Rhode Island Department of Revenue
Division of Taxation

PuBLICATION 2018-01 FEBRUARY 2, 2018

FAQs: CONSUMER GUIDE TO NOTICES
FROM NON-COLLECTING RETAILERS

For the first time, many Rhode Island taxpayers will be receiving notices in the mail this tax
filing season from certain retailers regarding the taxpayers’ obligation involving Rhode
Island’s sales and use fax.

The new law - similar to laws adopted in a number of other states — is the result of
legislation proposed by Rhode Island Gov. Gina M. Raimondo and approved by the
Rhode Island General Assembly in August 2017.1

The new law says that, on or before January 31 of each year, a “non-collecting retailer”
—such as a website that does not collect or remit Rhode Island sales/use tax — must send
a written notice to each of its Rhode Island customers who had cumulative annual
faxable purchases from the non-collecting retailer totaling $100 or more for the prior
calendar year. The nofice is intended to help taxpayers determine their use tax
obligation. The following Q&A may provide helpful guidance regarding this new
provision.

Q: When will the first notices go out?

A: The first such notices were to be mailed on or before January 31, 2018. Each non-
collecting retailer must send such a notice to each of its Rhode Island customers who had
$100 or more in cumulative taxable purchases for the 2017 calendar year.

1 Public Law 2017 ch. 302, art. 8, § 18, codified af Rhode Island General Laws § 44-18.2-1, et seq.
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Example:?

XYZ Website Co., which is located in Nevada, sells personal computer equipment
online and sends the completed orders to customers throughout the country,
including Rhode Island.® It does not collect and remit Rhode Island sales and use
tax.

Thus, on or before January 31, 2018, XYZ Website must send a notice to its Rhode
Island customers who each had $100 or more in cumulative taxable purchases for
the 2017 calendar year. The notice must show purchases made during the entire
calendar year of 2017.

Q: What will the notice look like?

A: We've posted a sample notice on the Division of Taxation’s website, at the following
address: https://go.usa.gov/xnvnw. A screenshot of the sample appears below.

D R RRhode Island Department of Revenue
= Division of Taxation

NOTICE:

NON-COLLECTING RETAILER = JANUARY 31 NOTICE

[Note: The following is to be sent by the retailer to its cust by January 31 each year regarding
purchases made by the customers during the prior calendar year.)

Rhode Island Sales & Use Tax Annual Notice

Please be advised that you are receiving this notice because you have made cumulative annual
taxable purchases from [Non-collecting Retailer] totaling one hundred dollars ($100.00) or more during the
previous calendar year.

Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws §§ 44-18-18 and 44-18-20, sales or use tax is due on
taxable purchases made from [Non-collecting Retailer]. If tax was not paid at the time of purchase, the State

Q: Will all notices look like the sample notice that’s posted on the Division of
Taxation’s website?

A: Non-collecting retailers aren’t required to use the sample notice; they may draft their
own. Thus, it is possible that the notice you receive may be different in appearance. We

2 All names used in this publication are for illustration purposes only and are used in a fictitious manner. Any
resemblance to actual persons or actual entities is coincidental.

3 For this example, XYZ Website Co. has an office and warehouse in Nevada. It has no physical location
anywhere else. All orders are shipped from its warehouse via common carrier to customer locations.
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provided the sample as a convenience to non-collecting retailers. The sample also gives
those retailers, and taxpayers and tax preparers, an idea of what the new law is about.

Q: Why is the notice important?

A: The notice is important because it will help you in
computing your Rhode Island sales and use tax
obligation.

Q: What sorts of items are subject to use tax?

A: The same items (or services) that are subject to
Rhode Island sales tax are subject to Rhode Island use
tax. For example, if you buy a computer or a piece of
furniture from a retailer such as an out-of-state website,
and that retailer does not collect Rhode Island sales tax,
you must pay Rhode Island’s 7 percent use tax.

Q: What about clothing?

Rhode Island’s 7 percent sales and use tax applies to
each sale of clothing and footwear with a sales price of
more than $250.

So here’s the general rule to keep in mind about clothing:
If the sales price is $250 or less, it's exempt from the tax.

What if the sales price is more than $2507? In that case,
the tax applies only to the portion of the sales price of an
individual item of clothing or footwear that exceeds
$250. For example:

WHAT'S TAXABLE?

Following is a partial list of
commonly purchased items
that are subject to Rhode
Island’s 7 percent sales and
use tax:

= Antiques

= Appliances

= Auto Parts

= Books

= Cleaning supplies

= Compact discs (CDs)

= Computers

= Computer equipment
= Cosmetics

= Craft items

= Diapers

= Furnifure

* Home goods

= Household furnishings

= Jewelry

= Medicine (over—The—counTer)
= Non-prescription drugs
(This is a partial and general list;

please see Rhode Island General
Laws for details.)

= For a pair of shoes priced at $275, the sales tax applies to $25, for a total tax of

$1.75.

* For a suit priced at $300, the tax applies to $50, for a total tax of $3.50.

= If you buy 10 shirts at $30 a shirt, for a total of $300, no tax applies because the

sale of each item is less than $250.

» |If you buy one blouse for $50, no tax applies because the sales price is less than

$250.
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Q: What about food?

A: In general, groceries are exempt.*

Q: What other exemptions are there?

A: Many goods and some services are subject to Rhode
Island sales/use tax. Some goods and many services
are exempt. For a list of exemptions:
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE44/44-
18/44-18-30.HTM

Q: Whom shall | contact to find out if something’s
taxable or not?

A: Contact our Excise Tax section. Call (401) 574-8955.
Or email: Tax.Excise@tax.ri.gov. Or visit the Excise
Tax section at the Division of Taxation office, One
Capitol Hill, Providence, Rhode Island. For a map and
directions: http://www.tax.ri.gov/contact/.

Q: Why do | have a sales and use tax obligation?

WHAT IS USE TAX?

What is use tax? See the
following links to two Division of
Taxation publications about use

You may also find Rhode Island
sales and use tax regulations

helpful:

For more about Rhode Island
sales and use tax, see Chapters
18, 18.1, 18.2, and 19 of Title 44
of the Rhode Island General
Laws:

A: By law, Rhode Island sales or use tax is due on taxable purchases made from “non-
collecting retailers.” If tax was not paid at the time of purchase, the Rhode Island law
requires that all customers who use, store, or otherwise consume taxable goods and

services in Rhode Island must pay use tax.®

Example:

Jane, of Providence, Rhode Island, buys $1,000 in jewelry at a store in Providence,
Rhode Island. At the time of purchase, the store collects Rhode Island’s 7 percent
sales tax and turns it over to the Division of Taxation. In this example, Jane must
pay $1,000 for the jewelry, and $70 in Rhode Island sales tax.

Suppose that Jane buys $1,000 in jewelry from a website that does not collect
Rhode Island tax? In that case, Jane owes $70 in Rhode Island use tax.

4 Food and drink purchased at a restaurant or other such venue is subject to Rhode Island’s 7 percent sales

and use tax, as well as the 1 percent meals and beverage tax.

5 Rhode Island’s law regarding sales and use tax is similar to that of many other states.
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Q: What should | do if I receive that notice in the mail?

A: File a signed use tax return, Form T-205. Form T-205, “Consumer’s Use Tax Return,”
is available on our website: http://www.tax.ri.qov/forms/2016/Excise/UseTaxReturn _b.pdf
Instructions are on the form.® A screenshot of the form appears nearby.

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations .
Form T-205

Consumer's Use Tax Return

Name Federal employer identification/social security number
Address For the period of:
Address 2 Business type
City, town or post office State ZIP code E-mail address
Do you expect to make purchases on a consistent basis that will be subject to the use tax?  YES NO

Schedule of Purchases Subject to the Use Tax: (Use separate sheet if more space is needed.)
NOTE: Businesses and institutions making purchases subject to the use tax on a consistent basis are not required to itemize their purchases on this re-

Q: | have received such a notice. Must | file Form T-205, or may | include the
information on my Rhode Island personal income tax return?

A: You may include the information on your Rhode Island personal income tax return
instead of including it on, and filing, Form T-205. If you choose to include it on your
personal income tax return, begin by filling out Schedule U, “Individual’s Consumer’s Use
Tax.” (See screenshot nearby.)

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations |.IlIlIIII“IIII|I|II|I||I|I||I|I .
2017 RI Schedule U

Individual Consumer’s Use Tax 111016399901.01

Name(s) shown on Form RI-1040 or RI-1040NR Your social security number

Individual Consumer’s Use Tax Worksheet

NOTE: When reporting the amount of use tax obligation on the Rhode Island personal income tax return. The taxpayer shall list either
the actual amount of use tax due, or an amount using the Rhode Island Use Tax Lookup Table below. If you know the actual amount of
all purchases made that are subject to the use tax, use Option #1. Otherwise, use Option #2. Be sure to check the box on page 1 of
your return attesting to the amount of use tax listed on your return. For more information, see the 1040 instructions at www.tax.ri.gov.

Option #1 - Actual Use Tax Due

¢ Form T-205 is due on or before the 20th day of each month following the month in which purchases are
made, and must be accompanied by a remittance for the amount due. See form for more details.
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As you fill out Schedule U, you’ll notice that you have a choice: List either the actual
amount of your use tax due, or an amount involving the Rhode Island Use Tax Lookup
Table. (See screenshot nearby.)

USE TAX TABLE
Federal AGI from RI-1040/NR, line 1| Use Tax Amount |Federal AGI from RI-1040/NR, line 1| Use Tax Amount
At least Less than At least Less than

$0 6,350) $5 $38,200) $44,600| $35

6,350 12,700} 10 44,600 50,9501 40

12,700 19,100} 15 50,950 57,350 45

19,100 25,450) 20 57,350} 63,700 50

25,450 31,850 25 63,700 70,100 55

31,850 38,200 30 70,100 76,450 60

If your Federal AGI is $76,450 or greater, multiply Form RI-1040/NR, line 1 by 0.08% (0.0008)

If you know the actual amount of all the purchases you made that are subject to Rhode
Island use tax, use the first option. Otherwise, use the second option (the lookup table).

Note: The example below focuses on the first option.

Example:

During calendar year 2017, John, of Coventry, Rhode Island, bought $500 in
computer equipment from a website that did not collect Rhode Island sales/use
tax. Therefore, John must pay $35 in Rhode Island use tax. He forgot to file Form
T-205 during 2017.

In January 2018, he received a notice from the online retailer, reminding him of his
$500 purchase, for which no Rhode Island sales/use tax was charged. The notice
was a handy reminder, because John had forgotten about the purchase and about
his use tax obligation.

John uses the information from his notice to fill out Schedule U of his Rhode Island
personal income tax return. All the other purchases he made in 2017 were not
taxable or were subject to Rhode Island sales tax collected and remitted by the
retailers.
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So John does not bother with the use tax lookup table on Schedule U. Instead, he
fills out only the top part of Schedule U, up to line 4, entering his actual purchase
for 2017. (See screenshot nearby.)

Individual Consumer’s Use Tax Worksheet

NOTE: When reporting the amount of use tax obligation on the Rhode Island personal income tax retum. The taxpayer shall list either
the actual amount of use tax due, or an amount using the Rhode Island Use Tax Lookup Table below. If you know the actual amount of
all purchases made that are subject to the use tax, use Option #1. Otherwise, use Option #2. Be sure to check the box on page 1 of
your return attesting to the amount of use tax listed on your return. For more information, see the 1040 instructions at www.tax.ri.gov.

Option #1 - Actual Use Tax Due
1 Enter the total price of purchases subject to the use tax i R u 3 % IO : izt 500 00
2 Use tax due. Multiply line 1 by 7% (0.07).......oomeoeeeceeeeeeeeremsreeeeeraoenne . . NI 35 0C
3 Enter the amount of sales taxes paid in other states for the purchases on line 1 3

4 Net use tax due. Subtract line 3 from line 2. Enter here and on RI-1040, pg 1, line 12 or RI-1040NR, pg 1, line 15. 4 35 00

After completing Schedule U, he carries the amount (in this example, $35) to the front
page of his Rhode Island Form RI-1040.

What if you don’t know the actual amount of all purchases you made that are subject to
the use tax? You may use the second option, involving the lookup table.

Note: The example below focuses on the second option, involving the lookup table.

Example:

During calendar year 2017, Maria, of Middletown, Rhode Island, bought a number
of items on which no Rhode Island sales/use tax was collected. She can’t
remember how much she spent on purchases overall, but she knows that none of
the purchases exceeded $1,000.

Also, she received a notice in January 2018 from a non-collecting retailer showing
that she had made one purchase, for $95, for which no Rhode Island sales/use tax
was collected.

Her federal adjusted gross income for 2017 was $45,000. Following the
instructions on Schedule U, she multiplies her $45,000 of income by 0.0008,
resulting in use tax of $36.

Next, she locates where her $45,000 of income falls in the lookup table, and
determines that the corresponding use tax amount is $40.
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She enters the lesser of the two amounts -- $36 -- on line 6 of Schedule U. (See
screenshot nearby.)

Option #2 - Rhode Island Use Tax Lookup Table

5 Enter your 2017 Federal AGI from Form RI-1040 or RI-1040NR, page 1, ine 1 ... 5 45000 00
6 Use tax due. Multiply line 5 by 0.0008 or enter the amount from the Rhode Island Use Tax Lookup Table below..... 6 36 00
7 In the space below, list the actual amount of each single purchase greater than or equal to $1,000.00
Column A Column B Column C Column D Column E
Product Purchased Product Cost Tax Due (Cost x 7%) Sales Tax Paid Sales Tax Due (Col C - Col D)
aPurchase #1 7a 0 00
b Purchase #2 7b 0 00
¢ Purchase #3 7c 0 00
d Purchase #4 7d 0 00
e Net use tax due on purchases equal to or greater than $1,000. Add lines 7a, 7b, 7Tcand 7d............cccoeevvcrvvirrioniee. 1€ 0 00
8 Use tax due. Add lines 6 and 7e. Enter here and on RI-1040, page 1, line 12 or RI-1040NR, page, 1,line 15....... 8 36 00
USE TAX TABLE
Federal AGI from RI-1040/NR, line 1| Use Tax Amount |Federal AGI from RI-1040/NR, line 1| Use Tax Amount
At least Less than At least Less than
$0| 6,350 $5 $38,200) $44,600 $35
6,350 12,700 10 44,600 50,950, 40

After completing Schedule U, she carries the amount (in this example, $36) to the
front page of her Rhode Island Form RI-1040.

Q: Are there any other steps | must take related to the use tax computation on my
Rhode Island personal income tax return?

A: Yes. After you carry the information from Schedule U over to page 1 of your Rhode
Island personal income tax return, please remember to check the box on page 1 of your
return attesting to the amount of use tax listed on your return. (See screenshot nearby.)

Check v to certify
use tax amount on
line 12 is accurate.
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Q: Is there more information in the instructions to the Rhode Island Form RI-1040?

A: Yes. For forms and instructions: http://www.tax.ri.qgov/taxforms/personal.php.

Q: Should this notice come as a surprise?

A: It shouldn’t — it's just one of several notifications that non-collecting retailers have
provided their customers already.

Under the new law, each non-collecting retailer (such as a website that doesn’t collect
and remit Rhode Island sales and use tax) have several obligations regarding you, the
customer. For example, before even sending the January 31 notice, the non-collecting
retailer must:

= Post a conspicuous notice on its website that informs you that sales or use tax is
due on certain purchases, and that Rhode Island law requires you to file a sales
or use tax return;

= Notify you, at the time of purchase, that sales or use tax is due on taxable
purchases and that Rhode Island law requires the filing of a sales/use tax return;
and

= Notify you, within 48 hours of the time of purchase, that sales or use tax is due on
taxable purchases and that Rhode Island law requires you to file a sales/use tax
return.

Q: Why is Rhode Island the only state requiring such things?

A: Rhode Island is far from alone; many other states have already taken similar measures.
Also, the general notice mentioned above is commonplace online, especially where online
purchases of taxable items are involved.

One goal that states have in implementing these measures is to help taxpayers
understand and comply with their use tax obligation, including their use tax obligation for
purchases made by non-collecting retailers (such as websites that do not collect and remit
state sales and use tax).
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Q: Is Rhode Island the only state that levies a sales tax?

A: Atotal of 45 states and the District of Columbia collect statewide sales taxes, according

to the Tax Foundation.’

In addition, there are many counties, cities, and other jurisdictions in the United States

that levy sales tax.

Q: Is Rhode Island the only state that levies a use tax?

A: Every state that imposes a general sales tax also imposes a use tax, according to the

Sales Tax Institute.®

ABOUT THIS PUBLICATION

This publication is an informal summary of how some of the provisions of Rhode
Island tax law are applied. This publication is for general information purposes only;
it is not a substitute for Rhode Island General Laws, or for Rhode Island Division of

Taxation regulations, rulings, or nofices.

If you have questions about Rhode Island sale/use tax, contact the Division's Excise

Tax section at (401) 574-8955.

7 See https://taxfoundation.org/state-and-local-sales-tax-rates-in-2017/.
8 See hitp://www.salestaxinstitute.com/Sales Tax FAQs/What states impose sales use tax.
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