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Tomorrow is the deadline for certain payments, filings, and extensions 
Quarterly estimated payments of personal income tax are due, but so are some entity returns 

 
 
PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Rhode Island Division of Taxation reminds tax professionals and taxpayers 
that tomorrow is the deadline for certain payments, filings, and extensions.  

 
PAYMENTS OF ESTIMATED TAX 

 
Third-quarter estimated payments of Rhode Island personal income tax are due on or before 11:59 p.m. 
tomorrow, Friday, September 15.  
 
Payments may be made through the Division’s website using a credit card or debit card. For more 
information, including details on fees, use this link: http://www.tax.ri.gov/misc/creditcard.php.  
 
If paying by check, use payment coupons to ensure that payments are properly processed and accounted 
for. Paid preparers typically issue personalized payment coupons for their clients. Taxpayers can use 
estimated-tax coupons mailed them by the Division, or blank coupons from the Division’s website. For the 
blank version that can be filled in online before printing out, use this link: https://go.usa.gov/xRMfS. For 
the regular version, use this link: https://go.usa.gov/xRMGx. 
  
Among other taxes/returns subject to the September 15 deadline for estimated taxes are the following: 

 estimated payments of Rhode Island pass-through withholding; 
 estimated payments of Rhode Island composite income tax; and  
 estimated payments for trusts and estates. 

 
 

DUE DATES 
 

Federal legislation enacted on July 31, 2015, changed the due dates for certain entities. The new federal 
law also made changes to extended due dates for certain entities. Rhode Island legislation enacted on 
June 24, 2016, conforms Rhode Island law to federal law regarding due dates, and the Division of 
Taxation adopted new extended due dates for certain entities to conform to the new federal law.  
 
As a result, some Rhode Island due dates and extended due dates have remained the same as before, 
while others have changed. The Division of Taxation is taking this opportunity to remind tax professionals 
and taxpayers that certain filings are due tomorrow, September 15, 2017. 
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For example, for a C corporation with a June 30 year-end, the due date is tomorrow, September 15, 
2017. 
 
 

Due dates for certain entities – June 30 year-end 
(For tax years beginning after December 31, 2015) 

TAX / ENTITY FORM DUE DATE 

Business Corporation Tax 
Corporate income tax, Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11 

Form RI-1120C September 15 

Public Service Corporation Tax 
Public service gross earnings tax, RIGL Chapter 44-13 

Form T-72 September 15 

Taxation of Banks 
Bank excise tax, RIGL Chapter 44-14 

Form T-74 
 

September 15 

Taxation of Insurance Companies 
Insurance gross premiums tax, RIGL Chapter 44-17 

Form T-71 September 15 

Subchapter S Corporations 
Corporate income tax, RIGL § 44-11-2 

Form RI-1120S 
 

September 15 

General partnership 
RIGL Chapter 7-12 

Form RI-1065 September 15 

Limited partnership (LP) 
RIGL § 7-13-69 (filing as pass-through) 

Form RI-1065 September 15 

Limited liability partnership (LLP) 
RIGL § 7-12-60 (filing as pass-through) 

Form RI-1065 September 15 

Limited liability company (LLC) 
RIGL § 7-16-67 (filing as pass-through) 

Form RI-1065 September 15 

Single-member LLC (SMLLC) 
RIGL § 7-16-67 (owned by C corporation) 

Form RI-1065 September 15 

Withholding of pass-through entity 
with nonresident partners, members, shareholders 

RIGL § 44-11-2.2 
Form RI-1096PT September 15 

Composite income tax return 
on behalf of qualified electing nonresident members 

RIGL § 44-11-2.2(d) 
Form RI-1040C September 15 

  

Notes: Formulas and deadlines for estimated taxes have not changed. Due dates for corporate income tax also apply to entities subject to 
mandatory unitary combined reporting. Single-member LLC (SMLLC) uses same due date and extended due date as owner; table assumes owner 
is C corporation with June 30 fiscal year-end. 

  
 
 

 
EXTENDED DUE DATES 

 
Because of the federal, Rhode Island, and administrative changes mentioned above, the Rhode Island 
extended due date has changed for some entities but is unchanged for other entities. 
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As shown in the following table, the Rhode Island extended due date for certain calendar-year filers is 
tomorrow, September 15, for a number of entities. However, different extended due dates apply to certain 
other entities.  
 
 
 

Due dates for certain entities – calendar-year filers    (Table revised 09-14-17 at 3:15 p.m.) 
(For tax years beginning after December 31, 2015) 

TAX / ENTITY FORM EXTENDED DUE DATE 

Business Corporation Tax 
Corporate income tax, RIGL Chapter 44-11 

 
Form RI-1120C 

 
October 16 

Public Service Corporation Tax 
Public service gross earnings tax, RIGL Chapter 44-13 

Form T-72 October 16 

Taxation of Banks 
Bank excise tax, RIGL Chapter 44-14 

 
Form T-74 

 
October 16 

Taxation of Insurance Companies 
Insurance gross premiums tax, RIGL Chapter 44-17 

Form T-71 October 16 

Subchapter S Corporations 
Corporate income tax, RIGL § 44-11-2 

 
Form RI-1120S 

 
September 15 

General partnership 
RIGL Chapter 7-12 

Form RI-1065 September 15 

Limited partnership (LP) 
RIGL § 7-13-69 (filing as pass-through) 

Form RI-1065 September 15 

Limited liability partnership (LLP) 
RIGL § 7-12-60 (filing as pass-through) 

Form RI-1065 September 15 

Limited liability company (LLC) 
RIGL § 7-16-67 (filing as pass-through) 

Form RI-1065 September 15 

Single-member LLC (SMLLC) 
RIGL § 7-16-67 (owned by individual) 

Form RI-1065 October 16 

Income tax of trust 
Fiduciary income tax return, RIGL § 44-30-51 

Form RI-1041 October 2 

Withholding of pass-through entity 
with nonresident partners, members, shareholders 

RIGL § 44-11-2.2 
Form RI-1096PT September 15 

Composite income tax return 
on behalf of qualified electing nonresident members 

RIGL § 44-11-2.2(d) 
Form RI-1040C September 15 

  

Notes: Formulas and deadlines for estimated taxes have not changed. Extended due dates for corporate income tax also apply to entities subject to 
mandatory unitary combined reporting. Single-member LLC (SMLLC) uses same due date and extended due date as its owner; this table assumes owner is 
individual. 
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REMINDER: MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS 
 
The Division of Taxation reminds motor vehicle dealers and others about the previously announced change 
in the measure of the sales and use tax involving motor vehicle transactions. Starting tomorrow, September 
15, 2017, Rhode Island sales and use tax shall be applied to documentation fees, title preparation fees, 
and other such miscellaneous fees that are charged in motor vehicle transactions (including, but not limited 
to, the sales of motor vehicles).  
 
In other words, on and after September 15, 2017, the Rhode Island sales and use tax applies to the gross 
sales price – including all documentation fees, title preparation fees, and other such miscellaneous fees. 
Thus, Rhode Island adopts the same principle that applies in a number of other states. 
 

Example: XYZ Motor Sales Inc., a dealership in Providence, R.I., sells a car to a Providence resident 
for $24,000. The purchase is made on or after September 15, 2017. As part of the transaction, XYZ 
Motor Sales Inc. also charges a $200 documentation fee and a $20 title preparation fee. The 7 
percent Rhode Island sales and use tax rate applies to the gross sales price of $24,220 – which 
includes the $24,000 car price, the $200 documentation fee, and the $20 title preparation fee. Thus, 
in this example, the tax due on the purchase is $1,695.40 ($24,220 times 0.07). 
 

 
Example 
Car price  $          24,000.00 
Documentation fee $             200.00 
Title preparation fee $              20.00 
Gross sales price (including car price and fees) $         24,220.00 
Sales tax (at 7 percent) $          1,695.40 

 
There shall be no change in the schedule for filing returns and remitting tax to the Division of Taxation: 
Dealers or others who are responsible for collecting and remitting the tax shall continue to file their monthly 
sales/use tax returns on or before the 20th day of each month, covering sales for the previous calendar 
month. For example, tax on transactions in September 2017 will be due to the Division of Taxation on or 
before October 20, 2017. Tax on transactions in October 2017 will be due on or before November 20, 2017. 
For more information, see Notice 2017-13 and Notice 2017-14, which the Division posted on its website 
and distributed on August 28, 2017: http://www.tax.ri.gov/notice/. 
 
 

REMINDER: NON-COLLECTING RETAILERS, OTHERS 
 
The Division of Taxation reminds tax professionals, business groups, and others that it has established a 
special section of its website to help foster compliance with the recently enacted “Non-Collecting 
Retailers, Referrers, and Retail Sale Facilitators Act.” The webpage provides links, forms, legislative 
language, and other items related to the new law -- all conveniently located in one place. To view the 
page: https://go.usa.gov/xRGwT. 
 
 
 
 
 

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation office is located at One Capitol Hill in Providence, R.I., diagonally 
across from the Smith Street entrance to the State House, and is open to the public from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 
p.m. business days. For more information, contact the Division of Taxation at (401) 574‐8829.   


