
credit. Also new for 2017 is 
an increase in the interest 
rate on overpayments 
(refunds) -- reflecting an 
increase in the prime rate. 

Estate tax 

  The Rhode Island estate 
tax threshold has increased 
somewhat for calendar year 
2017. As a consequence, 
fewer estates potentially 
will be subject to the tax. 

Full coverage of changes affect-
ing tax year 2017 begins on 

page 3. 

R hode Island’s annual 
corporate minimum 

tax has dropped by 11 per-
cent for 2017 and later 
years.  

  In addition, pass-through 
entities are seeing a reduc-
tion in their annual filing 
charge for 2017 and later 
years.   

  Those are just two of the 
changes for tax years begin-
ning on or after January 1, 
2017.  

  Rhode Island’s state unem-
ployment insurance tax 

system has moved to a new 
tax rate schedule starting 
January 1, 2017. As a re-
sult, employers will save an 
estimated $30 million in the 
aggregate for 2017. 

Earned income credit 

  Meanwhile, Rhode Island’s 
earned income credit – a 
tax break for the working 
poor – has increased for 
2017. Last year, the Rhode 
Island credit was 12.5 per-
cent of the federal credit. 
For 2017, however, it will 
be 15 percent of the federal 

NEW TAX ADMINISTRATOR APPOINTED 

WHAT’S NEW FOR TAX YEAR 2017 

R obert S. Hull, Direc-
tor of the Rhode Is-

land Department of Reve-
nue, has announced the 
appointment of Neena S. 
Savage to serve as Rhode 
Island Tax Administrator, 
overseeing the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation. 

  “Neena has served as the 
interim Tax Administrator 
and is well-versed in all 
aspects of Rhode Island tax 
functions,” Hull said. “She is 
committed to continuous 

improvements, 
having overseen 
the successful im-
plementation of a 
new tax system, 
which was com-
pleted both on 
schedule and on 
budget.”  

  An attorney 
with over 25 years of legal 
experience in the non-
profit, public, and private 
sectors, she became Acting 
Tax Administrator in De-

cember 2015, 
succeeding David 
M. Sullivan, who 
stepped down to 
take a job in the 
private sector.  

  She joined the 
Division of Taxa-
tion in February 
2015 as Associ-

ate Director of Revenue 
Services and Assistant Tax 
Administrator. 

(Please turn to page 2) 
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RHODE ISLAND TAX NEWS 

NEW TAX BREAK ON 
INCOME FROM PEN-

SIONS, ANNUITIES, 
401(K) PLANS 

 

A new Rhode Island person-
al income tax modification 
has taken effect, applying to 

income from such sources as 
pensions, annuities, military 

retirement pay, 401(k) plans, 
and 403(b) plans.  

The tax break will apply on 
returns filed in early 2018, 
covering the 2017 tax year.                         

(For details, see page 9.)  
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NEW RHODE ISLAND TAX ADMINISTRATOR APPOINTED  
  She holds a Bachelor of Sci-
ence degree from Texas A&M 
University and a Juris Doctor-
ate from the Washington Col-
lege of Law of the American 
University. 

  She lives in Warwick with 
her husband, Bob, and has 
two children, Nicholas and 
Natasha.  

  After graduating from law 
school in 1990, she worked 
for two years in Peace Dale 
for Rhode Island Legal Ser-
vices, which helps low-
income people with civil legal 
problems. She later worked 
as a litigation associate at the 
Edwards & Angell law firm 
(now Locke Lord LLP) in 
Providence. 

State service 

  She entered State service in 
1997 at the Rhode Island De-
partment of Business Regula-
tion (DBR), where she held a 
number of positions in her 18
-year career, eventually be-
coming Acting Deputy Direc-
tor and Executive Counsel. 

  While at DBR, she became 
experienced in all facets of 

regulatory enforcement and 
in the ever-increasing and 
dynamic pace at which com-
merce, and especially ecom-
merce, presents unique gov-
ernmental challenges and 
opportunities.  

  In addition to her regulato-
ry enforcement work, she 

worked on the implementa-
tion of online insurance and 
banking licensing systems 
and collaborated with key 
public and private sector 
banking representatives to 
tackle emerging cybersecuri-
ty challenges in the banking 
sector.  
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  “Rhode Island is at a criti-
cal moment in its history,” 
Savage said. “We are align-
ing the efforts of the gov-
ernment, business, and non-
profit sectors to spark an 
economic resurgence. I am 
excited and honored for the 
opportunity to help 
strengthen and improve the 
way the Division serves 
Rhode Islanders.”  

  Guidance, direction 

  As Tax Administrator, she 
is responsible for providing 
the overall guidance and 
direction of the Division of 
Taxation, which has approx-
imately 230 employees and 
an expenditure budget of 
$23.7 million for the cur-
rent fiscal year.  

  The Division administers 
more than 50 tax types and 
fees and is projected to col-
lect approximately $3.2 
billion in revenue for the 
current fiscal year.  

  The Division of Taxation is 
part of the Rhode Island 
Department of Revenue. 

Tax Administrator: Neena S. Savage has been appointed as  
Rhode Island Tax Administrator, overseeing the Rhode Island Divi-
sion of Taxation. An attorney with over 25 years of legal experience 
in the non-profit, public, and private sectors, she had served as Act-

ing Tax Administrator since December 2015. 

Special edition focuses on current tax-filing season 

  The Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation recently posted a 
special edition of its newslet-
ter.  

  The special edition focuses 
on what’s new for the 2017 
tax-filing season, covering tax 

year 2016 returns. For ex-
ample, it includes infor-
mation about the April filing 
deadline for personal income 
tax returns, and outlines the 
new original due dates and 
new extended due dates for 

business entities. In addition, 
the special edition describes 
efforts by state and federal 
authorities and tax industry 
professionals to combat tax 
refund fraud and refund-
related identity theft.  

  Also included are details 
about the increase in the 
earned income credit and 
property-tax relief credit. 
The special edition is availa-
ble online: 

http://go.usa.gov/x9mzc  
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TAX YEAR 2017 :  REDUCTION IN CORPORATE MINIMUM TAX 
  More tax relief has arrived 
for business entities. 

  The annual corporate mini-
mum tax, under Rhode Island 
General Laws § 44-11-2(e), 
had long been set at $500, but 
dropped by 10 percent, to 
$450, for the 2016 tax year. 

  However, for tax years be-
ginning on or after January 1, 
2017, the tax has dropped 
again, by another $50, to 
$400. 

Pass-through entities 

  Pass-through entities also 
obtain relief. They pay an 
annual filing fee, or annual 
filing charge. It is equivalent 
to the annual corporate mini-
mum tax, and it, too, had 
long been set at $500. 

  But it dropped by $50, to 
$450, for 2016. And it has 
fallen again, by another $50, 
to $400 for tax years begin-
ning on or after January 1, 
2017. 

20% drop overall 

  Thus, the annual corporate 
minimum tax, and the annu-
al filing charge for pass-
through entities, have each 
been reduced by a total of 
$100 per entity, or 20 per-
cent overall, over the last 
two years. 

  The latest reduction in the 
annual corporate minimum 
tax, and in the annual filing 
charge for pass-through enti-
ties, will appear on tax 
forms in early 2018. 

  The latest reduction is the 
result of legislation approved 
by the General Assembly and 
signed into law by Governor 
Gina M. Raimondo in June 
2016.  

Subchapter S 

  The overall reduction ap-
plies not only to C corpora-
tions, but also to subchapter 
S corporations, limited liabil-
ity companies, limited part-
nerships, limited liability 
partnerships, and other such 
entities that are treated as 
pass-through entities for fed-
eral income tax purposes.  

  Because the annual filing 
charge also applies to single-
member LLCs, the reduc-
tions apply to them, as well. 

At a glance:                                 
Minimum annual tax           

C corporations $400 

S corporations $400 

Limited liability 
companies $400 

Limited partner- $400 

Limited liability 
partnerships $400 

Pass-through entities, including single-
member LLCs, pay an annual charge, or 
annual filing fee, equivalent to annual corpo-

More information 

The “Practitioners’ Corner” 
feature, which starts on page 

13, includes some Q&As 
about tax year 2016 and 

2017.  
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Tax Seminar: Daniel T. Cle-
mence (left, at lectern), chief 
revenue agent, Tax Processing 

Services, Project Oversight & De-
velopment, talked about e-filing 
and other topics during a presen-
tation at the Division of Taxa-

tion’s “Seminar for Tax Preparers” 
held at the Community College of 
Rhode Island campus in Warwick 

in November. 



   

 
How the TDI wage 
base is calculated 

 
The wage base for Rhode 

Island’s temporary disability 
insurance (TDI) program is 
equal to the annual earnings 
needed by an individual to 

qualify for the TDI maximum 
weekly benefit rate ($817). 

 
  This is determined by multi-

plying the maximum rate 
($817) by the maximum TDI 
benefit duration (30 weeks) 
and then dividing by the per-
cent of wages replaced (0.36 

percent). 
 

Thus: $817 x 30/.36 = 
$68,083 (which by law is 

rounded up to next higher 
multiple of $100, or $68,100). 

 
About TCI 

 
Rhode Island’s temporary 

caregiver insurance program 
(TCI) is not a separate state 
program; TCI is part of the 
TDI program and can be 

considered to be TDI for TCI 
purposes. (See article at low-

er left of this page.) 
 

Most private-sector workers 
pay for TDI as a tax, through 

payroll withholding. (TDI 
taxes are deductible at the 
federal level for those who 
itemize their deductions.) 
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TAX YEAR 2017 :  TDI TAX RATE AND WAGE BASE SET 

  The maximum tax under 
Rhode Island’s temporary 
disability insurance (TDI) 
program will be $817.20 for 
calendar year 2017, up from 
$795.60 for calendar year 
2016, an increase of 2.7 per-
cent, or $21.60. 

  The TDI tax has two main 
components: one is the tax 
rate itself, the other is the 
amount of your wages to 
which that tax rate applies. 

  The maximum amount of 
wages to which the TDI tax 
rate applies will be $68,100 
for 2017, compared with 
$66,300 for 2016, an increase 
of 2.7 percent, or $1,800. 

  The TDI tax rate is 1.2 per-
cent for 2017 -- the same as it 
has been since 2012. (The tax 
rate, also known as the con-
tribution rate, is calculated by 
dividing total adjusted fund 
disbursements for a 12-month 
period by taxable wages for a 
12-month period.)  

  As a result, the maximum 
TDI tax will be $817.20 for 
2017 (the tax rate of 1.2 per-
cent applied to the first 
$68,100 of one’s wages).  

  The maximum TDI tax was 
$795.60 for 2016 (the tax 
rate of 1.2 percent applied 
to the first $66,300 of one’s 
wages).  

  Whether the amount of 
your TDI tax goes up or 
down will generally depend 
on how much you earn. 

  For 2016, TDI tax was paid 
by more than 400,000 pri-
vate-sector workers.  

  The TDI program is admin-
istered by the Rhode Island 
Department of Labor and 
Training; the tax is collected 

by the Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation. 

  The TDI program generally 
pays benefits for unemploy-
ment caused by injury or 
illness unrelated to work. A 
related program, funded 
through TDI, is temporary 
caregivers insurance, also 
known as TCI.  

  To learn more about TDI:: 
www.dlt.ri.gov 

 Employers may learn more 
about TDI tax at the Tax Divi-

sion website: www.tax.ri.gov 

Temporary caregiver insurance (tci) program 

  Rhode Island’s temporary care-
giver insurance (TCI) program 
can provide eligible claimants 
with up to four weeks of caregiv-
er benefits to care for a seriously 
ill child, spouse, domestic part-
ner, parent, parent-in-law, or 
grandparent, or to bond with a 
newborn child, newly adopted 
child, or new foster-care child. 

  TCI is part of the TDI pro-
gram; it is paid for through TDI 
taxes.  

  TCI benefits are subject to 
federal and Rhode Island in-
come taxes, according to the 
DLT; beneficiaries are issued a 
Form 1099 each year for tax 
purposes, showing the amount 
of benefits received in the prior 

year. Through October 2016, 
the DLT said it handled 34,932 
TDI applications, of which 
8,202 — about one of every 
four — were initial claims for 
TCI.  

  TDI payments averaged ap-
proximately $482 per week in 
2016 and TCI payments have 
averaged $532 per week.  

Year Tax rate Wage base Max. tax 

2014 1.2% $62,700 $752.40 

2013 1.2% $61,400 $736.80 

2012 1.2% $60,000 $720.00 

2011 1.3% $58,400 $759.20 

2010 1.2% $57,900 $694.80 

2009 1.5% $56,000 $840.00 

2008 1.3% $54,400 $707.20 

2015 1.2% $64,200 $770.40 

2016 1.2% $66,300 $795.60 

2017 1.2% $68,100  $817.20 

JANUARY/FEBRUARY/MARCH 2017 
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TAX YEAR 2017 :  INCREASE IN EARNED INCOME CREDIT 

  Rhode Island is making availa-
ble a more generous earned 
income credit for the 2017 tax 
year. 

  The earned income credit, 
or EIC, is a special tax break 
for the working poor. It is 
available under federal and 

Rhode Island law, and is some-
times referred to as the earned 
income tax credit, or EITC. 
Eligible taxpayers may claim a 
federal earned income credit 
and a Rhode Island earned in-
come credit. 

  For tax year 2015, the Rhode 
Island credit was 10 percent of 
the federal credit.  

  For tax year 2016, -- which 
taxpayers and preparers are 
focusing on this filing season -- 
the Rhode Island credit was 
12.5 percent of the federal 
credit – and was fully refunda-
ble. 

  For tax year 2017, however, 
the Rhode Island credit has 
increased to 15 percent of the 
federal earned income credit -- 
and will continue to be fully 
refundable. As a result, a 
claimant whose circumstances 
for 2017 are the same as in 
2016 could receive a 20 per-
cent higher Rhode Island 
earned income credit.  

Seminar: Theriza Iafrate, chief revenue agent in the Rhode Island Divi-
sion of Taxation’s Excise Tax section, addressed more than 100 tax profes-
sionals at the agency’s “Seminar for Tax Preparers” held in December at the 

Community College of Rhode Island campus in Newport. 

Rhode Island earned income credit – Example 1 
  Tax year 2016 Tax year 2017 

Rhode Island tax $0.00 $0.00 
Federal EIC $1,000.00 $1,000.00 

Rhode Island % (% of federal EIC) 12.50% 15.00% 

Rhode Island EIC $125.00 
 

$150.00 

Rhode Island earned income credit – Example 2 
  Tax year 2016 Tax year 2017 

Rhode Island tax $700.00 $700.00 

Federal EIC $5,000.00 $5,000.00 

Rhode Island % (% of federal EIC) 12.50% 15.00% 

Rhode Island EIC $625.00 
 

$750.00 

 

Standard deduction 

 
  The Rhode Island Divi-

sion of Taxation has 
made inflation adjust-

ments for tax year 2017. 

The new figures will 
show up on tax returns 
in the 2018 filing season, 
for tax year 2017. Nev-
ertheless, they are im-

portant this year for tax
-planning purposes. 

Following are standard 
deduction amounts: 

 For someone filing as 
single, the standard de-
duction increases from 

$8,300 for 2016 to 
$8,375. 

 For a married couple 
filing jointly (or qualify-
ing widow or widower), 
the standard deduction 
increases from $16,600 

to $16,750. 

 For someone filing as 
head of household, the 
standard deduction in-

creases from $12,450 to 
$12,550. 

 For someone filing as 
married filing separately, 
the standard deduction 
increases from $8,300 

to $8,375. 
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TAX YEAR 2017 :  RHODE ISLAND UI TAX RATES REDUCED 
  Rhode Island Governor Gina 
M. Raimondo announced on 
January 9 that employers will 
see a significant reduction in 
their state unemployment 
insurance (UI) tax rate for the 
first time in 25 years. 

  Collectively, Rhode Island 
employers will save about 
$30 million annually starting 
in 2017. “Since my first day in 
office, my goal has been to 
make Rhode Island work 
again by supporting existing 
businesses, attracting new 
business to Rhode Island and 
fostering a climate where 
employers can create jobs for 
Rhode Islanders at all rungs of 
the economic ladder,” Rai-
mondo said.  

  “Working together with the 
General Assembly, we have 
lowered the Unemployment 
Insurance tax for the first 
time since 1992 and put $30 
million back on the books of 
companies. I will continue to 
fight for reforms that 
strengthen Rhode Island and 
give Rhode Islanders from all 
walks of life the chances they 
need and deserve,” she said. 

  In 2016, the Rhode Island 
General Assembly approved 
Governor Raimondo’s pro-
posal to revise the antiquated 
UI rate schedule and bring the 
state’s average per-employee 
tax liability closer in line with 
neighboring states. This re-
sulted in an average tax cut of 
$77 per employee for busi-
nesses and improved the fair-
ness of the system. 

  “Unemployment Insurance 
rates are a significant obstacle 

to Main Street’s growth, 
which we needed to address 
to improve the fundamentals 
of our business climate," said 
Speaker of the House Nicho-
las A. Mattiello.  

  “I am proud that we listened 
to the small business commu-
nity and were able to provide 
meaningful relief on this cost 
driver. The House’s primary 
focus for the last two years 
has been to make Rhode Is-
land’s business costs and tax 
structure regionally competi-
tive and this is another step in 
the right direction,” he said. 

  President of the Senate M. 
Teresa Paiva Weed said, “The 
reduction of the Unemploy-
ment Insurance tax is an im-

portant part of our work to 
improve Rhode Island’s eco-
nomic competitiveness 
through lower business and 
personal taxes and reduced 
regulatory burdens. Our 
state’s turnaround is gaining 
momentum thanks to sus-
tained investments in our 
economic future.” 

  “In order to have an econo-
my that works for everyone, 
we need to have a stable and 
efficient Unemployment 
Insurance program,” said 
Scott Jensen, Director of the 
Rhode Island Department of 
Labor and Training. “This 
announcement today shows 
that we’re making progress,” 
he said. 

  Unemployment insurance  
provides temporary income 
support to workers who 
have lost their jobs through 
no fault of their own and 
meet the monetary require-
ments. It is funded entirely 
from state and federal UI 
taxes paid by Rhode Island’s 
33,000 employers. 

  The rate reduction for 2017 was 
accomplished by switching to a 
different UI tax rate schedule. 
Schedule I, the highest tax rate 

schedule, had been in effect since 
1992. For 2017, Schedule H is now 

in effect.  

First-quarter tax bills reflecting the 
new tax rates will be due on or before 
May 1, 2017. For details on chang-
es to the state UI taxable wage base, 

please see following page. 
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Bill Signing: The budget bill for fiscal year 2017, which included UI tax changes, was signed into 
law on June 24, 2016, at the State House in Providence. At the ceremony were (from left to right): Rep. 

Samuel A. Azzinaro; Senate President M. Teresa Paiva Weed; Sen. Juan M. Pichardo; Gov. Gina M. 
Raimondo (seated); Rep. Marvin L. Abney, House Finance Committee chairman; and House Speaker 

Nicholas A. Mattiello. 
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TAX YEAR 2017 :  RHODE ISLAND UI WAGE BASE SET 

  For most Rhode Island em-
ployers, the taxable wage base 
for calculating the state’s un-
employment insurance (UI) 
tax will be $22,400 for 2017, 
compared with $22,000 for 
2016, an increase of $400, or 
1.82 percent. 

  However, the tax rate range 
will be lower for 2017, at 
0.99 percent to 9.59 percent, 
compared with a minimum of 
1.69 percent to a maximum 
of 9.79 percent for 2016.  

   Thus, many employers will 
see an overall reduction in 
state unemployment insur-
ance tax in 2017. (For more 
information, see previous 
page.) 

  Which rate in that range will 
apply to a specific employer 
depends on the employer’s 
experience with the UI sys-
tem. The lower an employ-
er’s “experience rate,” the 
less tax the employer pays. 
Notices of individual tax rates 
were mailed to employers 
starting in early January.  

Wage base 

  The state unemployment 
insurance system’s taxable 
wage base represents the 
maximum amount of an 
employee’s wages that are 
subject to the state UI tax. 
The taxable wage base is set 
by law at 46.5 percent of the 
average annual wage in 
Rhode Island. 

  A separate, higher taxable 
wage base applies for em-
ployers who have experi-
enced considerable unem-
ployment – and who there-
fore have used the system’s 
resources the most and are 
taxed at the highest state UI 
tax rate. For those employ-
ers, the taxable wage base 
will be $23,900 for 2017, 
compared with $23,500 for 
2016. 

  In general, the higher wage 
base is intended to help off-
set the large drain that these 
employers have on the 
state’s unemployment insur-
ance trust fund. 

  A separate state UI tax rate 
applies for new employers. 
The Rhode Island UI tax rate 
for new employers is 1.83 
percent for 2017, down 
from 2.27 percent for 2016. 

  In general, assessments on 
approximately 33,000 em-
ployers in the state go into 
the state’s unemployment 
insurance trust fund, which 
is used to pay unemployment 
insurance benefits for jobless 
workers.  

  Changes in Rhode Island 
General Laws, enacted in 
2011, altered some of the 
key elements in the state’s 
unemployment insurance tax 
formula for 2012 and later 
years.  

  The changes were part of a 
broader effort to restore the 
state’s unemployment insur-
ance trust fund, which be-
came insolvent during the 
most recent recession. 

  For example, as a result of a 
1998 state law, the taxable 

wage base was tied to the 
balance of the state’s unem-
ployment insurance trust 
fund.  

   Under the changes enacted 
in 2011, the wage base is 
tied to the statewide average 
annual wage, as the formula 
was before the 1998 law 
took effect.  

  In addition, the changes 
enacted in 2011 ushered in 
the higher taxable wage base 
for those employers who 
have had the greatest nega-
tive effect on the state’s un-
employment insurance trust 
fund.  

  The state UI tax rates men-
tioned above do not include the 

job development assessment, 
which is the same for 2017 as it 
was for 2016:  0.21 percent of 

the taxable wage base.  

Employer taxes are administered 
by the Division of Taxation and 
are overseen by the Department 

of Labor and Training. 
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TAX YEAR 2017 :  INTEREST RATES SET FOR THE YEAR 

Interest Rates 

Personal Income Tax Assessments 

From To Rate 
10/01/06 Present 18.00% 
01/01/94 09/30/06 12.00% 
01/01/93 12/31/93 8.00% 
01/01/92 12/31/92 10.00% 
01/01/91 12/31/91 12.00% 
01/01/90 12/31/90 12.50% 
01/01/89 12/31/89 12.00% 
01/01/88 12/31/88 10.75% 
01/01/87 12/31/87 9.50% 
01/01/86 12/31/86 11.50% 
01/01/85 12/31/85 14.75% 
03/16/82 12/31/84 20.00% 
06/01/81 03/15/82 12.00% 
05/16/74 05/31/81 8.00% 
01/01/71 05/15/74 6.00% 

  The Rhode Island Division of Taxation has post-
ed the interest rates that will apply in 2017 to 
overpayments and delinquencies. 

  Interest on underpayments 

  The interest rate on delinquent tax payments 
has been set at 18 percent per annum for calen-
dar year 2017, the same as it was for 2016. The 
rate per annum is set by statute, under Rhode 
Island General Laws §  44-1-7. 

Interest on overpayments 

  Interest on overpayments (refunds) for calendar 
year 2017 has been set at 3.50 percent, up from 
3.25 percent for 2016. The rate per annum is set 
by statute, under Rhode Island General Laws §  
44-1-7.1. 

Prior years 

  Tax practitioners sometimes need to compute interest 
on underpayments or overpayments for prior years. The 
table at left shows interest paid on overpayments since 
1971, when the personal income tax was enacted. The 
table at right shows interest rates charged on underpay-

ments since 1971. 

Tax Forum: Michael J. Heffernan (left), commissioner of the Massa-
chusetts Department of Revenue, and Michael F. Canole (right), chief of 
examinations at the Rhode Island Division of Taxation, took part in the 

2016 New England State and Local Tax Forum. The event, held on 
November 16, 2016, at the Boston Marriott Newton hotel in Newton, 
Massachusetts, included a session which brought together leading tax 

officials from all six New England states.  

Rhode Island tax news in brief 
Inflation adjustments 

  The Division of Taxation 
recently posted an Advisory 
showing inflation-adjusted 
numbers for the 2017 tax 
year. The Advisory is availa-
ble online: 

http://go.usa.gov/x8vCd  

Surplus lines 

  The Division of Taxation in 
December posted a guide to 
help surplus lines brokers/
licensees meet their Rhode 
Island tax filing and tax pay-
ment obligations. The guide 
is available online:   

http://go.usa.gov/x8mYW  

Regulatory update 

  The Rhode Island Division 

of Taxation is in the process of 
consolidating a number of 
tobacco tax regulations into a 
single regulation. 

  It is part of the agency’s on-
going effort to streamline its 
regulations.   

  The agency also is also in the 
process of updating outdated 
regulations. 

Contact information 

  The Division of Taxation’s 
website lists contact infor-
mation for each section in the 
agency, including phone num-
bers and email addresses: 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/
contact/ 
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Interest Rates 

Personal Income Tax Refunds 
From To Rate 

01/01/10 12/31/16 3.25% 
01/01/09 12/31/09 5.00% 
01/01/08 12/31/08 7.75% 
01/01/07 12/31/07 8.25% 
10/01/06 12/31/06 6.75% 
01/01/94 09/30/06 12.00% 
01/01/93 12/31/93 8.00% 
01/01/92 12/31/92 10.00% 
01/01/91 12/31/91 12.00% 
01/01/90 12/31/90 12.50% 
01/01/89 12/31/89 12.00% 
01/01/88 12/31/88 10.75% 
01/01/87 12/31/87 9.50% 
01/01/86 12/31/86 11.50% 
01/01/85 12/31/85 14.75% 
05/16/82 12/31/84 14.00% 
01/01/71 05/12/82 6.00% 

01/01/17 Present 3.50% 



 

 

 

 

 

Personal income-tax 
reminder 

  

Payments of first-quarter esti-
mated tax for tax year 2017 

are due on or before Tuesday, 
April 18, 2017. 
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TAX YEAR 2017 :  BREAK FOR PENSION, ANNUITY, 401(K) 

A  Rhode Island personal 
income tax break for 

income from pensions, an-
nuities, 401(k) plans, and 
other such sources, has taken 
effect for tax years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2017. 

  It is the result of legislation 
approved by the Rhode Is-
land General Assembly and 
signed into law in June 2016 
by Rhode Island Governor 
Gina M. Raimondo. 

  The new tax break is in the 
form of a modification re-
ducing one’s federal adjusted 
gross income (AGI) for 
Rhode Island tax purposes. 

  It will first appear on re-
turns early in calendar year 
2018, covering the 2017 tax 
year. Nevertheless, it is im-
portant to know about now, 
for tax-planning purposes, 
said Rhode Island Tax Ad-
ministrator Neena S. Savage. 

  In general, a taxpayer will 
qualify for the tax break if 
the taxpayer meets all three 
of the following conditions: 

 The taxpayer has income 
from pensions, annuities, 
401(k) plans, 403(b) plans, 
military retirement pay, or 
other such sources, and at 
least some of it is taxed fed-
erally; 

 The taxpayer has reached 
“full retirement age” as de-
fined by Social Security Ad-
ministration rules; and 

 The taxpayer’s federal 
adjusted gross income is 
below a certain amount 
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($80,000 for someone 
who is single, $100,000 
for a married couple filing 
a joint return). 

Up to $15,000 

  Assuming the taxpayer 
qualifies, up to $15,000 
of the taxpayer’s federally 
taxable income from pen-
sions, annuities, 401(k) 
plans and other such 
sources will escape Rhode 
Island tax. 

  Under the new law, any 
taxable income that is 
properly and accurately 
included on the “Pensions 
and annuities” line of the 

taxpayer’s federal return will 
count.  

  (For example, for tax year 
2016, “Pensions and annui-
ties” income is shown on lines 
16a and 16b of the U.S. Form 
1040, or lines 12a and 12b of 
the U.S. Form 1040A.) 

  What counts? 

  What counts as “pension and 
annuity income” for purposes 
of the new Rhode Island tax 
break? The following counts: 
taxable distributions from 
pensions, annuities, 401(k) 
plans, 403(b) plans, govern-
mental 457(b) plans, military 
retirement pay, and other 
income that the taxpayer 

properly and accurately in-
cludes in the “taxable amount” 
box of the “pensions and annui-
ties” line of the taxpayer’s fed-
eral return -- which, for tax 
year 2016, was line 16b of 
U.S. Form 1040, line 12b of 
U.S. Form 1040A. (Taxable 
IRA distributions don’t count 
for purposes of the new Rhode 
Island tax break.) 

  To accommodate the new 
modification, the Division of 
Taxation will amend its tax 
form instructions. 

Two tax breaks 

  The modification for 2017 
and later tax years involving  
taxable income from pensions, 
annuities, 401(k) plans and 
other such sources is separate 
and apart from the modifica-
tion for 2016 and later tax 
years involving taxable Social 
Security benefits. Thus, for 
2017 and later tax years, a 
taxpayer may qualify for both 
tax breaks. 

Tax Tips: Leo Lebeuf (above), chief revenue agent in the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation’s Personal Income Tax section, talked about tax 

changes at the agency’s Seminar for Tax Preparers” held at the Community 
College of Rhode Island’s Newport County campus in December 2016. 



The Rhode Island State 
Council on the Arts is 

spreading the word (see 
above) about Rhode 

Island’s statewide sales 
tax exemption on the sale 
of original and limited 
edition works of art. 
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TAX YEAR 2017: INCREASE IN ESTATE TAX THRESHOLD 
  The Rhode Island estate tax 
threshold has increased some-
what for calendar year 2017. 

  As a result, fewer estates 
potentially will be subject to 
the tax.  

  The Rhode Island estate tax 
credit amount will be $65,370 
for decedents dying on or after 
January 1, 2017. 

  That compares with the  
credit amount of $64,400 for 
decedents who died in calen-
dar year 2016. 

  As a result, the Rhode Island 
estate tax threshold will be 
$1,515,156 for decedents 
dying on or after January 1, 
2017, up from the threshold 
of $1,500,000 for calendar 
year 2016.  

Inflation adjustment 

  Legislation enacted in 2014 
requires that, beginning on 
January 1, 2016, the Rhode 
Island credit amount be adjust-
ed by the percentage increase 
in the consumer price index 
for all urban consumers (CPI-
U) determined as of Septem-
ber 30 of the prior calendar 
year.  

  The U.S. Department of 
Labor’s Bureau of Labor Sta-
tistics (BLS) announced on 
October 15, 2015, that the 
index was unchanged.  

  On October 18, 2016, the 
BLS announced that the index 
had increased. Accordingly, 
for decedents dying on or after 
January 1, 2017, the credit 
amount will be $65,370, 
shielding from taxation the 

first $1,515,156 of an estate.  

  Thus, in general, for a dece-
dent dying in 2017, a net taxa-
ble estate valued at $1,515,156 
or less will not be subject to 
Rhode Island’s estate tax.  

  (In certain circumstances, the 
Rhode Island estate tax will not 
apply no matter the estate’s 
size: Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter 44-22 provides 
full details on the computation 
of the tax, including such fac-
tors as the marital and charita-
ble deductions.)  

Revised forms 

  The Division of Taxation has 
posted revised forms for estate 
tax filings.  

  The forms have a new, 
streamlined appearance and are 
designed so that they can be 
more readily processed 
through the Division’s new 

agency-wide computer and 
high-speed scanning system.    

 Although the Division’s Estate 
Tax section will not be con-
verting over to the new com-
puter system until sometime 
this calendar year, the Division 
is urging taxpayers and tax pro-
fessionals to begin using the 
forms now, so that they can 
become familiar with them in 
advance.  

  The Division is also providing 
the new forms to software pro-
viders so that they can be in-
cluded in tax preparation soft-
ware packages.  

  The updated package of forms 
includes a new payment vouch-
er, which taxpayers and tax 
professionals should use when 
making payments involving the 
estate tax or estate tax-related 
lien releases.  
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Tax Talk: After the Division of Taxation’s “Seminar for Tax Prepar-
ers”, at the Community College of Rhode Island’s Newport County cam-
pus in December, some tax preparers met one-on-one with Division offi-

cials, including Marlen Bautista (center), chief revenue agent in the 
Division’s Corporate Tax section, and Michael F. Canole (right), the 

Division’s chief of examinations. 

  After the Division’s Estate 
Tax section is converted to the 
Division’s new computer sys-
tem, the voucher will have to 
be used for all filing-fee pay-
ments and will need to accom-
pany any estate tax return 
filed with the Division. 

  Check the Division’s website 
for updated forms: 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/
taxforms/estate.php 

 

The Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation’s Estate Tax section is 
available by phone from 8:30 

a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days 
at (401) 574-8900.  



Following is a summary of tax-
related cases in which final deci-
sions were made after administra-

tive hearings. By law, decisions are 
public information, but taxpayer 
information cannot be disclosed.  

 

Sales tax audit 

At issue is whether a gas sta-
tion convenience store owes 
sales tax as assessed by the 
Division of Taxation. 

A revenue agent performed 
an audit of the store for the 
period of April 2011 through 
March 2014. For the audit, 
the store provided its general 
ledger, bank statement, pur-
chase invoices, and federal tax 
returns -- but did not have 
any original sales records. 

So the agent performed the 
audit on the best available 
evidence, and applied an in-
dustry standard as a taxable 
measure of sales. The tax rate 
was then applied. But after 
giving credit for any sales tax 
paid, the agent found that the 
store still owed tax. 

The Division issued a Notice 
of Deficiency for the tax 
owed, plus penalty and inter-
est.  

Under Rhode Island General 
Laws § 44-18-25, there is a 
presumption that all gross 
receipts are subject to sales 
tax and that the burden of 
proving otherwise falls on the 
taxpayer. 

A hearing was held to provide 
the taxpayer with an oppor-

tunity to rebut the presump-
tion of taxability, using a pre-
ponderance of the evidence. 

However, although the tax-
payer argued that the Divi-
sion’s assessment was too 
high, the taxpayer offered no 
testimony or evidence that 
the agent’s methodology was 
incorrect or that another 
method could have been used 
instead. (When a taxpayer 
cannot produce records 
demonstrating its sales and/
or taxes collected, the Divi-
sion uses the available evi-
dence to make an assessment 
-- as provided by statute.) 

On October 7, 2016, Hearing 
Officer Catherine R. Warren 

found that the taxpayer was 
unable to overcome the pre-
sumption of taxability as pro-
vided in statute. 

Thus, the taxpayer owes the 
tax, interest, and penalty as 
assessed, Warren deter-
mined.  On October 12, 
2016, Acting Tax Administra-
tor Neena S. Savage (now Tax 
Administrator) adopted War-
ren’s decision and recommen-
dation. 

-- Final Decision and Order 
No. 2016-23 

 

Tax on car 

A taxpayer bought a car in 
Portland, Oregon, in July 
2015. Oregon does not levy a 
sales tax. When he registered 
the car in Rhode Island, the 
Division assessed the state’s 7 
percent use tax. 

The taxpayer filed a request 
for a refund of the use tax, 
asserting that he was a bona 
fide nonresident of Rhode 
Island in 2015.  

Under Rhode Island General 
Laws § 44-18-30(13), a bona 
fide nonresident of Rhode 
Island does not have to pay 
Rhode Island tax on the pur-
chase of a vehicle. 

At a hearing, it emerged that 
the taxpayer filed a 2015 
Rhode Island personal income 
tax return and owned a house 
in Rhode Island in 2015 with 
his wife.  

(Please turn to page 12) 

RECENT STATE TAX CASES IN SUMMARY 
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Legal Corner 

 

Tax hearings 

 
Any taxpayer aggrieved by 
the action of the Tax Divi-

sion in determining the 
amount of tax, surcharge, 

or penalty, may make writ-
ten request for a formal 

hearing. 

The taxpayer is first afford-
ed an opportunity to have a 
preliminary review. Should 
the matter not be resolved, 

it may then proceed to 
formal hearing under the 

terms of the state Adminis-
trative Procedures Act 

(RIGL § 42-35-1 et seq) and 
Tax Division regulation 

AHP 97-01. 

If not satisfied with the 
outcome, the taxpayer may 

appeal to Sixth Division 
District Court (RIGL § 8-8-

24 et seq). 

Rhode Island Tax News pro-
vides only summaries of 

some recent tax-case deci-
sions, which are based on 
specific facts and circum-

stances. 
The summaries are merely 

informative and provide 
general information. To 
determine how state tax 
laws and regulations apply 
to your particular circum-

stances, please consult your 
tax professional. 
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Tax tip line 
If you have information about 

wrongdoing involving state taxes, 
call the tax fraud tip line at (401) 
574-TIPS or (401) 574- 8477 and 
leave a message. The line is staffed 

by the Rhode Island Division of 
Taxation’s Special Investigation 

Unit, which follows up on all tips. 
Callers can leave their names and 

contact information or remain 
anonymous. 

RECENT STATE TAX CASES IN SUMMARY (CONTINUED FROM PAGE 11) 
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Legal Corner 

Tax Division computer-conversion project moves ahead 

  The Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation is engaged in a 
multi-year project involving 
the acquisition, installation, 
and implementation of a new 
agency-wide computer sys-
tem -- an integrated tax sys-
tem. 

  There have been three main 
phases. The first phase of the 
project, which occurred in 
summer 2014, mainly in-
volved converting account 
records and other infor-

mation involving bank, insur-
ance, and certain other tax 
types and fees from the old 
system into the new system. 

  In the second phase, which 
occurred late in 2015, the 
personal income tax, estate 
and trust income tax, compo-
site income tax, and pass-
through withholding were 
migrated onto the new system. 

   In the third major phase, 
completed in November 2016, 
the Division converted over to 

He said he had earned in-
come in Rhode Island for the 
first five months of 2015, so 
he filed a 
Rhode Island 
return for 
that year, but 
moved to 
Oregon in 
July 2015 
with the in-
tention of 
living there 
permanently 
with his family (but that it 
did not work out). He testi-
fied that he: 

 registered to vote in Ore-
gon; 

 signed leases to rent a 
residence in Oregon;  

 bought the car in Oregon; 
and 

 held an Oregon driver’s 
license. 

He acknowledged that he 

moved back to Rhode Island 
in June 2016.  

The Division argued that, 
while the taxpay-
er lived in Ore-
gon from mid-
July 2015 to June 
2016, he main-
tained a house in 
Rhode Island, 
filed a 2015 
Rhode Island re-
turn, and paid 

Rhode Island personal in-
come tax. 

The Division also argued the 
standard for taxing for pur-
poses of the use tax differs 
from the standard for person-
al income tax or domicile. 

The Division asserted that, 
applying the use tax standard, 
the evidence showed that the 
taxpayer was not a bona fide 
nonresident of Rhode Island, 
and had sufficient contacts 
with Rhode Island so as not 
to be deemed a bona fide non-

resident of Rhode Island. 

On December 15, 2016, the 
hearing officer found that the 
taxpayer 
was not a 
bona fide 
nonresi-
dent of 
Rhode 
Island and 
that the 
Division 
properly 
denied the 
taxpayer’s 
request for 
a refund of 
the tax 
paid when 
he regis-
tered the car in Rhode Island. 
On December 29, 2016, the 
tax administrator adopted the 
hearing officer’s decision and 
recommendation. 

-- Final Decision and Order 
No. 2016-24 

Decisions online 

The Division of Taxation’s website shows all Administra-
tive Decisions since early 2011. (See screenshot above.) 

To view, see www.tax.ri.gov 

the new system its corporate 
income tax, withholding, and 
sales and use taxes. 

Future plans include migrating 
estate tax records and the 
agency’s revenue accounting 
system over to the new sys-
tem, and constructing a tax-
payer portal, which would, 
among other things, allow for 
the online filing of applica-
tions for letters of good stand-
ing and of returns involving 
surplus lines tax. 
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QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ABOUT STATE TAXES 

Practitioners’ Corner 

Q: To be eligible for the 
new tax break on Social 
Security benefits, the tax-
payer must have reached 
full retirement age                                               
(generally age 66), as de-
fined by the Social Secu-
rity Administration. Can 
you give 
an exam-
ple of 
how the 
tax break 
works for 
a married 
couple 
when one 
spouse 
has 
reached 
full retire-
ment age but the other 
has not? 

A: Suppose that Tom and 
Tammy Taxpayer both collect 
Social Security retirement 
benefits. He is 68; she is 63.  

He had $25,000 in Social Se-
curity benefits for 2016, 
while she had $15,000 in So-
cial Security benefits, for a 
combined total of $40,000. 
So, Tom has 62.5 percent of 
the couple’s combined total 
of Social Security benefits.  

Let’s suppose that the cou-
ple’s federal adjusted gross 
income is below the required 
threshold and that line 20b of 
the couple’s U.S. Form 1040 
shows $20,000 in taxable 
Social Security benefits. How 
much of that $20,000 is eligi-
ble for the Rhode Island tax 
break? To find the answer, 
the couple uses the “Taxable 

Social Security Income 
Worksheet” of their Rhode 
Island return. On the work-
sheet, they apply Tom’s 
eligible percentage (62.5 
percent) to the total amount 
of federally taxable Social 

Security 
benefits. 
The an-
swer is 
$12,500 
(or 0.625 
times 
$20,000). 
That 
amount is 
carried 
over from 
the work-

sheet onto page 1, line 1u, 
of Schedule M of the cou-
ple’s Rhode Island return to 
ensure that their income is 
reduced by $12,500 for 
Rhode Island tax purposes. 

Q: For single member 
LLCs, do we have to at-
tach a schedule to the 
Form RI-1065? For ex-
ample, if the individual 
has income and expens-
es from the business ac-
tivity shown on Sched-
ule C or Schedule E of 
his or her Form U.S. 
1040, must the taxpayer 
attach that schedule to 
the Form RI-1065? Also, 
do we still have to com-
plete the full return, 
including depreciable 
assets, total assets, gross 
receipts, federal taxable 
income, and the like? 

Q: You’ll use information 
from U.S. Form 1040 to pre-
pare the Form RI-1065. As a 
convenience to taxpayers and 
tax preparers, the Division no 
longer requires you to attach, 
to the Form RI-1065, either 
the taxpayer’s U.S. Form 
1040 or any of its schedules.  

Advise the taxpayer to keep 
his U.S. Form 1040 on file 
and readily accessible should 
the Division of Taxation need 
to examine it. Also explain 
the penalties and interest that 
apply for underreporting in-
come. Further, remind the 
taxpayer that the Division of 
Taxation and the Internal 
Revenue Service regularly 
share taxpayer information 
and offset refunds for one 
another when appropriate.  

Also let the taxpayer know 
that a single-member LLC’s 
failure to file complete and 
accurate Form RI-1065 re-
turns each year, and pay the 
associated annual filing charg-
es, can delay the issuing of a 
letter of good standing. 

Regarding your other ques-
tion, we continue to require 
all of the other information 
that single-member LLCs (and 
others) must provide on the 
Form RI-1065, such as federal 
taxable income, total deduc-
tions, total additions, and the 
Rhode Island apportionment 
computation -- including in-
ventory, depreciable assets, 
gross receipts, and all other 
items. This information is 
needed for audit and report-
ing purposes. 

(Please turn to page 14) 

  

  

About     
‘Practitioners’ Corner’ 

 

The “Practitioners’ Cor-
ner” feature provides gen-
eral answers to some of 

the questions that the Tax 
Division encounters 

through the normal course 
of business. 

The answers are intended 
solely to provide general 
information. They do not 

represent formal guidance, 
and are not substitutes for 
Rhode Island General Laws, 
Tax Division regulations, or 

Tax Division rulings. 
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QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ABOUT STATE TAXES (CONTINUED FROM PAGE 13) 

Practitioners’ Corner 

Q: I noticed a new check 
box on the Rhode Island 
Form RI-1120C (for C 
corporations), Form RI-
1120S (for subchapter S 
corporations), and Form 
RI-1065 (for partnerships 
and LLCs). It says “Pro 
Forma” – and I wondered 
what that’s about. 

A: If you file an application 
with the Division for a letter 
of good standing, you may 
have to file a pro forma tax 
return (in other words, a 
draft return) for the entity or 
entities involved. The new 
check box lets our high-speed 
scanning and imaging equip-
ment know that it’s a pro for-
ma return that’s being filed, 
not an actual annual return. 
By checking the box, you let 
us know that you’re filing 
what amounts to an infor-
mation return, not the return 
itself. This makes processing 
more effective and efficient. 

Q: I noticed there are 
two new check boxes on 
the estate tax Form 100, 
one box for “Pro Forma 
Return” and the other 
box for “Amended Re-
turn” -- and I wondered 
which box I should select 
if I am filing an original, 
final non-taxable return? 

A: If the estate tax return is 
neither amending a previous 
estate tax return, nor a draft 
return, then do not select 
either box. The pro forma re-
turn is appropriate only for 
estates that are not yet final-
ized, but need to file an early 

return in order to request 
documentation from the 
Division. If the “Pro Forma” 
box is selected, the estate 
must submit a final estate tax 
return at a later date.  

Q: When filing a Rhode 
Island estate tax return, 
must we include a certi-
fied copy of the death 
certificate, or will a 
photocopy 
suffice? 

A: A photocopy 
is sufficient. 

Q: Is the Di-
vision of Tax-
ation’s self-
audit pro-
gram still available? 

A: Yes. The program gener-
ally works as follows:  

You perform an audit of 
your books and records to 
see if you owe Rhode Is-
land’s 7 percent use tax.  

You submit the results of 
your audit, along with pay-
ment for the tax due, to us. 

If your self-audit meets all of 
the program’s requirements 
and is approved by us, and 
you pay the tax due, we will 
waive all penalties – and 
forgive two-thirds of the 
interest. Furthermore, we 
will agree not to audit you 
for the period and tax type 
involved in your self-audit. 
The “self-audit” section of 
our website contains more 
information, including the 
program’s application, 

FAQs, and other documents:  

http://go.usa.gov/3JexQ 

Q: My client’s small 
business in Rhode Island 
pays a fee each month to 
a well-known Internet 
domain registrar and 
web hosting company. 
The company provides 
the small business with a 

template, 
which the 
small business 
uses to display 
its services 
and products. 
Is that month-
ly fee subject 
to Rhode Is-
land sales and 

use tax? 

A: No.  

Q: Can my client file its 
annual sales tax recon-
ciliation online? 

A: In general, your client can 
file its annual sales tax recon-
ciliation online with us, but 
only if that client filed its 
regular sales tax returns 
online and remitted sales tax 
payments online for the year 
in question. (For instance, if 
your client files online its 
monthly sales tax returns 
with us throughout calendar 
year 2017, and remits its 
sales tax to us online 
throughout calendar year 
2017, the client will general-
ly be able to file its annual 
reconciliation online with us 
in early 2018, covering cal-
endar year 2017. However, 
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due to system requirements, 
the annual reconciliation for 
liquor stores, and for writ-
ers, composers, and artists, 
must still be filed on paper, 
even if they file their regular 
returns with us online 
throughout the year and 
remit sales tax to us online 
throughout the year.   

Q: My client wants to 
use her credit card or 
debit card to pay her 
Rhode Island personal 
income tax debt. But 
your online screen asks 
for an “invoice num-
ber” (see screenshot be-
low). Where can she 
find that? 

A: The invoice number is 
located on the bill that she 
received from the Division 
of Taxation. If she lost her 
bill, she may contact our 
Collections section, at (401) 
574-8941 between 8:30 
a.m. and 3:30 p.m. business 
days. To learn more: 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/
misc/creditcard.php 
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