### 2018 RI-1040ES Rhode Island Resident and Nonresident Estimated Payment Coupons

#### WHO MUST MAKE ESTIMATED PAYMENTS

Every resident and nonresident individual shall make estimated Rhode Island personal income tax payments if his or her estimated Rhode Island personal income tax can be reasonably expected to be \$250 or more in excess of any credits allowable against his or her tax, whether or not he or she is required to file a federal estimated tax for such year.

#### JOINT RETURNS

Married individuals may make joint payments as if they were one taxpayer, in which case the liability with respect to the estimated tax shall be joint and several. No joint payments may be made if the married individuals are separated under a decree of divorce or of separate maintenance. If joint payments are made, but the married individuals determine their Rhode Island income taxes separately, the estimated tax, for such period, may be treated as the estimated tax of either individual, or may be divided between them, as they may elect.

#### CHANGES IN INCOME

Even though on April 15, 2018 you do not expect your tax to be large enough to require making estimated payments, a change in income may require you to make estimated payments later.

#### HOW TO ESTIMATE YOUR TAX FOR 2018

Your 2018 estimated income tax may be based upon your 2017 income tax liability. If you wish to compute your 2018 estimated income tax, use the enclosed estimated tax worksheet.

#### CREDIT FOR INCOME TAX OVERPAYMENT

Your credit for income tax overpayment from your 2017 Rhode Island income tax return may be deducted from the first installment of your 2018 estimated tax, and any excess credit from succeeding installments.

#### WHEN AND WHERE TO MAKE ESTIMATES

1st Estimate Due.....April 15, 2018 2nd Estimate Due.....June 15, 2018 3rd Estimate Due.....September 15, 2018 4th Estimate Due.....January 15, 2019 Note: You do not have to make your January 15, 2019 payment if you file your 2018 return by February 15, 2019, and pay the entire balance due with your return.

Mail to: Rhode Island Division of Taxation One Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908

#### ALLOWABLE CREDITS

Only the following credits are allowed against Rhode Island personal income tax:

- 1) RI Earned Income Credit RIGL §44-30-2.6(c)(2)(N)
- 2) Property Tax Relief Credit RIGL §44-33
- 3) RI Residential Lead Abatement Credit RIGL \$44-30.3
- 4) Credit for Taxes Paid to Other States RIGL §44-30-18
- 5) Historic Structures Tax Credit RIGL §44-33.2
- 6) Historic Preservation Tax Credits 2013 RIGL §44-33.6
- 7) Motion Picture Production Tax Credit RIGL §44-31.2 8) Musical and Theatrical Production Tax Credits -RIGL §44-31.3
- 9) Child and Dependent Care Credit
- 10) Credits for Contributions to Scholarship
- - Organizations RIGL §44-62

12) Rebuild Rhode Island Tax Credit - RIGL §42-64.20 13) Stay Invested in RI Wavemaker Credit - RIGL §42-64.26

#### CHARGE FOR UNDERPAYMENT OF INSTALL-MENTS OF ESTIMATED TAX

An interest charge is imposed for underpayment of an installment of estimated tax. The Rhode Island income tax law follows similar provisions of the Internal Revenue Code with respect to exceptions. Such charge on any unpaid installment shall be computed on the amount by which the actual pavments and credits applied to the tax are less than 80% of such installment at the time it is due. If it appears there was an underpayment of any installment of estimated tax, you may attach Form RI-2210 (if any of the exceptions apply) to your Rhode Island income tax return explaining why an additional charge should not be made.

#### PENALTIES

The law imposes penalties and interest charges for failing to pay estimated tax due or for making false or fraudulent statements.

#### OTHER QUESTIONS

Further assistance may be obtained by calling the Personal Income Tax Section at (401) 574-8829 and selecting option #3, or by visiting the Rhode Island Division of Taxation's website at www.tax.ri.gov.

	2018 Tax Rate Schedule - FOR ALL FILING STATUS TYPES								
Taxable Income (line 4)					%		of the		
	Over	В	ut not over		Pay -	F	on excess	an	nount over
\$	0	\$	62,550	\$			3.75%	\$	0
	62,550		142,150		2,345.63	+	4.75%		62,550
	142,150				6,126.63	+	5.99%		142,150

<b>RECORD OF EST</b>	IMATED PAYME	NTS A	В	С	D
Payment Number	Check Number	Date	Amount	2017 Overpayment credit applied	Total amount paid and credited (add column B and Column C)
1.					
2.					
3.					
4.					
·					

DETACH HERE AND MAIL WITH YOUR PAYMENT

## 2018 RI-1040ES STATE OF RHODE ISLAND ESTIMATED PAYMENT COUPON DIVISION OF TAXATION - ONE CAPITOL HILL - PROVIDENCE, RI 02908

YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER	Return this coupon with check or money order payable to: Rhode Island Division of Taxation	DUE DATE
SPOUSE'S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, IF JOINT PAYMENT	One Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908 Please do not send cash with this coupon.	JANUARY 15, 2019
NAME		
ADDRESS	11	
CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE	1. ENTER AMOUNT	
FILE ONLY IF YOU ARE MAKING A PAYMENT OF EST		.0 (

PART 1 ES	TIN	ATED RHODE ISLAND INCOME TAX WORKSHEET			
	1	Modified Federal AGI		1.	
Single	2	Rhode Island Standard Deduction Amount from Deduction V	Vorksheet below	2.	
\$8,525	3	Rhode Island Exemption Amount from Exemption Workshee	t below	3.	
Married	4	Taxable income. Subtract lines 2 and 3 from line 1	4.		
filing jointly or	5	Figure your 2018 tax on the amount on line 4 using the 2018	3 Tax Rate Schedule located on the front	5.	
Qualifying widow(er)	6	Enter your 2017 Rhode Island income tax		6.	
\$17,050	7	Enter the SMALLER of lines 5 or 6		7.	
Married	8	Estimated Rhode Island credits. See instructions on the from	nt for allowable credits	8.	
filing separately	9	Line 7 less line 8		9.	
\$8,525	10	. Rhode Island income tax withheld		10.	
Head of	<ol> <li>Estimated Rhode Island income tax. Subtract line 10 from line 9</li> <li>Enter amount of 2017 RI overpayment elected for credit towards your 1st quarter 2018 estimated tax</li> </ol>				
household \$12,800					
13. Amount of estimated payments to be paid. Subtract line 12			from line 11	13.	
	14	. Divide line 13 by the number of installments to be made and	l enter here	14.	
DEDUCTIO	) N	WORKSHEET			
15. Enter Sta	Enter Standard Deduction Amount from left margin 15 23. Multiply \$4,000 by the total number of exemptions 23				
16. Is the am	ount	on line 1 more than \$199,000?	24. Is the amount on line 1 more than \$199,000?		
Yes.	Cor	tinue to line 17.	Yes. Continue to line 25.		
No.	sтс	<b>PHERE!</b> Enter the amount from line 15 on line 2.	No. <b>STOP HERE!</b> Enter the amount from line 23 on line 3.		

17. Enter your Modified Federal AGI from line 1	17	25. Enter your Modified Federal	AGI from line 1	25.	
18. Deduction Phaseout Amount	<sup>18.</sup> <b>\$199,000</b>	26. Exemption Phaseout Amount		26.	\$199,000
19. Subtract line 18 from line 17. If the result is more than \$22,800, STOP HERE. Your standard deduction amount is zero (\$0).		27. Subtract line 26 from line 25. If the result is more than \$2 Your exemption amount is a	, ,	27 -	. 3
<ol> <li>20. Divide line 19 by \$5,700. If the result is not a whole number, increase it to the next higher whole number (for example, increase 0.0004 to 1).</li> </ol>		<ol> <li>28. Divide line 27 by \$5,700. If the whole number, increase it to number (for example, increase)</li> </ol>	he result is not a the next higher whole		
21.Enter the applicable percentage from the chart be <u>If the number on line 20 is:</u> then enter on line 2 1 0.8000 2 0.6000	21	29.Enter the applicable percenta <u>If the number on line 28 is:</u> 1 2	ge from the chart bel then enter on line 2 0.8000 0.6000	<u>9</u>	•
3 0.4000 4 0.2000	<sup>21.</sup> <u>0</u>	3	0.4000	29.	<u>0</u>
22. Deduction amount - Multiply line 15 by line 21. Enter here and on line 2	22	30.Exemption amount - Multipl Enter here and on line 3		30.	

\_\_\_\_\_

# 2018 RI-1040ES STATE OF RHODE ISLAND ESTIMATED PAYMENT COUPON DIVISION OF TAXATION - ONE CAPITOL HILL - PROVIDENCE, RI 02908

YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER SPOUSE'S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, IF JOINT PAYMENT	Return this coupon with check or money order payable to: Rhode Island Division of Taxation One Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908 Please do not send cash with this coupon.	DUE DATE SEPTEMBER 15, 2018
NAME	ITE	
ADDRESS	=	
CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE	1. ENTER AMOUNT DUE AND	0.0
FILE ONLY IF YOU ARE MAKING A PAYMENT OF ES	TIMATED TAX PAID -	
DET	ACH HERE AND MAIL WITH YOUR PAYMENT	

### 2018 RI-1040ES STATE OF RHODE ISLAND ESTIMATED PAYMENT COUPON DIVISION OF TAXATION - ONE CAPITOL HILL - PROVIDENCE, RI 02908

YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER SPOUSE'S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, IF JOINT PAYMENT	Return this coupon with check or money order payable to: Rhode Island Division of Taxation One Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908 Please do not send cash with this coupon.	DUE DATE JUNE 15, 2018
NAME	ITE	
ADDRESS		
CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE	1. ENTER AMOUNT DUE AND	0 0
FILE ONLY IF YOU ARE MAKING A PAYMENT OF	ESTIMATED TAX PAID	
D	ETACH HERE AND MAIL WITH YOUR PAYMENT	

## 2018 RI-1040ES STATE OF RHODE ISLAND ESTIMATED PAYMENT COUPON DIVISION OF TAXATION - ONE CAPITOL HILL - PROVIDENCE, RI 02908

YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER SPOUSE'S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, IF JOINT PAYMENT	Return this coupon with check or money order payable to: Rhode Island Division of Taxation One Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908 Please do not send cash with this coupon.	DUE DATE APRIL 15, 2018
NAME	ITE	
ADDRESS		
CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE	1. ENTER AMOUNT DUE AND	0.0
FILE ONLY IF YOU ARE MAKING A PAYMENT OF EST		00