Rhode Island Department of Revenue
Division of Taxation

NOTICE:
TO ALL RHODE ISLAND CIGARETTE DEALERS

The 2017 session of the Rhode Island General Assembly enacted into law legislation
increasing the tax levied upon the sale of cigarettes. The new rate, of two hundred
twelve and one half (212.5) mills per cigarette, increases the tax from $3.75 per
package of 20 cigarettes to $4.25, and from $4.69 per package of 25 cigarettes to
$5.31. This increase is effective at 12:01 a.m. on August 16™, 2017.

Please be advised that Tax Division personnel may conduct an inventory count
verification. In lieu of completed inventory counts, the Tax Division has the right to
estimate.

Please note the following:

1) A Cigarette Floor Stock Tax Return (enclosed) is required to be completed after the
close of business on August 15", 2017, and returned to this office with full payment
on or before August 30™, 2017. Failure to remit the floor stock tax return may result
in a full audit of your business.

2) The revised Minimum Price List detailing the new prices at which cigarettes may be
sold at wholesale and at retail levels will be posted on the Division of Taxation’s
website at www.tax.ri.gov.

Should you have any questions, please call the Excise Tax section at (401) 574-8955.
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