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FAQs on PPP Loan Forgiveness Treatment

Legislation approved by the Rhode Island General Assembly and signed into law by Rhode Island Governor Daniel J.
McKee on July 6, 2021, addressed the issue of Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) loan forgiveness as it relates to the
Rhode Island corporate income tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11), bank excise tax (Chapter 44-14), and
personal income tax (Chapter 44-30).2

Under that legislation, as enacted, if the amount of PPP loan forgiveness exceeds $250,000, the increment above
$250,000 must be included in income for Rhode Island tax purposes.

Also, under that legislation, as enacted, the Division must waive interest and penalty on the portion of the forgiven PPP
loan for 2020 that is taxed under the corporate income tax, the bank excise tax, and the personal income tax -- provided
that the tax on that portion is paid in full by the taxpayer on or before March 31, 2022.

Following are answers to frequently asked questions (FAQs) about the Rhode Island tax treatment of PPP loan
forgiveness.

1) Is my PPP loan forgiven under federal law taxable for Rhode Island purposes?

Yes. If the amount of the forgiven loan exceeds $250,000, that portion above $250,000 is taxable.
Under Rhode Island General Laws 8§ 44-11-11(a)(1)(iv), 44-14-11, and 44-30-12(b)(8), if the
amount of the forgiven PPP loan exceeds $250,000, the increment above $250,000 must be
included in income for Rhode Island tax purposes.

2) Is the full amount of the loan forgiveness taxable?

No. Only the loan forgiveness amount greater than $250,000 is taxable. For example, if
Corporation A had PPP loan forgiveness for 2020 that totaled $270,000, only the amount that
exceeds Rhode Island’s $250,000 threshold -- the “$20,000 increment” -- would be taxable.

T On November 10, 2021, this document was expanded to include four additional questions: 2a, 16a, 17a, and 20a. In addition, Form
RI-PPP - Entity has been revised to clarify the instructions for line 9. http://www.tax.ri.gov/PPPLoans/index.php

2 House Bill 6122, Substitute A, as amended: http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Bill Text/BillText21/HouseText21/H6122Aaa.pdf. See also:
http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV 2021 39.pdf.



http://www.tax.ri.gov/PPPLoans/index.php
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText21/HouseText21/H6122Aaa.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV_2021_39.pdf

2a) Is the PPP loan forgiveness taxable for Rhode Island purposes in the year the loan is
forgiven in or the year the loan was issued? Does it matter if the taxpayer uses a cash
or accrual basis of accounting?

The income from PPP loan forgiveness would be recognized as taxable income in the year the
loan was forgiven, which is the same treatment as any other cancellation of debt. For example,
if a PPP loan issued in 2020 and was forgiven in 2021, the income from the PPP loan forgiveness
would be recognized in 2021 and thus the tax would be due with the 2021 tax return. This is
true regardless of whether the taxpayer uses a cash or an accrual basis of

accounting.
(Question 2a was added on 11/10/21)

3) My Rhode Island tax return for 2020 was already filed. How do | report the income?

Whether you have already filed your tax return for 2020 or not, the Division will mail Form RI-PPP
- Entity (see screenshot below), along with a notice and instructions, to each entity whose PPP
loan forgiveness for 2020 is greater than $250,000. The form is also available on the Division’s
website. Previous guidance issued by the Division instructed taxpayers to not include the PPP
loan forgiveness income in their 2020 tax return.

. State of Rhode Island Division of Taxation .
2020 Form RI-PPP - Entity

Paycheck Protection Program Tax Return for an Entity
Federal employer identification number For the taxable year from

/2020  through
Name E-mail address

Address 1 Address 2

City, town or post office State ZIP code

Le up P Partnership SMLLC SCorp c-Comp Proprictor

4) lincluded the income when | filed my original return on extension. What do | do now?
You will need to contact the Division for guidance:

= For corporate income tax or bank excise tax, email: Tax.Corporate @tax.ri.gov or phone:
(401) 574-8935.

» For personal income tax, email: Tax.Assist@tax.ri.gov or phone: (401) 574-8829 and
choose option #3.

The phones are typically staffed from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. The mailing address
is:

Rhode Island Division of Taxation

One Capitol Hill

Providence, RI 02908



mailto:Tax.Corporate@tax.ri.gov
mailto:Tax.Assist@tax.ri.gov
http://www.tax.ri.gov/PPPLoans/2020%20PPP_ENTITY.pdf

5) I plan to use Form RI-PPP - Entity to report PPP loan forgiveness for 2020. How does
the Division know which taxpayers should be sent the form?

The Division obtained the information from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). PPP
loans are backed by the SBA and the SBA has made information regarding loan recipients
publicly available.

6) | planto use Form RI-PPP - Entity to report my PPP loan forgiveness amount for 2020,
but what if I do not receive the form in the mail? Will the form be available online?

Yes. The Division has created a webpage that includes forms, instructions, and other information
about the Rhode Island tax treatment of PPP loan forgiveness amounts. (See screenshot below.)
Please use the following link: http://www.tax.ri.gov/PPPLoans/index.php.

R.L Government

! . | Contact Us | Related Links | Search Taxation:

Paycheck Protection Program Loan Forgiveness Information

> Paycheck Protection Program Loan Forgiveness
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7) Will I be able to complete Form RI-PPP for 2020 using my tax-preparation software?

No. It is unlikely that providers of tax-preparation software will support the form and the
timetable does not allow for this retroactive change to be implemented. Another reason is that
providers are focused now mainly on configuring their federal and state programs for the
coming tax-filing season, covering the 2021 tax year (not the 2020 tax year). Also, the number
of taxpayers subject to the tax on PPP loan forgiveness amounts is small when compared with
the overall number of taxpayers. The Division strongly encourages you to use the form mailed
to you. The form is also on the Division’s website: http://www.tax.ri.gov/PPPLoans/index.php.

Key dates involving PPP loan forgiveness for 2020 tax year ‘

November 1, 2021 Division begins mailing Form RI-PPP - Entity and notice to certain
taxpayers.

December 15, 2021 Due date for Form RI-PPP.

January 31, 2022 Reminder mailing for those who filed Form RI-PPP but did not pay.
Also, assessment mailing for those who have not filed and paid.

March 31, 2022 Pay by this date to avoid penalty and interest.

April 2022 Notice of penalty and interest sent to those not paid in full.



http://www.tax.ri.gov/PPPLoans/index.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/PPPLoans/index.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/PPPLoans/index.php

8) Can | e-file the form, or file the form via the Division’s taxpayer portal?

At this time, the form must be filed only in the way one would normally file a paper form: by using
the United States Postal Service, certain private delivery services, or the drop box at the Division’s
office. If you plan to use the drop box, please first review the information about the mask mandate
for office visits and the information about drop box use, via the following two links:

e http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV 2021 33.pdf
e http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV 2021 35.pdf#page=3

9) When is the payment due for the tax on this income?

The Division encourages you to submit payment with your completed Form RI-PPP on or before
December 15, 2021. But there is no requirement to pay by December 15, 2021. In order to avoid
interest and penalty, the tax must be paid in full on or before March 31, 2022.

10) Is this income subject to interest and penalties?

Provided that the tax is paid in full on or before March 31, 2022, you will not be subject to any
interest or penalties related to that tax payment. Interest and penalties will apply, however, if
payment is not received by the Division on or before March 31, 2022.

11) lunderstand that the Division will mail me Form RI-PPP - Entity, which includes
instructions, and the related notice on or about November 1, 2021. Can | pay before
then?

It is best to wait until you receive the form, which includes
instructions, and the related notice. That way, you’ll be able to
make sure that you are correctly computing the tax due.

Also, sending in payment along with your completed Form RI-
PPP - Entity will help to ensure that the payment is promptly and
properly credited to your account. So, please wait until you
receive your form in the mail in early November 2021. (The
Division will be unable to process payments related to tax year
PPP loan liabilities for the 2020 tax year without the form being
filed.)

PPP

12) If | file my completed Form RI-PPP on or before December 15, 2021, but do not pay the
tax due, will the Division send me a notice or other reminder later on?

Yes. If you do not pay the tax due when you file your completed Form RI-PPP, the Division will
send you a notice in the mail on or about January 31, 2022, reminding you that your payment is
due. Remember: Interest and penalty will be waived if the tax is paid on or before March 31, 2022.



http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV_2021_33.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV_2021_35.pdf#page=3

13) If I do not file my completed Form RI-PPP on or before December 15, 2021, will the
Division send me a reminder?

If your PPP loan forgiveness amount for 2020 exceeded $250,000 and you do not file a completed
Form RI-PPP on or before December 15, 2021, the Division will determine the amount of your
balance tax due based upon the best available information. The Division will then send you an
assessment in the mail, on or about January 31, 2022. In response, please submit a completed
Form RI-PPP. You may also enclose payment with your submission. Although payment is not
required at that point, sending in payment along with your completed Form RI-PPP will help to
ensure that the payment is promptly and properly credited to your account. Doing so also may give
taxpayers and tax professionals time to clear their desks in time for the regular tax-filing season,
which starts in January 2022.

14) If a pass-through entity had PPP loan forgiveness for 2020, that pass-through entity
can pay the Rhode Island tax at the entity level or have the entity’s owners pay the tax.
What are the reporting differences?

If the pass-through entity chooses to pay the tax, the pass-through entity completes and files Form
RI-PPP - Entity on or before December 15, 2021 and is encouraged to make the tax payment at
that time.

However, if the pass-through entity chooses to have the owners pay the tax, the entity must
complete and file Form RI-PPP - Entity and provide each of the entity’s owners with a copy of the
completed Form RI-PPP - Entity. Furthermore, each owner will then have to fill out his or her own
Form RI-PPP - Individual (see screenshot below), file the completed Form RI-PPP - Individual with
the Division, and pay his or her proportionate share of the tax due.

. State of Rhode Island Division of Taxation .
2020 Form RI-PPP - Individual
Paycheck Protection Program Tax Return for an Individual

‘Your social security number Spouse's social security number
Your first name Ml Last name Suffix
Spouse’s name Ml  Last name Suffix

Address

City, town or post office State ZIP code
FILING . " " o
N Married filing Married filing Head of Qualifying
STATUS  Single => jointly = separately = housshold = widow(er)

Check one

15) Will the pass-through entity be able to claim PPP loan forgiveness tax payment on the
PTE return?

The Division is anticipating updating the RI-PTE form and instructions for 2021 tax year to include
the ability to claim PPP loan forgiveness tax payment and report the income. Please check the
2021 RI-PTE instructions for more details. However, the ability to claim the payment is only
available if the pass-through entity election is made for the 2021 tax year in its entirety.




16) If the entity claims PPP loan forgiveness tax payment on the PTE return, will the
resulting credit apply to 2020 PTE returns or 2021 PTE returns?

The credit would apply to 2021 tax returns regardless of the taxpayer's method of accounting.
This is because the liability did not exist at the end of tax year 2020 and it only became fixed and
determinable once the legislation was signed by Governor McKee on July 6, 2021.

16a) If the entity is a pass-through entity, how will it report the income and tax paid from
its original tax filing on the RI-PPP — Entity form?

The answer depends on whether a PTE election was made for the 2020 tax year:

= If the entity elected the PTE filing originally, it would report the income from its original tax
filing (R1-1120S or RI-1065, line 4) on line 4 of the RI-PPP — Entity form and the tax
reported on the 2020 RI-PTE line 5 on the RI-PPP - Entity form line 9.

= If the entity election was not made for 2020, then the amount reported on the RI-PPP —
Entity form line 4 and line 9 would be zero and it would pay the full amount of tax due on
the taxable portion of the PPP loan forgiveness. The minimum tax paid on any pass-
through entity tax return (RI-1120S or RI-1065) would not be included in any tax due paid
on the RI-PPP — Entity form.

= |f electing to file the RI-PPP — Individual form, then the entity payments would not impact
the calculation as the entity would use the RI-PPP - Entity Schedule A line 3 to populate

Schedule C in order to calculate the individual’s tax due.
(Question 16a was added on 11/10/21)

17) Is there any other method of reporting our taxable PPP loan forgiveness amount?

If the entity does not elect to pay the tax for the owners, the only method for reporting the taxable
PPP loan forgiveness amount is as follows: The entity must complete and file Form RI-PPP - Entity
and provide each of the entity’s owners with a copy of the completed Form RI-PPP - Entity.
Furthermore, each owner will then have to fill out his or her own Form RI-PPP - Individual, file the
completed Form RI-PPP - Individual with the Division, and pay his or her proportionate share of
the tax due.

17a) What if one of the members is not an individual and could not be included in the RI-
PTE filing for 2020, where would we get the amount for Line 4 of the RI-PPP — Entity
form?

In this scenario, multiple RI-PPP — Entity forms would need to be filed:

The entity which filed the RI-PTE would enter the amount from the 2020 RI-PTE form line

3. The reason for this is that the Form RI-1120S and Form RI-1065 line 4 amount would
include the Rhode Island adjusted taxable income for all entities. Since the pass-through entity
tax is only available to individuals, the PTE amount would account for the non-PTE entities
only.




The entity’s members that were not eligible to be included in the RI-PTE filing, will need to file
their own RI-PPP — Entity form listing the Rhode Island adjusted taxable income from their

particular tax return.
(Question 17a was added on 11/10/21)

18) I received multiple PPP loans that were forgiven. Is each forgiven loan over $250,000
taxable?

Yes. If a taxpayer had two or more PPP loans, and there was forgiveness of more than
$250,000 for each loan for 2020, the increment that exceeded $250,000 for each loan must be
included in income and is taxable. Please see the third example in the Division’s “Summary of
Legislative Changes” via the following link: https://go.usa.gov/xeY6k.

If a taxpayer had multiple PPP loans, the threshold calculation is made on each loan. Tax is due
on the amount of loan forgiveness above $250,000 for each loan.

On the other hand, if a taxpayer had multiple PPP loans, and there was forgiveness of less than
$250,000 for each loan for 2020, none of it is treated as income for Rhode Island tax purposes.
(Remember: The $250,000 threshold test applies to each loan, not to the aggregate amount of
multiple loans.)

19) | have locations/businesses in multiple states. Will my entire loan amount be taxable
in Rhode Island?

The RI-PPP - Entity form will have a line item to apply the apportionment percentage per the
original return. This will allow for the allocation of the PPP loan, and other income for businesses
located in multiple states, based on the income allocation as filed on the original return.

20) I am a Massachusetts entity that received a PPP loan from the SBA, but | do not have
nexus in Rhode Island. Some of the entity’s shareholders are Rhode Island residents.
How should the Rhode Island resident shareholders report their portion of the PPP loan
received by the Massachusetts entity?

The PPP loan forgiveness income is added to the federal taxable income for the entity and then
apportioned to Rhode Island. As this Massachusetts entity has no nexus with Rhode Island, there
would be a 0% apportionment and the Rhode Island resident would have no PPP loan forgiveness
income to apportion. If the apportionment factor was not 0%, any individual -- whether a Rhode
Island resident or nonresident -- would have to file to include that income, or the entity would have
to file the return on the shareholder’s behalf.

20a) If my entity does business in multiple states but chose the RI-PPP - Individual
option, how would my entity complete the apportionment to Rhode Island?

The individuals would take the amount attributed to them on Schedule C of the RI-PPP — Entity
form and apply the entity apportionment amount from RI-PPP — Entity form, Schedule A, line 6,

before entering the amount on the RI-PPP — Individual form line 2.
(Question 20a was added on 11/10/21)



https://go.usa.gov/xeY6k

21) PPP loan funds were intended to be used for payroll costs and keeping people
employed. Our company had people employed in multiple states. Would we use the
payroll costs to apportion the taxable amount of PPP loans to Rhode Island?

Because the PPP loan forgiveness amount that exceeds $250,000 must be included in Rhode
Island taxable income, the apportionment factor on the Rhode Island tax return would be used to
apportion the income for a multi-state entity to Rhode Island. Thus, you would not use the payroll
factors exclusively. If the entity including the PPP loan forgiveness is a C corporation, it would
use the single-sales factor apportionment method. If the entity including the PPP loan forgiveness
is a pass-through entity, it would use the three-factor apportionment method. (Three-factor
apportionment applies to all taxpayers other than C corporations.)

22) My original tax return had negative taxable income or negative adjusted taxable
income. With the inclusion of this additional income (from PPP loan forgiveness), | now
have a balance due to Rhode Island. Can | use my net operating loss carryforward, or
loss in basis of assets, to offset any of this additional income?

No additional net operating loss (NOL) would be allowable against the PPP loan forgiveness.
Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws § 44-11-11(b), a NOL deduction for Rhode Island shall
be the same as the federal, “except that: (1) [a]lny net operating
loss included in determining the deduction shall be adjusted to
reflect the inclusions and exclusions from entire net income
She required under [§ 44-11-11] and § 44-11-11.1....7
Thus, any NOL must be adjusted to include the taxable portion of
the forgiven PPP loan, subject to the limitations set forth in § 44-
11-11(b). Such limitation includes that any deduction “shall not
exceed the deduction for the taxable year allowable under 26
U.S.C. § 172; provided, that the deduction for a taxable year may not be carried back to any other
taxable year for Rhode Island purposes but shall only be allowable on a carry forward basis for
the five (5) succeeding taxable years,” according to Rhode Island General Laws 44-11-11(b)(3).

Given that the additional income from PPP loan forgiveness is not claimed on the federal return,
Rhode Island statute would not allow for an increase in NOL deduction greater than the amount
taken on the federal return.

23) Are we allowed to track basis in assets or passive losses separately from federal
since Rhode Island will have additional income to report allowing additional losses that
were previously suspended for federal purposes due to the basis limitations?

No. Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws § 44-11-11, “net income” is defined as “taxable
income of the taxpayer for that taxable year under the laws of the United States, plus...[,]” in part,
any forgiven PPP loan amount that exceeds $250,000.

As such, Rhode Island starts with the federal taxable income with applicable additions (here, the
PPP forgiven loan in excess of $250,000), and the only subtractions allowed are under § 44-11-
11(a)(v) (interest on U.S. obligations and other exempt interest) and (vi) (federal net operating
loss deduction). Thus, there is no allowance for reporting of additional passive losses or loss
bases in assets. As these are tracked on the federal level, they would continue to be used in
accordance with federal law.




24) If  am not an active participant in this business and this additional income (from PPP
loan forgiveness) would have been considered passive income on the federal return had
it been taxable, would | be able to offset the PPP loan forgiveness income with prior
passive losses?

As the Rhode Island statute is written, the possible federal treatment is not considered in the
taxability of this income. Thus, any passive losses tracked under federal statute would not be
available to offset this additional income.

» For C corporations, the amount of PPP loan forgiveness above $250,000 is included in the
Rhode Island definition of “net income” as an addition to federal taxable income for the
taxable year.

» For the personal income tax, the amount of PPP loan forgiveness above $250,000 is a
modification increasing federal taxable income for Rhode Island purposes.

» For the bank excise tax, the amount of PPP loan forgiveness above $250,000 is includable
in the definition of “gross income.”

25) Will individual taxpayers be able to claim items such as carry-forward tax credits and
losses disallowed due to basis limitations against the tax due?

Rhode Island credits would be allowable. However, any items tracked in accordance with
federal law would not be allowed -- because Rhode Island law starts with federal taxable
income/federal adjusted gross income and does not allow for the separate accounting. There is
a line on Form RI-PPP -- the version for the entity and the version for the individual -- on which
the additional Rhode Island credit can be claimed. (See screenshot below.) Note: If you claim
any applicable credit, you must include an updated credit schedule with your filing.

Schedule A: Calculation of Tax

-

Paycheck Protection Program Loan forgiveness amount..................cooiiiiiiiccieieicecieeeees. 1

2 Paycheck Protection Program Loan forgiveness amount not subject to tax.................................... 2 250000 00
3 Net Paycheck Protection Program Loan forgiveness amount. Subtract line 2 fromline 1., 3
4 Reported Adjusted Taxable Income from RI-1120C, RI-1120S, or RIF1065, line 4..........c.cccovvcicvccvcncicn. 4
5 New adjusted taxable income. Add lines 3and 4...........ccooovmroeciceieccecceeces 5
6 APPOrHONMENE RO ...t e e e e e e e eene 6
7 Apportioned adjusted taXable INCOME............ccow oo eeeeeeaeee e cesee s eies e emses s ees s sessaesans 7
8 Tax: Multiply line 7 by the applicable tax rate - C-Corps 7.0%, All others 5.99%.........ccccocoeveevecovccvrccne. B

9 Taxdue on onginal FetUML ... ... oo enneeees D)

10 Additional Rhode Island Credits from RI Schedule B-CR. Do not include any amount used on original retun 10




26) My subtraction modification related to bonus depreciation resulted in a negative
Rhode Island taxable income for 2020. Will | be able to offset my PPP loan forgiveness
income above $250,000 with this excess bonus deprecation?

Yes. The excess bonus depreciation, along with any other subtraction modifications, would be
allowed to offset the PPP loan forgiveness income.

The following questions relate only to returns for the 2021 tax year.

27) I had a PPP loan forgiven in 2021. Will | use Form RI-PPP for 20217

No. Form RI-PPP will not be used for tax year 2021 returns. Although the Division is still
reviewing and revising its forms and instructions for the coming filing season, the Division plans
to provide for reporting 2021 PPP loan forgiveness taxable income as part of the corporation’s
2021 return.

Exactly where on the 2021 return the incremental amount will be reported depends on the form
filed by the entity.? It is likely that, on returns for the 2021 tax year:

= For a C corporation, the taxable increment would be reported on Form RI-1120C,
Schedule C (“Additions to Federal Taxable Income”).

» For a subchapter S corporation, the taxable increment would be reported on Form RI-
1120S, Schedule C (“Additions to Federal Taxable Income”).

= For a partnership, the taxable increment would be reported on Form RI-1065, Schedule
C (“Additions to Federal Taxable Income”).

= |f alimited liability company (LLC) is treated as a corporation for federal tax purposes, it
must file Form RI-1120C and would report the taxable increment on Schedule C of Form
RI-1120C.

= |fan LLC is treated as a subchapter S corporation for federal tax purposes, it must file
Form RI-1120S and would report the taxable increment on Schedule C of Form RI-
1120S.

= All LLCs other than those listed above must file Form RI-1065 and would report the
taxable increment on Form RI-1065, Schedule C (“Additions to Federal Taxable
Income”).

However, as noted above, final decisions have not been made on all of the forms and
instructions for the 2021 tax year, which are still under review.

3 The instructions for the applicable form will provide additional information.




28) How will the reporting of the PPP loan forgiveness income affect my estimated
payments and underestimated interest calculation on my 2021 tax return?

The safe harbor calculation for underestimated interest works as follows:

v' For taxpayers other than individuals, estimated payments are required for 100% of the
current year’s tax due or 100% of the prior year’s tax.

v' For individuals, estimated payments are required for 80% of the current year’s tax due or
100% of the prior year’s tax.

For 2021 estimates, a taxpayer would still meet the safe harbor if estimated payments are made
up to 100% of the taxpayer’s 2021 tax due (80% of the 2021 tax for individual returns).

To the extent there would be underestimated payment interest in relation to the taxable portion
of the PPP forgiven loan for the 2020 tax year, such interest would be waived pursuant to statutory
authority based on the circumstances and timing of the enactment of the tax.

Note: This publication is intended only as a plain-language summary of Rhode Island tax law as it relates to PPP loan
forgiveness and is subject to revision. The information contained in this publication is not a substitute for Rhode Island
statutes or for Rhode Island Division of Taxation regulations, rulings, or decisions.

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation, part of the Rhode Island Department of Revenue, operates from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
business days. For more information, contact the Division of Taxation at (407) 574-8829 or see
http://www.tax.ri.gov/contact/.



http://www.tax.ri.gov/contact/

