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About Us

The Division of Taxation: Total State Tax Revenue Collected by

. . . the Division of Taxation
One of six agencies in the Department of Revenue for Fiscal Year 2022 ($, In Millions)

 The Rhode Island Division of Taxation employs 223 tax professionals,
administering more than 59 different taxes and fees. FY22 ReceiptS' $5B

+ Taxes represent the most significant source of General Fund revenue for Rhode
Island — funds used to help pay for vital services including public safety,
education, transportation, and recreation for all Rhode Islanders.

* Each year, the Division collects and distributes more than $5 billion in funds to
the State, municipalities, and other agencies (as of FY 22).

 To foster voluntary compliance with the Rhode Island tax laws and

instill public confidence through professional, impartial and ethical
conduct.

28.47%

« To administer and collect all taxes as required by Rhode Island law in
the most efficient and cost-effective manner.

* To assist taxpayers by helping them understand and meet their tax
responsibilities. OWithholding BSales OCorp OPIT MEstate, M&B, Hotel & Other

of Taxation
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About Us: Key Stakeholders/Interactions

Tax issues in
Budgeting
Tax policy
Constituent
Assistance

Distributions
(Hotel Tax,
Meals/Beverage
Tax, Real Estate
Conveyance Tax)

Enforcement
Collection
Reporting

Data Exchange
Technical
Support
Constituent
Assistance

Governor’s
Office

Cities/Towns,
Tourism Bureaus

Other State
Agencies/General Officers
(Within DOR, HSRI, OMB,
Accounts/ Controls, Dept
Transportation, DLT)

. Education

. Outreach to Enhance
Compliance

. Constituent Assistance

Taxpayers

3 I, STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
b

Division of Taxation
V Department of Revenue

Tax Professionals
Rl Society of CPAs
Accountants
Others

File/Pay returns/taxes/fees

Refunds

Services (Education,

Outreach, LOGS)

General
Assembly

Courts

IRS

Other states

Legislative Review/Testimony
Revenue Estimating Conference
Tax Policy/Administration
Perspective

Reporting

Constituent Assistance

Annual Audit-Auditor General

» Starting point for Personal
Income, Business Corp Tax is
federal conformity

+ Data exchange, compliance
programs yield millions of
dollars

+ Confidentiality/Audits

* Appeals, Litigation,
Enforcement

* Offset refunds for
court fees

Coordination/Communication
Information Sharing
Collaboration

Offsets
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Taxpayer Experience Office/Team

Office of Tax Administrator
Tax Administrat

|5 Taxpayer Experience Office
Team
Tax Administrator

\ 4

Compliance & Collections
Registration

\ 4

Tax Assessment & Review

Office of Taxpayer Experience

\ 4

1 Chief

Audit & Investigation

Communication &

1 Aide /

A4

Operations

\ 4

Analytics

3 Analyst |

Division of Taxation

Asst Tax Administrator

External Facing:
Taxpayer Experience
Liaison

A Outreach ="
Registration & R Excise & Estate Tax ATl Henod
J Yaxp:lverUEx‘p-ermn(c > a Theriza Salib-lafrat Brolect O = Internal Taxpayer
| Y evenue Accounting - T?“VE’(“V‘-’F”‘:’ 3 H
N s | Experience Team
| huic | (With Initial Focus on
‘ Compliance & Personal & Corporate = 5 | . .
‘ - Collections fhicome Tax . Forms, ‘Cred!ts'& Incentives ‘ ke CO [le Ctl O nS/CO m pl.l ance)
> 2 \ ta Annicel | fine Be Banay
s Continue Improvements
pecial Projects
d I Across Agency at all
ecial Projects .
25 b Taxpayer Contact Points
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Division of Taxation: Mission

The Tax Administration Efficiency Continuum

— FORCED COMPLIANCE

More expensive, less efficient, but necessary

VOLUNTARY COMPLIANCE

Less expensive, more efficient revenue generation

The Taxpayer’s Stay informed of tax EVEY Ask questions File taxes and Respond to Participate in Defend Defend Defend
Responsibilities obligations information as needed forms questions audit position position position
Be e .
The Division of Educate & q Optimize A Take Litigate Enforce
Draft clear and E accessible T Correct Audit & - - -
Taxation’s Actions timely Tax law i) by email/ ulllid errors investigate o Stalnstas SEnas
instructions phone processes actions actors penalties
- A A A A
Creating a Expanding Improving Expanding
How are we dedica?ed taxpayer the tax!oayer s?a_ff the remote
. . experience team, service training, audit
im pr0V| n g expanding outreach portal, data program,
to aid taxpayers, creating analysis, implementing
- taxpayer providing more digital improving best
services, direct access f(_)r signature forms and practices
taxpayers, creating options, data
volu ntary educational upgrading retrieval '
. : Developing
s material for technology, .
compllance e common taxpayer appointment industry
issues system pilot guidelines
—]

I Taxpayer Experience Office/Team

W’m STATE OF RHODE ISLAND )
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Taxpayer Experience Office Strategy

* Internal: Continue improvements in wait times (telephone, email, walk-ins)
» External Outreach Plan with Key Stakeholders

» Listening Tour with Key Stakeholders, Continuous Documentation and
Improvement

Internal Taxpayer External Taxpayer Outreach to Stakeholders

Experience Improvements Experience Liaison

* Continue to cross-train staff to

focus on improving taxpayer » Dedicated resource to engage on * In the process of planning the next
inquiries (phones, emails, walk-ins). outreach to taxpayers and assist six months of outreach with: RISCPA
taxpayers. (and other tax professional entities),
* Proactive appointments at Hospitality Association, League of
Taxpayer’s convenience via virtual . |ncorporate taxpayer responses and Cltle.s and Towns, Manufacturers,
appointment cards and track metrics. Tourism Bureaus, Chambers of
appointments being piloted. Commerce.
» Will aid voluntary compliance by ) .
* Investigating cloud-based soft messaging. * Necessary to aid understanding of
phone enhancements to meet Division of Taxation processes,
taxpayer demand. resources, and enhance compliance.

* Self-service Taxpayer Kiosk.

Division of Taxation Slide 8




Assisting Taxpayers and the State

LAND

Division of Taxation

Tax Professional Education

The Division regularly meets with professionals
from the Rhode Island Society of Certified Public
Accountants, the Rhode Island Association of
Public Accountants, the National Association of
Tax Professionals, CPE Associates, and the Rhode
Island Society of Enrolled Agents, enabling a
continuous dialogue among parties—and impacting
thousands of individuals and businesses.

Municipal Distributions

The Division collects and distributes several taxes
on behalf of cities and towns in the state, helping
to provide municipalities with regular sources of
revenue, including meals and beverage taxes,
hotel taxes, and acquired real estate taxes.

Key Stakeholder Partnerships

Data Sharing and Offset Programs

The Division of Taxation collects and provides data to
several state partners to support their operations,
including the Secretary of State, Commerce, DLT,
cities and towns, and the General Treasurer’s office.
In addition, the Division assists DHS and the state’s
Child Support program through the operation of
offset programs.

Community Outreach

Currently, most e-mail communications received by
the Division are responded to within 24 hours. As part
of its effort to reach seniors and low-income
taxpayers, the Division meets regularly with
representatives of the Volunteer Income Tax
Assistance (VITA) program and the AARP Foundation
Tax-Aide program.

Working with industry associations to refine
communication, provide information, and enhance
voluntary compliance: tax professionals,
cities/towns, business groups, hospitality and
manufacturing representatives.

Slide 9




Initial Targeted Assistance for Small Business

Internal Taxpayer Experience Team

Division is available via phone and e-mail and responds quickly to

communications from taxpayers. Provide Follow-up assistance to new
businesses within 10 days.
. Easy access to account information and simple payment options.
Enhanced Services e ol

Business Registration Services Dedicated staff to assist with registrations and related questions.

Division posts updates and valuable information on
Social Media listserv, blog and Twitter.
Outreach . In-person or Zoom events to discuss tax law and changes
Community Events impacting the community.

Regular and coordinated efforts to engage with CPAs including
Key Stakeholder Outreach specialized publications and conferences.

Piloting an appointment system in the next month with RI

Society of CPAs. Adding League of Cities/Towns, Hospitality

Association, Manufacturers, Chambers of Commerce and
Tourism Bureaus.

External Taxpayer Experience Liaison and Team

Division of Taxation Slide 10




Our Future Taxpayer Experience Plans

245 .
ﬁ Establishment Taxpayer Experience Team Expansion of the Taxpayer Portal

This team will consist of an external facing The Division’s online resource for filings and
taxpayer experience liaison, an internal payments, the Taxpayer Portal, has been established
taxpayer experience. team including taxpayer as an alternative to paper filings or filings through
service representatives to answer general an antiquated system. The Division continues to
questions, and a taxpayer experience team improve ease of use-based taxpayer feedback with
within our tax registration team. All staff will videos and other content related to usability.

be trained to assist taxpayers as needed.

Listening to stakeholders and developing

content.
Q Promotion of Taxpayer Education . Innovations in Auditing
In evaluating the effectiveness of these Another product of the pandemic, the Division was
processes, the Division seeks to expand its able to shift from physical in-person audits to
outreach to individuals and businesses through remote auditing that allows for additional comfort
direct communication and social media for taxpayers and staff without sacrificing security
resources. and effectiveness. The Division will increase its
reliance on remote auditing to maintain its audit

capacity and timeline and increase compliance.

Division of Taxation Slide 11




Gregory Ouimette
Principal Tax Auditor
Audit & Investigation




Sales Tax Exempt Organizations

R.l. Gen. Laws 44-18-30(5)(i)

. Charitable, educational, and religious organizations. From the sale to, as in defined in
this section, and from the storage, use, and other consumption in this state, or any
other state of the United States of America, of tangible personal property by hospitals
not operated for a profit; "educational institutions" as defined in subdivision (18) not
operated for a profit; churches, orphanages, and other institutions or organizations
operated exclusively for religious or charitable purposes; interest-free loan associations
not operated for profit; nonprofit, organized sporting leagues and associations and
bands for boys and girls under the age of nineteen (19) years; the following vocational
student organizations that are state chapters of national vocational student
organizations: Distributive Education Clubs of America (DECA); Future Business Leaders
of America, Phi Beta Lambda (FBLA/PBL); Future Farmers of America (FFA); Future
Homemakers of America/Home Economics Related Occupations (FHA/HERD); Vocational
Industrial Clubs of America (VICA); organized nonprofit golden age and senior citizens
clubs for men and women; and parent-teacher associations; and from the sale, storage,
use, and other consumption in this state, of and by the Industrial Foundation of
Burrillville, a Rhode Island domestic nonprofit corporation.

Slide 13



Sales Tax Exempt Organizations

What is a qualified sale?

. Purchase must be made by the organization for its own purposes
. Payment must be made by the organization
. Payment should be made by the exempt entity by form of credit card or check
. A member belonging to an exempt organization must pay the tax when purchasing

for individual use or consumption

i n of Taxation Slide 14




Sales Tax Exempt Organizations

Department of Revenue
DIVISION OF TAXATION
One Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5800

CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION

Sample of an “old” —
Certificate of Exemption

THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT THE ABOVE-NAMED INSTITUTION HAS QUALIFIED FOR EXEMPTION
PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE RHODE ISLAND SALES AND USE TAX ACT,
CHAPTER 18, TITLE 44, OF THE GENERAL LAWS OF 1956, AS AMENDED, AND IS
ACCORDINGLY EXEMPT FROM THE PAYMENT OF THE SALES TAX ON SALES MADETOIT
AND FROM THE USE TAX ON THE STORAGE, USE OR OTHER CONSUMPTION OF TANGIBLE
PERSONAL PROPERTY BY IT.

THIS CERTIFICATE DOES NOT EXPIRE AND IS GOOD FOR THE EXISTENCE OF THE
ORGANIZATION.

CHIEF REVENUE AGENT
FIELD AUDIT SERVICE

CERTIFIED NUMBER: Sllp
DATE ISSUED: June 2, 2011

]

ODE ISLAND

Division of Taxation
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Sales Tax Exempt Organizations

R.l. Gen. Laws 44-18-30.1

« A fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) shall be paid by all
organizations applying for a certificate of exemption from
the Rhode Island sales and use tax under § 44-18-30(5)(i).
The certificate of exemption shall be valid for four (4)
years from the date of issue. All fees collected under this
section shall be allocated to the tax administrator for
enforcement and collection of all taxes. All certificates
issued prior to the effective date of this section shall
expire four (4) years from the effective date of this
section.

Division of Taxation Slide 16



Sales Tax Exempt Organizations

orm EXO-SUE

ales & Use

xemption for an

xempt
Organization

Division of Taxation

W o Exosue o LIy

Sales & Use Exemption for an Exempt Organization

2217

Name of organization Federal employer identification number
Address City, town or post office State  ZIP Code
Mailing address (if different from above) City, town or post office State ZIP Code

APPLICATION/RENEWAL FOR CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION FOR AN
EXEMPT ORGANIZATION FROM THE RHODE ISLAND SALES AND USE TAX

Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-18-30.1, a certificate of exemption from the Rhode Island
sales and use tax under § 44-18-30(5)(i) shall be valid for four (4) years from the date of issue.
Accordingly, the certificate of exemption must be renewed prior to the expiration date of the certificate

Contact name (if different from applicant):

Contact telephone number:

Contact email address

PART 1 Check the type of organization claiming exempt status:

I:’ Hospital not operated for a profit |:| Educational institution I:l Church El Orphanage

D Nenprofit organized sporting leagues I:l Parent-teacher associations l:‘ Interest-free loan associations

Other institution or organization Organized nonprofit State chapter of the following national

operated exclusively for religious [C] Golden Age and Senior [[]] vocational stugent organizations: DECA;

or charitable purposes Citizens Clubs FBLA/PBEL: FFA; FHAHERD; VICA
PART 2

1. If the organization is a branch or chapter, has the parent organization received an exemption from federal income tax?
|:| Yes |:| Mo  If yes, attach a current letter from the parent organization certifying that the sub unit is a member.

2. Check the appropriate box to indicate the type of organization:
D Corporation D Other

PART 3  The following documents are required and must be submitted along with this form
i. $25.00 non-refundable fee payable to the Rhode Island Division of Taxation;
Determination letter from the IRS, indicating federal identification number and confirming tax-exempt status;
. Copy of articles of incorporation and bylaws; and
. Additional documentation as requested

Please note, the organization is responsible to file all state tax returns administered by the Division of Taxation
as required by law. All tax, interest, and penaity balances due in relation to this obligation must be paid
Failure to comply may result in accruing interest and collection activity in accordance with Rhede Island law.
Under penalties of perjury, | declare | have examined this Form and stalements made herein, and 1o the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, accurate and complete.
I also certily this organization is neither a lodge, sodial, fratemal, trade or professional organization, nor any other type of nonprofit organization not listed above

Authorized officer signature Print name Date Telephone number

Mail your completed application and payment to:
. RI Division of Taxation - Audit & Investigation Unit - One Capitol Hill - Providence, Rl 02908 .

If you have any questions, contact us by calling (401) 574-8962 or emailing Tax Audit@tax.ri.gov New
052022
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Sales Tax Exempt Organizations

Sample of new, valid
Certificate of Exemption

Division of Taxation

%, S STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
> Re

State of Rhode Island Phone: (401) 574-8962
DIVISION OF TAXATION TTY Via 711

One Capitol Hill Fax:  (401) 574-8816
Frovidence, RI 02408-3800

10/28/2021 CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION

! - -

THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT THE ABOVE-NAMED INSTITUTION HAS QUALIFIED FOR EXEMPTION PURSUANT TO THE
PROVISIONS OF THE RHODE ISLAND SALES AND USE TAX ACT, CHAPTER 18, TITLE 44, OF THE GENERAL LAWS OF 1956,
AS AMENDED, AND IS ACCORDINGLY EXEMPT FROM THE PAYMENT OF THE SALES TAX ON SALES MADE TO IT AND FROM
THE USE TAX ON THE STORAGE, USE OR OTHER CONSUMPTION OF TANGIBLE PERSONAL PROPERTY BY IT.

W

NEENA §. SAVAGE
TAX ADMINISTRATOR

CERTIFICATE NUMBER: proveee

DATE ISSUED: 10/268/2021

EXPIRES: 1012912025

Slide 18




Sales Tax Exempt Organizations

|

Dear Taxpaver,

The Difv'ision qf_ Taxation is taking this opportunity to inform vou that any sales tax ey e O Phont: (4013 ST nose
exemption certificates you have on file, may have expired on June 30, 2021 and will Omcwnimm Fax  [401) 574-8916
require an updated certificate. —_ o

121142021 CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION
The Ehode Island General Assembly passed a law in 2017 that provides for certificates of .
exemption under R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-18-30(5)(i). for charitable, educational. and religious T e e =
organizations, to be valid for four (4) vears from the date of issuance. The law further PROVICENGE fe s
provides that all certificates of exemption issued prior to July 1, 2017, the effective date of
the law, expire four (4) years from July 1, 2017.

As a result, for any certificate of exemption fssued prior o July 1, 2017, the certificate
expired on June 30, 2021.

THIS 15 TO CERTIFY THAT THE ABOVE-MAMED INSTITUTION HAS QUALIFIED FOR EXEMPTION PURSUANT TO THE
PROVISIONS OF THE RHODE ISLAND SALES AND USE TAX ACT, CHAPTER 18, TITLE &4, OF THE GENERAL LAWS OF 1556,

All Rhode [sland retailers must obtain a copy of a valid sales tax exemption certificate at AS AMENDED, AND |S ACCORDINGLY EXEMPT FROM THE PAYMENT OF THE SALES TAX ON SALES MADE TO IT AND FROM
THE USE TAX ON THE STORAGE, USE OR OTHER CONSUMPTION OF TANGIBLE PERSONAL PROPERTY BY IT.

certificate, retailers must review the expiration date and confirm that the exemption
certificate has not expired. If the exemption certificate has expired, the exemption must Filtan
not be honored.

MEEMA S, SAVAGE
TAX ADMINISTRATOR

As a helpful resource, the Division has posted an advisory, which can be found on its
website at hitps://tax ri gov/tax-sections/audit/sales-tax-exempt-oreanizations.

A sample of a valid sales tax exemption certificate is shown on the back of this notice.

CERTIFICATE NUMBER: 233ETTAM
If vou have any questions, contact the Division’s Audit & Investigation Section at (401)
574-8962, or email: Tax Avdit@iax rigov. DATE ISSUED. 12142021
Thank you. EXPIRES: 121152025

Division of Taxation
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What to Expect During an Audit

wnose

- ~

s ® g
) ﬂ -
nort

The Audit Contact Letter is\
sent to the taxpayer,
identifying the auditor
assigned to the case. This
letter includes a return
contact page that should be
filled out by the taxpayer with
the entity’s contact
information and sent back to
the auditor. Please feel free to
call or email the auditor prior
to sending the contact page
with your information or any

questions. /

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Division of Taxation

Department of Revenue

Contacting the
Taxpayer

What to expect when
selected for an audit

i n of Taxation Slide 20



What to Expect During an Audit

wnose

s ® Sy
0} ﬁ -
hort

\

A preliminary meeting is held to

discuss the following:

 The entity’s business
activities

« Determination of the audit
period, location, date, and
time to begin field review

LGOI AV - Arranging a plant tour (if
applicable)

« Determination of records to

be reviewed

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Division of Taxation

Department of Revenue

* Any taxpayer questions

What to expect when
selected for an audit

n of Taxation Slide 21



What to Expect During an Audit

wnste
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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Division of Taxation . . .
T—— The assigned auditor reviews all

taxes applicable to the

entity. Audit work papers are
compiled by the auditor which
will list the taxes examined and
any pending assessment. At the
conclusion of the review,
preliminary workpapers are given
to the taxpayer for review.

What to expect when
selected for an audit

n of Taxation Slide 22



What to Expect During an Audit
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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Division of Taxation

Department of Revenue

What to expect when
selected for an audit

of Taxation

After a reasonable amount of time

to review the preliminary

workpapers, a closing conference is

held to review and finalize the

audit. During this meeting, the

following may be discussed:

 The taxpayer may present
additional support to adjust audit
findings

* Rhode Island General Laws and
Regulations applicable to the
audit review

* Any questions or concerns

* Any corrective actions that
should be taken by the taxpayer

Final workpapers will be sent to the
taxpayer for review

Slide 23



What to Expect During an Audit
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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Division of Taxation

Department of Revenue

A Notice of Assessment is
generated after the close of the
examination and mailed to the
taxpayer. As with all Notice of
Assessments, the taxpayer
retains the right to protest the
assessment within 30 days.

What to expect when
selected for an audit

i n of Taxation Slide 24




Questions

Contact Us:

Audit & Investigation
(401)574-8962
Tax.Audit@tax.ri.gov



mailto:Tax.Audit@tax.ri.gov

Rahul Sarathy
Chief of Tax Analytics & Strategy




Payment
Reminder Notice

 If return filed
prior to due
date with a
balance due

Due Date

State Tax Notices Timeline

Notice of
Proposed

Assessment

* Issued if an
adjustment is
made to a filed
return prior to
due date or

* Issued if an
adjustment is
made to a filed
return after the
due date

Notice of
Assessment

 Issued after
due date of
return filed
with a balance
due matching
the balance
due on a filed
return or

* Issued 30 days
after a Notice
of Proposed
Assessment

Statement of

.

Account

* Issued 30 days
after a Notice
of Assessment

* Includes all
outstanding
liabilities
across tax
types

e Continues
issuance up to
3 times or until
paid

Annually

Annual Statement

of Account

e Periodic
reminder
notice of
outstanding
across all taxes
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State Tax Notices Timeline

» Other assessment notices

a Compliance Notices — similar to a NOPA
= CP 2000 - match to federal audit change notice
» Federal State Match - matching state filing to federal filing for discrepancies
» IRMF — matching federal income sources to RI non-filers
» [IRTF - Filed federal return with no RI return

o Audit Notices

= Audit Notice of Assessment
» Responsible Officer Notice of Assessment

a Statement of Accounts — 30 days after all NOAs
a Overpayment Adjustment Notice

of Taxation Slide 28




Electronic Filing & Payment Mandate

» Electronic filing and payment mandate for large business
registrant taxpayers effective 01/01/2023

o Large Business Registrant defined:

» is operating a business whose combined annual liability for all taxes
administered by the Division of Taxation for the entity is or exceeds $5,000;

or
= is operating a business whose annual gross income is over $100,000 for the
entity

o Penalties
= $50 per occurrence for failure to file electronically
= 5% of tax amount or $500, whichever is less for failure to pay electronically
a Taxpayers with reasonable causes may be exempt on a case-by-
case basis.

Slide 29
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Diana Mendes

Taxpayer Assistance Representative
Supervisor




Using the Taxpayer Portal

» Benefits of Portal
a Satisfies new Electronic Filing and Payment Mandate requirements
a Can file and pay all taxes from same site

a Can schedule payment for future withdrawal
* You can schedule payments up to 364 days in advance on the Portal

a 24-hour access

a Interactive to help ensure accurate filings with all required fields
completed

a Ability to see all previous filing and payments for all tax types
o Securely store banking information for future use

» Stats — 46,000 registered users have submitted 225K payments
for over $1B thus Tar in 2022

= Other electronic methods available

Division of Taxation Slide 31



How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal

Step 1: Visit www.taxportal.ri.gov and create a username and password.

W@% STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
? Division of T

AND

‘ ‘ Department of Revenue

Home

Member Sign In

User ID

Please Enter User ID

Password

Password

Forgot User ID? Forgot password?

Create a New User

Don't Have a Portal User Account?

Use our Same-Day Services

File a Form (alone or with payment)

Customer support is available weekdays between 8:30am - 3:30pm at 401-574-8484
or you can e-mail support at taxportal@tax.ri.gov at any time.

Don’t have your PIN? Unable to log in to your account? Many forms can be filed

Popular S

Tax Forms

Administrative Decisions

and paid without a PIN using our Same Day Services.

The File a Form link is located on the bottom left of this page.

Advisories

Where’s My Refund

Business Registration

Reports
Regulations
Newsletters
Contact Us

Liquor License Renewals — Certificates
of Good Standing

Individual Mandate Reporting - NEW

Frequently Asked Questions

Guest Bill Payments (Video)

Guest Filing_(Video)

Portal Registration (Video)

Portal User Guide

Who should use the online taxpayer
portal and what taxes can be filed?

How do | link my.tax entity to my portal
account?

Slide 32
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https://www.taxportal.ri.gov/

How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal

D

Step 2: Get PIN from Taxation (call us at 401-574-8484 or email taxportal@tax.ri.gov).

Step 3: Log in using nhame and password.

| aee’)
%y STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Member Sign In

User ID

Please Enter User 1D

Password

Password

Forgot User |D? Forgot password?

Create a New User

Use our Same-Day Services

Make a Payment (same day withdrawal)

File a Form (alone or with payment)

Don't Have a Portal User Account?

Customer support is available weekdays between 8:30am - 3:30pm at 401-574-8484
or you can e-mail support at taxportal@tax.ri.gov at any time.

Don’t have your PIN? Unable to log in to your account? Many forms can be filed

nd paid without a PIN using our Same Day Services.

he File a Form link is located on the bottom left of this page.

Popular Services

Tax Forms

Administrative Decisions
Advisories

Where's My Refund
Business Registration

Reporis
Regulations
Newsletters

Contact Us

Liguor License Renewals — Certificates
of Good Standing

Individual Mandate Reporting - NEW

Frequently Asked Questions

Guest Bill Payments (Video)

Guest Filing (Video)

Portal Registration (Videa)

Portal llser Guide
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mailto:taxportal@tax.ri.gov

How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal
Step 4: Link User ID to Taxation using PIN.

| izie ]
.y STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
g

Division of Taxation

Crapartrment of

Home Edit Personal Info Message Center~

Complete Your Registration

Welcome, Weeuall
You last logged in on Administrator Users - To complete your initial registration, at least one portal user must be assigned this role before any additional Users can
Friday, 08/26/2022 09:13 AM be registered. This individual will have the widest range of portal permissions. This individual may also authorize other individuals to access

taxpayer account information. Register as an Administrator User here

Authorized Users - If you will parform tax functions on behalf of a taxpayer, provide your User ID to the taxpayer's administrator to be granted
access to a taxpayer's online account.

Rhode Island Division of Taxation. All rights reserved. Contact Us

]

LAND
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How do I file/pay? The Division of Taxation Taxpayer Portal

Step 4: Link User ID to Taxation using PIN. (continued)

| fanie ]
Sy STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

kL‘S Division of Taxation

rtment of

Home Profile Information~ Account Inquiry~ Online Transactions~ Message Center~ Service Requests~

Profile Information / Authorized Businesses

Select one of the options below 9

Progress 0%

Please review the options below and select the one that best fits your registration scenario. Businesses will need their FEIN. Sole Proprietors will need their Social Security Number (SSN).
You should have received a letter from the Division of Taxation with a Personal Identification Number (PIN). You will need this number to complete your registration. If you have not received a

PIN or don't remember it, please Contact Us .

I am adding administrator authorization and have an FEIN and my required PIN. ©

I am adding administrator authorization and have an SSN and my required PIN.

< BACK CANCEL

Rhode Island Division of Taxation. All rights reserved. Contact Us

]

Division of Taxation
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Neil Caouette
Supervising Revenue Officer
Collections




Collections and Compliance

» DMV/Professional License and Registration Blocks
» Sales Permit Block Program

* Treasury & Vendor Offset Programs

» | etters of Good Standing

* Liquor License Certificate of Good Standing

" Liens & Levies

» Installment Agreements

= Offer in Compromise

* Employee Leasing

Division of Taxation Slide 37



Collections and Compliance

=Y 2022 Statistics

a 57,478 phone calls

a0 6,674 walk-ins

o Approximately 41,965 emails

a Collections FY 2020 - $35,350,455
a Collections FY 2021 - $34,465,395
a Collections FY 2022 - $40,044,923
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Collections and Compliance

What’s new in Collections and Compliance?

* New Business Registration Assistance
o Contacting new registrants to confirm understanding of filing
requirements
* Virtual Appointment Pilot Program
o Beginning with Sales Block notices

= Portal Self Service Kiosk
a Assistance for setup/use by appointment
o Need access to email during appointment

" Interest Rate Reduction for non-trust funds
a Minimum of 12% for most taxes

a Minimum of 18% remains for trust fund portion of Sales and
Withholding taxes

Division of Taxation Slide 39



Collections and Compliance

» | etters of Good Standing
o Received 6,659 applications for the calendar year 2021

0 22% able to be issued without additional information
o Mailed nearly 5,192 Additional Information letters to contacts

a0 35% do not respond to these letters
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Collections and Compliance

» Entity must be compliant for all required tax returns, payments,
and fees for all requests of Letters of Good Standing

o Major Sale LOGS Requirements

ision of Taxation

An application for LOGS (§ 44-11-29)

Proforma Rl Tax Return with payment through date of sale. Must reflect the
sale.

Copy of Proforma Federal tax return (Form 4797/Sch. D)

1096PT/PTE return needed if there is a gain with Non-resident members
Purchase and Sales Agreement

All other taxes must be filed and all balances paid
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Collections and Compliance

» Liguor License Renewal

a Approximately 2,200 Certificate of Good Standing for Liquor
Renewal applications were mailed

a Application was due on 09/14/2022.
a All taxes must be filed and balances paid (§ 3-7-24)

a If Revoked with SOS, entity must request a LOGS for
reinstatement to receive a Certificate of Good Standing for
their Liquor License Renewal

a Certificate of Good Standings issued are listed on
www.taxportal.ri.gov
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http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE3/3-7/3-7-24.htm
http://www.taxportal.ri.gov/

Collections and Compliance

" | evy Program
o Liability must be in Collections

a Notifications
» Bills have already been sent to the taxpayer
» Taxpayer is mailed a 10 Day Demand for Taxes Due

» |f there is no resolution, the taxpayer is mailed a Notice of Intention To
Levy (30 Day Reply)

o Resolutions

» Taxpayer must be in compliance with all filings

= Prior to a levy, the taxpayer may satisfy their debt, enter into an
installment agreement or voluntary wage garnishment

= |f a levy has already occurred, Taxation may consider a levy reduction
based on various circumstances
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Collections and Compliance

Installment Agreements:
What You Need to Know

Requirements: High likelihood for approval:

You have a total balance greater than $1,000
Remit 50% Down
Remaining balance must be paid in 12 installments or less

Complete Installment Agreement Request: Form RI-
9465

Full compliance with all filing requirements

You may still be approved if you Moving forward:
complete these steps: .

Must continue to stay in compliance with filings and

Complete Income/Expense Statement section of form
payments

RI-9465, Installment Agreement Request for review

Interest and penalties continue to accrue until tax
portion of liability is paid in full (if applicable)

Provide any backup documentation requested
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https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/2021/Misc/Installment-Agreement_b.pdf

Collections and Compliance

Offers in Compromise:
What You Need to Know

1Fi 1 . = |f debt is excessive, Illegal, or uncollectible Regulation
Qualifications: I eloot & e, Mgl or ible Regulat

. = Complete Form RI-656
Req ul rements: = Complete Form 433A or Form 433B

= Full compliance with all filing requirements

DOCU mentat|0n = Financial Statements and verification of reason
N eed ed . request may be required
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https://risos-apa-production-public.s3.amazonaws.com/DOR/REG_11594_20211206153516.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/2018/Collections/RI-656_03122018.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/1999/misc/433a.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/forms/1999/misc/433b.pdf

Leo Lebeuf
Taxpayer Experience Liaison




Taxpayer Experience Office

What records should a taxpayer have available?

» Federal & State Income Tax returns
» Copies of all state tax returns filed and backup detail

» Sales Records and credit card receipts including
o Any exemption certificates
a Daily sales receipts/reports
a Merchant statements and 1099K forms
a Delivery slips

* Purchase invoices and ledger listings

» Asset schedules and invoices

» Bank statements, General Ledger and chart of accounts
* Other records as requested
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Taxpayer Experience Office

Industry Library Initiative
» Beginning with Restaurant and Hospitality Industry

* Developing a comprehensive guide
o Segmented brochures

» Goal: to help businesses achieve and maintain voluntary
compliance

» The Restaurant Industry & Rhode Island Tax Guide for
Businesses
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https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2022-09/The%20Restaurant%20Industry%20%26%20Rhode%20Island%20Tax%20Guide%20for%20Businesses.pdf

Child Tax Rebate

» | egislation signed by Governor McKee on 06/27/22 as part of
budget bill H7123Aaa

= Eligible Taxpayers will receive a rebate payment of $250 per
child, up to maximum of $750

» Rebates will be issued to eligible taxpayers based on a 2021
Personal Income Tax filing

* To qualify, 2021 Personal Income Tax return on extension
must be received by 10/17/22
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Child Tax Rebate

» Eligible taxpayer

o Must have filed their Rhode Island 2021 personal income tax
return as either:

= Single, married filing separately, head of household, or qualifying

widow/widower with a federal adjusted gross income of $100,000
or less; or

= Married filing jointly with a federal adjusted gross income of
$200,000 or less

o Have a qualifying child dependent (eighteen years of age or
under as of December 31, 2021)

= And be domiciled in the State of Rhode Island

Division of Taxation
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Child Tax Rebate: Timeline

October 2022: First December 2022:
round of checks Second round of

based on filings checks based on
through August 31, filings through

2022 October 11, 2022




Child Tax Rebate

= Additional Items to Note

o Return must be filed in order to qualify
o All rebates will be issued by check
o Rebate is exempt from state income tax

o If address has changed, complete the change of address form
Child Tax Rebate Change of Information Form

o Dedicated Webpage
2 Child Tax Rebate FAO
- Rebate Tracker Tool will be available
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https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2022-07/RI-COI%20%28Child%20Tax%20Rebate%29_v3.pdf
https://tax.ri.gov/guidance/special-programs/2022-child-tax-rebates
https://tax.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur541/files/2022-08/Child%20Tax%20Rebate%20FAQs_08012022.pdf

Personal and Corporate Income Tax

2022 Filing Season
e 458.2K Refunds issued as of 08/29/2022
e 667.5K returns filed

e 37,984 calls, 872 walk-ins, 8,326 emails as of 09/10/2022
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax

2022 Filing Season

* Inflationary changes

* Personal Exemptions $4,350

 Standard Deduction
* Single/Married Separate $9,300
* Joint/Qualifying Widow(er) $18,600
« HOH $13,950

 Phaseout $217,050 — $241,850

« Social Security Amounts
* Single $95,800 Joint $119,750

* Pension and Annuity
* Single $95,800 Joint $119,750
 Statute added to match to SSI Modification
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax

» Property Tax Relief Changes for TY2022

a $600 cap - subject to inflation for future years

a Increase in income limitation from $30,000 to $35,000- subject
to inflation

» MeF filing for Personal Income, Corporate and Fiduciary
a RI-1040 and RI-1040NR
a RI-1120C, RI-1120S, and RI-1065
a RI-1041

= Will allow payment through MeF for Corporate and
Fiduciary with 2022 returns

» _ooking into extensions through MeF
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Changes to come — Tax Year 2023

Exemption for military Increase in existing
pensions retirement exemption

= Cannot use same income for * Increase cap from $15,000 to
existing retirement $20,000

exemption = No change to current AGI
* No cap or limitation limit

= No age restriction « For 2022: Single $95,800
Joint $119,750

ion of Taxation



Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Official State of Rhode Island website 0 Settings & Language

Individual Mandate Update

o= STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
p o

Sy e .
/) Division of Taxation e Q
% Department of Revenue

G} Online Services ~  Resources for.. v  Tax Sections v Forms v Guidance ~ AboutUs ~

= Rhode Island's health coverage mandate S ey rncuncomnts
remains in effect for 2022

Home » Guidance » Health Insurance Mandate

= Dedicated website: |
http://www.tax.ri.gov/healthcoveragemand “ Health Insurance Mandate

ate/index.php

Administrative Decisions Welcome to the Health Insurance Mandate Information Page.

Advisories Rhode Island's health insurance mandate took effect January 1, 2020.

The mandate is a requirement that all Rhode Islanders (except those who are
specifically exempt under the law) have "qualifying health coverage" beginning

= Tips for Health Insurance Mandate dfomatonandFhgs 4 Unuany12020

Sources of "qualifying health coverage" include coverage through an employer;
coverage purchased directly from a health insurance carrier; Medicare; Medicaid;
or a health plan purchased through HealthSource RI, the state’s health exchange.

Declaratory Rulings

Newsletters

Notices

. O pe N E nro l.l.m en t iS 11/01 /22 - 01 /31 /23 bleat FaHure to have coverag.e during.the tax year may resul.t ina Rhgde Island personal
(O D e n E n ro llm e n t _ H e a lt h S O u rC e R I ) income tax penalty during tax-filing season. For more information, please see the

table below.
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https://healthsourceri.com/OE/

Personal and Corporate Income Tax

- If any m e m be r Of State of Rhode Island Division of Taxation
the household did O Form IND-HEALTH AAFA SV Y YL

Individual Health Insurance Mandate Form

nOt have fUI.l. year MName Social security number
health coverage,

211062%9550101

l, l t Coverage Exemption Reasons and Codes
e aS e C O l | l e e ili Aggregate Self Only Coverage
p p Income Below Filing Threshold NC Conslderad Unaffordable G1
. Member of Tax Household Born
t h e fo 'm Coverage Considered Unaffordable A or Adopted During the Year H1
aC C u r ate l fo r a ll Short Coverage Gap =] Member of Tax Household Died During the Year H2
y Citizens Living Abroad & Certain Noncitizens C MNonresident of Rhode Island N
m e m b e rS Of t h e Members of Healthcare Sharing Ministry D Had Minimum Essential Health Coverage X
Members of Indian Tribes E HealthSource Rl Exemption RI
household. Proper incarceratin F

Enter the name and social security number for each member of your tax household. For each household member, use the chart above to enter

l t g g ll an exemption code for each corresponding month in which the household member had minimum essential health coverage or an exemption. If
C O I I l p e I O n W I an individual gualified for an exemption through HealthSource RI, enter the exemption number(s) in the space provided.

Refer to the Individual Mandate Instructions for details and instructions on each of the coverage exemption types listed above.

e n S u re a’ n y If there are more than five (5) members in your tax household, please complete multiple IND-HEALTH Forms.

potential penalties Name: Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

Check + if under

bei ng Cal.CU lated 1 Social Security Number: 18 yaars of aga

as of 01/01/2021

C O r r e C t l,y o Exemption Mumber: Number of months for which an exemption did not apply:
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Personal and Corporate Income Tax

EITC Reminders

» The Rhode Island EITC is in addition to the Federal EITC
» Rhode Island EITC rate is a percentage of the Federal EITC amount
» The rate for 2022 is 15.0%

= Rl EITC is a refundable credit, which means the credit will be refunded to the
taxpayer to the extent it exceeds their tax liability

= Rl conforms to federal eligibility and income thresholds

= R| tax preparer’s regulation includes ﬁuidance on due diligence requirements and
records retention for EITC and RI-1040H property tax credit

= Tax Preparer's Regulation 280-RICR-20-55-4

= |If credit ineligibility is suspected, we may need to take extra steps to validate the
EITC claim

» Returns without expenses may be questioned

= Documentation requested for income reporting (Ex. Requests for licenses, records,
statements, etc.)
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https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/280-20-55-4

Personal and Corporate Income Tax

Income Requests

= Penalty Waivers
o Requests should be in writing and all balances should be paid in full less the
penalty
o Allow at least 30 days to process
o Notification will be sent to the taxpayer once processed

= Requests for Information

Responses should be received within 20 days of request

Documentation can be mailed, emailed, faxed, or submitted through drop box
Email or fax encouraged, as it allows for proof of receipt

Once response is submitted, please allow 5 business days before checking the
status

o Only send copies, we are not responsible for originals sent via mail

O 0O O O
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Pass Through Entity Changes

* Two-year implementation

" Tax Year 2023

o Pass through withholding will be Included on the Entity level return

o Estimated payments made on BUS-EST or RI-1041ES
= For BUS-EST, check RI-1120 for RI-1120S or RI-1065 filers
* RI-1041-ES would include withholding on Fiduciary filers

a Forms RI-1120S, RI-1065 and RI-1041 will be updated to include a
“PT” Schedule and tax due line

" Tax Year 2024

o Pass through Entity Elections will be Included on the Entity level
return with same form changes from withholding in 2023
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Pass Through Entity Changes

Tax Year 2023:
Use Bus-Ext

Tax Year instead of RI-

2023: Use
Bus-Est

Tax Year
2023: Filing of

1096PT-EXT or filing
of Entity Return
with PT Schedule

Entity Return on
extension with
PT Schedule

instead of RI-
1096PT-ES

04/15/23 ‘)3/15/24 == 04/15/24 09/15/24 04/15/25

Tax Year 2024:

Tax Year 2024:
Use of Bus-Est Use of Bus-Ext
with Entity with Entity
checkbox checkbox
instead of PTE instead of PTE
checkbox

checkbox or
filing of Entity
return with PT
Schedule

Pass Through Entity

Division of Taxation

09/15/25

!

Tax Year 2024:

Filing of Entity
return with PT
Schedule on
extension
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Pass Through Entity Changes

* Why Change?
o Increase to Voluntary Compliance
a Allow for MEF/Electronic filing
a Ease filing burdens

» Why Two-year Implementation?

o Complexity
» PTE modifications vs payment credits
= Accounting methods

a Requirement vs Election
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Cannabis Legalization

= House Bill 7593Aaa signed by Governor on 05/25/22

o Regulated by the Cannabis Commission
* Including issuance of various groups of licenses issued by Commission

a Limited retail locations set to begin 12/01/22

a Office Of Cannabis Regulation | Dept. of Business Regulation
(ri.gov)
a Still many questions to be answered

Division of Taxation Slide 64
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Cannabis Legalization

» Adult Use Cannabis * Medical Cannabis
o Taxes o Taxes
= 10% State Excise Tax » Exempt from State Excise Tax
= 3% Local Excise Tax = Exempt from Local Excise tax
= Subject to 7% Sales Tax = Still subject to 7% Sales Tax
= Exempt from 4% Compassion = Still subject to 4% Compassion
Center Surcharge Center Surcharge
o Returns o Returns
= Cannabis Excise Tax Form (on = CCS-67 Compassion Center
Portal) Surcharge Return
= Monthly Sales & Use Tax Return = Monthly Sales & Use Tax

Return
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Sales Tax Modernization

= New version of Sales Tax Form

* Beginning January 2023
a Alignment with neighboring states
o Impacts monthly and quarterly filers but will now use same form
a Return remains only one page
a Allow taxpayer to reconcile sales tax monthly/quarterly
o New booklet mailing
o Sales Tax Modernization Advisory

" Tips
o Accurately complete all fields

= Gross Sales
= |[temize deductions

a Include NAICS code and account ID#
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Excise and Estate Tax

* New Sales Tax Exemptions effective 10/01/22

o Certain funeral items used by funeral director as part of the business
of funeral directing

a Breast pumps, breast pump collection and storage supplies
a Trade-in value of motorcycles

" Some Excise Tax Reminders

o Sales Tax Permit Fee Eliminated by Statute as of 07/01/22
» Forms still required to apply for renewal annually

* Annual Reconciliations
o Complete all lines correctly
o Do not use prior year forms
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sion of Taxation

Excise and Estate Tax

Estate Tax Update

Form-RI-706 Estate Tax return

a

a

Combines the RI-100 and RI-100A into one form

As of 01/01/2022, all returns with Date of Death on or after
01/01/2015 including non-taxable estates prior to 01/01/2015
Taxable estate with DOD prior to 01/01/2015 should email
tax.estate@tax.ri.gov for Form 100A

Estates greater than $1.3M need to complete entire return
Estates below $1.3M need to complete pages 1 — 4 including Part
6, recapitulation schedule

$50 filing fee still applies

Backup must be provided
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RHODE
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

Division of Taxation
Thank YOu Contact Us

Tax.Outreach@tax.ri.gov

One Capitol Hill

Providence, Rl 02908
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