

Rhode Island Department of Revenue Division of Taxation

ADV 2023-19 Tax Administration ADVISORY FOR TAXPAYERS AND TAX PROFESSIONALS
December 12, 2023

Rhode Island estate tax credit and threshold set for 2024

Law provides annual adjustment based on widely used measure of inflation

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Rhode Island Division of Taxation today published the Rhode Island estate tax credit amount and threshold for the estates of decedents with a date of death on or after January 1, 2024.

Rhode Island's Estate Tax credit is adjusted annually by the percentage increase (if any) in the consumer price index for all urban consumers (CPI-U). For decedents with a date of death on or after January 1, 2024, the credit amount is \$83,370, exempting from taxation the first \$1,774,583 of an estate. This means that, in general, if a person passes away in 2024, a net taxable estate valued at \$1,774,583 or less will not be subject to Rhode Island's Estate Tax.

Rhode Island Estate Tax threshold amount	
For decedent whose death occurs in:	Estate Tax threshold amount is:
2024	\$1,774,583
2023	\$1,733,264
2022	\$1,648,611
2021	\$1,595,156
2020	\$1,579,922
2019	\$1,561,719
2018	\$1,537,656
2017	\$1,515,156
2016	\$1,500,000
2015	\$1,500,000
2014	\$921,655
2013	\$910,725
2012	\$892,865
2011	\$859,350
2010	\$850,000
2009	\$675,000

In certain circumstances, the Rhode Island Estate Tax will not apply regardless of the estate's size. The Rhode Island General Laws provide full details on the application of the Estate Tax. The Rhode Island General Laws also include computations and factors such as marital deductions - R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-22.

Rhode Island Estate Tax credit	
For decedent whose death occurs in:	Estate Tax credit amount is:
2024	\$83,370
2023	\$80,395
2022	\$74,300
2021	\$70,490
2020	\$69,515
2019	\$68,350
2018	\$66,810
2017	\$65,370
2016	\$64,400
2015	\$64,400

The Division reminds filers that the RI-706¹ is the required form for filing a taxable or a non-taxable estate return for the estate of a decedent who passed after January 1, 2015.

Estates with assets below \$1.3M are required to complete pages 1-4 of the RI-706 including Part 6. This portion of the form is used to differentiate types of assets and is known as the recapitulation schedule. All fields on pages 1-4 must be completed.

The schedules A-U, related to the classification of assets and expenses, are not required for estates below \$1.3M. If the decedent's gross estate exceeds \$1.3M, the estate must complete the full return including all schedules.

Notes on non-taxable estates

Non-taxable estates may file an Estate Tax return for various reasons, including:

- To obtain a discharge of the automatic statutory lien that attaches to all real estate a decedent owns at death.
- To obtain a Notice of No Tax Due for probate court purposes.
- To obtain a Waiver to allow the sale of Rhode Island securities, including Rhode Island incorporated stock, Rhode Island state and municipal bonds, and mutual funds organized as business trusts that do business in Rhode Island.

For more information on Estate Tax or for questions, taxpayers and preparers are encouraged to contact the Division's Estate Tax Section by email at: Tax.Estate@tax.ri.gov or by telephone from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. on business days at: 401-574-8829 option #8.

For Estate Tax forms, visit us online: Estate Tax Forms | RI Division of Taxation

¹ See the Division's <u>ADV 2021-54</u> for details regarding the introduction of the RI-706 form.

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation, part of the Rhode Island Department of Revenue, is open to the public from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. For more information, contact the Division of Taxation at (401) 574-8829 or see https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us.