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State tax changes are now in effect 
 New provisions involve sales and use tax, gasoline tax, and certain other levies 

 
PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Rhode Island Division of Taxation reminds tax professionals, 
taxpayers, tax software providers, businesses, and others about tax changes that are now in 
effect. 
 

Some of the changes are the result of recently enacted legislation. Other changes are the result 
of legislation enacted in recent years. Following is a brief summary of key provisions and their 
various effective dates. 
 
 

◼ REMOTE SELLERS, MARKETPLACE FACILITATORS, REFERRERS: Remote sellers, 
marketplace facilitators, and referrers are required to register with the Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation and collect and remit 
Rhode Island sales and use tax effective July 1, 
2019, if they meet or exceed certain thresholds 
involving sales.1 The change is the result of a 
recently enacted Rhode Island law, which 
followed a landmark U.S. Supreme Court case 
known as Wayfair.2 One result of the law is that, 
effective July 1, 2019, some online retailers that 
had not been collecting and remitting Rhode 
Island sales and use tax on purchases made by 
individuals and businesses in Rhode Island will 
begin to do so. To learn more, click here. 
 
 

◼ GAS TAX: Once every two years, the Rhode 
Island Division of Taxation is required by statute 
to determine whether inflation has been 
sufficient to increase the gasoline tax.3 This time 
around, the Division found sufficient inflation to 
result in an increase in the gasoline tax as of 
July 1, 2019. Therefore, based on statutory 
formula, the gasoline tax as of July 1, 2019, is now 34 cents per gallon, up from 33 cents 
per gallon before the change, an increase of one cent. To learn more, click here.  

                                                           
1 Senate Bill 251A and House Bill 5278A, approved by the Rhode Island General Assembly and signed into law by Rhode Island 

Governor Gina M. Raimondo on March 29, 2019. 
2 South Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc., et al., 585 U.S. ___ (2018), decided June 21, 2018. 
3 Rhode Island General Laws § 31-36-7. 
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What’s ahead 
 

Rhode Island’s recently enacted 

budget bill included tax changes 

involving digital downloads (such 

as video, music, and books),  

streaming music, streaming video, 

urns, and feminine hygiene 

products, among other things. 

However, those changes do not 

take effect until October 1, 2019. 

The Division of Taxation plans to 

post details on those and other 

changes at a later date.  

http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV_2019_11.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV_2018_48.pdf
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/BillText/BillText19/HouseText19/H5151Aaa.pdf
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◼ ELECTION FOR PASS-THROUGH ENTITIES: Under a recently enacted Rhode Island law,4 
pass-through entities may elect to pay an entity-level Rhode Island tax on net income at 
the rate of 5.99%. If the election is made, the entity will show the result on Schedule K-1 
for each member, partner, shareholder, or principal. When figuring one’s federal adjusted 
gross income for Rhode Island tax purposes, the pass-through entity’s member, partner, 
shareholder, or principal will add back his or her share of the entity-level tax by which net 
income was reduced. Once Rhode Island tax liability is determined, the pass-through 
entity’s member, partner, shareholder, or principal will receive a Rhode Island credit equal 
to his or her share of the tax payment made by the pass-through entity. The election 
applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2019. 
 
 
◼ AIRPORT PARKING FEE: The annual permit fee for the Warwick airport parking district has 
been eliminated, effective July 5, 2019. The fee had been charged to each parking lot 
operator (technically, to anyone providing transient parking within the district) for the initial 
application and for the annual renewal. The fee totaled $10 for each parking space, up to 
a total of $250. It was levied under Rhode Island General Laws § 1-6-3. The requirement 
to obtain, hold, and renew a permit continues to apply; it’s just that the fee has been 
eliminated. 
 
 
◼ MOTOR CARRIER LICENSE FEE: The motor carrier fuel use license fee, under Rhode Island 
General Laws § 31-36.1-3(a), has been eliminated, effective July 5, 2019. The $10 fee 
formerly applied to each carrier operating a qualified motor vehicle in two or more 
jurisdictions. The licensing requirement continues to apply; it’s just that the fee has been 
eliminated. 
 
 
◼ MOTOR CARRIER DECAL FEE: The fee that normally applies for a decal (or “identification 
device”) for each licensed motor carrier has been eliminated, effective July 5, 2019. The 
$10-per-vehicle fee, under Rhode Island General Laws § 31-36.1-3(a), was for a decal or 
device that must be displayed on the exterior portion of each side of the vehicle’s cab. The 
device/decal requirement continues to apply; it’s just that the fee has been eliminated. 
 
 
◼ MOTOR CARRIER TEMPORARY LICENSE FEE: The fee that normally applies to an unlicensed 
motor carrier for a temporary license has been eliminated, effective July 5, 2019. The $10 
fee, under Rhode Island General Laws § 31-36.1-3(c), provided a license which authorized 
one qualified motor vehicle to be operated on Rhode Island highways. The licensing 
requirement continues to apply; it’s just that the fee has been eliminated. 
 
 
◼ GAS STATION FEE: The $5 fee to operate a retail gasoline station has been eliminated, 
effective July 5, 2019. The fee had been required under Rhode Island General Laws § 31-
37-10. The licensing requirement continues to apply; it’s just that the fee has been 
eliminated. 
 

                                                           
4 House Bill 5151Aaa (the “budget bill”), approved by the Rhode Island General Assembly and signed into law by Rhode Island 

Governor Gina M. Raimondo on July 5, 2019. 
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◼ BEVERAGE CONTAINER TAX:5 The tax that is levied on beverage containers, now four 
cents per case, has increased to eight cents per case, effective July 1, 2019. The tax is 
levied on each case of beverage containers sold by a beverage wholesaler to a beverage 
retailer or consumer in Rhode Island. 
 
 
◼ TAX ON HARD-TO-DISPOSE MATERIAL:6 The tax that is levied on hard-to-dispose material, 
such as lubricating oils, antifreeze, and tires, has increased, effective July 1, 2019, as 
shown in the following table: 
 
 

Material Current tax New tax 

Lubricating oils, per quart $0.05 $0.10 

Lubricating oils, per liter $0.053 $0.106 

Antifreeze, per gallon $0.10 $0.20 

Antifreeze, per liter $0.0264 $0.0528 

Organic solvents, per gallon $0.0025 $0.005 

Organic solvents, per liter $0.00066 $0.00132 

Tire $0.50 $1.00 

The tax must be separately stated and collected upon the sale by the hard-to-dispose material 

wholesalers to a hard-to-dispose material retailer. Every hard-to-dispose material retailer selling, 

using, or otherwise consuming in this state any hard-to-dispose material is liable for the tax. 

 
 

◼ WITHHOLDING OF PERSONAL INCOME TAX: Beginning on January 1, 2020, every 
employer that’s required to deduct and withhold Rhode Island personal income tax – and 
that had an average tax amount of $200 or more per month for the previous calendar year 
– must file a return and remit the payments by electronic funds transfer (or by other 
electronic means as defined by the Division of Taxation). 
 

 If the employer fails to pay the tax by electronic means, the employer shall be 
subject to what is, in essence, a penalty, amounting to 5% of the withheld tax 
payment that was not filed electronically, or $500, whichever is less (unless there 
was reasonable cause for the failure – and the failure was not due to negligence 
or willful neglect). 
 
 If an entity fails to remit withheld tax at the required time, the Division of Taxation 
may assess interest at the annual rate provided under Rhode Island General Laws  
§ 44-1-7 (currently 18%) for the period the failure continues – until the 31st day of 
the first month following the close of the taxable year. (If the failure to remit 
continues after that point, interest will continue to accrue under Rhode Island 
General Laws § 44-30-84.) 

 
 
◼ LOTTERY WITHHOLDING: Effective July 1, 2019, for Rhode Island personal income tax 
purposes, the director of the Division of State Lottery shall require the deduction and 
withholding of tax from winnings from video lottery terminal games and casino gaming – 

                                                           
5 Rhode Island General Laws § 44-44-3. 
6 Rhode Island General Laws § 44-44-3.7. 
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consistent with federal rules and regulations and procedures related to Form W-2G. (The 
Division of State Lottery uses the tax rate of 5.99% for Rhode Island withholdings.) 
 
 
◼ CODES FOR TAX ON SERVICES: A section of existing Rhode Island law7 lists each service 
that’s subject to the Rhode Island sales and use tax, along with each such service’s 
applicable code -- known as the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).8 
Formerly, that section of Rhode Island law used NAICS codes as of 2007. However, as a 
result of recently enacted legislation, that section of Rhode Island law now uses NAICS 
codes of 2017, effective July 1, 2019. The new law does not change the services that are 
subject to tax, but makes it clear that, for purposes of which types of services are taxed, 
the 2017 NAICS codes are to be used.  
 
 
◼ CODES FOR TAX ON INVESTIGATION, GUARD, ARMORED CAR SERVICES: Rhode Island sales 
and use tax continues to apply to investigation, guard, and armored car services. 
However, the new law makes it clear that, effective July 1, 2019, the following 2017 NAICS 
codes apply: 561611 (“Investigation Services”), 561612 (“Security Guards and Patrol 
Services”), and 561613 (“Armored Car Services”). Prior law used the 2007 NAICS code 
of 56161. 
 
 

NAICS Code 561611 NAICS Code 561612 NAICS Code 561613 

Background check services Body guard services Armored car services 

Bounty hunting services Guard dog services  

Detective agencies Guard services  

Fingerprint services Parking security services  

Investigation services (except credit), 

private 

Patrol services, security  

Investigators, private Personal protection services  

(except security systems services) 

 

Lie detection services Property protection services  

(except armored car, security systems) 

 

Missing person tracing services Protection services (except armored 

car, security systems), personal or 

property 

 

Polygraph services Protective guard services  

Private detective services Security guard services  

Private investigation services (except 

credit) 

Security patrol services  

Skip tracing services   

Source: U.S. Census Bureau 

 
 

◼ PARTNERSHIP AUDITS: Federal legislation enacted in 2015 provided for a new 
centralized audit regime for partnerships.9 From the resulting federal audits (or from 
taxpayer amendments) may come adjustments for state tax purposes. Taxpayers and tax 

                                                           
7 Rhode Island General Laws § 44-18-7.3. 
8 The NAICS, available on the U.S. Census Bureau website, provides uniformity and comparability in the presentation of statistical 

data describing the U.S. economy. 
9 See, among other things, U.S. Public Law 114–74 (“Bipartisan Budget Act of 2015”), enacted November 2, 2015. 

https://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/index.html
https://www.congress.gov/114/plaws/publ74/PLAW-114publ74.pdf
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professionals have looked to see what approaches the states would take in response. 
Under a recently enacted Rhode Island law, effective July 1, 2019, Rhode Island provides 
a process for taxpayers to report and pay Rhode Island taxes (or claim refunds) when 
federal adjustments occur due to the new federal rules regarding partnership audits. Also, 
within 180 days of receiving notification of final federal adjustments arising from a 
partnership-level audit or an administrative adjustment, partners must file the required 
supplemental Rhode Island return and make Rhode Island tax payments.  
 
 

ABOUT THIS PUBLICATION 
 
This publication includes a plain-language summary of several key Rhode Island tax changes.10 
This  publication  is  an  informal  summary, is for  general  information purposes  only, and is not  
a  substitute  for  Rhode  Island  General  Laws,  or  for Rhode  Island  Division  of  Taxation  
regulations,  rulings,  or  notices 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                                                           
10 Also, under legislation enacted in 2017, certain changes involving revocations for corporations and LLCs took effect July 1, 2019. 

See page 8 of this Division newsletter for details. 

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation office is at One Capitol Hill in Providence, R.I., diagonally across from 

the Smith Street entrance of the State House, and is open to the public 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. 

To learn more, see the agency's website: www.tax.ri.gov. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/newsletter/Rhode%20Island%20Division%20of%20Taxation%20Newsletter%20--%20First%20Quarter%202018.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/

