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ADV 2020-63 ADVISORY FOR TAX PROFESSIONALS 
TAX ADMINISTRATION DECEMBER 30, 2020 

 
 

Tax changes take effect on Friday, January 1, 2021 
Adjustments involve estate tax, interest rates, UI tax, TDI tax, other items 

 
PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Rhode Island Division of Taxation reminds tax professionals and others 
about tax changes that will take effect on Friday, January 1, 2021. 
 
“Many of these changes apply for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2021, and generally 
do not affect the tax returns that businesses and individuals will file over the next few months, 
covering the 2020 tax year,” said Tax Administrator Neena Savage.  
 
“Nevertheless, the changes are important to keep in mind now, for tax-planning purposes 
throughout the 2021 calendar year,” she said. 
 
Following are highlights of some of the changes: 
 
 

◼ ESTATE TAX 
 
Because of an inflation adjustment prescribed by statute, the Rhode Island estate tax credit 
amount will be $70,490 for decedents dying on or after January 1, 2021, up from the current 
$69,515. 
 
As a result, the Rhode Island estate tax threshold will be $1,595,156 for decedents dying on or 
after January 1, 2021, up from the current threshold of $1,579,922. 
 
Thus, in general, for a decedent dying 
in 2021, a net taxable estate valued at 
$1,595,156 or less will not be subject 
to Rhode Island’s estate tax. Due to 
the inflation adjustment, fewer estates 
will be subject to Rhode Island’s 
estate tax in 2021. 
 
(In certain circumstances, the Rhode 
Island estate tax will not apply regardless of the estate’s 
size: Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-22 provides full details on the computation of the 
tax, including such factors as the marital and charitable deductions.) 
 
 

Estate tax at a glance 

 2020* 2021** 

Estate tax credit amount $69,515 $70,490 

Estate tax threshold $1,579,922 $1,595,156 

* For decedents dying in calendar year 2020. ** For decedents dying in calendar 

year 2021. 
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◼ INTEREST RATES 
 
Interest on overpayments (refunds) for 
calendar year 2021 will be at the rate of 
3.25% per annum, compared with the 
rate of 5.00% per annum for calendar 
year 2020.  
 
For calendar year 2021, the interest 
rate on underpayments (delinquencies) will be 18%, the same as the rate for 2020. 
 
 

◼ STATE UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX (UI) 
 

The taxable wage base for Rhode Island’s state unemployment insurance tax (UI) will be $24,600 
in 2021 for most employers, compared with $24,000 in 2020, an increase of $600, or 
approximately 2.5%. (“Taxable wage base” generally means the amount of an employee’s wages 
to which the tax rate applies.) 
 
The tax rate schedule employers will use in their calculations will change, ushering in a somewhat 
higher range of tax rates: In 2020, employers used Schedule F. In 2021, employers will use 
Schedule H.  
 
Thus, the experience rating schedules, which ranged from 0.69% to 9.19% in 2020 under 
schedule F, will be increased to 0.99% to 9.59% in 2021 under schedule H.  Note: These rate 
ranges are for the employment security tax (ES) only and do not include the additional Job 
Development Fund (JDF) assessment of 0.21%.  
 
The schedule change has been made 
in response to a reduction in the State’s 
unemployment insurance trust fund. 
The trust fund balance declined in 
response to an increase in claims for 
unemployment benefits amid the global 
coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.[1] 
 
A separate, higher taxable wage base applies for employers who have experienced considerable 
unemployment – and who therefore have used the UI system’s resources the most and are taxed 
at the highest state UI tax rate of 9.59%. For those employers, the taxable wage base will be 
$26,100 for 2021, up from $25,500 for 2020, an increase of $600, or 2.35%. In general, the higher 
wage base is intended to help offset the large impact that these employers have on the State’s 
unemployment insurance trust fund. 
 
The job development assessment will remain at 0.21% for 2021. 
 
 

 
[1] The fund balance was approximately $202.18 million as of September 30, 2020, compared with approximately $525.79 million on the same date in 2019. 

Interest rates at a glance 

 2020 2021 

Overpayments 5.00% 3.25% 

Underpayments 18% 18% 

Note: Rates are set by formulas set forth in statute. 

Rhode Island unemployment insurance (UI) tax at a glance 

 2020 2021 

Taxable wage base $24,000 $24,600 

Tax rate schedule F H 

Tax rate range 0.69% to 9.19% 0.99% to 9.59% 

Tax rate ranges do not include the 0.21% assessment for the Job Development Fund, which 

is the same for 2021 as it was for 2020. 
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◼ STATE TEMPORARY DISABILITY INSURANCE TAX (TDI) 
 

The taxable wage base for Rhode Island’s temporary disability insurance (TDI) tax will be $74,000 
for 2021, compared with $72,300 for 2020, an increase of $1,700, or 2.35%. 
 
The “taxable wage base” is the amount 
of an employee’s wages to which the 
TDI tax is applied. For 2021, the TDI tax 
rate will be 1.3%, the same as for 2020. 
Thus, the maximum TDI tax will be 
$962.00 for 2021, up from $939.90 for 
2020, an increase of $22.10, or 2.35%. 
 
(Whether the amount of TDI tax goes up or down – or stays the same – for any particular individual 
will generally depend on how much the individual earns.) 
 
Revenue from the TDI tax covers not only the TDI program but also Rhode Island’s temporary 
caregiver insurance (TCI) program. In general, TCI can provide eligible claimants with up to four 
weeks of caregiver benefits to care for a seriously ill child, spouse, domestic partner, parent, 
parent-in-law, or grandparent, or to bond with a newborn child, newly adopted child, or new foster-
care child. 

 
 

◼ TAX CREDITS EXTENDED 
 
Several Rhode Island tax credit, incentive, and related programs were scheduled to sunset on 
December 31, 2020. However, as a result of legislation approved by the Rhode Island General 
Assembly and signed into law by Rhode Island Governor Gina M. Raimondo, the sunset for each 
has been extended by six months, to June 30, 2021.1 The programs whose sunsets have been 
extended out to June 30, 2021, include the following: 
 

▪ The “Rebuild Rhode Island Tax Credit” program, under Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 42-64.20, was originally scheduled to sunset on December 31, 2020. Instead, 
under the new law, no credits shall be authorized to be reserved after June 30, 2021.  
 

▪ The “Rhode Island Tax Increment Financing” program, under Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 42-64.21, was originally scheduled to sunset on December 31, 2020. Instead, 
under the new law, no agreement under the program can be entered into after June 30, 
2021. 
 

▪ The “Stay Invested in RI Wavemaker Fellowship” program, under Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter 42-64.26, was originally scheduled to sunset on December 31, 2020. 
Instead, under the new law, no incentives or credits can be authorized under the program 
after June 30, 2021. 

 

 
1 House Bill 7171, Substitute A: http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText20/HouseText20/H7171A.pdf. 

Temporary disability insurance (TDI) tax at a glance 

 2020 2021 

Tax rate 1.3% 1.3% 

Taxable wage base $72,300 $74,000 

Maximum tax $939.90 $962.00 

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText20/HouseText20/H7171A.pdf
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▪ The “Rhode Island Qualified Jobs Incentive Act of 2015” program, under Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-48.3, was originally scheduled to sunset on December 31, 
2020. Instead, under the new law, no credits can be authorized to be reserved after June 
30, 2021. 

 
 

PROGRAM: RHODE ISLAND GEN. LAWS:  NEW SUNSET: 

Rhode Island Qualified Jobs Incentive Act of 2015 Chapter 44-48.3 June 30, 2021 

Rebuild Rhode Island Tax Credit Chapter 42-64.20 June 30, 2021 

Rhode Island Tax Increment Financing Chapter 42-64.21 June 30, 2021 

Stay Invested in RI Wavemaker Fellowship Chapter 42-64.26 June 30, 2021 

 
 
 
 

FOR MORE INFORMATION 
 

For details about personal income tax standard deduction amounts, exemptions, tax 
brackets, and related information for the 2021 tax year, click here. 
 
For more on the Rhode Island estate tax credit and threshold, click here. 
 
For more about interest rates, click here. 
 
For more about UI and TDI taxes, click here and here. 
 
For employer withholding tax tables for 2021, click here. 
 
For the employee withholding certificate for 2021 (Form RI W-4), click here. 

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation office is open to the public 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. To learn more, see the 

agency's website: www.tax.ri.gov , or call (401) 574‐8829. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV_2020_59.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV_2020_53.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV_2020_41.pdf
https://www.ri.gov/press/view/39986
https://dlt.ri.gov/documents/pdf/quickref.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2021/Withholding/2021%20Withholding%20Tax%20Booklet.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2021/Withholding/RI%20W-4%202021.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/

