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Disclaimer

This presentation is neither designed nor intended to address
complex issues in detail. It is not a substitute for the Rhode Island
General Laws or for Rhode Island Division of Taxation regulations,
rulings, or notices.

This presentation is intended to provide some guidance and direction
to Single Member Limited Liability Companies on the application of
tax laws. It is not intended to provide tax or legal advice. For that
advice, a tax preparer or private attorney should be consulted.
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About Us

Total State Tax Revenue Collected by
the Division of Taxation
for Fiscal Year 2023 ($, In Millions)

The Division of Taxation:

One of six agencies in the Department of Revenue

 The Rhode Island Division of Taxation employs 223 tax professionals,
administering more than 59 different taxes and fees. FY23 ReceiptS' $5 7B

* Taxes represent the most significant source of General Fund revenue for Rhode
Island — funds used to help pay for vital services including public safety,
education, transportation, and recreation for all Rhode Islanders.

* Each year, the Division collects and distributes more than $5.2 billion in funds
to the State, municipalities, and other agencies (as of FY 23).

 To foster voluntary compliance with the Rhode Island tax laws and

instill public confidence through professional, impartial and ethical
conduct. 26.60%

11.30%

« To administer and collect all taxes as required by Rhode Island law in
the most efficient and cost-effective manner.

* To assist taxpayers by helping them understand and meet their tax
responsibilities. OWithholding OSales OCorp OPIT MEstate, M&B, Hotel & Other
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Division of Taxation: Mission

The Tax Administration Efficiency Continuum

— FORCED COMPLIANCE

More expensive, less efficient, but necessary

VOLUNTARY COMPLIANCE

Less expensive, more efficient revenue generation

The Taxpayer’s Stay informed of tax EVEY Ask questions File taxes and Respond to Participate in Defend Defend Defend
Responsibilities obligations information as needed forms questions audit position position position
Be e .
The Division of Educate & q Optimize A Take Litigate Enforce
Taxation’s Actions I:i:::tl c!l‘.":; laanve publish a';: cgf:'ali’llf filing cet::'::t i nc:sdtlitg:‘t A collections against bad criminal
y instructions !:ah — processes actions actors penalties
Creating a Expanding Improving Expanding
How are we dedicated taxpayer the taxpayer staff the remote
. . experience team, service training, audit
im pr0V| n g expanding outreach portal, data program,
to aid taxpayers, creating analysis, implementing
taxpayer providing more digital improving best
s ervi ces, direct access f?r signature forms and practices
taxpayers, creating options, data
volu ntary educational upgrading retrieval '
. : Developing
2 material for technology, .
compllance e common taxpayer appointment industry
issues system pilot guidelines

I Taxpayer Experience Office/Team

ﬁgalb;%r STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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Who is this presentation for?

 New or start-up businesses that do not have experience with
State tax filing requirements;

* Individuals thinking of starting a business;

* Individuals who want to confirm their understanding of State tax
filing requirements;

* Individuals who are guiding others on State tax compliance
requirements.
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Characteristics

No matter the
type of LLC, it is

Income/losses pass
through from entity to

A Limited

Liability an entity
: te f it the members unless
Companl){ is Sepfnr:n?b;?(g Its Codlarall Aleedon e he All members have the
bgen‘?ri é’ taxed as a corporation same limited liability
abpreviated as is completed » Differs from “limited”

“LLC”

partner or investor
* May have one or
more managing
member(s)

Owners are
referred to
as members

Members can be an
individual(s) or another
entity

Entity members can be:

he activity and factors of
an LLC do flow through to
its members and is
reportable to the Division of
Taxation on prescribed
forms

Entity
structures can
get very
complicated
with several
tiers of LLCs

R.l. Gen. Laws § 7-16-67
subjects all LLCs not taxed
as a corporation to an
annual charge (currently
$400) remitted to the
Division of Taxation

* A corporation
* Another LLC
* A partnership

’ﬁ;?f_h;w STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
b, .
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Types of Limited Liability Companies

Partnership
Consists of two or more members

Determined based on
federal tax treatment

Single Member LLC (SMLLC)
Also referred to as Disregarded Entity

Corporation
Rarest form

Slide 9



Federal and State Tax Treatment - SMLLC

Federal

* No entity level filing
requirement

« Federal forms

o Individual member
would file on Schedule
C of 1040

f Taxation

Similarities
Income tax paid
by members on
their income tax
returns

State

* Required to file RI-
1065 to report
income/loss and pay
$400 annual charge

» Requires obtaining a
Federal Employer
Identification Number

e State forms

o Individual member
would file on RI-1040
flow from Federal
AGI of Form 1040
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Entity Level Filing Information

- State of Rhode Island Division of Taxation -

2022 R1-1065 [

Partnership Income Return 599990101

Completion of RI-1065 Required s e st e 1 Sy ot St s

For the teccable year from

F2022 through
MName

Audddress 1

Check appropriate entity type box e
RI-1065 Line 1 I -
e SMLLC-Federal Schedule C, Line 31 e

Entity type: Il e L N SMLLE Crange

Additions/Deductions . —————____________
. As applicable . ——— T

Schedule A - Computation of Tax Attach acomplete copy of all pages and schedules of the federal return including all K-1's

2 TotalDeductions from page 2, Schedule B, lime 1e . e 2

Apportionment Schedule P

« Completed even if 100% apportionment U o
« 3 Factor Apportionment e E
e Feeds into Rl K-1 S pp oo

BaTOTAL TAX. Add lines Ta @md T e e | BB

Ta Rhode lsland Annusal Fee - 340000 T&

Chedk if & Jobs Growth Tax is being reported on line Th.

)
Dues onor before the 15t day of the 3rd month following the dose of the texable year
SMLLC entities please see instructons for information on the due date of your retum

- Mszil o R Division of Taxsation - One Capital Hill - Providence, R 02508 -

f Taxation Slide 11




Federal to State Example: Federal 1040

IEII Income

1 Gross receipts or sales. See instructions for line 1 and check the box if this income was reported to you on
Form W-2 and the *Statutory employee” box on that form was checked . 1 125000
2  Returns and allowances . 2
3  Subtract line 2 from line 1 3
4 Cost of goods sold (from line 42) 4
5 Gross profit. Subtract line 4 from line 3 L e e 5
6 Other income, including federal and state gasoline or fuel tax credit or refund (see instructions) . 5]
7 Gross income. Add lines 5 and 6 L 7
ml Expenses. Enter expenses for business use of your home only on line 30.
B Adverising. . . . . 8 5000 18 Office expense (see instructions) . 18 5000
Car and truck expenses 19 Pension and profit-sharing plans . | 19
[see instructions) . . . 9 50000 20 Rent or lease (see instructions):
10 Commissions and fees . 10 a \ehicles, machinery, and equipment | 20a
11 Contract labor (see instructions) 11 b Other business property . . . | 20b 12500
12 Depletion . . . . . 12 21 Repairs and maintenance . i
13 Depreciation and section 179 22 Supplies (not included in Part 1) . | 22 5000
BXpense deduction  (not 23  Taxes and licenses . 23
included in Part 1) (ses
instructions) . 13 200000 24  Travel and meals:
14  Employee bensfit programs a Travel. . . . . . . . . |28
(other than on line 19) . 14 b Deductible meals (ses
15 Insurance (other than health) 15 2000 instructions) . . . . . . . | 24b
16 Interest (see instructions): 25 Utilities . . . . . . . . 25
a Mortgage (paid to banks, etc.) | 16a 26  Wapges (less employment credits) 26
b Other . . . . . . 16b 2Ta Other expenses (fromline 48) . . | 27a
17 Legal and professional services | 17 10000 b Reserved for future use . 27Th
28  Total expenses before expenses for business use of home. Add lines 8 through 27a . 28
29 Tentative profit or {loss). Subtract line 28 from line 7 . L e 29
30 Expenses for business use of your home. Do not report these expenses elsewhere. Attach Form B829
unless using the simplified method. See instructions.
Simplified method filers only: Enter the total square footage of (a) your home:
and (b) the part of your home used for business: . Use the Simplified
Method Worksheet in the instructions to figure the amount to enteronline30 . . . . . . . . .| 30
3 Net profit or (loss). Subtract line 30 from line 29.
» |f a profit, enter on both Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 3, and on Schedule SE, line 2. (If you
checked the box on line 1, see instructions.) Estates and trusts, enter on Form 1041, line 3. 3 75000

! STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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Federal to State Example: Federal 1040

SCHEDULE 1 OMB No. 1545-0074 7 -
(Form 1040) Additional Income and Adjustments to Income 20 Income 12 Totalamount from Form(s) W-2, box 1 (seeinstructions) . . . . . . . . . . . . . |1a 0
e Attach to Form 1040, 1040-SR, or 1040-NR. 2022 b  Househiold | t rted on F W-2 1b
Oupartment of e Toesomry Go 10 www.irs.gov/Form1040 for instructions and the latest information. Anacrrrerz\ o ousehold employee wages notreportedon Form(s)yW-2 . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Name(s) shown on Eorm 1040, 1040-SR, or 1030-NA Your social security number a“;‘;‘h F°'fM“(s) ¢ Tipincome not reported on line 1a (seeinstructions) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . |1c
-2z here, Also
ASGRIonal SCome attach Forms d Medicaid waiver payments not reported on Form(s) W-2 (see mstructlons) SR [
1 Taxable refunds, credits, or offsats of state and local income taxes A ‘1'/0929(5 Rarn‘fdt e Taxable dependent care benefits from Form 2441,line26 . . . . . . . . . . . . | 1e
2a Alimony received . R T R N - o ax ) : ;
b Dabe of original divorce or separation agreement (see instructions): was withheld. f Employer-provided adoption benefits from Form 8839,line29 . . . . . . . . . . . 1f
3 Business income or (loss). Attach Schedule C . 3 75000 i W from Form 8919. lin o o PRI s T
4 Other gains or (losses). Attach Form 4797 4 If you did not 9 Sgas o .0 8919, .e6 ) = &2 : Z S 19
5 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, Scorporatlons trusts etc Anach ScheduleE 5 getaForm h Other earned income (seeinstructions) . . . . . . S 1h
6 Farmm income or (loss). Attach Schedule F . % S * oV % 6 W-2, see 2 s g 5 I |
17; g:\hemp'oyment compensation . - 7 nctotiors. i Nontaxable combat pay election (see instructions) . . . 1i
er income: .
& et Boatiting ks o  sak ) —\_zAddlln&s1a.through1h 1z
b Gambling 8b AttachSch.B 2a Tax-exempt interest . 2a b Taxable interest . . . . . 2b
¢ Cancellation of debt . 8c if . - ay
d Foreign eamed income exclusion from Form 2565 8d if required. 3a_ Qualified dividends . . . | 3a b Ordinary dividends . . . . . | 3b
———
S ) SO e - o | 4 IRAdistributions . da b Taxableamount. . . . . . |4b
g Alaska Permanent Fund dividends 8g Standard 5a Pensionsand annuites . . | 5a b Taxableamount. . . . . . | 5b
h Jurydutypay . . . 8h Deduction for— ; :
i Prizesand awards . . . 8i _ 6a Social security benefits . . | 6a b Taxableamount. . . . . . 6b
j Activity not engaged in for proﬁt income . | 8 » Single or . . .
k Stock options . 8k Married filing ¢ Ifyou elect to use the lump-sum election method, check here (see instructions) O
I Income from the rental of pefsonal property if you engaged in the rentsal separately, i i i i i
for profit but were not in the business of renting such property . 8l $12.950 7  Capital gain or (loss). Attach Schedule D if required. If not required, check here . . . . . L ISR
m Olympic and Paralympic medals and USOC prize money (see » Married filing 8  Otherincome from Schedule 1, line10 . . . . T 8 75000
instructions) " y 8m jointly or
n Section 951(a) inclusion (see instructions) 8n Qualifying 9  Add lines 1z, 2b, 3b, 4b, 5b, 6b, 7, and 8. This is your total income . . . . . =y . . 9 75000
o Section 951A(a) inclusion (see instructions) . 8o surviving spouse, |
5 Seclion 48100 txcess bosinese loss bt 2 8p $25.000 10  Adjustments to income from Schedule 1,line26 . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . 10 0
q Taxable distributions from an ABLE account (see instructions) . 8q » Head of | 11 Subtract line 10 from line 9. This is your adjusted gross=come . . . . . . . . . . |11 75000
r Scholarship and fellowship grants not reported onFormW-2 . . . | 8r household, .- i P .
s Nontaxable amount of Medicaid waiver payments included on Form $19.400 12 Standard deduction or itemized deduc*z.,s (rom ScheduleA) . . . . . . . . . . |12 12950
1040, line 1aor1d . 8s y o : : e
¥ Dol of sl “y| o nonqulahfed P compensahon p,an - ' gn yyog ocxnﬁcn:icfx 13  Qualified business income ZCuuction from Form 8995 or Form8995-A . . . . . . . . . 13
a nongovemmental section 457 plan . » 8t 19
& Wacies seuad ublle carcted = gg,da,vg 14 Addlines1?%w13 . . . . . . . Ce e 14
z Other income. List type and amount: e, Suptract line 14 from line 11. If zero or Iess enter -0 ThlS is your taxable income . . . . . 15 62050
8z see lnstructlons/
9 Total other income. Add lines 8a through 8z . . . 9 2
10 Combine Imes 1 through 7 and 9. Enter here and on Form 1040 1040-SR or 1040-NQ hne 8 10 75000
== A iion e yension sk ST o o A For Disclosure, Privacy Act, and Paperwork Reduction Act Notice, see separate instructions. Cat. No. 113208 Form 1040 (2022)

W STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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Federal to State Example

RI-1040
FILING e —— iy
. %y | Married filing Married filing Head of Qualifying
STATUS Singe = (X jointly = separately = household = widow(er)
Check one
INCOME, 1 Federal AGI from Federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, iN€ 11 ..........ceoeeueeeueescorseereeeeessonssesnssnisnened 1 75000
TAX AND
CREDITS
2 Net modifications to Federal AGI from RI Sch M, line 3. If no modifications, enter O on this line. 2
( Rhode
S::':dn:m 3 Modified Federal AGI. Combine lines 1 and 2 (add net increases or subtract net decreases)..... 3 75000
Deduction
sog® | 4 RIStandard Deduction from left If ine 3is over $ 217,050 see Standard Deduction Worksheet ......... : 9300
Mamied
flingjointy| 5 Subtractline 4 from line 3. If Zero or ess, Nter O...........c...oeueeeeeceeecueeceeesesesese s senessrsssesrsesreees D 65700
or
Qualifyi
M’ﬁ‘g’,‘;’ 6 Enter # of exemptions from RI Sch E, line 5 in box, multiply by $4,350 and 1) X$4350= 6 4350
$18.600 enter result on line 6. If line 3 is over $217 050, see Exemption Worksheet
Mine. | 7 RITAXABLE INCOME. Subtractline 6 from line 5. If 2er0 OF €SS, @NMer O...........ocervvrere 7 61350
separately
:g'azoof 8 Rl income tax from Rhode Island Tax Table or Tax Computation Worksheet.............ccccocccveeeueee. 8 2301
e 0
noueeoid] g R percentage of allowable Federal credit from page 3,

\$13,950 ) RI Schl line 22 =

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

vision of Taxation




Single Member LLC vs Sole Proprietor

Single Member LLC Sole Proprietor
» Entity separate from its  Owner is the entity
owner Similarities

« Can register a trade

* Registered as an entity  Files Form 1040 :
with RI Department of reporting on name W'tptlocal
State Schedule C to pay municipatity

* Has liability protection— federal income taxes * Personal liability
limited to investment * No dissolution to

* Files RI-1040/RI-

1040NR to pay state close business

* Registration date—

dissplution date income tax on » No separate filing
» Subject to annual charge Federal AGI including requirement or
(currently $400) on Schedule C income annual charge

separate tax form for
state purposes

f Taxation Slide 15



Personal Income Estimated Payment Requirements

« A new business may have to file estimated payments in place of withholding payments
from an employer

* Required if annual liability is greater than $250
* Includes withholding from an employer on paycheck
 Underestimated interest assessment—statutory rate of 12% per year

 Payments must equal the lower of:
 100% of prior year tax liability (aka “safe-harbor”) or
«  80% of current year tax liability

e Mirrors IRS requirement

* Federal tax or self-employment tax awareness
* Includes social security contribution

« Most payments are 4 equal installments
« However, annualization based on current year is possible

« Portal payment options

Slide 16
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Personal Income Estimated Payment Requirements

Existing Business

2021

Federal AGI from Federal Form 1040 or 1040-5R, line 11

Met modifications to Federal AGI from RI Sch M, line 3. If no modifications, enter 0 on thig line.

Modified Federal AGl. Combine lines 1 and 2 (add net increases or subtract net decreases).....

RI Standard Dedudtion from left. If line 3 is over § 210,750 see Standard Deduction Worksheet ...........

Subtract line 4 from line 3. W zero or 185s, 8nter O e et e et e e s e e

Enter # of exemptions from Rl Sch E. line 5 in box, multiply by $4, 250 and

. ; \ ; 1 Xs$a250=
enter esult on ling 6. Ifline 3 is over $210,750, see Exemption Workshest

RI TAXABLE INCOME. Subtract line 6 from line 5. If zero or less, enter O

Rl income tax from Rhode Island Tax Table or Tax Computation Worksheet ...

100% of prior year is $1,939.00

W@W STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
Division of Taxation
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2022

Federal AGI from Federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11 ..o e e e e e

Met modifications to Federal AGI from RI Sch M, line 3. If no modifications, enter 0 on this line.

Modified Federal AGI. Combine lines 1 and 2 (add net increases or subtract net decreases). .

Rl Standard Deduction from left. If line 3 iz over $ 217,050 see Standard Deduction Worksheet ...

Subtract line 4 from line 3. If zeroor BSE, BRtEr U e e e e e

Enter # of exemptions from Bl Sch E, line 5 in box, multiply by $4,350 and

! om RI : 1 xs4350=
enter result on line & If line 3 is over $217,050, see Exemption Worksheet

RI TAXABLE INCOME. Subtract line & from line 5. Ifzero or less enter O ...

Rl income tax from Rhode Island Tax Table or Tax Computation Worksheet ...

80% of current year is $2,166

Slide 17
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Personal Income Estimated Payment Requirements

New Business

2021

1 Federal AGI from Federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, [IN@ 11 ... e 1

2 Net modifications to Federal AGI from Rl Sch M, line 3. If no modifications, enter 0 on this line. 2

3 Modified Federal AGI. Combine lines 1 and 2 (add net increases or subfract net decreases)..... 3

4 RI Standard Deduction from left. If line 3 is over $ 210,750 see Standard Deduction Worksheet ........... 4

5 Subtract line 4 from line 3. If zero orless, eNter O......ccoocveeiieiee e e 5

g Enter # of exemptions from RI Sch E, line 5 in box, multiply by $4,250 and 1 X$4250= 6
enter result on line 6. If line 3 is over $210,750, see Exemption Worksheet

7 RI TAXABLE INCOME. Subtract line 6 from line 5. If zeroorless, enter O.........c..cccoeeiiiiiiai. 7

8 Rl income tax from Rhode Island Tax Table or Tax Computation Worksheet.........cccccceevvvevienes 8

14 a Rl 2021 income tax withheld from R| Schedule W, line 16. You must

attach Sch W AND all W-2 and 1099 forms with Rl withholding. ........... 14a

b 2021 estimated tax payments and amount applied from 2020 return.... 14b

100% of prior year is $2,314.00

Lo STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

e . :
@ Division of Taxation
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75000

2022

Federal AGI from Federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11 ..o 1

Net modifications to Federal AGI from RI Sch M, line 3. If no modifications, enter 0 on this line. 2

Modified Federal AGI. Combine lines 1 and 2 (add net increases or subtract net decreases)..... 3
RI Standard Deduction from left. If line 3 is over $ 217,050 see Standard Deduction Worksheet ........... 4
Subtract line 4 from line 3. If zero orless, enter Q... e 5
Enter # of exemptions from RI Sch E, line 5 in box, multiply by $4,350 and 1 x $4350= 6

enter result on line 6. If line 3 is over $217,050, see Exemption Worksheet

RI TAXABLE INCOME. Subtract line 6 from line 5. If zero orless, enter 0........ccoceveeeeveeeiviivnennnn 7

RI income tax from Rhode Island Tax Table or Tax Computation Worksheet.............................. 8

14 a RI 2022 income tax withheld from Rl Schedule W, line 16. You must

attach Sch W AND all W-2 and 1099 forms with Rl withholding. ........... 14a

b 2022 estimated tax payments and amount applied from 2021 return.... 14b

80% of current year is $1,841

75000

75000

9300

65700
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Tax Form Due Dates

:\!re'::fr: * RI-1065 (SMLLC)
04/15 * RI-1040 (Individual Members)
Individual * 4/15
Estimated « 6/15
Payment .« 9/15
(RI-1040-ES) e 01/15

Slide 19



https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2023-01/2023%20RI-1040ES_m.pdf

In Summary

« All LLCs are required to file with the RI Division of Taxation
 The type of LLC determines the required form
 All LLCs not taxed as a corporation are subject to an annual charge of $400
including SMLLCs

 The federal and state requirements differ
* A single member LLC and sole proprietor are not the same

 The activity of an LLC does flow through to its members and is
reportable to the Division of Taxation on prescribed forms

 Appendix attached shows information applicable to other LLC
types

@ D1v n of Taxation Slide 20
v Revenue



Sales Tax Responsibilities

* When is a sales permit required?
* For every business making sales at retail or renting living quarters.

 Retail sale includes:

« Sale, lease, or rental of tangible personal property.

* “Tangible personal property” means personal property which may be seen,
weighed, measured, felt, or touched, or which is in any other manner perceptible
to the senses.

* Prewritten computer software
« Specified digital products
« Taxable services
* A tax exemption does not remove sales permit requirement.

e There is no fee for the annual renewal which is due 02/01.

Slide 21



Sales Tax Responsibilities

 To obtain a sales permit, you must submit a Business Application
and Registration

 Sales & Use Tax | Rl Division of Taxation

* Returns are due monthly or quarterly
* More than $200 tax per month average - monthly filing frequency
 STR form is due by the 20t of month following the sale
* Less than $200 per month on average - quarterly filing frequency
« STR form due by last day of the month following the end of the quarter
* Initial registration is monthly for first 6 months
* Must file “zero” returns

e Current Rate is 7%

Taxation


https://tax.ri.gov/online-services/register-your-business-online
https://tax.ri.gov/online-services/register-your-business-online
https://tax.ri.gov/online-services/register-your-business-online

Sales Tax Responsibilities

 What is taxable under sales tax?
o All tangible personal property

o Certain enumerated services: § 44-18-7.3. Services defined
Taxicab and limousine services

Other road transportation services

Pet care services

Room resellers

Investigation, Guard, and Armored Car Services

AW

* What is not taxable under sales tax?

o Only certain items are not taxable — those items are listed in § 44-18-
30. Gross receipts exempt from sales and use taxes.

Slide 23


http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-18/44-18-7.3.htm
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-18/44-18-30.htm
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-18/44-18-30.htm

Additional Taxes and Fees

Business Application and Registration form:

Yes No Fee:

° With h O ld i N g taxes Do you have employees working in RI? None
Do you have Rl Withholding? None
° Local M eals an d Beve rage Taxes Do you lease employees in RI? None
Do you make sales at retail? None *
. . A separate permit is required for each location. * Permits effectiv
° L I tte r pe rm It fe e Sales Tax liability greater than $200 per mo.? |:| D None
¢ Val.|d th rough 12/31/23 Will you be selling: B
- . Gasoline - None
* Cigarette Dealer’s License Beverages orfood -| | [ | $25.00
. Liquor - None
Fee Of $25 Cigarettes/Tobacco/Other Tobacco - : $25.00
b Motor Vehicles - | | None
° TO aCCoO TaX Motor Vehicles leasing - | | None
Rental of room(s)/home(s) - || None
e Hotel Tax Prepaid wireless phone cards - ] None
Other -

Total Fees enclosed

Slide 24


https://tax.ri.gov/online-services/register-your-business-online

Trust Fund Taxes

What are Trust Fund Taxes?

 Trust Fund Taxes are taxes that are collected by one taxpayer from
another taxpayer and are held in trust for the state.

« Sales Tax, Hotel Tax, Meals and Beverage Tax, Withholding Tax as
examples

 The statutes that enforce these taxes require the collecting taxpayer
to remit those taxes to the state at a definite date.
* R.I. Gen Laws § 44-19-35
e R.I. Gen Laws § 44-30-7/6

 Additional details can be found in an article from the Division’s
newsletter.

Taxation


http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-19/44-19-35.htm
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-30/44-V/44-30-76.htm
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2022-11/Newsletter Q4 2022 updated.pdf

Trust Fund Taxes

Examples of Trust Fund Taxes:

e Sales Tax
« State Sales Tax is collected by a retailer from their customers. All sales
taxes collected must be remitted to the state by the 20th of the following
month. The retailer’s tax obligation or liability relates directly to its
collection of taxes from another taxpayer - in this case their customer.

« Withholding Taxes
« Withholding Taxes are withheld by an employer from their employee’s
wages. The tax withheld or collected is held in trust for the state and not
for the employer’s use.




Trust Fund Taxes

How does this impact a business?

When Trust Fund Taxes are collected, the law indicates that these funds must be
remitted by the prescribed due date without exception.

There are penalties for misappropriation of trust funds including holding a
responsible officer personally liable for the misappropriation.

It is important for a business owner and their representatives to understand the
importance of trust fund remittance.




Additional Resources

* Choosing a Tax Professional | Internal Revenue Service (irs.gov)

« Contact Us | Rl Division of Taxation

 Guidance | Rl Division of Taxation

 Compliant Taxpayer Profiles
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https://www.irs.gov/tax-professionals/choosing-a-tax-professional
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us
https://tax.ri.gov/guidance
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/taxpayer-experience-office

Resources for
Businesses

» Sales & Excise | RI
Division of Taxation

 Corporate | Rl Division

of Taxation

 Contact Us | RI
Division of Taxation

 Credits | Rl Division of

Taxation

Lo STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

@ Division of Taxation
v

Additional Resources
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L8 Division of Taxation
e~ Department of Revenue

o o T

1:} Online Services ~  Resources for.. ~ Tax Sections v Forms ~ Guidance ~ AboutUs ~

A C 1
'g' Agency Announcem Overview Show Alerts
Individuals
Home » Resources For.. ¥ gy cinesses

Software Developers

Resources for Businesses

Resources for...

* NEW * The Restaurant Industry & Rhode Island Tax Guide

Individuals =
Businesses - * NEW * Guidance for Completing and Filing the new Sales Tax Return - RI-STR
- for periods beginning on or after January 2023
Audit
In accordance with changes signed into law in June of 2022, a larger business
Corporate registrant will be required to use electronic means to file returns and remit taxes

to the State of Rhode Island for tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2023.

Electronic Filing Mandate Visit our Electronic Filing Mandate page for more information on this requirement.

Registration

Business Taxes



https://tax.ri.gov/resources/businesses/corporate
https://tax.ri.gov/resources/businesses/corporate
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us
https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/credits
https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/credits
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Compliant Taxpayer Guide:

Online Retailer

Example:
On-line Retailer organized as a Single member LLC (SMLLC) with annual gross

receipts from sale of shirts and other apparel of $110,000. Taxpayer has no

employees.

This example is for educational and informational purposes only. It is not a substitute for compliance with the R.l. General Laws and any relevant rules or regulations. Depending on your specific business model,

you may have additional or different requirements.

Basics @ Personal Income Tax

¢ Member filed RI-1040ES making estimated payments on 4/15, 6/15,
9/15, and 1/15

e Member filed RI-1040 by 4/15

¢ Registered for Taxpayer Portal
¢ Annual Sales Permit renewal filed by 2/1
¢ RI-STR (Sales tax return) filed by the 20th day of the month following the month

in which the tax was collected*

e Annual filing

e RI-1065 filed by 4/15 with $400 annual charge and RI K1s to member * Quarterly filing frequency may be requested by taxpayers with six

months of filings under $200.

NEED HELP? o 401-574-8983

@ Tax.Experience@tax.ri.gov https:/ftax.ri.gov/




Record Keeping Requirements

What records should a taxpayer maintain?

 Federal & State Income Tax returns
* Copies of all state tax returns filed and backup detail

« Sales records and credit card receipts including
« Any exemption certificates
* Daily sales receipts/reports
* Merchant statements and 1099K forms
* Delivery slips

« Purchase invoices and ledger listings

 Asset schedules and invoices

 Bank statements, General Ledger and chart of accounts
 Other records as needed

* Printable record keeping guide
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https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2023-01/Recordkeeping Requirements.pdf

Questions?

]
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Stay Informed

e Sign up for our emails

Subscribe for tax news

 Tax news delivered to your inbox

Sign up to receive free RI tax news updates in
your inbox.

* Quarterly newsletters
By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing
emails from: Rhode Island Division of Taxation, 1 Capitol Hill,

Providence, RT 02908, US,
You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by

using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every
email.

* Important updates

Slide 33
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https://tax.ri.gov/

Contact Information

 Phone: 401-574-8935
 Email: Tax.Corporate@tax.ri.gov

Corporate Tax

e Phone: 401-574-8955

Sales & Excise Tax Email: Tax.Excise@tax.ri.gov

mﬁf’
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mailto:Tax.Corporate@tax.ri.gov
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Department of Revenue

Thank you ...

401-574-8983
Tax.Experience@tax.ri.gov

One Capitol Hill
Providence, Rl 02908

tyy- STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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Appendix A-Other LLC Entity Type of Requirements

A
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Federal and State Taxation

Partnership

Federal State

* Files Federal 1065 including K-1s * Required to file RI-1065 to report
to report income/loss income/loss and pay annual charge

* Income tax paid by members on o A0 :
* Income tax paid by members on

tax (r:eturnt‘ ber(e) ¥ their income tax return

© Lorporation memberis) would pay on o Corporation member(s) would pay
FeldaiiPAe on RI-1120C

o Individual member(s) would pay on o Individual member(s) would pay on RI-1040
Schedule E of Form 1040 based on Federal AGI of federal Form 1040

o A partnership or another LLC member o A partnership or another LLC member
would flow through the activity to would flow through the activity to their
their member(s) through its respective member(s) through its respective tax
tax form form
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Federal and State Taxation

Corporation

Federal State

* Files Form 1120 subject to * Follows federal election

corporate income tax rates * Files RI-1120C subject to corporate
* No filing for the members 7% tax rate
* Requires filing of election on * No filing for the members

Federal Form 8832 * If S-corporation election is made
« Can make separate S- federally

corporation election on Federal o Same tax treatment as partnership

Form 2553

o Same tax treatment as partnership

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Division of Taxation Slide 38
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https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f8832.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f2553.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f2553.pdf

Other Entity Level Filing Information

Pass-Through Withholding Requirement

 Withholding at rate of 5.99% of
income

« R.. Gen Laws § 44-11-2.2(b)

* Not required for SMLLCs * Beginning with 2023, reported
through PT Schedule as part of

RI-1065. Prior years, filed on
* Can only be waived if one of two form RI-1096PT
elections are made

1) Election to file a composite
* This is a withholding against return (R.l. Gen Laws § 44-11-
member’s income in similar 2.2(d)) or
manner as employer withholding
against wages

» Entities required to withhold
taxes against income of non-
resident members

More information on Pass-
through Entities

2) Election to pay state income
tax at entity level tax (R.l. Gen
Laws § 44-11-2.3)

f )

=
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https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/corporate-tax/pass-through-entities
https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/corporate-tax/pass-through-entities

Other Entity Level Filing Information

* Only available for non-resident individual members; entity
members are not includable

E le CtiO N to Fi le « Combined income tax filing/payment for the non-resident

members

CO m pOSite * Can be a member-by-member election; however, must include at
least two members

* Filed on the RI-1040C

El,e Ctio N to Fi le - Statute was enacted in 2019

 For resident and non-resident individual members

Pass Th o ugh « Can only be made by all individual members

* Does require members to still file own RI-1040 or RI-1040NR

E ntity TaX » Filed on the RI-PTE—changes coming in Tax Year 2024

STATE Ol DE ISLAND
Division of Taxation Slide 40
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