2009 RI-1040ES Rhode Island Resident and Nonresident Estimated Payment Coupons

WHO MUST MAKE ESTIMATED PAYMENTS

Every resident and nonresident individual
shall make estimated Rhode Island personal
income tax payments if his or her estimated Rhode
Island personal income tax can be reasonably
expected to be $250 or more in excess of any cred-
its allowable against his or her tax, whether or not
he or she is required to file a federal estimated tax
for such year.

JOINT RETURNS: A husband and wife may make
joint payments as if they were one taxpayer, in
which case the liability with respect to the estimat-
ed tax shall be joint and several. No joint payments
may be made if husband and wife are separated
under a decree of divorce or of separate mainte-
nance. If joint payments are made, but husband
and wife determine their Rhode Island income
taxes separately, the estimated tax, for such period,
may be treated as the estimated tax of either hus-
band or wife, or may be divided between them, as
they may elect.

CHANGES IN INCOME: Even though on April 15,
2009 you do not expect your tax to be large enough
to require making estimated payments, a change in
income may require you to make estimated pay-
ments later.

HOW TO ESTIMATE YOUR TAX FOR 2009

Your 2009 estimated income tax may be based upon
your 2008 income tax liability. If you wish to compute
your 2009 estimated income tax, use the enclosed
estimated tax worksheet.

WHEN AND WHERE TO MAKE ESTIMATES

1st Estimate Due...........c.cc....... April 15, 2009

2nd Estimate Due... ....June 15, 2009

3rd Estimate Due.... ....September 15, 2009
4th Estimate Due.... ....January 15, 2010
Note: You do not have to make your January 15,
2010 payment if you file your 2009 return by
February 15, 2010, and pay the entire balance due
with your return.

Mail to:  STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
Division of Taxation
One Capitol Hill

Providence, Rl 02908-5810

CREDIT FOR INCOME TAX OVERPAYMENT

Your credit for income tax overpayment from your
2008 Rhode Island income tax return may be deduct-
ed from the first installment of your 2009 estimated tax,
and any excess credit from succeeding installments.

CHARGE FOR UNDERPAYMENT OF INSTALL-
MENTS OF ESTIMATED TAX

An interest charge is imposed for underpayment of
an installment of estimated tax. The Rhode Island
income tax law follows similar provisions of the
Internal Revenue Code with respect to exceptions.
Such charge on any unpaid installment shall be
computed on the amount by which the actual
payments and credits applied to the tax are less
than 80% of such installment at the time it is due. If
it appears that there was an underpayment of
any installment of estimated tax, you may attach RI-
2210 (if any of the exceptions apply) to your RI
income tax return explaining why an additional
charge should not be made.

PENALTIES

The law imposes penalties and interest charges for
failing to pay estimated tax due or for making false
or fraudulent statements.

STANDARD DEDUCTION FOR PEOPLE AGE 65
OR OLDER OR BLIND

Your standard deduction is increased by the follow-
ing amount if, at the end of 2009, you are:
Unmarried (single or head of household) and:

65 or older or blind $1,400.00
65 or older and blind $2,800.00
Married (jointly, separately or qualifying
widow(er) and:
65 or older or blind $1,100.00
65 or older and blind $2,200.00
Both spouses 65 or older $2,200.00
One spouse 65 or older and blind and

the other spouse 65 or older or blind $3,300.00
Both spouses 65 or older and blind $4,400.00
STANDARD DEDUCTION IF YOU CAN BE

CLAIMED AS A DEPENDENT

Your standard deduction if you can be claimed as a
dependent on another person’s 2009 return is the
greater of:

$950.00, or

Your earned income plus $300 (up to the stan-
dard deduction amount),

OTHER QUESTIONS

Further assistance may be obtained by calling
Taxpayer Assistance at (401) 574-8829 and select-
ing option #3, or at www.tax.ri.gov.

RECORD OF ESTIMATED PAYMENTS A B c D
Payment Check 2008 Overpayment Total amount paid and credited
Number Number Date Amount credit applied (add column B and Column C)
1.
2.
3.
4.

DETACH HERE AND MAIL WITH YOUR PAYMENT

Total

2009 RI-1040ES

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND ESTIMATED PAYMENT COUPON
DIVISION OF TAXATION * ONE CAPITOL HILL, PROVIDENCE, RI 02908-5810 ®

YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

SPOUSE’S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, IF JOINT PAYMENT

Return this coupon with check or money order
payable to the R.I. Division of Taxation, One
Capitol Hill, Providence, R.l. 02908-5810.
Please do not send cash with this coupon.

DUE DATE
JANUARY 15, 2010

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE

FILE ONLY IF YOU ARE MAKING A PAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAX

PAID

ITE

1. ENTER
AMOUNT
DUE AND



PART 1 ESTIMATED RHODE ISLAND INCOME TAX WORKSHEET

W 1Y Lo Ly 1=Te B =T [T = | USROS 1.
$5,700 2. Deductions - Rl standard deduction (left margin) or amount from Federal Schedule A, whichever is greater............ 2.
M?girr:‘;d ‘Z'ri”g 3. Number of exemptions in box then multiply by $3,650 and enter result on line 3................ I:l X $3,650 = | 3.
(Jlualif);ing 4. Taxable income - subtract lines 2 and 3 from lINE 1 .......ooiiiiiiiii e 4.
Wg’g"g’égr) 5. Figure your 2009 tax on the amount on line 4 (2009 Tax Rate Schedule) ..................... 5.
m 6. Alternative Minimum Tax and Other Rhode Island Taxes ..........cccccovovevirieiiiiieiicnienens 6.
Se;f[lastg'y 7. Total 2009 RI Tax - @dd NES 5 NG 6 ......v.oveoeeoeeeeeee oo 7.
——— | 8. Enter your 2008 RIINCOME T8X.........coviuerireieieiiiieisctetete et st s e s e s s s s s sese st sss s sese s ssss s s sesas s 8.
Head of
household 9. Enter the SMALLER Of lINES 7 OF 8 ..ottt e e et e e e e e st e e e anneeeeaneeeeeanaeeesnaeennseeeannes 9.
$8,350 . .
? 10. Estimated RNOAE ISIANA CIrEAILS.........eeiiiiieeiiie ettt e et e e e et e e s sate e e e e e e anaeeeseeaeenseeeesnseeeesnseneanes
However, 10.
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are over 65, _ i i o
blind or can be 12. RI Flat Tax - multiply line 1 by 6.5% (.0850).........ccccvriiiiiiiiiiiiieseee e 12.
claimed as a | 13. Credit for income taxes paid to another state...............ccooiiiiiiiiiie 13.
dependent, .
see the T4, LINE 12 18SS lIN@ 131 .o ettt ettt et et et e e s e e e e s et e e 2 et e e se et e eseeae et e ese et e ene et e ess et e eaeeneeeaeannea 14.
Standard 15. Enter the SMALLER Of IN€ 11 OF 14, ...ttt 15.
Deduction . .
section in the | 16+ Rhode 1SIand iNCOME taX WItNNEIG. ..........cueuiviiiiiiiiieicieii ettt 16.
instructions. | 17, Estimated Rhode Island income tax - subtract line 16 from e 15............cc.ccvveveererreeeeereeseeeeeee e 17.
18. Enter amount of 2008 RI overpayment elected for credit towards your 1st quarter 2009 estimated tax. ................. 18.
19. Amount of estimated payments to be paid - subtract line 18 from line 17 ... 19.
20. Divide line 19 by the number of installments to be made and enter here ... 20.

2009 Tax Rate Schedule
SCHEDULE Y2 -

SCHEDULE X - Use if your filing status is SINGLE

Use if your filing status is
MARRIED FILING SEPARATELY

Taxable Income (line 5) % of the
Over But not over Pay +  on excess amount over
$ 0 $33,950 §$ == 3.75% $ 0
33,950 82,250 1,273.13 + 7.00% 33,950
82,250 171,550 4,654.13 + 7.75% 82,250
171,550 372,950 11,574.88 + 9.00% 171,550
372,950  .......... 29,700.88 + 9.90% 372,950

Taxable Income (line 5) % of the
Over But not over Pay + on excess amount over
$ 0§ 28350 § 3.75% $ 0
28,350 68,525 1,063.13 + 7.00% 28,350
68,525 104,425 3,875.38 + 7.75% 68,525
104,425 186,475 6,657.63 + 9.00% 104,425
186,475 ... 14,042.13 + 9.90% 186,475

SCHEDULE Y1 - Use if your filing status is MARRIED FILING JOINTLY or

QUALIFYING WIDOW(ER)

SCHEDULE Z - Use if your filing status is HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD

Taxable Income (line 5) % of the
Over But not over Pay + on excess amountover
$ 0 $ 56,700 $ == 3.75% s 0
56,700 137,050 2,126.25 + 7.00% 56,700
137,050 208,850 7,750.75 + 7.75% 137,050
208,850 372,950 13,315.25 + 9.00% 208,850
372,950 e 28,084.25 + 9.90% 372,950

Taxable Income (line 5) % of the
Over But not over Pay + on excess amount over
$ 0 $ 45500 $ 375% $ 0
45,500 117,450 1,706.25 + 7.00% 45,500
117,450 190,200 6,742.75 + 7.75% 117,450
190,200 372,950 12,380.88 +  9.00% 190,200
372,950  .......... 28,828.38 + 9.90% 372,950




2009 RI-1040E

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND ESTIMATED PAYMENT COUPON
DIVISION OF TAXATION * ONE CAPITOL HILL, PROVIDENCE, Rl 02908-5810

YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

SPOUSE’S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, IF JOINT PAYMENT

Return this coupon with check or money order
payable to the R.I. Division of Taxation, One
Capitol Hill, Providence, R.l. 02908-5810.
Please do not send cash with this coupon.

DUE DATE
SEPTEMBER 15,
2009

NAME

ADDRESS

ITE

CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE 1. ENTER
AMOUNT
DUE AND $
PAID
FILE ONLY IF YOU ARE MAKING A PAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAX
o DETACH HERE AND MAIL WITH YOUR PAYMENT

00

2009 RI-1040E

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND ESTIMATED PAYMENT COUPON
DIVISION OF TAXATION * ONE CAPITOL HILL, PROVIDENCE, RI 02908-5810

YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

SPOUSE’S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, IF JOINT PAYMENT

Return this coupon with check or money order
payable to the R.l. Division of Taxation, One
Capitol Hill, Providence, R.l. 02908-5810.
Please do not send cash with this coupon.

DUE DATE
JUNE 15, 2009

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE

ITE

1. ENTER
AMOUNT
DUE AND
PAID

FILE ONLY IF YOU ARE MAKING A PAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAX

DETACH HERE AND MAIL WITH YOUR PAYMENT

2009 RI-1040E

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND ESTIMATED PAYMENT COUPON
DIVISION OF TAXATION * ONE CAPITOL HILL, PROVIDENCE, RI 02908-5810

YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

SPOUSE’S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, IF JOINT PAYMENT

Return this coupon with check or money order
payable to the R.I. Division of Taxation, One
Capitol Hill, Providence, R.l. 02908-5810.
Please do not send cash with this coupon.

DUE DATE
APRIL 15, 2009

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE

. FILE ONLY IF YOU ARE MAKING A PAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAX

ITE

1. ENTER
AMOUNT
DUE AND
PAID





