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Sales and Taxation of  
Alcoholic Beverages 
 

About This Report 
This report presents the total sales of alcoholic beverages, sales tax collections, and excise tax 
collections for Class A licensees in Rhode Island for the 2022 calendar year by county. During 
the 2022 calendar year, Rhode Island had 241 active Class A licensees (liquor stores). All Class 
A licensees are required by statute to file an annual sales and use tax return (annual 
reconciliation) on or before February 1st of each year.  

Based on the information provided in annual sales and use tax returns, the Tax Administrator 
is required by Rhode Island General Laws § 3-10-5 to prepare this report. The report is to be 
submitted to the chairs of the House and Senate Finance Committees on or before May 1 of 
each year. 
 
The report must include the following information: 

• Total sales of alcoholic beverages by county. 

• Sales tax collections by county. 

• Excise tax collections by county. 

 
In accordance with the statutory reporting requirements, this report is organized into four 
main sections:  

1.) Gross sales of alcoholic beverages. 

2.) Sales tax collections (based on net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages). 

3.) Excise tax (paid by wholesalers/distributors). 

4.) Additional information. 

  

http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE3/3-10/3-10-5.htm
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A note on accuracy 
The Rhode Island Division of Taxation upholds the highest standards in data accuracy.  

The data in this report should be interpreted and utilized carefully. Two factors have the 
potential to profoundly impact the precision and completeness of the data used in this report: 

• In accordance with statute, this report is based on annual returns (“annual 
reconciliations”) as filed by liquor stores and wholesalers. Returns are assumed to be 
complete and accurate unless determined otherwise through the audit process. 

• While liquor stores and wholesalers are required to file annual reconciliations by statute, 
as of the completion of this report, approximately 10.79% have failed to file their 2022 
returns. The data from those entities cannot be included in this report – which may 
affect the results presented in this report. 

Please note, these challenges may impact any conclusions drawn from the report.  
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Key Findings 
 Gross sales of alcoholic beverages by liquor stores in Rhode Island totaled $459.27 million 

in calendar year 2022, compared with $435.89 million in calendar year 2021, an increase of 
5.36%. 
 

 Net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages by liquor stores in Rhode Island – in other words, 
sales after considering deductions and exemptions, including the exemption for wine and 
spirits – totaled approximately $183.6 million in calendar year 2022, compared with $138.47 
million in calendar year 2021, an increase of 32.59%. 
 

 Liquor stores collected and remitted $12.85 million in sales and use tax in calendar year 
2022, compared with $9.69 million in Rhode Island sales and use tax in calendar year 2021, 
an increase of 32.59%. (The tax rate for each year was 7%.) 
 

 The Division of Taxation estimates that wholesalers/distributors paid a combined total of 
approximately $16.65 million in Rhode Island excise tax on alcoholic beverages they sold, 
net of inventory, to liquor stores in Rhode Island in calendar year 2022, compared with 
$17.25 million in calendar year 2021, a decrease of 3.44%. 
 

• Liquor stores claimed, in the aggregate, a sales tax deduction – related to the sales tax 
exemption for wine and spirits – of $309.15 million in 2022, compared with $293.65 million 
in 2021, an increase of 5.28%. 
 

• Based on those deductions, and on the Rhode Island sales and use tax rate of 7%, the 
Division of Taxation estimates that Rhode Island forfeited approximately $21.64 million in 
sales tax revenue in 2022 related to the sales tax exemption for wine and spirits sold at 
liquor stores, compared with $20.56 million in sales tax revenue in 2021 related to the same 
exemption. 
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Alcohol Sales by Liquor Stores 
 

Section Overview 
The Division of Taxation estimates that gross sales of alcoholic beverages at liquor stores in 
Rhode Island in calendar year 2022 totaled approximately $459.27 million, which represents a 
5.36% increase over calendar year 2021. 

• Wine and spirit sales accounted for approximately $309.15 million, approximately 67.31%, of 
gross sales of alcoholic beverages by liquor stores in calendar year 2022.  
 

• Beer and malt sales accounted for approximately $150.12 million, or 32.69%, of gross sales 
of alcoholic beverages by liquor stores in calendar year 2022. (Rhode Island’s sales tax 
exemption applies to wine and spirit sales, not to beer and malt sales.) 

 

• Of the approximately $459.27 million in gross sales of alcoholic beverages by liquor stores 
in calendar year 2022, Providence County accounted for the largest portion – approximately 
$217.38 million. Bristol County accounted for the smallest portion – approximately $18.15 
million. 

 
Gross sales of alcoholic beverages by county, by year   

County 2021 2022 $ Difference % Difference 

Bristol  $19,795,244.36   $18,151,103.78  ($1,644,140.58) -8.31% 

Kent  $87,236,714.14   $90,295,935.68  $3,059,221.54  3.51% 

Newport  $41,260,781.59   $49,409,347.88  $8,148,566.29  19.75% 

Providence  $202,770,829.17   $217,383,779.94  $14,612,950.77  7.21% 

Washington  $84,831,271.84   $84,031,774.38  ($799,497.46) -0.94% 

Total  $435,894,841.10   $459,271,941.66  $23,377,100.56  5.36% 

Aggregate amounts for calendar year 2021 and calendar year 2022, from unaudited reports by licensees. 

Wine & spirits:
$309.15

Beer & malt: 
$150.12

Gross sales of alcoholic beverages at liquor stores
($ in millions, calendar year 2022)
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Net Taxable Sales of Alcoholic Beverages 
The Division of Taxation estimates that net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages at liquor stores 
in Rhode Island in calendar year 2022 totaled approximately $183.6 million.  That represents a 
32.59% increase from calendar year 2021. The sales tax exemption for wine and spirits was in 
place for all of calendar years 2021 and 2022. 

Net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages at liquor stores, by year (dollars in millions) 

 2021 2022 % Difference 

Net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages by liquor 
stores $138.47 $183.6 32.59% 

 

Calendar-year numbers are rounded, are for sales in Rhode Island at liquor stores only, after deductions and 
exemptions, and are based on annual reconciliation reports filed by stores with the Division of Taxation. 

 
Of the $183.6 million in net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages at liquor stores in Rhode Island 
in calendar year 2022, Providence County accounted for the largest portion – approximately 
$91.08 million. Bristol County accounted for the smallest portion, approximately $5.8 million. 

Net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages, by county, by year   

County 2021 2022 $ Difference % Difference 

Bristol  $5,962,654.19   $5,805,703.15  ($156,951.04) -2.63% 

Kent  $26,685,784.34   $34,310,364.40  $7,624,580.06  28.57% 

Newport  $13,556,597.31   $18,794,355.30  $5,237,757.99  38.64% 

Providence  $65,367,369.53   $91,084,010.45  $25,716,640.92  39.34% 

Washington  $26,902,371.67   $33,604,520.10  $6,702,148.43  24.91% 

Total  $138,474,777.04   $183,598,953.40  $45,124,176.36  32.59% 

Aggregate amounts for calendar year 2021 and calendar year 2022, from unaudited reports by licensees. 
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Sales Tax Collections 
 

Section Overview 
Rhode Island liquor stores collected and remitted a total of approximately $12.85 million in 
sales tax on their net taxable sales of alcoholic beverages in 2022, compared with $9.69 million 
in 2021, an increase of approximately 32.59%. 

Sales tax collected and remitted by liquor stores, by year (dollars in millions) 

 2021 2022 % Difference 

Sales tax collected and remitted by liquor 
stores $9.69 $12.85 32.59% 

Numbers are for calendar years and are rounded. 

 
By county in 2022, liquor stores in Providence County collected and remitted the most in sales 
tax, in the aggregate – approximately $6.38 million. Liquor stores in Bristol County collected 
the least, in the aggregate – approximately $406,399. 

Sales tax collected and remitted by liquor stores, by county, by year 

County 2021 2022 $ Difference % Difference 

Bristol  $417,385.79   $406,399.22  ($10,986.57) -2.63% 

Kent  $1,868,004.90   $2,401,725.51  $533,720.61  28.57% 

Newport  $948,961.81   $1,315,604.87  $366,643.06  38.64% 

Providence  $4,575,715.87   $6,375,880.73  $1,800,164.86  39.34% 

Washington  $1,883,166.02   $2,352,316.41  $469,150.39  24.91% 

Total  $9,693,234.39   $12,851,926.74  $3,158,692.35  32.59% 

Aggregate amounts for calendar year 2021 and calendar year 2022, from unaudited reports by licensees. 

 
For both 2021 and 2022, the sales tax exemption for wine and spirits was in effect for the full 
year. 
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Exemption for Wine and Spirits 
Legislation enacted on July 3, 2013 temporarily exempted wine and spirits sold at liquor stores 
from Rhode Island sales and use tax. The exemption was for a 16-month period – from 
December 1, 2013, through March 31, 2015. 

Under legislation enacted June 19, 2014, that exemption was extended for three months, 
through June 30, 2015. Under legislation enacted on June 30, 2015, the exemption was made 
permanent. 

With respect to wine and spirit sales as listed on annual reconciliation returns, liquor stores in 
the aggregate claimed a sales and use tax deduction of approximately $309.15 million in 2022, 
compared with $293.65 million for 2021, an increase of approximately 5.28%. 

Sales of wine and spirts, deducted on liquor store sales tax reconciliations, by year (dollars in millions) 

 2021 2022 % Difference 

Sales of wine and spirits, deducted via 
exemption $293.65 $309.15 5.28% 

Dollar amounts are for calendar years and are rounded. 

 
By county in 2022, liquor stores in Providence County in the aggregate claimed the highest 
deduction for wine and spirits under the wine-and-spirits exemption, at approximately $143.43 
million. Liquor stores in Bristol County in the aggregate had the lowest deduction for wine and 
spirits, at approximately $12.86 million. 

Sale of wine and spirits, deducted on liquor store sales tax reconciliations, by county, by year 

County 2021 2022 $ Difference % Difference 

Bristol  $13,786,433.94   $12,860,241.48  ($926,192.46) -6.72% 

Kent  $60,533,551.77   $60,237,206.93  ($296,344.84) -0.49% 

Newport  $27,590,181.46   $34,798,557.20  $7,208,375.74  26.13% 

Providence  $133,963,042.94   $143,429,460.44  $9,466,417.50  7.07% 

Washington  $57,772,934.70   $57,823,569.75  $50,635.05  0.09% 

Total  $293,646,144.81   $309,149,035.80  $15,502,890.99  5.28% 

Aggregate amounts for calendar year 2021 and calendar year 2022, from unaudited reports by licensees. 
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Forgone Sales Tax Revenue 
The Division of Taxation estimates that Rhode Island forfeited approximately $21.64 million in 
sales tax revenue because of the sales tax exemption on wine and spirit sales for 2022, 
compared with $20.56 million in sales tax revenue in 2021 related to the same exemption.  

Estimate of forgone sales tax revenue, by county, calendar year 2022 

County Wine and spirit sales deducted on store returns An estimate of forgone sales tax revenue 

Bristol  $12,860,241.48   $900,216.90  

Kent  $60,237,206.93   $4,216,604.49  

Newport  $34,798,557.20   $2,435,899.00  

Providence  $143,429,460.44   $10,040,062.23  

Washington  $57,823,569.75   $4,047,649.88  

Total  $309,149,035.80   $21,640,432.51  

Amounts above are for calendar year 2022. 
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Excise Tax 

 

Section Overview 
Wholesalers/distributors of alcoholic beverages are subject to Rhode Island’s alcoholic beverage 
excise tax and must also file annual reconciliation returns. 

Excise taxes on a number of categories of alcoholic beverages increased – effective July 1, 2013, 
through June 30, 2015. Among the categories affected by the increase were malt beverages 
(including beer), and spirits – such as whiskey, gin, rum, and brandy – containing alcohol 
measuring more than 30 proof. The increases were initially intended to be temporary, but were 
made permanent under legislation enacted June 30, 2015, effective July 1, 2015. 

Excise tax per gallon on wholesalers/distributors and manufacturers 

 Previous tax rates Current tax rates 

Still wines  $0.60  $1.40 

Still wines (Rhode Island fruit)    0.30    0.30 

Sparkling wines     0.75    0.75 

Whiskey, other distilled spirits     3.75    5.40 

Low proof distilled spirits    1.10    1.10 

Ethyl alcohol (for beverage purposes)    7.50    7.50 

Ethyl alcohol (for non-beverage use)    0.08    0.08 

Malt beverages, including beer    3.00    3.30 

 
• All taxes are per gallon, except tax on malt beverages, which is per barrel (a barrel equals 31 

gallons). 

• “Previous tax rates” were in effect through June 30, 2013. 

• “Current tax rates” took effect July 1, 2013. 

• Still wines made entirely from fruit grown in Rhode Island continue to be taxed at 30 cents a gallon. 

• “Low proof” spirits contain alcohol measuring 30 proof or less. 

• Tax applies to manufacturers; wholesalers/distributors pay fee equal to applicable tax rate. 

• In-state breweries and distilleries meeting certain other conditions may qualify for limited tax 

exemption. 

• See Rhode Island General Laws § 3-10-1. 
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Excise Tax by County 
For calendar year 2022, wholesalers/distributors paid a combined total of approximately $16.65 
million in Rhode Island excise tax on alcoholic beverages they sold, net of inventory, to liquor 
stores in Rhode Island. That compares with approximately $17.25 million in calendar year 2021, 
a decrease of 3.44%. 

Alcoholic beverage excise taxes, 2022 vs. 2021 (dollars in millions) 

 2021 2022 Difference 

Excise tax on sales by wholesalers to liquor stores* $17.25 $16.65 -3.44% 
 

Dollar amounts are rounded, for calendar year, and are based on reports filed by wholesalers/distributors with the 
Division of Taxation. 

* Wholesalers/distributors pay excise tax on alcoholic beverages they sell, net of inventory, to liquor stores. 

 
The Rhode Island sales tax exemption on wine and spirits applies at the retail level – on sales 
by liquor stores to consumers. There is no exemption on wine and spirits sold at the wholesale 
level – sales by wholesalers/distributors to liquor stores.  

Of the approximately $16.65 million in excise tax paid by wholesalers/distributors on alcoholic 
beverages sold to liquor stores in calendar year 2022, Providence County accounted for the 
largest portion – approximately $8.51 million. Bristol County accounted for the smallest portion 
– approximately $566,104. 

Alcoholic beverage excise taxes, by county, by year* 

County 2021 2022 $ Difference % Difference 

Bristol  $619,876.99   $566,104.33  ($53,772.66) -8.67% 

Kent  $3,499,677.75   $3,349,054.06  ($150,623.69) -4.30% 

Newport  $1,542,788.29   $1,507,320.32  ($35,467.97) -2.30% 

Providence  $8,822,278.94   $8,514,984.98  ($307,293.96) -3.48% 

Washington  $2,764,160.05   $2,717,204.92  ($46,955.13) -1.70% 

Total:  $17,248,782.02   $16,654,668.61  ($594,113.41) -3.44% 

Dollar amounts are for calendar year and are based on reports filed by wholesalers/distributors with the Division of 
Taxation. 

* Wholesalers/distributors pay excise tax on alcoholic beverages they sell, net of inventory, to liquor stores. 
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Additional information 
Set forth in this section is a computation for determining whether the forfeited amount in sales 
tax revenue for the 2022 calendar year has been offset by any increase in excise tax for the 
same year.  

To understand the computation, it is important to recall that excise taxes on certain categories 
of alcoholic beverages increased effective July 1, 2013 – five months before the sales tax 
exemption for wine and spirits took effect. The excise tax increase, which is still in effect today, 
applied to three categories of alcoholic beverages:  

 Still wines (not made from fruit grown in Rhode Island);  

 Whiskey and other distilled spirits; and  

 Malt beverages, including beer.  

For the computation, covering the 2022 calendar year, the Division performed two separate 
calculations:  

1.) The number of gallons for each of the three categories listed above times the “old” 
excise tax rate (i.e., the rate in effect prior to July 1, 2013) to determine the total excise 
tax revenue based on the “old” rate.  

2.) The number of gallons for each of the three categories listed above times the “new” 
excise tax rate (i.e., the rate in effect on and after July 1, 2013) to determine the total 
excise tax revenue based on the “new” rate.  

The difference between steps 1 and 2 above, for each of the affected categories, is known as 
the variance. For the 2022 calendar year, the variance in the aggregate was $7,890,564.14, or 
approximately $7.89 million. Thus, the Division has determined that the approximately $21.64 
million in sales tax revenue forfeited in 2022 because of the sales tax exemption on wine and 
spirit sales was only partially offset by the approximately $7.89 million increase (or “variance”) 
in excise tax revenue attributable solely to the difference between the old excise tax rates and 
the new (and higher) excise tax rates on the three specific categories of alcoholic beverages.  

Net loss in revenue 
Put another way, the net loss in revenue resulting from the sales tax exemption for wine and 
spirits in calendar year 2022 was approximately $13.75 million: 

 $21.64 million in sales tax revenue forfeited, less the $7.89 million variance, equals $13.75 
million.  

Data for the computation is shown in the table that follows. (Note that the table computes the tax for five categories 
of alcoholic beverages, including the three categories for which the excise tax rate increased.)  

 

PERIOD Description SPIRITS
LOW PROOF 

SPIRITS STILL SPARK MALT Totals Variance
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Notes on report 
For 2022, there were 241 active Class A licensees (liquor stores) required to report sales of 
alcoholic beverages and related tax information to the Division of Taxation. Of those, a total of 
215 filed annual reconciliation returns with the Division of Taxation as of April 20, 2023, while 
26 did not. Thus, approximately 89.21% of licensees filed annual returns with the agency, while 
approximately 10.79% did not. The Class A licensees that were delinquent in the filing of annual 
reconciliation returns as of April 20, 2023, make up less than 7% of total sales activity. Thus, 
the Division of Taxation is confident that the data contained in this report covers more than 
93% of total sales activity. 

For 2022, there were 39 active wholesalers/distributors of alcoholic beverages in Rhode Island. 
Of those, 34 filed annual reconciliation returns with the Division as of April 20, 2023, while 5 
did not. Thus, the filing rate was approximately 87.18% and the delinquency rate approximately 
12.82%. The Division of Taxation has determined that the 5 that were delinquent in filing their 
returns would have showed minimal excise tax had they filed.  Furthermore, the delinquent 
filers make up 1.36% of total sales activity. Thus, the Division of Taxation is confident that the 
excise tax data contained in this report covers 98.64% of total sales activity.  
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Statutory Reference 
 

 
Alcoholic Beverages 

 
CHAPTER 3-10 

Taxation of Beverages 

SECTION 3-10-5 

 
 
§ 3-10-5  Information supplemental to returns – Audit of books. – (a) The tax administrator 
may at any time request further information from any person or from the officers and employees 
of any corporation that he or she may deem necessary to verify, explain, or correct any return 
made in pursuance of the provisions of this chapter, and for the like purpose, the administrator 
or his or her authorized agent may examine the books of account of that person or corporation 
during business hours. 
 
(b) Each Class A licensee authorized to sell intoxicating beverages at wholesale or retail in this 
state shall file an annual report on or before February 1 with the division of taxation in the form 
required by the tax administrator. Such report shall include, but not be limited to, total sales of 
alcoholic beverages, sales tax, and excise tax collections on such sales for the immediately 
preceding calendar year. Annually, on or before May 1, the tax administrator shall prepare and 
submit to the chairs of the house and senate finance committees a report reflecting data from the 
annual reports submitted by said licensee to the division of taxation. The tax administrator's 
report shall compile total sales of alcoholic beverages, sales tax, and excise tax collections by 
county.  
 
History of Section. 
(P.L. 1933, ch. 2013, § 44; G.L. 1938, ch. 167, § 4; impl. am. P.L. 1939, ch. 660, § 70; G.L. 1956, 
§ 3-10-5; P.L. 2012, ch. 241, art. 21, § 15; P.L. 2013, ch. 144, art. 9, § 9; P.L. 2014, ch. 528, § 1.) 
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Timeline 
 

JUNE 2012 
• Legislation is enacted requiring all sellers of alcoholic beverages (wholesalers and retailers, including 

taverns, bars, liquor stores, and others) to file an annual report to the Division of Taxation by 

February 1 each year and include their total sales of alcoholic beverages, as well as the sales tax 

and excise tax collections on such sales.  

• The legislation also requires the Tax Administrator to prepare and submit a report on or before May 

1 each year, including a compilation of total sales of alcoholic beverages, and the related sales tax 

and excise tax collections by county. 

JULY 2013 

• Legislation is enacted to temporarily increase excise taxes on a number of categories of alcoholic 

beverages for a 21-month period, from July 1, 2013, through March 31, 2015. Among the categories 

affected by the increase will be malt beverages (including beer), a number of still wines, and spirits 

such as whiskey, gin, rum, and brandy containing alcohol measuring more than 30 proof. (The excise 

tax applies to manufacturers; wholesalers/distributors pay a fee equal to the tax.) 

• The legislation also will temporarily exempt, from Rhode Island sales and use tax, all wine and spirits 

sold at liquor stores (“Class A” licensees under Rhode Island General Laws Title 3). The exemption 

is to be in force for 16 months, from December 1, 2013, through March 31, 2015. Also during that 

period, no alcoholic beverages sold at retail will be subject to state’s minimum markup. Beer and 

other malt beverages will continue to be subject to the sales and use tax. 

• Thus, the temporary increase in excise taxes will begin earlier than the temporary sales tax 

exemption on wine and spirts sold at liquor stores, but will end at the same time. 

• The legislation also limits the scope of the annual reporting requirement. Under the June 2012 

legislation as enacted, all sellers of alcoholic beverages (wholesalers and retailers, including taverns, 

bars, liquor stores, etc.) had to make the annual filing. Under the July 2013 legislation as enacted, 

the annual reporting requirement will apply only to Class A licensees authorized to sell intoxicating 

beverages at wholesale or retail.  
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JUNE 2014 

• Legislation is enacted to extend, by three months, the temporary increase in excise taxes. Thus, the 

increase, which was to have ended March 31, 2015, will be extended through June 30, 2015. 

• The legislation also extends, by three months, the temporary sales tax exemption on wine and spirits 

sold at liquor stores. Thus, the exemption, which was to have ended March 31, 2015, will be extended 

through June 30, 2015. (Beer and other malt beverages will continue to be subject to the sales and 

use tax.) 

JUNE 2015 

• Legislation is enacted to permanently extend the increases in excise taxes.  

• The legislation also permanently exempts from sales and use tax the sale of wine and spirits sold 

at liquor stores – “Class A” licensees under Rhode Island General Laws Title 3. (The exemption was 

to have ended June 30, 2015.) Beer and other malt beverages will continue to be subject to the sales 

and use tax. 
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Alcoholic Beverages Sales Tax Reports 
2022 alcoholic beverages sales tax report (by county): 

 

2021 alcoholic beverages sales tax report (by county): 

 

Note: The data on this page is based on the unaudited annual returns (“annual reconciliations”) as filed with 
the Division of Taxation by liquor stores. 

 

 

 

 

 

  

Expanded Tables 
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Excise Tax/Import Service Fees 
Excise tax/import service fee paid by wholesalers/distributors/manufacturers on alcoholic beverages, by 
county, for calendar year 2022: 

 

 

Excise tax/import service fee paid by wholesalers/distributors/manufacturers on alcoholic beverages, by 
county, for calendar year 2021: 
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Variance Tables 

Variance tables for calendar years 2014 through 2022: 
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