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Website Components and Features
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https://tax.ri.gov/

Website Components and Features

o C O n taCt U S | R | D iVi S i O n ‘m Online Services v Resources for... v  Tax Sections v Forms + Guidance ~ AboutUs ~
Of T aX at I O n :Q" Agency Announcements

Home » Resources For... » Businesses

« Sales & Excise | Rl |
DIVISlon Of Taxatlon Resources for... ReSOU.rceS for BUS].neSSeS

Individuals P * NEW * The Restaurant Industry & Rhode Island Tax Guide
Businesses - In accordance with changes signed into law in June of 2022, a larger business
L] L] L] . . . . . .
° CO r D O rate | R I D IVI S I O n registrant will be required to use electronic means to file returns and remit taxes
i l Audit to the State of Rhode Island for tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2023,

1 Visit our Electronic Filing Mandate page for more information on this requirement.
of Taxation
Business Taxes

Here is some information on the more common taxes that impact businesses

Electronic Filing Mandate

» Withholding Tax | Rl .
Division of Taxation .
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Website Components and Features

Official State of Rhode Island website Q Settings & Language

o L I n kS to W% STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
. . Division of Taxation Search the site Q
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FA Q S a n d ﬁ Online Services v Resources for... v, Tax Sections v Forms v Guidance &  AboutUs v

N eWS lette rs "g" Agency Announcements Overview Hide Alerts

Administrative Decisions

Electronic Filing Mandate and New Sales Tax Form

ELECTRONIC FILING MANDATE: Advisories
In accordance with changes signed into la ness registrant

® A le rtS a n d will be required to use electronic means t Declaratory Rulings ) the State of

Rhode Island for tax periods beginning on Information and FAQs

M e S S a e S Visit our Electronic Filing Mandate page fi |uirement.
Newsletters
NEW SALES TAX FORM:
Starting with the return for the period en¢ Notices lary 2023],
monthly and quarterly Sales and Use Tax [sion of Taxation's
new sales form - Form RI=STR. Click for] Publications iions and the
Advisory issued regarding the new form. ysed only for

periods ending on or before December 31, Regulations
For guidance on completing and filing Forj

¢ S e a rC h Reports

COVID-19

functionality = : S R P

Health Insurance Mandate i
[

B B | Welcome o S

‘ Special Programs
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Sales Tax Responsibilities

* Business Application and Registration
 Sales & Use Tax | Rl Division of Taxation

* Returns are due monthly or quarterly

* More than $200 tax per month average - monthly filing frequency
 STR form is due by the 20t of month following the sale

* Less than $200 per month on average - quarterly filing frequency
« STR form due by last day of the month following the end of the quarter

* Initial registration is monthly for first 6 months

* Must file “zero” returns

« Annual Reconciliation
 T-204R is due by 01/31 of each year

 Current Rate is 7%
« What’s Taxable? | RI Division of Taxation

Slide 7


https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/sales-excise-taxes/sales-use-tax
https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/sales-excise-taxes/sales-use-tax
https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/sales-excise/whats-taxable

Sales Tax Responsibilities
L T T T T [T

Form RI-STR
231280%9350101

Sales and Use Tax Return

Wame Aocount identficaion numbser

Address For the peried en ding:
we " Aenandad

Rasturm
Address 2 NAICS code

City, town or post office State ZIP code E-mail sddress

Computation of Tax
Groas Sabes for thie Pemom. . ...t s ettt assenns ]
BEREREME . ot ee | 2
B INtErEtEtE SEMEE. ..o | 200
¢ Mon-Taxable Sales Bl SEMVIDESE. .. ... oo s | 2T

o Exempt OngSNIEBTIITE . ... e e eeeee e e et mr et snen et eeen et ee s s en e s s e s nmeenee | S0

GROSS SALES & EXEMPTIOMS

& Oiher {Specfy): 2e

3 Total Deductions {Add lnes 28 oI 8. . e e e eeee |
A Teable Saled (LINE 1 IS8 B Bl et ce e st et ee s e s et et ot sttt et ettt et e nmeen O

5 Total Trust Fund Sales Tax Due and Required to be Remitied ("Sales Tax") { Multiply line 4 by T9%)...

& Total Use Tax Dus (From Use Tax Waorkshest in Instroctioms ). ... B

T Total Sales Tax and Use Tax Due (Add lines 5and 8)..

& & Prepaid Sales Tax (Licensed Cigarstie Dealers Oniy).

b Oiner (Spectyl: &b

CREDITS & TAX DUE

@ Totsl Credits (Add lines 82 and 8b)..

10 Amount Due [Line T 888 BmE 8] .ot ettt e e e an e ee e e e e eee | I
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Sales Tax Responsibilities

STEP1

Log on to the Taxpayer Portal: taxportal.ri.gov.

STEP 2

Choose: "Transactions"—'File a Form"

STEP 3

Complete the return. Remember to enter your NAICS code & Account ID#.

STEP 4

Enter Sales and Deductions

STEP 5

Certify, sign, and submit your return & submit payment.

SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Division of Taxation Slide 9
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Sales Tax Responsibilities

SALES TAX FILING AND PAYMENT CHECKLIST:

[ ] Know your Account ID #

[ ] Know your NAICS code

[ ] Have your Gross Sales Amount

[ ] Identify each distinct deduction amount

L] Log on to the Taxpayer Portal

[ ] Choose:
"Online Transactions" —"File a Form"

| Enter Sales and Deductions

] Click Calculate and Submit

55 Wy STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
Division of Taxation Slide 10
v Department of Revenue



Sales Tax Responsibilities

e What is Taxable?

* All Tangible Personal Property and certain enumerated services
* Question should be asked is what is not taxable?

 § 44-18-30. Gross receipts exempt from sales and use taxes
« § 44-18-7.3. Services defined

 Taxicab and limousine services

« Other road transportation services
» Pet care services
e Room resellers

* Investigation, Guard, and Armored Car Services

Slide 11


http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-18/44-18-30.htm
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-18/44-18-7.3.htm

Sales Tax Responsibilities

 Exemptions

 Food and Food Ingredients-substances, whether in liquid,
concentrated, solid, frozen, dried, or dehydrated form, that are
sold for ingestion or chewing by humans and are consumed for
their taste or nutritional value.

* Does not include “alcoholic beverages,” “tobacco,” “candy,” “dietary
supplements,” and “soft drinks.”

* Prepared foods are taxable
Manufacturing purposes (exemption certificate required)
Electricity and Gas
Clothing less than $250
Exempt Organizations (exemption certificate required)
Sales for resale (exemption certificate required)

J Taxation Slide 12



&

General Overview of
Sales Tax
Responsibilities

This flowchart is for educational
purposes only. Please consult the
relevant Rhode Island General Laws and
Regulations for detailed requirements

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Division of Taxation

f R

Food and Food Ingredients means substances,
Food and Food whether in liquid, concentrated, solid, frozen,

Food Sales subject to Ingredients dried, ordehydrated form, that are sold for
sales tax? . . )
ingestion or chewing by humans and are
consumed for their taste or nutritional value.

Taxable

Alcoholic
beverages,
tobacco, candy,
dietary
supplements and
soft drinks

What d
Prepared foods a afl;zgsr;epare

TAXABILITY OF
FOOD DECISION
TREE

“Alcoholic beverages” means beverages that

La contain one half of one percent (.05%) or more Two or more food .

of alcohol by volume. ingredients mixed or ot ol Ui

combined by the

seller into single
item

eating utensils
provided by the
seller

Food sold in a
heated state

“Soft drinks” means nonalcoholic beverages that
contain natural or artificial sweeteners. that

does not contain milk) or greater than 50
percent (50%) vegetable or fruit juice by volume.

“Candy” means any preparation of sugar, honey,
or other natural or artificial sweeteners as an
ingredients in combination with chocolate, fruits,
nuts, or other ingredients or flavorings in the
forms of bars, drops, or pieces, does not contain
flour and does not need to be refrigerated..

Tobacco

Dietary Supplements means any product
intended to supplement the diet that contain a
vitamin, mineral, herb, amino acid, dietary
supplement. it must be in tablet, capsule,
powder, softgel, gelcap or liquid form, is not
represented for use as a meal replacement and
hasa "supplemental facts" box




Food Scenarios

« Examples such as eggs, corn, tomatoes meet the definition of
Food and Food Ingredients and therefore are exempt.

* [tems coated with sugar or candy such as candy apples are
defined as candy—do not meet the exemption.

* If items such as heated apple pie, coffee or apple cider are
served, the location would be required to collect meals and
beverage tax as well as the sales tax.

 Other examples can be found in Regulation 280-RICR-20-70-4

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

P S SLaN
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https://risos-apa-production-public.s3.amazonaws.com/DOR/REG_11658_20211209161514.pdf

Sales Tax Responsibilities

* When is a sales permit required?
* Every business making sales at retail or renting living quarters

 Retail sale

« Sale, lease or rental of tangible personal property

* “Tangible personal property” means personal property which may be seen,
weighed, measured, felt, or touched, or which is in any other manner
perceptible to the senses.

* Prewritten computer software
« Specified digital products
« Taxable services
* A tax exemption does not remove sales permit requirement.

 Annual renewal by 02/01 for no fee.

Slide 15



Sales Tax vs Use Tax

Sales Tax

Sales tax is a levy imposed on the retail
sale, rental or lease of many goods and
services. Any sale is a retail sale if the
property or service sold will be used and
not resold in the regular course of
business.

Sales tax collection is required by a
retailer in most cases.

f Taxation

Use Tax
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Meals and Beverage Tax Responsibilities

 Meals and Beverage Tax | Rl Division of Taxation

* Returns are due monthly or quarterly

 More than $200 in sales tax per month average is monthly filing
frequency
« MTM form is due by the 20th of month following the sale.

* Less than $200 in sales tax per month on average is quarterly filing
frequency.
« MTQ form is due by last day of the month following the end of the quarter
* Must file “zero” returns
e Current Rate is 1%

* Initial registration is monthly for first 6 months
* Eating and drinking establishment

Slide 17


https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/sales-excise-taxes/meals-beverage-tax

Meals and Beverage Tax Responsibilities

"Eating and/or drinking establishments" includes but is not limited to restaurants,
bars, taverns, lounges, cafeterias, lunch counters, drive-ins, roadside ice cream
and refreshments stands, fish and chip places, fried chicken places, pizzerias, food
and drink concessions, or similar facilities in amusement parks, bowling alleys,
clubs, caterers, drive-in theaters, industrial plants, race tracks, shore resorts or
other locations, lunch carts, mobile canteens and other similar vehicles, and other
like places of business which furnish or provide facilities for immediate
consumption of food at tables, chairs or counters or from trays, plates, cups or
other tableware or in parking facilities provided primarily for the use of patrons in
consuming products purchased at the location.

Retailers selling prepared foods in bulk, either in customer-furnished containers or
in the seller’s containers, for example “Soup and Sauce” establishments, are
deemed to be selling prepared foods ordinarily for immmediate consumption and, as
such, are considered eating establishments.

Slide 18



Provide Facilities Sell Prepared Foods

General Overview of

Eating and Drinking Food Store?
Establishments

and Tax Consequences

Are you a Bakery or

Do you meet 75%
threshold?

Do you have a
separate register?

Only prepared foods

This flowchart is for educational purposes only. e e e S

Please consult the relevant Rhode Island General
Laws and Regulations for detailed requirements

Business is an Eating and Drinking Establishment and are subject to
Sales and Meals and Beverage Collection Requirements

Lo STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

T s
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Meals and Beverage Tax Responsibilities

Additional Items of Importance

* This tax is a local tax remitted to the state thus the forms require a
distribution of tax by city/town.

« If delivery occurs, then those sales need to be tracked by delivery location.
« Schedule A on back of the MTM or MTQ is used to report the distribution.

* Retailer is subject to Meals and Beverage Tax requirements whether
product is consumed on or off premises (take-out).

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

e SLaN
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Industry Library Initiative

* Beginning with Restaurant and Hospitality Industry
* More guides to follow

* Developed a comprehensive guide

* Goal: to help businesses achieve and maintain voluntary
compliance

« The Restaurant Industry & Rhode Island Tax Guide for Businesses

Slide 21


https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2022-09/The%20Restaurant%20Industry%20%26%20Rhode%20Island%20Tax%20Guide%20for%20Businesses.pdf

Corporate Tax

Corporation

Federal

Files Form 1120 subject to
corporate income tax rates

No filing for the shareholders

 Can make separate S-corporation
election on Federal Form 2553

« Same tax treatment as partnership

State
 Follows federal election

* Files RI-1120 subject to corporate 7%
tax rate

* No filing for the shareholders

 If S-corporation election is made
federally

« Same tax treatment as partnership

« Subject to combined reporting
requirements

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Division of Taxation
Department of Revenue
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https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f2553.pdf

Corporate Tax

Partnership

Federal

Files Federal 1065 including K-1(s)
to report income/loss

* Income tax paid by partners on tax
return

o Corporation partners would pay on
Forr% 1120 ? ey

0 Individualgartners would pay on
Schedule E of Form 1040

o A partnership or an LLC partner
would flow through activity to
their partner/member(s)

State

Required to file RI-1065 to report
income/loss and pay annual charge of
$400. No charge for general
partnership.

Income tax paid by partners on their
income tax return

0 1(31c%r Cora’cion partners would pay on RI-

o Individual partners would Fa¥ on RI-
1828 based on Federal AGI of Form

o Partnership or LLC partners would
flow through activity to their
partner/member(s)

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Division of Taxation
Department of Revenue
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Corporate Tax

Limited Liability Company

Federal
No entity filing requirement

Income tax paid by member(s) on
tax return

o Corporation member(s) would pay
on Form 1120

o Individual member(s(} would p%y on
Schedule C or Schedule E of 1040

o A partnership or another LLC
member(s) would flow through
activity to their member(s)

State

Required to file RI-1065 to report
gnfgéne/loss and pay annual charge of

Income tax paid by member(s) on
their income tax return

o Corporation member(s) would pay on
RI-1120C

o Individual memberés) would pay on RI-
1040 flow from Federal AGI of Form
1040

o A partnership or another LLC o
member(s) would flow through activity
to their member(s)

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Division of Taxation
Department of Revenue
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Corporate Tax

e Tax Filing Requirements |
RI Division of Taxation

° PaSS_Through Entity "Q" Agency Announcements
Requirements

« S-corp, LLC, LP, LLP and
General Partnership

* Pass-through Withholding .
ReqUIrement Tax Sections PaSS_through Ent].t].es

« Composite Election for

Q Online Services v  Resources for.. v Tax Sections v Forms v Guidance v AboutUs v

Home » Tax Sections » Corporate Tax » Pass Through Enfities

non-resident members Audit + By statute, a pass-through entity is defined as a corporation that for the
e Pass-th rough Entlty | | applicable tax year is treated as .an S Clorporanon un.der.IR(IE § 1362@ [26 US.C. §
. Compliance & Collections + 1362(a)], and a general partnership, limited partnership, limited liability partnership,
Election e | .
trust, or limited liability company that for the applicable tax year is not taxed as a
e Pass-t h rou gh En t|t| es | R Corporate Tax - corporation for federal tax purposes under the state's check-the-box regulation.

Division of Taxation
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https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/corporate-tax/tax-filing-requirements
https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/corporate-tax/tax-filing-requirements
https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/corporate-tax/pass-through-entities
https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/corporate-tax/pass-through-entities

Corporate Tax

State of Rhode Island General Laws

* Related Statutes
 Corporate Tax R.l. Gen Laws §44-11-1 et al.
Limited Partnership R.l. Gen Laws §7-13.1-213
Limited Liability Partnerships R.l. Gen Laws §7-12-60
Limited Liability Company R.l. Gen Laws §7-16-67
Pass-through Entity Requirements R.l. Gen Laws §§44-11-2.2 & 2.3

Slide 26


http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-11/INDEX.htm
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE7/7-13.1/7-2/7-13.1-213.htm
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http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-11/44-11-2.3.htm

f Taxation

Single Member LLC vs Sole Proprietor

Single Member LLC

Entity apart from its
owner

Registered as an entity
with Rl Department of
State

Has liability protection—
limited to investment
Registration date—
dissolution date

Subject to annual charge
(currently $400) on
separate tax form for
state purposes

Similarities
Files Form 1040
reporting on
Schedule C to pay
federal income taxes

Files RI-1040 to pay
state income tax on
Federal AGI including
Schedule C income

Sole Proprietor

 Owner is the entity

» Can register a trade
name with local
municipality

» Personal liability

 No dissolution to
close business

* No separate filing
requirement/annual
charge

Slide 27



Personal Income Taxes

e Individuals | RI Division of Taxation

 Personal Income Tax | Rl Division of Taxation

* Personal Income Tax Forms | Rl Division of Taxation

« Returns for residents and non-residents are due by 04/15
each year

* 2022 Filing Threshold Single $13,650
 Individual Tax Filing Requirements | Rl Division of Taxation

* Rl tax returns begin with Federal Adjusted Gross Income

Slide 28


https://tax.ri.gov/resources/individuals
https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/personal-income-tax
https://tax.ri.gov/forms/individual-tax-forms/personal-income-tax-forms
https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/personal-income-tax/individual-tax-filing-requirements

Additional Taxes and Fees

 Litter permit fee

* All Rhode Island sales tax permit holders whose sales relate in
whole or in part to the sales of food and/or beverages

* Due by 08/01 each year (for following January — December)
 Fee determined based on amount of sales ($25 - $125)

« Cigarette Dealer’s License

* Due by 02/01 each year (for following July-June)
* Fee of $25

e Tobacco Tax

* Due by 02/01 each year (for following July-June)
* Fee of $25

Slide 29



Electronic Filing & Payment Mandate

* Electronic filing and payment mandate for large business
registrant taxpayers effective 01/01/2023

« Large Business Registrant defined:

* is operating a business whose combined annual liability for all taxes
administered by the Division of Taxation for the entity is or exceeds $5,000; or

* is operating a business whose annual gross income is over $100,000 for the
entity

* Penalties
« $50 per occurrence for failure to file electronically
* 5% of tax amount or $500, whichever is less for failure to pay electronically

 Taxpayers with reasonable causes may be exempt on a case-by-case
basis

 Individuals and trusts filing personal or fiduciary income tax returns are

not larger business registrants for the purposes of R.I. Gen Laws §44-1-
31.2

Slide 30



Using the Taxpayer Portal

 Benefits of Portal

Satisfies new Electronic Filing and Payment Mandate requirements
Can file and pay all taxes from same site

Can schedule payment for future withdrawal
* You can schedule payments up to 364 days in advance on the Portal

24-hour access

Interactive to help ensure accurate filings with all required fields
completed

Ability to see all previous filing and payments for all tax types
Securely store banking information for future use

e Stats — over 52,000 registered users have submitted over 329,000
payments for over $1.74B throughout 2022

e Other electronic methods available

D1v n of Taxation Slide 31
v evenue



How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal

Step 1: Visit www.taxportal.ri.gov and create a User ID and password.

wooe

g STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
? Division of Taxation
‘ ‘ Department of Re: =

Home

Member Sign In

Popular Services
Customer support is available weekdays between 8:30am - 3:30pm at 401-574-8484

Vi rtU?.l Traini ng or you can e-mail support at taxportal@tax.ri.gov at any time.
SeSS|OnS Haer Tax Forms

Please Enter User ID Don’t have your PIN? Unable to log in to your account? Many forms can be filed Administrative Decisions
and paid without a PIN using our Same Day Services. Advisories
Password - P :
The File a Form link is located on the bottom left of this page. Where's My Refund
Password

Business Registration
[==] -
Regulations

Newsletters

Forgot User ID? Forgot password?

Create a New User

Don't Have a Portal User Account?

Use our Same-Day Services

Contact Us

Liquor License Renewals — Certificates
of Good Standing

Individual Mandate Reporting - NEW

Frequently Asked Questions

Guest Bill Payments (Video)

Contact info to
request a pin or any
other questions:

+ taxportal@tax.ri.gov
e 401-574-8484

Guest Filing_(Video)

Portal Registration (Video)

File a Form (alone or with payment)

Portal User Guide

Who should use the online taxpayer
portal and what taxes can be filed?

How do | link my.tax entity to my portal
account?

! STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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https://www.taxportal.ri.gov/
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How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal
Step 2: Link User ID to Taxation using PIN.

| izie ]
.y STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
g

Division of Taxation

Crapartrment of

Home Edit Personal Info Message Center~

Complete Your Registration

Welcome, Weeuall
You last logged in on Administrator Users - To complete your initial registration, at least one portal user must be assigned this role before any additional Users can
Friday, 08/26/2022 09:13 AM be registered. This individual will have the widest range of portal permissions. This individual may also authorize other individuals to access

taxpayer account information. Register as an Administrator User here

Authorized Users - If you will parform tax functions on behalf of a taxpayer, provide your User ID to the taxpayer's administrator to be granted
access to a taxpayer's online account.

Rhode Island Division of Taxation. All rights reserved. Contact Us

h o Mg STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Division of Taxation Slide 33
S




How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal

The Account Administrator has access to all accounts

Tax Accounts 9

Last Activity

Account Type = $ Address : Current Balance s Last Period Filed

ID Date

SALES!/ I B 72022 $1021  12/31/2021
RECONCILIATION I

I
WITHHOLDING/ I I 1212022 ($153,954.83) 09/30/2022
FILING ]

]
WITHHOLDING/ . B o202 $0.00  12/31/2020
RECONCILIATION I
Showing 6 to 8 of & entries » ¢ 1 n > N

Taxation Slide 34




How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal

Account Summary (ﬂ

Account summary
shows status of
period for the
accounts

Lo STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

b,

RS
QDR

The information below provid

From this pags the

Account Details
Taxpayer Nama
Account Type

Account ID
Account Status

Mailing Address
123 MAIMN STREET

FPROVIDENNCE, RI 02308
UINITED STATES

Phone Number

wwith 3 summary of the information that is cu
Address is mcorrect, use Service Request

ABC CAMNDY COMPANY Effective Date
End Date

SALES/FILING

20201234

OPEIN

Fhone Mumber  401-123-45&7

Extension
Foreign Mumb-er

Filing Periods &

Parlod Start Date

1012022

]

D202

Showing 1 to 10 of 85 entr

Locations

Site Coas - Type

Showing 1 to 1 of 1 entries

= Perlod End Date

Email Address

¢ |Balance 4 Perod Status

4 strestz § City

Raturn Flled

nthy known to the Division of Taxation. |fthe Mailing
O =nu bar and create a new Servics Reguest, “Update Tax Account Address™.
s dinect navigation to File a Return, Make a Payment or View Correspondence History.

state
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How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal

File a Form

From the Home screen select “Online Transactions” click on the small arrow to the right for drop-down menu.

o
,.., STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

/j;s Division of Taxation

% Jepartment of Revenue

Home Profile Information~ Account Inquiry~ Online Transaction: ~ Message Center~ Service Requests~

Tax Accounts Q

In the drop-down menu select “File a Form.”

jaz]
Wy S1ATE OF RHODE ISLAND
Lquin

=
)

/JJ) Division of Taxation

W Departrment of Ravenus

Home Profile Information~ Account Inquiry~ Online Transactions~ Message Center- Service Requests~

File a Form
Tax Accounts
Welcome, John Doe
b Saved and Submitted ltems .
Last Activity

Account Type v Ean + Current Balance s Last Period Filed
Make a Payment

Letter of Good Standing Request

W@W STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal

Complete the required drop-downs and select “Next”

File a Form 9

To begin the process of filing a return, please provide the required information below. Some fields will be automatically updated based on the entry of the previous field. For Return Type,
choose "Original” if you are filing a new return. To correct a previously filed form. use "Amended”.

indicates requirec

“ Name: v

“ Account: SALES/FILING bt
*1D: Account ID v

* Form Type RI STR SALES TAX RETURN v

“ Return Type ORIGINAL DOCUMENT v

* Filing Method DATA ENTRY v
* Filing Period 1/1/2023-1/31/2023 v

CANCEL NEXT

Next
o S STA.TE uF FJ.HODE ISLAND . .
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How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal

Complete all information needed and select

Calcu late. Enter Line A NAICS (NAICS codes can be found on NAICS.com), Line 1 “Gross

H ales for the Period. Please include any deductions in lines 2A-2E.
= Complete each applicable tab > Period. Please include any deductions in lines 24-2E

Select “Calculate™
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How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal

Summary Information
An overview of the filing information is presented.

Home Profile Information~ Account Inquiry~ Online Transactions~ Message Center~ Service Requests~

Online Transactions

Summary Information @

Please allow a minimum of 72 hours for this document to be processed before contacting the Division of Taxation with any questions

The Penalty and Interest amounts listed below are forecasted amounts that may change after your return is reviewed. Payments that were previously paid to the affected return
period may not have been deducted from the balance shown below until your return is reviewed.

Total Tax $400.00

Total Payments Claimed $0.00

Forecasted Penalty Amount Due $0.00
Forecasted Underpayment Interest Due $0.00
Total Amount Due $400.00

< BACK NEXT

Select “Next”

Lo STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal

Tax return signature will prompt you for an electronic signature to verify that you
are authorized to file tax return.

Home Profile Information~ Account Inquiry~ Online Transactions~ Message Center~ Service Requests~

Online Transactions / File a Tax Retum

Enter Tax Return - Signature

Under the penalties of perjury, | declare that | am authorized to file tax returns on behalf of the taxpayer represented on the return now being submitted online.

Plzase select the "Yes” button if you agree. Select the "No” button to cancel the submission and go back to the retumn.

o

Select “Yes” to file return.

h o Mg STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal

This screen confirms the submission of your return.
Your next step is to make a payment.

Online Transactions | File a Tax Retum

Enter Tax Return - Confirmation

Return was submitted successfully.

If you would like to include a payment with your return, click the [Make a Payment Now] button. Otherwise, click [Return Home]

The confirmation number is:

Please print or save this number for future reference.

MAKE A PAYMENT NOW (| PRINT RETURN
RETURN HOME

Taxation Slide 41




How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal

Complete Payment Amount and Payment Method, select Next.

Form Payment ]

Taxpayer Name DEWY DECIMAL Period End Date  12/31/2022

Account Amount Due  $400.00
ID  Account ID:0000000000 Return Confirmation #  FRO000000000
Total Tax $400.00
Forecasted Penalty $00.00
Amount Due
Forecasted Underpayment $00.00

Interest Due

Total Amount Due $400.00

* payment Amount $ | Check here to pay total outstanding balance

* Payment Method L

f Taxation Slide 42




How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal

Complete the required information and select Submit.
- Save your banking information for future use.
 Warehouse payments for a future date.

Schedule Electronic Payment &

R rmbes
k Acc mibe:
irm ount
imber
Ac ype Decer ™ ~
Su Mo W Fr  Sa
Ac tder
e
]
IIIIII I = f you would like to make this bank account your default for future payment, enter a
Nickname
2
7
m r _
ve - 12/31/2022 * |m
(=] Rereby aUthorize the withdrawal of funds at 1pecified above for Lax payments
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How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal

Confirm payment by selecting Confirm.
Payment Confirmation page offers details of submitted payments.

Confirm Payment @

confirm the below payment to submit for processing
Payment Amount  5400.00

Payment Method

Payment Confirmation @

Transaction Information

Payment Information

Taxpayer Name  DIWY DECIMAL ective

Document Typs  PAYMENT VOUCHER Period Caovere

Amount Paid  $40000 Account Type
Payment Amount 40000

Fee Amount $0.0¢

ACH DEBIT Information
Bank Nickname test Routing Number
Bank Account Type Account Number OIS 165

Payment Details

Slide 44

Taxation



How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal

Same-Day/Guest Services: Certain types of payments and filings can made using Same-Day
Services/Guest Payment functionality.
You can make a payment, file a form, or file a form with a payment.

 1acoc]
.y STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

(o

Qr Division of Taxation

\"-‘;’ Department of Revenue

Member Sign In Popular Services
Customer support is available weekdays between 8:30am - 3:30pm at 401-574-8484

or you can e-mail support at taxportal@tax.ri.gov at any time.

User ID Tax Forms
Please Enter User ID Don't have your PIN? Unable to log in to your account? Many forms can be filed Administrative Decisions
and paid without a PIN using our Same Day Services. Advisories
Password . Y :
The File a Form link is located on the bottom left of this page. Where's My Refund
Password

Business Registration

[=r] s

Regulations

Forgot User ID? Forgot password? Newsletters

Create a New User

Contact Us

Liguor License Renewals — Certificates
of Good Standing

Individual Mandate Reporting - NEW

Frequently Asked Questions

Guest Bill Payments (Video)

Don't Have a Portal User Account

Use our Same-Day Services

Guest Filing (Video)
Portal Registration (Videa)
Portal lser Guide

Make a Payment (same day withdrawal)

File a Form (alone or with payment)

Lo STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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You are invited!

« Taxpayer Portal invites you to join us during one of our regularly
hosted virtual training sessions!

« We present a live in-Portal session to inform and enlighten taxpayers
and tax professionals. Answer questions to increase your knowledge
and comfort. All within the Taxpayer Portal through interactive
virtual sessions.

 Send email request to tax.portal@tax.ri.gov to request to be added
to the list for a session

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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Tips and Best Practices

What are Trust Fund Taxes?

 Trust Fund Taxes are taxes that are collected by one taxpayer from
another taxpayer and are held in trust for the state.

 The statutes that enforce these taxes require the collecting taxpayer
to remit those taxes to the state at a definite date.
* R.I.Gen Laws § 44-19-35
* R.I.Gen Laws § 44-30-76
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http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-19/44-19-35.htm
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-30/44-V/44-30-76.htm

Tips and Best Practices

Examples of Trust Fund Taxes:

« Sales Tax
« State Sales Tax is collected by a retailer from their customers. All sales
taxes collected must be remitted to the state by the 20th of the following
month. The retailer’s tax obligation or liability relates directly to its
collection of taxes from another taxpayer - in this case their customer.

« Withholding Taxes
« Withholding Taxes are withheld by an employer from their employee’s
wages. The tax withheld or collected is held in trust for the state and not
for the employer’s use.

Slide 48



Tips and Best Practices

How does Trust Funds impact a business?

* When Trust Fund Taxes are collected, the law indicates that these funds must be
remitted by the prescribed due date without exception.

 There are penalties for misappropriation of trust funds including holding a
responsible officer personally liable for the misappropriation.

* It is important for a business owner and their representatives to understand the
importance of trust fund remittance.

Additional details can be found in an article from one of our quarterly newsletters.
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https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2022-11/Newsletter%20Q4%202022%20updated.pdf

Tips and Best Practices

Fraud Trends

 |RS/States/Tax Software Industry
collaborating on fraud detection
and prevention and monitoring
data/trends through the IDTTRF-
ISAC and the Security Summit.

« How Do You Report Suspected Tax
Fraud Activity? | Internal Revenue
Service (irs.gov)

 Dirty Dozen | Internal Revenue
Service (irs.gov)

* Criminals are becoming more
creative, with better technology,
and means to perpetrate fraud.

Slide 50


https://www.irs.gov/individuals/how-do-you-report-suspected-tax-fraud-activity
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Tips and Best Practices

How to Mitigate Fraud

Consistently update software and operating systems with latest
patches—outdated applications and operating systems are the
most targeted vulnerabilities for ransomware.

Train your staff about phishing, cyber security and to look
carefully at emails before responding. Check and double check.
Multifactor Authentication/Strong Passwords.

Back up data on a regular basis; maintain it on a separate device
and store it offline.

Implement a disaster recovery plan.

Check the Taxpayer Portal: Rl Taxpayer Portal.

How Do You Report Suspected Tax Fraud Activity? | Internal
Revenue Service (irs.gov) .

Reach out to the RI Division of Taxation: Contact Us | RI Division
of Taxation
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https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us

Tips and Best Practices

What records should a taxpayer maintain?

* Federal & State Income Tax returns
* Copies of all state tax returns filed and backup detail

» Sales Records and credit card receipts including
« Any exemption certificates
* Daily sales receipts/reports
 Merchant statements and 1099K forms
* Delivery slips

* Purchase invoices and ledger listings

» Asset schedules and invoices

* Bank statements, General Ledger and chart of accounts
* Other records as needed
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Payment
Reminder Notice

 If return filed
prior to due
date with a
balance due

Due Date

T STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

@ Division of Taxation
v

State Tax Notices Timeline

Notice of
Proposed

Assessment

* Issued if an
adjustment is
made to a filed
return prior to
due date or

* Issued if an
adjustment is
made to a filed
return after the
due date

Notice of

Assessment

 Issued after
due date of
return filed
with a balance
due matching
the balance
due on a filed
return or

* Issued 30 days
after a Notice
of Proposed
Assessment

Statement of Annually

Account

* Issued 30 days
after a Notice
of Assessment

* Includes all
outstanding
liabilities
across tax
types

e Continues
issuance up to
3 times or until
paid

- J

Annual Statement

of Account

* Periodic
reminder
notice of
outstanding

across all taxes
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Interest Rate Reduction

* Interest Rate Reduction for non-trust funds
e Minimum of 12% for most taxes-Effective 01/01/2023

* Minimum of 18% remains for trust fund taxes
e Sales
* Hotel
 Meals and Beverage
« Withholding

« ADV 2022-25.pdf
e Interest Rate Change FAQ
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https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2022-11/ADV_2022_25_interest_rate_reduction_revised_11-25-22.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2022-11/Interest_rate_FAQs_revised_11-25-22.pdf

More Tax Resources

e Sign up for our emails

W .W STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Taxation

* Tax news delivered to your inbox Subscribe for tax news

Sign up to receive free RI tax news updates in
your inbox.

* Quarterly newsletters
By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing
emails from: Rhode Island Division of Taxation, 1 Capitol Hill,

Providence, RT 02908, US,
You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by

using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every
email.

* Important updates
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https://tax.ri.gov/

Questions?
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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Division of Taxation
v Department of Revenue

Thank you ...

401-574-8983
Tax.Experience@tax.ri.gov

One Capitol Hill D
Providence, Rl 02908

tyy- STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/taxpayer-experience-office
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Appendix A

Compliant Taxpayer Profiles

o
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Compliant Taxpayer Guide:

Retailer

Example:
Generic Retailer with retail sales out of a Rl location of $250,000 per year of mostly taxable

goods. Taxpayer is an LLC taxed as a partnership for federal tax purposes with two partners.
They have 5 employees with average total taxes withheld of S700 per month.

This example is for educational and informational purposes only. It is not a substitute for compliance with the R.l. General Laws and any relevant rules or regulations. Depending on your specific business model

you may have additional or different requirements.

e Withholding taxes

« Registered for Taxpayer Portal * Withholding payments made each Monday

e Annual Sales Permit renewal filed by 2/1 o RI-941 filed quarterly before 4/30, 7/31, 10/31, and 1/31
¢ RI-STR (Sales tax return) filed by the 20th day of the month following the month in which the

tax was collected

Basics

e Personal Income Tax
¢ Shareholders file RI-1040ES making estimated payments on 4/15,

6/15, 9/15, and 1/15
¢ Shareholders file RI-1040 by 4/15

° Annual filings
¢ RI-W3 filed by 1/31
* W2s filed by secure FTP using tax.prodcontrol@tax.ri.gov by 1/31
e T-204R Sales Tax Annual Reconciliation filed by 1/31
e RI-1065 filed by 3/15 with $400 annual charge and Rl K1s to partners

NEED HELP? 401-574-8983
Slide 59
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Compliant Taxpayer Guide:

Restaurant

Example: _ ( &
Restaurant with annual gross receipts of $750,000 located in Cumberland \
o=

which delivers into Central Falls and Lincoln. Taxpayer is an S-corporation and

10 employees.

This example is for educational and informational purposes only. It is not a substitute for compliance with the R.l. General Laws and any relevant rules or regulations. Depending on your specific business model,

you may have additional or different requirements.

Basics © Annual filings

e RI-W3 filed by 1/31

e W2s filed by secure FTP using tax.prodcontrol@tax.ri.gov by 1/31

¢ T-204R Sales Tax Annual Reconciliation filed by 1/31

e RI-1120S filed by 3/15 with $400 minimum tax and Rl K1s to partners

* Registered for Taxpayer Portal
¢ Annual Sales Permit renewal filed by 2/1
¢ RI-STR (Sales tax return) filed by the 20th day of the month following the month in which the
tax was collected
e Litter permit fee of $100 based on Gross Receipts by 8/01
o MTM filed by 20th of each month
o Must complete Schedule A of return with sales distributed between Cumberland, Central

Falls and Lincoln
' e Personal Income Tax
e Withholding taxes « Shareholders file RI-1040ES making estimated payments on 4/15,
» Withholding payments made each Monday 6/15, 9/15, and 1/15
o RI-941 filed quarterly before 4/30, 7/31, 10/31, and 1/31 e Shareholders file RI-1040 by 4/15

NEED HELP? o 401-574-8983

@ Tax.Experience@tax.ri.gov https:/ftax.ri.gov/ Slide 60




Appendix B: Additional State Resources

e Business Services - Rhode Island - Gregg M. Amore (ri.sov)

Start, maintain, or close your business or non-profit

Training Calendar

Business Services offers free workshops, summits,
and other educational opportunities on a range of
topics for small businesses and non-profit
organizations.

Click here to view the event calendar and sign up

For Rl Businesses = For Foreign Businesses < For Non-Profits < today!
« Plan for Success » Plan for Success « Plan for Success

« Start a New Business « Register Your Business in Rhode Island « Start a New Non-Profit

« Maintain Your Existing Business « Maintain Your Business « Maintain Your Existing Non-Profit

« Close Your Business « Withdraw Your Business » Close Your Non-Profit

e Rl Tax Credits & Financing | Rhode Island Commerce (commerceri.com)
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