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Tax filing and payment due date for 2020 PPP loan forgiveness is March 31, 2022 
 
PROVIDENCE, R.I. –The Rhode Island Division of Taxation reminds taxpayers that the 
deadline for filing and paying taxes in relation to Paycheck Protection Program  loans 
forgiven in 2020 is March 31, 2022. 
 
The federal Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) was launched in early 2020 to provide 
loans, backed by the U.S. Small Business Administration, to help businesses and 
nonprofits keep their workforces employed during the coronavirus (COVID-19) 
pandemic. Some borrowers qualified for PPP loan forgiveness. Under RI law passed in 
July of 2021, if the amount of PPP loan forgiveness exceeds $250,000, the increment 
above $250,000 must be included in income for Rhode Island tax purposes.1 
 
Under Rhode Island law, interest and penalty on the taxable portion of the forgiven PPP 
loan for 2020 under the corporate income tax, the bank excise tax, and the personal 
income tax is waived so long as the tax is paid in full by the taxpayer on or before 
March 31, 2022.  Failure to make payment of the tax due on or before March 31, 2022, 
will result in the assessment of interest and penalty. 
 
Any filing received as of 3/7/2022, for which no payment has been made, will result in 
the Division sending a notice by postal mail as a reminder to make payment. Those 
filers should send their payment with the “bill coupon” included in the notice. All other 
2020 filers may send payment with their return.  
 
On November 1, 2021, the Division issued notices and forms to entities that were 
previously identified as having PPP loan forgiveness in 2020. If any of these entities 
does not file by March 31, 2022, the Division will attempt to contact these entities 
regarding the missing filings. If it is determined that a filing is required, the Division will 
request that a filing be completed. If a filing is not completed, the Division will then 
have to issue an assessment based upon the taxable portion of the 2020 PPP loan 
forgiveness.  
 
2021 PPP Loan Forgiveness Reporting Requirements 
 
Form RI-PPP will not be used for tax year 2021 returns. PPP loan forgiveness for 2021 
will be included on your normal income tax filing and due on the entity’s normal filing 

 
1Legislation approved by the Rhode Island General Assembly and signed into law by Rhode Island Governor Daniel J. McKee on 
July 6, 2021, addressed the issue of PPP loan forgiveness as it relates to the Rhode Island corporate income tax, bank excise tax, 
and personal income tax; House Bill 6122, Substitute A, as amended: 
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText21/HouseText21/H6122Aaa.pdf. 

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText21/HouseText21/H6122Aaa.pdf
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due date. Exactly where on the 2021 return your incremental amount will be reported 
depends on the entity type.  
 
Below are examples of where to locate this information: 
 

Where to report 2021 incremental amount 
Entity Type Form Location 

• C corporation 
• LLC treated as a corporation 

for federal tax purposes 

RI-1120C Schedule C, line 1d 

• Subchapter S corporation 
• LLC treated as a subchapter S 

corporation for federal tax 
purposes 

RI-1120S Schedule C, line 1e 

• Partnership (including LLP and 

LP) 
• All LLCs other than those 

listed above 

RI-1065 Schedule C, line 1e 

 
The Division’s website provides additional guidance about the Rhode Island tax 
treatment of PPP loan forgiveness amounts including answers to a number of 
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs): 
 

• The Division’s Paycheck Protection Program Loan Forgiveness Information page: 
https://tax.ri.gov/guidance/ppp-loan-forgiveness 
 

• PPP FAQs: https://tax.ri.gov/media/17676/download 
 
 
 

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation, part of the Rhode Island Department of Revenue, is open to the 
public from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. For more information, contact the Division of Taxation 
at (401) 574‐8829 or see https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us. 

https://tax.ri.gov/guidance/ppp-loan-forgiveness
https://tax.ri.gov/media/17676/download
https://tax.ri.gov/about-us/contact-us

