Rhode Island Department of Revenue
Division of Taxation

NOTICE

TO ALL RHODE ISLAND CIGARETTE DEALERS

The 2015 session of the Rhode Island General Assembly enacted into law legislation increasing the
tax levied upon the sale of cigarettes. The new rate of one hundred eighty-seven and one half (187.5)
mills per cigarette, increases the tax from $3.50 per package of 20 cigarettes to $3.75, and from $4.37
per package of 25 cigarettes to $4.69. This increase is effective at 12:01 a.m. on August 1, 2015.

Please note the following:

1) A Cigarette Floor Stock Tax Return is required to be completed after the close of business on
July 31, 2015, and returned to this office with full payment on or before
August 10, 2015. Failure to remit the floor stock tax return may result in a full audit of your
business.

2) The revised Minimum Price List detailing the new prices at which cigarettes may be sold at
wholesale and at retail levels will be posted on the Division of Taxation’s website at
WwWw.tax.ri.gov.

Should you have any questions please contact the Excise Tax section, at (401) 574-8955.

July 2015 David Sullivan
Notice 2015-08 Tax Administrator
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