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ADV 2019-30 ADVISORY FOR TAX PROFESSIONALS 
TAX ADMINISTRATION NOVEMBER 13, 2019 

 
 

Inflation-adjusted amounts set for tax year 2020 
Division also posts changes for certain items involving 2019 tax year 

 

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Rhode Island Division of Taxation today announced the standard 
deduction amounts, tax bracket ranges, and other key items for the Rhode Island personal income 
tax for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2020. 
 
The inflation-adjusted amounts apply for tax year 2020, and therefore will not appear on tax 
returns until early 2021 (covering the 2020 tax year). Nevertheless, they are important to know 
now for tax-planning purposes.  
 
The inflation-adjusted numbers will also aid tax professionals and taxpayers throughout 2020 as 
they make any needed adjustments to withholding or estimated payments, or for other purposes. 
The inflation-adjusted amounts are presented in the following tables. 
 
 

Rhode Island standard deduction amounts by tax year 

Filing status 2019 2020 

Single $8,750 $8,900 

Married filing jointly* $17,500 $17,800 

Head of household $13,100 $13,350 

Married filing separately $8,750 $8,900 
 

* Or qualifying widow or widower. 

Note: Amounts are determined based on inflation as calculated by U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics and 

applied to formulas under Rhode Island General Laws § 44-30-2.6. 
 

 
 

Rhode Island personal and dependency exemption amounts by tax year 

2019 2020 

$4,100 $4,150 

 
 
Most taxpayers are able to claim the full amount of their applicable standard deduction. The same 
is true for personal exemptions and dependency exemptions. However, if a taxpayer’s federal 
adjusted gross income (as modified for Rhode Island tax purposes) falls within a certain income 
range, the standard deduction amount – and the personal and dependency exemption amounts 
– are limited.  
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If income exceeds the range, the taxpayer cannot claim a standard deduction or personal or 
dependency exemption amount. The income ranges are listed in the following table. 

  
 
 
 

 
 

 
 

Personal income tax: uniform rate schedule 
 
The Division of Taxation has recalculated tax bracket ranges for tax year 2020, as required by 
statute. The changes were made to the Rhode Island personal income tax’s uniform tax rate 
schedule, which is used by all filers.  
 
If the dollar figures in tax brackets remained constant, a taxpayer might be bumped into a higher 
bracket solely because of an annual wage increase that is intended to help the worker keep 
pace with inflation -- an outcome often referred to as “bracket creep.” To help offset the effects 
of bracket creep, the General Assembly adopted a provision that requires the tax brackets to be 
adjusted annually with inflation. (Standard deduction and exemption amounts are adjusted in 
similar fashion.) The effect can be seen in the following two tables: one for tax year 2019, the 
other for tax year 2020.  
 
 

Uniform tax rate schedule for tax year 2019 (personal income tax) 
 

Taxable income: 

Over But not over Pay 

 

+ percent on 

excess 

 

of the amount 

over 

$               0 $        64,050 $        -- 3.75% $                         0 

64,050 145,600 2,401.88 4.75% 64,050 

145,600 -- 6,275.50 5.99% 145,600 

 
 

Uniform tax rate schedule for tax year 2020 (personal income tax) 
 

Taxable income: 

Over But not over Pay 

 

+ percent on 

excess 

 

of the amount 

over 

$               0 $         65,250 $        -- 3.75% $                         0 

65,250 148,350 2,446.88 4.75% 65,250 

148,350 -- 6,394.13 5.99% 148,350 

 
 
 
 

Phase-out range for standard deduction, exemption amounts by tax year 

2019 2020 

$203,850 to $227,050 $207,700 to $231,500 

Phaseout increment (amount used in computing phaseout), which was $5,800 for 2019, will be $5,950 for 2020. 
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Trusts and estates: income tax rate schedule 
 
The Division of Taxation has posted the income tax rate schedule for 2020 that will be used by 
fiduciaries for many trusts and estates.  
 
As a convenience, tables for tax year 2019 and tax year 2020 appear below. 
 
 

Income tax rate schedule for tax year 2019 (trusts and estates) 
 

Taxable income: 

Over But not over Pay 

 

+ percent on 

excess 

 

of the amount 

over 

$               0 $          2,550 $        -- 3.75% $                         0 

2,550 8,150 95.63 4.75% 2,550 

8,150 -- 361.63 5.99% 8,150 

Table is for non-grantor trusts and non-bankruptcy estates. To calculate income tax for grantor trusts and 

bankruptcy estates, use personal income tax table. 

 
 

Income tax rate schedule for tax year 2020 (trusts and estates) 
 

Taxable income: 

Over But not over Pay 

 

+ percent on 

excess 

 

of the amount 

over 

$               0 $          2,600 $        -- 3.75% $                         0 

2,600 8,300 97.50 4.75% 2,600 

8,300 -- 368.25 5.99% 8,300 

Table is for non-grantor trusts and non-bankruptcy estates. To calculate income tax for grantor trusts and 

bankruptcy estates, use personal income tax table. 

 
 

Withholding tables, W-4 withholding certificate 
 
By December 31, 2019, the Division of Taxation plans to post on its website the booklet of 
income tax withholding tables for tax year 2020. Employers use the tables to calculate how 
much to withhold from an employee’s pay for Rhode Island personal income tax purposes.  
 
The booklet will also include a copy of the 2020 version of Form RI W-4, “Employee’s 
Withholding Allowance Certificate.” Both documents will be available via the following website: 
http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/withholding.php 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/withholding.php
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   THE FOLLOWING ITEMS ARE FOR THE 2019 TAX YEAR 

 

 
Social Security and pension modification amounts for TY 2019 

 
The Division of Taxation has set key numbers associated with the Social Security and 
pension/annuity/401(k) modifications for the 2019 tax year. The Division has also established 
the maximum credit amount for the statewide property-tax relief credit (Form RI-1040H) for the 
2019 tax year. These numbers apply retroactively to the tax year beginning on or after January 
1, 2019, and will appear on forms and instructions during the filing season which begins in 
January 2020. 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY 

 
Rhode Island legislation enacted in 2015 established a new modification involving the personal 
income tax. Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, the modification 
decreases federal adjusted gross income for Rhode Island purposes for qualifying taxpayers 
who receive Social Security benefits. In general, a taxpayer is eligible for the modification if all 
three of the following conditions are met: 
 

▪ The taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross income (AGI) includes taxable income from Social 
Security; 
 

▪ The taxpayer has reached “full retirement age” as defined by the Social Security 
Administration; and 
 

▪ The taxpayer’s federal AGI is below a certain amount (see table below). 
 
 

Social Security modification – income limits by tax year 

Filing status 2018 2019 

Single $83,550 $85,150 

Married filing jointly* $104,450 $106,400 

Head of household $83,550 $85,150 

Married filing separately $83,550 $85,150 
 

* Or qualifying widow or widower. For more information on this modification, see Rhode Island General 

Laws § 44-30-12. 
 

 
 

  
PENSIONS, 401(K) PLANS, MILITARY RETIREMENT PAY, ANNUITIES, ETC. 

 
Rhode Island legislation enacted in 2016 established a new modification involving the personal 
income tax. Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, the modification 
decreases federal adjusted gross income for Rhode Island purposes for qualifying taxpayers 
who receive income from 401(k) plans, 403(b) plans, military retirement pay, private‐sector 
pensions, federal government pensions, state government pensions, local government 
pensions, federal Thrift Savings Plan, annuities, and/or certain other sources. 
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In general, a taxpayer is eligible for the modification if all three of the following conditions are 
met: 
 

▪ The taxpayer’s federal AGI includes taxable income from pensions, 401(k) plans, 
annuities, and/or other such sources; 
 

▪ The taxpayer has reached “full retirement age” as defined by the Social Security 
Administration; and 
 

▪ The taxpayer’s federal AGI is below a certain amount. (Please see table below.) 
 
 

Pension/401(k)/Annuity modification – income limits by tax year 

Filing status 2018 2019 

Single $81,900 $83,450 

Married filing jointly* $102,400 $104,350 

Head of household $81,900 $83,450 

Married filing separately $81,925 $83,475 
 

* Or qualifying widow or widower.  
 

Note: If taxpayer meets all requirements, he or she may reduce federal AGI, for Rhode Island tax purposes, by up to $15,000 

of federally taxable pension/401(k)/403(b)/annuity income (via the Rhode Island modification). For more information on this 

modification, see Rhode Island General Laws § 44-30-12. 

 
 

 
 
 

PROPERTY-TAX RELIEF CREDIT (FORM RI-1040H) 

 
The Division of Taxation has set the maximum property-tax relief credit for the 2019 tax year. 
The credit is claimed on Form RI-1040H. The amount is listed in the table below. 
 

Property-tax relief credit – maximum credit amount by tax year 

2018 2019 

$365.00 $385.00 
 

Rules governing credit are shown on Form RI-1040H. See also Rhode Island General Laws § 44-33-1 et seq. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation office is at One Capitol Hill in Providence, R.I., diagonally across 

from the Smith Street entrance to the State House, and is open to the public 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business 

days. To learn more, see the agency's website: www.tax.ri.gov, or call (401) 574‐8829. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/

