online Services v  Resources for... v  Tax Sections v  Forms v

“Q" Agency Announcements

Electronic Filing Mandate and New Sales Tax Form
ELECTRONIC FILING MANDATE:
In accordance with changes signed into la
will be required to use electronic means t
Rhode Island for tax periods beginning on

Visit our Electronic Filing Mandate page fi

NEW SALES TAX FORM:

Starting with the return for the period eng
monthly and quarterly Sales and Use Tax |
new sales form - Form RI-STR. Click for |
Advisory issued regarding the new form.
periods ending on or before December 31,
For guidance on completing and filing Forj

& STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

- EE Welcome

A

4

L Settings & Language

Search the site Q

Guidance @& About Us v

Overview Hide Alerts

Administrative Decisions

Advisories

ness registrant

Declaratory Rulings Vaoshioo

Information and FAQs

|uirement.
Newsletters

lary 2023],

ision of Taxation's
iions and the
Jsed only for

Notices
Publications
Regulations
Reports

COVID-19

Health Insurance Mandate |
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PPP Loan Forgiveness

Special Programs

Division of Taxation
v
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Questions
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W STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
Division of Taxation

Department of Revenue

Thank you ...

401-574-8829
Tax.Experience@tax.ri.gov
One Capitol Hill
Providence, Rl 02908
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