
                                                                                                                  RHODE ISLAND DIVISION OF TAXATION                                                                                                  PAGE 1 OF 2 

                             Rhode Island Department of Revenue 

                                          Division of Taxation 
  

  

 
 

Rhode Island estate tax credit and threshold set for 2021 
Law provides annual adjustment based on widely used measure of inflation 

 

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Rhode Island Division of Taxation today announced the Rhode Island 
estate tax credit amount and threshold for the estates of decedents dying on or after January 1, 
2021. 
 
The Rhode Island estate tax credit amount will be $70,490 for decedents dying on or after 
January 1, 2021, up from the current credit amount of  $69,515 (which applies for decedents dying 
in calendar year 2020).  
 
As a result, the Rhode Island estate tax threshold will be $1,595,156 for decedents dying on or 
after January 1, 2021, up from the current threshold of $1,579,922. 
 
 

Rhode Island estate tax threshold amount 

For decedent whose death occurs in: Estate tax threshold amount is: 

2021               $1,595,156 

2020 1,579,922 

2019                     1,561,719 

2018 1,537,656 

2017 1,515,156 

2016 1,500,000 

2015 1,500,000 

2014    921,655 

2013    910,725 

2012    892,865 

2011    859,350 

2010    850,000 

2009    675,000 
 

 
BACKGROUND AND EXPLANATION 

 
Legislation enacted in 2014 made a number of changes to Rhode Island’s estate tax. For 
example, the new law established a Rhode Island estate tax credit of $64,400, shielding $1.5 
million in assets from the tax -- for decedents dying on or after January 1, 2015. 
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The new law also established that, starting January 1, 2016, the credit would be adjusted by the 
percentage increase (if any) in the consumer price index for all urban consumers (CPI-U), 
determined as of September 30 of the prior calendar year. The adjustment would be rounded up 
to the nearest $5.00 increment. 
   
The U.S. Department of Labor’s Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) announced on October 16, 
2020, that the index (before seasonal adjustment) had risen 1.4% over the previous 12 months 
(through September 2020). 
 
Accordingly, for decedents dying on or after January 1, 2020, the credit amount increased to             
$70,490, shielding from taxation the first $1,595,156 of an estate.  
 
Thus, in general, for a decedent dying in 2021, a net taxable estate valued at $1,595,156 or less 
will not be subject to Rhode Island’s estate tax.  
 
(In certain circumstances, the Rhode Island estate tax will not apply regardless of the estate’s 
size: Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-22 provides full details on the computation of the 
tax, including such factors as the marital and charitable deductions.)  
 
 

Rhode Island estate tax credit 

For decedent whose death occurs in: Estate tax credit amount is: 

2021             $ 70,490 

2020 69,515 

2019 68,350 

2018 66,810 

2017    65,370 

2016 64,400 

2015 64,400 
 
 
For questions about the estate tax, contact the Division of Taxation’s Excise & Estate Tax unit 
from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days: Call (401) 574-8829 and select option # 8. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation is open to the public from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. For 

more information, contact the Division of Taxation at (401) 574‐8829 or see 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/contact/. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/contact/

