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Filing season will officially begin on February 12, 2021
Division also announces start date for business returns

PROVIDENCE, R.l. — The Internal Revenue Service has announced that it will launch the federal
tax-filing season on Friday, February 12, 2021.! For the benefit and convenience of taxpayers
and tax preparers, the Rhode Island tax-filing season will begin on the same date.

Thus, on February 12, 2021, the Rhode Island
Division of Taxation will officially begin accepting
and processing electronically filed personal
income tax returns as well as paper returns on
Form RI-1040 and Form RI-1040NR.2

However, for the benefit of low-income taxpayers,
the Division has already begun accepting and
processing stand-alone Form RI-1040H (“Rhode
Island Property Tax Relief Claim”) returns filed on
paper. This applies only to Form RI-1040H filed on
paper. The Division will not accept electronically
filed returns with Form RI-1040H until February 12.

Although the Division is how accepting the stand-
alone Form RI-1040H filed on paper, the Division
reminds filers that paper returns take time to
process. Therefore, filers of stand-alone paper
returns on Form RI-1040H should allow at least
two weeks for their returns to be processed and
refunds issued (assuming a complete and
accurate form is filed, and the taxpayer qualifies for
a refund).?

HIGHLIGHTS

Filing season officially starts on Friday,
February 12, 2021, for Rhode Island
personal income tax returns.

The Division has already begun
accepting and processing stand-alone
Form 1040H property-tax relief claims

filed on paper.

The Division has already begun
accepting and processing business
returns on Form RI-1065, Form RI-
1120S, and Form RI-1120C, and
fiduciary returns on Form RI-1041,
whether e-filed or paper-filed.

' The official start of filing season typically occurs in late January in any given year. This year, the official start is February 12 to allow
the IRS time to do additional programming and testing of IRS systems following changes in federal tax law, enacted on December
27, 2020, that provided a second round of economic impact payments and other provisions. See: https://go.usa.gov/xAVxt. Preparers
and taxpayers typically prepare one's federal return before preparing one’s Rhode Island return and file both at the same time.

2 As in prior years, some providers of tax-preparation software may allow tax preparers and taxpayers to file returns in advance. In
such instances, the providers may hold the electronically filed returns until the filing season’s official launch date.

3 Form RI-1040H is available for download via the following link: http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/Income/2020%20RI-1040H w.pdf.



https://go.usa.gov/xAVxt
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/Income/2020%20RI-1040H_w.pdf

The Division will begin accepting and processing electronically filed personal income tax returns,
including e-filed returns that include Form RI-1040H, on Friday, February 12, 2021.

“We urge everyone to file electronically. E-filing is faster, results in fewer errors, and generates
refunds more quickly,” said Rhode Island Tax Administrator Neena Savage. “Furthermore, e-filing
is the only way a taxpayer can receive a Rhode Island personal income tax refund by direct
deposit,” she said. (Paper filers must receive refunds by check.) E-filing also saves Division of
Taxation processing costs, which, in turn, saves money for all taxpayers, Savage said.

It is also important to note that paid preparers are subject to Rhode Island’s e-file mandate under
Rhode Island General Laws § 44-1-31.1 (“Returns to be filed by paid tax return preparers
electronically”) and Regulation 280-RICR-20-30-2 (“Electronic Filing for Paid Preparers”).

BUSINESS RETURNS, FIDUCIARY RETURNS

The Division has already begun accepting and processing business returns on Form RI-1065
(“Partnership Income Return”), Form RI-1120S (“Subchapter S Business Corporation Tax
Return”), and Form RI-1120C (“Business Corporation Tax Return”), whether filed electronically or
on paper.* In addition, the Division has already begun accepting and processing returns on Form
RI-1041 (“Fiduciary Income Tax Return”), whether e-filed or paper-filed.

The Division encourages e-filing of business and fiduciary income tax returns because e-filing is
faster, results in fewer errors, and generates refunds more quickly. Paid preparers also are
subject to the requirements of mandatory e-filing by statute and by regulation.

Rhode Island Division of Taxation electronic filing

The Division of Taxation will accept the following returns electronically this season:

Form RI-1040 Resident personal income tax return

Form RI-1040NR Nonresident personal income tax return

Form RI-1120C Business corporation tax return — C corporations
Form RI-1120S Business corporation tax return — S corporations
Form RI-1065 For partnerships, LLPs, LPs, LLCs, single-member LLCs
Form RI-1041 Income tax return for certain trusts and estates

Preparers should check with their tax-preparation software providers to see if their programs are updated and ready for e-file.
Whether a preparer can e-file a given form will depend on the preparer’s tax-preparation software provider.

FILING DEADLINE IS APRIL 15, 2021

The usual deadline for Rhode Island personal income tax filings and payments each year is April
15. In some years, the deadline has been moved to other days because April 15 fell on a weekend
or on the Emancipation Day holiday in Washington, D.C. (which the IRS observes).

4 Includes Form RI-1120C filings under mandatory unitary combined reporting.




This season, the deadline for filings and payments is Thursday, April 15, 2021. All resident and
nonresident Rhode Island personal income tax returns and related payments for tax year 2020
must be e-filed or postmarked on or before April 15, 2021. (Six-month extensions are allowed,
but they are extensions of the time to file, not of the time to pay.)® Overall, the Division expects
this year to receive and process more than 650,000 resident and nonresident personal income
tax returns covering the 2020 tax year.

= April 15 is also the deadline for first-quarter payments of quarterly estimated personal
income tax for the 2021 tax year.

BUSINESS FILING DEADLINE

April 15, 2021, is also the Rhode Island filing deadline for several entities, as shown in the table
below:

Entity/tax type Form Due date ‘
Corporate income tax RI-1120C April 15, 2021
Public service gross earnings tax T-72 April 15, 2021
Bank excise tax T-74 April 15, 2021
Insurance gross premiums tax T-71 April 15, 2021
Individual income tax* RI-1040 April 15, 2021
Single-member LLC** RI-1065 April 15, 2021
Income tax of trust, estate RI-1041 April 15, 2021

* Includes nonresident returns on Form RI-1040NR.

** Single-member limited liability company (SMLLC) uses same due date and extended due date as its owner. Table
assumes owner is calendar-year individual.

Returns for partnerships and limited liability companies (filing as pass-through entities), and
returns for subchapter S corporations, are due Monday, March 15, 2021. Returns involving
withholding of pass-through entities; composite income tax returns; and returns on Form RI-PTE
(“Pass-through Entity Election Tax Return”) are also due March 15, 2021.% Form T-71A (“Surplus
Line Broker Return of Gross Premiums”) is due April 1, 2021.

TAX FORMS
For those without tax preparation software, personal income tax forms for the new filing season,

covering tax year 2020, are now available on the Division’s website — including Form RI-1040H,
involving the statewide property-tax relief credit. To view the forms, click here.

> This year, the extended due date for 2020 returns is Friday, October 15, 2021.

6 Subchapter S corporations, LLCs, and partnerships must file Form RI-1096PT on or before the fifteenth day of the third month
following the close of the pass-through entity’s taxable year (March 15, 2021, for a pass-through entity whose taxable year for federal
income tax purposes is the calendar year). Trusts must file Form RI-1096PT on or before the fifteenth day of the fourth month following
the close of the pass-through entity's taxable year (April 15, 2021, for a pass-through entity whose taxable year for federal income tax
purposes is the calendar year).



http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/personal.php

The Division has also posted business-related forms covering the 2020 tax year, including forms
for C corporations, S corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, and others. To view
the forms, click here.

WITHHOLDING TABLES, W-4 WITHHOLDING CERTIFICATE, FOR 2021

The Division of Taxation recently posted on its website the booklet of income tax withholding
tables for tax year 2021. Employers use the tables to calculate how much to withhold from an
employee’s pay for Rhode Island personal income tax purposes. To view, click here. For a copy
of the 2021 withholding tax payment calendar for employers, click here.

For employees and others, the Division recently posted the 2021 version of Form Rl W-4,
“Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate”. (An employee uses Form Rl W-4 to adjust the
amount of Rhode Island personal income tax withheld from the employee’s paycheck.) To view a
copy, click here.

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation is open to the public from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. For more
information, contact the Division of Taxation at (401) 5748829 or see http://www.tax.ri.gov/contact/.



http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2021/Withholding/2021%20Withholding%20Tax%20Booklet.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2020/DRAFTS/Withholding/WH%20Payment%20Calendar%202021.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2021/Withholding/RI%20W-4%202021.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/contact/

