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shall be the excess of the installment or installments which would be
required to be paid if the advance payments were equal to eighty percent
(80%) of the tax shown on the return for the taxable year or, if no return was
filed eighty percent (80%) of the tax for such year, over the amount, if any,
of the installment paid on or before the last date prescribed for payment.

The law provides for the assessment of a penalty of 5% of the tax
imposed on such corporations for such taxable year for failure to file
required estimated tax payments.

7. CHANGE IN NET INCOME BY FEDERAL GOVERNMENT:

Any change in net income for any prior year directly affects the tax 
liability to the State of Rhode Island and such changes must be reported to
the Tax Administrator within 60 days of final adjustment or determination on
Form T-70C.

8. SUPPORTING SCHEDULES:

All schedules are to be firmly attached to back of page 3 of the return.
Each schedule must be clearly identified with the item which it supports.
Write upon one side of the sheet only, so that schedule may be read 
without detaching from the return. If space permits, more than one 
schedule may be placed on a single sheet.

9. CONSOLIDATED RETURNS:

An affiliated group, as defined in regulations promulgated by the Tax
Administrator, may file a consolidated return for the taxable year 
provided that all the corporations which constitute such affiliated group 
at any time during the period for which the return is made and which are
subject to taxation under Chapter 44-11 shall consent to the making of such
consolidated return. If the affiliated group includes corporations which are
not subject to the Rhode Island Business Corporation Tax, these 
corporations must be excluded from the Rhode Island affiliated group.
In filing a consolidated return separate income statements, balance sheets,
and if applicable, apportionment schedules for each corporation joining in
the filing, must be filed with the consolidated return.

10. INVESTMENT CREDIT

R.I. Law allows an investment tax credit of 2% of the cost or other basis
as used for federal income tax purposes of certain property used by the 
taxpayer in the production of goods by manufacturing, processing or
assembling. The credit allowed is 4% for qualified property placed in 
service January 1, 1994 through December 31, 1997 and 10% for qualified
taxpayers from January 1, 1998 and thereafter. Detailed instructions are
available on Form RI 3468 which must accompany any return claiming an
investment credit. Forms RI 3468 may be obtained at the R.I. Division of
Taxation.

11. RENEWABLE ENERGY SYSTEM CREDIT

An eligible person may claim a credit for a photovoltaic system, solar
domestic hot water system, active solar space heating system or wind 
generation system installed in a dwelling in Rhode Island. The credit for
systems claimed in 2004 is 5% of the cost of the system. For additional
requirements and information, please contact the Rhode Island Division of
Taxation, Taxpayer’s Assistance Section.

12. EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE AND DEVELOPMENT CREDIT.

A credit is available for 8% of the contribution in excess of $10,000 made
to a R.I. institution of higher education and the contribution is to be for 
the establishment or maintenance of programs of scientific research or edu-
cation. “Contributions” include the cost or other basis (for federal income tax
purposes) in excess of $10,000 of tangible personalty excluding sale dis-
counts and sale-gift arrangements concerning the purchase of equipment.
Amounts of unused credit may be carried over for 5 years and documenta-
tion of the credit requires a written statement from the institution.

13. ADULT EDUCATION TAX CREDIT.

A R.I. employer may claim a credit of 50% of the costs incurred solely and
directly for non-worksite or worksite-based adult education programs. The
maximum credit per employee under the new provisions is $300 and the
maximum overall credit per taxable year per employer is $5,000. Amounts
of credit not deductible in one tax year may not be carried over to the 
following year and may not reduce the tax to less than $500.00.

14. EMPLOYMENT TAX CREDIT

An employer who participates in the bonus program in conjunction with
Chapter 40-6.3 of the general laws shall be eligible for a tax credit as set
forth in R.I.G.L. section 40-6.3-4. An employer claiming credit must obtain a
written certificate from the Director of Human Services that the employer
has complied with the provisions of Chapter 40-6.3 and the rules and 
regulations promulgated thereunder. This credit may not reduce the tax to
less than $500.00. Amounts of unused credit may not be carried over to
subsequent years.

15. CHILD DAY-CARE ASSISTANCE AND DEVELOPMENT CREDIT

Effective July 1, 1987, a credit is allowed against the business corporation
tax of a taxpayer who pays for or provides child day-care services or that
provides real property or dedicates rental space for child day-care services
to its employees or to the employees of its commercial tenants.

The child day-care facility must be located in the State of Rhode Island
and licensed by the Department of Children and Their Families pursuant to
Chapter 42-72.1 of the general laws.

(a) If a taxpayer establishes and/or operates a child day-care facility
either alone or in conjunction with one (1) or more other taxpayers, the
credit is thirty percent (30%) of the total amount expended during the 
taxable year if the facility is used primarily by the dependent children of the
taxpayers’ employees or employees of commercial tenants of the taxpayer
during such employee’ hours of employment. As used above, the term
“amount expended” means the actual sums of money spent, or the cost or
other basis for federal tax purposes of real or tangible personal property
donated or dedicated to the establishment of a child day-care center. The
credit may not reduce the corporation tax to less than $250.00 and the
unused balance of the credit may be carried forward for the next five 
consecutive taxable years.

(b) If a taxpayer provides rental or lease space for child day-care 
services, the credit is thirty percent (30%) of the total amount foregone in
rent or lease payments. The amount foregone shall be the difference
between fair market rental and actual rentals. The credit may not reduce the
corporation tax to less than $500.00 and the unused balance of the credit
may be carried forward for the next five consecutive taxable years. A 
maximum total credit of thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) shall be allowed a
taxpayer who qualifies under (a) or (b) above.

(c) If a taxpayer purchases day-care services, the credit is thirty percent
(30%) of the amount expended and is limited to sixty percent (60%)  of the
actual cost of the day-care services purchased for each child. The total
credit is limited to thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) annually, may not
reduce the corporation tax to less than $500.00 and the unused balance
of the credit may not be carried forward.

Taxpayers claiming a child day-care assistance and development 
credit must complete and attach Form RI 2441. Forms and assistance are
available at the Rhode Island Division of Taxation, One Capitol Hill,
Providence, RI 02908-5811.

16. CAPITAL INVESTMENT IN SMALL BUSINESSES

Title 44, Chapter 44-43 of the General Laws provides a deduction for pur-
poses of computing net income under the Rhode Island Business
Corporation Tax (Chapter 44-11) for a qualifying investment in a certified
venture capital partnership and for credits to entrepreneurs of a qualifying
business entity for certain wages paid to employees of such entity.

Corporations claiming deductions for investments in certified venture
capital partnerships or entrepreneurial wage credits should contact the
Rhode Island Division of Taxation, One Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908-
5811 for forms and instructions.

17. ENTERPRISE ZONE TAX BENEFITS

The Enterprise Zone Council enacted by 42-64.3-3.1 has created RI
enterprise zones. Various tax benefits may be available to taxpayers in the
forms of business credits, special modifications, donation credits and inter-
est credits. Taxpayers wishing to use these benefits, should contact the
Division of Taxation for details.

1. Federal Taxable Income (see instructions)..................................................................................................

Deductions 2. a. Net operating loss deduction (see instructions - attach schedule)................

b. Special deductions ........................................................................................

c. Exempt dividends and interest - from page 2, Schedule B, line 10 ..............

d. Foreign dividend grossup (s78) US 1120, Schedule C, Line 15 ...................

e. Bonus Depreciation and Section 179 expense adjustment...........................

3. Total Deductions - Add lines 2a, 2b, 2c, 2d and 2e ....................................................................................

Additions 4. a. Interest (see instructions) ..............................................................................

b. Rhode Island corporate taxes (see instructions) ...........................................

c. Bonus Depreciation and Section 179 expense adjustment...........................

5. Total Additions - Add line 4a, 4b and 4c......................................................................................................

Adjustments 6. Adjusted taxable income - Line 1 less line 3 plus line 5..............................................................................

7. Rhode Island Apportionment Ratio - from schedule F, line 5......................................................................

8. Rhode Island taxable income - Multiply line 6 by line 7 ..............................................................................

9. Research and development adjustments (see instructions, attach schedule) ..

10. a. Pollution control and hazardous waste adjustment (see instructions) ..........

b. Capital investment deduction ........................................................................

11. Total - add lines 9, 10a, and 10b.................................................................................................................

12. Rhode Island adjusted taxable income - line 8 plus or minus line 11 .........................................................

Tax and 13. Rhode Island income tax - 9% of line 12.....................................................................................................

Credits 14. RI Credits: 3468 (ITC) 7695P (R&D Property) RI-2441 

7695E (R&D Expense) Historic Structure 

Enterprise Zone Other (                 )  

15. Tax - line 13 less line 14 but not less than $500.00 (see instructions for Franchise Tax Calculation) .......

16. Recapture of credits.....................................................................................................................................

17. Tax due - add lines 15 and 16.....................................................................................................................

18. Payments made on 2004 declaration of estimated tax .....................................

19. Other payments including R.I. Pass-through withholding..................................

20. Total payments - add lines 18 and 19 .........................................................................................................

Balance Due 21. Net tax due - Line 17 less line 20 ................................................................................................................

22. (a) interest (b) penalty (c) Form 2220 Interest

23. Total due with return - Add lines 21 and 22. (Please use RI-1120V Form) ................................................

Refund 24. Overpayment - Line 20 less line 17 .............................................................................................................

25. Credited to 2005 estimated tax....................................................................................................................

26. Refund - line 24 less line 25 ........................................................................................................................

Initial Return

Consolidated

Return

Final Return

Short Year

Address Change

RI-1120C 2004 Rhode Island Business Corporation Tax Return
TO BE FILED BY C CORPORATIONS ONLY for calendar year 2004 or
fiscal year beginning , 2004 - ending , 2005.
Due on or before the 15th day of the 3rd month after close of the taxable year.
Corporate Name and Address (Please print or type):

Federal Identification Number A. Gross Receipts B. Depreciable Assets C. Total Assets

Schedule A - Computation of Tax   Note: Attach legible copy of all pages and schedules of Federal Return

1.

2a.

2b.

2c.

2d.

2e.

3.

4a.

4b.

4c.

5.

6.

7.

8.

_._ _ _ _ _ _

9.

10a.

10b.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

24.

25.

26.

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return, including the accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my
knowledge it is true, correct and complete. Declaration of preparer (other than taxpayer) is based on all information of which he has any knowledge.

Date Signature of authorized officer Title

Date Signature of preparer Address of preparer

Mailing address: Rhode Island Division of Taxation, One Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908-5811

MAY THE DIVISION CONTACT YOUR PREPARER ABOUT THIS RETURN?     YES          NO
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1. Dividends received from shares of stock of any payor liable for RI taxes as outlined in Chapters 11, 13, & 14 - (attach Schedule) ..........

2. Amount of such dividends included in Special Deductions, Schedule A, line 2b ..........................................................................................

3. Balance of Exempt Dividends - Line 1 less line 2..........................................................................................................................................

Foreign Dividends included on line 13, 14 & 17 Schedule C, US 1120

4. Less 20% owned X 70% ................................................................................................................................................

5. More than 20% owned X 80%........................................................................................................................................

6. 100% owned X 100% .....................................................................................................................................................

7. Interest on obligations of public service corporations liable for Rhode Island Gross Earnings Tax ..............................................................

8. Interest on certain obligations of the US - (Attach schedule).........................................................................................................................

9. Interest on obligations of US possessions and other interest exempt under Rhode Island Law - (Attach schedule) ...................................

10. Total - Add lines 3 through 9 - Enter here and on page 1, schedule A, line 2c.............................................................................................

Schedule B - Exempt Dividends and Interest
1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

9.

10.

Has the Federal Government changed your taxable income for any prior year which has not yet been reported to The Tax Administrator?.............

If yes, complete Form T-70C immediately and submit to the Tax Administrator with any remittance that may be due.  NOTE: Changes made by the Federal
Government in the income of any prior year which have been finally determined must be reported to the Tax Administrator within 60 days after such change.

Schedule C - Final Determination of Net Income by Federal Government
yes no

Location of principal of business in Rhode Island

Location of corporation’s books and records

List states to which you are liable for income or excise taxes for the taxable year

US Business Code Number President

State and date of incorporation Treasurer

Number of shares of authorized stock Par value per share No par value (    )

Schedule D - General Information

Enter amount for year that ended
Schedule E - Federal Taxable Income   (US 1120, page 1, line 28 or 1120A, page 1, line 24)

2004 2003 2002 2001 2000

Average net 1. a. Inventory .................................................................................

book value b. Depreciable assets .................................................................

c. Land........................................................................................

d. Rent (8 times annual net rental rate)......................................

e. Total........................................................................................

f. Ratio in Rhode Island, line 1e, column A divided by line 1e, column B ......................................................................

Receipts 2. a. Gross receipts.........................................................................

b. Dividends ................................................................................

c. Interest....................................................................................

d. Rents ......................................................................................

e. Royalties .................................................................................

f. Net capital gains .....................................................................

g. Ordinary income .....................................................................

h. Other income ..........................................................................

i. Income exempt from federal taxation .....................................

j. Total........................................................................................

k. Ratio in Rhode Island, Line 2j, column A divided by line 2j, column B........................................................................

Salaries 3. a. Salaries and wages paid or incurred - (see instructions) .......

b. Ratio in Rhode Island, line 3a, column A divided by line 3a, column B ......................................................................

Ratio 4 Total of Rhode Island Ratios shown on lines 1f, 2k and 3b .............................................................................................

5. Apportionment Ratio - line 4 divided by 3 or by the number of ratios - enter here and on page 1, schedule A, line 7 .....

Schedule F - Apportionment
1a.

COLUMN A COLUMN B
RI EVERYWHERE

1b.

1c.

1d.

1e.

1f.

2a.

2b.

2c.

2d.

2e.

2f.

2g.

2h.

2i.

2j.

2k.

3a.

3b.

4.

5.

_._ _ _ _ _ _

_._ _ _ _ _ _

_._ _ _ _ _ _

_._ _ _ _ _ _

_._ _ _ _ _ _

THIS RETURN WILL NOT BE COMPLETE UNLESS ALL REQUIRED SCHEDULES FROM FEDERAL 1120 OR APPLICABLE US FORM ARE ATTACHED

1. WHO MUST FILE:

Domestic and Foreign Corporations: Every business corporation, joint
stock company or association exercising corporation functions or otherwise
doing business in this state is required to file an annual tax return and is 
subject to the income tax (minimum $500.00). Domestic corporations and 
foreign corporations qualified to do business in this state are liable to the 
franchise tax as provided in 44-12 of the General Laws of 1956, as amended,
if it exceeds the tax on income.

Under the provisions of chapter 44-12 of the General Laws of 1956, as
amended, corporations which are chartered in Rhode Island and foreign 
corporations qualified to do business in this state which were not engaged in
any business activities in Rhode Island during the last taxable year will be 
subject to lower franchise tax rates (minimum of $500.00) if tax returns are
accompanied by a supplement affidavit certifying the fact of such inactivity.

SUBCHAPTER “S” CORPORATIONS: A small business corporation having
an election in effect under subchapter S of The Internal Revenue Code is
required to file an annual tax return on Form RI-1120S. Such corporation shall
not be subject to the Rhode Island income tax on corporations but is subject
to and liable for a franchise tax pursuant to §44-12-1 of the General Laws as
last amended (minimum $500.00), except that such corporation shall be 
subject to the Rhode Island income tax, to the extent of such income as is
subject to federal tax under said subchapter S and in those cases will be
required to file Form RI-1120C.

If a subchapter S corporation is taxable for federal purposes it must attach
Form RI-1120-Schedule S and compute and pay any tax due at the 9% tax
rate.

Legislation passed requiring Pass-Through Entities such as “s” corpora-
tions, general partnerships, limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships,
trust or limited liability companies that are not taxed as corporations for feder-
al  tax purposes to withhold from the member’s share of income of the entity
which is derived from or attributable to sources within this state distributed to
each nonresident member and pay the withheld amount to the tax division at
either the highest individual rate or nine percent (9%) for corporations. A pass
through entity is not required to withhold tax for a nonresident member if:

1. the member has  a pro rata or distributive share of income from the  pass
through entity from doing business in this state of less than $1,000 per 
annual accounting period.

2. the tax administrator has determined by regulation, ruling or instruction 
that the member’s income is not subject to withholding, or

3. the member elects to have the tax due paid as part of a composite return
filed by the pass-though entitiy, or

4. the entity is a publicly traded partnership as defined by section 7704(b) 
of the Internal Revenue Code that is treated as a partnership for the 
purposes of the Internal Revenue Code and that has agreed to file an 
annual information return reporting the name, address, taxpayer identifi
cation number and other information requested by the tax administrator 
of each unit holder with an income in this state in excess of $500.

“DISC’s” (DOMESTIC INTERNATIONAL SALES CORPORATION):
DISC’s are afforded similar treatment under the Rhode Island Business
Corporation Tax Law as is allowed under the federal income tax law. They are
required to file an annual tax return on Form RI-1120C and attaching thereto
a complete copy including all schedules of the federal form. DISC’s are sub-
ject to and liable for a franchise tax pursuant to §44-12-1 of the General Laws
as last amended (minimum $500.00). Any income to shareholders of DISC’s
is to be treated as it is treated under federal income tax law, as it existed on
December 31, 1984.

“FSC’s” (FOREIGN SALES CORPORATION)
Qualifying FSC’s having a valid election for the entire year are required to 
file an annual return on Form RI-1120C with a complete copy of all federal 
schedules. FSC’s are subject to and liable for the franchise tax (minimum tax
$500.00) under 44-12. Income to FSC shareholders will be treated as it is
treated under federal income tax law of January 1, 1985.

2. WHEN AND WHERE TO FILE:

The Form RI-1120C and RI-1120S are due on or before the fifteenth day of

the third month following the close of the taxable year. Returns must be filed with
the State of Rhode Island, Division of Taxation, One Capitol Hill, Suite 9,
Providence, RI 02908-5811. A return will be considered timely filed if it is
mailed so as to bear a U.S. postmark on or before the applicable due date.
When the last day for filing the Form RI-1120C or RI 1120S falls on a Saturday,
Sunday, or a Rhode Island legal holiday, the filing shall be considered timely
if it is performed on the next succeeding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday
or Rhode Island legal holiday.

3. EXTENSION OF TIME FOR FILING:

An automatic six month extension of time for the filing of the required return
may be granted provided a Form RI-7004 is filed together with a payment
equal to the full amount of tax reasonably estimated to be due for the taxable
year based on income, or franchise whichever shall yield the greater tax.
Payment of a minimum amount if a larger amount is due will void the
extension.

4. PAYMENT OF TAX:

The balance of tax shown on the return to be due must be paid in full with
the return. Failure to pay the tax on time will subject the taxpayer to an assess-
ment of interest and penalties.

Interest Generally

Any tax not paid when due is subject to interest at the rates of 12% per
annum from the time the tax was originally due.

Penalties-Failure to file returns on time
In case of failure to file a return within the time prescribed by law, or within

the extension period, there shall be added to the tax 5% of such tax if 
delinquency is for not more than one month plus an additional 5% for each
additional month or fractional part thereof during which such failure continues
not exceeding 25% in the aggregate.

The law provides for the imposition of fines up to $5,000 for failure to file the
required returns of filing of false or fraudulent returns.

Penalties-Failure to pay tax on time
In case of failure to pay the tax with the return on or before the date 

prescribed (determined with regard to any extension of time for payment)
there shall be added to the amount shown as tax on such return five-tenths
percent (0.5%) of the amount of such tax if the failure is for not more than one
month, plus an additional five-tenths percent (0.5%) for each additional month
or fractional part thereof during which such failure continues, not exceeding
25% in the aggregate.

5. RATE OF TAX:

Nine percent (9%) of net income apportioned to Rhode Island; or an 
annual franchise tax on its authorized capital stock at the rate of $2.50 for
each $10,000.00 or fractional part thereof minimum of $500.00, whichever
amount shall yield the greatest tax.

In the case of corporations having capital stock of no-par value, $100 per
share shall be deemed to be the par value for the purposes of the franchise
tax.

6. DECLARATION OF ESTIMATED TAX BY CORPORATIONS:

Every corporation shall file a declaration of its estimated tax for the taxable
year if its estimated tax on any basis (income or franchise) for such taxable
year can reasonably be expected to exceed $500. The entire amount of such
estimated tax shall constitute the amount of the advance required to be paid.
The due dates and amounts of the installments are as follows: The 15th day
of the 3rd month of the taxable year (40%) and the 15th day of the 6th month
of the taxable year (60%).

Underpayment-Interest on declaration of estimated tax

In case of any underpayment of the estimate by a corporation there shall
be added to the tax as the case may be for the taxable year, an amount 
determined at the rate of 12% per annum upon the amount of the underpay-
ment for the period of the underpayment. “The amount of the underpayment”

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS FORM RI-1120C AND 1120S
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