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Advisory:

September 17 deadline for estimated tax

The Rhode Island Division of Taxation reminds taxpayers that quarterly estimated
payments of Rhode Island personal income tax will be due September 17.

The normal deadline is September 15, but that falls on a Saturday this year. As a result,
Rhode Island’s deadline will automatically move to the next business day, which is
Monday, September 17.

September 17 is also the deadline this year for the following:

¢ estimated payments of Rhode Island pass-through withholding;
¢ estimated payments of Rhode Island composite income tax; and
e the filing of annual returns by calendar-year C corporations that are on extension.

C corps that are subject to pro forma combined reporting may file for an additional one-
month extension, moving their deadline to October 15, in order to file the Schedule CRS
along with their Form RI-1120C.

For retailers that remit sales and use tax monthly, the filing deadline is September 20,
covering the month of August.
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Tax Amnesty Reminder: This is the first full week of Rhode Island’s tax amnesty
program. If you pay what you owe in delinquent state tax, the Tax Division will waive
penalties, reduce interest by 25 percent, and agree not to pursue civil or criminal
penalties. The program runs through November 15, 2012. For more information, see the
tax amnesty website: www.TaxAmnesty.ri.qgov, or dial the tax amnesty call center at
(401) 574-8650 from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. business days.
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Contact:

Neil Downing

Chief Revenue Agent

Rhode Island Division of Taxation
Neil.Downing@tax.ri.gov

(401) 574-8115



http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2011/Corp/2011%207004-CRS.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2011/Corp/2011%201120C.pdf
http://www.taxamnesty.ri.gov/
mailto:Neil.Downing@tax.ri.gov

