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About Us

The Division of Taxation: Total State Tax Revenue Collected by

. . . the Division of Taxation
One of six agencies in the Department of Revenue for Fiscal Year 2022 ($, In Millions)

 The Rhode Island Division of Taxation employs 223 tax professionals,
administering more than 59 different taxes and fees. FY22 ReceiptS' $5B

+ Taxes represent the most significant source of General Fund revenue for Rhode
Island — funds used to help pay for vital services including public safety,
education, transportation, and recreation for all Rhode Islanders.

* Each year, the Division collects and distributes more than $5 billion in funds to
the State, municipalities, and other agencies (as of FY 22).

 To foster voluntary compliance with the Rhode Island tax laws and

instill public confidence through professional, impartial and ethical
conduct.

28.47%

« To administer and collect all taxes as required by Rhode Island law in
the most efficient and cost-effective manner.

* To assist taxpayers by helping them understand and meet their tax
responsibilities. OWithholding BSales OCorp OPIT MEstate, M&B, Hotel & Other
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About Us: Key Stakeholders/Interactions

File/Pay returns/taxes/fees

Legislative Review/Testimony

Tax issues in .
Budgeti Refu.nds . Revenue Estimating Conference
udgeting Taxpayers - Services (Edziion, Tax Policy/Administration
Tax policy Outreach, LOGS) P il
Constituent Rerspic éve
Assistance eportin
Governor’s Eonstilcti\ergc.tAZsizF:ncg [
. nua - or Genera
Office General nnuat Audit-Audi
Assembly
» Distributions
(Hotel Tax, o + Starting point for Personal
Meals/Beverage Cities/T o o . Incomeg gusiness Corp Tax is
Tax, Real Estate |t|-es owns, Division of Taxation IRS federal conformity
Conveyance Tax) Tourism Bureaus gz Department of Revenue » Data exchange, compliance
programs yield millions of
dollars
Other State + Confidentiality/Audits
Agencies/General Officers
Courts

(Within DOR, HSRI, OMB,
Accounts/ Controls, Dept

* Appeals, Litigation,

. Enforcement

Enforcement Transportation, DLT) ; * Offset refunds for
o i Tax Professionals tf

ollection . Other states court fees
Reporting +  Education RI Society of CPAs
Data Exchange . Outreach to Enhance Accountants
Technical Compliance Others Coordination/Communication
Support . Constituent Assistance Information Sharing
Constituent Collaboration
Assistance Offsets
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Fraud Trends

« |IRS/States/Tax Software
Industry collaborating on fraud
detection and prevention and
monitoring data/trends through
the IDTTRF-ISAC and the
Security Summit.

« How Do You Report Suspected
Tax Fraud Activity? | Internal
Revenue Service (irs.gov)

 Dirty Dozen | Internal Revenue
Service (irs.gov)

* Criminals are becoming more
creative, with better
technology, and means to
perpetrate fraud.
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https://www.irs.gov/individuals/how-do-you-report-suspected-tax-fraud-activity
https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/dirty-dozen

How to Mitigate Fraud

* Consistently update software and operating systems with latest
patches—outdated applications and operating systems are the
most targeted vulnerabilities for ransomware.

« Train your staff about phishing, cyber security and to look
carefully at emails before responding. Check and double
check.

* Multifactor Authentication/Strong Passwords.

« Back up data on a regular basis; maintain it on a separate
device and store it offline.

 Implement a disaster recovery plan.

 Check the Taxpayer Portal: RI Taxpayer Portal.

« How Do You Report Suspected Tax Fraud Activity? | Internal
Revenue Service (irs.gov) .

 Reach out to the RI Division of Taxation: Contact Us | Rl
Division of Taxation
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https://taxportal.ri.gov/rptp/portal/home/!ut/p/z1/04_Sj9CPykssy0xPLMnMz0vMAfIjo8zijS0MnN09DIy83EODjQwc_R1DTcIcvYAsE_1wQgqigNIGOICjAVB_FCElBbkRBumOiooA7YFcLQ!!/dz/d5/L2dBISEvZ0FBIS9nQSEh/
https://www.irs.gov/individuals/how-do-you-report-suspected-tax-fraud-activity
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us

Taxpayer Experience Office/Team

_5 Taxpayer Experience Office

Team
sl ot * Tax Administrator
Associate Tax A
S s e * Asst Tax Administrator
Assistant Tax Administrator |[¢— Taxpayer Experience Liaison
| * External Facing:
| | | ! | Taxpayer Experience
Liaison
Compli:g;esj‘afio;:‘ections Tax Assessment & Review Audit & Investigation Operations Analytics
* Internal Taxpayer
. ™ Experience Team

g (With Initial Focus on

5| . negisuration & > Excise & Estate Tax Collections/Compliance)
Taxpayer Experience —p Project Oversight
P Revenue Accounting
= « Continue Improvements
— Audit
> CornI::)Iiance & i Personal & Cc;rporate »| Forms, Credits & Incentives AC rOSS Age n Cy at al.l.

Collections Income Tax .

S R e Taxpayer Contact Points
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Division of Taxation: Mission

The Tax Administration Efficiency Continuum

— FORCED COMPLIANCE

More expensive, less efficient, but necessary

VOLUNTARY COMPLIANCE

Less expensive, more efficient revenue generation

The Taxpayer’s Stay informed of tax EVEY Ask questions File taxes and Respond to Participate in Defend Defend Defend
Responsibilities obligations information as needed forms questions audit position position position
Be e .
The Division of Educate & q Optimize A Take Litigate Enforce
Draft clear and E accessible T Correct Audit & - - -
Taxation’s Actions timely Tax law i) by email/ ulllid errors investigate o Stalnstas SEnas
instructions phone processes actions actors penalties
- A A A A
Creating a Expanding Improving Expanding
How are we dedicated taxpayer the taxpayer staff the remote
. . experience team, service training, audit
im pr0V| n g expanding outreach portal, data program,
to aid taxpayers, creating analysis, implementing
- taxpayer providing more digital improving best
services, direct access ft_:r signature forms and practices
taxpayers, creating options, data
volu ntary educational upgrading retrieval '
. : Developing
2 material for technology, .
compllance e common taxpayer appointment industry
issues system pilot guidelines
—]

I Taxpayer Experience Office/Team
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Resources

Division of Taxation website: https://tax.ri.gov

 Rhode Island General Laws: (Primarily Title 44):
webserver.rilegislature.gov//Statutes/TITLE44/INDEX.HTM
* Regulations:

https://tax.ri.gov/guidance/regulations
* Declaratory Rulings:

https://tax.ri.gov/guidance/declaratory-rulings

e Administrative Decisions:

https://tax.ri.gov/guidance/administrative-decisions
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https://tax.ri.gov/
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/INDEX.HTM
https://tax.ri.gov/guidance/regulations
https://tax.ri.gov/guidance/declaratory-rulings
https://tax.ri.gov/guidance/administrative-decisions

Resources

£ Settings & Language

wfz% STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
\  Division of Taxation
V Department of Revenue

{} oOnline Services v  Resourcesfor.. v TaxSections v Forms v Guidance &  AboutUs v

s

Overview

Show Alerts

Administrative Decisions
B auidance Advisories
Declaratory Rulings

Information and FAQs

Gikidaics Guidance | ‘e

( . Notices
Administrative Decisions The RI Divisior T Taxation pr es made available to the
Hublic ich as ac Publications laratory rulings,
Advisories publications, news
Regulations
Declaratory Rulings Reports
Administrative Decisions COVID-1
information and FAQs + ViD-19
\r imi ative decision is a Health Insurance Mandate  fwing
Newsletters
yroceeding i nch ar dividi ests a
PPP Loan Forgiveness
grievance of ar tion of the T
Notices
Special Programs
The individual or entity is first arroraeo an"opportunty to have a pr \ar
Publications . n
review ("preliminary nrerence )
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Hearings

e R.|. Gen. Laws 44-1-32

* The general hearing request statute

* Various tax types have their own hearing
request statutes

* This is the applicable statute if hearings are not
specifically provided for in other chapters

Slide 12


http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-1/44-1-32.htm

Hearings

Preliminary Administrative
conference hearing

Scheduling
Order

Hearing Decision

Governance .
scheduled issued

Notice
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Hearings

S P R el - | he initial stage is an informal conference in the nature of a settlement conference proceeding under
Rule 408.

* If the matter cannot be resolved at preliminary conference, it will be forwarded for full administrative
Administrative hearing BaCEIgIgl=8

* The Division’s Legal team represents the Division.

» The Division will issue a hearing notice for a pre-hearing conference.

» At the conference, the independent hearing officer will be introduced, and early resolution options will
be explored.

Scheduling Order - If there is no resolution, the parties will either enter a scheduling order to engage in discovery and
motion practice or discuss the potential to agree to stipulated facts and briefing.

Governance * Superior Court rules govern administrative hearings in the absence of specific rules under Taxation’s
and DOA’s hearing regulations.

P e R e e .Ml 'T 2 hearing is necessary, the hearing will be scheduled with the Hearing Officer and proceed in
accordance with the rules.

Decision issued * The Hearing Officer will issue a decision either based on the hearing or briefing (if agreed).
* The Tax Administrator has 30 days to adopt, reject, or modify the decision.

Appeal * Once the Tax Administrator acts, the taxpayer may appeal to District Court within 30 days.
* The administrative appeal is docketed and it is a de novo proceeding.

i
_ccreing o
o
e e
oo s
T
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Hearings

* Request for Hearing Procedure
« Administrative Hearing Procedures (280-RICR-20-00-2)

* Taxpayer must request a hearing in writing. The request for hearing shall contain in substance
the following:

1. A clear and concise statement of the nature of the tax or other material which is
disputed, objected to, or otherwise sought to be contested and of the facts on which
the taxpayer relies.

2. A clear and concise statement of the taxpayer's objection to the assessment or
determination with which he or she is aggrieved, and of contentions of law, if any,
which the taxpayer desires to raise, including the application of any rule or regulation
which may be involved;

A prayer setting forth the relief sought; and

The name and address of the taxpayer, any identifying number assigned to such
taxpayer with reference to the particular tax in question, as well as the name and
address of his or her attorney or accountant, if any.

8

* The request for hearing shall be filed in writing with the Tax Administrator and be signed by
the taxpayer or by his or her attorney or accountant. Such filing shall be made within the
statutory time limit either by making dellve%/ by hand, or by regular mail posta%e (g)repald,
addresséd to the Tax Administrator at One Capitol Hill, Providence, Rhode Island, 02908-
5800, Failure to conform to the requirements of § 2.7(D) of this Part or of the preceding §
2.7(C) of this Part, shall be grounds, at the discretion of the Tax Administrator, for dismissal
of the request for hearing.
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https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/280-20-00-2

Hearings

Requests for Rehearing:

1.

A request for rehearing which is submitted prior to the issuance of the
final decision of the hearing officer and/or the Tax Administrator,
should be made in writing, setting forth the substance of the
additional evidence to be offered, and the reason for failure of the
party to offer it at the prior proceedings.

A request for rehearing which is submitted after the issuance of the
final decision must be made within thirty (30) days, after such
issuance, and must state the grounds for the request, setting forth
the substance of the evidence to be offered, and the reason for failure
of the party to offer it at the prior proceeding.
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Best Practices: Non-Resident Real Estate Withholding

625 2 Installment Sale Income OMB No. 1545-0228
Form Attach to your tax return. 2 @ 22
Department of the Treasury | USe @ separate form for each sale or other disposition of property on the installment method. Attachrment
Internal Revenue Service Go to www.irs.gov/Form6252 for the latest information. Sequence No. 67
MName(s) shown on return Identifying number

1 Descriptionof property
2a Date acquired (mm/dd/yyyy) b Date sold (mm/dd/yyyy)
3  Was the property sold to a related party? See instructions. If “Yes,” complete Part |ll for the year of sale and 2
years after the year of the sale unless you received the final payment during thetaxyear . . . . . . . [Yes [No
4 Reserved for future use . . . . . [CYes [No
m Gross Profit and Conlract Prlce Cemplete th|s parl fer aII years ef the |nstallment agreement
5 Selling price including mortgages and other debts. Don't include interest, whether stated or unstated 5
6 Mortgages, debts, and other liabilities the buyer assumed or took the property
subject to (see instructions) . e e e e 6
7  Subtract line 6 from line 5 Ce e e e e 7
8 Cost or other basis of propertysold . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
9  Depreciation allowed or allowable . e e e e e e 9
10 Adjusted basis. Subtract line 9 from line8 . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 Commissions and other expensesofsale . . . . C e e e 11
12  Income recapture from Form 4797, Part Il (see |nstruct|ens} e e e 12

 |nstallment Sale Schedule - Federal Form 6252 must be attached to the

election form.
 Any amount of unrecognized gain should be listed on line 6.

« https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f6252.pdf

Lo STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f6252.pdf

Best Practices: Non-Resident Real Estate Withholding

Form Reminders
* Please ensure all forms are accurate and complete.

* If more than 2 nonresident sellers, please include an addendum with the
other seller(s) information and signature(s).

 If there are any corrections to the Remittance from the original filed
Election form, please include a coversheet noting the update, this will
aid with delays in processing.

* If more than one buyer, please include all buyers on the Lien Discharge.

* Do not add sellers that were not reported on the original Withholding
Certificate.

* Remittances based upon Net Proceeds with $0 withholding due should
mcﬁude a closing statement, so we may verify no cash proceeds to the
seller.

Division of Taxation Slide 18
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Best Practices: Non-Resident Real Estate Withholding

Submission Requests

* Please make every attempt to adhere to the 20-day rule, regarding
submissions (per 280-RICR-20-10-1).

» Especially if mailing, most mail is received 3 to 5 days after mailed.

Do not submit forms with a past date.

« Email Criteria — Steps to Expedite Service
» Always include the name of the seller and the property address..
« Remittances that require payment cannot be emailed
« Complete forms entirely.

J Taxation Slide 19


https://risos-apa-production-public.s3.amazonaws.com/DOR/REG_11598_20211208095535.pdf

Best Practices: Non-Resident Real Estate Withholding

Expenses of Sale
General rule is this item does not exceed 10% of the sales price

 Examples of deductible expenses:

* Realtor fees
« Legal fees including fees for the title search and preparing the sales
contract and deed

« Recording fees
* Title fees
« Survey fees

* Transfer or stamp taxes
« Charges for installing utility services in connection with the sale

me STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
Division of Taxation Slide 20
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Best Practices: Non-Resident Real Estate Withholding

Expenses of Sale

 Some settlement fees and closing costs that cannot be
included:

Fire insurance premiums

Rent for occupancy of the house before closing

Charges for utilities or other services related to occupancy of the
house before closing

Any fee or cost that you deducted as a moving expense

Charges connected with getting a mortgage loan, such as:
* Mortgage insurance premiums

Loan assumption fees

Cost of a credit report

Fee for an appraisal required by a lender

Fees for refinancing a mortgage

Slide 21



Best Practices: Non-Resident Real Estate Withholding

Inclusion in Cost Basis Calculation
* Initial purchase price or step-up basis at time of death.

* Improvements that add to the value of your home, prolong its
useful life, or adapt it to new uses.

 Additions — bedroom, kitchen, bathroom

 Lawn & Grounds — landscaping, fence, driveway, pool

« Exterior - roof, siding, storm windows/doors

 Interior — built-in appliances, flooring, carpeting

« Systems — heating, central air, furnace, duct work, wiring

 Plumbing - septic, water heater, filtration system

* Insulation - attic, walls, pipes

e https://www.irs.gov/publications/p523#en_US 2020 publink100010750

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

e SLaN
Division of Taxation Slide 22
v D Revenue

Depart


https://www.irs.gov/publications/p523#en_US_2020_publink100010750

Best Practices: Non-Resident Real Estate Withholding

§ 44-30-5. "Resident" and “Nonresident”
(c) Resident estate or trust. A resident estate or trust means:
(1) The estate of a decedent who at his or her death was a resident individual in this state.

52) A revocable trust which becomes irrevocable upon the occurrence of any event

including death) which terminates a person's power to revoke, but only after the event, and

Jccqnly Ifft?ﬁ perso[cw having the power to revoke was a Rhode Island resident individual at the
ime of the event.

‘(c%)' A Erlel'.St created by will of a decedent who at his or her death was a resident individual in
Is state.

(4) An irrevocable trust created by or consisting of property contributed by a person who is
a resident individual in this state at the time the trust was created or the property
contributed (A) while the person is alive and a resident individual in this state, and (B) after
the person's death if the person died a resident individual of this state.

(5) In subdivisions (2), (3), and (4) of this subsection the trust shall be a resident trust only
to the extent that the beneficiaries are Rhode Island resident individuals, subject to such
regulations as may be promulgated by the tax administrator.

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE44/44-30/44-30-5.HTM

Lo STATE Ol DE ISLAND
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Best Practices: Non-Resident Real Estate Withholding

280-RICR-20-10-1: 1.14 Gifts

* Bona fide gifts of property (e.g. transfers where there is no consideration
and no gain attributed to the transferor) do not fall within the purview of
R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-30-71.3 and therefore no withholding is required. In
transfers by way of gifts the transferor may combine language in the
deed stating that no documentary stamps are required with language
stating that this transfer is by way of gift and no withholding is required
under R.l. Gen. Laws § 44-30-71.3.

« EXAMPLE: Transfer is by gift so that no documentary stamps are required
and no withholding is required under R.Il. Gen. Laws § 44-30-71.3. If a
deed contains a recitation of gift by the seller, the recording of such deed
shall in all instances discharge the lien imposed by R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-

30-71.3(c).

Wamww S
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https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/280-20-10-1
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-30/44-V/44-30-71.3.htm
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Best Practices: Non-Resident Real Estate Withholding

Pass-Through Entity Tax (PTE)

* |If electing to complete nonresident real estate
transaction, will need to contact our office prior for
approval

 In addition to the approved withholding certificate, will be
provided with a letter of approval from Taxation

* When payment is made it will need to be made with BUS-
V in order to note the election of a PTE payment

* Link for forms:
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/pte_election.php

W
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http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/pte_election.php

Best Practices: Letter of Good Standing

* Entity must be compliant for all required tax returns, payments,
and fees for all requests of Letters of Good Standing

 Major Sale LOGS Requirements
* An application for LOGS (§ 44-11-29)

 Proforma Rl Tax Return with payment through date of sale. Must reflect the
sale.

* Copy of Proforma Federal tax return (Form 4797/Sch. D)

 1096PT/PTE return needed if there is a gain with Non-resident members
* Purchase and Sales Agreement

* All other taxes must be filed and all balances paid
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Best Practices: Estate Tax

Estate Tax Update

e Form-RI|-706 Estate Tax return

Combines the RI-100 and RI-100A into one form

As of 01/01/2022, all returns with Date of Death on or after
01/01/2015 including non-taxable estates prior to 01/01/2015
Taxable estate with DOD prior to 01/01/2015 should email
tax.estate@tax.ri.gov for Form 100A

Estates greater than $1.3M need to complete entire return
Estates below $1.3M need to complete pages 1 — 4 including Part
6, recapitulation schedule

$50 filing fee still applies

Backup must be provided
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Best Practices: Real Estate Conveyance Tax

e Previous law: R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-25-1 et seq.

* Under the previous law, for sales over $100, the tax is equal to $2.30 for
each $500.00 or fractional part thereof that is paid for the purchase of
real estate or the interest in an acquired real estate company.

* Previous formula: (Total Sales Price + $500) x $2.30 = Tax Due

« Starting 1/1/2022: an additional tax of $2.30 per $500 for amounts over
$800,000 is imposed on residential properties only.

* 1/1/2022 formula: (Total Sales Price + $500) X $2.30 plus (Amount over
$800K + $500) x $2.30 = Tax Due
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http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE44/44-25/44-25-1.htm

Best Practices: Real Estate Conveyance Tax

REAL ESTATE CONVEYANCE TAX CALCULATION

Previous Formula (Total Sales Price + $500) x $2.30 = Tax Due

Jan. 1, 2022 Formula (Total Sales Price + $500) X $2.30 plus (Amount over $800K + $500) x
$2.30 = Tax Due

REAL ESTATE CONVEYANCE TAX DISTRIBUTION

TAX DISTRIBUTION

Of the $2.30 per $500 of Tax Due on the Total Sales $1.10 to municipality (retained) (47.83%)
Price

was $0.60 for State Use
$0.30 for Distressed Communities Relief Fund
$0.30 to Housing Resources Commission

Effective Jan. 1, 2022, of the $2.30 per $500 of Tax $2.30 Housing Production Fund
Due on the amount greater than $800,000

SLAND
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Best Practices: Real Estate Conveyance Tax

 The tax is imposed on the total consideration for the conveyance.

 Purchase price includes the value of any lien or encumbrance
remaining at the time of sale, including mortgage liens.

« The person making the conveyance or vesting is responsible to
pay the tax unless there is an agreement that the grantee pay
the tax.

« Documentation is essential in establishing and supporting the
proper tax imposed on acquired real estate company
transactions.

Slide 30



Best Practices: Real Estate Conveyance Tax

« Starting 1/1/2022: the new tax calculation also applies to change of
ownership of “Acquired Real Estate Company” who owns residential

properties.

« What is an Acquired Real Estate Company?

e Acquired Real Estate Company Advisory

e R.I.Gen. Law § 44-25-1 amended was effective July 1, 2015.

* Involves change in ownership of a company that is primarily engaged
in holding, selling, or leasing real estate.

« Must be a “real estate company” and an “acquired real estate
company” as defined in R.l. Gen. Law § 44-25-1 (e) and (f) in order
to be subject to the tax.
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Best Practices: Real Estate Conveyance Tax

To expedite the review, approval and issuance of the
certificate of payment:

 Per R.I. Gen. Law § 44-25-1(g) Must send a 5-day notice to the Division prior to
closing on an acquired real estate company transaction.

« The purchase and sales agreement must be attached to all returns — supporting
documentation will be requested if not provided.

* Any such grant, transfer, assignment, or conveyance or vesting which results in a
real estate company becoming an acquired real estate company shall be
fraudulent and void as against the state unless the entity notifies the tax
administrator in writing of the grant, transfer, assignment, or conveyance or
vesting as herein required in subsection (g) and has paid the tax as required in
subsection (a). R.I. Gen. Law § 44-25-1(g)

Lo STATE Ol DE ISLAND
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Best Practices: Real Estate Conveyance Tax

To expedite the review, approval and issuance of the
certificate of payment (cont.):

« Send returns along with all supporting documentation to the
attention of the Excise Tax Section.

* Once the clearance is issued for an acquired real estate
company conveyance, the clearance must be recorded with
the city or town where the property is located.

* Please feel free to contact us with any questions, please
note that it is the Division’s policy not to answer
hypothetical scenarios. Tax.Excise@tax.ri.gov, 401-574-8955.

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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Best Practices: Certificates of Exemption
R.I. Gen. Laws 44-18-30(5)(i)

. Charitable, educational, and religious organizations. From the sale to, as in defined in
this section, and from the storage, use, and other consumption in this state, or any
other state of the United States of America, of tangible personal property by hospitals
not operated for a profit; "educational institutions" as defined in subdivision (18) not
operated for a profit; churches, orphanages, and other institutions or organizations
operated exclusively for religious or charitable purposes; interest-free loan associations
not operated for profit; nonprofit, organized sporting leagues and associations and
bands for boys and girls under the age of nineteen (19) years; the following vocational
student organizations that are state chapters of national vocational student
organizations: Distributive Education Clubs of America (DECA); Future Business Leaders
of America, Phi Beta Lambda (FBLA/PBL); Future Farmers of America (FFA); Future
Homemakers of America/Home Economics Related Occupations (FHA/HERD); Vocational
Industrial Clubs of America (VICA); organized nonprofit golden age and senior citizens
clubs for men and women; and parent-teacher associations; and from the sale, storage,
use, and other consumption in this state, of and by the Industrial Foundation of
Burrillville, a Rhode Island domestic nonprofit corporation.
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Best Practices: Certificates of Exemption

What is a qualified sale?

* Purchase must be made by the organization for its own purposes

« Payment must be made by the organization

« Payment should be made by the exempt entity by form of credit card or
check

* A member belonging to an exempt organization must pay the tax when
making purchases if the above condition are not met
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Best Practices: Certificates of Exemption

Department of Revenue
DIVISION OF TAXATION
One Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5800

CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION

Sample of an “old” —
Certificate of Exemption

THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT THE ABOVE-NAMED INSTITUTION HAS QUALIFIED FOR EXEMPTION
PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE RHODE ISLAND SALES AND USE TAX ACT,
CHAPTER 18, TITLE 44, OF THE GENERAL LAWS OF 1956, AS AMENDED, AND IS
ACCORDINGLY EXEMPT FROM THE PAYMENT OF THE SALES TAX ON SALES MADETOIT
AND FROM THE USE TAX ON THE STORAGE, USE OR OTHER CONSUMPTION OF TANGIBLE
PERSONAL PROPERTY BY IT.

THIS CERTIFICATE DOES NOT EXPIRE AND IS GOOD FOR THE EXISTENCE OF THE
ORGANIZATION.

CHIEF REVENUE AGENT
FIELD AUDIT SERVICE

CERTIFIED NUMBER: Sllp
DATE ISSUED: June 2, 2011

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

w—;&x o
@ Division of Taxation Slide 36
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Best Practices: Certificates of Exemption

R.I. Gen. Laws 44-18-30.1

« A fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) shall be paid by all
organizations applying for a certificate of exemption from
the Rhode Island sales and use tax under § 44-18-30(5)(i).
The certificate of exemption shall be valid for four (4)
years from the date of issue. All fees collected under this
section shall be allocated to the tax administrator for
enforcement and collection of all taxes. All certificates
issued prior to the effective date of this section shall
expire four (4) years from the effective date of this
section.
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Best Practices: Certificates of Exemption

. State of Rhode Island Division of Taxation H“Hl ||||| ||||‘ ‘I“

Form EXO-SUE L1 1
Sales & Use Exemption for an Exempt Organization

Name of organization Federal employer identification number
O I I I l E— Address Gity, town or post office State  ZIP Code

Mailing address (if different from above) City, town or post office

221

State ZIP Coda

APPLICATION/RENEWAL FOR CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION FOR AN
EXEMPT ORGANIZATION FROM THE RHODE ISLAND SALES AND USE TAX

Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-18-30.1, a certificate of exemption from the Rhode Island
sales and use tax under § 44-18-30(5)(i) shall be valid for four (4) years from the date of issue.
Accordingly, the certificate of exemption must be renewed prior to the expiration date of the certificate

a le S & l | S e Contact name (if different from applicant):

Contact telephone number:

Contact email address

[}
X e m p t I O n fo r a n PART 1 Check the type of organization claiming exempt status:

I:’ Hospital not operated for a profit |:| Educational institution I:l Church El Orphanage
D Nenprofit organized sporting leagues I:l Parent-teacher associations l:‘ Interest-free loan associations
Other institution or organization Organized nonprofit State chapter of the following national
(] operated exclusively for religious [[] Golden Age and Senior (0] vecational student organizations: DECA;
or charitable purposes Citizens Clubs FBLA/PBEL: FFA; FHAHERD; VICA

PART 2

[ ] o
O r g a n I Z a t I O n 1. If the organization is a branch or chapter, has the parent organization received an exemption from federal income tax?

D Yes D Mo  If yes, attach a current letter from the parent organization certifying that the sub unit is a member.

2. Check the appropriate box to indicate the type of organization:
D Corporation D Other

PART 3  The following documents are required and must be submitted along with this form

i. $25.00 non-refundable fee payable to the Rhode Island Division of Taxation;
Determination letter from the IRS, indicating federal identification number and confirming tax-exempt status;

https://tax.ri.gov/tax-sections/audit/sales-tax-exempt-organizations . mions Someti o e o

Please note, the organization is responsible to file all state tax retums administered by the Division of Taxation
as required by law. All tax, interest, and penaity balances due in relation to this obligation must be paid
Failure to comply may result in accruing interest and collection activity in accordance with Rhede Island law.
Under penalties of perjury, | declare | have examined this Form and stalements made herein, and 1o the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, accurate and complete.
I also certily this organization is neither a lodge, sodial, fratemal, trade or professional organization, nor any other type of nonprofit organization not listed above
Authorized officer signature Print name Date

Telephone number

Mail your completed application and payment to:
. RI Division of Taxation - Audit & Investigation Unit - One Capitol Hill - Providence, Rl 02908 .
If you have any questions, contact us by calling (401) 574-8962 or emailing Tax Audit@tax.ri.gov New
052022
o AT GIE PR [SILA
e STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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Best Practices: Certificates of Exemption

Sample of new, valid
Certificate of Exemption

Lo STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Division of Taxation

State of Rhode Island Phone: (401) 574-8962
DIVISION OF TAXATION TTY Via 711

One Capitol Hill Fax:  (401) 574-8916
Frovidence, RI (2508-5800

10/28/2021 CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION

! - -

THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT THE ABOVE-NAMED INSTITUTION HAS QUALIFIED FOR EXEMPTION PURSUANT TO THE
FROVISIONS OF THE RHODE ISLAND SALES AND USE TAX ACT, CHAPTER 18, TITLE 44, OF THE GENERAL LAWS OF 1958,
AS AMENDED, AND IS ACCORDINGLY EXEMPT FROM THE PAYMENT OF THE SALES TAX ON SALES MADE TO IT AND FROM
THE USE TAX ON THE STORAGE, USE OR OTHER CONSUMPTION OF TANGIBLE PERSONAL PROPERTY BY IT.

Mbong

NEENA 5. BAVAGE
TAX ADMINISTRATOR

CERTIFICATE NUMBER: Ay
DATE SSUED: 1012812021
EXPIRES: 1012912025
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Lo STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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Division of Taxation

Best Practices: Certificates of Exemption

W, %
|

Dear Taxpaver,

The Division of Taxation is taking this opportunity to inform vou that any sales tax

require an updated certificate.

The Ehode Island General Assembly passed a law in 2017 that provides for certificates of
exemption under BRI Gen Laws § 44-18-30(3)(i), for charitable, educational. and religious
organizations, to be valid for four (4) vears from the date of issuance. The law further
provides that all certificates of exemption issued prior to July 1, 2017, the effective date of
the law, expire four (4) years from July 1, 2017.

As a result, for any certificate of exemption fssued prior o July 1, 2017, the certificate
expired on June 30, 2021.

All Rhode [sland retailers must obtain a copy of a valid sales tax exemption certificate at
certificate, retailers must review the expﬁauondateand confirm that the exemption
certificate has not expired. If the exemption certificate has expired, the exemption must
not be honored.

As a helpful resource, the Division has posted an advisory, which can be found on its
website at hitps://tax ri gov/tax-sections/audit/sales-tax-exempt-oreanizations.

A sample of a valid sales tax exemption certificate is shown on the back of this notice.

If vou have any questions, contact the Division’s Audit & Investigation Section at (401)
574-2062, or email: Tax Audit@tax ri.gov.

Thank you.

Division of Taxation

R 5
ol By Siaie of Hbode Indand Phane: (401) 574-8962
DIVESHON OF TAXATION TTY Via 711
One Copeci i Fax  (401) 574-8916
g g P Bl 0w 00
12142021 CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION

SAMPLE EXEMPT ORGANIZATION Hetce 10 10018670200
123 MAIN STREET
PROVIDENCE Rl (2909

THIS 15 TO CERTIFY THAT THE ABOVE-MAMED INSTITUTION HAS QUALIFIED FOR EXEMPTION PURSUANT TO THE
PROVISIONS OF THE RHODE ISLAND SALES AND USE TAX ACT, CHAPTER 18, TITLE 44, OF THE GENERAL LAWS OF 1556
AS AMENDED, AND |5 ACCORDINGLY EXEMPT FROM THE PAYMENT OF THE SALES TAX ON SALES MADE TO IT AND FROM
THE USE TAX ON THE STORAGE, USE OR OTHER CONSUMPTION OF TANGIBLE PERSONAL PROPERTY BY IT.

,ﬁi’w-}-_._.

MEEMA S, SAVAGE
TAX ADMINISTRATOR

CERTIFICATE NUMBER: JIETTA
DWTE ISSUED: 12142021
EXPIRES: 121572025
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Connect With Us

* Contact us
« https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us

> JE ISLAND

f Taxation

Subscribe for tax news

e Sign up for our emails S
* https://tax.ri.gov .
 Tax news delivered to your inbox
e Quarterly newsletters
* Important updates

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing
emails from: Rhode Island Division of Taxation, 1 Capitol Hill,
Providence, RT 02908, US,
You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by
using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every
email.

e Twitter
* @RhodelslandTax

SLAND
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Questions?

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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W STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
Division of Taxation

Department of Revenue

Thank you ...

401-574-8829
Tax.Assist@tax.ri.gov

One Capitol Hill
Providence, Rl 02908

tyy- STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
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