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Executive Summary 
Purpose 
This report is intended to meet the statutory requirements that the Tax Administrator, 
in cooperation with the Rhode Island State Council on the Arts (“RISCA”), gather data 
and assess the impact of the statewide arts district program.  

Background 
In 2013, the General Assembly established a sales tax exemption for the sale of original 
works of art and limited edition works of art anywhere in the State of Rhode Island, 
known as the Sales Tax Exemption for Artists. 1 The passage of the state-wide Sales 
Tax Exemption for Artists distinguishes Rhode Island as functionally an arts district 
itself, known as the “State of the Arts.”  

The General Assembly charged RISCA with managing the program and the Division of 
Taxation with administering the exemption certificates and collecting data. 
 
As of December 1, 2013, all original and limited edition works of art sold in the State of 
Rhode Island are eligible for exemption from sales tax.  

This reflects an expansion of the 1996 law that established the first designated arts 
districts in Rhode Island, to take effect in 1997.2 In such a district, art could be 
purchased exempt from state sales tax at galleries. This program was regarded as 
successful by key stakeholders, and, throughout the late 1990s and into the early 
2000s, several communities subsequently pursued arts district designations. Details of 
the expansion of the program are available in the appendices. 

The success of the program is summarized in 2013 - H 5127 SUBSTITUTE A AS 
AMENDED, excerpted below: 

Since 1998 the establishment of arts districts where "one-of-a-
kind limited production" works of art may be sold exempt from 
state sales tax has resulted in an increased presence for the arts 
in designated cities and towns, with benefits to those communities 
and to the state.  

Since the establishment of arts districts, many communities have 
sought legislation to expand the program to their city or town.  

There is value in expanding the arts district program statewide, 
providing incentives for the sale and purchase of art. This is a 
unique opportunity for Rhode Island to shape history, and gain an 
advantage over other states, by becoming the first and only state 
in the country to declare a statewide sales tax exemption on art. 
This will strengthen Rhode Island's identity as an arts-friendly 
destination and "State of the Arts." 

The Rhode Island Arts and Cultural sector was a $2.2 billion industry in 2021 (3.4% of 
the state’s GDP), representing 16,876 jobs (6.2% of Rhode Island’s workforce) and total 

 
1 http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText13/HouseText13/H5127Aaa.pdf 
2 P.L. 432  

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText13/HouseText13/H5127Aaa.pdf
https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/PublicLaws96/law96432.htm
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compensation of $1.2 billion.  The sector includes non-profit arts organizations, for 
profit design companies, and individual artists. 
 

Other States 
While five states3 did not have sales tax as of 2022, of the other states, Rhode Island 
is the only state that has a specific state-wide exemption for artists or artistic works.  

Similar to Rhode Island’s previous treatment of exempting some artistic works from 
sales tax within certain cultural districts, Louisiana appears to exempt one-of-a-kind 
artworks from local sales tax within cultural districts, and a state sales tax exemption 
of one-of-a-kind artworks is set to go into effect in 2025.4 Other cultural districts may 
have similar programs, with some estimates indicating 90 or more such districts in the 
United States.5  

Outreach 
The Division of Taxation works continuously to improve and expand outreach and 
communications activities. Starting in 2021, the Division joined the Department of State 
Business Services Division at their annual Hobby to Business summit. Each year, this 
event provides guidance to Rhode Islanders who are interested in converting hobbies 
into income streams. Through this event, the Division delivers information, resources, 
and helpful materials to many taxpayers, including artists, regarding their tax 
responsibilities. Topics covered include relevant exemptions, such as the Sales Tax 
Exemption for Artists. 

In addition to active outreach at the Hobby to Business summit, the Division’s website 
(www.tax.ri.gov) hosts all state tax forms, applications, returns, and contact 
information necessary for Rhode Island’s artists. 

The Division’s Taxpayer Experience Office maintains a calendar of outreach events on 
the Division of Taxation website.6 Outreach events are listed there, as well as slide 
decks from previous presentations. The Division’s most recent Hobby to Business 
summit presentation is available on the Division’s Taxpayer Experience Office webpage 
(https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/taxpayer-experience-office). 

In addition to outreach by the RI Division of Taxation, RI State Council on the Arts also 
promotes and encourages artists to apply for the tax exemption. The agency hosts an 
annual webinar that provides information about the tax credit, works regularly with art 
show promoters to make them aware of the exemption, and provides technical 
assistance to artists who are interested in applying for the exemption, or who may 
already have the exemption. The RISCA website (https://risca.online/buy-art-tax-free/) 
provides general information about the exemption and links directly to the Division of 
Taxation website for details about the exemption. 

 
3 In 2022, Alaska, Delaware, Montana, Nebraska, and Oregon did not have a state sales tax. Some localities within 
those states did, however, impose sales tax. 
4 From the Louisiana Office of Cultural Development publication, August 20, 2018, “Beginning July 1, 2018 the state 
sales tax of 4.45% must be collected. All sales, within the boundaries of a certified Cultural District, of original, one-
of-a-kind works of art that meet the definition below as set forth in the law, are exempt from local sales tax. Due to 
legislative action there is no state sales tax exemption until July 2025.”  
5 Public Art Network, a Program of Americans for the Arts guide titled “Artists, Sculptors, & Business Owners 
 Sales & Use Taxes”. 
6 https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/taxpayer-experience-office 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/taxpayer-experience-office
https://risca.online/buy-art-tax-free/
https://crt.state.la.us/Assets/OCD/arts/culturedistricts/homepage/SalesTaxExemptionInstructionsJuly2022.pdf#:~:text=Beginning%20July%201%2C%202018%20the%20state%20sales%20tax,no%20state%20sales%20tax%20exemption%20until%20July%202025.
https://www.americansforthearts.org/sites/default/files/Salesusetaxpaper.pdf
https://www.americansforthearts.org/sites/default/files/Salesusetaxpaper.pdf
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Overview 
About The Sales Tax Exemption for Artists 
To qualify for and receive the Sales Tax Exemption for Artists, the “APPLICATION FOR 
SALES TAX EXEMPTION FOR ARTISTIC WORKS” must be properly completed and 
submitted to the Division of Taxation.7 
 
In addition to basic business information, such as the name of the business or taxpayer, 
business address, and telephone number, statute requires specific information on the 
types of works of art for which exemption is sought. This specification is necessary for 
proper determination, as the types of work that qualify for the Sales Tax Exemption 
for Artists are clearly defined in statute. Some works of art that would qualify under 
this exemption include limited edition or one-of-a-kind works such as books or other 
writings, musical compositions, paintings, photographs, sculptures, creations of film, 
and creations of dance.  
 
The Sales Tax Exemption for Artists does not apply to any piece or performance created 
or executed for industry orientated, commercial, or related production. For example, it 
would not apply to a photographer on a commercial assignment. Works of art for the 
purposes of the exemption must be permanent objects, meaning consumables such as 
handmade candles or soaps do not qualify for the tax exemption. 
 
Exempt works must also be either an “original work of art” or a “limited edition.” An 
“original work of art” is defined as “the creation of a solitary work, conceived and 
produced by the artist and author or under their direction, not intended for multiple 
or mass production.” While a “limited edition” work of art is defined as “the creation 
of a solitary work, conceived and produced by the artist or under their direction, which 
is intended for limited reproduction, signed and numbered by the artist.” The phrase, 
“signed and numbered by the artist,” implies that the work is produced “under [the] 
direction” of the artist — rather than mass-produced — and is a “limited reproduction.”  
 
As this exemption is sales-based, a sales permit must accompany the “APPLICATION 
FOR SALES TAX EXEMPTION FOR ARTISTIC WORKS.” During the application process, if 
the taxpayer does not have a sales permit, the Division of Taxation will reach out to 
the taxpayer to secure a permit so the application process may proceed. Every 
application received for the Sales Tax Exemption for Artists is also reviewed by both 
RISCA and the Division of Taxation to ensure all applicable laws and regulations are 
followed. 
 
For all sales permit holders, including those falling under the exemption, an annual 
sales reconciliation form is a required filing. Any entity that holds a Sales Tax 
Exemption for Artists must file an annual reconciliation form specific to exempted 
artists that captures such data as the total number of exempt works sold per month. 
The specific annual reconciliation for artists is the “Form T-204W-Annual, Writers, 
Composers and Artists Annual Reconciliation.”8 Statute does not currently provide the 
exemption with an expiration. 

 
7 https://tax.ri.gov/forms/audit-forms 
8 https://tax.ri.gov/forms/business-tax-forms/sales-excise-forms 

https://tax.ri.gov/forms/audit-forms
https://tax.ri.gov/forms/business-tax-forms/sales-excise-forms
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Sales Tax Exemption for Artists 
For calendar year 2022, 704 artists filed an Annual Reconciliation form. 9 The data from 
these annual reconciliations informs much of this report.10 These 704 artists claimed a 
total of $15.59 million in sales of tax-exempt art sold in Rhode Island. 

Annual Reconciliations Filed by 
Artists 

Year T204-Ws Filed 

2014 461 

2015 583 

2016 676 

2017 762 

2018 890 

2019 865 

2020 780 

2021 845 

2022 704 

 

In addition to exempt sales, artists are required to report any other taxable sales made. 
The artists reported an additional $13.47 million in taxable sales that brought in $0.94 
million in sales tax revenue. Artists that fall under the Sales Tax Exemption for Artists 
reported that in 2022 they sold 216,448 individual works, which make up $15.59 million 
tax-exempt sales. 

In 2022, a total of 149 Sales Tax Exemptions for Artists were issued: 

New Certificates Issued for Sales Tax 
Exemption for Artists 

Year Certificates Issued 

2014 461 

2015* 161 

2016 172 

2017 131 

2018 132 

2019 221 

2020 89 

2021 124 

2022 149 

 

 
9 The reader should note that due to the small number of exempt artists, any substantial change to the business of 
one larger seller, or a group of smaller sellers, can cause significant changes to the numbers reported. 
10 A Note on Available Data: this report analyzes data from the inception of the state-wide Sales Tax Exemption for 
Artists in 2014 through the end of the last calendar year, 2022. Due to record retention policies, changes in modes of 
reporting, and systems upgrades, some data from tax year 2014 is not available; this may impact interpretation of the 
data. Data from 2014 is limited to information available in the 2015 artistic works report. Due to record retention 
policies, at the time of this writing, original returns for validation from dates before 2016 are not available. Data on 
the number of artistic works sold in 2015, 2017, and 2018 is not available. The data is based on information reported 
by taxpayers and may include unaudited information.   
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Artists in 35 municipalities received new exemptions in 2022. Providence represented 
the municipality for which the largest number of approved exemptions were issued in 
2022 with 11, followed by North Kingstown with 10, and Warwick with 9.  

 

 

 

The 149 new exemptions issued in 2022 represent an increase from 89 in 2020 and 124 
in 2021. The most exemptions, by year, were issued in 2014, the first year of the 
statewide exemption, when 461 exemptions were issued. 
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The sales of exempt artistic works have been consistent from 2014 through 2022. Sales 
of exempt artistic works is generally $14.5 million annually. In 2020, sales dipped to 
$13.6 million, and in 2021, they increased to $20.7 million.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In 2020, net taxable sales in this sector decreased to $6.6 million, which may be related 
to the COVID-19 pandemic. A notable change occurred in 2021 regarding net taxable 
sales as reported by those filing annual reconciliations. While sales of exempt works 
increased substantially in 2021 above pre-pandemic levels ($20.7 million as opposed 
to $14.9 million in 2019), taxable sales in 2021 rose to $51.2 million, as opposed to $14.7 
million in 2019, based on reported data. 

This report does not contain data that explains the change in behavior of customers or 
changes in business practices that would account for this increase. 

 

 

 
In addition to sales exempt from taxes under the Sales Tax Exemption for Artists, 
other exempt sales are reported on the annual reconciliation provided by artists. 
Sales may be exempt from sales tax if they are interstate (where tax is paid to 
another state), or sales to exempt organizations, including government entities and 
nonprofit organizations. 
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Sales by Category

Exempt Artistic Works Net Taxable Sales

Year Exempt Artistic 
Works 

Net Taxable 
Sales 

2014 $  16,973,981  $  8,045,768  
2015 $ 13,036,952 $ 9,437,398 
2016 $ 14,913,769 $ 10,119,032 
2017 $ 14,738,445 $ 12,992,540 
2018 $ 14,792,632 $ 14,500,017 
2019 $ 14,936,209 $  14,665,987  
2020 $ 13,593,767 $  6,608,057  
2021 $ 20,669,229 $  51,164,406  
2022 $ 15,593,862 $ 13,468,006 
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Tax Revenue from  
Taxable Sales by Artists 

Year Net Taxable 
Sales 

Sales Tax 
Rate 

Tax Revenue 

2014 $ 8,045,768 7% $ 563,204 

2015 $ 9,437,398 7% $ 660,618 

2016 $ 10,119,032 7% $ 708,332 

2017 $ 12,992,540 7% $ 909,478 

2018 $ 14,500,017 7% $ 1,015,001 

2019 $  14,665,987  7% $ 1,026,619 

2020 $  6,608,057  7% $ 462,564 

2021 $  51,164,406  7% $ 3,581,508 

2022 $ 13,468,006 7% $ 942,760 

 
For those approved for the Sales Tax Exemption for Artists, some of the other sales 
exempt from sales tax varied widely by year. For example, in 2021, sales to exempt 
organizations only accounted for $0.82 million, while in 2022 the same category 
accounted for $3 million in sales. 
 

The net taxable sales for artists operating under the Sales Tax Exemption for Artists 
resulted in tax revenue that ranged from a low of $0.5 million in 2020 to a high of $3.6 
million in 2021. The revenue followed the trend seen in total taxable sales as previously 
discussed in this report. 
 

The trend of the number of exempt works sold represents a small but steady increase. 
For example, in 2014, 126,182 exempt works were sold for $17 million, while in 2022, 
216,448 exempt works were sold for $15.6 million. 

 

*Data not available;   indicates gaps in data. 
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Please note that the annual count of pieces sold is an unaudited count. In most cases 
the reported figures are accurate, although some taxpayers do not report their total 
number of works sold.11  

 

  

 
11 The Division has manually reviewed outliers – in cases where these outliers were found to be dollars instead of 
counts, they have been removed from the total. 
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Statutory Reference 
 

Sales Tax Art Exemption 

Chapter 18 

Sales and Use Taxes — Liability and Computation 

R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-18-30B 

§ 44-18-30B. Exemption from sales tax for sales by writers, composers, artists — 

Findings. 

(a) The general assembly makes the following findings of facts: 

(1) The arts and culture are a significant asset for Rhode Island, one that generates 

revenue through increased tourism and economic activity; creates jobs and 

economic opportunities; revitalizes communities adding to quality of life and 

property values; and fosters creativity, innovation, and entrepreneurship. 

(2) Since 1998, the establishment of arts districts, where “one-of-a-kind, limited-

production” works of art may be sold exempt from state sales tax, has resulted in 

an increased presence for the arts in designated cities and towns, with benefits to 

those communities and to the state. 

(3) Since the establishment of arts districts, many communities have sought 

legislation to expand the program to their city or town. 

(4) There is value in expanding the arts district program statewide, providing 

incentives for the sale and purchase of art. This is a unique opportunity for Rhode 

Island to shape history, and gain an advantage over other states, by becoming the 

first-and-only state in the country to declare a statewide sales tax exemption on 

art. This will strengthen Rhode Island’s identity as an arts-friendly destination and 

“State of the Arts.” 

(b)(1) This section only applies to sales by writers, composers, and artists residing in 

and conducting a business within the state of Rhode Island. For the purposes of this 

section, a “work” means an original and creative work, whether written, composed, or 

executed for “one-of-a-kind, limited production” that falls into one of the following 

categories: 

(i) A book or other writing; 
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(ii) A play or the performance of said play; 

(iii) A musical composition or the performance of said composition; 

(iv) A painting, print, photograph, or other like picture; 

(v) A sculpture; 

(vi) Traditional and fine crafts; 

(vii) The creation of a film or the acting within the film; or 

(viii) The creation of a dance or the performance of the dance. 

(2) For the purposes of this section, a “work” includes any product generated as a 

result of any of the above categories. 

(3) For the purposes of this section, a “work” does not apply to any piece or 

performance created or executed for industry-oriented, commercial, or related 

production. 

(c)(1) This section applies to sales by any individual: 

(i) Who is a resident of, and has a principal place of business situated in, the 

state of Rhode Island. 

(ii) Who is determined by the tax administrator in consultation with the 

Rhode Island council on the arts, after consideration of any evidence he or she 

deems necessary or that is submitted to him or her by the individual, to have 

written, composed, or executed, either solely or jointly, a work or works that 

would fall into one of the categories listed in subsection (b)(1). 

(2) This section also applies to sales by any other gallery located in the state of 

Rhode Island. 

(3) The tax administrator shall not make a determination unless: 

(i) The individual(s) concerned duly make(s) an application to the tax 

administrator for the sales tax exemption that applies to the works defined in 

this section; and 

(ii) The individual has complied and continues to comply with any and all 

requests made by the tax administrator. 
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(d) Any individual to whom this section applies, and who makes an application to the 

tax administrator, is entitled to a sales tax exemption for the sale of a work or works 

sold from the individual’s business located in the State of Rhode Island that would, 

apart from this section, be subject to the tax rate imposed by the state of Rhode Island. 

(e) When an individual makes a request for the exemption, the tax administrator is 

entitled to all books, documents, or other evidence relating to the publication, 

production, or creation of the works that may be deemed necessary by the tax 

administrator for the purposes of the exemption. The time period in which to provide 

this information is in the sole discretion of the tax administrator and specified in the 

notice. 

(f) In addition to the information required in subsection (e), the tax administrator may 

require the individual(s) to submit an annual, certified accounting of the numbers of 

works sold; the type of work sold; and the date of the sale. Failure to file this report 

may, in the sole discretion of the tax administrator, terminate the individual’s 

eligibility for the exemption. 

(g) Any person storing, using, or otherwise consuming in this state any work or works 

deemed to be exempt from the sales tax pursuant to this section is not liable for the 

use tax on the work or works. 

(h) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, any individual to whom this 

section may apply shall comply with all the administration, collection, and other 

provisions of chapters 18 and 19 of this title. 

(4) The Rhode Island council on the arts will oversee the transition to a statewide arts 

district program and work with the state tourism agencies; local chambers of 

commerce; and advertising/marketing agencies to promote this program, and will 

coordinate its efforts with the city and town governments. The Rhode Island council 

on the arts may request, and shall receive, from any department, division, board, 

bureau, commission, or agency of the state any data, assistance, and resources, 

including additional personnel, that will enable it to properly carry out this program. 

(5) The tax administrator, in cooperation with the Rhode Island council on the arts, 

will gather data to assess the overall impact of the statewide arts district program, and 

issue an annual report, including, but not be limited to, the impact of the tax 

exemption on employment, tourism, sales, and spending within the arts sector and 

adjacent businesses, and any other factors that describe the impact of the program. 

History of Section. 

P.L. 1996, ch. 432, § 1; P.L. 1997, ch. 329, § 1; P.L. 1998, ch. 266, § 1; P.L. 1998, ch. 

382, § 1; P.L. 1998, ch. 406, § 1; P.L. 1998, ch. 410, § 1; P.L. 2003, ch. 372, § 1; P.L. 
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2004, ch. 542, § 1; P.L. 2004, ch. 546, § 1; P.L. 2005, ch. 257, § 1; P.L. 2005, ch. 270, 

§ 1; P.L. 2005, ch. 425, § 1; P.L. 2013, ch. 144, art. 9, § 15; P.L. 2014, ch. 528, § 64. 

  



15 

 

Timeline 
 

1996  

August 21, 1996 - P.L. 1996, ch. 432. Exemption from sales tax for sales by writers, 
composers, artists passed.  

[The exemption applies] to sales by any individual: who is a resident of and has 
a principal place of business situated in the section of the economic 
development zone designated as the arts and entertainment district in the 
downtown area of the city of Providence. [T]he arts and entertainment district 
is defined as the area bounded by Pine Street to the southeast, Dorrance Street 
to the northeast, Sabin Street to the northwest and Empire Street to the 
southwest.  

This exemption was originally set to be in effect until December 31, 2000. 

1997 

January 1, 1997. Exemption from sales tax for sales by writers, composers, artists takes 
effect.  

July 8, 1997 - P.L. 1997, ch. 329, § 1. Exemption from sales tax for sales by writers, 
composers, artists amended to remove the end date of December 31, 2000. 

1998 

July 9, 1998 - P.L. 1998, ch. 266, § 1. Exemption from sales tax for sales by writers, 
composers, artists amended to add sales by any gallery located in the arts and 
entertainment district, as well as any other arts and entertainment district designated 
by the general assembly to the sales tax exemption. 

July 20, 1998 - P.L. 1998, ch. 382, § 1. Exemption from sales tax for sales by writers, 
composers, artists amended to add the Westerly arts and entertainment district 
(defined as assessor's plat 56, lots 1 through 24, lot 48, lots 50 through 62, and lots 71 
through 82, and assessors plat 66, lots 22 through 26, and lots 29 through 36) to the 
exemption. 

July 21, 1998 - P.L. 1998, ch. 406, § 1. Appears to be the same as P.L. 1998, ch. 382, § 1, 
above. 

July 21, 1998 - P.L. 1998, ch. 410. Exemption from sales tax for sales by writers, 
composers, artists amended to add the Pawtucket economic development zone 
(defined as the area beginning at the point of intersection of Dexter Street and the 
Central Falls line, then east along the Central Falls line to the Blackstone River, then 
north along the city boundary on the Blackstone River to the Cumberland line, then 
west along the Pawtucket city boundary line to I-95, then south along I-95 to Pine 
Street, then north on Pine Street to AMTRAK Right of Way, then northwest along the 
AMTRAK Right of Way to Dexter Street, then north on Dexter Street to the Central Falls 
line) to the exemption. 
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2003 

July 17, 2003 - P.L. 2003, ch. 372, § 1. Exemption from sales tax for sales by writers, 
composers, artists amended to add the Woonsocket arts and entertainment district 
(defined as the area beginning at a point of land on the southwest bank of the 
Blackstone River abutting the bridge for the Providence & Worcester Railroad and 
proceeding northerly to a point at the intersection of Worrall Street, Clinton Street and 
Harry S. Truman Drive, then proceeding northwesterly along Worrall Street to its 
intersection with Social Street, then turning westerly on Social Street proceeding to its 
intersection with Main Street, Blackstone Street and North Main Street, then turning 
northwesterly and proceeding along Blackstone Street to its intersection with River 
Street, then turning northerly and proceeding along River Street to its intersection with 
the north/east bank of Blackstone River, then following the riverbank southerly to the 
bridge at Bernon Street and turning easterly crossing the Blackstone River via Bernon 
Street and proceeding to its intersection with Front Street, then turning northeasterly 
on Front Street and proceeding to its intersection with Hamlet Avenue, and to include 
the former courthouse on the southerly side of Front Street at its intersection with 
Hamlet Avenue, then turning easterly on Hamlet Avenue and proceeding to its 
intersection with Manville Road, then turning southeasterly on Manville Road and 
proceeding to its intersection with Davison Avenue, then turning northeasterly on 
Davison Avenue and proceeding to a point on the south/west bank of the Blackstone 
River, then turning northerly, following the southerly riverbank to the point of 
beginning) to the exemption. 

2004 

February 11, 2004 - P.L. 2004, ch. 542, § 1. Exemption from sales tax for sales by writers, 
composers, artists amended to add the areas of the town of Warren which are zoned 
"waterfront district," "special district," "village business district," "manufacturing 
district," "business district" or "Warren historic district to the exemption. 

July 9, 2004 - P.L. 2004, ch. 546, § 1. Exemption from sales tax for sales by writers, 
composers, artists amended to add the Warwick arts district (defined as that area 
known as Pontiac Village, beginning on Route 5 at the Warwick/Cranston municipal 
boundary, then south to the intersection of Route 5 and the Pawtuxet River, then 
following the Pawtuxet River in an easterly and northerly direction to the municipal 
boundary in the vicinity of Knight Street, then from the intersection of Knight Street 
and the municipal boundary westerly along the Warwick/Cranston municipal boundary 
to the intersection of Route 5 and Greenwich Avenue) to the exemption. 

2005 

July 13, 2005 - P.L. 2005, ch. 257, § 1. Exemption from sales tax for sales by writers, 
composers, artists amended to add those areas of the town of Tiverton which are 
zoned "business commercial," "business waterfront" or "village commercial", as well 
those areas in the city of Newport which are zoned "general business," or "waterfront 
business", or "limited business" or have been designated by the city of Newport as part 
of the arts district to the exemption. 
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July 1, 2005 - P.L. 2005, ch. 270, § 1. Exemption from sales tax for sales by writers, 
composers, artists amended to add the town of Little Compton to the exemption. 
Additionally the arts and entertainment district in Providence was expanded (to include 
the area beginning at the point of intersection of Acorn Street and Harris Avenue, then 
turning east onto Atwells Avenue to Service Road 7, then turning southerly onto Service 
Road 7 to Westminster Street, then turning westerly onto Westminster Street, 
continuing until Bridgham, then turning south onto Bridgham to Cranston Street, then 
turning southwesterly onto Cranston Street, then continuing to Messer Street, then 
turning north onto Messer Street to Westminster Street, turning west onto 
Westminster Street to US Hwy 6 off ramp, then heading west on US Hwy 6 to Sheridan 
Street, then heading northeast on Sheridan Street to Aleppo Street, then turning 
southeast along Aleppo Street to Pelham Street, then heading northeast on Pelham 
Street to Manton Avenue, then continuing southeast on Manton Avenue until Delaine 
Street, then heading northeast on Delaine Street until Appleton Street, then continuing 
northwesterly on Appleton Street until Bowdoin Street, then heading north on Bowdoin 
Street until Barstow Street, then heading east on Barstow until Valley Street, then 
heading northeast on Valley Street to Hemlock Street, then turning southeast on 
Hemlock Street until Promenade Street, then heading east on Promenade Street to 
Acorn Street, then heading south on Acorn Street to the intersection of Acorn Street 
and Harris Avenue) 

July 19, 2005 - P.L. 2005, ch. 425, § 1. Appears to be the same as P.L. 2005, ch. 270, § 
1, above.  

2013 

July 3, 2013 - P.L. 2013, ch. 144, art. 9, § 15. Exemption from sales tax for sales by 
writers, composers, artists amended to exempt all original and limited edition works 
of art sold in the State of Rhode Island from sales tax. 

December 1, 2013, exemption of all original and limited edition works of art sold in the 
State of Rhode Island from sales tax goes into effect. 

2014 

2014 - First full calendar year of expanded exemption. 

July 7, 2014 - P.L. 2014, ch. 528, § 64. Exemption from sales tax for sales by writers, 
composers, artists amended for technical language clean-up. 
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Expanded Tables & Forms 
 

2022 Application for Sales Tax Exemption for Artistic Works 
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Form T-204W-Annual Page 1 
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Form T-204W-Annual Page 2  
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Form T-204W-Annual Instructions 
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Total count of Tax Returns Filed by Sales Tax Exempt Artists 2014-2022 

 

 

 
Sales, Tax, and Deductions/Exemptions for Exempt Artists 2014-2022 

 
 

 
 
 

Artistic Works Sold by Exempt Artists Monthly Breakdown 2014-2022 
 
 


