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Deadline a week from today for corporate estimated tax payments 
Legislation enacted last year harmonizes federal and Rhode Island deadlines 

 
PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Rhode Island Division of Taxation reminds tax professionals and 
taxpayers that corporations have a new deadline and formula for making their estimated tax 
payments. 
 
Under the old law, two payments of corporate estimated tax were due: The first payment, for 40 
percent of the total, was due on the 15th day of the third month of the tax year. The second 
payment, for 60 percent of the total, was due on the 15th day of the sixth month of the tax year. 
 

 Thus, for a calendar-year C corporation under the old law, the first payment was due 
March 15, and the second payment was due June 15.  

 
Under the new law, which applies for tax years beginning after December 31, 2017, a 
corporation will make four payments of Rhode Island estimated tax, in equal installments of 25 
percent apiece: The first payment will be due on the 15th day of the fourth month of the tax 
year, the second payment on the 15th day of the sixth month of the tax year, the third payment 
on the 15th day of the ninth month of the tax year, and the fourth payment on the 15th day of 
the twelfth month of the tax year. 
 

 Thus, for a calendar-year C corporation in 2018, the first payment is due one week from 
today – on April 17, 2018. The second payment will be due on June 15, the third on 
September 17, and the fourth on December 17.1 

 

Corporate estimated tax – due dates and amounts for 2018 
 

OLD SYSTEM 
(Payment in two unequal installments) 

 

NEW SYSTEM 
(Payment in four equal installments) 

 DUE DATE AMOUNT  DUE DATE AMOUNT 

1st payment March 15 40% 1st payment April 17 25% 

2nd payment June 15 60% 2nd payment June 15 25% 

   3rd payment Sept. 17 25% 

   4th payment Dec. 17 25% 
 

For illustration purposes, table assumes filer is calendar-year C corporation. New system applies for tax years beginning after December 31, 2017. Thus, 
first installment for calendar-year filer is due on or before April 17, 2018. Dates in table take into account weekends and holidays for 2018 for calendar-
year filer. 
 

 

                                                           
1 Deadlines listed take into account weekends and holidays for calendar-year filers for 2018. 
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The new system is the result of a proposal by Rhode Island Governor Gina M. Raimondo that 
was approved last year by the Rhode Island General Assembly and signed into law on August 
3, 2017.  
 
Under the new law, corporations will now make their Rhode Island estimated tax payments in 
accordance with federal statute and regulations – making the system more convenient for 
businesses and their tax advisors. 
 
The following table shows which filers are affected. 
 
   

New corporate estimated tax system – who is affected 

For every corporation having a taxable year after December 31, 2017, payment of estimated tax shall be made 
in four installments of 25 percent each. This requirement shall apply to the following: 

TAX/ENTITY 
NORMALLY FILES  

ANNUAL RETURN ON: 
SUBJECT TO TAX UNDER  

RHODE ISLAND GENERAL LAWS: 

Business corporation tax 
(also known as corporate income tax) 

Form RI-1120C Chapter 44-11 

Political organization tax Form RI-1120POL Chapter 44-11.1 

Public service corporation tax 
(also known as public service gross earnings tax) 

Form T-72 Chapter 44-13 

Taxation of banks 
(also known as bank excise tax) 

Form T-74 Chapter 44-14 

Bank deposits tax Form T-86 Chapter 44-15 

Taxation of insurance companies 
(also known as insurance gross premiums tax) 

Form T-71 Chapter 44-17 

Surplus lines Form T-71A Chapter 27-3 
 

First payment due on 15th day of fourth month of tax year, second payment on 15th day of sixth month of tax year, third payment on 15th day of 
ninth month of tax year, fourth payment on 15th day of twelfth month of tax year. New estimated payment system also applies to entities 
subject to mandatory unitary combined reporting and to surplus lines filers. Forms in table are listed solely for convenience; filers of estimated 
tax will use estimated tax form (unless filing electronically).  
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation office is at One Capitol Hill in Providence, R.I., diagonally across from 

the Smith Street entrance of the State House, and is open to the public 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. business days. 

To learn more, see the agency's website: www.tax.ri.gov. 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/

